View Full Version : ASEAN scholarships 2012
VanessaH
27-02-2011, 06:32 PM
Hi! I am interested in applying for ASEAN scholarships. I'm 15, taking PMR this year. I would like to know when is the application date available this year for next year? :) Thank you!
ayjiahui
27-02-2011, 06:52 PM
Hi! I am interested in applying for ASEAN scholarships. I'm 15, taking PMR this year. I would like to know when is the application date available this year for next year? :) Thank you!
It should open quite soon. Usually the closing date for application is around April. :) So you still have time!
VanessaH
27-02-2011, 06:54 PM
It should open quite soon. Usually the closing date for application is around April. So you still have time!
Thank you so much! :) But it's not open yet right? I'm afraid I'll miss it. But thank you! :D
ayjiahui
27-02-2011, 06:55 PM
Thank you so much! :) But it's not open yet right? I'm afraid I'll miss it. But thank you! :D
Just keep checking the MOE website here (http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/scholarships/asean/malaysia/) :)
qing212
06-03-2011, 12:03 AM
Hi! i am an spm leaver. I am aware that this scholarship gives more attention to pmr and stpm students. Can i apply for this scholarship? as in.. i will be subjected to junior college or got to study sec 4 agaiN? thanks.
Chelsea
06-03-2011, 12:23 AM
Hi! i am an spm leaver. I am aware that this scholarship gives more attention to pmr and stpm students. Can i apply for this scholarship? as in.. i will be subjected to junior college or got to study sec 4 agaiN? thanks.
you will join the junior colleges. but be prepared to study hard cos the Singaporean syllabus is way ahead than the malaysian syllabus. but anyways goodluck and i hope you do well.
luckykid
06-03-2011, 10:51 AM
Word of caution though, rumour has it that MOE will not place direct scholars in top 5 JC anymore. Same for secondary schools, scholars are not placed in the better schools. Unless you apply for school based scholarship.
Chelsea
07-03-2011, 10:36 PM
the application for asean scholarship is open today. the link is below.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/scholarships/asean/malaysia/
the general rule of thumb is to apply first, worry later. read the older threads for tips. anyways, good luck. hope you do well.
ayjiahui
07-03-2011, 10:43 PM
Word of caution though, rumour has it that MOE will not place direct scholars in top 5 JC anymore. Same for secondary schools, scholars are not placed in the better schools. Unless you apply for school based scholarship.
whoa? now it's been extended to top 5? that.... kinda sucks. really sucks.
Nicholas92
08-03-2011, 05:43 PM
Can't know for sure. But I do think they're cutting down on the numbers they're bringing in, supposedly they're tightening their PR grants too. I heard there were only 10 direct JC scholars this year, and none of them came to AC :(
ayjiahui
08-03-2011, 07:20 PM
Can't know for sure. But I do think they're cutting down on the numbers they're bringing in, supposedly they're tightening their PR grants too. I heard there were only 10 direct JC scholars this year, and none of them came to AC :(
Hahaha... Only because Elections are coming soon ^^
Nicholas92
08-03-2011, 09:48 PM
^Hmm, actually, valid answer...didn't think of that. But still, I think they're tightening their grip a little bit...unrelatedly, we've got way fewer Msian juniors here this year.
I think they're favouring the Sec 1/ Sec 3 scholars, given that they come earlier and are most of the time a bit more loyal than the directs (haha). Directs can't get RI or HCI after all. And now apparently the rest of the top 5 too.
ayjiahui
08-03-2011, 09:52 PM
^Hmm, actually, valid answer...didn't think of that. But still, I think they're tightening their grip a little bit...unrelatedly, we've got way fewer Msian juniors here this year.
I think they're favouring the Sec 1/ Sec 3 scholars, given that they come earlier and are most of the time a bit more loyal than the directs (haha). Directs can't get RI or HCI after all. And now apparently the rest of the top 5 too.
SO TRUE. Because directs don't have an attachment to Singapore, making them feel it easier to leave (and also lots of really bad precedences set by some seniors).
That sucks because then I personally feel like there's little point in applying for Pre-U. Most 'opportunities', facilities, BETTER TEACHERS are given mostly to the top schools, not the lower schools.
But meh, I think they really are thinking of ways to retain Malaysians in Singapore.
Nicholas92
09-03-2011, 06:10 PM
SO TRUE. Because directs don't have an attachment to Singapore, making them feel it easier to leave (and also lots of really bad precedences set by some seniors).
That sucks because then I personally feel like there's little point in applying for Pre-U. Most 'opportunities', facilities, BETTER TEACHERS are given mostly to the top schools, not the lower schools.
But meh, I think they really are thinking of ways to retain Malaysians in Singapore.
Yeah, the Sec scholars have more time to do and start stuff in Singapore, they have more school trips to go for and they can get into the better schools. I wouldn't have chosen to come in Sec 3 or anything though, but I do see that they have somewhat of an advantage.
Ah Singapore. I was going to start a debate on how MOE chooses their scholars but maybe I should wait till my time here is up first...
Anyway for anyone who's interested in applying, if you're really keen to go to Singapore, applying earlier is better. Don't go after SPM. The difference in level is somewhat harder to keep up with, if nothing else. And as others have said, apply first worry later, unless you do not want the scholarship in which case, think first - if you get it I can tell you your parents aren't likely to let you give it up to stay in Malaysia :P
The questions about the selection test and blablabla will come around in a few months time...for now all you need to do is fill out the form as best you can. I don't remember exactly what it's like but if there are questions, it'll likely jog my memory so ask away :)
ayjiahui
09-03-2011, 06:46 PM
Yeah, the Sec scholars have more time to do and start stuff in Singapore, they have more school trips to go for and they can get into the better schools. I wouldn't have chosen to come in Sec 3 or anything though, but I do see that they have somewhat of an advantage.
Ah Singapore. I was going to start a debate on how MOE chooses their scholars but maybe I should wait till my time here is up first...
