View Full Version : Work and travel to NZ
Athersin
19-02-2011, 08:52 AM
Hi, i wonder anyone have the experiences of working and travel to NZ before?
I managed to get some job info through the following website : http://www.backpackerboard.co.nz/
definitely it is an eye opener if we manage to step out from our comfort zone as a university student, and gain the work experiences overseas. but a lots of things come to my mind as i wasn't been so clear about this application, the secure of accodomation and food, the agent recruiting etc.
so, are u the one who will be going for this work and travel to NZ this coming long semester break?
hope somebody could share.:)
Hi, i wonder anyone have the experiences of working and travel to NZ before?
I managed to get some job info through the following website : http://www.backpackerboard.co.nz/
definitely it is an eye opener if we manage to step out from our comfort zone as a university student, and gain the work experiences overseas. but a lots of things come to my mind as i wasn't been so clear about this application, the secure of accodomation and food, the agent recruiting etc.
so, are u the one who will be going for this work and travel to NZ this coming long semester break?
hope somebody could share.:)
You'll have to apply for a visa and you can find out more from here (http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migrant/stream/work/workingholiday/malaysiaworkingholidayscheme.htm).
Bear in mind jobs on the farm/orchard such as fruit picking is not as easy as it seems. You'll have to be prepared for many hours under the sun as well as hard work!
Athersin
20-02-2011, 12:29 PM
You'll have to apply for a visa and you can find out more from here (http://www.immigration.govt.nz/migrant/stream/work/workingholiday/malaysiaworkingholidayscheme.htm).
Bear in mind jobs on the farm/orchard such as fruit picking is not as easy as it seems. You'll have to be prepared for many hours under the sun as well as hard work!
i learnt that there are not only the farm work that are being offered, but also other jobs like customer services, waiter, cleaner , etc and even a volunteer for Go Green( i think we work as a promoter for the event, help to raise awareness of being GREEN)..so i don't personally like farming work such as picking up cheery and kiwis etc, if got the chance to choose, i will go for customer services.
AH, and the main problem is i think i hv to prepare a lump sum of at least RM2k prior to arrival to NZ, i guess, and then got to prepare the culture shock and the independence to stay alone and work alone.
are u studying at NZ?
assuming that you are planning to go on a working holiday visa in the next couple months, it will be autumn/winter in NZ (we are coming to end of summer atm). so, most probably there won't be much fruit picking work except maybe for the odd apple season that ends about late April. there could be fruit packing services on offer.
as for hospitality/customer service, depending on the employer, some may prefer students with hospitality degree/experience. you may be able to obtain waitressing work or short term admin work.
it's best to do your research and secure work before coming into NZ as expenses here can be high while you are on your own.
Athersin
23-02-2011, 01:26 PM
assuming that you are planning to go on a working holiday visa in the next couple months, it will be autumn/winter in NZ (we are coming to end of summer atm). so, most probably there won't be much fruit picking work except maybe for the odd apple season that ends about late April. there could be fruit packing services on offer.
as for hospitality/customer service, depending on the employer, some may prefer students with hospitality degree/experience. you may be able to obtain waitressing work or short term admin work.
it's best to do your research and secure work before coming into NZ as expenses here can be high while you are on your own.
thanks for the comment here:)
i am also ver aware of the availability to get a job soon after u step into NZ, alots of frens have been telling me it is completely easy like hell to enter NZ and straightaway secure a job there.unlike if u r calling and sending the employees your resume, walking in to get a bob directly proved to be efficient and lots more easier. this is because some employees memang tak layan your call and resume. so i am wondering whether it is true.