View Full Version : Malay Reserve Land
27-08-2004, 11:00 AM
There has been suggestion to open up the reserve land for leasing for 60 years to non-Malays. Though I myself don't like the idea of reserve land because it's part of the special rights issue, given the situation, opening up the reserve land is a good idea for development.
What is your opinion on this?
In a more focused set, there has been plan to open up Kg, Baru. What do you guys think?
27-08-2004, 12:59 PM
They(DBKL) should just relocate the whole kampung baru. The goverment should just reposses that very valauable and strategic land. Kg. Baru had been an eye sore of KL far too long.
There's thousands of new housing developements around KL and DBKL would have no problem acomplishing this.
Also, Reserve land in KL doesn't make sense. If the reserve land is somewhere in Malacca i could understand, but KL?
Kg Baru should just be nuked out of KL. Simple. But of course i could see how UMNO cawangan Kg Baru would be crying oh!!! Melayu ditindas di bumi sendiri bla bla bla. It'll be more of a race issue then rather then the inconveniences of the relocation.
cquayhl
27-08-2004, 02:02 PM
Probably a good idea, probably unavoidable.
And why limit it to KL? Apparently the price of Malay Reserve Land in some parts of Perak is a third of the price of non-MR Land and there are still no buyers, so it could go even lower. This is good rubber and oil palm land we are talking about. If nobody wants to farm it, might as well lease it to people who will, otherwise it'll just lie fallow.
I wonder though what impact this will have on the Malay community. Will they get squeezed off the land? Will this create social problems?
BTW, which Kampung Baru are we talking about? There are two Kampung Baru that I know of within ten miles of my house...and probably there's several dozen in every state. Can someone explain a bit about the Kampung Baru is being discussed? I gather it's close to KL, but maybe some history, current conditions and so on? Any news articles on this? Not everybody is from KLlah.
Charis.
28-08-2004, 09:47 AM
cquayhl, I think the ability for Malay Reserve Land to be leased is for throughout Malaysia and not merely in KL.
There would be pros and cons with this action, but if everyone is doing it responsibility, it would eventually be beneficial in the long run. With greater access of land, there are two possibilites. For those areas that land is scarce, with this greater availability of land for lease, the price that the land could fetch would increase pretty significantly. However, for those areas that the land area is currently in excess, this additional leasing land would eventually cause a glut.
Ok, the stuff I say above, is assuming that some of these Malay Reserve Land would be leased, and it builds on the current open market land for lease. Looking from another view point, would these landowners being shortcharged, especially if land is in excess? If the price increases, would more people just decide to lease the land, and collect the leases, instead of working on the land? May be this is good too, but it would still be dependable.
Guess I have just made a convoluted statements and arguments... So, hope to get more people to discuss and share on this issue.
cquayhl
28-08-2004, 11:14 AM
With greater access of land, there are two possibilites. For those areas that land is scarce, with this greater availability of land for lease, the price that the land could fetch would increase pretty significantly. However, for those areas that the land area is currently in excess, this additional leasing land would eventually cause a glut.
Do we know which areas currently have too little and which areas too much land? As far as I can see, farming land is in desparate short supply di daerah-daerah Manjung dan Perak Tengah di negeri Perak. But we need facts. It's hard to form opinions and make decisions in the absence of facts. What are other people's experiences in other parts of the country? Are there official figures? We need land use broken down by MR and non-MR.
More questions: Who does MR land belong to? Mostly to the government? Or mostly to individuals? Also, will there be any restriction on the use of the leased land?
Looking from another view point, would these landowners being shortcharged, especially if land is in excess? If the price increases, would more people just decide to lease the land, and collect the leases, instead of working on the land? May be this is good too, but it would still be dependable.
From a monetary point of view, why would they be shortchanged? Pray explain. A different problem that may arise is landless people swelling inner cities and slums, especially if the lease is paid in a lump sum and not invested properly. Some legal safeguards would need to be implemented, perhaps.
Another thing. I'm not completely sure of this and maybe some economists can correct me, but land prices seem to go up and down in cycles ten years or so. Maybe it makes more sense to lease the land for a shorter period of time? On the other hand, if the lease period is too short, people might not want to lease the land as there is always some overhead cost associated with initially clearning the land. Also, some crops such as oil palm take quite a few years to bear fruit.
