View Full Version : What do you really want to be?

22-11-2003, 01:44 PM
Just curious to hear from y'all. I'm guessing most of us here are would-be engineers or something scientific like that. Ideally, what would you REALLY like to be? For those who've graduated and are already working, any regrets about your chosen field? If given another chance, would you do it all over again?

22-11-2003, 02:02 PM
I would not want to be an engineer.... reason? obvious... lack of interest...

22-11-2003, 02:56 PM
An green economist!!!

royston
22-11-2003, 02:57 PM
For me... before I left high school, I have no special target to aim at. This is because I have a lot of interest.

Believe or not, when I was in Form 5, I know nothing about computer, but I started to build my own electronic project since Remove. For me, those are my interest/hobby to build small toys which I didn't think so it can be transformed into certain position at work.

After I left high school, I was looking for money. I took the exam of Insurance Agent and right after I obtained the certificate, I was employed by the stock market to be a clerk. Again, fight for OT/money without ambition. But throughout these 3 years, I keep using my salary to continue build my toys, learn whatever I can with no proper guide/textbook/theory.

The first computer I touched was Intel 80286, that time I still knew nothing about computer, so I had been bullied by a lot of aunties... haha... later I took the computer engineering course in Informatic, then slowly I realized that I LOVE computer, but what I am interested are those internal stuff such as programs, coding, motherboards and so on, not games or graphic stuff.

When I joined Intel, I was assigned to work in UNIX base workstations environment. That time, at least I knew what I was looking for. I wished to be a programmer, not building good stuff but some "naughty" programs... haha...!!

Later I transferred to test module group, working on those hardware, electric/electronic stuff. But my goal is still programmer. After I completed my E/E dip, I suddenly have a strong interest with VLSI. I intend to explore more of it and be a VLSI/Design Engineer, who design wafer, die, chip and etc.

Now I am still looking for the chance to learn and work as a VLSI engineer. I would conclude that, having an aim before you started your working life, that is great. At least you know what you are looking for before you get the job. But do remember that, your goal will... or I should say MUST keep changing as the technology changes day by day. You must follow the trend in order not to be kicked out and in the other hand, you will be upgraded/improved time by time.

~ roy ~

22-11-2003, 03:04 PM
thanks royston, for your post...

For me, as I posted earlier, engineering is not my cup of tea, but I am in engineering anyway...

I believe that the analytical skills, heavy workload, meeting deadlines, teamwork etc would help me in my future endeavor.

I am still not particularly sure of where I would like to work, but I am looking at the options of either joining Multimedia Development Corporation (MDC), one of the ministries in federal government, teaching in colleges or universities (i don't mind teaching high school either), Malaysian Student Department officer overseas...

I am not sure whether I would be able to join any of them, but my reason to join MDC would be I have a passion to promote Malaysia, and I hope that I could help promote MSC. MDC is the one-stop center for all MSC-related activities, so I hope that I could work over there.

My aims and ambitions are to improve Malaysia. So, I hope to work on something that I could help change anything in Malaysia for the better. Recom is part of my ambition!!! Really...

I would like to hear from others who could help provide me some pointers, advices, on where I should be heading...

22-11-2003, 03:21 PM
Great post Royston.

I don't think I'll make a good electrical engineer. Not much talent there. Therefore I don't plan to be in this field for very long. I kind of like programming more than hardware stuff.

My ultimate dream is to be a journalist and have my own column in publications like Scientific American.

Alternatively, I might sell char kuey teow.

22-11-2003, 03:49 PM
I really really want to be a rock star.

THat or join a cs clan and get paid to play computer games. :D

silverblue
22-11-2003, 03:56 PM
I want to be a housewife... lol... just kidding.. it'd be so boring...

I want to be the CEO of a huge company... hehe

or do my own business...

or become a psychologist...

or a consultant...

or become a professional martial artist... hehe

or become open a successful tuition center and earn big bucks... =P

or anything else besides being an engineer... >_<

royston
22-11-2003, 04:51 PM
or anything else besides being an engineer... >_<

Before I read all until the end, I am SURE you will say so ... hahaha!!! Be an engineer, better than a "near engine" ... hahaha!!

Time goes by, you will not feel bored to be a housewife. Housewife doesn't mean that you have to stay at home as a "wong min por"... :P

But you seem to have quite a lot of target, in the soccer match, you have only one ball, which goal are you going to shoot in? Of course, every goal will have their own benefit to give you but you yourself have to finalize which one you want. Hey, I am not asking you to measure which benefit more or so, the one that you choose, must be the one that you like most. If you love that goal, you will put your whole effort to contribute to it, regardless of how much the return is... and you will be very happy with it, even when you encounter challenges/roadblocks and so on, that is the meaning of life.

Go catch it Cheryl, pick whichever you like most, with no regret!!

~ roy ~

theT
22-11-2003, 07:34 PM
i hate computer and i hate science

but i'm doing computer sc.

gee.. i wasting government money. but while i'm at it, i would try my best for good grades

actually i prefer stuff like tourism or advertising/publicity or international relation.

but i dunno. maybe i'm gonna stuck working some computer company . i really hate tht

23-11-2003, 12:18 AM
sounds like the question we were asked during primary school. u know that kind of form where you have to write down 3 ambitions (i think evreyone should understand what i mean if you went to m'sian primary school)i used to write down doctor, teacher and pilot. but turned out that i won't be good at any of that. i dun have patience to take care of sick people whom i don't know and not related to, i hate teaching and i m wearing glasses.

things change constantly. really hard to tell now what I want to be say in 5 years or 10 years. but roughly i can see myself doing engineering job for few years and then shift to business/finance and management side. and if opportunity comes, then open my own business? i think that should be what i am gonna do but who knows, I might end up be a Magnum 4D chain shop owner, hehe....

but i really want to be a rock star!! (impossible i guess provided i can't even play the guitar well)

seems like one of the flaw in m'sia system is forcing people to do things that they dun like.