Anyway for anyone who's interested in applying, if you're really keen to go to Singapore, applying earlier is better. Don't go after SPM. The difference in level is somewhat harder to keep up with, if nothing else. And as others have said, apply first worry later, unless you do not want the scholarship in which case, think first - if you get it I can tell you your parents aren't likely to let you give it up to stay in Malaysia :P
The questions about the selection test and blablabla will come around in a few months time...for now all you need to do is fill out the form as best you can. I don't remember exactly what it's like but if there are questions, it'll likely jog my memory so ask away :)
Re: Debate --- Bring it on LOL.
I'm not sure if I can agree about the difference in level. But yes, definitely agree about going earlier.
erinching
28-03-2011, 07:59 PM
Yeah Sec 3/4 in Singapore is really great! You get to go on learning journeys (Marina Barrage, Singapore Flyer) and Outward Bound Singapore (it's kinda like a survival camp lol)
If you do well in the O Levels, you will even have a better chance to enter one of the top JCs!
Although Sec3/4 might sound stressful, don't forget to have fun and enjoy your time in Singapore! Treat everyday as a holiday away from home...
Well, you could try.
-ASEAN Sec 4
chernjuin
28-03-2011, 09:03 PM
hey, i am a 2010 spm leaver, juz wondering if anyone tried applying on9 already for their pre-U 2012 scholarship. because i can seem to register... the page juz gets stuck there..
KenT13
01-04-2011, 11:25 PM
where's the form to fill to go a level???0.o
KenT13
02-04-2011, 12:38 PM
erm something confuses me. do we need to mail our personal data to them even i already submit my aplication online?/
ayjiahui
02-04-2011, 12:56 PM
most probably not, unless they ask for verification or something
eleazar
02-04-2011, 08:59 PM
I thought we must post our certified birth certificate, ic and form 4 and spm result to them...see this
Important Note
All applicants are required to submit certified copies of the following items directly to the Singapore Ministry of Education:
(i) Birth Certificate;
(ii) Identity Card / Passport (if any); and
(iii) Final Year Examination Result Slips for the last two years
ASEAN Scholarships (Malaysia) / <Online application number (if any)>
Ministry of Education
School Placement and Scholarships Branch
Level 3, Podium Block
1 North Buona Vista Drive
Singapore 138675
Original documents that are not in English must be translated; the translations must be accompanied by a photocopy of the original documents. Please do not send any original documents.
All applications and supporting documents should reach the Singapore Ministry of Education before the closing date.
KenT13
02-04-2011, 09:22 PM
And this at the end of filling the form.
Upon submission, you will receive an acknowledgement email with your online application number. Please send certified copies of the following items directly to the Singapore Ministry of Education before 5 April 2011:
- Birth Certificate;
- Identity Card / Passport (if any); and
- Final Year Examination Result Slips for the last 2 years.
ASEAN Scholarships (Malaysia) / < Online application number>
Ministry of Education
School Placement and Scholarships Branch
Level 3, Podium Block
1 North Buona Vista Drive
Singapore 138675
Kindly indicate your online application number on all your supporting documents.
eleazar
02-04-2011, 09:35 PM
I think need to post bah...i already post my document. must post before 5 April
KenT13
02-04-2011, 09:43 PM
Holy !!!!!!!!!! i'm so late for posting-.-''''
VanessaH
02-04-2011, 10:28 PM
Good luck for everyone applying! Sigh, I wish I'll get in. >:(
KenT13
02-04-2011, 10:41 PM
Good luck for everyone applying! Sigh, I wish I'll get in. >:(
Hmmm you must have done very well in school. i see you apply after pmr..
VanessaH
02-04-2011, 11:22 PM
Oh no, I'm form 3 now. :)
Are we suppose to translate everything to English?
If Kemahiran Hidup - ERT am I suppose to include that too?
03-04-2011, 09:00 AM
Oh no, I'm form 3 now. :)
Are we suppose to translate everything to English?
If Kemahiran Hidup - ERT am I suppose to include that too?
Yeah, you should.
VanessaH
04-04-2011, 10:29 PM
To insert grades for my results for the past 2 years, if I got all A's do I just put A or A+, etc? And I'm supposed to send my copies to the ministry? :O
What if we don't send the certified copies to the Ministry of Education? And if I send it tomorrow, although it's the last day, will it be alright? /: I just found out today. Sigh.
KenT13
04-04-2011, 10:41 PM
Deadline for online application is before 5th. Send forms by 11th. : D brought a great relieve for you right. My friend called Sg's MOE
VanessaH
04-04-2011, 10:47 PM
Deadline for online application is before 5th. Send forms by 11th. : D brought a great relieve for you right. My friend called Sg's MOE
THANK YOU SO MUCH! THANK YOU SO MUCH! THANK YOU SO MUCH! :D :D :D THANK YOU! I almost cried. Cause I've been waiting for the applications to open and when it did it took my a month, I am so... /: UGH! SO LAST MINUTE :( Does that mean I can send my certified copies, birth certificate and so on tomorrow or Wednesday still? Cause I still haven't gotten my result slip last year :( But didn't it say All applications and supporting documents should reach the Singapore Ministry of Education before the closing date. :( Hyperventilating now.
KenT13
04-04-2011, 10:57 PM
Hmm... he called today. so shouln't be a problem. send as quick as possible. i just sent today. You can always call them to ask : D
VanessaH
04-04-2011, 11:01 PM
THANK YOU SO MUCH! :D So your friend said that the MOE said we just have to send our application forms online by tomorrow right but the certified forms can wait until the 11th? Great! I just submitted my application. Yes, I am making sure I'm sending it by tomorrow, hopefully! THANK YOU AND GOOD LUCK! :D
By the way, did you put A's or A+ etc for your exam results part? :O
KenT13
04-04-2011, 11:23 PM
THANK YOU SO MUCH!
By the way, did you put A's or A+ etc for your exam results part? :O
Huh? what do you mean A's or A+ ??? i put A+ and A's lor. .. for my spm results.
VanessaH
04-04-2011, 11:26 PM
Ohh. SPM? Oh, mine doesnt have A+ yet x)
KenT13
05-04-2011, 09:38 AM
So put A, B or C lor? 0.o
VanessaH
05-04-2011, 09:32 PM
Yeah! I'm so scared they'll terminate my application. :( I haven't gotten my result slip from my teacher yet! Are you sure 11th? D: I sent my application though. Closing soon!
