View Full Version : Post-SAM 2010 regarding JPA Ivy league Scholarshp

themshunny
22-12-2010, 08:18 PM
Hi,
I'm currently in a dilemma right now.I've just completed SAM in Taylors.
And I received an offer from ANU for the Feb 2011 intake but the problem is ofcourse financially.

I called JPA and they told me they aren't sure whether this scholarship is to be continued and they told me to check again in January.
So should I just study locally or defer my enrollment to ANU till July and wait?
Btw,the course I've been offered is Bcom/Bpsych.
Help,please!

unsolvedcryptex
22-12-2010, 10:15 PM
Hi,
And I received an offer from ANU for the Feb 2011 intake but the problem is ofcourse financially.

I called JPA and they told me they aren't sure whether this scholarship is to be continued and they told me to check again in January.
So should I just study locally or defer my enrollment to ANU till July and wait?
Help,please!

Yes, there's a big problem whether are they still giving away these scholarships for students who have secured overseas place. You should go to Putrajaya by bringing necessary documents. That will definitely be better than calling them. I don't mean call is useless, but in a way, it's easier to deal things when you have the documents with you.

That is my suggestion. I have not applied for this, and I can't guarantee whether going there actually works. I am saying this intuitively.

sugarspice
23-12-2010, 04:42 AM
There are people applying for the Ivy scholarship after enrolling...:nod

themshunny
23-12-2010, 09:02 AM
Yes, there's a big problem whether are they still giving away these scholarships for students who have secured overseas place. You should go to Putrajaya by bringing necessary documents. That will definitely be better than calling them. I don't mean call is useless, but in a way, it's easier to deal things when you have the documents with you.

That is my suggestion. I have not applied for this, and I can't guarantee whether going there actually works. I am saying this intuitively.

I guess it wouldn't hurt to try,thanks :)

There are people applying for the Ivy scholarship after enrolling...:nod

Do you know who they are? Is it possible for me to contact them thru msn or something?

littlewheatgrass
23-12-2010, 02:23 PM
Hi,

Help,please!

My sister called JPA last week to enquire abt nx yr Ivy-League scholarship, they told her nx year selection criteria will be based on World Top 20 Uni listed under Times Higher Education ranking and Not QS ranking.

Even assuming JPA hv the budget allocation, with ANU currently ranked at 43rd, Melbourne 36th and Sydney 71st plus the fact that Bcom/Bpsych are not in their priority list, I am not putting high hope on yr application. But then again, since you got nothing to lose, suggest you filed in an application to try yr luck.

themshunny
23-12-2010, 03:25 PM
My sister called JPA last week to enquire abt nx yr Ivy-League scholarship, they told her nx year selection criteria will be based on World Top 20 Uni listed under Times Higher Education ranking and Not QS ranking.

Even assuming JPA hv the budget allocation, with ANU currently ranked at 43rd, Melbourne 36th and Sydney 71st plus the fact that Bcom/Bpsych are not in their priority list, I am not putting high hope on yr application. But then again, since you got nothing to lose, suggest you filed in an application to try yr luck.

So none of the Go8 universities are included?There goes my dream.Thanks,btw.

23-12-2010, 03:29 PM
Please don't give up too quickly. :)

Have you tried to contact other scholarship providers?

themshunny
23-12-2010, 05:52 PM
Please don't give up too quickly. :)

Have you tried to contact other scholarship providers?

I have but all of them are closed.and I don't qualify for the uni scholarship.You have to hve a really high ATAR. I'll just stick to JPA and if it doesn't go well,I don't mind studying locally.

There will be other opportunities to study abroad.It doesn't hve to be now.:)

littlewheatgrass
23-12-2010, 11:40 PM
I have but all of them are closed.and I don't qualify for the uni scholarship.You have to hve a really high ATAR. I'll just stick to JPA and if it doesn't go well,I don't mind studying locally.

There will be other opportunities to study abroad.It doesn't hve to be now.:)

There is no hurry ..My sister who intended to do medicine, has just completed her SAM & she is taking a Gap year in 2011. Since she is only aged 18, I think she will probably be going to some third world foreign country like Cambodia to do her volunteering work for this year....

i predicted Year 2011 scholarship criteria to be tough given the new ranking assessment. Only Oxbridge, Imperial & UCL are in the list & none of the Aussie Go8 is in World Top 20. Oxbridge entrance requirement is bloody tough & both Imperial & UCL do not accept SAM as qualified entry requirement. Hence i told her no point stressing her brain out to get a JPA scholarship cos the odd is against her...

star90
05-01-2011, 03:35 PM

May I know your sister spoke to which officer last time? thanks

ParadiseLost
08-01-2011, 11:00 AM
There is no hurry ..My sister who intended to do medicine, has just completed her SAM & she is taking a Gap year in 2011. Since she is only aged 18, I think she will probably be going to some third world foreign country like Cambodia to do her volunteering work for this year....

i predicted Year 2011 scholarship criteria to be tough given the new ranking assessment. Only Oxbridge, Imperial & UCL are in the list & none of the Aussie Go8 is in World Top 20. Oxbridge entrance requirement is bloody tough & both Imperial & UCL do not accept SAM as qualified entry requirement. Hence i told her no point stressing her brain out to get a JPA scholarship cos the odd is against her...

err.. UCL is not on the top 20 list. I'm not surprised at all though, considering how easy it is to get in top UK universities, in contrast to let's say.. the Ivies in America or any top university in the US, really.