CrAzyCow
23-11-2003, 12:18 AM
I want to be a goreng pisang seller. No need to worry about equations and complicated theorems. Just know how to add, subtract and multiplication. :D

23-11-2003, 12:32 AM
mmm looks like most of you guys are not doing what you are doing from the bottom of your hearts. Either you're forced or you have no choice ... Seems like the world is not as beautiful as the dreams ... You have my sympathy ... but don't give up on those dreams! look for openings and the door to the dreams may open for you as widely as the horizon ..

well, I think I should be very very bersyukur because I love what I'm doing ... I'm taking CS and it coincides with my dream which is to be a famous programmer or to be precise "Bill Gates" of Malaysia ... heh flowery dream isn't it? ... well, I'm on the right track ... I just need to work hard and pray to the God ... wish me luck!

theT
23-11-2003, 06:17 AM
talking about my ambition when we were children, i used to have most absurd ambition.tht is according to my teachers and ppl around me.

when i everybody says they wanna be a doctor or a lawyer or even policemen, teachers, firemen and other practical in the eyes of young children, i wanna be a cartoonist. my reason was , those cartoonist draw some carton which is not tht hard and ppl still buying. so i'll get money from doing draw something stupid. i also used to tell my dad tht i wanna be an author which is something not so usual in a kid. but the most absurd ambition i used to have is a professional gun shooter. my dad never encouraged me on this one. he always gave me lame reason why i shouldnt be one.

