View Full Version : Petronas : Educamp 2011

14-03-2011, 01:59 PM
*note that this is another copy-paste edited version of the Educamp 2010 thread. Please do feel free to add anything if you want to.

Generally, the interview process for Petronas is called Educamp. For peninsular Malaysia, you will be having your interview in UTP. The following abstract is taken from Educamp 2009 thread. It's just a copy paste from what I written in last year's thread plus some modifications.

Venue : Rajah Court, Kuching, Sarawak.
Duration : 2 days 1 night

This format is specially the same with Educamp in Teronoh. There are those who check in earlier 1 and 2 nights but hardly do anything. Main idea is to get those who live further from the interview place to arrive earlier than those who live nearby. For example, if u are from Melaka, you'll be checking in earlier 1 night compared to those who stay in Kedah area. Mine on the other hand, Miri interviewee are called the earliest, followed by Sibu and lastly, Kuchingnians. Once, everyone has reached the Educamp, then only the real event begins.

First day is just total registration. You'll get a name tag to write your name on it and you have to wear it at all times. After registration,-only requires IC, you'll be called into the hall for the briefing session.

In the briefing session, it first starts of with talks from heads of PETRONAS sponsorship unit-and yes, you'll be introduced to PETRONAS song!!- Parents are invited to this welcome speech and also to stay for lunch. It is after the lunch that parents bid goodbye and we are all on our own for the rest of the programme.

In the afternoon, you'll be taught about interview skills and so on. After being taught now comes the official matter. You have to bring along certified copies of the certificates of co-curricular achievements which you've filled up in the online application form. Altogether, you must have a total of 2 sets(one to be sent for OVS programme and the other to UTP to be reviewed)
The arrangement must be according to the sequence to what you've filled up in the application form.

Okay, I know some of you must be wondering. Is it alright for me to put in certificates or achievements which I did not fill into the application form?

The answer is YES. You are allowed to put in extra. Don't need to ask, The officers will say no-I put in extras anyway.

What you need to bring and so on you'll find out soon enough once you get the letter from PETRONAS. Wouldn't want to spoil the fun right now right?

Anyway, after sending in your certificates, that's it for the day and you'll be each given and identification number. Your ID number will tell you which session of interview are you in as well as your candidate number. I'll teach you how to read it. Okay, my number was :

A-07-04

A refers to which session. There are a few sessions-if not mistaken, there's up to session E. Okay, anyway, reading from the left, session A means that I'm in the first session to be interviewed which is running from 8.00 am to 11.00 am, session B will be from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. and so on. Next, 07 refers to which panel you are going to be interviewed. Normally panel 7 is Room 7, so, panel 1 is room 1 and so on. Lastly, 04 refers to me being the fourth person in my group to be interviewed. Well, I'm the fourth person to be interviewed in my group.
Okay, knowing how to read your candidate number, let's get down to interview day.

On the interview day, Session A and B will be doing their interviews first in the morning and Session B,C,D and E will do in the afternoon. When A&B are doing interview C,D and E will do written tests. But let me follow my experience here okay? I'm in session A. Oh yeah, before I forget, session E is the least lucky one as you'll be leaving in the late evening-6 or 7 something? I don't know, i didn't stay back to wait!! LOL.

For the interview, you'll be divided into groups of 5. At first, you'll all be gathered in a room together with other groups to be given a case study each. You are all given a piece of paper to do write down your points to answer the questions in the case study. You are only given 10 minutes to do this and once time is up, you will have to go to the interview room. First will be self-interview and the others will have to wait outside the room. This interview normally last up to 10 minutes-mine up to 20 minutes though!- This is when you introduce yourself for 2 minutes or so then you answer the questions to the case study.

After you finish, the interviewer will tell you this-the most shocking thing for me!!-

At the bottom, there's a conclusion to the case study. Each of you have a different conclusion and therefore, you have to support your own conclusion and argue out later on why your conclusion is the best.

So, after the personal interview, next is the group discussion. We all tell our conclusion and debate about each other's points. My group debated for halve an hour until the interviewer had to tell us, ok guys, time is up, you have to reach a conclusion.

I noticed none of us wanted to concede so I took initiative and combined all our conclusion into one big, fat, strong conclusion. Then, worst part was when the interviewer laughed and said how is this possible? Please give an example. So, I gave the example, and it seems to have hit the nail. LOL.

Okay, after the interview, we are off for a break until the written test. Firstly, is the English Proficiency test(merely grammar and vocabulary)- 30 questions 15 minutes. After the English Proficiency test, we had another break and followed up by the Critical Thinking test(CTQ). Most of this CTQ questions are questions giving you four sequence of pictures and then ask you to predict the 5th picture. Well, just to give you clue, it's quite simple once you get the technique. All you have to do is just open your eyes wide that's all. This test will be for 20 minutes, 40 questions so it's quite mind-boggling actually but one thing's for sure, i you've run out of time, just simply shade the answers. Don't leave it unanswered!

After the interview and test, that's it!! You can check-out. One thing is that this educamp is exceptionally different from JPA interviews and you'll learn a lot from it. As we all know, some will fail, some will triumph in it, but what's matter most is the experience. It's wonderful-seriously- and therefore, you won't regret going for it as it's a once in a lifetime experience!!!

Dudes, I do expect the results to be out by the end of this week. So, do keep checking!!

**this information is prior to Educamp 2009. It appears that Educamp 2009 has changed it's format a little bit where there's maths test involved as well. So, please revise your additional mathematics before going for your interview! ROFL.

Anything more you want to find out, feel free to browse through this link for Educamp 2009 :

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8278

I know it would be hectic to search for the questions you would want to ask so feel free to ask in this thread anytime and I'll try to get back to you a.s.a.p. -I'm having my Easter break now.

That's all for now. All the best to your Petronas interview guys!!

Cheers mate.

EDUCAMP 2010 thread is : http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=10447

**note that some common questions would be do you have to memorise name of ministers, or CEO of Petronas?

Unless the format has changed, the answer is no.

It is based solely on case study, debate, fluency of speech and the awesomeness in you.

Remember to stay awesome guys. Drop any questions if u wanna! cheers!

*NOTE:USE THIS THREAD TO DISCUSS THE INTERVIEW PROCESS. FOR OTHER MATTERS REGARDING WHAT IS NEEDED, WHETHER YOU QUALIFY OR NOT, USE THE OTHER PETRONAS THREAD

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12406&page=2

cheers.

hehechicken
23-03-2011, 08:51 PM
I'm a current student studying in UTP (Eduquest camp 2010), sponsored by petronas, should you need my experience, you may clear your doubts by messaging me here. Any question, I will try :)

holy_spring
23-03-2011, 10:18 PM
i have been to the educamp~~
but not shortlisted for the scholar~
but i will try to help you guys out there who post questionS here~~

btw
good luck ya!! ^^

my result of SPM has just achieved 6As3Bs over 9 subjects..Will i be able to apply the UTP Scholarship??

what is your grade for moral and sejarah??

samyee0000
23-03-2011, 10:30 PM
Im a Johorean n Im interested with the Petroleum Engineering in UTP..
However,i just got 6As 3Bs in my SPM 2010..Is that hopeless for the scholarship?T^T
A+ in MM,A in CHE,A- in PHY,Add Math,BI n Moral..BM i got B+ ,SEJ n BIO i got B...
Anyone may help me??T^T

holy_spring
25-03-2011, 11:24 AM
However,i just got 6As 3Bs in my SPM 2010..Is that hopeless for the scholarship?T^T
A+ in MM,A in CHE,A- in PHY,Add Math,BI n Moral..BM i got B+ ,SEJ n BIO i got B...
Anyone may help me??T^T

hm..
if not mistaken..
bm, moral and sej must get at least A~~~
but..
can go and try to apply..
just dont put too much hope on it~~
apply many as you can

GOOD LUCK~ :)

AllenChew
25-03-2011, 11:42 AM
The minimum requirement for petronas scholarships 2011 is at least 9A- in SPM 2010.

For engineering courses, applicants must have A- in bm,bi,phy,chemistry,math and add math, and 3 other A- in any subjects.

For non-engineering courses like economics and business, applicants must have at least A- in bm bi and math and 6 more A- in any other subjects.

A in sejarah is not a MUST.:)

Further details refer to here http://www.studymalaysia.com/student/scholar_details.php?fundid=81

Lance_Kuan
25-03-2011, 12:29 PM
Just a brief add-on. Prior 2010 Educamp there are 2 additional test (together with the maths test) there are also chemistry and physics (not conceptual questions!). Its just a simple test for you guys! :3

Edit: The interview part (prior to my year) are divided into 4 groups only (due to the lesser and lesser people PETRONAS are giving sponsorships) and the interview process are very brief (mine was 5~8 minutes individual and 15 minutes group). Just in case your group members are too quiet, you should take the initiative to guide them to talk! Silence is not golden in this case ><"

As senksiang also mentioned you must at least know what the programme you're taking is all about and do memorize some of the important people in Malaysia (and overseas if you applied for overseas sponsorship).

Oh btw I'm a current scholar in UTP =X ask me any questions you want through here or my Facebook inbox (find in my signature) ^^

KenT13
25-03-2011, 01:07 PM
erm senkiang90, you went for 2011 interview already?? 0.o

Rocky
25-03-2011, 01:30 PM
Just a brief add-on. Prior 2010 Educamp there are 2 additional test (together with the maths test) there are also chemistry and physics (not conceptual questions!). Its just a simple test for you guys! :3

Edit: The interview part (prior to my year) are divided into 4 groups only (due to the lesser and lesser people PETRONAS are giving sponsorships) and the interview process are very brief (mine was 5~8 minutes individual and 15 minutes group). Just in case your group members are too quiet, you should take the initiative to guide them to talk! Silence is not golden in this case ><"

As senksiang also mentioned you must at least know what the programme you're taking is all about and do memorize some of the important people in Malaysia (and overseas if you applied for overseas sponsorship).

Oh btw I'm a current scholar in UTP =X ask me any questions you want through here or my Facebook inbox (find in my signature) ^^

what if i fail the test???:nuts... izit possible to fail the "simple test"?:amazed

Lance_Kuan
25-03-2011, 02:17 PM

He's just bringing out the previous interviews. I doubt that there'll be much changes.

what if i fail the test???:nuts... izit possible to fail the "simple test"?:amazed

LOL. Nah I doubt so. Its just some basic stuffs *-*

25-03-2011, 10:07 PM

He's already a Petronas scholar currently.

26-03-2011, 07:12 AM
Haha.. wow, so many new people... here.. hmmmm.. ok so let me update u guys about something vey important regarding Petronas sponsorships :

(1) As the title states itself, it is only a sponsorship as it is just a convertible loan. What does it mean by convertible loan? It is just a loan given by Petronas to you and it may be revoked anytime by them or, given the following circumstances:

(i) You do not meet the requirement in Pre-U(3B's 1C for Cambridge A Level, IB i'm not too sure, same goes to foundation)

(iii) Failed 3 semesters in university life.. i guess this is the easiest way to describe it..

(iii) Given that you have finished your course of study, have reported to HQ(Petronas Twin Towers) within 1 month your final result has been released, but within 6 months you are not being employed. As a result, your sponsorship is automatically converted into a convertible loan and no longer stands as a scholarship.

As in case (iii), the absorption rate into the petronas community is roughly 30%-not too sure about now- and that you studying OVS doesn't really guarantee your place in Petronas. If this happens, you will be given time to repay the whole loan, depending on your academic result which include 1st class = 10%, 2nd class upper = 15% of whole expenses incurred on you and so on.. feel free to contact me if you want to know more about it.

Ok, just to update on the new policy for Petronas OVS scholars, you may want to know all your rights and benefits as well.. :p this is for Petronas students in Petronas :

Dear Valued Student,

Our announcement made on 7 Mar 2011 in the website has reference.

In your journey to transform into a wholesome employable graduate, we have a few programmes for you.

We would like to help you acquire qualities you need to be employed by us or by other good employers.

How do we do this?

By supporting you to :

1) Have good academic results

2) Develop qualities Petronas and other employers look for

So what are the qualities that employers look for?

Teamwork - Able to work as a team, cooperates and works well with others

Communication - Good communicator who can express ideas clearly to others

Empathy - Takes an interest in people, demonstrating care and relates well to others

Resilience - Shows stamina, energy and determination in achieving high standards of performance

Adaptability - Adapts quickly to changing conditions and workload

Analytical - Grasp complexity and sees the connection with other problems/issues

Learning Agility - Intellectually curious to learn about a wide range of topics

Integrity - Is ethical, honest and upright when carrying out all activities

Leading self & others - Responsible and accountable for one’s actions

Attached is the Student Leadership Development Program (SLDP) Workbook. This is a guide to help you develop those qualities. A lot of these activities are what most students do.

