View Full Version : intra-ethnic equality in Malaysia

07-09-2004, 09:30 PM
Ever wonder how come there are less data available on intra-ethnic equality (as opposed to inter-ethnic) recently (apparently up until 1990)? Read on

http://ced.u-bordeaux4.fr/SBROSLAN.pdf

Another recent article from someone in Keio University about the state of things in Malaysia
http://www.ic.keio.ac.jp/jjwbgsp/pdf/2004/2003_2Malaysia.pdf
Quoted from a ML.

Just read those charts and conclusion if you dont have the time to read all :)

08-09-2004, 02:01 PM
Summaries for us la :) :) :)

It's easy for a politician to promise that the poor people will be helped, but it's hard to promise that a race will no longer be helped. I'm waiting for the genious that's going to make that happen, if not ReCom needs to set up a military division to do this by force :P

(btw, i can't open the 2nd pdf...)

08-09-2004, 02:40 PM
I downloaded both and i think both the links are OK...

noneedname
30-12-2004, 04:24 AM
--------

letter from friend ------------

I am currently in one of the top UK universities. Here, we have arguably some of the best minds from the younger generation of Malaysia; many of the top scorers from all over converge here. Every year, around 40 of us enter the university, as undergraduates or postgraduates, and every year, around the same number graduate.

So how many actually go back to Malaysia to contribute their talents to the country? Safe to say, not more than 10 percent of the whole lot. Why? Because quite a number us are disenchanted by the system.

For those who have worked their guts out under the public education system, they just want to get out. This is especially true for those from lower- and middle-income families who have to struggle beyond all odds just because they are not ‘special,’ punished by the system not because of their abilities, but because of their skin colour.

Prospects for them to explore their potentials here in the UK after graduation are unhindered by any discriminatory systems.

What about the rest of the younger generation who are not so lucky? Many above-average Malaysian students are denied proper local tertiary education and end up being picked by universities from our neighbouring country (look for Singapore).

Hundreds of talented students are there because they were not given the proper opportunity at home. After graduating, most of them have to work in that foreign country for a couple of years and chances are that a great portion of them will not be coming back.

I have talked to a close friend from in a similar situation recently and he told to me that it is very depressing; in his own words, he said that he feels "like a destitute, unwanted by his own country," and yet he does not really feel as though he belongs where he is now.

Brain drain by the tank-loads is what we get. Every single year, Malaysia loses people who could potentially contribute to the country immensely.

------------

30-12-2004, 05:56 AM
we will prove you wrong...period. :D

dlearn
30-12-2004, 02:59 PM
I feel that noneedname needs to be updated and enlightened to the developments in Malaysia and I am rather surprised that someone who claimed to be in one of the top universities in the UK can be so ill-informed and harbour sentiments held by many non-bumi in the 70s and 80s (yours truly had many similar viewpoints as those expressed by noneedname, until I was working in Singapore.)

I am one of those highly educated Malaysians in the UK that had decided to come home and I can tell you all that most of my ‘kaki’ in Belfast and in London did likewise. Most of us finished our degrees and stayed on, some like me, having left Malaysia as 17 year-olds or thereabout (i.e. spending a big part of our adult lives in the UK). Among my lot, there are 2 medical doctors (one even has 2 FRCS to his name), one lawyer, a medical doctor turned Internet entrepreneur, to name a few. While I cannot speak on behalf of all of my mates, here I would like to share my main reason for coming home:

Racial discrimination in the UK: after staying for over 10 years, I was granted ‘leave to remain in the UK for an indefinite period’ which translates into ‘PR’ status allowing me to find work. While finding a job (even in the late 80’s and ear 90’s) was tough but not impossible, I had to fight many battle on the harassments due to my not being a ‘local’…I won many battles on this but I knew that I will never win the war and I was sick of fighting in this manner. The reality was only cleared when I was working as a post-doctoral researcher in Singapore. While my knowledge, qualifications etc were opening doors for me, subtly I was just ‘another bloody Malaysian’ to many Singaporean. It took me 5 years to find a job back home (there wasn’t any scheme from the government to bring people like me back home and my field, tissue culture of plants, has many experts in Malaysia) and I have been in the higher education industry since 1996. One of the main reasons that I came back was this: I tried to join in the live webcast interview that Tun Dr Mahatir was giving in 1995 and emailed my questions, my questions were not aired, but I did receive an email reply from the former PM who told me that I did not require SPM Bahasa to get a job in the private sectors where there were many such jobs…to me it was a great encouragement and 3 months later I landed my first job as a senior lecturer in a large private college in the Klang Valley (and the pay was not bad either at that time). At least the playing field in the private sector in Malaysia is pretty level (in fact the public sector is having trouble recruiting non-bumi into their ranks!).