then after during high school untill now, i really wanna do media study or tourism or international relation. but its only an ambition i'll never get to achive.and i dont see the point of having ambition when in the end we'll never get it. its like an empty promise
~~~~
wHatevEr

23-11-2003, 06:28 AM
When i was in school, primary school the three answer i gave was Petani, Nelayan and Imam Masjid.

I wouls think i would have fun doing all three of those. Stress free enjoyable outdoor work, People Related work.

Now it's more like meeting every 2 days, work 10 hours a day. Go home all miserable because you feel like you have no life. But smile and be happy when you see that pay check. It's a sad scenario but it happens when you start working.

My ambition? To create a better Malaysia. Maybe 2-5 years from now i'll be going back and actively participate in Malaysian Politics.

soul_out
23-11-2003, 08:25 AM
Thanks for all the great posts. I enjoy sharing dreams with you guys. I am those type of people who don't really know what i want to do in future until Pre-U. As i'm studying hard to meet the prerequisite of Medical School or Pharmacy School, i realised that all i want in my life is to be a successful businessman. How successful? Breakfast in Tokyo and Dinner in Melbourne ya? Maybe. I'm not pretty sure. But i'm sure i will rock. :o)

So guys, to achieve your goals, you mustn't wasting time online doing nothing. Recom.org is indeed a very good place to motivate yourself as you will meet many brilliant people here. Let's work hard for a better tomorrow for Malaysia and your love one.

mdmd
23-11-2003, 12:37 PM
I am in engineering too, but now i realized that i wasn't really interested in this field. But couldnt change my path now, parents will kill me if they learn so. I find myself in a dilemma. I like to do too many things. I like engineering because i get to study and learn how things work. But, sometimes i felt stupid to chose this path. My real goal is to be a wealthy person hahaha, sound absurd isn't it? But i realize that if i am assured of a comfortable tomorrow, i will then have the opportunity to spend my time and energy in doing things that interest me most. As a major in civil engineering, i would then embark on welfare projects such as offering free consultation on construction projects that will benefit the people, especially in rural areas. Anyway, i still have a long way to go...hopefully all of our dreams come true some day. Best wishes to all Recom members!! :D

qedx
23-11-2003, 01:00 PM
i still don't know what i want to do. akulah kapal, tanpa layar dan kemudi, terumbang-ambing dilambung ombak. BWAHAHAHA BWAHAHAHAHA

26-11-2003, 08:33 PM
I want to be a Buddha.

26-11-2003, 09:33 PM
I want to be a good father and a good husband.
:oops:
seems too normal huh....
well,trying to be a good son now;)

Will try to be financially independent before 40 and probably will be active in NPO later.

royston
26-11-2003, 09:44 PM
I want to be a Buddha.

Cannot iQing, we have one already... choose your next option... :lol:

I want to be a good father and a good husband.

Good husband for a pretty Japanese girl? Muahahaha... *Salute !!*

~ roy ~

26-11-2003, 11:42 PM
I want to be a Buddha.

then maybe u should go shaolin instead of germany? haha...just kidding...your ambition is good. go for it.

27-11-2003, 12:26 AM
I want to help bring ReCom as far as I can.

27-11-2003, 01:52 AM
I believe that one thing Recom has brought to many of us, is that we have gradually grow to learn of many new awareness, that others in Recom have. I have never met so many wonderful people before, the amount of potential successful people in life currently in Recom, is unimaginable. I think one of the main benefit of Recom to the society is to breed a bunch of Malaysians who will be spirited to make a change for the society.

For me, I think the change can be little. For instance, you grow to have the awareness of respect for public property and not litter. If all of us do that, even by each of the 600 Recom members throw less a piece of rubbish per month, the country is cleaner by 600 pieces of litter, which may take a few hours for others to clean it.

For instance, we have the awareness of life-long learning and even if 10% of us, say 60 of us spread the awareness to 2 other people, that is 180 people in total, including us. Although 180 people seems a small number, who knows what these 180 people will be in the future and these kind of awareness will be long lasting and have a tremendous effects. That is about 0.001% of Malaysian society already. Come to think of it, within a few months since it was established, 1 in 40,000 Malaysians are Recom members. Hopefully, by end of this year, we will reach 1000 members and by then, 1 in 25,000 Malaysians are Recom members! and if we take youth as 40% of our population, then 1 in 10,000 Malaysian youths are Recom members.

27-11-2003, 02:04 AM
Sadly - such a large percentage of us who are "fortunate" to be doing engineering (some overseas somemore, some free somemore) don't like engineering. And moreover, ambitions of promoting Malaysia keeps coming back, but since the country is lacking engineers (because not everyone has the aptitude to be one, seriously), we'll end up promoting an empty shell to people, coz when they put money here, they need to put "foreign talent" into the system to engineer what they need, while we put ourselves far away from the actual work and do PR :twisted:

What do you guys think?

27-11-2003, 02:17 AM
I would agree with jiinjoo of the vast need of engineers, but I think there are many Malaysians who are out there who would like to really get involved in engineering. eeyore is a good example. He is very dedicated to ECE. There are many more examples out there as well.

For me, I would say that for me, I would like to work in MDC to promote Malaysia as a good place to invest, and I believe that my engineering background would help me in my pursuit. It will be easier for an engineer to do the promoting job, rather than someone who does not know much about engineering. Isn't it?

27-11-2003, 02:37 AM
Yes I totally agree, and I'm not referring to you actually (I think you'd be perfect in selling Malaysia 8) ).

I'm referring more to the untapped talents of the country. Some people who really want to go overseas to get a good engineering training don't get a chance wither coz they are too poor, can't fight against the mighty 10A1s, or some other reasons, end up trying to squeeze into the local universities, just to find that they are given a major that they have totally no interest in, wasted their time, ended up doing selling (MLM :twisted: ) or other occupations because companies don't dare to hire them.

