21-11-2003, 12:40 PM
This forum is set up for discussion on the LOTR
when is LOTR 3 - Return of the king
is showing in cinema?
"think, try and triumph"
I think a week before christmas it'll be out. December 17th to be exact (just googled the date)
Whats to discuss about LOTR? everyone read the book and thats how exactly it's going to end..
21-11-2003, 02:48 PM
hahahaha....yah....we know the ending. I wonder how faithful the movie's going to be to the book
ciwan
21-11-2003, 10:29 PM
i'm excited about the final sequal of the movies
i hope it's gonna be more fun and excitement than the matrix revolution which dissapoint me so much
i admire all the CGI and stuff but what impressed me the most is the sequence of the battle between machines and the citizens of zion
i just hope one day, malaysia will produce such movie
who will be responsible to do that
we are
so lets study hard and learn all the skills while we are here overseas and bring it back to Malaysia and apply it
CrAzyCow
22-11-2003, 03:21 AM
Hopefully is good. I have been dissapointed too many times with sequel movies. :(
22-11-2003, 03:58 AM
All hobbits are gay.
Sorry, just bored at work.
CrAzyCow
22-11-2003, 04:11 AM
Ernie is gay too.. : :P
Ishveir
22-11-2003, 05:00 AM
What about LOTR, there doesnt seem to be anyone who trully appreciates the simplicity in the sheer creativeness
anyway im no advocate for it.
have a good one.
22-11-2003, 07:36 AM
Hopefully is good. I have been dissapointed too many times with sequel movies. :(
Not Toy Story 2 ! :o
not all, sam is bi
elves are gay, mr tolkien said so himself
i like gay!
let support the rainbow alliance
and the pink triangle
woohoo
22-11-2003, 01:37 PM
Are we using Gay as an adverb or Gay as in Homosexuality? Anyway here's the spoiler..
Frodo becomes evil, Arogorn kills frodo then sam take ring and jump in lava.The end....
.Gotcha!
22-11-2003, 01:46 PM
Thirdshifter you @<hidden>#$%! Some of us here don't know the ending and don't want to know! Not everybody has read the books you know *hangs head in shame*
22-11-2003, 01:47 PM
OK, I missed the "gotcha". You kidding about the ending right?
22-11-2003, 01:56 PM
Thirdshifter you @<hidden>#$%! Some of us here don't know the ending and don't want to know! Not everybody has read the books you know *hangs head in shame*
ROFLMFAO, i was just kidding. thats not the ending.
22-11-2003, 02:59 PM
d00d!!!!
you gotta read the book. It is the book of the last century!!!
22-11-2003, 03:15 PM
d00d!!!!
you gotta read the book. It is the book of the last century!!!
Well, I did read the Fellowship of the Rings. Tolkien really had an incredible imagination. Skipped all the long winded poems though, thought they were silly. Gotta say that a lot of the dialogue between Frodo and Sam was very gay...
I think Return of the King is gonna kick ass!
22-11-2003, 03:22 PM
cool then. and yeah, LOTR is so gonna kick Neo's ass.
I'm sure the orcs will overwhelm mr smith and his smithes.
22-11-2003, 03:28 PM
Neo is gay. He really is. Trinity was just an aberration. She wasn't real.
I apologize for this stupid post. Slow night here.
22-11-2003, 03:36 PM
topdog...if you don't stop making pointless posts I will reveal the super twist ending of LOTR.
p.s. Should this be under arts instead of current issues?
22-11-2003, 04:32 PM
From what I have heard...
these r some stuffs we can expect from LOTR3
there's a giant spider
the number of army in the movie is larger than LOTR2
Goollum is going to tell us his past... we can see who was he when he's a hobbit... perhaps a handsome gay?
hehe... 18th dec...
see ya
22-11-2003, 04:38 PM
She's not a spider
22-11-2003, 04:46 PM
Dear Recomers, for the benefit of people like me, please refrain from revealing anything that has to do with the plot of Return of the King.
Thank you.
22-11-2003, 09:26 PM
she is
yeah, she is. she's a giant (insert spoiler here)
23-11-2003, 04:26 AM
******************spoiler ahead*****************************
tolkien only says that she looks like a spider, I don't think he actually says she is one does he? I mean, he explains her to be a monster of some kind with a very evil heart.