The first step is for you to identify what are the skills, knowledge, attitude you want to improve. If you realize what you want to develop, you are more self aware of what you need to improve.

Then it is up to YOU to take responsibility of your OWN learning throughout your study period. You are at the driver’s seat to become a even more well-rounded person.

Steps for Using This Workbook (see attached file : PETRONAS SLDP Workbook)
OPEN this Workbook template in Word
Go to FILE > SAVE AS and re-save the document, replacing PETRONAS with YOUR NAME at the start of the file name in the form of XXXXX SLDP Workbook.doc
TYPE the relevant responses in the boxes provided as you progress through the program.
BACKUP your document regularly to a CD, USB drive and/or other format. (This document will be an important record – don’t risk losing it through a computer crash!)
PRINT relevant pages or the complete document whenever you need to work from a hard copy, share it for a discussion with others, or submit it to someone else
BRING A PRINTED COPY to every engagement session or email us your ‘Progress Summary and Completion Record’ (see attached file : SLDP Progress Summary Report ) every 6 months
There are also other programs, such as ‘Outward Bound Program’ and ‘Networking with PETRONAS management’ for selected students.

In addition, there is a Reward and Recognition Program, which is the positive side of Consequence Management (CM). This is to recognize exemplary students and motivate existing students to achieve academic excellence and be active in extra-curricular activities.

If you excel academically, the criteria and reward are as follows:

Criteria - Equivalent to GPA > 3.50 or 1st Class Honours for that academic year :-

Reward - Cash

If you have an outstanding achievement, the criteria are :

Criteria

• Receive prestigious award

• Representing University/State/Country

• Good academic standing

• ESU management will decide on the final recipients

Reward - Cash

Do email us your achievements with info like :-

-Name of Award Received

-Date received Award

-Represented (University or State or Country)

-Level (Winner or 2nd Place or 3rd Place)

What if you are under Consequence Management? You can :

• Attend the Aspiring Achivers Programme by ESU or/and

• Attend a Motivation Talk at your College/University or/and

• Carry out relevant activities from the SLDP

Should you need further clarification, please contact us.

Warm regards,

Zaidah Md Zain
PETRONAS Student Advisor, Malaysian Students Department, 67, Victoria Road, Bellevue Hill, NSW 2023, AUSTRALIA

**note, i may delete this content someday if it is being reported to be confidential. nevertheless since it is updated in the Petronas constitution, i see no harm in showing it here. Cheers people.

Anyone may help me??T^T

Regardless of your results, it is always best to always apply apply apply! Never stop applying cuz you never know what you can get! You just dont want to someday look back at this moment and say 'geez, why the hell did i not try this thing!' for good or for worse at least you tried and that is what matters most!

Cheers people! Remember to dream big and make it big!

imranariffin
27-03-2011, 02:41 PM
urgent !
when will eduquest 2011 (for over-sea) be held ?
thank you.

Lance_Kuan
27-03-2011, 03:36 PM
The EduCamp for both overseas and local will be held at the same time. It would be that time that determines whether you are for overseas or local =)

29-03-2011, 08:50 PM
urgent !
when will eduquest 2011 (for over-sea) be held ?
thank you.

generally whether you apply for local or ovs, when you are being called to the interview, you will be forced to put your application into both the local and OVS box...

*for further info on how this is done and what happens, please read the first post at the first page.. read day 1 activity

Rocky
29-03-2011, 10:38 PM
what are the interview topics mainly about?? what shoud i know more of ??? oil n gas? development? politics? :) ... Do kindly msg me anyone.....

miemoe
29-03-2011, 10:41 PM
Hey! I wanna ask about the CGPA for SPM like how much point is for A+ , how much is for A and so on. Thanks in advance for your help! :D

30-03-2011, 09:17 PM
what are the interview topics mainly about?? what shoud i know more of ??? oil n gas? development? politics? :) ... Do kindly msg me anyone.....

LOL. it is merely based on case study. but please do revise ur additional mathematic and science subjects. Probably its best if you practice more English as well.

Whatever topics can be asked. But i guess Politics is not required.

**For full disclosure of my interview experience, just go to page 1 and read it..

Lance_Kuan
30-03-2011, 09:39 PM
Its just merely about the case study, which means you need to have some knowledge about people related to the topic (mostly ministers, or head of certain departments). You might also be asked about questions related to the programme you applied for (Engineering or Technology)

30-03-2011, 11:25 PM
i think that the case study can be practically about anything. i got a sports topic...

Lance_Kuan
31-03-2011, 01:06 AM
i think that the case study can be practically about anything. i got a sports topic...

Agreed. What I got was traffic congestion.

trigo90
03-04-2011, 07:54 PM
well, i got topic regarding internet =)

06-04-2011, 12:03 PM
well, i got topic regarding internet =)

LOL. trigo90.. u also play ReCom.. ok..

iAdoreNaz
12-04-2011, 04:03 PM
Salam Sejahtera,

Adalah dimaklumkan bahawa anda tidak disenarai pendek untuk program PETRONAS EduQuest Camp.

Sekian, terima kasih.

ThamayanthyM
12-04-2011, 04:11 PM
Salam Sejahtera,

Adalah dimaklumkan bahawa anda tidak disenarai pendek untuk program PETRONAS EduQuest Camp.

Sekian, terima kasih.

Same...:cry

iAdoreNaz
12-04-2011, 04:13 PM
I phailed Khazanah, TNB, Petronas..

Hottest
12-04-2011, 04:14 PM
I phailed Khazanah, TNB, Petronas..

bro... ur not alone....:cry

Garfield93
12-04-2011, 04:18 PM
HEY EVERYONE!!!! welcome me into the "Adalah dimaklumkan bahawa anda tidak disenarai pendek untuk program PETRONAS EduQuest Camp." group too :( :'(

i applied khazanah , TNB and petronas too~! and damn... all same outcome with u guys!!! JPA!@<hidden>!@<hidden>!@<hidden>!@<hidden>@<hidden>! SAVE US!!!!! :@<hidden>

xiandagreat
12-04-2011, 04:18 PM
HEY EVERYONE!!!! welcome me into the "Adalah dimaklumkan bahawa anda tidak disenarai pendek untuk program PETRONAS EduQuest Camp." group too :( :'(

i applied khazanah , TNB and petronas too~! and damn... all same outcome with u guys!!! JPA!@<hidden>!@<hidden>!@<hidden>!@<hidden>@<hidden>! SAVE US!!!!! :@<hidden>

I'm sorry to hear that. :(

iAdoreNaz
12-04-2011, 04:29 PM
Yup, i feel like crying ady..
JPA save us :(..
So heartbroken.. haha~..

Garfield93
12-04-2011, 04:33 PM
Yup, i feel like crying ady..
JPA save us :(..
So heartbroken.. haha~..

what was your spm result?

xiandagreat
12-04-2011, 04:35 PM
I think this year Petronas are reducing their number of sponsorship offers.

Garfield93
12-04-2011, 04:38 PM
I think this year Petronas are reducing their number of sponsorship offers.

so baddd... :notrust :notrust :notrust

Eloise
12-04-2011, 05:08 PM
Salam Sejahtera,

Sekian, terima kasih.

ThamayanthyM
12-04-2011, 05:12 PM
Salam Sejahtera,

Sekian, terima kasih.

welcome to the group..:)...lets hv a pity party..jk

chooting
12-04-2011, 05:28 PM
same here..:(

chelsea93
12-04-2011, 05:32 PM
I wasn't shortlisted. :(
I got 9A+ for SPM.
Hmm, Wonder how do they choose and what was their criteria?
Results? KK? :huh

Eloise
12-04-2011, 05:38 PM
I got 9A+ for SPM.
i got 9A+ and 1 A....wasn't shortlisted too...
my friend who got 11A+ didn't get it also...

ThamayanthyM
12-04-2011, 05:40 PM
I got 9A+ for SPM.
what course u applied for?...maybe if u r a sc stream student n u applied for a finance-related course, then the chances for u to get it might be quite low unless u took any finance-related subject in spm...

clarrie93
12-04-2011, 05:54 PM
okay...i got it....
but then i didnt apply for UTP, meaning I didnt send in the application that needed to be pos there (end date yesterday) T..T so i dont think i will be going for the educamp...
and according to my sis's friend, she said that it almost impossible to get Petronas scholarship if you are applying for oversea course. Just for the fact, I applied for Teknologi Maklumat, course at UTP....

chelsea93
12-04-2011, 06:04 PM
what course u applied for?...maybe if u r a sc stream student n u applied for a finance-related course, then the chances for u to get it might be quite low unless u took any finance-related subject in spm...

I applied for chemical engineering as my first choice and mechanical engineering as my second. Both are science related so i don't know why, sigh. This means, it's all out for tomorrow's JPA interview. *battle mode :rawr :amuse

Wow must be really hard to get shortlisted huh. You and your friend applied for overseas? I applied for overseas btw.

according to my sis's friend, she said that it almost impossible to get Petronas scholarship if you are applying for oversea course. Just for the fact, I applied for Teknologi Maklumat, course at UTP....

Oh that sort of makes sense. Meaning you have to be like a genius plus head prefect plus president of clubs to be shortlisted for overseas? :P just guessing.

Garfield93
12-04-2011, 06:04 PM
i am science stream, apply science related stuff, and i filled in 9A+, 1A for the results.. and haha....no get oso

ThamayanthyM
12-04-2011, 06:07 PM

11A+ also din get?...was he/she active in koku?...when my dad asked petronas last year they said academic only 30 percent..they see koku more...

i am science stream, apply science related stuff, and i filled in 9A+, 1A for the results.. and haha.... i think petronas hates smart nerdies like us... ZZZ

my fren who got 10A+ got it..haha...she has gud academic n co-academic record..:)

Garfield93
12-04-2011, 06:08 PM
okay...i got it....
but then i didnt apply for UTP, meaning I didnt send in the application that needed to be pos there (end date yesterday) T..T so i dont think i will be going for the educamp...
and according to my sis's friend, she said that it almost impossible to get Petronas scholarship if you are applying for oversea course. Just for the fact, I applied for Teknologi Maklumat, course at UTP....

u applied overseas or UTP?? :huh

clarrie93
12-04-2011, 06:09 PM
u applied overseas or UTP?? :huh

UTP, Perak....very close to home..:P

Garfield93
12-04-2011, 06:11 PM
ooo... haizz... i still dont see any overseas recipients here...

xiandagreat
12-04-2011, 06:21 PM
UTP, Perak....very close to home..:P

Where are you from?

clarrie93
12-04-2011, 06:25 PM
Where are you from?

Perak. UTP isnt exactly close to where i live though.
Im just saying that its close since UTP is in the same state.:P

xiandagreat
12-04-2011, 06:32 PM
Perak. UTP isnt exactly close to where i live though.
Im just saying that its close since UTP is in the same state.:P

Ah I see. Specifically where in Perak? :))

Garfield93
12-04-2011, 06:37 PM
overseas? overseas? overseas??? whoever who got overseas please ... quote me~! :)

12-04-2011, 08:19 PM
overseas? overseas? overseas??? whoever who got overseas please ... quote me~! :)

i got overseas...

CharlotteKYU
12-04-2011, 10:44 PM
i got overseas...
Is it hard to get the petronas scholarships? i applied for overseas btw.... luckilly, i gt shortlisted.:D N, how many places are available for every year??? i m totally stressed out now... YTM camp ends on the 17th and petronas camp starts on the 17th.... dat means i've gotta sacrifice one...== N,i m not sure whether i can secure any scholarships... :( SOS,pleaseeeee!!!!!!

ratnahsubra
13-04-2011, 10:55 AM
Is it hard to get the petronas scholarships? i applied for overseas btw.... luckilly, i gt shortlisted.:D N, how many places are available for every year??? i m totally stressed out now... YTM camp ends on the 17th and petronas camp starts on the 17th.... dat means i've gotta sacrifice one...== N,i m not sure whether i can secure any scholarships... :( SOS,pleaseeeee!!!!!!

hey! same here..i applied for petronas overseas and i got shortisted..:D..Bt YTM camp ends on 17th,at kl,while PETRONAS one starts on 17th at perak!! tough decision to make..cn we cabut early at ytm? hehe.

bubu24
13-04-2011, 11:17 AM
I'm sorry but may i know how to check whether u r selected for tnb?

chernjuin
13-04-2011, 11:41 AM
BUBU, go here http://yayasan.tnb.com.my/sam/ key in ur sam id or click on the blinking SENARAI PELAJAR YG LAYAK KE EDUCAMP, see if ur ic is in it, if yes then u r selected.