Others who'd rather be doing economics for example are told by their sponsors that they will only sponsor engineers because that's what they actually need, and after that when they return home, they distant themselves from engineering anyway because like you said, it is not their cup of tea.

And finally as an aside, the poor art students are totally left out of this benefit and have to find scholarships offered by foreign universities or come up with ridiculous amount of money from nowhere.

Actually I don't know if that was a fair statement in the first place :oops: so let's come back to original topic:

I want to be a Body Builder with Beautiful Six-Pack! 8O just joking - actually i want to, some day, go back to writing music, music that identifies our culture, malaysia, south east asia, and what not.

27-11-2003, 02:42 AM
JiinJoo,

I agree with you about the inflexibility of students in choosing major over at local institutions. Generally students would choose what major they are going to take and even sometimes concentration, before even getting to university. There are pro and con in it, but I think it would be better if those students are given at least 1 semester or 2, to be in university and from there, they would choose which major they are going to take.

I agree that there is a lack of scholarship, especially for those arts and science majors. There are some economic, international relation majors, but the number is too far and few.

JiinJoo, I agree with your post !

27-11-2003, 03:54 AM
chenchow said:

For me, I think the change can be little. For instance, you grow to have the awareness of respect for public property and not litter. If all of us do that, even by each of the 600 Recom members throw less a piece of rubbish per month, the country is cleaner by 600 pieces of litter, which may take a few hours for others to clean ....

yup i fully agree. we must be the change we wish to see in m'sia. of course it cannot be done overnte but i believe we will be able to see some improvement in the future. sad to hear our prime minister said that we have the world class building in the world but lousy class of management and attitude.

27-11-2003, 05:27 AM
I think we should not be sad as wwhong said, when our Prime Minister points out that we have world class infrastructure, but third class mentality.

On the other hand, we should reflect and work hard to make the change. If everyone is doing a bit, the momentum for change will be there and it should be better than no change.

Lets put our energy into realizing what we are hoping to see! A better Malaysia!!!

27-11-2003, 02:14 PM
I still wanna be a buddha.. hehe

and I want to learn as much as possible and become a great learner of all times

09-02-2004, 02:51 PM
i wanna be a real great teacher, someone my students will remember forever.

I wanna be a great a lawyer.

i wanna be everyone's best friend.

I wanna be a multi-linguists.

No matter what i'm gonna be, i wanna be myself, and not what other ppl want me to be.

i wanna be me, distinct and unique. Don't y'all? :wink:

09-02-2004, 02:51 PM
i wanna be a real great teacher, someone my students will remember forever.

I wanna be a great a lawyer.

i wanna be everyone's best friend.

I wanna be a multi-linguists.

No matter what i'm gonna be, i wanna be myself, and not what other ppl want me to be.

i wanna be me, distinct and unique. Don't y'all? :wink:

09-02-2004, 03:09 PM
I wanna be a , i want to be! a macho!

Macho macho man!.... w want to be a macho man...

tada da da da..

Y-M-C-A

09-02-2004, 03:09 PM
I wanna be a , i want to be! a macho!

Macho macho man!.... w want to be a macho man...

tada da da da..

Y-M-C-A

qedx
09-02-2004, 05:40 PM
aku nak jadik cikgu matematik sekolah rendah

qedx
09-02-2004, 05:40 PM
aku nak jadik cikgu matematik sekolah rendah

z
09-02-2004, 06:06 PM
kenape tak mau jadik guru besar? hehe

z
09-02-2004, 06:06 PM
kenape tak mau jadik guru besar? hehe

Cirnelle
09-02-2004, 08:39 PM
i want to be a VJ or a professional violist in Berlin's symphony orchestra...
or i want to open a coffee shop for people to sit and relax, with a live band performing..hmm...maybe i will sell some cookies or cheese cake too.... :P
oh i would also love to be a journalist for national geographic or a host for any travelling programmes... or better still,produce my own
programme....

i believe in having dreams.... :)

Cirnelle
09-02-2004, 08:39 PM
i want to be a VJ or a professional violist in Berlin's symphony orchestra...
or i want to open a coffee shop for people to sit and relax, with a live band performing..hmm...maybe i will sell some cookies or cheese cake too.... :P
oh i would also love to be a journalist for national geographic or a host for any travelling programmes... or better still,produce my own
programme....

i believe in having dreams.... :)

mercsinc
10-02-2004, 04:24 AM
this is what i wanted to be:

no memory...0-5 years old
a ninja turtle...6 years old
a "hulk hogan...7 years old
still "hulk hogan"...8 years old
a batman...9 years old
the kid on home alone...10 years old
a millionaire...11 years old
a kazillionaire...12 years old
a race car driver...13 years old
a mechanic...14 years old
a car designer...15 years old
an architech...16 years old
an architech with a small company...17 years old
an architech with a small company of my own...18 years old
an architech with my own huge company makign towers...19 years old
a head of my own conglomerate...20 years old

but now i'm stuck with engineering...

mercsinc
10-02-2004, 04:24 AM
this is what i wanted to be:

no memory...0-5 years old
a ninja turtle...6 years old
a "hulk hogan...7 years old
still "hulk hogan"...8 years old
a batman...9 years old
the kid on home alone...10 years old
a millionaire...11 years old
a kazillionaire...12 years old
a race car driver...13 years old
a mechanic...14 years old
a car designer...15 years old
an architech...16 years old
an architech with a small company...17 years old
an architech with a small company of my own...18 years old
an architech with my own huge company makign towers...19 years old
a head of my own conglomerate...20 years old

but now i'm stuck with engineering...

pengyu
10-02-2004, 06:10 AM
i wanna be a racer kehkehkeh... dreamin' huh.. yea i am :D

pengyu
10-02-2004, 06:10 AM
i wanna be a racer kehkehkeh... dreamin' huh.. yea i am :D

wesleyanne
10-02-2004, 09:44 AM
a long long time ago, it used to be a ballerina ;) hehehe...
then I really wanted to be either a kindergarten teacher or a special-education teacher. :D Life is full of twists and turns :) now I think being a full-time mom is the best career...lol