KenT13
06-04-2011, 09:44 AM
Yea. 11th. by the way you sent already what. no worries.
VanessaH
06-04-2011, 09:45 AM
Alright then! Thank you. :D
VanessaH
08-04-2011, 02:24 PM
Gonna post it now. :)
I hope it'll be alright. D:
KenT13
08-04-2011, 07:21 PM
NOW????? i thought you sent it like...few days ago?? no?
VanessaH
13-05-2011, 08:15 PM
I had no photocopied certified copies yet. D: But I'm really scared, cause I sent my certified copies on Friday, and it'll take one working day so it'll reach on the Monday(the closing date) so I don't know. :(
Assasin
23-05-2011, 12:17 PM
Hi, anyone received letter calling for selection test yet (for Sec 3?)
suyi93
23-05-2011, 04:06 PM
is it out yet?it shud be this week right?
guest1109
23-05-2011, 08:20 PM
anyone received the letter yet? is it that the results will be out by this week?
auntlim
24-05-2011, 04:15 PM
I apply sec1 scholarship for my son and have not received any mail yet. Guess the selection test will be on next weekend.
VanessaH
27-05-2011, 05:16 PM
Did anyone receive the letter yet then? It's almost June. :/
backlight
27-05-2011, 06:52 PM
Hi! I'm from thailand. I just recieve the mail from Moe today.
I think we get test in the same date or closely:P
In Thailand the test is on19 June sunday.
you guy will recieve the letter soon,check your mail box:)
Good luck...
auntlim
28-05-2011, 03:39 PM
Called to moe S'pore yesterday and they said will send the letter out early of June...
Assasin
29-05-2011, 09:51 AM
Thanks for the info.
auntlim
29-05-2011, 11:49 PM
You are welcome Assasin. Hopefully can receive the email or letter by next week.
Assasin
02-06-2011, 05:20 PM
OMG! just received the email for the selection test! yay!!!!
suyi93
02-06-2011, 07:29 PM
congrats!:)did u apply 4 pre-u?
maxho5385
02-06-2011, 09:58 PM
omg...i didn't receive anything means i am not selected for the selection test...:(
auntlim
02-06-2011, 10:42 PM
When is the selection test?
Assasin
02-06-2011, 11:22 PM
June 11-12. (2 days) at Garden International School KL (GIS).
I don't why this time round is at GIS. Previously was in Pyramid Convention Centre.
congrats!:)did u apply 4 pre-u?
I applied for Sec3.
VanessaH
02-06-2011, 11:23 PM
ME TOO! :D Assasin, see you? Congrats!
I'm really nervous! I don't know what to study or read or anything. :(
omg...i didn't receive anything means i am not selected for the selection test...
Maybe yours will come later? :(
Assasin
02-06-2011, 11:32 PM
VanessaH, gratz to you too.
maxho5385
02-06-2011, 11:50 PM
this is my second time applying for this scholarship...hope they will send an e-mail to me tomorrow...:)
VanessaH
03-06-2011, 12:12 AM
Just keep praying. :) Good luck!
NanaLiew93
03-06-2011, 04:03 AM
i got it.. sounds like it will be really hard.
Gosh, add maths @<hidden>@<hidden>
jzchai
03-06-2011, 09:23 AM
I have been chosen for "2012 ASEAN PRE-UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIP FOR MALAYSIA"test in Garden International School in KL.Are SPM leavers taking this test too??What is coming out for english test???In the letter,what do they mean by supporting documents??I have typed it on the online registration form.Is that enough??Should I send through mail again??
auntlim
03-06-2011, 04:10 PM
Anybody else received the email? They said latest by today those shortlisted applicants will be receiving the email....
jellywjyj
05-06-2011, 09:32 AM
is it we need to brings any important document?
n what does the supporting document means...
can any kind recommer plz enlighten me...
thx in advance
hellohello
05-06-2011, 01:30 PM
If you have posted your documents like photocopied birth certificate and so on when you applied for the scholarship last time, you could just ignore this.
If you have not, please mail the documents to them.
You may visit the Asean scholarship website to check which documents should be submitted. :D
ayjiahui
05-06-2011, 02:57 PM
I have been chosen for "2012 ASEAN PRE-UNIVERSITY SCHOLARSHIP FOR MALAYSIA"test in Garden International School in KL.Are SPM leavers taking this test too??What is coming out for english test???In the letter,what do they mean by supporting documents??I have typed it on the online registration form.Is that enough??Should I send through mail again??
the english test is usually divided into two parts -- comprehension and essay. the comprehension is basically a single text where you read and subsequently answer a series of questions based on the text. they also test your vocabulary for the comprehension paper. (but please don't bother memorizing like 1000 english words) i don't think it is necessary to give synonyms for the vocabulary, but you are able to give a phrase which highlights the exact meaning of the word.
for the essay section they basically give you a choice between two questions. you have to give a 350-word (approx) response in 30 minutes. TIP: spend five minutes planning and the rest of the time writing your essay.
see here: http://www.recom.org/w/index.php/ASEAN_scholarship
i got it.. sounds like it will be really hard.
Gosh, add maths @<hidden>@<hidden>
math paper is a mix of add math and modern math. i don't remember seeing any hardcore calculus questions though. :) just tackle the math paper head on and do all the questions to your best ability.
jzchai
05-06-2011, 03:38 PM
For the english test,is narrative/desricptive essay appears in the essay-writting section??
Nicholas92
05-06-2011, 04:29 PM
is it we need to brings any important document?
n what does the supporting document means...
can any kind recommer plz enlighten me...
thx in advance
Supporting documents basically means the documents they asked for copies of earlier on...though if you've already posted them these things (photocopy birth cert, IC etc.) then shouldn't need to bring. But if you wanna play safe...feel free. Lol.
And I remember bringing along original certificates for all my ko-kurrikulum stuff last time (they may or may not ask you to show them these).
For the english test,is narrative/desricptive essay appears in the essay-writting section??
It's an argumentative essay if I remember correctly. Very short, very little time, just write like hell and finish it off with a conclusion with 5 minutes left. Really not much time to plan.
