View Full Version : Malaysia Airlines Flight Tickets

21-08-2004, 07:26 AM
Fellow ReComers,

Malaysia Airlines are now currently having a promotion for round-trip flights to all over the world at very cheap and reasonable rate.

Check on:-
http://www.bookonline-malaysiaairlines.com.my/

The offer is until 31st August this year.

There are restrictions on when you can fly.

Some examples of the round-trip rates:-
KL-LA-KL RM1698
KL-NY-KL RM1698
KL-London -KL RM1598

check it out.

Moderators edit: URL broken, fixed

21-08-2004, 09:41 AM
what about flights originating from USA?

22-08-2004, 12:24 AM
Go to the links there. I believe there are special rates of USD600 from Newark to KL back to Newark. I think it is not applicable from 15th Nov to 15th Jan... Read the details in the links.

22-08-2004, 12:36 AM
I wanna ask u seniors who are more experienced in this. I think this is more relevant to those who are self-sponsored. Do u guys go through travel agencies like MSL Travels? Which is better, to go through agencies or direct booking from MAS?

22-08-2004, 06:20 AM
Have anybody booked a ticket ye from them? When i try i get these ridiculous price quotes. Even economy is USD 1200.

22-08-2004, 08:04 AM
I also tried the booking system .. yeah $1200 for economy .. *nice* offer!

or perhaps the real offer is intentionally made obscured by hiding it behind a link in a small font? anyone found the precious offer link/page? care to post the address here?

22-08-2004, 08:31 AM
I also tried the booking system .. yeah $1200 for economy .. *nice* offer!

or perhaps the real offer is intentionally made obscured by hiding it behind a link in a small font? anyone found the precious offer link/page? care to post the address here?

i found the catch! under rules in the offer page it writes:

Travel Date: 16 Sept - 31 Oct 2004

Minimum stay is 04 days up to maximum of 14 days.

22-08-2004, 08:43 AM
maximum 14 days? oh man, I, for sure, won't rack my bank account to go home just for 14 days unless it's really emergency ... nice catch, malaysian airlines ..

22-08-2004, 02:10 PM
mine costed usd 674 last summer.the same goes with my friends this summer.when you bought during peak time,eg: june-july,the price is a bit higher.

the bottom line is,when you called MAS,do let them know that you are buying under the student's price.

it is cheaper that way.going through an agent for me is not a judicious decision,given the fact,he is the 3rd party.

MAS airlines has the best crew cabin in da world.all the international students who took MAS on their way to their native lands agreed with me.so,basically,you will be travelling with the best airlines system in da world.at the end of day,it really pays the high price.

but why you wanna go back home,when usa has e'thing and much more.

01-09-2004, 01:30 PM
This is the worst online booking la...
Cant book at the promotional price although I set the date of travel according to the promotion period..
Fed up already...Anyone else managed to book a ticket?

wyeoh
26-09-2004, 04:23 PM
I wanna ask u seniors who are more experienced in this. I think this is more relevant to those who are self-sponsored. Do u guys go through travel agencies like MSL Travels? Which is better, to go through agencies or direct booking from MAS?

I personally have only bought my tickets via travel agents as their fares have so far been cheaper than what I am quoted from MAS. Maybe I should have mentioned that I am a student. Didn't know that that would have made a difference. Summer fares are like phantom mentioned around the 650-700 price range. Winter fares so far for me has been much steeper, of about 900.

Hope this helps.

15-02-2005, 10:39 AM
There is a promotion for parents who plan to visit their children studying abroad. The promotional flights are from KLIA to London (LON) /Los Angeles (LAX) / New York (EWR) / Perth (PER) / Sydney (SYD) / Melbourne (MEL) / Brisbane (BNE) / Auckland (AKL) / Cairo (CAI) / and Manchester (MAN).

It is a round trip flight, and the flight rate is pretty good. Valid till 31st March.

Flight to LAX & Newark is RM1760
Flight to London & Manchester is RM1840

etc.

This is the price before tax and fuel surcharge.

For further information, check on:-
http://hq.malaysiaairlines.com/mys/eng/flying_with_us/planning_your_trip/corporate_government_travel/gv_two.asp

dinna_g
15-02-2005, 10:43 AM
chenchow,

do you know the valid travel dates for the promotion? is there any link to this promotion for more info?

thanks.

15-02-2005, 11:03 AM
chenchow,

do you know the valid travel dates for the promotion? is there any link to this promotion for more info?

thanks.

tthe round trip must be completed before may31st and the depart and return day must be 30 days.

15-02-2005, 11:56 AM
thirdshifter, you have a typo of date..It is up to 31st March, unless I looked wrongly.

dinna_g, the link is in the message that i posted.

15-02-2005, 12:02 PM
thirdshifter, you have a typo of date..It is up to 31st March, unless I looked wrongly.

dinna_g, the link is in the message that i posted.

I think you have to purchase the ticket before 31st march.. but the travelling dates are until may.. maybe my eyes was going blind.. i;ll re-read it again.

15-02-2005, 12:32 PM
ok let me rephrase.

The last departure date for this is 31st March. So the last return date is April 30th.