ANYWAYs, anybody went for 2011 eduquest camp for petronas dy? any change in their system?

suyi93
13-04-2011, 12:06 PM

i gt overseas geology....im from seremban,wat abt u?goin to perak too?:)

can we check our status for YTM overseas d?cuz when i check its 'PERMOHONAN ANDA SEDANG DIPROSES'.

thank you!:))

BlubluTan
13-04-2011, 01:22 PM
Is there any bonding if i'm chosen to follow the course under petronas scholarship?

ratnahsubra
13-04-2011, 02:19 PM

can we check our status for YTM overseas d?cuz when i check its 'PERMOHONAN ANDA SEDANG DIPROSES'.

YTM will send u email if you are shortlisted :) dont bother bout the website.

xiandagreat
13-04-2011, 02:43 PM

Congrats! Most likely you will go to US. :))

Is there any bonding if i'm chosen to follow the course under petronas scholarship?

There is. In the final year, you will have an employment interview. If you pass the interview, you are employed and for this case, technical course is 10 years, non technical is 7 years. If you are not selected to be employed by Petronas, you will have to pay back a certain amount of your total sponsorship depending on your final year result.
From what I know(the rates may change) from your final year result:

First Class: Pay back 10%
Second Upper: Pay back 15%
Second Lower: Pay back 20%

That's all I can say. If you need more detailed explanation, I will be happy to assist you.

miemoe
13-04-2011, 03:32 PM
I'm looking forwards to meet recomers this sunday :D

suyi93
13-04-2011, 07:48 PM
Congrats! Most likely you will go to US. :))

There is. In the final year, you will have an employment interview. If you pass the interview, you are employed and for this case, technical course is 10 years, non technical is 7 years. If you are not selected to be employed by Petronas, you will have to pay back a certain amount of your total sponsorship depending on your final year result.
From what I know(the rates may change) from your final year result:

First Class: Pay back 10%
Second Upper: Pay back 15%
Second Lower: Pay back 20%

That's all I can say. If you need more detailed explanation, I will be happy to assist you.

oic,may i ask how can i know wat uni and country does petronas offer for geology overseas?we have to study foundation at UTP,then only go overseas?
anyone goin this sun ?trying 2 make friends,hehe.....

thanks!

xiandagreat
13-04-2011, 07:55 PM
oic,may i ask how can i know wat uni and country does petronas offer for geology overseas?we have to study foundation at UTP,then only go overseas?
anyone goin this sun ?trying 2 make friends,hehe.....

thanks!

Already posted you a reply on your recom wall. Pm me to further this conversation. :))

OurCobblestones
13-04-2011, 08:44 PM
i applied for petronas. lol how come i still haven't gotten the email from them?

clarrie93
13-04-2011, 08:51 PM
i applied for petronas. lol how come i still haven't gotten the email from them?

they didnt give e-mail i think (i got a text from them though). but you can check in http://spmonline.petronas.com.my/index.php

OurCobblestones
13-04-2011, 08:57 PM
they didnt give e-mail i think (i got a text from them though). but you can check in http://spmonline.petronas.com.my/index.php
thanks!! i was trying to get into this page but i forgot how. i didnt even get a text T.T JPA IS MY ONLY HOPE ;________;

ANDDDDD *drumrolllll*

Salam Sejahtera,

Sekian, terima kasih.

T__________________________________T

clarrie93
13-04-2011, 09:01 PM
thanks!! i was trying to get into this page but i forgot how. i didnt even get a text T.T JPA IS MY ONLY HOPE ;________;

ANDDDDD *drumrolllll*

Salam Sejahtera,

Sekian, terima kasih.

T__________________________________T

lets us work hard for JPA!!! dont lose hope!
and i had save all the important website, so i can easily access them anytime.

13-04-2011, 09:27 PM
Good luck to all who are attending for your Petronas Educamp on the 17th! Remember that the most important thing is to have fun and do your best! It is really a very interesting and memorable experience! Cheers to u all! Hopefully someday I get to see more recommers come to my uni as well. haha. cheers all!

Karg_028
13-04-2011, 11:18 PM
I got 9A+ but was shortlisted, was that luck?

I applied for overseas scholarship in Chemical Engineering. May I know how many scholarships are given out each year? What is the probability of me getting it?
Would appreciate the information very much, thanks.

bbqonion
13-04-2011, 11:33 PM
just wondering if they still give the CTQ test because i heard they changed to math and science tests?

Cody
13-04-2011, 11:37 PM
I applied for chemical engineering as my first choice and mechanical engineering as my second. Both are science related so i don't know why, sigh. This means, it's all out for tomorrow's JPA interview. *battle mode :rawr :amuse

Wow must be really hard to get shortlisted huh. You and your friend applied for overseas? I applied for overseas btw.

Oh that sort of makes sense. Meaning you have to be like a genius plus head prefect plus president of clubs to be shortlisted for overseas? :P just guessing.

i only got 4 A+ but straight A's in spm , from science stream , applying for oversea accounting course , i got shorlisted ! weird .

CharlotteKYU
14-04-2011, 12:46 AM
hey! same here..i applied for petronas overseas and i got shortisted..:D..Bt YTM camp ends on 17th,at kl,while PETRONAS one starts on 17th at perak!! tough decision to make..cn we cabut early at ytm? hehe.
hey,wat to do wat to do....... i plan 2 ask them whether or not we can cabut earlier.... i called them today but they said sunday schedule normally ends in the afternoon and we nid to ask the permission from the fasilitator first :( so how??? r u gonna go to the TM thng first?? I want to join both camps.. later satu scholarship pun tak dapat.....

try checking your email??

miemoe are you going too??? where are you from??? i'm frm pahang, quite far from perak,you know.... :(

ureshii_xD
14-04-2011, 02:39 PM
Oh! I didn't know that there's also the 17th April of Educamp because I got shortlisted to go for the 20th April :O

So here I'm hoping that fellow Educamp 2011 would be as kindly to post their experiences here (* w*)

p.s. I applied for local

idunnoy
14-04-2011, 04:04 PM
20th is for local while 17th is for overseas.. i heard they have exams ... ==

AngelColdplay
14-04-2011, 05:26 PM
Can u wear knee-length skirt to go for the programme?

hey,wat to do wat to do....... i plan 2 ask them whether or not we can cabut earlier.... i called them today but they said sunday schedule normally ends in the afternoon and we nid to ask the permission from the fasilitator first :( so how??? r u gonna go to the TM thng first?? I want to join both camps.. later satu scholarship pun tak dapat.....

try checking your email??

miemoe are you going too??? where are you from??? i'm frm pahang, quite far from perak,you know.... :(

Im from Seremban. I got selected for EduQuest on the 17th in Perak. Anyone else?

trenchcoat101
14-04-2011, 05:36 PM

Im from Seremban. I got selected for EduQuest on the 17th in Perak. Anyone else?

Hi,
It is advisable to wear ankle-length skirt. Slacks is mostly preferable for girls.
=) any other questions? would be glad to help..

suyi93
14-04-2011, 05:46 PM

im from seremban too!which school are you from?nice to meet you...hoping to meet u at educamp.:))

bbqonion
14-04-2011, 05:55 PM
Just wondering if the tests they give are hard, and do I need to study anything on petronas or anything else?

ratnahsubra
14-04-2011, 06:05 PM

well,i think we shud js go for one..bcos its in perak u noe,if u arrive there late,or cabut early from ytm,its both gna leave a bad impression..so,choose the best and go for it :))

oanne93
14-04-2011, 06:33 PM
I am going for the eduquest camp next week @<hidden>@<hidden>!! Im excited, nervous and scared. Dang! Nway, I was just posting to ask opinions from u guys. Well its like this, Im a 2010 SPM Graduate..lol.. and Im currently taking Certified Accounting Technician (CAT) which is a shortcut to ACCA if u guys don't know. I got 10 As for my SPM and I applied for Petronas overseas scholarship. I got shortlisted!!>> to take accountancy overseas. huhu.. If im not mistaken it is bachelor..err... Degree? whats its name again? Well, my point is dat I really want to continue my tertiary education overseas specifically ACCA but I am offered the degree in accountancy, should I go for it? Im really confused @<hidden>@<hidden>! If u hav opinions.. pls also list the pros and cons for me okay. thnx!

Nway.. Im still going for the educamp.. Oh Man~~! give me some tips pls~

In a Dilemma

i only got 4 A+ but straight A's in spm , from science stream , applying for oversea accounting course , i got shorlisted ! weird .

:laugh:laugh:laugh:laugh:laugh L O L O L O L
funny~ hey i got shortlisted for accounting course too.. nway~ nybody from Sabah here?

cheahzc
15-04-2011, 12:04 AM

those mention 17th and 18th of april are all overship interviewee!

doing some research here, u all applied for overseas or local?

for 2009, 2010 edu camp senior, this year the process are different , they let us choose whether we want utp or overseas when we fill the form, for those applying overseas will head for edu camp on 17 and 18 of paril, while utp(local) attending edu camp on 20 and 21april!

AllenChew
15-04-2011, 08:18 AM
Just wondering if the tests they give are hard, and do I need to study anything on petronas or anything else?

For last year, the test mainly divide into three types,

first one is personality test ( i am sure you did such thing for million times already)

second one is academic test...testing you SPM stuff...in science..add math..and english ( you can study and revise SPM thing for this test if you wan, but my suggestion is just let it be..cause those are very basic questions.. you can easily recall back the things you have learnt )

the last one is IQ test...giving you lot's of tricky IQ question and call you solve it ! i screw this in this last year:cry

lze
15-04-2011, 10:20 AM
so there would be no essay writing stuff?? thanks god..LOL.. then about the academic test(science), is it mostly in physics n chemistry but not biology? i feel really weird as I m applying for accounting, n is it anything to do with science? ^^

cinta_asma
15-04-2011, 10:30 AM
hey everyone i got offer to go to educamp :)) ..i applying for accounting oversea?anyone here got the same course with me?normally they divide us in group based on what?course we applying or just selected randomly.And did we really need to revise addmath and chemistry?coz this thing only make me nervous...then i don't understand bout the personal interview...is it they will ask why u choose accounting or we need to present bout the topic they give?anyone who got acc oversea please email me at cinta_asma@<hidden>..

so there would be no essay writing stuff?? thanks god..LOL.. then about the academic test(science), is it mostly in physics n chemistry but not biology? i feel really weird as I m applying for accounting, n is it anything to do with science? ^^

you got accounting also?me too!

chernjuin
15-04-2011, 10:51 AM
i flunk my jpa interview, NOw it is ALL OUT FOR PETRONAS!!!!!!!!!! anyways, i heard they asked more on physics, some basic chem, and some maths too. but many posts from out senior recommers have been telling us not to worry, so i think we need not worry too much^^. anyways, see all recommers there this 17th!! hehe,

ureshii_xD
15-04-2011, 11:44 AM
Aaah so this year they changed the format by dividing overseas and local. Hopefully the format which they will run the camp wouldn't be changed because then, it would be a horrible shock ∑(O_O;)
I don't want to be suddenly tested on writing scientific essays. My memory is deteriorating hurr hurr.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone here has tried to contact the Educamp guys and succeeded?
I've been trying since yesterday and no one picks up. The number is 0320512277. If anyone knows a different contact no, hopefully can help me? My father has a couple of questions for them but maybe Educamp seniors could help to answer? :3
-Lets say if I arrive there really early like 6:30 or 7:00, would there be people? ;_;
-Is it mandatory for parents/caretaker to be present during the opening?

cinta_asma
15-04-2011, 12:18 PM
[quote=chernjuin;356564]i flunk my jpa interview, NOw it is ALL OUT FOR PETRONAS!!!!!!!!!! anyways, i heard they asked more on physics, some basic chem, and some maths too. but many posts from out senior recommers have been telling us not to worry, so i think we need not worry too much^^. anyways, see all recommers there this 17th!! hehe,[/quote

u already know ur jpa interview result or u didn't get the interview session?

cheahzc
15-04-2011, 01:23 PM
Aaah so this year they changed the format by dividing overseas and local. Hopefully the format which they will run the camp wouldn't be changed because then, it would be a horrible shock ∑(O_O;)
I don't want to be suddenly tested on writing scientific essays. My memory is deteriorating hurr hurr.

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone here has tried to contact the Educamp guys and succeeded?
I've been trying since yesterday and no one picks up. The number is 0320512277. If anyone knows a different contact no, hopefully can help me? My father has a couple of questions for them but maybe Educamp seniors could help to answer? :3
-Lets say if I arrive there really early like 6:30 or 7:00, would there be people? ;_;
-Is it mandatory for parents/caretaker to be present during the opening?

not mandatory la...
"10.00 pagi
Perasmian program PETRONAS EDUQUEST CAMP 2011
(Ibubapa dijemput hadir)" ----from panduan penyertaan.