By the way, don't bother studying for the selection test...first, you can't prepare yourself for the English one because you just can't mug vocabulary/comprehension. Same goes for Math. You can try brushing up on your own Add Maths, but personally I don't think it's very important. I found the paper insanely difficult, probably did quite bad for it, but I don't think it's something you can get just by practising in the short amount of time available before the test.
And lastly the general aptitude test. It's basically the same kind of test that MENSA uses in its exams (I remember the questions were exactly the same, though I'm sure they have different sets they rotate through). Err, you can't really prepare for these either but it does help (a little) if you try sample questions first, to figure out the approach you have to take when figuring out the problems (you'll understand when you see the questions). It's called the Raven's Progressive Matrices - you'll find plenty of samples online if you look for it.
Dragonsphere12
05-06-2011, 11:58 PM
Hey, nothing was sent by them in my email. No mail from them until today. Does that mean I am not shortlisted? Applied for Pre-U
chelsea93
06-06-2011, 10:50 PM
I'm called for the selection test (applied for Pre U) in Sunway Carnival Convention Centre, Penang. Anyone else? :laugh
I was wondering, is there a dress code for the test? I mean, are jeans shorts skirts etc allowed? Or must we wear formal? :huh
ayjiahui
06-06-2011, 11:16 PM
I'm called for the selection test (applied for Pre U) in Sunway Carnival Convention Centre, Penang. Anyone else? :laugh
I was wondering, is there a dress code for the test? I mean, are jeans shorts skirts etc allowed? Or must we wear formal? :huh
Probably no strict dress code but safest to be in smart casual. Bring a jacket to keep warm! It can get quite cold there!
Guinevere
08-06-2011, 01:08 PM
Hello, does ASEAN only offers scholarship for 2 years of A-level or until our degree courses?
ayjiahui
08-06-2011, 02:24 PM
Hello, does ASEAN only offers scholarship for 2 years of A-level or until our degree courses?
until A levels only. if your results are good enough, you may be offered the ASEAN undergraduate scholarship. alternatively, you may apply for scholarships provided by NUS, NTU, SMU and SUTD. there also other government-linked scholarships which you may apply for such as GIC and MAS. some of these gov-linked scholarships may fund you overseas as well.
failing which, you can apply for Financial Aid (grants/loans) from the respective universities.
Guinevere
08-06-2011, 05:04 PM
Thanks for the info. If I got the ASEAN scholarship and if i accept the scholarship, can I apply for the JPA next year?
Thanks for the info. If I got the ASEAN scholarship and if I accept the scholarship, can i apply for the JPA next year?
Young
08-06-2011, 05:13 PM
Thanks for the info. If I got the ASEAN scholarship and if i accept the scholarship, can I apply for the JPA next year?
Thanks for the info. If I got the ASEAN scholarship and if I accept the scholarship, can i apply for the JPA next year?
Yes, but it's not exactly the most ethical thing to do.
Gwen5680
08-06-2011, 06:21 PM
Hi , I am form 4 this year .
May I know is ASEAN scholarship available for me to apply using my mid-term and year end results ? Thanks :)
Guinevere
08-06-2011, 09:18 PM
May I know what is RI and HCI? Usually ASEAN takes about how many students for the pre-u scholarship?
Shermaine
08-06-2011, 09:24 PM
hihi....for those who gt the offer to attend the asean pre-university scholarship selection test...anyone gt any idea about the test?
1)level of difficulty?
2)the test of english, mathematics and general ability in wat form?essay?
3)example question?
plz kindly drop sum comment here..thx a lot.
ayjiahui
08-06-2011, 09:48 PM
Hi , I am form 4 this year .
May I know is ASEAN scholarship available for me to apply using my mid-term and year end results ? Thanks :)
you may apply for the ASEAN scholarship next year in form 5. applications will open around chinese new year. use your year end results.
May I know what is RI and HCI? Usually ASEAN takes about how many students for the pre-u scholarship?
RI = Raffles Institute
HCI = Hwa Chong Institute
the number of students they take in defer from year to year but there has been a noticeable decrease in the intake over the past few years. we speculate it is because the MOE is not very happy with the number of students who apply for JPA midway through the course. hence, they prefer students who enter singapore from Sec 3 onwards. so yeah, with regards to your earlier question on whether you can apply for JPA when you already have ASEAN. you can but it's not very ethical to do so.
also, direct scholars (those who enter in pre-u) will not get sent to RI or HCI.
ayjiahui
08-06-2011, 09:49 PM
hihi....for those who gt the offer to attend the asean pre-university scholarship selection test...anyone gt any idea about the test?
1)level of difficulty?
2)the test of english, mathematics and general ability in wat form?essay?
3)example question?
plz kindly drop sum comment here..thx a lot.
you may find this link useful: http://www.recom.org/w/index.php/ASEAN_scholarship#Selection_Test
Shermaine
09-06-2011, 12:03 AM
you may find this link useful: http://www.recom.org/w/index.php/ASEAN_scholarship#Selection_Test
thx a lot!!r u going to the test oso?
ayjiahui
09-06-2011, 02:19 AM
Nope. :) But i wrote that article. Hehe.
luckykid
09-06-2011, 10:05 AM
I think there's been a general decrease in intake of scholars. MOE has also been reducing the number of sec 3 scholars taken in.
Nicholas92
09-06-2011, 10:43 AM
^So I've heard as well, yes. But the direct scholars group was already the smallest, and now it's even smaller...some JCs don't have direct scholars at all. I don't think it's entirely because of JPA, though that may be a factor in decreasing the JC1 intake - I think they're cutting numbers across the board because lots of locals don't like that there are lots of foreigners eating up taxpayer money and competing with them. If you check out some news sites on Singapore, or forums, you'll see plenty of people complaining against foreigners (well to be fair, 'foreigners' also covers foreign workers and not just students from overseas).
I think they're forgetting how much Singapore has to depend on foreign talent but then if it's what the people want, the PAP can't refuse them very much.
