View Full Version : Malaysia tak boleh. How do we deal with it?

28-08-2004, 04:45 PM
Malaysia misses out on medals - and more
By Ioannis Gatsiounis

KUALA LUMPUR - Malaysian Olympic athletes are topping the local news, but not for the reasons that one would hope. With the Athens Games nearing their close, Malaysia hasn't won a single medal, though it earned two in Sidney four years ago when it aspired to amass more trophies and recognition in future Olympics.

The lack of any bronze, silver or gold led Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi to deliver a rare diatribe on Thursday: "Malaysia is not poor, we have food, health facilities. How about countries which don't even have these? Where did they get the energy and ability to win?" Then he added, "Our abilities must have stagnated while other countries have improved and gone beyond us."

It was clear Abdullah was thinking beyond the Olympics. In recent weeks the government has shed its confident exterior to reveal an introspective, head-scratching core. Instead of continuing to try to superficially boost Malaysian confidence through self-congratulatory press conferences, it has begun to acknowledge that there is a major gap between dreams and reality here; between the long-term vision mapped out by former dictator Mahathir Mohammed and the government's and public's gumption and determination to see it through.

Two years ago, for instance, the government thought technology and innovation would pave the way for Malaysia's future. But very few research and development (R&D) projects have been commercialized, and Malaysians in general haven't embraced the creative, competitive spirit of the globalized world as expected. The country's science, technology and innovations minister earlier this month urged a greater focus on R&D and vowed to provide further incentives, despite the fact that numerous incentives already are in place.

Meanwhile, top officials have been lamenting the loss of their "best and brightest" to overseas markets. Talk has switched from calling Malaysia a "model islamic democracy" to how to actually achieve one. (Abdullah is set to release a book detailing his concept of Hadhari Islam, which seeks to meld modernity and Islam into a working whole.)

So what's gone wrong?

Malaysia's performance at the Athens Games has people talking because it is seen to provide clues. "If you don't do well, you have to work harder," said Abdullah. "If you train three hours a day, maybe you should train five hours a day. If you have done five, you have to do more than five. You must improve, that's all." Added an editorial writer in a local Chinese paper: "Malaysians have placed too much emphasis on economic expansion and the speed with which we accumulate wealth, such that we have overlooked the advancement of social and human development, including the development in sports."

The irony is that Malaysia has a high regard for record-setting. Walk into any local bookstore and you will find The Malaysian Book of World Records prominently displayed. In it are records on "the largest service center", "the smallest frog" and "the number of heads shampooed in one day at a shopping mall". It is part of a government-scripted confidence-boosting campaign that inspired the national slogan, "Malaysia boleh" (Malaysia can). Few utter it with a straight face anymore, recognizing the fact that mere words are hollow. And on Thursday the prime minster urged Malaysians to find "the real determination to win and perform well".

Letter writers to the small handful of Malaysia's independent websites have called their nation one of "false pride" (ie, reveling in meager achievements) and accused Malaysians of opposing genuine competition. Indeed, the substance of Malaysian pride is tested any time Malaysians step into the international arena - and what has happened at the Olympics has led to much-needed introspection, at least for some.

Others simply have tuned out. At the central train station in Kuala Lumpur on Wednesday, two big-screen televisions were on: one showed the Olympics, the other motorcycle road racing. Only the latter drew a crowd. At food stalls, pro-wrestling continues to dominate the airwaves.

The government is partly responsible for the country's woes in Athens, and beyond. Whereas leaders of other nations attended the games' opening ceremonies, as a writer for a popular weblog here noted, "Our senior politicians were not to been seen...when Malaysia comes out with bizarre things like 'The longest ketupat [rice cooked in palm leaves] in the world' in Malaysia, you can see senior politicians officially opening and acknowledging such achievements."

Abdullah said the government is willing to give Olympic athletes the facilities they need, but they "must have the focus and determination to succeed".

