View Full Version : PTS students who got selected for national service
anyone same fate as mine?ermmmmm,i am not saying that the programme is not good , but as i am studying form 6 , i will have to postpone it , and when i finally have time to join the programme , my stpm results will come out and i will have to apply for many things.as i am not only applying for local u , i do think ns is a nuisance.
SpRInG
29-08-2004, 03:43 AM
yea, actually i agree very much..... ns is nth else but rubbish... it's totally one of the most stupid program that the gov ever have thought of.... well.... wat can we do.... unless we change the policy.. or change someone who's really capable on that seat...
ns..... just a waste of taxpayer's money.. no doubt about that...
29-08-2004, 07:49 AM
I thought this thread will end up with some useful solution of the problem.
littleprince, can you explain again the time frame of everything that's going to happen to benefit the readers who don't really know what's PTS, wen form 6 is starting, what many other things you're applying to etc.? Not everyone on this forum are current high school students in M'sia.
SpRInG, there has been endless threads on this forum dedicated to bashing the government. Since you're against the NS program, can you come up with an alternative?
debbie
29-08-2004, 09:55 AM
PTS = Penilaian Tahap Satu, a test taken by Std. 3 students. If they pass the test, they skip Std 4 and instead, do Std 5 the following yr. Wht's the prob about PTS kids & national service? I'm happy about it cos all of this yr's F5 kids who are born in1988 are excused frm NS ... so nice. Cheers to all of us form fivers who are born in 1988. BUT will they make us go the following yr when it's the 1988 batch's turn? Oh no.. plz don't ! NO!!
29-08-2004, 10:01 AM
littleprince, I believe that you can attend the National service without disrupting your application processes after STPM.
It is because National Service would be from Dec 2005 to Feb 2006, the time period immediately after your STPM and before your STPM results are out. So, rest assured that this issue was addressed in the media, to avoid any of such problems.
lilet
30-08-2004, 11:12 PM
Well, have to say that I'm quite lucky not to be selected for next year's batch or else I will have to defer since I'm doing AUSMAT in UiTM right now. Haven't heard from the 2 other '87 babies in my class yet. I wouldn't mind if I actually got selected - I don't oppose National Service for what it is and what it aims to achieve though it doesn't to be much in favor. ^_^ One thing that I would mind if I was selected is that I will have to undergo NS after I graduate, which will be like when I am 22. :roll: Guess that's a bit weird if I'm supposed to train together with all the other 18 year olds. Hehe.. :wink:
30-08-2004, 11:18 PM
lilet, being trained at the same time with those 4 years younger than them doesn't mean that you would be more matured than them, nor it means that it is a humiliation or anything to be trained with those of that age group.
I have taken classes with students like 7 years younger than me, or 30-40 years older than me, sitting side-by-side in classrooms here... So, I don't see that's a problem at all.
30-08-2004, 11:24 PM
perhaps lilet,they will unite those 22 years old together and do the BTN.
now that they even want to seperate between those 17 married and those 17 who are still in school,i am pretty sure they will do the same to you.
KinkiKISS
30-08-2004, 11:36 PM
i hv been elected for National Service. This is really cruel to me. I m now studying in Taylors n plan to go oversea next year. But now, this stupid national service blows away my dream... :(
30-08-2004, 11:51 PM
KinkiKiss, the National Service would NEVER blow away anyone's dream or opportunity. You can always ask for deferment in your National Service. Please check the deferment deadline and then apply for it on time, and you would be allowed to finish your National Service during your future summer holiday or after you graduate. There is no problem at all.
So, don't prejudge the National Service in such manner before having concrete information.
lilet
30-08-2004, 11:52 PM
~sigh~ I sincerely didn't mean that I will be more matured than the rest of the 18 year olds or feel humilliated to be with them, etc. I am just stating the fact that this programme is new and if those who deferred will not be separated from the others as opposed to what phantom suggested, then that will be one quite not-so-normal situation that I am able to picture right now. But then, I shouldn't have to worry about that. One thing is that I'll still prefer to join NS as a trainer, not as a trainee. Wonder whether those who deferred might be given the chance to volunteer to be a trainer rather than be a trainee. IMHO, that will be a much better option, and much more bearable too. ^_^
30-08-2004, 11:57 PM
lilet, what makes you think that being a few years older, you would be much suitable to be a trainer rather than trainee? I am not looking down on you or anything, but I believe that it is a good learning procedure.
I think that National Service should encourage upon its diversity. That's one of the main advantage and benefits of this program. Everyone comes from different background and I am sure it may take time to get used to everyone, but it would be a good learning experience...
For instance when I went on the 18-day camp in China last month, there were participants who were like 4-year PhD (around 30 years old) or some first year uni student like (17 years old), so that's like 13 years apart, from 90+ universities in the world, 20+ countries... The diversity is there, yet we live on harmoniously.... Not everyone speaks the same language... So, we help one another to translate the language, learn and adapt....That's a good way of learning...