For last year, the test mainly divide into three types,

first one is personality test ( i am sure you did such thing for million times already)

second one is academic test...testing you SPM stuff...in science..add math..and english ( you can study and revise SPM thing for this test if you wan, but my suggestion is just let it be..cause those are very basic questions.. you can easily recall back the things you have learnt )

the last one is IQ test...giving you lot's of tricky IQ question and call you solve it ! i screw this in this last year:cry

allen! did u get the scholarship? it sounds like, we can only get the scholarship only if we can answer that critical thinking test!?

oanne93
15-04-2011, 01:47 PM
i got accounting overseas too.. mine at sabah and its on 24-25 apr but i was called and asked to come on 23rd coz got briefing and stuff at a hotel.. okay.. Its really different with semenanjungs oh..:nod

cinta_asma
15-04-2011, 02:17 PM
hurmm..i got accounting in oversea..but i'm from science stream..then i got read one post here they say if you r science stream student u must take addmath,phy n chemistry exam..if u r art student u take math exam only...so in my case i have to take what exam?for science stream student or for art student...Coz acc is normally for art student rite...

15-04-2011, 02:48 PM
to all my Petronas juniors, here are some tips to try calm your nerves and i do hope this helps :

(1) During personal interview, do talk slowly and clearly. DO NOT EVER RUSH YOUR POV and use SPEECH CRUTCHES as you will lose points from it. Make sure you write out what you want to say and most importantly DO NOT READ OUT FROM YOU SCRIPT. best thing is to write the points on the paper they gave u and later on when it reaches your turn, explain ur points instead of reading it out like an essay.

(2) I do not know about other interviews but mine was weird. there will be 2 interviewers. 1 to concentrate and the other to distract you i guess. the distract i got was the interviewer answered phone calls, yawned, smsed, draw something on a piece of paper and so on while i was giving my POV. so do take note of it.

(3) During group discussions, remember to always 'THINK OUT OF THE BOX'. Most important is not to be the DICTATOR of your group. you will earn good points by help facilitate conversations in the group.

(4) when other gp members give their opinion, keep a close ear and listen properly what they have to say. do not interrupt. listen, analyse and critique it. Never devalue other's opinion but try to improve it! this is important!

ok, i guess that's all i can tell u guys. all the best man! just so u guys knw, before taking up accounting in uni, i was a science student as well. and do believe me when i say this, i know art subjects are easy back in high school but in college and uni, u'd be surprise to find out it is a very complex subject as the subjects are open-ended answers and there's never right or wrong for an answer. the only wrong is where u only see one side of the coin and no the other.

cheers all. Good luck!

(checking ReCom at 8 pm Malaysia timing and do catch me that time if you want to!)

AngelColdplay
15-04-2011, 02:55 PM
Hi,
It is advisable to wear ankle-length skirt. Slacks is mostly preferable for girls.
=) any other questions? would be glad to help..

Thanks...i'll wear slacks then. Do they allow participants to stay another night after the programme at the place cuz im not sure about my transportation home..im from seremban so it's a long journey.

im from seremban too!which school are you from?nice to meet you...hoping to meet u at educamp.:))

Hey nice to meet u too. Im from SMK Seremban 2. How about u? Are u going to travel all the way back to seremban on the 18th?

15-04-2011, 02:58 PM
Thanks...i'll wear slacks then. Do they allow participants to stay another night after the programme at the place cuz im not sure about my transportation home..im from seremban so it's a long journey.

baju kurung is da best actually. try to get one. it will serve well in many things in the future as well.

AngelColdplay
15-04-2011, 03:12 PM
baju kurung is da best actually. try to get one. it will serve well in many things in the future as well.

Alright. I'll get one then. Thank u very much. Do u know where they might send finance students overseas? I don't see anywhere about which country they might send u.

ureshii_xD
15-04-2011, 07:14 PM
not mandatory la...
"10.00 pagi

Yeah. Exactly the obvious point I was trying to say to my father but he... =.=
Still, thank you for answering that :amuse

xiandagreat
15-04-2011, 07:26 PM
Hi all, since recom has provided me tons of information about education and scholarships during my SPM times, now I would like to return you guys a favour. I am a Petronas Sponsored student and I would like to share my experience and information of the Educamp that I went in 2010.

Date: April 2010

The First day is kind of relaxing. You are required to gather there at around 8am ? 9 am-ish (I already forgotten the time) for registration. At the registration, they serve food (buffet style) to you and to your parents. So basically in my case was, my parents went to eat and while eating they watch me queuing up the long queue waiting for my turn to register my name. LOL. For you, I reckoned that it is better for you to reach there early, I mean really early to avoid the queue.

Anyway, after the registration, each of you will be directed to your respective buses in which then will transfer you to your respective dorms. Some are lucky, they got the nearest dorm to the hall while some, like me, was transferred out of the campus to stay in an badly managed dorm. (It was really untidy and dirty there, but who cares, after all, all the endurance was worthwhile =) )
Then, you will be given a shortwhile to unload your stuff and you will then head to the main hall for briefing session

In the briefing session, around 3 to 5 Petronas Officers will give talks about the fundamentals of Petronas Company and not forgetting the sponsorship structure. The Sponsorship structure?s talk will be conducted by our Education Sponsorship unit?s officer, Encik Norman (if I am not mistaken). In these talks, they will present the basic organization of Petronas and some of the officers humourously told us to copy down the details as they will be asked during our interview. LOL. (Everyone of us raced down to copy the details, LOL)

Then there will be lunch. Parents are not allowed to stay with their children anymore after lunch.

Now the afternoon, the whole afternoon is used to pass up the registration forms, certs and transcripts. The entire process took us around 3 hours! Do make sure everything is in order in accordance to the instruction of the arrangement of the forms.
Hint: Bring an A4 size envelope to store all your papers there. This eases you and is tidier.

Question: Can I add additional and exceptional certificates in the envelope?

Definitely YES!! The more the better! It?s common sense. You are like applying for a job where you need to submit your best of yourself to gain the confidence of the employer to hire you.

For those of you who couldn?t make it to verify or ?sahkan? your certificates on that day, don?t worry, the Petronas system is very efficient and caring. Some of the students was kind of panic and worried as they couldn?t get their documents signed and verified as it was too rush for them (In my case, I had troubles too). What the Petronas team did was they allow us to fax our leftover documents to their department of course with a certain ample dateline. How cool is that. They knew students will have this problem and hence they created the solution.

Anyway, after the tedious process, you will have a break. Tea time I supposed. After that, you guys will be transferred to the examination hall to have your FIRST TEST! Well, the first test is a Personality Test. You will be given questions/situation/problems in which you need to label the options/answers from 1 as the most favourable to 7 as the least favourable to your personal self-being. It?s fun though. It looks confusing somehow but it is definitely fun. LOL.

Then, you will know your candidate number from the forms that is pasted on the wall in the examination (in my case). Your candidate number will be something like this:

C-01-02

C refers to which session and there are about A-E sessions. This session will determine your interview and your time for your tests. For example, session A, B and C will have their interview in the morning which is from, say 8.00 to 12.00pm while D and E is after lunch.

01 refers to the panel that you are going to be interviewed. From this number, 01, means that it is the first panel. Basically, panels are rooms. Panel 1 = Room 1. There are approximately 13 rooms.

02 refers to the student as the second person to be interviewed.

Don?t worry, on that day, you will be thoroughly briefed about the interview process. After that, it will be just on your fingertips. LOL.

OK, now, back to the topic. The interview will be conducted on the next day. Let me continue what happened during the night. In the late evening, which is also after dinner, you will be having a series of tests. What are the tests???!!! They are just Mathematics and Science test and English Proficiency test.

The English proficiency test is just composed of comprehensions, grammars and vocabularies. Don?t worry, I am sure you CAN do it. Now the Maths and Science test. In my case, I literally have not had even a glimpse of the Physics and Maths book since the day after SPM. LOL. So on that day, there are PHYSICS questions. Lol. I have basically forgotten some of the crucial formulas but luckily, I did managed to answer them. The Math questions are ok. There are no Bio questions. I am not too sure about Chemistry questions simply because I have forgotten the test already.

After that, you are allowed to go back to your respective dorms and rest. Be sure you rest, I mean rest really well for the next morning.
However, take this time too to make friends as later on in the interview, you will know why it is very important.

Next day ? Determinant Day

The next day is important as this is where your interview is happened. For my case, since I am the last group for the interview, I did the tests first.
There are two tests, namely the CTQ tests Part 1 and 2. CTQ refers to Critical Thinking questions. For the part 1, you will be given a logical thinking test in which there are 4 pictures of random shapes and you are required to predict the 5th one. It?s pretty fun as well and this test will indubitably make you an adrenaline rush. LOL. Why? Because you are required to complete 40 mind boggling questions in just 20 minutes! 1 question for 30 seconds!

Next for the part 2 is the reasoning part. You will be given texts and you will have to choose the answer that you feel is the suitable one. This test is the most tricky and time consuming to me.

After that, I had my interview. In my case, I had it at around 4.30pm. We are the last group and the last team for that entire day! So basically, we waited and waited until we have literally no more anxiety in us anymore. LOL. Anyway, the interview was quite an interesting thing too. There will be two parts, which is the Group interview and individual one.

Before that, you will be divided into groups of 4 or 5. Then, you will be given a case written on a paper and your group will have to read, discuss and find a universal solution for it. The topics are random but mostly the topics are globally related issues. Now, as I said earlier, get to know your friends before the interview to make sure that they are really no ice between you guys. Besides, don?t put your arrogant mask on your face during the interview as though you the best while thinking the rest as the weak ones. Cooperation is the key in the interview.

In my case, I was lucky though as I didn?t got some arrogant and cocky member in my group and all my group members are super friendly, funny and cooperative. FYI, we are still friends till now. Before the interview, we planned some jokes that is to be said during the interview and it turns out to be very very useful. We managed to entertain the interviewers as to impress them our friendship and cooperativeness.

In the group interview, here is what you will do. All of the group members will have to argue for the counter-claims of the points stated on the case study paper. Here, it is like we have to debate with each another. But, in the ending part, we have to reach to an universal solution without pissing each other off. This is very important. I heard some stories where during the group interview, some arrogant debater or some guy who can speaks very well was ?showing off? this talent and ignores his other group members. So, because of one, tension is built between each another and hence, they had a hard time there. LOL.

As usual, the one-to-one interview (well, not really one-to-one, it?s in fact two-to-one) requires you to introduce yourself blah blah blah. Don?t worry, the interviewers are very friendly. They also did ask about your personal opinion on the case study that you had studied earlier and also your solution about that. Try to give some mature answer and show your confidence to convince them why they should choose you out of the rest.

After the interview, you are basically done for the whole process. You pack your bags and go home. There is no closing ceremony or whatsoever.

Cheers mate.

P/S: Feel Free to repost this elsewhere for future reference. You have my word for it. :)

AngelColdplay
15-04-2011, 09:31 PM
Hi all, since recom has provided me tons of information about education and scholarships during my SPM times, now I would like to return you guys a favour. I am a Petronas Sponsored student and I would like to share my experience and information of the Educamp that I went in 2010.

Date: April 2010

The First day is kind of relaxing. You are required to gather there at around 8am ? 9 am-ish (I already forgotten the time) for registration. At the registration, they serve food (buffet style) to you and to your parents. So basically in my case was, my parents went to eat and while eating they watch me queuing up the long queue waiting for my turn to register my name. LOL. For you, I reckoned that it is better for you to reach there early, I mean really early to avoid the queue.

Anyway, after the registration, each of you will be directed to your respective buses in which then will transfer you to your respective dorms. Some are lucky, they got the nearest dorm to the hall while some, like me, was transferred out of the campus to stay in an badly managed dorm. (It was really untidy and dirty there, but who cares, after all, all the endurance was worthwhile =) )
Then, you will be given a shortwhile to unload your stuff and you will then head to the main hall for briefing session

In the briefing session, around 3 to 5 Petronas Officers will give talks about the fundamentals of Petronas Company and not forgetting the sponsorship structure. The Sponsorship structure?s talk will be conducted by our Education Sponsorship unit?s officer, Encik Norman (if I am not mistaken). In these talks, they will present the basic organization of Petronas and some of the officers humourously told us to copy down the details as they will be asked during our interview. LOL. (Everyone of us raced down to copy the details, LOL)

Then there will be lunch. Parents are not allowed to stay with their children anymore after lunch.

Now the afternoon, the whole afternoon is used to pass up the registration forms, certs and transcripts. The entire process took us around 3 hours! Do make sure everything is in order in accordance to the instruction of the arrangement of the forms.
Hint: Bring an A4 size envelope to store all your papers there. This eases you and is tidier.