23-11-2003, 05:27 AM
-----------------------spoiler thread =) ----------------------------
I think he did write Shelob had 8 legs. must be a spider, a huge one since even the orcs feared it.
huilinchin
15-12-2003, 07:11 AM
yeah, don't reveal the plot of LOTR ... kesian people like me who have not read the book.
can't wait for The Return of the King ...
http://www.lordoftherings.net/
should we re-watch the first two before watching The Return of the King this wednesday? can't wait for Wed/ Thurs...
Yippeeeee.... :D
-Hui Lin ^_^
15-12-2003, 07:23 AM
you should read the book. though the movie is good, it has many holes.
15-12-2003, 07:25 AM
agreed. I think the book is better. THe movie is merely a side to the book. There are a lot of details that the movie leaves out. And i think the movie also has it's deviations from the book version. Faramir was not at all the way he was portrayed in the movie.
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 07:26 AM
I suggest to read the book in order to get a better insight of the story...
It's very different perspective to watch LOTR before and after you have read the book...
I think, you can get the books in Malaysia anywhere... It's selling everywhere right now, it's HOT 8)
well, if it looks like a spider, it's a spider :P though if you want to get specific, she's the spawn of Ungoliant who is also a creature in spider-form. Ungoliant probably is one of the Ainur that came into the world with the Valar and chose to take on the form of a spider.
15-12-2003, 07:54 AM
wow, looks like we have somebody who have read The Silmarillion.
one fact: when i first read the lotr, it was a long time ago. I did a search on Google and barely 2 or 3 pages came up. now, it's like 6 millions.
one thing i dont like about the movie is how it Boromir died. That was my favorite part in lotr but the movie made it looks like, er, nothing much.
I felt almost no emotion when i saw boromir died. But I felt like the whole sky was falling on me when i read the book. even if there was emotion when i saw boromir died, it must be the memory from reading the book.
and i like how the rest of the fellowship sang a song for Boromir.
but in general, the movie is good, better than crack man...
15-12-2003, 08:11 AM
what is it with you and crack?
seen the two towers extended dvd? the songs were a nice touch. old man willow was a bit far from home, though. and i still hate movie faramir. the scene just doesnt work without faramir letting them go at henneth annun. and taking the hobbits to osgiliath, which is under attack at the time, is just idiotic.
15-12-2003, 08:22 AM
wow...yeah...i've been waiting for the final trilogy for a year! Finally...the day has come...am going to catch this movie this coming weekend, hopefully my friend manages to get the tickets. I must say that Peter Jackson has definitely hit the right ball and with the huge casts and the huge crew to film this movie, LOTR is really creating a big history in movie arena! Lets give a big applause for LOTR~~~~ :D
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 08:35 AM
The day of Ring is coming....
His Master is near....
Would the fate of the Humanity fail, would the raise of Darkness be the End of the middleEarth....
Now...
The fate has fallen into the hands of 2 little Hobbits,
When the King of Man raise to against the army of shadows...
The dark armies are moving, The Master of the Ring is moving his own pieces with his might and his fearsome power...
Faith of the Man would or would not against the might darkness!?
When Man from the MiddleEarth stands in line, cry of the war is about to begin...
The echor fo the war Cry has scar the land, would the return of the King bring End to the war...
Both whtie wizards will cast spells to curse the their enemies, and now they both stand at the different line, who would bring the Victory for their stands?
No victory without Sacrifices, would it be the last....?
<<The Lord of The Ring>>
Last Episode,
Now Begins.....
eh? what 2 white wizards? there is only one White. if you're talking about saruman, he shouldnt be involved in the battle of pelennor or in the last stand in front of the black gate. he's busy... elsewhere BWAHAHAHAHAHA
15-12-2003, 10:24 AM
PeiWen, who's the cutie in your Avatar? Is it you?
15-12-2003, 10:34 AM
No victory without Sacrifices, would it be the last....?
if you're asking if this is the last movie? then, sorry to spoil the suspense but I read the book. I think this is pretty much it
And is saruman in the third one? Maybe in the beginning.
15-12-2003, 10:36 AM
Yeah of course he is. How could Aragorn kill Frodo? He loves him! Since he IS the king, he legalized homosexual marriages and Frodo becames his "bride".
