View Full Version : Discussion on Blogging
joebf86
30-08-2004, 11:26 PM
are we suppose to share our blog with others ie telling everyone bout ur blog? if that's the case, we shudn't pour too much emotions and let it be too informative (mentions names)...?
can one actually share his/her blog with the others if he/she pours too much emotions in it?
30-08-2004, 11:29 PM
I guess it really depends on individual. Some people choose to write and share their emotion in their blogs, while letting their friends and everyone else to read. Some choose to keep it private, so I guess the determination point would be each individual, what you wish to do with your blog and whether you want others to see what you write in your blog.
Not too sure about all blogging site, but like xanga, you have the ability to choose whether to have a certain post to be public or private, hence, you have the ability to dictate whether certain things are to be looked at by others or not...That's your call....
31-08-2004, 02:02 PM
well..like chenchow said, the choice is yours..blogging is kinda an online diary..if you feel like you want ppl to read ur most intimate secret stuff, then put it in..if you dont, dont give us the url. The choice is yours, right?
Yeah, I blog some parts of my life in RECOM.
01-09-2004, 01:21 PM
Yup...wat Chen Chow said is true...the decision is in our hands. If u wanna let it be public..just publish..if not, keep it hidden :)
Xanga is kinda cool actually. Any other great blog hosting?
www.xanga.com
www.blogger.com
What else?
01-09-2004, 01:50 PM
Yup...wat Chen Chow said is true...the decision is in our hands.
Yea, the decision is all yours but the consequences are not. Say you really hate this person and so you bitch about her in your blog and other ppl read it be influenced with what you've written...that's not a very pretty picture right?
astraltruist
01-09-2004, 01:57 PM
can one actually share his/her blog with the others if he/she pours too much emotions in it?
i think it's really up to the individual.. but mostly if u dun wan ppl to know that u are talking bad about them, then that's where the pass word function is useful(i mean write an entry but pass word it) but it's only for certain blogs i think..
01-09-2004, 01:58 PM
Yup...thats why we always have to be careful lor. If u wanna talk bad something about someone, maybe u can use a pseudonym (spelt correctly? correct me if im wrong)...
That's what I'm afraid also actually....:roll:
02-09-2004, 12:43 AM
for me, i blog whatever i want and what i feel too... i dont even worry if the person know that i am unhappy and feeling bad about him/her... one of my purpose to blog is try to let my friends know more about me. that's one of the way to let our friends know us further i think.
02-09-2004, 03:36 PM
That's great, janewai. I wish I can do it that way. I would like to read my frens blog too, wanna know how they feel and understand them better. Too bad most of my frens are not into blogging.
Anyway, do u guys think it's ok to copy an article(say from newspaper) to our blog?
02-09-2004, 11:38 PM
i think weblog is a place for us to write our own blog... if only a short quoto is still fine, personally, copying others' article not my style :P...
actually blogging is in freestyle, just depends how you are going to blog...
this is a blog that i like to read.. a weblog with full humorous :D
http://www.edward77.cjb.net
03-09-2004, 12:08 AM
Not copying other articles la..sounds so bad.. :lol:
Sharing sounds better. Sometimes I just want to share some interesting articles with frens in blog...
03-09-2004, 12:20 AM
then you just link it at your blog and sharing what you think about the article in your blog.. i think it can be one of our blogging way ^^
03-09-2004, 12:22 AM
But you know la, those news links will usually expire after some time. But if copy and paste the whole thing, scared the ppl in charge will close down our webpage pulak. :lol:
03-09-2004, 01:45 PM
maybe if you like acknowledge where you got it, the ppl etc then should be oke, i guess
deaf-knee
03-09-2004, 03:24 PM
all the blogging hype :) IMO, if you want to blog about something but are scared that people might read it and get inlfuenced/angered/hurt or what not, then don't. Blogging is like publishing your thoughts in the media. Everyone has a right to read it, and you're the one who chose to put it there in the first place.
03-09-2004, 03:40 PM
aye.aye...agree...if you are afraid that ppl are gonna get mad w what you write, then dont. But that's the whole point of blogging - so that ppl'll know what you think. :D
04-09-2004, 03:23 PM
I am new to blog world. Last time I registered a website for blogging but I forgot what website liao since I never use it after that. Blogging helps others to understand someone they are interested in a faster and easier way. But could there be any abuse by some people to attack or victimise other people by using the blog? Blogging and having own homepage is not so different, we can do blogging in our own homepage anyway.
07-09-2004, 04:19 AM
Reading a person's blog gives me insight into his/her world. I read about different cultures. I also see similarities in a lot people all over the world. this post made me realize how much i treasure the peace in our country.
The hostage situations are a mess. I watch television and it feels like I'm watching another country. All I can think is, "We've become one of *those* countries..." You know- the ones where hostages are taken on a daily basis and governments warn their civilians of visiting or entering the country. It's especially sad because even during those long years during the blockade and in between wars and bombings, there were never any attacks on foreigners. Iraqis are hospitable, friendly people who always used to treat foreigners with care... now, everyone is treated like a potential enemy.
http://www.riverbendblog.blogspot.com/
07-09-2004, 06:11 AM
hey guys
if you have a blog go ahead and post it in the "do you have a blog" thread.
http://nac01.kinetichost.net/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1359#30503
so that we have some sort of makeshift archive of everyone's blog (and good advertisement for you too)