wesleyanne
10-02-2004, 09:44 AM
a long long time ago, it used to be a ballerina ;) hehehe...
then I really wanted to be either a kindergarten teacher or a special-education teacher. :D Life is full of twists and turns :) now I think being a full-time mom is the best career...lol

aida_ikmal
10-02-2004, 10:22 AM
at first, when i was a kid, i was thinking of becoming an accountant..yes, i did take account principal during my secondary years..but then again, i changed my mind..and now..i'm expecting to be an english teacher..hehehe..

aida_ikmal
10-02-2004, 10:22 AM
at first, when i was a kid, i was thinking of becoming an accountant..yes, i did take account principal during my secondary years..but then again, i changed my mind..and now..i'm expecting to be an english teacher..hehehe..

10-02-2004, 10:47 AM
Cirnelle!!!

totally love your idea...heheh..if jd kenyataan, let us know k? we'll be the first to go and lepak there.

Hmm...what you gonna call it anyway? ReComCafe? heheh

10-02-2004, 10:47 AM
Cirnelle!!!

totally love your idea...heheh..if jd kenyataan, let us know k? we'll be the first to go and lepak there.

Hmm...what you gonna call it anyway? ReComCafe? heheh

poen
10-02-2004, 04:31 PM
:idea: now i remember!!

wow.. its amazing to know so many ppl are like me, err, not so interested in engineering.. wow.. chen chow you too? damn, i least expected that..

i love tv.. tv shows.. n tv shows with lawyers on it (e.g. LA Law, i still its the granddaddy of all law tv series!!) hehe.. kinda grew up liking to be on tv.. no no, not exactly an actor but more of an anchor.. "salam hormat.. kerajaan malaysia hari ini mengumumkan..." i imagined saying all those stuff..

haha.. now? awesome home cooking by my mom made me "physically unFIT" for the tv business... thinking of being a lawyer, a field which my somewhat forced involvement in engineering could be useful..

and typically, by jumping in law.. won't be long before i would want to jump into politics... hmm, politician.. now that sound awesome, ain't it?

right, Thirdshifter?

poen
10-02-2004, 04:31 PM
:idea: now i remember!!

wow.. its amazing to know so many ppl are like me, err, not so interested in engineering.. wow.. chen chow you too? damn, i least expected that..

i love tv.. tv shows.. n tv shows with lawyers on it (e.g. LA Law, i still its the granddaddy of all law tv series!!) hehe.. kinda grew up liking to be on tv.. no no, not exactly an actor but more of an anchor.. "salam hormat.. kerajaan malaysia hari ini mengumumkan..." i imagined saying all those stuff..

haha.. now? awesome home cooking by my mom made me "physically unFIT" for the tv business... thinking of being a lawyer, a field which my somewhat forced involvement in engineering could be useful..

and typically, by jumping in law.. won't be long before i would want to jump into politics... hmm, politician.. now that sound awesome, ain't it?

right, Thirdshifter?

10-02-2004, 06:58 PM
Cant remember the whole song .....

When I (blablabla).....
I ask my mother ,
what would i be,
will i be preety , will i be rich ,
that's what she said to me.....

Que serra serra.... <--- dunno the spelling :P
What ever will be will be,
The future's not ours to see ...
Que serra serra,
waht will be will be...

10-02-2004, 06:58 PM
Cant remember the whole song .....

When I (blablabla).....
I ask my mother ,
what would i be,
will i be preety , will i be rich ,
that's what she said to me.....

Que serra serra.... <--- dunno the spelling :P
What ever will be will be,
The future's not ours to see ...
Que serra serra,
waht will be will be...

fish
10-02-2004, 08:04 PM
I would like to say that when I was young, my teachers would tell me;

If you are in Science stream, you would be either a doctor or an engineer
If you are in Arts stream you would either end up as an accountant or a lawyer

I ended up as doing neither.

When I met up with this teacher some time back, I told her I wanted to be a scientist. She was suprised. You see, she had always thought that if you are in science, you would end up as being just an engineer or a doctor. I was taken aback. I had never expected her to think of it like that. Moreover, when we were little kids, they had practically drilled us into wanting to be in those fields. I wondered that if they had exposed us to much more wider fields, we could have discovered our niche earlier. Maybe this was not the case for everyone.

I grew up wanting to be a medical doctor as well. Never thought that there was anything better than being an MD. But as the Malaysian system requires you to get excellent STPM results to qualify for the uni entrance, yours truly did not gain entry because of totally laughable results. I was dissapointed, of course. I took other courses relunctantly because I wanted to study more.

Then I guess my life changed. I realized how narrow my view was last time. There are so many fields to venture, so many interesting things to do. Nobody is a failure if you excell in your field, no matter what you do, as long as you live up to your self-conscious. I was lucky to 'discover' upon my field accidentally.

I hope that those whom are still deciding on which field to venture into would read my message. Do not choose your field according to the expectations of others. Choose something which you really like and think you can do well in. This way, you would enjoy studying more and you would be inspired to study.

Perhaps some would disagree. This is just my honest point of view.

fish
10-02-2004, 08:04 PM

I ended up as doing neither.

When I met up with this teacher some time back, I told her I wanted to be a scientist. She was suprised. You see, she had always thought that if you are in science, you would end up as being just an engineer or a doctor. I was taken aback. I had never expected her to think of it like that. Moreover, when we were little kids, they had practically drilled us into wanting to be in those fields. I wondered that if they had exposed us to much more wider fields, we could have discovered our niche earlier. Maybe this was not the case for everyone.

I grew up wanting to be a medical doctor as well. Never thought that there was anything better than being an MD. But as the Malaysian system requires you to get excellent STPM results to qualify for the uni entrance, yours truly did not gain entry because of totally laughable results. I was dissapointed, of course. I took other courses relunctantly because I wanted to study more.