* inspired by the website with the LotR journal *
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 10:42 AM
OMG!!!
Homo Issues arise...
Well, I'm just giving some pictorial description about the LOTR, nothing more just wanna to make it sound intresting...
Aragaon do not kill fordo and fordo will not be the bride of Arago instead fordo follow Gundalf for journey...
Thx...
No more Hmo Issue
15-12-2003, 10:45 AM
OMG!!!
Homo Issues arise...
Well, I'm just giving some pictorial description about the LOTR, nothing more just wanna to make it sound intresting...
Aragaon do not kill fordo and fordo will not be the bride of Arago instead fordo follow Gundalf for journey...
Thx...
No more Hmo Issue
Hey hey.. no need to be all homophobic here :P
BTW it's Aragorn not Aragaon, Frodo not fordo and Gandalf not Gundalf.
And oh yeah.. homo not hmo!!
Before anybody posts a potential spoiler, it's a good idea to put a huge "***** SPOILERS AHEAD *****" and put the thing wayyy down so that people can choose to not read it!
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 10:49 AM
Thx for your correction...
By the way, I can't accept Homo and I'm totally against Homo... :evil:
15-12-2003, 10:54 AM
I see what is supposed to be a cerebral discussion on the intricacies of the modern-day masterpiece known as LOTR is beginning to degenerate into an argument about homos.
Why not start a new thread?
15-12-2003, 10:55 AM
Yeah of course he is. How could Aragorn kill Frodo? He loves him! Since he IS the king, he legalized homosexual marriages and Frodo becames his "bride".
* inspired by the website with the LotR journal *
c'mon, i think it would make more sense if sam and frodo got married...with smeagol as the best ..err...creature
15-12-2003, 10:56 AM
in the end of the book, frodo became the ****r of the shire
and oh yeah,
***** SPOILERS ABOVE *****
15-12-2003, 10:58 AM
c'mon earth..that's not really nice. please don't make topdog mad...he'll bite you. Please edit your post.
15-12-2003, 11:02 AM
I get the feeling that Tolkien actually wanted Frodo and Sam to eventually get married, perhaps in some pseudo-European land. You know, break the barriers against gay marriage and all that in literature. But in the end he chickened out, leaving people like us to speculate on whether Frodo takes it or gives it to Sam.
Gross.
15-12-2003, 11:03 AM
topdog...he actually does close the issue at the end of the book.
15-12-2003, 11:04 AM
what is this? national coming out week celebration thread? 8O
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 01:49 PM
The LOTR forum goes wild into gay dicussion... OMG
for everyone who hasnt read the book: HA! see if i care BWAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA
frodo doesnt get married, stays for a while in the shire and later sails to the West along with Gimli, Legolas, Gandalf and shadowfax. Sam gets married to Rose and changed their last name to gardner and becomes mayor of the shire
read and feel my EVIL BWAHAHAHAHA
15-12-2003, 04:33 PM
I must say that LOTR-final trilogy is a movie that you have to catch no matter what. I've been waiting patiently since last December...mm...albeit I've read the book of all the happenings in the trilogy, but pictures can tell thousand words...I'm sure the upcoming movie definitely a big hit in Malaysia.
15-12-2003, 04:44 PM
for everyone who hasnt read the book: HA! see if i care BWAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHA
frodo doesnt get married, stays for a while in the shire and later sails to the West along with Gimli, Legolas, Gandalf and shadowfax. Sam gets married to Rose and changed their last name to gardner and becomes mayor of the shire
read and feel my EVIL BWAHAHAHAHA
wow qedx, you are EVIL. I'm surprised you didn't tell them about the part when they find out that sauron is actually elrond's twin brother. That would have been even more evil.
15-12-2003, 04:47 PM
Thanks lilbigone and qedx. When I get the chance I'll hunt you down and spank you.