I wouldn't be too surprised if Imperial (or even Oxford) dropped out next year too :)

I mean, there's only a measly 1 or 2 people who get MIT/Princeton etc every year, compared to the truckloads of people who get Imperial, UCL, LSE etc.

Glassylicious
08-01-2011, 03:23 PM
err.. UCL is not on the top 20 list. I'm not surprised at all though, considering how easy it is to get in top UK universities, in contrast to let's say.. the Ivies in America or any top university in the US, really.

I wouldn't be too surprised if Imperial (or even Oxford) dropped out next year too :)

I mean, there's only a measly 1 or 2 people who get MIT/Princeton etc every year, compared to the truckloads of people who get Imperial, Oxford, UCL, LSE etc.

I would like to dispute that. Define "truckloads of people getting into Oxford".

Young
08-01-2011, 04:13 PM
I would like to dispute that. Define "truckloads of people getting into Oxford".

Likewise. Sure, there are definitely more Malaysians in Oxford than some of the Ivy League schools but 'truckloads' would be an exaggeration. I assure you, Oxbridge isn't easy to get into.

ayjiahui
08-01-2011, 04:19 PM

I mean, there's only a measly 1 or 2 people who get MIT/Princeton etc every year, compared to the truckloads of people who get Imperial, Oxford, UCL, LSE etc.

zzz that's crazy. maybe it's also because more people apply to the UK than the US. that's why it feels like more people get accepted to UK schools rather than US schools.

themshunny
08-01-2011, 07:50 PM
Hey,
I went to JPA recently and this was what i got.

The officer in charge (sry can't recall his name) told me to wait for the application to open.

When I asked him when,he said he had no idea. Seriously?that bad?
they should have planned the budget and all the year before no?

So,I asked whether I could submit my results first.And he told me there's no use in submitting it now,because I'd still have to reapply and blabla.
So I guess you have to wait.

DireAnguish5678
09-01-2011, 11:23 PM
Hey,
I went to JPA recently and this was what i got.

The officer in charge (sry can't recall his name) told me to wait for the application to open.

When I asked him when,he said he had no idea. Seriously?that bad?
they should have planned the budget and all the year before no?

So,I asked whether I could submit my results first.And he told me there's no use in submitting it now,because I'd still have to reapply and blabla.
So I guess you have to wait.
JPA offers scholarship if you get a place in a worldtop20 uni? i mean, if you do your pre-u privately, and secure a place in for example UCL, and if you apply for the scholarship, are you sure to get it?

unsolvedcryptex
10-01-2011, 03:48 AM
JPA offers scholarship if you get a place in a worldtop20 uni? i mean, if you do your pre-u privately, and secure a place in for example UCL, and if you apply for the scholarship, are you sure to get it?

For your first question, it's hard to determine which ranking they are using now, but there's a rumour to be Times ranking.

For your second question. NO GUARANTEE.

kaiyi
10-01-2011, 04:06 PM
Not necessary you'll get it even though you have superb result and offer letter from the top 20 universities. The selection is not transparent and the numbers of scholarships given out depends on the budget they received. Judging from government's give out to primary schools, it seems that the government have a tight budget.

ParadiseLost
13-01-2011, 12:09 AM

Okay, maybe not Oxford (sorry about that, probably wasnt thinking right - heard rumours that a lot of people get into Oxford this year - of course, the less competitive courses), but definitely UCL, Imperial, LSE and the others - people get there in truckloads. I mean HELP and Taylors both have more than 70 people getting into LSE last year.

And nope, actually a lot of students apply to US (its the number one destination for international students), one of my seniors who got into Cambridge was rejected from Harvard, MIT, Caltech, Stanford, Yale (and a lot more), though he got Cornell and Northwestern.

And besides, in regards to cross applicants (getting admitted to both MIT and Cambridge), MIT almost never loses. Never seen anyone rejecting MIT for anything other than Harvard before.

ayjiahui
13-01-2011, 12:43 AM
Okay, maybe not Oxford (sorry about that, probably wasnt thinking right - heard rumours that a lot of people get into Oxford this year - of course, the less competitive courses), but definitely UCL, Imperial, LSE and the others - people get there in truckloads. I mean HELP and Taylors both have more than 70 people getting into LSE last year.

And nope, actually a lot of students apply to US (its the number one destination for international students), one of my seniors who got into Cambridge was rejected from Harvard, MIT, Caltech, Stanford, Yale (and a lot more), though he got Cornell and Northwestern.