Then I guess my life changed. I realized how narrow my view was last time. There are so many fields to venture, so many interesting things to do. Nobody is a failure if you excell in your field, no matter what you do, as long as you live up to your self-conscious. I was lucky to 'discover' upon my field accidentally.

I hope that those whom are still deciding on which field to venture into would read my message. Do not choose your field according to the expectations of others. Choose something which you really like and think you can do well in. This way, you would enjoy studying more and you would be inspired to study.

Perhaps some would disagree. This is just my honest point of view.

fish
10-02-2004, 08:39 PM
PS:

<I'm referring more to the untapped talents of the country. Some people who really want to go overseas to get a good engineering training don't get a chance wither coz they are too poor, can't fight against the mighty 10A1s, or some other reasons, end up trying to squeeze into the local universities, just to find that they are given a major that they have totally no interest in, wasted their time, ended up doing selling (MLM ) or other occupations because companies don't dare to hire them. >

Quoted from jiinjoo

I was one of those some people
Jiinjoo got it right, on all points.
1. Too poor
2. Can't fight with the mighty 10A1s
3. Simply being squeezed into one of the unis

But I was lucky to be squeezed into something which I fell in love with.

fish
10-02-2004, 08:39 PM
PS:

<I'm referring more to the untapped talents of the country. Some people who really want to go overseas to get a good engineering training don't get a chance wither coz they are too poor, can't fight against the mighty 10A1s, or some other reasons, end up trying to squeeze into the local universities, just to find that they are given a major that they have totally no interest in, wasted their time, ended up doing selling (MLM ) or other occupations because companies don't dare to hire them. >

Quoted from jiinjoo

I was one of those some people
Jiinjoo got it right, on all points.
1. Too poor
2. Can't fight with the mighty 10A1s
3. Simply being squeezed into one of the unis

But I was lucky to be squeezed into something which I fell in love with.

11-02-2004, 12:36 AM

So which stream was your teacher in? Streamyx? :lol: :lol: :lol:

(sorry, hungry guy's joke)

11-02-2004, 12:36 AM

So which stream was your teacher in? Streamyx? :lol: :lol: :lol:

(sorry, hungry guy's joke)

11-02-2004, 12:44 AM
haha...i think i wrote ahli bomba, juruterbang and posmen in my report card in std 3

11-02-2004, 12:44 AM
haha...i think i wrote ahli bomba, juruterbang and posmen in my report card in std 3

fish_o7
11-02-2004, 03:51 AM
i wanna be ..... a freakkin' porn star...... i could get all the sex i want .... and stilll .... be paid .... wahahha ... could life be any easier ..... but the again ...... race and religion .... teach me that's the last thing i wanna be ....... then i settle on being on a a hot freakin rock star .. but then again .... i can't a play f**kin' note on any f**kin' insturnment .... dun ask about the voice ..... then after that... i'm thinkin' about being a dictator ...... and after the iraq incident ... i think i pass.... so wat about ... hot model .... damn .... why i'm born as an asian .... i hv average height .... and then about movie star ... f**kin' talent .. y?? i dun hv it .... wat about .. a freakin rich .. capitalist ... ermm ... thinking of the peoples i might abuse .. not me .... so after long hours of thinking .... and smoking a lot of weed and cigars ... i think i'll be MYSELF ....... hihih :roll: :roll:

fish_o7
11-02-2004, 03:51 AM
i wanna be ..... a freakkin' porn star...... i could get all the sex i want .... and stilll .... be paid .... wahahha ... could life be any easier ..... but the again ...... race and religion .... teach me that's the last thing i wanna be ....... then i settle on being on a a hot freakin rock star .. but then again .... i can't a play f**kin' note on any f**kin' insturnment .... dun ask about the voice ..... then after that... i'm thinkin' about being a dictator ...... and after the iraq incident ... i think i pass.... so wat about ... hot model .... damn .... why i'm born as an asian .... i hv average height .... and then about movie star ... f**kin' talent .. y?? i dun hv it .... wat about .. a freakin rich .. capitalist ... ermm ... thinking of the peoples i might abuse .. not me .... so after long hours of thinking .... and smoking a lot of weed and cigars ... i think i'll be MYSELF ....... hihih :roll: :roll:

12-02-2004, 09:06 PM
I wanna be a race car driver!!!

Or maybe get my dirty hands into motorsports.

12-02-2004, 09:06 PM
I wanna be a race car driver!!!

Or maybe get my dirty hands into motorsports.

deadmeatz
12-02-2004, 10:36 PM
i wanna be a ROCKSTAR~!!!!!!!

deadmeatz
12-02-2004, 10:36 PM
i wanna be a ROCKSTAR~!!!!!!!

dinna_g
13-02-2004, 01:57 AM
I just wanna post a movie quote, from my all time favorite movie, Forrest Gump. Here it goes:

Jenny: Do you ever dream, Forrest, about who you're gonna be?
Forrest: Who I'm gonna be?
Jenny: Yeah
Forrest: Aren't, aren't I going to be me?

Anyways, I wanna be a rich couch potato.. How's that sound :D

dinna_g
13-02-2004, 01:57 AM
I just wanna post a movie quote, from my all time favorite movie, Forrest Gump. Here it goes:

Jenny: Do you ever dream, Forrest, about who you're gonna be?
Forrest: Who I'm gonna be?
Jenny: Yeah
Forrest: Aren't, aren't I going to be me?

Anyways, I wanna be a rich couch potato.. How's that sound :D

jun_wolverine
13-02-2004, 06:04 AM
i wanna be a video game tester

just sit back and play games and get paid at the same time...

that will be so awesome

jun_wolverine
13-02-2004, 06:04 AM
i wanna be a video game tester

just sit back and play games and get paid at the same time...

that will be so awesome

13-02-2004, 06:58 AM
Yeah, forrest gump do have a lot of great quotes. Maybe the best written dialogue in a movie of all time!

13-02-2004, 06:58 AM
Yeah, forrest gump do have a lot of great quotes. Maybe the best written dialogue in a movie of all time!

14-02-2004, 04:44 AM
Can I be a porn star? Please? Pweety pweese?

14-02-2004, 04:44 AM
Can I be a porn star? Please? Pweety pweese?

sanghanuman
14-02-2004, 11:22 AM
Hmm.. I dont know what I want to be. I am currently studying international relations and I'm loving it. Strange how a lot of people are into international relations these days. Back then when I got the letter saying that I was assigned to "hubungan antarabangsa" by a sponsor, I had no idea of what that is.