Ticket sold are valid for 30 days only, which means the returning date must be within 30 days of the departure date..

Anytime between now and 31 march.

dinna_g
15-02-2005, 01:15 PM
thanks chenchow. i overlooked that. i thought that was your signature.. LOL!

SHuLy
15-02-2005, 02:17 PM
i always hear of people saying that booking flights through the travel agency is cheaper, but when i contact these travel agencies, their price quotation is way above the price of the air ticket if i were to book it online!!...why is this so?

could it be possible that you have to be a student at an abroad university to get a student's price ticket?, and not a student studying locally who wishes to go overseas for a holiday or an interview??

15-02-2005, 09:34 PM
I would say that you can always double check between travel agents vs online prices. In US, typically prices online would be much cheaper than the price quoted by travel agents.

One thing, travel agents would be able to get the flight price cheaper than what you can get online typically. However, every travel agent will want to gain some profit, so it would depend on their margin, to see whether you would get a cheaper price or more expensive price.

Typically students studying abroad would have some kind of students' price for flight. For local students, you can check with Malaysian Airlines on its Grad Program. I am not too sure about it, but if I am not wrong, that discount program includes students studying in Malaysia. One reminder, do always compare the prices online with the price quoted to you. Sometimes, the offer price for students may even be higher than the price you found online.

Typically the rules and regulations will be different and say some tickets are not exchangable, or cancellable. Some flights may have restrictions on which day you are flying etc...

16-02-2005, 12:54 AM
There will also be a MAS Travel Fair on 19th and 20th Feb at Mines International Exhibition and Convention Centre, the Penang International Sports Arena, the Permata Exhibition Centre in Kuching and the Sabah Trade Centre in Kota Kinabalu.

So, for those who plan to get good flight deals, feel free to attend the Travel Fair. The organisers will charge an entrance fee of RM2 each for visitors aged 12 and above and a portion of the collection will go towards helping tsunami victims and other charitable causes.

Usually such a fair will be very crowded.

For more information, go to:-
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/2/15/nation/10156578&sec=nation

SHuLy
16-02-2005, 07:38 AM
yeah, the Grad card by MAS do give a good discount..(at least there is), but it's a bit too late for me to apply for that...

thanks!

18-02-2005, 04:28 AM
There will also be a MAS Travel Fair on 19th and 20th Feb at Mines International Exhibition and Convention Centre, the Penang International Sports Arena, the Permata Exhibition Centre in Kuching and the Sabah Trade Centre in Kota Kinabalu.

So, for those who plan to get good flight deals, feel free to attend the Travel Fair. The organisers will charge an entrance fee of RM2 each for visitors aged 12 and above and a portion of the collection will go towards helping tsunami victims and other charitable causes.

Usually such a fair will be very crowded.

For more information, go to:-
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/2/15/nation/10156578&sec=nation

Is it possible to get air tickets (London to KL, not KL to London) in that fair?

18-02-2005, 04:30 AM
pandaboy, i am not sure, but no harm call up MAS and check.

18-02-2005, 04:41 AM
pandaboy, i am not sure, but no harm call up MAS and check.

Yup, I will ask my brother or anyone in Malaysia to call up to check. If anyone here knows, please let me know... Thanks a lot. :wink:

19-02-2005, 05:01 AM
MAS flight prices for the promotional 19th and 20th Feb is available now. They take online booking too. Remember that the date is based upon Malaysia time, so booking on 20th night in US won't work.

The full listing of rate is at:-
http://www.bookonline-malaysiaairlines.com.my/MalaysiaApp/promoDspMain06.htm

For those people whose parents plan to come for commencement/visit, this is the best time to book the flight.

For flight round trip to New York or Los Angeles,
01Mar-30Apr RM1788
01May-26May RM1688
27May-31May RM1788
01Jun-31Jul RM2008
01Aug-31Aug RM1898
01Sep-31Oct RM1638

Tax is not included

There are great rates for all other destinations too!

Please spread to fellow Malaysians or even Singaporeans that you know who may find this useful~!

nashrick
20-02-2005, 01:35 AM
check this out.
www.wokeh.com
click at 'special balik kg promotion'
good deal. 8)

20-02-2005, 09:19 PM
For UK students...maybe you can check this out...

27Mar-30Jun05 outbound MAS?385 to 465+
up to ?75 to change dates Book by 28Feb05

http://www.flightsemporium.co.uk/

dinna_g
07-03-2005, 11:12 AM
Anyone who's studying in the US and interested in going home this summer. There's a student price to travel to Malaysia using MAS. Check out this website:

http://www.wokeh.com/balikkampung/index.htm

18-03-2005, 11:20 AM
Just wondering, has anyone here bought a ticket from www.wokeh.com, now moved to www.mastrav.com?

02-04-2005, 04:43 PM
There's a promotion to balik kampung this year
anyone insterested?

http://www.mastrav.com/

17-04-2005, 11:51 PM
I'm looking at plane tickets to go back for the summer.. anyone has any ideas? Thanks!

xhaniff
13-05-2005, 09:27 PM
i`m currently in france visiting my brother. bought the ticket at the MAS Travel Fair 2005 which was about RM1900 including tax. the normal price is around RM4000