I guess one question we should all have been asking in the first place is: What is the point of this? What issues are being addressed? I assumed that it was fallow land that was the problem, but this might not be the case. If it is indeed the problem, other alternatives can be explored, e.g. education, loans etc. Is the land lying fallow because people have so much land that they cannot farm it all? Is it because they are farming inefficiently? Or something else?
Depending on who actually owns MR land, the mildly cynical view would be that this is a way for the government to auction off government-owned land to the highest bidder and 'we can worry about the consequences later, just need to balance the budget first'. The very cynical view...I'm sure you can extrapolate. I'm trying to be charitable these days. :-P
Charis.
noneedname
30-12-2004, 02:30 AM
----------
Look at America. What happened to the American Indians ?
Because they refuse or reluctant to be progressive and continue to stay in huts and forest reserves.
Similar here, the malays are not locals. Parameswara came from India ? Indonesia ? Can't remember but he was definitely not local. Where malays came from ? Indonesia ? Arab ? What happened to our orang asli ? They are the original settlers here, they should be the true real bumiputras. Not the babiputras we have here.
So its history repeating itself again. Best example is America and Australia. All the orang aslis in these countries are almost non-existent. Take a walk out in the streets, you'll find more whites than aborigines.
So, these melayus here, what they are doing now is, they are claiming land and take it all to themselves. They realize malays are :
1- LAZY
2- INCOMPETENT
3- NO SENSE OF URGENCY
4- SPOILT BY THE GOVERNMENT
------------
30-12-2004, 02:59 AM
yo if you want people to take your comments seriously, please be more sensitive instead of calling names. and please give evidence if you want to make accusations. don't be a fool and ignite unnecessary anger.
30-12-2004, 03:02 AM
Ai yahhhhhhh
Noneedname.... you no need freedom ah?
Ai yo yo.... You want to be on the front page of harian metro ah?
Ai yo yo!
OK recom... look out for the tsunami of publicity compliments of Jalan Renong!
Web shows (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
30-12-2004, 03:03 AM
Look at America. What happened to the American Indians ?
Because they refuse or reluctant to be progressive and continue to stay in huts and forest reserves.
You obviously never read the history of America.
Similar here, the Malays are not locals. Parameswara came from India ? Indonesia ? Cant remember but he was definitely not local. Where Malays came from ? Indonesia ? Arab ?
Parameswara found Malacca, not the entire country. Malays were here long before parameswara was. The only reason history book mentions his name more often then any others is because, he was able to transform Malacca to a real establishment which attracted all these foreign invaders few decades later.
What happened to our orang asli ? They are the original settlers here, they should be the true real bumiputras. Not the babiputras we have here.
I don't think anybody could claim to be an original settler of anywhere. Unless you believe your great grandfather dropped from the sky onto a piece of land somewhere.
You do realize that Malays didnt vote nor did they willingfully told their leaders that we want some sort of special rights. It is the politician whom your father and your fathers father voted for that did this. Who's fault is it? Just the Babiputera voters? I think not.
It's the fault of the Cina tak kenang budi and the Kaki botol Indian as well.
So its history repeating itself again. Best example is America and Australia. All the orang aslis in these countries are almost non-existant. Take a walk out in the streets, you'll find more whites than aborigines.
History always repeats itself. Matter of fact, how many Orang Asli have you met in Malaysia? I bet none. You're right. Just like how you see more white people then the aborigines in Australia, We see more Malays then we see orang Asli in Malaysia.
So, these Melayus here, what they are doing now is, they are claiming land and take it all to themselves. They realize Malays are :
1- LAZY
2- INCOMPETENT
3- NO SENSE OF URGENCY
I wonder how long have you been in Malaysia. If you lived there long enough you'll know that none of the above is true.
Dear Mr Racist with a small pee-pee. Take your troll somewhere else.
If you want to be progressive, please use some of that little brain you have.
30-12-2004, 03:15 AM
Who's fault is it? Just the Babiputera voters? I think not. It's the fault of the Cina tak kenang budi and the Kaki botol Indian as well.
[...]
Dear Mr Racist with a small pee-pee. Take your troll somewhere else.
If you want to be progressive, please use some of that little brain you have.
Holy shiiteballs! Tell me I'm dreaming! Mr Umnoputera spewing venom!
I think you should understand by now that offering a retort to this "Disgruntled Immigrant" ramblings who will probably migrate to Australia et al anyway, is a bloody waste of your time.