“Prospects for them to explore their potentials here in the UK after graduation are unhindered by any discriminatory systems.” …..perhaps things are different in noneedname’s case (and I must admit, in the academic circle, race, colour and creed are less important than the ability to do a job….research and teach), but in everyday life and in seeking jobs in the private sector, one will feel the effect. I can tell you all a few stories on this in another forum…..

Noneedname’s other point about opportunities for those who score good grades and not able to get into the programmes of their choice or funding needs to be corrected. The world does not owe one a scholarship just because you scored straight As…..and we do not want or need to have all these people to be medical doctors. We do need a lot more scientists (in all fields of studies), engineers, historians, economists etc etc and I am sure that not everyone will be suitable to be trained as a medical doctor….aptitude is more important in this case. In my days as a student at Queen’s University, I had met a number of JPA scholars, and to my surprise, out of a batch of 8 or 9 scholars, there were 3 non-bumi (and one even got to read medicine!). I believe that this had been the trend from the late 80’s. As to funding for higher education, Malaysia has one of the most generous funding programmes called the PTPTN loan (Perbadanan Tabung Pendidikan Tinggi Nasional) that make loan available to ALL Malaysians regardless of one’s financial background or biological heritage…the loan even covers studies overseas (but the amount is not huge). Malaysia has the highest spending on higher education and the many great opportunities created in the public and private higher education establishments together with the availability of cheap funding via PTPTN mean that no one will be left out as long as he/she has the necessary academic credentials. Even those who flung their SPM are given second chance in the form of vocational training with similar funding from the government.

I suggest that noneedname (and anyone interested) to read the book “The Chinese Dielemma” by Ye Lin-Sheng to get a better insights into the historical perspective and current scene of the country.

the-model-racist-nation
17-09-2005, 08:50 AM
This country would be a great country if there is no division of races. With its richness of natural resources, Malaysia should be one among the most developed nation in Asia.

Bitter to say, all those money lost to corrupt politicians and cronies, and unprofitable projects.

This is what saddens me as Malaysian.

However, I do believe a brain drain is inevitable. I believe it is happening. As a student in long-ago school, I see it every year. Each and every year after the holidays, there are a few less people in class. Why? Their parents emigrated down under West.

I left the country in the 90s because of the injustices in Malaysia perpetrated by Umno. I made my fortune and no returned home but I thought Mahathir had somehow managed to turn the mindset of Umno around into focusing on global competition, instead of petty race-based competition.

Now I am certain that those in power want the affirmative action policies to continue, not because these policies benefit the general malay population, but because these policies give Umno the right to continue to plunder the country.

Legalised theft is what they are after, and if anyone dares speak out, they just tell you to leave the country so that they can continue their plunder.

It's sad, but my children don't have to live through this injustice. They can go anywhere they want in the world, and I encourage them.

There are many people who made big names as Malaysians only when they are treated better in other countries, not because they are Malaysians but because they are treated as one of their own.

That's explain why they choose not come back. Treatment was so good that they offered their family to emigrate over there.

Since Umno is playing the race cards openly, the coming future for non-malays is suffering through endurance. How many more years should we Malaysians suffer? It is not only the non-malays but also the poor malays struggling for survival in isolated villages.

Anyway, these people voted with their feet and wrote about their experience. They wanted to tell you about this country and how its government discriminated its minority people.

I can feel they love this country too but this country or rather this government did not love them. I can also feel their sadness and how things are turning for their malay brothers and sisters who are getting weaker and weaker in this globalised world, and all this is Umno's fault.

They realised if this is not stop immediately, this country will eventually go down the drain like those fourth world banana republics.

Their ancestors have helped this country to fight for independence and even fought off Japanese invaders but our government has never been grateful and instead discriminated against them to the hilt.

They also saw that they have become second-class citizens in their country of birth, and were very disappointed when Indonesia labours can become first class citizens whereas foreign spouses of non-malays took years just to get a PR. Even terrorists like Hambali and Abu Bakar can become PR holders easily. Something is definitely wrong with this country.

Here maybe you are malay and oblivious to others who are suffering and as a Muslim yourself, is this injustice reconcilable to the tenets of Islam?

Tony Gunawan also voted with his feet and went on to become USA's first world badminton doubles champion. Instead of helping his original country to badminton glory, he helped another country to become a potent rival.

The same could be said of our citizens who voted with their feet. Many went to Singapore and worked for companies that became our competitors. If our country and government has been kind to some of its citizens, this additional competition wouldn't have been created. I hope the present government will realise its folly and there is no substitute to real meritocracy.

The non-malays don't want everything but only fairness and social justice, a very tenet of your malays great religion. If you can't even subscribe to the tenets of your own religion, I am afraid you may be branded a hypocrite and a very racist one at that.

It is not true that there will be no policy that can keep every race happy.

Only the person who thinks that he should be treated better than others would object to a policy that is fair to all.

That feeling of "entitlement" is created by politicians who have found a convenient way to retain power in parliamentary democracy.