15-12-2003, 04:52 PM
hahaha...was just joking in my post. don't worry topdog, you can take all my post that reveal the any plot as my poor attempts at humor
know that i feel no remorse for what i have done. BWAHAHAHAHAHA the fate of frodo the nine-fingered has been sealed the moment he was struck by the morgul blade.
sigh i still hate movie faramir. i mean, how can a man like that be worthy f stewardship of gondor and the hand of lady eowyn? ooo i still do hope his father burns him though. or tries to anyway.
more evilness? BWAHAHAHAAHAHA but of course
i really think frodo and sam will die in the end...and smeagol will become the head-villager in the shire...muahahahhaha
8O 8O 8O 8O 8O 8O
soul_out
16-12-2003, 01:29 AM
in the end of the book, frodo became the ****r of the shire
and oh yeah,
***** SPOILERS ABOVE *****
I thought is Sam? Both Sam n Frodo r the ****r of Shire, but is Frodo then followed by Sam rite?
16-12-2003, 05:11 AM
arrggh, i cant remember whether its frodo or sam.
BUT, wormtongue/someone was terrorizing the Shire before frodo or sam overthrown wormtongue/someone.
and yeah again,
***** SPOILER ABOVE ******
16-12-2003, 05:14 AM
frodo was mayor for awhile, then sam became when frodo became old
16-12-2003, 05:59 AM
i hope the movie wont follow the book ending closely. If it does, wow, imagine the dragginess (if that is a word) of the movie after the ring was casted into the fire of (how on earth do you spell khazandum or whatever?)
and yeah again,
***** SPOILER ABOVE ******
errr mount doom?
the battles in gondor and mordor was unimportant. they were merely a ruse to distract sauron from looking too close at/in/around mount doom. the battle of the shire hobbits vs saruman is waay more important. i fully expect an hour spent south in combat, another half hour of celebrations, an hour and a half in the shire and another half hour for goodbyes
16-12-2003, 01:09 PM
i dont think so. though its true that the battles served as distraction, remember that Sauron wants to destroy the last remnant of men.
At the same time, there were a lot of details during the war. If the movie skips the part where Eowen rushed to her father aid against the beast, many true LOTR fans (ppl how know LOTR before the movie was released in 2001) will be furious.
And, remember when the reinforcement from North came to aid the Gordor. That was the thing that changed the tide of war.
In anycase, I strongly disagree about Shire vs. Saruman is more important than the Gordor/Mordor battle. If you realized, the shire battle was already down the hill as far as the climax is concerned.
the only way to do this is to limit the liberation of shire scene.
but then, both of us could be right or wrong or whatever. So, let's wait for the movie to come out
and yeah, sorry, **** SPOILER ABOVE ****
yeah i wonder if they will show imrahil, forlong and those mountain people that showed the riders the way to mundburg. and the rangers. from the way they made aragorn not want to be king, instead of actively pursuing his right as in the book, i wonder how they would treat the rest of the dunedain. hell he didnt even have anduril when he set out with the fellowship. (I soo miss the part where he and eomer fought orcs at the gate of helms deep :( you know, "anduril for the west!" "guthwine for the mark!" part). and will arwen sew the damn banner of the white tree?
the battle for the shire was important in the fact that it shows that nothing escapes evil. when i read the book the 1st time round, yay the ring was destroyed, we won... and wth orcs in the shire!!! battle in gondor though they are tragic they just lack the kick in the ass shock as there have been battles in gondor for thousands of years, on account of it sharing a border with mordor.
17-12-2003, 02:05 AM
earth, you suck.
jom gi tengok rotk besok!
17-12-2003, 02:06 AM
exam on thursday aa. pressure!!!
why must it be on the very last day of the semester?
polarized
17-12-2003, 02:08 AM
wanna go tooo...but dont have tix!!
>>
Ishveir
17-12-2003, 04:17 AM
same here la
i still have papers till saturday!!!
well anyway those of you can see it for me and let me know if it is worth the watch, im sure it will be
but just to make sure :P
gah gayness. eomer had about 7 lines in the movie, faramir had about the same. they robbed theoden of his moment of glory. imrahil and forlong are nowhere in sight, as are halbarad and the rangers. and arwen cant sew for damn shit. thats right no banner of the white tree, which for me made for the most powerful scenes in the story. and eomer reduced to merely another side character. they made one of aragorn's best friends outside the fellowship merely another character :( .