A traditional dancer here, no stranger to competition, said some Malaysian athletes assumed they could not succeed internationally, whether it was because of physical size or fate. After Malaysian marathon swimmer Abdul Malik Mydin swam across the British Channel last year, Mahathir was dismayed by how many Malaysians assumed Mydin had been blessed with supernatural power.

When people succeed or fail, Malaysians often attribute it to their rezeki (luck or karma), as in: "It must be our rezeki to win this award three years in a row," or, "People say popular artists in my movies attract the audience and that they are part of my 'winning formula'. To me, it's just rezeki."

But the dancer said that doesn't stop Malaysians from hoping their Olympic athletes will do them proud, or ward off disappointment, empathizing when they don't. "It's really very difficult to face that kind of feeling," she said.

But that's where real progress usually starts - grasping the hard facts. It's a reality Malaysia slowly appears to be coming around to. Sooner or later it will have no choice.

Ioannis Gatsiounis is a New York native who has worked in Indonesia as a freelance foreign correspondent for various Stateside dailies and co-hosted a weekly political/cultural radio call-in show. He now lives in Malaysia.

(Copyright 2004 Asia Times Online Ltd. All rights reserved. Please contact content@<hidden> for information on our sales and syndication policies.)

----

1. Gov is self-seeking in nature. Mere rhetorics are enough to satisfy the uninitiative press/public.

2. Gov flip flops on EVERYTHING. Pak Lah wants to focus on agriculture. We have factory's, free trade areas, we produce computers, chips, SLR camera's, photocopy machines, technology, etc etc. And gov wants to go backwards?

Long time ago gov implemented policy to increase rice production, ppl resisted. Now, Thai/Burma/Viet harvest 4 times a year, while we harvest twice. We have to import from them.

3. Pak Lah, lose that beer belly, then only you qualified to ask ppl train harder. You can't even train your accolytes (mufti's included) to behave properly.

4. Malaysia Boleh is a joke, when it comes out of a politicians mouth. It's only valuable, when it comes from someone who succeeds.

Stick it to the man ya'll

(sorry... URL for this article missing)
http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/FH28Ae06.html
Moderator Edit: Edited, URL added
Sunset Boulevard Residence 2 Pattaya (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

28-08-2004, 05:36 PM
that there is a major gap between dreams and reality here; between the long-term vision mapped out by former dictator Mahathir Mohammed and the government's and public's gumption and determination to see it through.

well,Ioannis Gatsiounis is not only a terrible writer but so so so stupid and darn idiotic.perhaps it is time for him to be sent back to primary school and learn the real meaning behind the word "dictator".

this happen when real knuckle head goes around and tell ppl she/he is a writer.

28-08-2004, 05:45 PM
The government is partly responsible for the country's woes in Athens, and beyond. Whereas leaders of other nations attended the games' opening ceremonies, as a writer for a popular weblog here noted, "Our senior politicians were not to been seen...when Malaysia comes out with bizarre things like 'The longest ketupat [rice cooked in palm leaves] in the world' in Malaysia, you can see senior politicians officially opening and acknowledging such achievements."

owh ok.tell our beloved PM to be in Beijing and i am pretty sure we will win gold medals by then.

well,goverment and the medals are now linked?yeah,put the blame on the gov and never on the athletes.how dumb this writer can be?

28-08-2004, 11:54 PM
lol

Dear UMNOputera@<hidden>,

Reality is this: Malaysia shamed at world stage. Even ethiopia, got a gold. Malaysia, she always beats her chest. But in worldstage, always gets beaten.

That is the crux of my subject line + comments.

