View Full Version : UK 2011 Application
YiLyn91
20-10-2010, 04:42 AM
Hey all,
Anyone out there applying to UK for 2011 entry? Let's share our uni choices and course. To those who have received interview invitations from Cambridge, congrats and good luck.
Course: Law
Uni: LSE, UCL, Nottingham, Cardiff, -undecided-
Currently doing A Levels in KDU College PJ under JPA scholarship :))
slappyfin3
20-10-2010, 05:06 PM
I'm applying to a few countries as well as the UK.
Course : Chem. Eng.
Choices : Cambridge, Imperial, Manchester, UCL, Edinburgh.
Currently in doing A Levels in Taylor's College Subang Jaya
unsolvedcryptex
20-10-2010, 05:54 PM
I'm applying to a few countries as well as the UK.
Course : Chem. Eng.
Choices : Cambridge, Imperial, Manchester, UCL, Edinburgh.
Currently in doing A Levels in Taylor's College Subang Jaya
Hey u got the same choices as me. But u sure get in wan la. lol.
Course: EEE
Choices: Cambridge, Imperial, Manchester, UCL, Edinburgh.
Conditional: Manchester, Edinburgh
A levels in Taylor's Subang
slappyfin3
20-10-2010, 06:04 PM
Hey u got the same choices as me. But u sure get in wan la. lol.
Course: EEE
Choices: Cambridge, Imperial, Manchester, UCL, Edinburgh.
Conditional: Manchester, Edinburgh
A levels in Taylor's Subang
LOL, what a coincidence. I got Conditional Offers from Manchester and Edinburgh too
We both go to Cambridge lah ;D
unsolvedcryptex
20-10-2010, 06:08 PM
LOL, what a coincidence. I got Conditional Offers from Manchester and Edinburgh too
LOL. cool. swt wei.. Cambridge utk orang pandai je. lol
YiLyn91
21-10-2010, 12:04 AM
Wow you got your conditional offers so soon. I have yet to submit my application. still thinking of it.. haha.. i'm kinda worried since I only got aabb for my AS :cry
unsolvedcryptex
21-10-2010, 12:45 AM
Wow you got your conditional offers so soon. I have yet to submit my application. still thinking of it.. haha.. i'm kinda worried since I only got aabb for my AS :cry
I guess they are okay if you are taking subjects like Law and Econs. These two are like killing people. But since you are a jpa scholar, you will be just fine. Don't waste the money. Don't waste government's money. Having an offer without money is not sufficient to go UK. So you now have fund to study at there, all you need to do is just study. No Big deal. :)
YiLyn91
23-10-2010, 01:10 AM
I guess they are okay if you are taking subjects like Law and Econs. These two are like killing people. But since you are a jpa scholar, you will be just fine. Don't waste the money. Don't waste government's money. Having an offer without money is not sufficient to go UK. So you now have fund to study at there, all you need to do is just study. No Big deal. :)
True enough... still a little undecided with uni choices.. anyone got their conditional offer?
Glassylicious
23-10-2010, 01:29 AM
True enough... still a little undecided with uni choices.. anyone got their conditional offer?
If you're doing Law, how about Warwick/Durham? Would have recommended Oxford but the deadline's probably already past.
YiLyn91
24-10-2010, 03:34 AM
If you're doing Law, how about Warwick/Durham? Would have recommended Oxford but the deadline's probably already past.
I thought of Oxford but I guess my sort of average grades in my AS deterred me to apply. Feeling regret for not applying now but oh well what is done is done. =)
Durham is not recognised by the Bar Council of Malaysia so JPA would definitely not send me there. I'm torn between KCL, QMUL and Bristol for that final choice. Since I have decided on LSE, UCL, Nottingham and Cardiff, I have just another spot left. The BIG question is to choose another uni with LNAT or not? Plus, I'm not confident of getting an offer from top unis like UCL and LSE with just aabb in AS while many of my peers applying got results like aaab or aaaa.
HELP please....:(
Glassylicious
24-10-2010, 03:40 AM
I thought of Oxford but I guess my sort of average grades in my AS deterred me to apply. Feeling regret for not applying now but oh well what is done is done. =)
Durham is not recognised by the Bar Council of Malaysia so JPA would definitely not send me there. I'm torn between KCL, QMUL and Bristol for that final choice. Since I have decided on LSE, UCL, Nottingham and Cardiff, I have just another spot left. The BIG question is to choose another uni with LNAT or not? Plus, I'm not confident of getting an offer from top unis like UCL and LSE with just aabb in AS while many of my peers applying got results like aaab or aaaa.
HELP please....:(
Well, think about it this way. Your LNAT may be your chance to redeem yourself if you feel that your AS results were not up to par.
I didn't do that well for my LNAT either [the average for that year was around 16.2/30 and I got a 17] and the university I wanted gave me an offer anyway.
From what I know, universities use the LNAT as a "cut-off" requirement. E.g. applicants with less than a certain score are immediately disqualified. I don't think it's primarily used as a "tiebreaker". I know that doesn't help matters but the point is, most unis who use it as a "cut-off" requirement usually won't set the cut-off point so absurdly high [e.g. 20]. So I wouldn't worry about LNAT too much; just do your best.
P.S. Out of the three, I would pick Bristol. Not a fan of KCL; UCL is so much better [many of my tutors used to teach at UCL too].
YiLyn91
25-10-2010, 12:44 AM
Well, think about it this way. Your LNAT may be your chance to redeem yourself if you feel that your AS results were not up to par.
I didn't do that well for my LNAT either [the average for that year was around 16.2/30 and I got a 17] and the university I wanted gave me an offer anyway.
From what I know, universities use the LNAT as a "cut-off" requirement. E.g. applicants with less than a certain score are immediately disqualified. I don't think it's primarily used as a "tiebreaker". I know that doesn't help matters but the point is, most unis who use it as a "cut-off" requirement usually won't set the cut-off point so absurdly high [e.g. 20]. So I wouldn't worry about LNAT too much; just do your best.
P.S. Out of the three, I would pick Bristol. Not a fan of KCL; UCL is so much better [many of my tutors used to teach at UCL too].
I tried a couple of LNAT question and I think they are not too bad. lol
I am decided on LSE (A*AA), UCL (AAA+LNAT), Nottingham (AAB+LNAT) and Cardiff (ABB) at the moment. One more choice to go and its killing me. Can't decide between KCL, QMUL and Bristol. KCL and Bristol needs LNAT while QMUL don't but I don't really fancy the east side of London though after I've been there.
Which year are you in now?
unsolvedcryptex
25-10-2010, 01:13 AM
I am decided on LSE (A*AA), UCL (AAA+LNAT), Nottingham (AAB+LNAT) and Cardiff (ABB) at the moment. One more choice to go and its killing me. Can't decide between KCL, QMUL and Bristol. KCL and Bristol needs LNAT while QMUL don't but I don't really fancy the east side of London though after I've been there.
If you are taking LNAT for two of the university you are applying to, then the LNAT as requirement in another university will not alter your choice. Don't take those into consideration since you are already taking LNAT if you want to apply to Nottingham and UCL
Glassylicious
25-10-2010, 01:19 AM
3rd [and final] year. :)
YiLyn91
25-10-2010, 07:44 PM
If you are taking LNAT for two of the university you are applying to, then the LNAT as requirement in another university will not alter your choice. Don't take those into consideration since you are already taking LNAT if you want to apply to Nottingham and UCL
Well LNAT is really tough. At least that is what many of my friends said after taking the exam.