Rilek lah bang... diorang tak pandai berkawan... kalo diorang lepak ngan kangkawan melayu, mungkin diorang sedar skit. Bagi chance kat budak ni... bukan diorang salah... tapi sistem pimpinan/politik perkauman...
Chill shifty... chill... Most of us non-Malays (like MEEEEEEEE) are not so ignorant.
Set a good example as a Mod ok? your "Tak Kenang Budi" statement REEEEEEEEKS of BTN. (Sidenote: I was right about BTN! hahahahahahhahahaha *victory sign*)
Eh... chenchow... please come defuse the situation... Shifty seems to be more emotional than me this time. LOL, but my target is usually the government. :P
Depakote death (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/depakote/)
30-12-2004, 03:16 AM
Eh Shifty: Not all non-malays have small pee-pee ok? *wink*
Peachy (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/cam/Peachy/)
30-12-2004, 03:17 AM
Alright, there are those who may wanna hang me for saying this, but I believe to a certain extent, special rights does or at least has the potential of spoiling the bumis.
30-12-2004, 03:32 AM
Alright, there are those who may wanna hang me for saying this, but I believe to a certain extent, special rights does or at least has the potential of spoiling the bumis.
what's the point of stereotyping things ?
30-12-2004, 03:38 AM
I don't really get what you're saying el_empty. But what I'm trying to say is similar to that "give a man a fish and he eats for a day, teach him how to fish and he eats his entire life" thing.
30-12-2004, 03:39 AM
--------------
So, these Melayus here, what they are doing now is, they are claiming land and take it all to themselves. They realize Malays are :
1- LAZY
2- INCOMPETENT
3- NO SENSE OF URGENCY
------------
Are you sure that most Malays are so? While things are not perfect, making such sweeping statemnets will not help at all. As I quote what Jiin Joo has said some time back, do you actually know some Malays to make such statements?
Or you just based on hear-say?
While the Special Rights have some pros and cons, it is not completely useless. And I can assure you that there are many Malays, including those here in ReCom.org who are at least as competent, as hardworking as you and me.
MASTER
30-12-2004, 03:53 AM
Well, probably this no name guy is expressing his frustration.
It?s very normal to see people say things like these..
well, after being hit by so many disagreement, which some of them are quite harsh in language...
I think this no name guy wont wanna contribute much to recom anymore...
(I sense he has good potential to share knowledge here)
Clap hands to ReCom..
Well done well done.
I am outta here before there?s a flame war.
30-12-2004, 04:00 AM
this nonamedude said she's a hardworking female malaysian chinese with immaculate academic records who went to school in DC. you think someone with such description rants like a little girl? it's not even frustration she's venting, it's childishness and narrowmindedness.
MASTER
30-12-2004, 04:04 AM
this nonamedude said she's a hardworking female malaysian chinese with immaculate academic records who went to school in DC. you think someone with such description rants like a little girl? it's not even frustration she's venting, it's childishness and narrowmindedness.
ahh... sounds like you have some hatred towards this faceless charactor.
Possibly you assume you have the ability to know his thinking and charactor by just looking at his post....
let?s assume she is childish and narrowminded, ain?t it?s good for us, who are more mature to guide her?
I wont wanna hate her at first sight but I believe by not bashing a new member at thier first few posts is a nice thing to do... I mean nice + constructive.
if u like to bash, well, I would take it as an entertainment and see you senior recomers bash people..
hahaha
30-12-2004, 04:10 AM
let?s assume she is childish and narrowminded, ain?t it?s good for us, who are more mature to guide her?
yes it sure looks like she's going to and willing to learn. as of right now she's (or he?) is still copying and posting the same nonsense in irrelevant threads.
MASTER
30-12-2004, 04:11 AM
BTW,
I feel sad not many ReComers do what ChenChow did...
he listens
and he talk with fine words...
and he?s objective..
well, maybe some notty charactors in Recom can create some interesting bashing havoc.
That makes people come back to ReCom again and again....
30-12-2004, 01:37 PM
BTW,
I feel sad not many ReComers do what ChenChow did...
he listens
and he talk with fine words...
and he?s objective..
well, maybe some notty charactors in Recom can create some interesting bashing havoc.
That makes people come back to ReCom again and again....
Well instead of sprinkling us with your words of wisdom, why not post something constructive yourself, master? And if you care to look closely, most of those posts 'bashing' noneedname as you call it, are actually rebuking him/her with fine and valid points.