Of course your "beloved PM" (not mine!) feels shamed.
SeeUsKinky cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/SeeUsKinky)

29-08-2004, 01:09 AM
Dear FreedomOfSpeechActivist@<hidden>@<hidden>,

as much as malaysian are terrible when it comes to sport,bear in mind that putting the blame on the gov like the author did was ridiculous.

it's like,nobody in ur school attained straight A1s in SPM and parents put their blame on the headmaster instead.owh yeah,and the teachers seem another decent scapegoats.while the students are free to go.

while you said,malaysia is swaggering and beating up her chest,you dont realized that the "malaysia boleh" has somewhat being the catch phrase for some ppl to do something in life.now u dont have the right to question other ppl's dreams regardless how meaningless it is for you and me.

much to the chagrin of mine,while the failure of our nation to win a single medal should be a lesson to us,it has become the reason for certain ppl to debase the gov or whoever they want.

learn from our failure.Dr. M once said,malaysian should put more attention on equestrian since we have small bodies compare to the mat sallehs.now that it came out from Dr. M 's mouth,I am pretty sure you would make a fool of it.

listen to your lionized leaders and keep pointing the fingers to those who you loathed.and keep using our failures to debunk the gov.

29-08-2004, 01:30 AM
Dear FreedomOfSpeechActivist@<hidden>@<hidden>,

Corrections:

1. I'm presently an ARMCHAIR activist

2. I'm in love with Puteri Reformasi, not the gay lovers society

3. it's misled_youth, no caps.

now that it came out from Dr. M 's mouth,I am pretty sure you would make a fool of it.

Why are you spoiling my fun? Party pooper!

Don't you guys know Dr M has a fetish for horses? Don't you know he knows how to ride one? Don't you know he spends time at Vincent Tan's ranch (er... whatever)?

Dr M and Tunku are both horse lovers. Only one openly admits to betting on horses during weekends. Guess which one.

Story goes like this:

Dr M and Anwar both love horses. Dr M get's on horses the normal way, climb up the saddle via side.

Anwar, being younger and more.. er... vigorous (pun intended), likes to do it Zorro style - Jump from behind.

Time passed, starring at horse rump, change Anwar's mental switches. So as he got older, he needed to find ways to curb his urges.

Point of the story:

Anwar's sodomy appeal is on Sept 2.

listen to your lionized leaders and keep pointing the fingers to those who you loathed.and keep using our failures to debunk the gov.

We don't need leaders. We are the better judge of our actions.

Laws and policies are set out to protect the ligitimacy and status quo of wealthy elite.

Who's side are you on?

Do it for yourself. There's no need to make the rich richer.
Laguna Bay Condo Pattaya (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

29-08-2004, 06:03 AM
Did singapore win any medal? Brunei? Even pakistan with a population twice of Malaysia didn't win any. India with over 1 billion people only manage to win one Silver.

Lets cut some slacks to our athletes . They've tried their best and deserves credit for their efforts. It is sad to see our politicians and our Media; not just only expressing their shame/dissappointment publicly they even politisized it, and trying to find someone to blame.

Remember that these athletes are not participating for any political cause. Their doing for the pride of Malaysia. Even if they failed to get any Medals they deserve a big thanks from us to have what it takes to be part of an olympiad.

I thank the Malaysian Olympics Participants and better luck next time.

29-08-2004, 07:45 AM
I realized we are in the habit of deviating from the topic of discussions now and then. I'm going to print the topic in bold soon on the reply box.

Here's some more media to imbue your thoughts of all our achievements.
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/8/28/nation/8774403&sec=nation
(Basically, a group of kacang putih sellers in Buntong put together a unique Jalur Gemilang out of 6 types of nuts)

We're in our home stretch for yet another Merdeka Day celebration. It's good time to reflect on the article misled_youth posted. Some of you might remember the things we did for last Merdeka on this website. We were very convinced that we are making very significant changes, both at our personal level, our societal level, the government level (yeah, we all know it's time for a new government - everybody is talking etc.). We made our own efforts here on the site to show our patriotism and optimism in the country's future.

Regardless of the quality of writing of Ioannis, which I think is reasonable, he has a point, and a very simple one, i.e. we'd like to be proud of what we do, but we don't do much of those things that make us proud as Malaysians.

It is a virtuous cycle / chicken & egg problem don't you agree? You have to do something great to have everyone feel proud of you, but then you have to feel that you're able to do it in the first place to even try. If the general concensus of your social circle is that we are all nobody, then you won't strive to become somebody. And vice versa.

