View Full Version : InternshipAsia Project - Feedbacks Needed
26-08-2004, 11:01 PM
Hello,
Some of us might have noticed there's one additional green icons on the Quick Navigations bar in Recom's site. That's right: IA team has joined us. !
We've heard lots of wonderuful threads discussing about going back to work. for example, this thread:
http://nac01.kinetichost.net/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1254&sid=5bc76f56d801d3ce1c8ce46ea9f7cf99
But we don't just stop there. Recom goes even further. We're now in the process of developing a site that serves as a 'matchmaker' between the companies in Malaysia and Malaysian Students around the world. And we believe that it's going to be great and successful.
Some big companies has shown interest in checking out the site and we believe that with a vast network that Recom has, the IA would be the prime resource for Malaysian students to come back and get the job : without hassle.
the idea is simple : Companies offer position in IA site , you grab it.
Since this site is new, we need a lot of feedbacks from everyone.
We invite you to the IA forum for any career-related question :
http://www.internshipasia.com/forum/
You're welcome to join the IA team too! (or may be get a job along the way). please contact weich, the head of IA team at :
wei.feng@<hidden>
or me:
masterof_none@<hidden>
Links :
www.internshipasia.com
We're really excited about this project and we want to hear what do you think.
Thanks!
27-08-2004, 09:48 AM
Hey all,
If you are interested in sharing your experiences when you were doing your internship, feel free to do so!!!
I'm sure it'll help a lot of us who haven't done any internship at all.
27-08-2004, 12:37 PM
It would be great for some of us who had done some internship can drop by some description about their position and what had they done. I think a concise description would be awesome.
Or, if you have anymore suggestion to improve IA, just post it here. we're more than willing to listen.
28-08-2004, 01:09 AM
I wish to get some infomation about internship related with Chemical Engineering and Nanotechnology. I am interested on it. Hope you guys can help me because I wish to get internship training at this coming winter holidays.
I did my practical training at Korea Institute Ceramic of Engineering and Technology for around 2 months during this summer holidays. I helped those Master and PhD students from some universities in the lab. Actually not only at the lab, but helped them to arrange thier experiment data too.
Most of the time I helped a PhD student there, and she did teach me a lot, especially the usage those machines in the lab.
I wish to learn more during this coming winter holidays.
28-08-2004, 09:34 AM
janewai, please share your experience with everyone, like what you have learned, what you have observed etc....
And this is to everyone, hope that anyone that finds out about any internship possibilities, please post it here or at Internship Asia forum. Lets work together to make this a win-win situation :-
a) For employers to find talented Malaysians interested to work in Malaysia.
b) For students to find matching employers in Malaysia.
Any suggestion, proposal etc, please post it here or at Internship Asia forum.
And hopefully more ReComers would be active in ReCom as well as Internship Asia.
28-08-2004, 10:15 AM
Hi Janewai,
It would be good if you can just share your experiences with us and we can post it up in Internship ASIA!
Also, we are currently trying to compile an internship directory for easy access to the many internship programs available out there.
However, we only post the internship programs up if the company approves of it.
So, please anyone who has any contacts of HR Managers/Recruitment Managers pls, send it to me =)
28-08-2004, 10:17 AM
Wei Cher, oops.. I have added a link to a job at the Technology section in IA Forum. Feel free to try and verify and see , and take it down if necessary...
28-08-2004, 06:47 PM
About what I learned during my practical training, I really learned a lot at the composite materials lab. I learned the synthesis of ceramic powder and how to characterise the powder. Let me list out what are the machines that I had learned from how to prepare the sample and how to characterise the sample using the machines.
1) U/F system ( Ultra Filter(??) system )
2) Pressure Filter
3) Scanning Electron Microscope (SEM)
4) Zeta particle size measurementer
5) Malvern particle size measurementer
6) X-Ray Diffraction (XRD)
I was educated the sampling for TEM (Transmittion Electron Microscope) and FT-IR, but I havent get the chance to operate them before. Recently, I was given the admittion ticket of Nano Korea Exhibition by the institutte. I was educated with how is the AFM (Atomic Force Microscope) been operated.
Overall, I think what I learned there more to analysis of chemistry. Besides that, I learned how to use a software named "Origin 7.0" to draw graphs from the results we get through the experiments and present the data through the reports.
Roughly that's all what I learned during the summer holidays 2 months practical training. I wish I can get more chances to learn and practise more.
Oh yeah.. one more thing, I wish to tell you guys that Korean working attitude is excellent enough to be learned. During the 2 months, I must and had to be at the office before 8.45am even the actual working hour start is 9am. 12pm to 1pm is lunch hour, then everybody works until at least around 8.30pm everyday even the actual office off time is 6pm there. I did work till around 9.30pm before for several times. I am curious that is the research working environment in Malaysia same with how I experienced in Korea. :wink:
29-08-2004, 11:49 AM
Hi janewai,
That's a really good contribution...do you mind adding an intro to that so we can post it up on Internship ASIA?
And also give us a title =)
Many thanks
29-08-2004, 12:36 PM
:oops: Sorry that I have no idea about what kind of intro you mentioned.
About tittle... emm... hehe... no idea...
I dont mind you to put at the internship asia...... you can put any tittle that you think is suitable... :P
29-08-2004, 01:35 PM
Hi janewai,
Maybe a bit more about the background of your practical training as in what kinda research you are doing, which university, etc...since the rest of us are quite *blur* about it :lol:
Thanks again.
30-08-2004, 12:33 AM
Hi janewai,
Maybe a bit more about the background of your practical training as in what kinda research you are doing, which university, etc...since the rest of us are quite *blur* about it :lol:
Thanks again.
Place : Korea Instittue Ceramic of Engineering & Technology
DEpartment : Composite Material Lab
Research : Synthesis and Characterise Layer Doubled Hydroxides (LDH)
that's all I can tell... because lack of knowledge in the theory, actually I am blur also :oops: ... haha... I jsut learned what they teach me...
30-08-2004, 12:25 PM
hmm..it's ok, anyway it's a really tough fields to start with - powder characterisation and synthesis, hardly know what's the application associated with it =)
and about nanotechnology research in Malaysia, I hardly know of any :?
Anyway, do join us in the IA Forums (http://www.internshipasia.com/forum) and share your experiences =)
10-12-2004, 12:39 PM
Guess the newer members of ReCom may not realize but I would strongly recommend everyone to check out www.internshipasia.com . It is started by Wei Cher from Imperial College and it is part of ReCom, although it is administered separately.
There are currently more than 60 internship opportunities in Asia in the internship directory there in internshipasia, so if you are planning to do internship back home, go ahead and check out www.internshipasia.com