And besides, in regards to cross applicants (getting admitted to both MIT and Cambridge), MIT almost never loses. Never seen anyone rejecting MIT for anything other than Harvard before.

sorry, i rephrase. more malaysians apply to the UK compared to the US. and also, the undergraduate schools in the UK are generally a lot bigger than, say, ivies. [UK undergrad approx 20,000 vs US undergrad approx 5,000] plus, number of good schools in the US >>>>>>>>> number of good schools in the UK (they've only like just a handful).

these factors considered, it may look like the US is more picky, but when you merge HYPS+MIT into one entity and compare that to Oxbridge, the percentage chance of admittance is pretty much the same. likewise when you merge little ivies/hidden ivies and compare them with the rest of the UK schools.

plus, just because your senior got into Cambridge doesn't justify Harvard, MIT, Caltech, Stanfard, Yale (and a lot more) being harder to get into. if you are familiar at all with the US applications process, you will realize that the US adcom looks for PERFECT FIT between the school and the candidate. (and that's really the root problem where many Malaysians tend to just spam all the ivies in hope of hitting at least one target -- and that's really the wrong approach to US applications cos that's not what they are looking for!)

this is unlike the UK adcom where grades are the sole determining factor for entry. considering the way Malaysians have been geared to be an exam-orientated, Malaysian students tend to be a better fit towards UK schools.

your assertions are flighty and overly-pompous.

and just so you don't get the wrong idea, i am a US college-hopeful.

WiNGLeSs_anGeL31
13-01-2011, 01:13 AM

Your argument would have been much stronger (or it, more likely, would have imploded) had you not based it primarily on the extrapolation of your personal anecdotes. I know quite a few people who do it; always see them around the mamak stalls talking about global and national issues...

Ann92
11-02-2011, 08:47 PM
Is LSE still in the list of ivy league scholarship for accounting???
If yes, how we would noe when we should apply??

lonewolf5999
19-02-2011, 12:19 PM
Most likely no; my friend with an Accounting & Finance offer from LSE last year went to the department headquarters to appeal, but was unsuccessful.

chernjuin
19-02-2011, 01:54 PM
Most likely no; my friend with an Accounting & Finance offer from LSE last year went to the department headquarters to appeal, but was unsuccessful.

hi guys, i'm new here. Just wanna clarify some things. is it that if we are accepted into top universities in the world then JPA will definitely award us a scholarship. o we have to apply for it and then only they will consider and it is not a definite yes for a scholarship???

ParadiseLost
19-02-2011, 02:51 PM
And yes, LSE is definitely not in the list (not top 20), and way too much people get in LSE each year. If JPA sponsors them, they're gonna go broke.

Hollowic
08-03-2011, 11:11 AM
Just wish to ask, are they still offering this scholarship this year? i cant find any relevant info at JPA website

acgerlok7
08-03-2011, 10:32 PM
Wow my goodness...even if we get into the top 20 ? dats scary...it might just break a hardworking person heart...imagine he/she study and get good grades. got an admission letter for Stanford...and day and night been hopeful of getting a financial aid from JPA...oni to be told weeks later that his application for the scholarship is not successful.....reason rejected unknown...No wonder every year there's so many Malaysian migrating...

ayjiahui
08-03-2011, 10:44 PM
Wow my goodness...even if we get into the top 20 ? dats scary...it might just break a hardworking person heart...imagine he/she study and get good grades. got an admission letter for Stanford...and day and night been hopeful of getting a financial aid from JPA...oni to be told weeks later that his application for the scholarship is not successful.....reason rejected unknown...No wonder every year there's so many Malaysian migrating...

Such is life. Think about it this way, JPA is not a charitable organization. It can't just give out scholarships to each and every person, even if some are capable. And at the rate things are going, I don't think our government has that much money to sponsor students anymore... especially at the direction our economy is going to.

And about the migration thing, Malaysians migrate but frankly not because of this.

adele123
09-03-2011, 07:54 AM
Just wish to ask, are they still offering this scholarship this year? i cant find any relevant info at JPA website

There was never any info on JPA website, recom holds more info about this scholarship than JPA...

cheers, look for that thread in recom.

leeashroe
09-03-2011, 09:02 AM
There was never any info on JPA website, recom holds more info about this scholarship than JPA...

cheers, look for that thread in recom.

Very true indeed.

TheTruthIsFake
09-03-2011, 08:02 PM

Happened before. In fact, its exactly what happened to my senior who got into Stanford class of 2014.. Sad, right?

Hollowic
05-04-2011, 10:16 AM
Ok I just searched up the forum, and here I just wanna confirm about this: So if we want to apply for this Skim Tajaan Tambahan, we just email + send in hardcopy of our resume, result, certs, and documents to JPA, and indicates that we wish to apply for this stuff?

and which email address/ postal address I should be mailing my documents to? thanks for info ya :D

acgerlok7
05-04-2011, 10:42 PM
Happened before. In fact, its exactly what happened to my senior who got into Stanford class of 2014.. Sad, right?

Yeah...indeed...but there's always a silver lining...so how's your senior doing now btw? did he eventually manage to secure a scholarship for her/himself in the end?:) * i hope she/ he does* hehe...cos stanford admission is really an opportunity not to be missed or rejected..Oh btw...jus being curious, wat pre-uni and where did your senior did his/her pre-uni?.:)

unsolvedcryptex
06-04-2011, 12:25 AM

Think we share the same senior. LOL. I know about that too. I talked to him last year about it.