So we have to approach it from either way:
1. Feel proud, then do those things that makes us feel proud, then feel proud etc.
or
2. Do great things that makes us feel proud, then feel proud, then do more etc.

I guess method 1 seems like a simpler way. After all, impressing a group of people often takes less effort, with the help of technology, mass media and a charming leader. I'm sure having a great feeling about what Malaysians can do have created a generation of engineers, entrepreuneurs, athletes, artist, teachers, etc. and not just entries in our Book of Records. I guess this is what the author is blaming - method 1, and he must be suggeting method 2, which also works, but is probably harder.

Asia Times (not only Ioannis) has generally been a very critical magazine, not only on Malaysia. It's good to have someone note the gap between our aspirations and everything that we actually materialize. That however, should not, and will not, hamper our efforts to strive for the best, no matter how much we acn actually achieve.

(Maybe I should start bolding to join the fun)

The important part of an achievement is the process of getting there. In a simple example, it doesn't mean much to cut the cost of your company by half. Did you just fire half your employees? Or did you actually work with your employees to find ways to reduce inventory cost? In a more "Malaysian" context, an example would be - did you win the Gold Medal by taking approved drugs? Or did you win by actually training a lot?

The road to getting a medal in the Olympics is very rough. Those who aspire to reach the end but only walks half-heartedly is not going to get anything in the end. This is further contrained by the limited time in our life span that will allow us to perform at its peak in an atheletic competition.

Maybe the same goes with the "and more" part of the article.

One thing I wish I can do here to is to give encouragement to those that needs it. Because it is I who did not take part in the Olympics at all. Alas, I'm but just another person who can talk, have time to even write this, while those who are meant for great things, those who can show tangible results to make us all proud is probably traning somewhere (and hopefully not sulking without comfort).

Let's all hope/pray for those who have faith in their dreams, for those who traded their life for their destiny.

29-08-2004, 11:29 PM
Regardless of the quality of writing of Ioannis, which I think is reasonable, he has a point, and a very simple one, i.e. we'd like to be proud of what we do, but we don't do much of those things that make us proud as Malaysians.

I wish I could articulate my views as well as you do.

Kudos. Phantom and me are in lousy position to judge his article. We both take sides.

Nice to see some level-headedness in ReCom
Avandia lawsuit information (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/avandia/)

kucingbiru
30-08-2004, 04:43 AM
Did singapore win any medal? Brunei? Even pakistan with a population twice of Malaysia didn't win any. India with over 1 billion people only manage to win one Silver.

ya rite. when we fail, we compare ourselves with those counties.

30-08-2004, 04:50 AM

I wasn't comparing, i was just implying that it is common to come out of an olympic games with no Medals.

kucingbiru
30-08-2004, 04:53 AM
learn from our failure.Dr. M once said,malaysian should put more attention on equestrian since we have small bodies compare to the mat sallehs.now that it came out from Dr. M 's mouth,I am pretty sure you would make a fool of it.

i think we always blame other people when we dont win. it's not just our athletes, our politicians too. when they dont win the election, oh, this party sebarkan dakyah, bla bla bla. it's our culture, we dont like to accept defeat.
we always put the blame on our body size. ironically, the Thai soccer team ranked better than us. Jesus, be more professional!!

kucingbiru
30-08-2004, 04:55 AM

I wasn't comparing, i was just implying that it is common to come out of an olympic games with no Medals.

i dont think that's a good attitude. it's like, "it's common to be a 3rd world country".

30-08-2004, 05:02 AM
i dont think that's a good attitude. it's like, "it's common to be a 3rd world country".

I think it's more like loosing in the finals after a penalty shoot-out in football/Soccer. You tried your best but it just wasn't your day.

