View Full Version : Fun: Henry Da Big Guy

08-12-2010, 08:35 PM
OK, so Henry is joining the bandwagon, too! :pmg

I have just graduated my Bachelor of Engineering in Civil Engineering from Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (3 pesos for those who know where it is). It feels great because I am done and over with undergraduate studies! Wah ha ha ha! :P

Currently waiting for various results (job application, exams, etc. etc.), so I am filling up my time planning for trips to Kuala Lumpur and up north (Alor Setar).

I have a crazy passion for classical music, and I play the piano quite well. I have found interest in composing (have composed a few pieces myself) and I led the Chinese orchestra in my university, becoming its president and student conductor.

I have travelled quite far and wide myself, and I enjoy doing that.

Over here you may ask me as many questions as you like, no matter how personal it may be.

I shall answer questions that I want to answer at my own discretion. :P

So, who wants to deliver the first M-16 shot? :wink

ayjiahui
08-12-2010, 08:38 PM
TRONOH! and no, i didn't google. HAHAHA!!!! congratulations! :)

08-12-2010, 08:38 PM
3 pesos for you! :P

Young
08-12-2010, 09:06 PM
I used to travel to Tronoh on a weekly basis years ago! Mom worked at the old USM campus (the land now houses UTP). But woo, congrats Henry the Mod!

08-12-2010, 10:36 PM
Henry, I was the facilitator of your junior in my camp over the last 4 days :P

08-12-2010, 10:38 PM
I was wondering if the business of renting car is good in UTP. Considering a proposal now.

08-12-2010, 11:20 PM
Henry, I was the facilitator of your junior in my camp over the last 4 days :P

Really? Which year was he/she in? Did you know?

What camp was it anyway?

I was wondering if the business of renting car is good in UTP. Considering a proposal now.

The business of renting cars is good in UTP. Quite highly in demand, especially among Foundation and first or second year students. However, there is competition, too. If you are thinking of setting up a car renting business in UTP, then you have to contend with some other dealers as well.

The problem is that none of them is licensed actually. But that doesn't seem to bother us students at all. Price matters, after all.

You won't make much out of third year or final year students, because quite a number of them would already have brought a car to campus. And when that's the case, often the one with the car will bring his/her friends out.

Then again, I have observed that third year and final year students tend to stay in campus more. Perhaps Ipoh would be just another boring place to be, so they would rather stay in campus and sleep/play games.

09-12-2010, 12:02 AM
Really? Which year was he/she in? Did you know?

What camp was it anyway?33rd INCOVAR Dhamma Camp. The one that I have been promoting quite heavily via my Facebook :P

I believe she is in year 1. Quite a famous guy you are eh :P

09-12-2010, 12:04 AM
Thanks for the feedback. XD

Quite a famous guy you are eh

Agree with ^^^

09-12-2010, 12:15 AM
33rd INCOVAR Dhamma Camp. The one that I have been promoting quite heavily via my Facebook :P

I believe she is in year 1. Quite a famous guy you are eh :P

Oh I see. Yeah, I know about the promotion.

Er... that means you asked her "Do you know Henry Yew?" and she said "Yeah..." and went on to describe a little bit more about me.

How convenient.

slappyfin3
09-12-2010, 12:33 AM
Congrats on your promotion Henry :D!

09-12-2010, 12:43 AM
Henry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Congrats! :P Shhh.. cannot storm Henry now nor spamming his thread. :laugh

trenchcoat101
09-12-2010, 10:38 AM
Oh I see. Yeah, I know about the promotion.

Er... that means you asked her "Do you know Henry Yew?" and she said "Yeah..." and went on to describe a little bit more about me.

How convenient.

Henry! hahaha your junior is the one with the small red kancil :P So nice that you have graduated. any nostalgic feelings? =)
See hua, hahaha talking about me eh? XD

09-12-2010, 12:03 PM
whoa! I better keep my dealings private. Too many eyes watching :P

Henry! hahaha your junior is the one with the small red kancil :P So nice that you have graduated. any nostalgic feelings? =)

09-12-2010, 12:14 PM
whoa! I better keep my dealings private. Too many eyes watching :P

Yeah, it seems that the junior who took part in the camp is also a ReComer! :P :nuts

Er... Small red kancil? I can only vaguely remember. But I know exactly who you are! :lol Hello, Ms. Chong. :D

See Hua, our dear Ms. trenchcoat101 is a member of the Chinese orchestra, too. Right, Ms. Chong? :P

That's the most likely reason how we know each other.

Any nostalgic feelings about UTP, you ask me. Well, honestly.... yeah, there were some good moments and not-so-good moments, but do I miss UTP?

NO. (What did you expect, a yes? :nuts)

Because for the past 22 years I have been living in Ipoh, or within the vicinity of Ipoh. UTP is just 40 minutes away from my house, so I can always pop by in UTP whenever I want.

trenchcoat101
09-12-2010, 04:22 PM
hahaha I was orchestra. I quitted due to some reasons. I may be back when the time is right. pop by in UTP and then all of us would want to follow you on a tanjung tualang outing!:))

09-12-2010, 04:24 PM
Sshhh.... aiyoh.... too many people here lah... later all ask me to take them to Tg. Tualang for wonderful prawns and seafood dinner! :lol

09-12-2010, 04:31 PM
Yeah, it seems that the junior who took part in the camp is also a ReComer! :P :nuts

Er... Small red kancil? I can only vaguely remember. But I know exactly who you are! :lol Hello, Ms. Chong. :D

See Hua, our dear Ms. trenchcoat101 is a member of the Chinese orchestra, too. Right, Ms. Chong? :P

That's the most likely reason how we know each other.

Any nostalgic feelings about UTP, you ask me. Well, honestly.... yeah, there were some good moments and not-so-good moments, but do I miss UTP?

