View Full Version : Help: Should I switch to the Science Stream
fireflies
03-12-2010, 10:04 PM
Hello everybody, I am an SPM 2010 student who is from the art stream (Perdagangan,Accounts, Economics) but now I feel like doing medicine and I am thinking of switching into the Science Stream in January 2010 in either A-Levels/SAM/AUSMAT etc because I think that I will like doing medicine in the future compared to the business subjects that my parents have previously decided that I should do.
Do you think that its the right decision? Do you think that I will be able to catch up? Can any seniors give me some advice? And which ones of these pre-u will be easier for me? I personally think that I will be OK in Biology and Chemistry, so hopefully I'll just need to do some catching up. But what about Physics? According to the Monash University Malaysia website Physics is not a required subject for medicine and so how true is that? :wink
Thank you for all your help. You have no idea how much I need them right now. :laugh
Young
03-12-2010, 11:44 PM
It's definitely possible to switch to science but be warned, you're facing an uphill task not just in the actual studying of science, but to obtain the grades required to do medicine at a reputable university.
In terms of Pre-U to choose, it really depends on which country/university you're hoping to get into. Getting into medicine in the UK (or even Australian universities in fact) using SAM/AusMat is notoriously difficult because you'll need fantastic grades (top 2% or more), but the flip side is that you save a year. If you're not confident of doing well or don't mind spending spending an extra 6-12 months, I would recommend A levels.
Not really sure about Monash's pre-reqs; you'll have to do some reasearch to find out. If it helps, many (though not all) medical schools do not have physics as a requirement, so you do have the option of not doing it.
joshuaoch
04-12-2010, 02:09 PM
When there is a will, there is a way.
You know that this will not be easy, as you are going to face a new subject that you probably had never gone into the details of it before (although Science SPM had somehow touched the fundamentals lah...). Be prepared to work hard, esp. when a lot of people tend to slack during the first few months of their pre-U course...
Erm to clarify, for AUSMAT and SAM course, though easier, is a heck of a rushing course. So, if you have the 6 months to spare, definitely consider A level.
Don't worry. By the time you're in Jan intake / March / June, most people would have forgotten what they'd learnt in their SPM, and have to re-study to get back on track. So, you are not in any way behind track^^
Because I'm currently in A-level, from what i see, the syllabus in a way is a repetition of SPM, plus a little extra. To switch to Science stream and be a future doctor, is that possible? DEFINITELY!!!!
fireflies
04-12-2010, 06:07 PM
Thank you everyone. :) I really appreciate it.
You just have to study harder no matter what pre-u you choose to do. Coming from arts is not a problem here. In the US and Canada, the pre-reqs for med school are the MCAT and freshman sciences. So in terms of technical knowledge, all you need is pre-u science.
Alexis Ma
04-12-2010, 11:24 PM
fireflies, I'm reading medicine at Monash next year under the JPA scholarship. There are a couple of other ReCommers who are going to read medicine at Monash too, I'll just ask them whether they can answer you here.
I would do it myself, but I'm a tad occupied.
jasnji
06-12-2010, 03:59 PM
Well, fireflies, i will say that it's really a matter of how much do you want to study medicine. If that really is what you want, I will say go for it. It will be very tough since you do not have a foundation in science, but it's not impossible. Just be determined about it.
As for choosing a pre-u, I will go agree with Young. It really depends on which university you are hoping to get into. No point studying sth u think it is easier but end up getting a hard time entering the university you want. Just stay away from STPM will do. :P
Physics isn't compulsory to get into most of the med school. So you can opt not to take that subject but if you feel you will do better in physic than bio, then why not? Just to let you know, physic is one subject that you just can't memorize, it definitely requires good understanding in the theories and then applying it. As for bio, it's all about fact, just memorize will do. :)) Still, some ppl just have the cue for physic and not for bio, it's all up to you again. Good luck!