Gwen5680
09-06-2011, 12:37 PM
May I know what is Sec 3 ?? ^^
maxho5385
09-06-2011, 03:11 PM
May I know what is Sec 3 ?? ^^
It's Secondary 3....:)
Gwen5680
09-06-2011, 05:26 PM
Ohhh ... but ... secondary 3 is open for students of what age to apply ? Sorry I am completely new here =P
Shermaine
10-06-2011, 03:04 PM
Nope. :) But i wrote that article. Hehe.
Hey,...somethng else i wana ask u.the test is conducted in big group?i means all people do the same test at the same time?o it is somethng like interview,which based on the course we choose(different course different test)?The test got special question to the different course?
Sory,i try hard to explain my question.I hope u can understand it.
Thx.
ayjiahui
10-06-2011, 03:06 PM
Hey,...somethng else i wana ask u.the test is conducted in big group?i means all people do the same test at the same time?o it is somethng like interview,which based on the course we choose(different course different test)?The test got special question to the different course?
Sory,i try hard to explain my question.I hope u can understand it.
Thx.
You do realize that everyone is applying for the same 'course'? You're basically applying for a spot in one of their JCs for A levels. Yes, the test will be tested all at one shot.
Shermaine
10-06-2011, 03:43 PM
oo...thx alot.but i thnk the test will be very difficult.I have seem many comment state that the english test need to wrte essay and the maths test questions are not same with our syllabus learnt in f5(reli?).....the chance to get the scholarship seem vry small.And i don't gt any idea bout wat the GAT test is..is it somethng like IQ test?Difficult?
Guinevere
10-06-2011, 06:28 PM
hi, usually there will be how many students coming for the selection test?
Assasin
10-06-2011, 06:37 PM
Good luck and All the Best for those sitting for the selection test tomorrow!!
10-06-2011, 08:47 PM
Mod note: Similar topics merged. Please proceed the discussion from here. Please refrain from opening redundant threads. Check if a similar thread has been opened before writing a new thread. Thank you.
Shermaine
11-06-2011, 12:22 AM
hi,,,,,good luck to evryone going to asean 2012 selection test 2molo!!!All the best!!
Assasin
12-06-2011, 09:54 PM
Now that 2012 selection test is over ... waiting anxiously for the results.
HappyGreenTree
13-06-2011, 12:25 AM
Hi!! Do you guys know what were the essay questions in the English test??? (Pre-U)
13-06-2011, 01:52 PM
Thread moved to the pre-u section
Assasin
27-07-2011, 09:25 AM
anyone received notifications for interview yet?
VanessaH
03-08-2011, 11:11 PM
No I didn't. Have you?
Assasin
11-08-2011, 10:28 PM
No I didn't. Have you?
YES! Got the interview notification (by email) this evening. :)
ayjiahui
11-08-2011, 10:30 PM
congratulations and good luck!
auntlim
12-08-2011, 07:08 PM
My son received the email too, it is on 23/8 at Parkroyal Hotel.
auntlim
20-08-2011, 09:22 AM
What are the questions they might ask during the interview?
StarryNitez
23-09-2011, 09:52 PM
omigod... found this thread only today... it's very useful!
shanicechung
24-09-2011, 05:54 PM
Hi! I am from Johor Bahru... I was selected for the selection interview this year.. so anybody got the notification of award of scholarship ady? or when will i know?
auntlim
27-09-2011, 11:40 AM
Hi! I am from Johor Bahru... I was selected for the selection interview this year.. so anybody got the notification of award of scholarship ady? or when will i know?
so far no news, they said will inform in Oct. Which entry did you apply for?
snoopypy
27-09-2011, 08:12 PM
hey guys! received it today...
go check ur email =D
shanicechung
27-09-2011, 08:18 PM
so far no news, they said will inform in Oct. Which entry did you apply for?
i applied for sec 3.. i received the email today... :)
luckykid
27-09-2011, 09:25 PM
When are you coming? Bridging or non bridge?
dennisooi
27-09-2011, 11:19 PM
hello hello. i just opened my e-mail too. and there it was. applied for Sec 3 btw. :)
and about bridging, as far as i know and according to my friend who's an ASEAN scholar now, bridging or non-bridging, you still arrive in singapore at the end of the year. i have to leave for singapore and arrive on the 27th of December.
and if you have to do the bridging course, it's every weekend for a few hours, or something like that. i'm not very sure.
GAHHHH. i'm excited! the post and documents come next week! DURING PMR. HAHAHA. i should flunk it. LOL.
i wonder what school i'll be posted to. xD
auntlim
27-09-2011, 11:32 PM
Congrates!
StarryNitez
28-09-2011, 12:20 AM
I didn't receive any email... does it mean I failed it? :(
ayjiahui
28-09-2011, 01:03 AM
what entry did you apply for?
you never know! just wait a few days!
auntlim
28-09-2011, 08:15 AM
I didn't receive any email... does it mean I failed it? :(
My son didn't receive too, he applied for sec 1. Maybe just wait for another 1-2 days.
shanicechung
28-09-2011, 02:16 PM
i am not sure about it... but the email stated that i should arrive in Singapore on the 27 of Dec... btw, when will i know which school i am posted to?
Congrates!
Thank you :)
StarryNitez
28-09-2011, 04:13 PM
I applied for sec 3... :(
luckykid
28-09-2011, 06:00 PM
i am not sure about it... but the email stated that i should arrive in Singapore on the 27 of Dec... btw, when will i know which school i am posted to?
Thank you :)
You will know the school on 28 or 29 December during orientation.
Nicholas92
28-09-2011, 07:49 PM
For directs at least, you''ll be notified of which hostel you're being posted to by November, I think - from there you can infer which JC you're being sent to, even though they'll only tell you officially during orientation.
snoopypy
30-09-2011, 09:30 PM
I have to reach there by 9 Nov... suppose i have briging...but it's ok as long as I get the scholarship :)
But some of the agrements i am not quite clear ><
it is stated that the documents are required to be submit before 13 Oct.
Does it mean that my surety have to sign annexA-1 before that?
shanicechung
01-10-2011, 11:12 AM
you have received the letter? cause i haven't...
snoopypy
01-10-2011, 05:04 PM
you have received the letter? cause i haven't...