NO. (What did you expect, a yes? :nuts).Small small world it is. Little do I know that she is also the sister of my INTEC junior @<hidden>@<hidden>

hahaha I was orchestra. I quitted due to some reasons. I may be back when the time is right. pop by in UTP and then all of us would want to follow you on a tanjung tualang outing!:))

Sshhh.... aiyoh.... too many people here lah... later all ask me to take them to Tg. Tualang for wonderful prawns and seafood dinner! :lolDid I read that Henry is going to sponsor us for an outing? After the visit to Kuala Kubu Bharu, I am in the mood for one relaxing outing. So, do the rest want to say YES to Henry belanja us makan at Tg. Tualang?

09-12-2010, 04:43 PM
I don't see the word "sponsor" anywhere, though.

Don't you dare edit any of my posts to add the word "sponsor" in there! XP

But yeah, Tg. Tualang has some of the best seafood in the vicinity of UTP. LOL.

09-12-2010, 04:57 PM
I don't see the word "sponsor" anywhere, though.

Don't you dare edit any of my posts to add the word "sponsor" in there! XP

But yeah, Tg. Tualang has some of the best seafood in the vicinity of UTP. LOL.
Sshhh.... aiyoh.... too many people here lah... later all ask me to sponsor them to Tg. Tualang for wonderful prawns and seafood dinner! :lolThere! There!

09-12-2010, 05:40 PM
Ack!!! :notrust

Gabriel
24-05-2012, 02:42 AM
Interesting thread. Shall I comment or ask "some" questions here?

24-05-2012, 06:36 AM
Gab, you know me well enough right? :notrust

WeiYun
24-05-2012, 08:21 AM
I can't believe the thread title brb dying of laughter

24-05-2012, 08:54 AM
WeiYun, :notrust what do you deduce from the thread title?

lordbon
24-05-2012, 09:41 AM

henry, are u working now? if u dont mind u can send me a private msg whr u work ma?

24-05-2012, 09:44 AM
I'm not working. (waits for next question)

lordbon
24-05-2012, 09:45 AM
studying ?

24-05-2012, 10:19 AM
Yes, I'm studying, hence my rather frequent presence here in ReCom. If I were working, I don't think I'd be spending this much time here.

24-05-2012, 04:09 PM
Henry, what is the meaning of life?

pIawks
24-05-2012, 04:11 PM
and how do u define as being successful in life?

24-05-2012, 09:39 PM
Woi, what is this? Asking me such difficult questions ah? Very well...

Henry, what is the meaning of life?

The meaning of life, youngyew, is...

1. Get into this world.
2. Grow
3. Get married
4. Make kids
5. Raise kids
6. Grow old
7. To shuffle off this mortal coil

There... this is what you get for an early AM answer.

Success in life... huh....

This requires some thought. Will come back later.

plawks
24-05-2012, 09:44 PM
Why did you choose your avatar?

Nicholas92
24-05-2012, 10:26 PM
Oh I notice you're actually the 'Iron Boot' now rather than the Casanova.

Lol.

Zulhelmi
24-05-2012, 10:40 PM
Kinda bored and read up the whole thread... Didn't know that mr henry here is from Alor Setar.

24-05-2012, 11:39 PM

OK, I'm back from the gym. So this is what I think about being successful in life:

1. Being successful isn't about making millions of dollars of money (but having more money sure helps makes life easier)
2. Being successful is about setting goals for yourself and try to achieve them, because success doesn't come without setting goals.
3. Being successful doesn't mean that you can't fail in achieving your goals; sometimes circumstances are always against you, or sometimes you might have miscalculated your abilities to achieve that goal. Failing is also part of success (you succeed the moment you try - if you fail, at least you know that your method didn't work).
4. Being successful, above all, means that you have done your best, that you are happy about what you have achieved (and not mope about your failures), that you have wronged nobody (apologise to that person if you have) and that you stay true to your own principles.

Why did you choose your avatar?

Long story... there was a moment during Christmas some two years ago when we were talking about Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer, and for a while quite a few of us started putting up avatars with Rudolph in them. I'm just too lazy to change my avatar after the hype was over.

Oh I notice you're actually the 'Iron Boot' now rather than the Casanova.

Lol.

You just noticed? SLOW...

Kinda bored and read up the whole thread... Didn't know that mr henry here is from Alor Setar.

Nope, I'm not from Alor Setar. I'm afraid you misread my statement. For a while after my graduation I was travelling around in Kuala Lumpur and Alor Setar. I was doing my Master's in UTP while waiting for other offers abroad. My professor often brought me to KL for meetings at the Twin Towers or for his special lectures tailored for professional engineers (they must also attend courses to fulfil the hours required to keep their P.Eng. licence).

But at the same time, I was also very engaged in musical activities (I'm a pianist, and was the president and student conductor of the Chinese orchestra at UTP). As my orchestra instructor was based in Alor Setar, I made quite a few trips there and also Penang.

With all that said, I'm actually an Ipoh boy.

plawks
25-05-2012, 12:00 AM
I think your santa guy in the avatar is wearing a 'iron boot' too? LOL

25-05-2012, 12:04 AM
You could say that.

WeiYun
25-05-2012, 12:46 AM

That you are a pleasant and magnanimous person with a social life? 8D

[/HORRIBLE]

25-05-2012, 01:10 AM
That you are a pleasant and magnanimous person with a social life? 8D

[/HORRIBLE]

Nice try WeiYun, with all the big words and what-not. I've never treated you with anything also, and you deem me a "magnanimous" person?

You're horrible indeed, at masking your thoughts, whatever they may be. And your latest write-ups for ReMag only seem to confirm my impression of what you're thinking.