Question: Can I add additional and exceptional certificates in the envelope?

Definitely YES!! The more the better! It?s common sense. You are like applying for a job where you need to submit your best of yourself to gain the confidence of the employer to hire you.

For those of you who couldn?t make it to verify or ?sahkan? your certificates on that day, don?t worry, the Petronas system is very efficient and caring. Some of the students was kind of panic and worried as they couldn?t get their documents signed and verified as it was too rush for them (In my case, I had troubles too). What the Petronas team did was they allow us to fax our leftover documents to their department of course with a certain ample dateline. How cool is that. They knew students will have this problem and hence they created the solution.

Anyway, after the tedious process, you will have a break. Tea time I supposed. After that, you guys will be transferred to the examination hall to have your FIRST TEST! Well, the first test is a Personality Test. You will be given questions/situation/problems in which you need to label the options/answers from 1 as the most favourable to 7 as the least favourable to your personal self-being. It?s fun though. It looks confusing somehow but it is definitely fun. LOL.

Then, you will know your candidate number from the forms that is pasted on the wall in the examination (in my case). Your candidate number will be something like this:

C-01-02

C refers to which session and there are about A-E sessions. This session will determine your interview and your time for your tests. For example, session A, B and C will have their interview in the morning which is from, say 8.00 to 12.00pm while D and E is after lunch.

01 refers to the panel that you are going to be interviewed. From this number, 01, means that it is the first panel. Basically, panels are rooms. Panel 1 = Room 1. There are approximately 13 rooms.

02 refers to the student as the second person to be interviewed.

Don?t worry, on that day, you will be thoroughly briefed about the interview process. After that, it will be just on your fingertips. LOL.

OK, now, back to the topic. The interview will be conducted on the next day. Let me continue what happened during the night. In the late evening, which is also after dinner, you will be having a series of tests. What are the tests???!!! They are just Mathematics and Science test and English Proficiency test.

The English proficiency test is just composed of comprehensions, grammars and vocabularies. Don?t worry, I am sure you CAN do it. Now the Maths and Science test. In my case, I literally have not had even a glimpse of the Physics and Maths book since the day after SPM. LOL. So on that day, there are PHYSICS questions. Lol. I have basically forgotten some of the crucial formulas but luckily, I did managed to answer them. The Math questions are ok. There are no Bio questions. I am not too sure about Chemistry questions simply because I have forgotten the test already.

After that, you are allowed to go back to your respective dorms and rest. Be sure you rest, I mean rest really well for the next morning.
However, take this time too to make friends as later on in the interview, you will know why it is very important.

Next day ? Determinant Day

The next day is important as this is where your interview is happened. For my case, since I am the last group for the interview, I did the tests first.
There are two tests, namely the CTQ tests Part 1 and 2. CTQ refers to Critical Thinking questions. For the part 1, you will be given a logical thinking test in which there are 4 pictures of random shapes and you are required to predict the 5th one. It?s pretty fun as well and this test will indubitably make you an adrenaline rush. LOL. Why? Because you are required to complete 40 mind boggling questions in just 20 minutes! 1 question for 30 seconds!

Next for the part 2 is the reasoning part. You will be given texts and you will have to choose the answer that you feel is the suitable one. This test is the most tricky and time consuming to me.

After that, I had my interview. In my case, I had it at around 4.30pm. We are the last group and the last team for that entire day! So basically, we waited and waited until we have literally no more anxiety in us anymore. LOL. Anyway, the interview was quite an interesting thing too. There will be two parts, which is the Group interview and individual one.

Before that, you will be divided into groups of 4 or 5. Then, you will be given a case written on a paper and your group will have to read, discuss and find a universal solution for it. The topics are random but mostly the topics are globally related issues. Now, as I said earlier, get to know your friends before the interview to make sure that they are really no ice between you guys. Besides, don?t put your arrogant mask on your face during the interview as though you the best while thinking the rest as the weak ones. Cooperation is the key in the interview.

In my case, I was lucky though as I didn?t got some arrogant and cocky member in my group and all my group members are super friendly, funny and cooperative. FYI, we are still friends till now. Before the interview, we planned some jokes that is to be said during the interview and it turns out to be very very useful. We managed to entertain the interviewers as to impress them our friendship and cooperativeness.

In the group interview, here is what you will do. All of the group members will have to argue for the counter-claims of the points stated on the case study paper. Here, it is like we have to debate with each another. But, in the ending part, we have to reach to an universal solution without pissing each other off. This is very important. I heard some stories where during the group interview, some arrogant debater or some guy who can speaks very well was ?showing off? this talent and ignores his other group members. So, because of one, tension is built between each another and hence, they had a hard time there. LOL.

As usual, the one-to-one interview (well, not really one-to-one, it?s in fact two-to-one) requires you to introduce yourself blah blah blah. Don?t worry, the interviewers are very friendly. They also did ask about your personal opinion on the case study that you had studied earlier and also your solution about that. Try to give some mature answer and show your confidence to convince them why they should choose you out of the rest.

After the interview, you are basically done for the whole process. You pack your bags and go home. There is no closing ceremony or whatsoever.

Cheers mate.

P/S: Feel Free to repost this elsewhere for future reference. You have my word for it. :)

Are the interviews in bm or english?

xiandagreat
15-04-2011, 09:37 PM
Are the interviews in bm or english?

Everything is in English. :))

AngelColdplay
15-04-2011, 09:48 PM
Everything is in English. :))

That is AWESOME. :)):)):))

miemoe
16-04-2011, 02:08 PM
I need help please! I cant get some of my docs to be verified since my school and the commisioner of oath are closed today. I heard some of the seniors said that we can get the docs verified at the camp , is it true? :(

Thanks in advance (:

xiandagreat
16-04-2011, 06:22 PM
I need help please! I cant get some of my docs to be verified since my school and the commisioner of oath are closed today. I heard some of the seniors said that we can get the docs verified at the camp , is it true? :(

Thanks in advance (:

For my case, it seems that they already expected this will happen so the officials are willing to certify them in the camp on the day itself. Just remember to bring along your original copy for the verification purposes. :)

idunnoy
16-04-2011, 06:40 PM
Hey, i got the educamp for overseas but i dint get the educamp for utp admission. I 4got to send my application by post! damn it, now i cant study in utp..

miemoe
16-04-2011, 08:07 PM
I have some questions please!

So we just need to bring all the docs such as surat beranak and all that plus formal clothes and some normal t-shirt right? And other things like pillowcas toileteries etc. Is there anything else important that we need to bring?

Oh and also what does this means?
'Dokumen-dokumen tersebut hendaklah dibuat dalam satu (1) salinan dan
masukkan ke dalam satu (1) sampul'

Do we have to make 2 copies of those docs and put them into 2 seperate envelopes?

Thanks in advance (:

xiandagreat
16-04-2011, 08:58 PM
I have some questions please!

So we just need to bring all the docs such as surat beranak and all that plus formal clothes and some normal t-shirt right? And other things like pillowcas toileteries etc. Is there anything else important that we need to bring?

Oh and also what does this means?
'Dokumen-dokumen tersebut hendaklah dibuat dalam satu (1) salinan dan
masukkan ke dalam satu (1) sampul'

Do we have to make 2 copies of those docs and put them into 2 seperate envelopes?

Thanks in advance (:

Just bring everything that is stated in the list. You should be fine.

Yup, you are right. 2 copies to be put in 2 separate envelops. It's because one copy is for the selection purpose while the other one is for the ESU headquarters in KL.
Hope this helps.

cinta_asma
16-04-2011, 09:50 PM
Just bring everything that is stated in the list. You should be fine.

Yup, you are right. 2 copies to be put in 2 separate envelops. It's because one copy is for the selection purpose while the other one is for the ESU headquarters in KL.
Hope this helps.

two copies?but it say only one copies right?please reply this...emergency!

idunnoy
16-04-2011, 10:29 PM
YAA. isn't it only 1 copy ??confused..

miemoe
16-04-2011, 11:29 PM
Seniors said that we need to make it for 2 copies though.

Anyhow, I wanna asked for the 'salinan sijil koko' can I also included the other sijil koko that I didn't mentioned in my application form?

Thanks in advance (:

17-04-2011, 12:22 PM
just bring more than 1 copy guys. better be safe than sorry. last time we required 2 as 1 is sent to local and the other is sent to ovs EDU(Education Development Unit) of Petronas. But this time round, u can only chose 1... so there is no such thing as being selected for OVS interview but getting a local scholarship anymore...

anyway, petronas is down-sizing its workforce at the moment so... do keep a close eye on that.
cheers.

nguongnguong
17-04-2011, 12:35 PM
y u all hav 2 days educamp? i juz half day which is at 19 april??

SHINEE4
17-04-2011, 02:26 PM
They say for girls we hav to wear baju kurung/skirt panjang. But is it okay to wear long pant with blouse for the interview session? Anyway i am from east coast.Any one coming from there? :huh

NormalGuy123
17-04-2011, 02:40 PM
For the 29/4/11 UTP EduCamp, do we need to pay for our studies in UTP after we passed the interview?
If so, why are they organising this camp?
Help me, please..................

eleazar
17-04-2011, 10:28 PM
19/4/2011 camp right normalguy123 not 29/4/2011. is the camp organized for those who want to study in utp (private one but not local scholarship) ?

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
17-04-2011, 10:52 PM
anyone here shortlisted for educamp on 28th april? i'm a stpm leaver applied for admission into utp with engineering degree.. anyone in the same boat as me?! xD

cheahzc
17-04-2011, 11:27 PM
28???huh?only one day?actually wat they offer??confused==

ureshii_xD
18-04-2011, 01:16 AM
They say for girls we hav to wear baju kurung/skirt panjang. But is it okay to wear long pant with blouse for the interview session? Anyway i am from east coast.Any one coming from there? :huh

Another one from east coast here! :nod
About your question, I think from all the comments that the seniors are posting, talking about being safe than sorry, in my opinion, it would be a lot safer if you just follow what they said especially during the interview session since that is the most important part. I guess it will leave a good impression if you can wear Baju Kurung during the interview.

SHINEE4
18-04-2011, 01:25 PM
I want to ask that the borang permohonan dalam talian, do we need to photostat and sah? Cause it write there satu salinan. What does salinan means? The original wan or photostat wan?

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
18-04-2011, 02:44 PM
I'm from east coast too.. Terengganu..

Anyone with STPM got UTP? Not scholarship but admission and is attending educamp this 28 april?

It last only 1 day? Why some educamps last a few days?

zyuancheah
19-04-2011, 11:02 AM
actually hw mny copies should I prepare? URGENT! eduQuest Camp tmr~:confused:

SHINEE4
19-04-2011, 11:36 AM
Had anyone check whether they admission to utp had been accepted? I am going for the camp tomorrow and my admmision to utp had been denied. I called the officer and none answered. Oug!!!!!!!!!!! Please check urs in utp main web.

AllenChew
19-04-2011, 11:44 AM
not mandatory la...
"10.00 pagi

allen! did u get the scholarship? it sounds like, we can only get the scholarship only if we can answer that critical thinking test!?

i didn't get ...I only managed to get 'penajaan sendiri', meaning can study in utp but need to pay the fees myself...
lol...not really, IMO all the scores in tests are just one of the criteria to get the scholarship...interview and academic qualification have a higher weightage=)

BlubluTan
19-04-2011, 05:34 PM
Had anyone check whether they admission to utp had been accepted? I am going for the camp tomorrow and my admmision to utp had been denied. I called the officer and none answered. Oug!!!!!!!!!!! Please check urs in utp main web.

same here~ asked my parents..they said never mind, no need go educamp o. Cuz it'll only be a waste of time. Let's say u got the scholarship, cant go to utp also wad~ :mad how come can like this de~ so angry now. Here said short listed, the other said tidak berjaya. Haiz~

SHINEE4
19-04-2011, 08:27 PM
same here~ asked my parents..they said never mind, no need go educamp o. Cuz it'll only be a waste of time. Let's say u got the scholarship, cant go to utp also wad~ :mad how come can like this de~ so angry now. Here said short listed, the other said tidak berjaya. Haiz~

oh..i am still going cause i just found out today. Does utp hav other admission date? Can i apply by then? If i go to the camp, will they chase me away since i doesn't hav admission to utp:notrust?

chernjuin
19-04-2011, 11:13 PM
actually hw mny copies should I prepare? URGENT! eduQuest Camp tmr~:confused:

if u r applying overseas scholarship i think1 would be enough, and photostated MUST be certified, if u didnt get it certified, they will have a counter whr u can certify it there, but it is not advisable, the number of copies u chud bring shud be clearly stated in the invitation letter and panduan eduquest camp, as for local scholarship or for gaining admission to utp i am not so sure, because sometimes u need to bring 2 copies, 1 for utp, 1 for petronas for the scholarship wan. so better play safe n bring 2 copies. Good Luck all. Word of advice, prepare for the test, i found it hard, haha

miza_kakcik
19-04-2011, 11:24 PM
anyone here shortlisted for educamp on 28th april? i'm a stpm leaver applied for admission into utp with engineering degree.. anyone in the same boat as me?! xD

Yes. I got it too. Admission to study in UTP, not their scholarship. Only 1 day. BTW, I'm SPM leaver. So, are you attending it ?

spy999lum
20-04-2011, 01:39 AM
Yes. I got it too. Admission to study in UTP, not their scholarship. Only 1 day. BTW, I'm SPM leaver. So, are you attending it ?

you got 28th? i got 26th April! 8am to 5pm, according to the aturcara program stated. I'm also a SPM leaver

chernjuin
20-04-2011, 10:23 AM

hey miza, i thought u got shell's scholarship??

miza_kakcik
20-04-2011, 12:09 PM
hey miza, i thought u got shell's scholarship??