I love learning what I am learning. The problem is that, sometimes I feel like all the stuff that I learn, are either common sense, or could be obtained by reading a lot. i.e. Everybody could be a pro in international relations without actually having a degree on it. Not like some professional courses like accountancy or medicine, those types of courses are so fine, so focus that I don't think just any random people could do those jobs. I envy whoever's taking such courses.

What concerns me is this; am I professional? Are we? People always tell me that the line that I would probably want to take is some sort of government job, like a diplomat (although it is not very easy to be one), or working with some NGOs, doing research, a teacher perhaps? If anyone could suggest anything else, please do so.

I have fear for one thing. Politics. I find it tricky. I know some people that can be very good politicians. Poen, you go ahead with the plan(of being a politician). Chenchow, I think your dreams are excellent. So are all serious dreams that I read in this column(but can't remember to write them down here).

What we learn now, is training us to solve problems. No matter what we learn, or whether we like it or not, we are developing some skills, somewhere, unconsciously. Dr M was a doctor who became a politician; I've heard of some international relations major became fashion designers, engineers became tourism manager..
Have faith.

-I still don't know what I want to be. 8O

sanghanuman
14-02-2004, 11:22 AM
Hmm.. I dont know what I want to be. I am currently studying international relations and I'm loving it. Strange how a lot of people are into international relations these days. Back then when I got the letter saying that I was assigned to "hubungan antarabangsa" by a sponsor, I had no idea of what that is.

I love learning what I am learning. The problem is that, sometimes I feel like all the stuff that I learn, are either common sense, or could be obtained by reading a lot. i.e. Everybody could be a pro in international relations without actually having a degree on it. Not like some professional courses like accountancy or medicine, those types of courses are so fine, so focus that I don't think just any random people could do those jobs. I envy whoever's taking such courses.

What concerns me is this; am I professional? Are we? People always tell me that the line that I would probably want to take is some sort of government job, like a diplomat (although it is not very easy to be one), or working with some NGOs, doing research, a teacher perhaps? If anyone could suggest anything else, please do so.

I have fear for one thing. Politics. I find it tricky. I know some people that can be very good politicians. Poen, you go ahead with the plan(of being a politician). Chenchow, I think your dreams are excellent. So are all serious dreams that I read in this column(but can't remember to write them down here).

What we learn now, is training us to solve problems. No matter what we learn, or whether we like it or not, we are developing some skills, somewhere, unconsciously. Dr M was a doctor who became a politician; I've heard of some international relations major became fashion designers, engineers became tourism manager..
Have faith.

-I still don't know what I want to be. 8O

14-02-2004, 12:50 PM
architecture. everyone's an artist and everyone's an architect. if you envision great things and yearn to materialize your ideas, then you are an architect.

guys, you'd be surprised, but one of the world's most famous architects, a major player in bioclimatic and ecological skyscrapers is kenneth yeang of TR Hamzeah and Yeang Architects in KL. that's one score point for malaysia boleh.

anyway you might have guessed, i want to be an architect and may be one of the fortunate few who get to study for something i've always dreamed about. but as a retirement activity, i'd like to run a gourmet restaurant, and be a chef at the same time.

14-02-2004, 12:50 PM
architecture. everyone's an artist and everyone's an architect. if you envision great things and yearn to materialize your ideas, then you are an architect.

guys, you'd be surprised, but one of the world's most famous architects, a major player in bioclimatic and ecological skyscrapers is kenneth yeang of TR Hamzeah and Yeang Architects in KL. that's one score point for malaysia boleh.

anyway you might have guessed, i want to be an architect and may be one of the fortunate few who get to study for something i've always dreamed about. but as a retirement activity, i'd like to run a gourmet restaurant, and be a chef at the same time.

angie
15-02-2004, 01:41 AM
now that i'm sure that i want to do something about magazines, broadcasting, commercial, advertising, anything that allow me to use my brain more often! but who knows? someday i might get to hate what i love too! ne?

hey Angie, would you be interested in ReMag?...(ReCom Magazine)
we're going to release ReMag soon. so, we can work together to produce the second edition together with wonderful ReMag Team.
If you're interested, welcome to ReMag! the first Malaysian Students' online magazine for students who meet in the cyberspace.

angie
15-02-2004, 01:41 AM
now that i'm sure that i want to do something about magazines, broadcasting, commercial, advertising, anything that allow me to use my brain more often! but who knows? someday i might get to hate what i love too! ne?

hey Angie, would you be interested in ReMag?...(ReCom Magazine)
we're going to release ReMag soon. so, we can work together to produce the second edition together with wonderful ReMag Team.
If you're interested, welcome to ReMag! the first Malaysian Students' online magazine for students who meet in the cyberspace.

15-02-2004, 03:41 AM
ah, I'm sorry angie, that was me. I press the "edit" button instead of "quote" button. (hope you can post it again)

GOMENASAI!

15-02-2004, 03:41 AM
ah, I'm sorry angie, that was me. I press the "edit" button instead of "quote" button. (hope you can post it again)

GOMENASAI!

15-02-2004, 06:45 AM
now that's funny, masterof_none! you sure have sense of humor, don't you ...

15-02-2004, 06:45 AM
now that's funny, masterof_none! you sure have sense of humor, don't you ...

angie
15-02-2004, 10:55 AM
ii kagen ni shirou yo! it was my first letter and you... :(

haha just forget about that! i don't even remember what i wrote anymore! ok, master, tell me more about remag.

angie
15-02-2004, 10:55 AM
ii kagen ni shirou yo! it was my first letter and you... :(

haha just forget about that! i don't even remember what i wrote anymore! ok, master, tell me more about remag.

16-02-2004, 03:38 AM
Dear sanghanuman,

I'm glad that you're making the most out of your immersion in IR - I've been taking my first IR course this quarter and I love it too.