My friend also havent receive it yet :)
luckykid
01-10-2011, 07:48 PM
I have to reach there by 9 Nov... suppose i have briging...but it's ok as long as I get the scholarship :)
But some of the agrements i am not quite clear ><
it is stated that the documents are required to be submit before 13 Oct.
Does it mean that my surety have to sign annexA-1 before that?
I'm not sure how the arrangement is right now. I'm pretty sure during my year there was a deadline too, but my mum called up MOE, and they said it's fine if I only sign it and submit it after I've reached Singapore. So please call MOE if you're unsure of anything. They are generally quite helpful. Don't think that calling overseas will be a waste of money, since that is what your parents are going to do next year..
Not trying to dampen anyone's spirit, but usually offers for both bridging and non bridging are made at the same time, and in my time, they called to inform me about the acceptance before emailing me.
snoopypy
02-10-2011, 07:57 PM
i am studying sec 3 next year...
Is laptop necessary and internet available in hostel?
Nicholas92
02-10-2011, 10:42 PM
^Internet should be available at your hostel, they usually will have tied up with a provider to install a WiFi network at your hostel. But as for speeds, you'll only know when you get there - with regards to that, I suggest hold out and wait, ask around when you get there and assess the speed. If it's crap, you can buy your own mobile broadband - it's pretty reasonable, it's portable and it's way faster. (Your hostel may not allow this but...meh, trivial point)
As for laptop - MUST. I mean, chances are there'll be computer terminals there for you to use but do you really wanna be saddled with outdated Windows XP/Vista comps chucked with viruses and stuff? It's not so secure, and it'll probably be slow. A decent laptop is a huge convenience for you, especially later on when you have to do projects and everything.
i am studying sec 3 next year...
Is laptop necessary and internet available in hostel?
Laptop can be distraction. I will not say it is a must, but highly recommended to have one. Most of the things in sec school/jc are still done on papers. But teachers/lecturers may upload resources on respective portals, which simply means that you need to have internet, and preferably, a laptop.
ayjiahui
04-10-2011, 11:55 AM
Laptop can be distraction. I will not say it is a must, but highly recommended to have one. Most of the things in sec school/jc are still done on papers. But teachers/lecturers may upload resources on respective portals, which simply means that you need to have internet, and preferably, a laptop.
with the exception of PW in JC! i think that's the biggest reason to get a laptop!
Nicholas92
04-10-2011, 06:20 PM
While it's true that it's a distraction (and it's been a major problem for me) I'd still say that there'd be a lot more inconvenience without a laptop - as with PW in JC, as has been said. But also because lots of schools do things online now - online tutorials or lectures, lots of notes online, plus if you're going to be involved with your CCAs actively you can bet you'll need to log on pretty often for emails and stuff too. You can still do all this without a personal laptop, of course, but I find that it's so much easier to have one - just take the distraction as a personal challenge to overcome :P
clowner
06-10-2011, 03:43 AM
Nicholas92 I think you are right about laptop being personal challenge to overcome. We have to see technology as tool not as distraction.
iamandanyc
13-10-2011, 10:35 PM
Hi, do you know anyone who's taking up the scholarship for Pre-U, starting next January? I'll be starting A-Levels in Lion Land myself under the scholarship next year; anyone out there who's in the same situation? Apparently, only 10 Malaysians got selected at Pre-U level. .___.
Feel free to contact me at iamandanyc[at]gmail[dot]com :D
luckykid
13-10-2011, 10:52 PM
Hi, do you know anyone who's taking up the scholarship for Pre-U, starting next January? I'll be starting A-Levels in Lion Land myself under the scholarship next year; anyone out there who's in the same situation? Apparently, only 10 Malaysians got selected at Pre-U level. .___.
How do you know there are only 10 who have been selected? It's quite unaccustommed for MOE to disclose how many offers they made. 10 is.. very very few from what I understand.
iamandanyc
14-10-2011, 02:31 PM
Well, the officer at the High Commission gave me that number when I asked.
That's bad. They take less and less scholars every year.
frostbyte13
14-10-2011, 04:46 PM
After effects of Singapore's GE ?
ayjiahui
14-10-2011, 05:03 PM
After effects of Singapore's GE ?
even before GE, the numbers have been dwindling.
evonneching
18-10-2011, 09:09 AM
WOW 10 ONLY?! That's really low! I always thought they'd love to drain the Malaysian talent :/ So you should be super proud of yourself then! (:
Nicholas92
18-10-2011, 11:15 AM
I think 10 may be around the same intake for direct JC scholars as this year too, from what I heard. In my year (last year) there were what, maybe 30 of us? Ish? They've really cut it down.
Haven't been able to determine why exactly they're doing it, could be that JC directs are 'less loyal' - more likely to ditch ASEAN for JPA as a lot of people have done in the past. But then this may only be true if the Sec 1/Sec 3 batch has been maintained/increased - from what I gather it's lesser all around, so it could just be that Singapore is now looking less to flood their own institution with more competition. Who knows.
ayjiahui
18-10-2011, 11:31 AM
I think 10 may be around the same intake for direct JC scholars as this year too, from what I heard. In my year (last year) there were what, maybe 30 of us? Ish? They've really cut it down.
Haven't been able to determine why exactly they're doing it, could be that JC directs are 'less loyal' - more likely to ditch ASEAN for JPA as a lot of people have done in the past. But then this may only be true if the Sec 1/Sec 3 batch has been maintained/increased - from what I gather it's lesser all around, so it could just be that Singapore is now looking less to flood their own institution with more competition. Who knows.
we don't just ditch singapore for JPA. a bulk of us ditch singapore after JC too. i think they would prefer to take asean scholars at uni rather than at sec sch/JC level because the uni kids will have to stay in singapore anyway.
but then i don't have stats for asean scholars at uni level so i can't say for sure. hmmm.
iamandanyc
18-10-2011, 03:11 PM
we don't just ditch singapore for JPA. a bulk of us ditch singapore after JC too. i think they would prefer to take asean scholars at uni rather than at sec sch/JC level because the uni kids will have to stay in singapore anyway.
but then i don't have stats for asean scholars at uni level so i can't say for sure. hmmm.