at the coronation, eomyn and faramir were seen standing side by side. emm why? they never met through out the movie, why the hell were they standing together? shouldnt eowyn be with eomer? and the scenes at orthanc were another disappointment. why? because there were no scenes at orthanc! (well pippin did manage to find the palantir in the water. now how did that manage to get there? i guess wormtongue threw it at the ents when when isengard was stormed ;)) one second they were there and the next they were riding back to edoras, to a celebration scene in meduseld.
the death of denethor was another thing they cheapened. having gandalf and shadowfax do cowboyish things in the house of stewards was not a good idea. they also had gandalf hit denethor a few times in earlier scenes. what right did that wizard have hitting the rightful Steward of Gondor? they robbed denethor of all dignity, i cried upon his death.
the end was nice though. sam getting married and all the goodbyes as all the ringbearers sailed to the west. problem was it took nearly an hour after the coronation at gondor. there wasnt much of a point to scenes in the shire if the shire wasnt scoured. oh wait the shire cant be scoured because for all we know saruman is still up in his tower. oh! and sam never got that box of sand. he got rope, instead. so the whole ending was nice but a touch irrelevant in the scope of the movie. a case of too little, too late perhaps.
C-
dammit where's the discussions, the fights, the disagreements? people, you've been slacking!!!
bachok83
27-12-2003, 05:46 AM
from my opinion, lotr is a good movie..
however, some part of the film uses too much cgi (computer graphic image) to generate the film... you can distinguish clearly that tha rocks being thrown are not real.. they are cgi's..
anyway, they could have done a better job by reducing the cgi effects and emphasize on the story more.. as we all know, they have limited minutes to include all words from JRR Tolkien..
anyway, it is a worth watching movie...
Good Job Peter Jackson..
meh the battle of the pelennor was too short, and... i dont know. not enough despair, maybe. they just didnt seem all that lost. or maybe there wasnt enough screen time for the despair to set in. there was supposed to be at least TWO key scenes: the breaking of the door and a certain confrontation and the arrival of the corsairs of umbar. and the tension were relievedby the charge of the rohirrim and the unfurling of the banner of the white tree. out of these 4 events, one was just wonderful, one didnt happen and the other two was weak.
i think the main fault with the movie is how they handled denethor and his family, espescially denethor. its just not right, whacking denethor like that. seriously they should have just cut a bit hornburg in movie 2 and put shelob and isengard there, so that more time can be put on pelennor on movie 3.
oh well whats done is done, they should have consulted me first but they didnt :/. i still have book haha. i still cry by the time i finish the battle of the pelennor fields in the book
PS: discuss, disagree, fight
27-12-2003, 10:52 AM
Many parts of the movie were removed from the theatrical version to keep the audiences' butt on the seat.
These removed portions of the movie would be in the extended edition DVD, which is confirmed to be about 5 hours long! yum yum!
well they could just reedit the whole thing and make one big ass 12 hr long dvd set. hey people sit through miniseries sets, why not lotr
07-01-2004, 10:58 AM
I'm currently stuck with LOTR soundtrack. I love it better than the film!
wmgan
12-01-2004, 05:31 PM
Hi guys! Just joined www.recom.org today. Anyone who claims to love LOTR would do well to join the discussions at www.lotrien.com.my, the Malaysian LOTR fan society!
My dear friends, the Hobbits are NOT gay. The Third Age of Middle-Earth was a time and place where innocent gestures of loving friendships were NOT mistaken for homosexuality.
Screw3d, who "confirmed" that the Extended Edition would be about five hours long? Peter Jackson was quoted in an interview as saying that the rough temp cut of ROTK was about 4 hours and 50 minutes but the interviewer has since admitted that it was a misquote and that the real timing was 4 hours and 15 minutes. The extended Fellowship had about 30 minutes of extra footage, the extended Towers about 45 (actually 43); if King continues the trend I suppose it is reasonable to expect a 4-hour-and-20-minute film but no more.
13-01-2004, 01:49 PM
z, were u in rjc?
wmgan
13-01-2004, 05:04 PM
Were/are you too, TopDog?
I am currently in my second year in RJC.
yah... for a short while.
chenchow's ex-RJC too.
14-01-2004, 12:14 PM
Were/are you too, TopDog?
I am currently in my second year in RJC.
oh, no. i just googled the meaning of that latin phrase and found rjc:)
wmgan
15-01-2004, 08:57 AM
chenchow's ex-RJC too.