As a grass root, I hope that all Malaysians will live in harmony and work towards a better tomorrow, a better environment for the children.

pringles
18-09-2005, 10:21 AM
This country would be a great country if there is no division of races. With its richness of natural resources, Malaysia should be one among the most developed nation in Asia.

That is if and all of us know that is impossible. London is a multi-ethnic city and yet it is the world finance centre. Even if Malaysia is a mono-ethical country, economy diaparities will still occur in the ethnic group itself.

However, I do believe a brain drain is inevitable. I believe it is happening. As a student in long-ago school, I see it every year. Each and every year after the holidays, there are a few less people in class. Why? Their parents emigrated down under West.

Western world is not a world with perfect equlity. Look at Americans. New Orleans fell into chaos after the struck of Katarina.
Most of the inhabitants, the Blacks, can't escape from their home because they don't have money and don't have private cars to do so. One USA is the USA of the rich White while the other is the USA belongs to the poor black. If you undestand Chinese, read the recent issue of Ya Zhou Zhou Kan.

My sister, who get a economy degree from LSE(London School of Economics and politics) is underpaid by her company in London because she is a female, not a British and she is a Chinese.

Not all Malays agree with the positive discrimination action. There are Malays who want a Malaysia which is equal to everyone. The positive discrimination has to be done away with sooner or later.

shimania
22-09-2005, 05:13 PM
The more intra-ethnic inequality is exposed, the more hostile umno's rule will be. imagine the gap between the umnoputras and the pak lebais in pendalaman. yes, sooner or later more and more will realise umno is enriching themselves at the expense of their own ethnic group, if not the whole nation.

coolstudy
06-12-2006, 11:53 PM
Malaysia is a corrupt and racist country and that is the reason we have this malay dilemma.

This malay dilemma exists because of one person, that is, the leader of that race. If the leader is corrupt and racist, we will have all sort of dilemmas - the Barisan dilemma, the Chinese dilemma, the Indian dilemma, the Malay dilemma, the NEP dilemma, the Proton dilemma, the Scenic Bridge dilemma, etc. The list is dilemmatic and is endless……….

Yes, this corrupt racist is dilemmatic but yet was at the helm steering Malaysia into dilemmatic waters, that is why Bolehland is having all sorts of dilemmas in Malaysia, not only the malay dilemma!

The definition of a system is defined as several components linked together so that when an input is applied to the system, the desired output is attained! It is up to individual to choose any one of such systems and applying it to the day to day lifestyle living.

There are efficient systems and inefficient systems. And every system is operated by different components in the systems. If a system is to work efficiently and systematically, each of the components is to function the tasks assigned to that individual component accordingly.

A system can work efficiently with a favorable environment, abundant natural resources and most of all intelligent human resources. The most important component of an efficient system is the human component!

Malaysia can create the best system in the universe but if we have a corrupt and racist operator managing the Malaysia dilemmatic system, what do you expect the outputs of this corrupt and racist dilemmatic system?

Hence the axiom, garbage in and garbage out (GIGO) as illustrated in a computer system.

If the Malaysia quality system is to work efficiently, harmoniously, peacefully and prosperously, all the components got to link together and work diligently and efficiently. Then the Malaysia system will produce quality production!

Now if the malay component is practicing corruption, cronyism, deviant religion, misuse of funds, judiciary, powers, and NEP, nepotism, racial discrimination, and etc etc, can anybody expect such Malaysia system to work efficiently? Can MAS, Perwaja, Proton, the government systems work efficiently?

The mockery of the corrupt and racist Malaysia dilemmatic system is that when an input is fed into this system, there is no output from this corrupt and racist dilemmatic system, it is all devoured by the various corrupt components in the corrupt and racist system!

As long as Malaysia is having this corrupt and racist dilemmatic system, we will have the Bolehland dilemma, the Chinese, Iban, Indian, Jakun, Kadazan, Malay, Sakai etc dilemmas, the Malaysian dilemma, and etc.

We can see the obvious problems to the Malaysia dilemma and the solution to this dilemma is to overhaul the corrupt, inefficient, problematic and racist dilemmatic system and replace it with a clean, effective and efficient quality system.

This implies all components in the system got to work effectively, efficiently and impartially according to nature laws - not the deviant religious laws, fancy laws, jungle laws and whim laws.

And what are nature laws? Nature laws are the efficient application of natural resources for human benefits and needs. Not the prodigal and raping use of natural resources for personal luxuries!

Yes, Malaysia wants qualitative production, not quantitative production!

So, for an efficient, harmonious, peaceful and prosperous Bolehland, Malaysia must adopt the best component, the best operator and the best system.

That is why Malaysia needs a corrupt and racist free, quality system with quality district, parliament, state councils, quality judiciary, quality leaders and quality Malaysians in order to achieve quality production!