Ditching Singapore after JC ... isn't that allowed, technically? For me, I see this as a stepping stone to somewhere greater; not going to take root there.
Question: Why does Singapore actually offer this scholarship, since it's bond-free and all?
shanicechung
18-10-2011, 04:40 PM
In my opinion, this scholarship is to attract foreign talents to Singapore so it must be bond- free... there are so many people out there who wants this scholarship so badly because the benefits are very attractive and motivate scholars to study even harder to secure the scholarship.... i have a question for everyone, regarding the student's pass, do we apply for it or MOE does it? when will we know if we are successful?
Nicholas92
18-10-2011, 07:12 PM
Yeah, and that too. Heck even among non-directs, a lot of people polled say they'd prefer going overseas (though of course this doesn't mean they end up doing so - it just shows how willing people are to stay).
Ditching Singapore after JC ... isn't that allowed, technically? For me, I see this as a stepping stone to somewhere greater; not going to take root there.
Question: Why does Singapore actually offer this scholarship, since it's bond-free and all?
Oh definitely, since it's bond-free everyone's entitled to leave. It's just, well, not entirely a free lunch yknow? It's not so much them being kind and benevolent in extending education opportunities to ASEAN citizens (though it's that too) but more of them looking for talent to recruit, and to improve the quality of their institutions.
It being bond-free is of course to not turn people off by shackling their options from as far back as Secondary school. Also, since they separate the Pre-U/Sec scholarship from the University one - it's not very logical to impose a bond on people with the Pre-U/Sec scholarship, right? They don't necessarily get the Uni scholarship. So if it had a bond, what then? Go straight to work after JC? Quite a waste LOL. So, they separate it and put the bond in the Uni scholarship.
But going back to the question, like I said obviously they're recruiting - they won't stop you leaving, but obviously they don't bring you all the way here just to let you go if you're good. They'd prefer you go on to study locally too. So logically then, if your scholarship programme isn't producing the local undergrads that you want, then you cut it down to size a little. Everything's business, in the end.
In my opinion, this scholarship is to attract foreign talents to Singapore so it must be bond- free... there are so many people out there who wants this scholarship so badly because the benefits are very attractive and motivate scholars to study even harder to secure the scholarship.... i have a question for everyone, regarding the student's pass, do we apply for it or MOE does it? when will we know if we are successful?
Ummm, in the past I believe schools did the application for you. Now, you'll likely have to go and have it done yourself (same goes for your EZ-link card for MRT/bus travel). It's not very hard, you fill up a form online (the school should guide you, at least) take a printed one from the school to the...something Authority for Singapore (sorry, I forgot - probably Immigration or something) and you go there, line up, wait a couple hours and get your card. If there are other new scholars with you doing it too it's not too bad.
The only problem being that you may have to sacrifice some Orientation time for this...quite stupid in my opinion but I had to miss my CCA exhibition, friends of mine missed chunks of orientation week altogether...
shanicechung
19-10-2011, 02:20 PM
thanks, so i have to do it when school reopens? or during the orientation week before school reopens?
Nicholas92
19-10-2011, 04:56 PM
There'll probably be a deadline, which is usually soon after school opens ('cause the school has to guide you, anyway) so you'll have to check with them about that. But don't worry about that first! haha.
auntlim
19-10-2011, 11:39 PM
Hi anybody get the merit award? My son received email about the merit award today, don't think will let him go.
For Sec 1 or Pre-U? If my memory serves me right, Merit Award does not guarantee the institution right?
auntlim
20-10-2011, 12:13 PM
For Sec 1 or Pre-U? If my memory serves me right, Merit Award does not guarantee the institution right?
for sec 1, they put there for 6 yrs, renewable subject to passing the sch exam. They'll inform which school to go end of dec only. Should he try?
luckykid
20-10-2011, 02:25 PM
I know of people under merit award in Catholic High School. It's essentially the same as the scholarship award itself, just that you have to pay for everything and you don't get allowance from MOE I think.
If he's really really keen to go Singapore and you have the financial ability to support him (it's really not cheap) then you can take up the merit award. Otherwise he can try again in sec 3.
shanicechung
20-10-2011, 02:28 PM
There'll probably be a deadline, which is usually soon after school opens ('cause the school has to guide you, anyway) so you'll have to check with them about that. But don't worry about that first! haha.
hahaha... oh ok... thanks anyway :)
snoopypy
01-11-2011, 01:21 PM
i am posted to parry hall...
which school will i probably be posted?
ayjiahui
01-11-2011, 02:01 PM
anderson JC or Nanyang JC
shanicechung
01-11-2011, 02:08 PM
I see.... where is it located? I haven't know mine yet... :)
snoopypy
01-11-2011, 06:05 PM
i am going for sec 3 XD
I see.... where is it located? I haven't know mine yet... :)
just knew it this afternoon :)
luckykid
01-11-2011, 09:37 PM
Students in Parry Hall come from many schools though. There's Nan Chiau, Anderson, Maris Stella, Catholic High (ok you're not a boy but just mentioning), Xin Min, Zhong Hua. There are probably more, so you'll only know your school when you arrive.
From this year onwards MJ is staying in PH also.
iamandanyc
02-11-2011, 01:59 PM
Will Pre-U scholars only know which school we're posted to once we ARRIVE in Singapore? My, what a long wait... :/
Anyone know any other Pre-U scholars who'll be starting next year?
shanicechung
02-11-2011, 02:21 PM
i am going for sec 3 XD
just knew it this afternoon :)
i see... so they send you email?
luckykid
02-11-2011, 06:41 PM
Will Pre-U scholars only know which school we're posted to once we ARRIVE in Singapore? My, what a long wait... :/
Anyone know any other Pre-U scholars who'll be starting next year?
Most likely yes and this applies to all levels, not only pre-U, unless you're going to be staying in a hostel which only accommodates boarders from 1 JC.