So, I don't see too much logistical problem in National Service having students who are 3-5 years older than the rest...
hey,if i defer the ns , i am not sure whether i will get to enter the first batch for next year , thats mean there is still possibility i will be affected if i'm going to uni.Even i get first batch , the duration is from about 13/12 till 6/3 rite?when it ends the stpm results will have been out...........and i am planning to apply so many thing......cruel.......
lilet
31-08-2004, 06:59 PM
Okay, okay... I give up~! :D Well, it's not 100% true that a person will be better off as a trainer than a trainee if s/he is older but it IS true to some extent though. 8) Anyway, we won't be seeing the full effect of this situation until the time comes, which is most probably in about 2-3 years time when a larger number of those who defer start to repay their NS debt... :wink:
To littleprince, I think you can certainly work that out (about which batch you will be under) with the officers in charge if you have a concrete reason to be in the first batch. About applying for stuff, I guess those in charge will understand and may give you free days to go back to do your stuff, etc. Or else, you can always get help from your parents~! :)
DFish
31-08-2004, 08:38 PM
Well littleprince,i hav the same fate. I'm selected for NS too. I'm going to South Korea this friday for 5 and a half years. So, gonna defer it. Dont we hav to work for government after returning from study? THen, will NS affect the agreement period of working ? if so, when my friends are working, i'm still in the camp enjoying; but when my friends are being released by government, i'm still in for it... what to do? :(
KinkiKISS
01-09-2004, 01:04 PM
sigh...How long that we can defer it?
donno la...........haih ...... good luck all!
04-09-2004, 11:04 AM
I believe that you can defer it as long as you are furthering your education...
Dfish, I guess, no one would be breaking the bond, the day you finish 6 years....most people would continue working with government, just a small percentage of people would break the bond the moment 6 years come... I guess you can join NS after you come back, or during one of your holidays, if you wish...
On lilet's view point about being older, i think it is perfectly fine being a member... Age does not mean much...and being a trainer means you need to have gone through training....
aha, pretty fortunate i wasnt selected for national service..neway, i think national service is not bad an idea for a country like malaysia, provided that its properly carried out and be governed by the higher authorities...anyone knows the real purpose of national service..aherm its creating job opportunities for retired soldiers..since the soldiers retire when they are quite young, 30 over to 40 over years old..so the government is worried that those unemployed soldiers will create chaos in the nation..because they know how to operate weapons and they know what chemicals to make boms and are proven fatal to humans..so national service is just another way to keep them occupied..
just be reminded that u all shudnt be sound asleep at nite when u r in it, since my frens were molested twice..and they woke up to screams and shouts and they saw the trainers out there, but thay dare not say anything since there was no proof.. not really against the idea of ns, but really, it shud be done in a proper way..
heard from most of my frens its kinda fun..just dun be a shirker if u can..u'll get to noe a lot of ppl from different provinces of the country...so sitback and enjoy!
i'm saying this because i wasnt selected...lol..what craps..
08-09-2004, 01:17 PM
That's a very interesting point of view dolt. Would really like you to find some proof (proof by website is fine - proof by website means show us a news article that points to that conclusion) as to what you suggested. It's plausible, but definitely not strong enough to be the only reason for NS.
Don't worry if you're not selected. We can organize our own NS later. I'm sure there are many things to do out there, it's whether you're interested or not. For example, our civil societies and grassroot organizations are always looking for help. e.g. a three month camp to help protect our environment and do some dirty work would be interesting don't you think?
Back to topic, so conclusion is you can defer as long as you're studying is it? So if you go do PhD after PhD, can you evade it eventually?
08-09-2004, 09:43 PM
8O my brother wants to volunteer for NS this year because he is not selected ( PTS also) and he does not want to be selected when he is doing his Lower 6... any opinions on how to volunteer or whether he should or not?
09-09-2004, 12:59 AM
This is for Trainer (Jurulatih) for NS, the application is open. http://www.khidmatnegara.gov.my/iklan/index04.htm
The general criteria is pretty strict, but they have given exception to the following category of people, like final year university student, those who are active in co-curricular activities in unis, those who have attended BTN, those who have finished Form 6, etc
Ic3b3rg, your brother can definitely volunteer.
Ketua Pengarah Jabatan Latihan Khidmat Negara
Aras 8, Menara TH Selborn
153, Jalan Tun Razak
50400 Kuala Lumpur
Telefon: 603-26873400
Faks: 603-26873434
Talian Hotline : 603-26813446
Email: knegara@<hidden>
hey , dont talk ns till so scary leh....let it be , we have no choice
jacyn
11-09-2004, 05:52 PM
oh.. i'm selected for ns too. due to that, i'll have to postpone many of my plans.. yucks.. well, ns is not all bad though.as ppl get to gain experience. ( this is just to console myself ). hahaha..any 87's babies got chosen? :lol:
for pts students who got selected , have u all sent in postpone letter?my counselling teacher said need to wait for calling letter.is it true?pls tell me ASAP
18-09-2004, 12:33 AM
jacyn, what kind of plans you need to postpone? If you have serious reasons you need to defer NS, definitely you will be granted a deferment. Remember to submit it before the deadline.
I guess a lot on NS would depend on your mentality and how you have been living your life. It won't be as comfortable as your home. You would need to go through activities together with other participants. Hence, it would depend on how is your personality. If you are the type that like to work alone, not mingle, then NS would be tough, at least initially. However, take it in all strides, go with open hearts, open minds and explore and learn. That may transform your life.
If you have been active engaging in various co-curricular activities, in particular outdoor activities, doing charity service, been going on marching, trekking, camping, NS is just a piece of cake...