Yes, I got that scholarship. I just call UTP to confirm about my condition (if you read in Shell Scholarship thread). Why ?

you got 28th? i got 26th April! 8am to 5pm, according to the aturcara program stated. I'm also a SPM leaver

Yes, mine is on 28th. BTW, do we can change our date EduCAMP ? :) I have another event to attend on that day actually.

spy999lum
20-04-2011, 05:21 PM
Yes, mine is on 28th. BTW, do we can change our date EduCAMP ? :) I have another event to attend on that day actually.

i dont think you can change the date. Its already stated in the web after you key in your IC no. Btw, this one is for local only right? What doc do we have to bring that day? Its not stated in the web like JPA =(

miza_kakcik
20-04-2011, 06:17 PM
i dont think you can change the date. Its already stated in the web after you key in your IC no. Btw, this one is for local only right? What doc do we have to bring that day? Its not stated in the web like JPA =(

Yes. Anybody knows ? About the changing date, I need to email to the UTP officer to appeal. But, I don't think to do so la. When I think, this EduCAMP is more important than that another event. :)

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
21-04-2011, 02:09 AM
I think I'm attending it.. Hmm.. that's weird SPM and STPM candidates are on the same day...

KenT13
21-04-2011, 11:29 AM
Is there really a camp??? or it's just the name of the interview-EduCamp.

!!!!!!!!!!what if i filled the form wrongly?? about my co-curricular achievement. I filled it as "antarabangsa" because there's a foreign ppl participating in the marathon run. but my friends said it's only state level !?!?!?! will i be penalised or kicked there if they found out?? I only got 7A+ le. is the antarabangsa the reason i was selected for educamp? am i doomed???

21-04-2011, 11:38 AM
Is there really a camp??? or it's just the name of the interview-EduCamp.

!!!!!!!!!!what if i filled the form wrongly?? about my co-curricular achievement. I filled it as "antarabangsa" because there's a foreign ppl participating in the marathon run. but my friends said it's only state level !?!?!?! will i be penalised or kicked there if they found out?? I only got 7A+ le. is the antarabangsa the reason i was selected for educamp? am i doomed???

nope you are not. all you have to do is come clean with them. told them you made an error and tell them why you made it during the personal interview. they will ammend the form immediately. remember, petronas is not looking for super awesomely smart people but juz someone above average in intelligence but most importantly is ability to carry yourself.

no worries man. forms and so on issued by Petronas are often overvalued to be full of formalities when actually Petronas do not really mean it that way. Despite the rules, they do bend it at times(like dress codes during STE) but hey, its best to try to keep to their standards..

if u r applying overseas scholarship i think1 would be enough, and photostated MUST be certified, if u didnt get it certified, they will have a counter whr u can certify it there, but it is not advisable, the number of copies u chud bring shud be clearly stated in the invitation letter and panduan eduquest camp, as for local scholarship or for gaining admission to utp i am not so sure, because sometimes u need to bring 2 copies, 1 for utp, 1 for petronas for the scholarship wan. so better play safe n bring 2 copies. Good Luck all. Word of advice, prepare for the test, i found it hard, haha

please make sure that all documents are certified by first class officers. (pengetua, penolong kanan I, pendakwah raya(dunno i got it right or not), ketua panitia)

**remember that KETUA KAMPUNG CERTIFICATION COPY IS INVALID!! or any other categories like normal teachers and so on. best is juz get ur pengetua and penolong kanan to do it.

KenT13
21-04-2011, 01:04 PM
Hey, i received an sms from 62003 yesterday. the contains of the message is:
Congratulations! you are shortlisted for UTP EduCAmp in UTP for private student.For details,long on to utp.com.my. thank you.

what do they mean by private students? i applied overseas scholaship only.

Great, i called SEVEN of their numbers. none answered.
05-368 8156 / 8407 / 8345 / 8359 / 8153 / 8406

Lance_Kuan
21-04-2011, 01:19 PM

There is one option in the application which sounds something like this: "Are you willing to be a private student in case you're not shortlisted for sponsorship?" and imo you've must have ticked the box.

as for the seven numbers, I'm sorry for the incapability of UTP's staffs at this kind of peak period. But then I'm interested in what time you called?

KenT13
21-04-2011, 02:44 PM
Is such option exist? I didn't see or i forgot-.- I called at around 1. they can can call from 9-5pm.

21-04-2011, 04:21 PM

this is some problem encountered by last year's recommers as well.. what happens is that if you are not qualified for the scholarship, they may still offer you to study privately in UTP... and so i guess if u do well there, u still stand a chance for a scholarship.

KenT13
21-04-2011, 08:43 PM
i called them again at 3.30pm but failed.

Okay really confused now. Is it a scholarship or not-.-"'. why mine is only one day whereas my Friends are two.

spy999lum
21-04-2011, 10:20 PM

my friend also got that kind of message. I was shocked! But my friend said if you are able to get into UTP, then you will find a way to get a scholarship. But i was wondering, is it a scholarship or is it just a sponsorship?

my friend and I*

KenT13
21-04-2011, 10:48 PM
my friend also got that kind of message. I was shocked! But my friend said if you are able to get into UTP, then you will find a way to get a scholarship. But i was wondering, is it a scholarship or is it just a sponsorship?

my friend and I*

What way to get

eleazar
22-04-2011, 01:14 AM
try call the nombor kecemasan...its the handphone one...

KenT13
22-04-2011, 09:37 AM
try call the nombor kecemasan...its the handphone one...

Probably it's Utp security guards number.

keysha93
22-04-2011, 10:39 AM
hey i got that sms too..i didnt apply for the petronas scholarship..i didnt know that it had to be applied separately from the utp one..so sad..T.T

KenT13
22-04-2011, 11:14 AM
Finally after more than 50 attempts to call UTP, one finally answered, so my situation now is that is only admission interview(i dun know why), not a scholarship at all. I don't really like it because the course i had chosen is 1st: chemical engineering 2nd choice: mechanical engineering. -.- I dunno why i didnt choose electrical engineering that time which i prefer.

So now should i go? I aimed to go NTU for aerospace engineering. To go NTU, i have to take A-Level or STPM first (i'm choiceless, i have to take STPM).
My father now wants me to go but i don't like the course !!! Help!!
or just go there to take interview experience only?? 0.o

keysha93
22-04-2011, 11:29 AM
Finally after more than 50 attempts to call UTP, one finally answered, so my situation now is that is only admission interview(i dun know why), not a scholarship at all. I don't really like it because the course i had chosen is 1st: chemical engineering 2nd choice: mechanical engineering. -.- I dunno why i didnt choose electrical engineering that time which i prefer.

So now should i go? I aimed to go NTU for aerospace engineering. To go NTU, i have to take A-Level or STPM first (i'm choiceless, i have to take STPM).
My father now wants me to go but i don't like the course !!! Help!!
or just go there to take interview experience only?? 0.o

did u apply for the petronas scholarship or just the utp admission?

can anyone pls help me?
i didnt apply for the petronas scholarship
is there any chance of applying it again some other time?after this educamp or when?
so confuse~
help help
i felt like an idiot..:(

KenT13
22-04-2011, 11:34 AM

I applied for overseas scholarship. but i duno why they sms me to go interview but when i asked them , they said it's not a scholarship-.-

22-04-2011, 10:10 PM

can anyone pls help me?
i didnt apply for the petronas scholarship
is there any chance of applying it again some other time?after this educamp or when?
so confuse~
help help
i felt like an idiot..:(

(1) Petronas Educamp is only available for SPM leavers for the previous year's SPM result. So you cannot go for another Educamp the following year.

(2) They are mixing both private and sponsorship applicants.

(3) I do not understad what do you mean by you didn't apply for the scholarship as generally anyone has to pay money to apply for the scholarship unless you do have connections inside.

(4) don't feel so bad. things will turn out better. i reckon you go back to the first page and read what happened in the previous Educamp 2010 edition. Same problems were encountered. It may be tedious to read through the whole thread but hey to get things sorted out, u have to do it man,

jpahereicome
22-04-2011, 10:14 PM
hi..im currently apply for utp in petroleum engineering.i wish to ask any financial aids that utp porvide?is ptptn allow??how much ptptn can be loaned to us.this is because i cant afford a whole year programme in utp for about RM20000.

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
23-04-2011, 02:05 PM
What should we bring to the educamp?

Original certificates?

spy999lum
23-04-2011, 05:36 PM
What should we bring to the educamp?

Original certificates?

anyone have any idea what is the difference between Educamp and EduQuest Camp? If im not mistaken, Educamp is for UTP(local) and EduQuest Camp is for overseas right? But what documents should the UTP Educamp candidate bring? Its not stated there. But for EduQuest Camp, is it the one with "senarai semak dokumen"?(the one with the title MAKLUMAT DAN PANDUAN BAGI PERMOHONAN
PROGRAM PENAJAAN PENDIDIKAN PETRONAS
BERDASARKAN KEPUTUSAN SPM 2010)

anyone have any idea?

snoopy93
23-04-2011, 08:39 PM
hey, actually i got this message too as a private students n im not from science stream n applied for business stdy, this camp on 28 april right? is it easy for me on that exams n interview? hohoho,

KenT13
24-04-2011, 12:06 AM
I asked my friend whom recently came back from Utp, he said the ppl there told him educamp is for private students, while eduquest is for scholarships.

starfire9388
24-04-2011, 12:07 PM
1. I recieved an SMS saying that I was chosen to go to UTP edu camp as a private candidate... what does private candidate mean??

2. My friend said that they did include a list of stuff you should bring for the interview but I didnt see the list... I asked him 3 times... re confirmed 10 times at the webpage but I dont see the link for what stuff should we bring. So can someone please tell me what should I bring there?

3. How long is the camp? How do we know if we have to be there for 2 days??

This is super confusing...... please help ASAP T^T interview on 28th April....

CarynJackson
24-04-2011, 11:26 PM
1. I recieved an SMS saying that I was chosen to go to UTP edu camp as a private candidate... what does private candidate mean??

2. My friend said that they did include a list of stuff you should bring for the interview but I didnt see the list... I asked him 3 times... re confirmed 10 times at the webpage but I dont see the link for what stuff should we bring. So can someone please tell me what should I bring there?

I am also very confusing. my interview is also 28th. Can someone please help us:cry

ureshii_xD
24-04-2011, 11:38 PM

I just went for the EduQuest Camp and my friend is also in the same boat as you so from the knowledge I gathered:

1. Private candidate means that you are given the chance to be a student of UTP by financing your own studies there. That means the money has to come out from your family and no Petronas sponsorship. I think PTPTN loan is allowed.

2. I'm not 100% sure about this but I can suggest you to bring all your originals and also certified photocopy of certificates you mentioned in the online form and the usual stuff (Mycard, birth certificates, SPM result, parents payment slip)

3. For private candidates, it will be only for one day.

I hope that could help a bit :)

ChristopherCWL
25-04-2011, 05:55 PM

I am !! ^^

To those who are going to Educamp on 28 april, my name is Chris =] Hope to meet u all in real on that day ^^ BTW, i applied for Chemical Engineering , i wonder is it easy for me to get it as i know, chemical engineering is a hot course in UTP @<hidden>@<hidden> haha

BTW, is it private student will be easier to get the admission to UTP compared to scholars ?