What do you mean "for a short while"?
16-01-2004, 12:36 AM
chenchow's ex-RJC too.
coz he is just like me.....got jpa for 2nd intake and rejected ASEAN...
i got to know about this from a UiTM lecturer...
[/quote]
16-01-2004, 01:05 AM
there's an UiTM in middle earth? :twisted:
16-01-2004, 01:24 PM
there is happen to be one in minas tirith :wink:
aida_ikmal
10-02-2004, 03:21 PM
so sad that we'll see no more of LOTR
aida_ikmal
10-02-2004, 03:21 PM
so sad that we'll see no more of LOTR
10-02-2004, 03:35 PM
actually we do, related that is. but u gotta read :)
there's the hobbit and silmilarion.
10-02-2004, 03:35 PM
actually we do, related that is. but u gotta read :)
there's the hobbit and silmilarion.
and unfinished tales and the histories of middle earth vol 1-10 and collections of prof tolkiens letters, though that is taking it abit too far :P
11-02-2004, 02:13 PM
Tolkien's books are damn hot now...just coz of LOTR 8O
11-02-2004, 02:13 PM
Tolkien's books are damn hot now...just coz of LOTR 8O
aida_ikmal
11-02-2004, 02:52 PM
yeah, im looking forward to buy the whole set of da books..
aida_ikmal
11-02-2004, 02:52 PM
kIdd0
30-03-2004, 02:02 PM
Hmmm........ talking about LOTR...i really wondered.... i actually saw this interview on tech tv with on the LOTR 'special-effects' person of some sort and it was indeed revealed that in some scenes...they practically dug a hole on the ground so that the hobbit can stand in it looking relatively shorter than those elfs and wizards....
hmmm.... not so much special effects involved huh? =)
30-03-2004, 02:11 PM
yea, there'll be no more lotr. :P
http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/graphics/dean_returnofthescream.jpg
b_ronick
30-03-2004, 02:22 PM
i got the whole book.. :lol: :lol:
it's actually pretty good...but that is if you're into literature type of books.. :!: :!:
it requires pretty much patience to read it.. :lol: :lol:
but you will find out things that are not shown in the movie and also how much they change in the movie..but i still love the movie..
b_ronick
30-03-2004, 02:24 PM
yea, there'll be no more lotr. :P
http://politicalhumor.about.com/library/graphics/dean_returnofthescream.jpg
i gather you dun like LOTR huh? :lol: :lol:
wait..i think hate would be a more suitable word...
8O lookie at the poster!!! 8O 8O
30-03-2004, 02:29 PM
well, i dont think i hate the movie u know. but, i'm not too crazy about it. and, my problem is, when a lot of people like something, it is very unlikely that i'll like it. i'm not really a mainstream guy. :P
b_ronick
30-03-2004, 03:22 PM
well, i dont think i hate the movie u know. but, i'm not too crazy about it. and, my problem is, when a lot of people like something, it is very unlikely that i'll like it. i'm not really a mainstream guy. :P
so you're a non-conformist huh?
30-03-2004, 08:58 PM
sort of.
kIdd0
31-03-2004, 08:17 PM
so i suppose u hate FERRARI n Manchester Utd!! Yay!! :twisted:
31-03-2004, 11:07 PM
not hate. dislike. yeah, i'm a liverpool fan. and i i'm not the fan of ferrari.
soul_out
31-03-2004, 11:15 PM
Liverpool fan here as well. Five.
Ops, guess we're out of topic.
when a lot of people like something, it is very unlikely that i'll like it.
doesnt that mean that you too are guided by the masses, albeit in the other direction?
01-04-2004, 12:48 AM
well, it's just that i dont go with the stream. but that doesnt mean i'll blindly dont hate the mainstream. it just motivates me to figure out why i should not like something. :P
01-04-2004, 11:30 AM
i am the king and the most handsome guy in the world..i am the most good looking oson of a gun here! peace on earth!
b_ronick
01-04-2004, 12:38 PM
i am the king and the most handsome guy in the world..i am the most good looking oson of a gun here! peace on earth!
:?
01-04-2004, 01:20 PM
Yeah, i agree with him ...... Only when pigs fly ..........
01-04-2004, 11:18 PM
pigs already fly in Cincinnati maa.