Since you're only required to arrive in December, it's likely they'll only inform you of your hostel 1 or 2 weeks before your arrival date.
snoopypy
02-11-2011, 08:07 PM
there are hard copy and email...
but i think mine is earlier because i have to reach there next week :)
shanicechung
03-11-2011, 02:52 PM
there are hard copy and email...
but i think mine is earlier because i have to reach there next week :)
i see... i bet you are looking forward to it, that's great! :) so they will tell you your school only when you reach right? haha... i am like asking a lot of questions...
snoopypy
05-11-2011, 06:03 PM
still wonder about the life there :)
and yup... we will only know tat after our arrival
shanicechung
05-11-2011, 07:17 PM
All the best to you!! :)
snoopypy
10-11-2011, 09:32 PM
the secondary schools tis year are mary stella, anderson, chung hwa, xin min, temasek and my school---nan chiau :)
shanicechung
11-11-2011, 02:31 PM
the secondary schools tis year are mary stella, anderson, chung hwa, xin min, temasek and my school---nan chiau :)
i see... :) so are you having any lessons or activities now?
snoopypy
11-11-2011, 11:04 PM
there are 2 days orientation which is mainly introducing singapore and my english lessons are starting next week. The seniors here are very helpful and friendly as a buddy =D
shanicechung
12-11-2011, 10:57 AM
there are 2 days orientation which is mainly introducing singapore and my english lessons are starting next week. The seniors here are very helpful and friendly as a buddy =D
that's great! so you are having English lessons in the hostel or school? i am staying in Johor Bahru, so am i allowed to come home during weekends? :))
luckykid
12-11-2011, 07:44 PM
that's great! so you are having English lessons in the hostel or school? i am staying in Johor Bahru, so am i allowed to come home during weekends? :))
That will depend on the school because you're not allowed to go home as and when you feel like it. You'll have to apply to the school beforehand, and it's up to them to approve or not.
shanicechung
13-11-2011, 10:10 AM
i see... i wouldn't be able to come home every weekend right?
luckykid
13-11-2011, 06:37 PM
I know certain JCs allow students to go back every weekend, and I know of people who have gone back almost every weekend. It depends on your schedule I guess. Some CCAs do hold practices during weekends. Why would you want to go back so often anyway? Life in Singapore isn't that bad lol. Since I live in KL, plus being sec 4 now, I've only gone back twice this year. Life is that busy, but I'm fine with it.
shanicechung
13-11-2011, 07:15 PM
oh... i was just wondering about that... nothing much, thanks for the info
snoopypy
13-11-2011, 11:47 PM
u can go home anytime u like as long as u don have activities in ur school.
Ur parents can just email the hostel but it is better if they showed up.
( my hostel ) and i don knw about other hostels =D
and the ASCOM and seniors already knew about the new scholars and u are actually posted.
shanicechung
14-11-2011, 12:51 PM
what is ASCOM? and what do you mean by 'u are actually posted'? :)
wakerain
01-01-2012, 02:03 AM
I'm sorry to say that this is no longer true, since Anderson JC and Nanyang JC students will be residing in the new Anderson JC hostel beginning in 2012. I am a JC2 ASEAN scholar currently studying in Nanyang JC and moving to Anderson JC hostel this month.
Personally, I believe that it is due to Malaysian scholars leaving for JPA that the MOE has cut down on Malaysian directs. They still take in a large number of scholars from other countries. This year we had around 10 Malaysian directs, and about 5 (or more, I'm not quite sure) left for JPA, Petronas etc. I personally know 4 of them.
While I wouldn't blame them for their decisions, it is very likely that their leaving has to do with the decreasing amount of Pre-U scholarships awarded to Malaysians each year.
I asked the same question when I first got the scholarship.
From my own observations (others may have their own viewpoints), many scholars actually do not live up to expectations. Probably you would agree with me after a few months of hostel life. We are seldom the top achievers in school. Nor are we model students most of the time.
For me, scholars are a way of exposing Singaporean students to foreign culture and thought. Many Singaporean students show little knowledge of foreign countries. Also, I believe that the Singaporean government is aware that its prosperity is closely related to the amount of foreign contacts it has--future leaders in the economies and politics of ASEAN nations.
Personally, I feel indebted to Singapore because I receive for free what many Singaporeans strive to earn. Through the taxes they pay I am provided free education, food, accommodation and a monthly allowance. There are Singaporeans who struggle to provide their children with good education and there are Singaporean students who are rejected by their schools of choice.
So what I'm trying to say here is this: be thankful for what is given to you, and whenever you feel like complaining, remember that it is free. I salute my teachers who serve me without the slightest discrimination, and my Singaporean friends who have opened their arms and welcomed me into their lives.
While it is your total freedom to decide if Singapore is a stepping stone or a place you'll one day call home, I believe that as recipients of their kindness we should in turn do something for them. Don't leave Singapore without leaving something behind. :)
safia1230
01-01-2012, 05:47 PM
than you brother,
how to prepare for ASEAN Scholarship Examinationwhat subjects do I have to especially prepare for?
How long wil the exam be?
wakerain
01-01-2012, 11:05 PM
than you brother,
how to prepare for ASEAN Scholarship Examinationwhat subjects do I have to especially prepare for?
How long wil the exam be?
The ASEAN Scholarships selection test, when I took it, consists of three subjects, namely Mathematics, English and the General Ability Test (IQ test).
To prepare for this test you can try out various graphical IQ tests available online. As for Mathematics, you need good problem-solving skills (much more than just following the steps as taught in school). You may want to try out Singapore-Cambridge O-level Mathematics. As for English, you need good comprehension skills and a wide vocabulary. You also need to be able to write a 400 word essay in 30 minutes.
While all these may seem heavy, I would suggest that you prepare beforehand but relax just before the test. It really helps to have a clear mind. The rest is really up to your ability and consistency as well as, in my case, divine intervention. ;)
The next selection test will most likely be held around May 2012, and the application should be open around February/March. So do look out for it and all the best.
The test takes up to two days.
Gwen5680
09-01-2012, 03:05 PM
Hi . Do we need to translate the birth certificate and IC too ? or just translate result slips only ? :)
klakhor
09-01-2012, 11:10 PM
hi there! i have recently created a blog with some information regarding the ASEAN scholarship. visit here ;) aseanscholarstory.blogspot.com