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
25-04-2011, 08:08 PM
I am !! ^^

To those who are going to Educamp on 28 april, my name is Chris =] Hope to meet u all in real on that day ^^ BTW, i applied for Chemical Engineering , i wonder is it easy for me to get it as i know, chemical engineering is a hot course in UTP @<hidden>@<hidden> haha

BTW, is it private student will be easier to get the admission to UTP compared to scholars ?

lol. so far i only know you and me are the only stpm leavers going for it.. hope on that day there won't only 2 of us as stpm leavers. :P

private student means u have to pay on your own.. it's like a business.. i guess it should be easy.. hahaha.

terwei
25-04-2011, 10:18 PM
Don't worry..I'm also stpm leaver,I just back from educamp..
My friend also join the camp on this coming thursday,so you are not alone..:))

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
26-04-2011, 12:04 AM
Don't worry..I'm also stpm leaver,I just back from educamp..
My friend also join the camp on this coming thursday,so you are not alone..:))

Nice! Your educamp lasted how many days?

Can you describe how is it like?
What should we bring?

CarynJackson
26-04-2011, 10:43 AM
I am !! ^^

Hi, I am also applying for Chemical Engineering. My Educamp is on 28th,too!But I am A level leaver. I have the same question as yours. hehe...will it be easier for private students to get the admission?

ChristopherCWL
26-04-2011, 12:19 PM
Hi, I am also applying for Chemical Engineering. My Educamp is on 28th,too!But I am A level leaver. I have the same question as yours. hehe...will it be easier for private students to get the admission?

Yea , i didnt score very well in my STPM :( Thats why .. BTW, whats ur name ?? My name is Chris =] U can add my Facebook http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=727737535 :)

SHINEE4
26-04-2011, 07:23 PM
omg....i screwed my interview :(..........

farah93
26-04-2011, 08:57 PM
omg....i screwed my interview :(..........

why, what happened ? do share with us ? :)

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
26-04-2011, 09:12 PM
so let's say if i go for may intake.

what will be the expected graduation date?

like, in May 2015? what month?

spy999lum
26-04-2011, 09:19 PM
Nice! Your educamp lasted how many days?

Can you describe how is it like?
What should we bring?

Hello! I just came back from my UTP educamp 2011-tuesday(different from EduQuest Camp). Here is my experience today and i would like to share with all of you. UTP itself is very very big! Im very surprised and amazed with the UTP campus when i first entered it. When you reach UTP, theres alot of cars waiting outside at the gate(other student going for UTP Educamp) so i just followed the car infront. There is even security guard with signboard shows the direction to the councellor hall. Its super duper big! haha. Anyway, when you reach your destination, you will line up to get a piece of coloured paper. Do not attempt to lost that paper! Dont think its just an advertisement to educamp(although i looks like one xD). Then you will get a tag. Write your name on that colour paper and put it inside the tag. Next, my friend and I went to eat breakfast provided outside the hall. The food is actually quite delicious ^_^

After eating, we went back inside the hall and there was a few lectures and briefting about UTP. Here, you can get alot of information. I can recall alittle bit right now so im gonna say that UTP Educamp is for private student(today, tmrw and day after tmrw-26th to 28th April) and EduQuest Camp is on sunday(24th april) i've forgetten about monday already, so im not sure whether monday is educamp or eduquest. Private student means u have to pay everything by your own. You can apply for ptptn loan. Moreover, if you study in UTP, your yearly expenses(including foods, drinks and the cost you applied) would roughly cost 20k. And ohya, Educamp 2011 last for only one day, not 2. The UTP Educamp is just for admission into UTP. This is to because there are very limited place for May intake(foundation only 800 people)

After the briefting, all students are required to go to Block B. Bus will be provided. Parents are welcome to go to the mosque. Its very near to Block B. But if your parents came by own car, then its advisable to drive the car to block B cause after the interview, you can go back home ^_^

When you enter Block B, you will be directed to your room, according to your group alphabet. I got B ^_^ FYI, group A,B and C have earlier interview ^_^. Then D and E will have to wait until after the lunch time. Anyway, after waiting in a room, you all will be redirect into another room(Im not sure about group A) In this room, there is alot of tables with 20++ panel number. You can sit in ANY table, but one table occupies 5 people. And this 5 people will be the ones that will be your competitor during the interview xDD. Then we all are given a paper, so called study case. Its like a piece of paper. The topic was about traffic jams. But note, every people in your group/table will have a different question/recommendation(indirectly, it means ways to solve traffic jams)

There will be 2 sessions of interview. 1st, personal interview, 2nd, group discussion. In the personal interview, there will be 2 interviewer and you will be sitting alone. Dont worry much, they are very friendly ^_^ BUT! they do shoot at your points! haha. My friend got shot this way: "do you know that engineer need to be able to think critically and solve problem? We hired you as an engineer to solve problem"...something like that. haha. I do kinda pity my friend xPP. So after the personal interview, one by one enter the panel room, then its group discussion time. Everyone will be sitting in a hemisphere shape and the interviewer will sit infront and we discuss among ourselves on how to overcome traffic congestion. Then, finally, we have to make up our mind and agree with one great solution on how to overcome this situation ^_^....Then finish! I was in Group B, so i finish the whole interview around 2.00pm to 2.30pm

Good luck to those who will be taking the Educamp 2011 tmrw and also day after tomorrow! Dont be nervous. Talk like you've done in JPA interview, but this time, you have to talk more! haha. Love to talk more and you will stand a higher chance to gain admission into UTP! btw, the selection criteria to be a UTP student is quite high, therefore, this interview is done =D....For those who have not been to JPA interview, try look up around the forum here and read other people's experience. All the best folks!

PM: sorry if there is any grammar mistakes and some left out points xDD

Ohya, forget to mention one more thing. You do not need to bring any documents. Not even any salinan! remember that time when u pay RM20 through CIMB and send all the salinan to them by post already? so you do not need to bring anything else. They didnt even check our original certificates. The reason is because they say, they dont have time to check through. But just bring your ori documents, just in case, as backup plan.

ChristopherCWL
26-04-2011, 10:50 PM
Hello! I just came back from my UTP educamp 2011-tuesday(different from EduQuest Camp). Here is my experience today and i would like to share with all of you. UTP itself is very very big! Im very surprised and amazed with the UTP campus when i first entered it. When you reach UTP, theres alot of cars waiting outside at the gate(other student going for UTP Educamp) so i just followed the car infront. There is even security guard with signboard shows the direction to the councellor hall. Its super duper big! haha. Anyway, when you reach your destination, you will line up to get a piece of coloured paper. Do not attempt to lost that paper! Dont think its just an advertisement to educamp(although i looks like one xD). Then you will get a tag. Write your name on that colour paper and put it inside the tag. Next, my friend and I went to eat breakfast provided outside the hall. The food is actually quite delicious ^_^

After eating, we went back inside the hall and there was a few lectures and briefting about UTP. Here, you can get alot of information. I can recall alittle bit right now so im gonna say that UTP Educamp is for private student(today, tmrw and day after tmrw-26th to 28th April) and EduQuest Camp is on sunday(24th april) i've forgetten about monday already, so im not sure whether monday is educamp or eduquest. Private student means u have to pay everything by your own. You can apply for ptptn loan. Moreover, if you study in UTP, your yearly expenses(including foods, drinks and the cost you applied) would roughly cost 20k. And ohya, Educamp 2011 last for only one day, not 2. The UTP Educamp is just for admission into UTP. This is to because there are very limited place for May intake(foundation only 800 people)

After the briefting, all students are required to go to Block B. Bus will be provided. Parents are welcome to go to the mosque. Its very near to Block B. But if your parents came by own car, then its advisable to drive the car to block B cause after the interview, you can go back home ^_^

When you enter Block B, you will be directed to your room, according to your group alphabet. I got B ^_^ FYI, group A,B and C have earlier interview ^_^. Then D and E will have to wait until after the lunch time. Anyway, after waiting in a room, you all will be redirect into another room(Im not sure about group A) In this room, there is alot of tables with 20++ panel number. You can sit in ANY table, but one table occupies 5 people. And this 5 people will be the ones that will be your competitor during the interview xDD. Then we all are given a paper, so called study case. Its like a piece of paper. The topic was about traffic jams. But note, every people in your group/table will have a different question/recommendation(indirectly, it means ways to solve traffic jams)

There will be 2 sessions of interview. 1st, personal interview, 2nd, group discussion. In the personal interview, there will be 2 interviewer and you will be sitting alone. Dont worry much, they are very friendly ^_^ BUT! they do shoot at your points! haha. My friend got shot this way: "do you know that engineer need to be able to think critically and solve problem? We hired you as an engineer to solve problem"...something like that. haha. I do kinda pity my friend xPP. So after the personal interview, one by one enter the panel room, then its group discussion time. Everyone will be sitting in a hemisphere shape and the interviewer will sit infront and we discuss among ourselves on how to overcome traffic congestion. Then, finally, we have to make up our mind and agree with one great solution on how to overcome this situation ^_^....Then finish! I was in Group B, so i finish the whole interview around 2.00pm to 2.30pm

Good luck to those who will be taking the Educamp 2011 tmrw and also day after tomorrow! Dont be nervous. Talk like you've done in JPA interview, but this time, you have to talk more! haha. Love to talk more and you will stand a higher chance to gain admission into UTP! btw, the selection criteria to be a UTP student is quite high, therefore, this interview is done =D....For those who have not been to JPA interview, try look up around the forum here and read other people's experience. All the best folks!

Ohya, forget to mention one more thing. You do not need to bring any documents. Not even any salinan! remember that time when u pay RM20 through CIMB and send all the salinan to them by post already? so you do not need to bring anything else. They didnt even check our original certificates. The reason is because they say, they dont have time to check through. But just bring your ori documents, just in case, as backup plan.

Thx for the detailed info buddy ^^ BTW, u r SPM or STPM leaver ? Apply for foundation or undergraduate course?

CarynJackson
27-04-2011, 12:27 AM

Thanks for your sharing. BTW, i have some questions.
i)Do we need to sit for any test just like those which are done in the EduQuest Camp? For example critical thinking test or math test.

ii) For the personal interview, is just basically the introduction of ourself or we have to give out our opinion on the case study? Or both have to be done? How long do we need to talk for the individual part? How about for the group discussion? How long is it?

iii) You said that your interview end at 2:30pm. Is that mean you can go back on 2:30pm?

iv) And you have mentioned that there are 800 available seats for foundation. Is it all the 800 are for private students or including the scholars?

Hope you can help me to answer my questions. My interview is on 28th and I am a A Level leaver. Thanks:)

iAdoreNaz
27-04-2011, 12:50 AM
Thx for the detailed info buddy ^^ BTW, u r SPM or STPM leaver ? Apply for foundation or undergraduate course?

Since he said that he attend JPA interview. He must be SPM leaver :)

spy999lum
27-04-2011, 03:38 PM
Thanks for your sharing. BTW, i have some questions.
i)Do we need to sit for any test just like those which are done in the EduQuest Camp? For example critical thinking test or math test.

ii) For the personal interview, is just basically the introduction of ourself or we have to give out our opinion on the case study? Or both have to be done? How long do we need to talk for the individual part? How about for the group discussion? How long is it?

iii) You said that your interview end at 2:30pm. Is that mean you can go back on 2:30pm?

iv) And you have mentioned that there are 800 available seats for foundation. Is it all the 800 are for private students or including the scholars?

Hope you can help me to answer my questions. My interview is on 28th and I am a A Level leaver. Thanks:)

i) no, there is no any test. They just give a piece of paper to do some survey like, how you know UTP, why choose UTP, bla bla bla

ii) during the interview, first would be self-introduction. Thats a very basic thing. Just keep talking about youself(name, where u from, ur position hold when ur in form4/5, general information about your uniform body/clubs, etc). Just keep talking until they interupt ^_^ Then they will ask what you understand from the text given(the so called case study). Then ask how are you going to solve the problem. When you mention one point, they will shoot your point. Alot of times. So be prepared to crap alot. haha...but crap logical and simple answers xDD.....The personal interview is around 10mins? then the group discussion is 15 mins

iii) yes, after the group discussion, you can go back home already. When the group discussion ended, you must give back the case study to them. I think it will be re-use for other day. haha. Then i manage to get the other people's contact number(the one in group discussion). Then go eat(free food xD) then straight go back. You can tour around there if you want too.

iv) yes, 800 place for foundation student. But im not sure whether got include scholars or not, i didnt pay 100% attention when they are giving the briefing. xDD But i think its mix, private plus scholars. You can try ask and see.

Your A-level leaver? then you must be applying for undergraduate. There are more places for undergraduate, about 2000+, if im not mistaken. I forget the actual number already. Btw, im SPM leaver, applying for foundation. Good luck for your interview tmrw! Dont panic, just be calm and talk spontaneously ^_^

28-04-2011, 08:16 AM
so let's say if i go for may intake.

what will be the expected graduation date?

like, in May 2015? what month?

depends on your course.

if you get aussie/NZ, you will finish ur A level 1 1/2 year

if you get UK/US/Canada, you will finish ur IB/CAL in 2 years

if you are taking commerce, it will be 3 years.. (+1 year for honours if u decide in doing it)

if you are taking science, it will be 4 years..

so do the maths urself. ahhaha..

geriella7o7
29-04-2011, 11:49 AM
does anyone know when the result will be out?