One thing I learnt about IR especially in the context of South East Asia, is that you don't have to be a politician or a professional to make a contribution towards the relationship between countries, be it within South East Asia or M'sia-U.S. etc. etc.

There are many bodies out there that allows countries to come together for coorperation and discussion. Some of them are "Track 1" bodies, where usually the heads of state meet (e.g. APEC) and everyone comes representing their country. In these situation, you'll have to be "somebody", else you're probably not invited.

Then there are the "Track 3" bodies, eventhough they are often dismissed as just plain talk - it is where most of the ideas grow. The people in track 3 bodies comes from all walks of life, academian, people in NGOs, writers, diplomats, sometimes politicians themselves. Everyone comes to speak as themselves instead of speaking on behalf on their country of origin. In fact it is easy to meet these people - my professor suggest a trick: go to your local newspaper and tell them that you'll be "covering" an event for them and they will give you a name tag saying that you're a reporter - then you can just go mingle with them.

In the middle, there are this "Track 2" organizations. This is actually quite interesting. Track 2 bodies usually comprises of the "big shots" in the government, but since it is not a track 1 show, they can be more creative and speak more freely. But at the same time, since they are the ones running the show in their own country, they can actually make a difference. There's a growing importance in such organizations, especially in our region. One famous track 2 body is ISIS (Institute of Strategic and International Studies) in various countries, which has contributed a lot in terms of security recently in the wake of terrorism in South East Asia.

Of course there are a gazillion more options - but I find that being at the forefront of negotiation and helping shape foreign policies is way cool compared to just teaching. Maybe you can do that when you're tired of meeting foreign diplomats? :)

16-02-2004, 03:38 AM
Dear sanghanuman,

I'm glad that you're making the most out of your immersion in IR - I've been taking my first IR course this quarter and I love it too.

One thing I learnt about IR especially in the context of South East Asia, is that you don't have to be a politician or a professional to make a contribution towards the relationship between countries, be it within South East Asia or M'sia-U.S. etc. etc.

There are many bodies out there that allows countries to come together for coorperation and discussion. Some of them are "Track 1" bodies, where usually the heads of state meet (e.g. APEC) and everyone comes representing their country. In these situation, you'll have to be "somebody", else you're probably not invited.

Then there are the "Track 3" bodies, eventhough they are often dismissed as just plain talk - it is where most of the ideas grow. The people in track 3 bodies comes from all walks of life, academian, people in NGOs, writers, diplomats, sometimes politicians themselves. Everyone comes to speak as themselves instead of speaking on behalf on their country of origin. In fact it is easy to meet these people - my professor suggest a trick: go to your local newspaper and tell them that you'll be "covering" an event for them and they will give you a name tag saying that you're a reporter - then you can just go mingle with them.

In the middle, there are this "Track 2" organizations. This is actually quite interesting. Track 2 bodies usually comprises of the "big shots" in the government, but since it is not a track 1 show, they can be more creative and speak more freely. But at the same time, since they are the ones running the show in their own country, they can actually make a difference. There's a growing importance in such organizations, especially in our region. One famous track 2 body is ISIS (Institute of Strategic and International Studies) in various countries, which has contributed a lot in terms of security recently in the wake of terrorism in South East Asia.

Of course there are a gazillion more options - but I find that being at the forefront of negotiation and helping shape foreign policies is way cool compared to just teaching. Maybe you can do that when you're tired of meeting foreign diplomats? :)

nobrainer
16-02-2004, 03:51 AM
me, i just want to be versatile.

nobrainer
16-02-2004, 03:51 AM
me, i just want to be versatile.

masdie
07-01-2006, 11:45 PM
I want to be a high-class gigolo. I will only serve rich datins. And when I'm done with all those shit, I want to marry a rich powerful women, I don't mind widows.

08-01-2006, 02:03 PM
want to marry a rich powerful women, I don't mind widows.

Abdullah Badawi is up for taking :) he's a rich powerful 'women'

da-hype
08-01-2006, 04:00 PM
Since i 1st picked up a basketball, always wanted to go pro :p but only played for UPM, not NBA or MABA :\
but then the love for programming > basketabll right now :\

Tasslehoff
08-01-2006, 11:33 PM
Musician....

But I would like to be an engineer at the same time too...

Sigh, being a musician is out of the context for me cause, I dont have the money to pursue it.. additionally my family thinks it a waste of time.

balderdash
09-01-2006, 05:53 PM
I want to be a teacher. And I am on the track right now as I am on a teaching scholarship, doing my BA(Hons) in English Literature.

But of course I have my little moments where I want to be:
- a personal shopper (I love shopping so much that it doesn't even need to be for myself)
- publishing
- broadcasting
- run a book cafe

And others ;)

juventus
09-01-2006, 06:36 PM
i would love to be in a rock band!

it feels so cool to be on stage with loads of fans supporting you..haha

itz a dream..alwayz would be a dream..hahaha
8)

anyway..what do u guys think on the prospects of biotech?
do u think itz worth pursuing and izit easier to obtain jpa scholarship should i ask for biotech?

please advice

MagicBeans
13-01-2006, 01:07 AM
I always wanted to be a treasure hunter :D

But archaeology is insanely boring. I like the chase, but not the research :lol:

13-01-2006, 08:39 AM
i wanna be a teacher and a housewife and a lawyer and a drummer and a mystery shopper and have a cooking show on tv.

But what i really really want now is to win gold LOTTO so i can pay the gov what i owe them once i finish my degree and no need work w them hahaha *evil!*

hmm..i'm in this housewifey mode, it's scary!!!

wawa
13-01-2006, 02:02 PM
I want to be approximately happy. :wink: perfectionalism doesn't exist in reality.