30-08-2004, 07:27 AM
apart from the fingers-pointing game,i always wondered how come certain asian countries could perform so so well in Olympics while we are still drifting?

nope,i am not choosing China or japan as the examples.but even our neighbors,thailand has 3 gold medals and ranked 25th.and indonesia has one gold medal. (thanks to taufiq hidayat)

while we have world-class facilities and while the goverment is willing to shower money/land to those who make us proud in the international stage,we still failed to perform.

i wonder why?

well,for me,Josiah Ng and Brian were those who deserved encomius.Brian,the 14-year-old diver even being praised by the american newcaster,saying,"watch out for him in beijing".he was ranked 19th overall in the diving competition.not bad at all,since he is barely 14.and his last dive was remarkable,flawless to my naked eyes.

i believe malaysia should concentrate on games that we ought being successful.gymnastic,badminton and equestrian are few good examples.i also believe archery and shooting are worth considering.

while olympic was not da platform for m'sia to shine,i believe malaysian do shine on the academic level.we have better math and sciences than most countries.amid being ranked 15th for math,i think it is great achievement.but then again singapore is ranked 1st.well,time to concentrate in something and work hard for it.

the right determination and the willingness to put away the sikap pemalas,sikap bertangguh and sikap cakap kosong, will make us achieve something in life.

Jimmy Choo is at least a malaysian who worths emulating.

kucingbiru
30-08-2004, 01:53 PM
snooker is perfect too. (our neighbors have great cueists i.e: James Watana (Thailand, snooker), & Efren Reyes, bustamante etc (Philipines, pool) ).

30-08-2004, 06:10 PM
well,for me,Josiah Ng and Brian were those who deserved encomius.Brian,the 14-year-old diver even being praised by the american newcaster,saying,"watch out for him in beijing".he was ranked 19th overall in the diving competition.not bad at all,since he is barely 14.and his last dive was remarkable,flawless to my naked eyes.

Well... these two, Josiah and Brian, are born 2nd-class citizens. Don't expect them to be given treatment ala Nusa Mashuri.
Recall avandia (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/avandia/)

09-09-2004, 11:51 AM
Darren Ong became the third Malaysian to win a bronze medal at International Maths Olympiad, after Shien Jin and Suhaimi have won bronze medal at the same competition some years back.

Congrats to Darren~! Weijin, a Form 3 student won the Certificate of Honourable Mention. Hopefully that Weijin could move a step or multiple steps up in the future~!

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/Frontpage/20040909073648/Article/indexb_html

09-09-2004, 11:54 AM
Another strong indication of the revival of our National Soccer team. After beating Thai 2-1, Malaysia lost 0-1 to China yesterday. 14,000 Malaysians filled City Stadium in Penang to support gallantly for the National Team.

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/Sport/20040909080908/Article/indexb_html

Steppe
09-09-2004, 06:00 PM
I think Malaysia need to change the education system if she wants to train up super stars in games, arts, etc. etc

In Taiwan, one of my cousins is gifted/talented in arts and when he was in primary 4, he was 'streamed/transferred' to a very special Arts school which concentrated to develop him in Arts as the main core subject. He studied other subjects like maths, science etc. but on a lower profile and the main emphasis was in Arts.

We have heard cases like Tiger Wood, etc. etc. who start off training in their special field of expertise when they are very young. The edication system that we have now is too academic, giving no room to develop special gifted/talented children in special fields.

27-11-2004, 09:04 AM
One piece of good news for Malaysia~!

Malaysia won great honors in World Robot Olympiad.

For the primary school Maze category, 28 groups of robots participating, SRK Jln Davidson won the world champion (perhaps we could call it Asia Champion, since all participants are from Asia), whereas another Malaysian primary school finished 6th in this category.

For the primary school sprint category, SRK Jln Davidson finished 9th out of 14.

For secondary school category, Malaysia didn't fare well. 2 of the Malaysian teams finished 21st and 28th out of 39 teams.

For Open category, out of 21 teams, the Malaysian team finished 4th!

http://www.wroboto.org/competition_overallrankings.html

Those primary and secondary school teams were selected from the Malaysian Junior Robotics Competition.