SHINEE4
29-04-2011, 12:34 PM
Does anyone know for the sponsership program, how much does the interview session affect the result? like how many percentage will be taken for consideration.:notrust

miemoe
29-04-2011, 01:01 PM
the result will be out this 5th of May 3.30 pm. check it at their website ; http://spmonline.petronas.com.my/index.php

geriella7o7
29-04-2011, 10:48 PM
the result will be out this 5th of May 3.30 pm. check it at their website ; http://spmonline.petronas.com.my/index.php

thanks.btw,is this for who get the scholar or for private student too?

oanne93
30-04-2011, 01:08 PM
educamp was the best experience! I get to make a lot of friends! We even made a group in facebook~

SHINEE4
04-05-2011, 07:36 PM
Result will be out 6th may by 3.30pm. Hope to be noted.:P

CarynJackson
06-05-2011, 09:59 AM
anyone know for private students,when the result will release?

iAdoreNaz
06-05-2011, 10:35 AM
Goodluck everyone!!

adrian0105
06-05-2011, 04:06 PM
i hate those scholarship result being delayed and delayed. killing my patience. petronas result will be out by tmr 8am

TTS_93
07-05-2011, 01:16 AM
Hey guys...ignore the 8am...nw can check d!!!! really!!! XDXDXDXD

scholarship_hunt
07-05-2011, 04:30 AM
Hey guys...ignore the 8am...nw can check d!!!! really!!! XDXDXDXD
It's true. Go and check noW!!

iAdoreNaz
07-05-2011, 05:26 AM
So, who got it?

Kairule
07-05-2011, 06:00 AM
Status Permohonan
Tahniah!

Sukacita dimaklumkan bahawa anda telah berjaya ditawarkan Biasiswa Pendidikan PETRONAS. Maklumat tawaran adalah seperti berikut:-

Program : Program Asas & Ijazah Pertama (UTP)
Kursus : Sarjana Muda Kejuruteraan Kimia
Institusi : Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS

Surat dan pakej tawaran akan dihantar melalui perkhidmatan penghantaran segera.

---

Sweetness! :laugh
Who else got it?

iAdoreNaz
07-05-2011, 06:24 AM
Status Permohonan
Tahniah!

Sukacita dimaklumkan bahawa anda telah berjaya ditawarkan Biasiswa Pendidikan PETRONAS. Maklumat tawaran adalah seperti berikut:-

---

Who else got it?

Waah, Degree .. Congratulations mang!!
I hope for JPA xD. ~

Kairule
07-05-2011, 06:41 AM
Waah, Degree .. Congratulations mang!!
I hope for JPA xD. ~

Yeah but it's only at UTP though. Still, I'm really grateful though for being chosen from the 1000+ people

I'm also waiting for JPA results too, and if i get it, than i'll be really pening. Don't know which one to choose. Lol :laugh

iAdoreNaz
07-05-2011, 06:56 AM
Yeah but it's only at UTP though. Still, I'm really grateful though for being chosen from the 1000+ people

I'm also waiting for JPA results too, and if i get it, than i'll be really pening. Don't know which one to choose. Lol :laugh

You give me JPA. Say that you reject JPA and wants to give it to me . LOL.. Hahaha :).. :wink

Kairule
07-05-2011, 07:03 AM
You give me JPA. Say that you reject JPA and wants to give it to me . LOL.. Hahaha :).. :wink

If I could, I would probably give it... probably. :laugh
LOL.

TTS_93
07-05-2011, 07:34 AM
Hey guys! I got New Zealand!!! XD One of my friends too...another 2 got UK!!! 1 got UTP!!! YEAHHH!!! XDXD Very excited!!! ^^

Kairule
07-05-2011, 07:55 AM
Hey guys! I got New Zealand!!! XD One of my friends too...another 2 got UK!!! 1 got UTP!!! YEAHHH!!! XDXD Very excited!!! ^^

That's great! Glad to know a lot of people are getting the scholarship!
Just make sure to perform well in your studies. You'll have to pay back them a whole lot if you don't.
And by a whole lot I mean a WHOOOLE lot.
Especially for those who got overseas.

iAdoreNaz
07-05-2011, 08:08 AM

:amuse:amuse:amuse Congrats firstly. And I envy!!.. Waahh! Congrats mang!!
So are you guys going to reject JPA? hmm

TheRedeemed
07-05-2011, 08:12 AM
guys. i cant login. ralat it says.

our password can consist only alphaberts right?

Kairule
07-05-2011, 08:18 AM
:amuse:amuse:amuse Congrats firstly. And I envy!!.. Waahh! Congrats mang!!
So are you guys going to reject JPA? hmm

Maybe... hahaha.
More likely than not. :))

guys. i cant login. ralat it says.

our password can consist only alphaberts right?

It doesn't have to be only letters it can have numbers too.
And i think there is some way to retrieve back your password

SHINEE4
07-05-2011, 08:41 AM
i didn;t get it :cry. Haiz but gratz to others.Anyone getting for bis or it courses coz i applied for it.

adrian0105
07-05-2011, 08:46 AM
OMG!! I gt petronas uk mechanical engineering.. wonder why i apply for local it gives me oversea.. so gud!

yesernest
07-05-2011, 08:50 AM
omg!! I gt petronas uk mechanical engineering.. Wonder why i apply for local it gives me oversea.. So gud!

congratz!!

adrian0105
07-05-2011, 08:52 AM
congratz!!
u r that "ernest"?

SHINEE4
07-05-2011, 09:05 AM
any girls got the sponsership????

Garfield93
07-05-2011, 09:34 AM
Status Permohonan
Tahniah!

---

Who else got it?

so u can forget about jpa edi i guess? :amuse

OMG!! I gt petronas uk mechanical engineering.. wonder why i apply for local it gives me oversea.. so gud!

coz u r too good.. :nuts congrats~

Btw, anybody got anything to go to US yet?

spy999lum
07-05-2011, 09:50 AM
TAWARAN MELANJUTKAN PENGAJIAN DI UNIVERSITI TEKNOLOGI PETRONAS
BAGI SESI KEMASUKAN MEI 2011

Sukacita dimaklumkan bahwa anda telah dipilih dan ditawarkan untuk melanjutkan pengajian anda di Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) bagi Sesi Kemasukan Mei 2011.
Butir-butir kursus adalah seperti berikut:
Program Asas Kejuruteraan - 1 tahun (3 semester)
Program Ijazah Sarjana Muda Kejuruteraan (Kepujian) Kejuruteraan Petroleum - 4 tahun
Maklumat Pendaftaran
: 9.00 pagi, 19 Mei 2011, Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS

JPA!!!! WHEN IS THE RESULTSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

adrian0105
07-05-2011, 10:05 AM
could anyone pls tell me that oversea programme scholarship will them include living expenses and education fee or just merely education fee? btw, is it true that petronas scholar will get free laptop? wat about for those who get oversea? get free laptop too?

miza_kakcik
07-05-2011, 10:35 AM
Congratulations to everyone !! Keep doing the best.

auntieagony
07-05-2011, 12:12 PM
could anyone pls tell me that oversea programme scholarship will them include living expenses and education fee or just merely education fee? btw, is it true that petronas scholar will get free laptop? wat about for those who get oversea? get free laptop too?

Don't worry. Your scholarship wld cover the tuition fees and living expenses. And if Petronas continue it's previous practice, you wld be getting the laptop as well.

Congrats and continue to achieve excellent results. If you achieve mediocre results in your foundation studies/ A lvl, Petronas might not send you abroad. They wld send students will less desireable results to local unis (such as Monash Uni in Subang Jaya etc). It had happened previously. So keep up the gd work!

All the best!

scholarship_hunt
07-05-2011, 01:09 PM
Hi guys! I got Petroleum Engineering in the US (Amerika Syarikat). Does anyone know what particular pre-university course petronas usually sends its' scholars for..(A-Levels, SAM, CPU..?). I'm hoping for JPA to come back A.S.A.P

ocee12
07-05-2011, 02:26 PM
Hi guys! I got Petroleum Engineering in the US (Amerika Syarikat). Does anyone know what particular pre-university course petronas usually sends its' scholars for..(A-Levels, SAM, CPU..?). I'm hoping for JPA to come back A.S.A.P

usually it would be IB or A-Levels.

RyuBaka
07-05-2011, 04:03 PM
Program : Program Asas & Ijazah Pertama Universiti Luar Negara

Kursus : Geologi
Negara : Amerika Syarikat

and i also got YTN Scholarships to Canada.

which one to choose ar?

adrian0105
07-05-2011, 04:14 PM

which one to choose ar?
choose USA if u dont scare the sound of "bomb" anytime..(means terrorist)

Don't worry. Your scholarship wld cover the tuition fees and living expenses. And if Petronas continue it's previous practice, you wld be getting the laptop as well.

Congrats and continue to achieve excellent results. If you achieve mediocre results in your foundation studies/ A lvl, Petronas might not send you abroad. They wld send students will less desireable results to local unis (such as Monash Uni in Subang Jaya etc). It had happened previously. So keep up the gd work!

All the best!
sure, i will strive my best to go uk. btw, we will do our A lvl in which state?

gerrard93
07-05-2011, 04:14 PM
May i know where would they send u for pre u if u r goin to australia?? i was told they will be sending us to either intec or taylors

iAdoreNaz
07-05-2011, 06:29 PM
Waw Ryubaka.. You're so lucky to get 2 offers. Congrats!

miza_kakcik
07-05-2011, 06:31 PM

which one to choose ar?

Congrates !! Think wisely. :)

uncledan
07-05-2011, 06:50 PM
congratulation to those of you who managed to secure a petronas scholarship. I think,most probably you guys will be doing A-Level or IB. If you come to Kolej Tuanku Jaafar you will be meeting me. I heard maybe 12 of u guys will be doing A level here. All I can say about getting petronas schlrship is, it is very prestigous. Best of luck.. see u guys soon,junior~

scholarship_hunt
07-05-2011, 07:49 PM
usually it would be IB or A-Levels.
Won't we get ADP? How is ADP compared to IB. I think A-Levels is sort or out of the question because they're planning to send me to the US.

08-05-2011, 11:28 AM
May i know where would they send u for pre u if u r goin to australia?? i was told they will be sending us to either intec or taylors

hahaha. i dont think u'd be going intec. you'd be doing cambridge a levels at local pre-u colleges such as taylor's, KDU, sri KDU and KTJ...

i came from taylor's.. so do contact me if you need any help ya..

Do join the ReCom Petronas community here!!!

http://www.recom.org/forum/group.php?groupid=17

adrian0105
08-05-2011, 12:28 PM
hahaha. i dont think u'd be going intec. you'd be doing cambridge a levels at local pre-u colleges such as taylor's, KDU, sri KDU and KTJ...

i came from taylor's.. so do contact me if you need any help ya..

Do join the ReCom Petronas community here!!!

http://www.recom.org/forum/group.php?groupid=17
that means there is no specific collge we will be going right? cause i tot going uk de will be studying in KTJ.. :)

ponymui
08-05-2011, 08:53 PM
I am offered the petronas scholarship to study Geophysics in Canada. Anyone the same?:) Congrates to all who get the scholarship! :))

xiandagreat
08-05-2011, 10:51 PM
I am offered the petronas scholarship to study Geophysics in Canada. Anyone the same?:) Congrates to all who get the scholarship! :))

Congrats! Which college are you offered?

ocee12
09-05-2011, 05:35 AM
Won't we get ADP? How is ADP compared to IB. I think A-Levels is sort or out of the question because they're planning to send me to the US.

petronas don't send their students to ADP anymore, my guess would be because they want us to have 2 year foundation.

haha IB is quite difficult, but its worth it. A-Levels is still an option if you're going to the US, and you'll get a lot of credit transferred (a lot of my friends got into sophomore year for doing A-Levels)

misscheng
09-05-2011, 01:53 PM
Hi, I also gt petroleum engineering in US, mayb we will b studying 2gether, congratz!!!

ponymui
09-05-2011, 04:47 PM
Congrats! Which college are you offered?

will drop you a message again when i get all the details. =) looking forward to see you, senior:P

xiandagreat
09-05-2011, 07:40 PM
Hi, I also gt petroleum engineering in US, mayb we will b studying 2gether, congratz!!!

Congrats! You will be doing A-level (If not, IB) for your pre U and also you will have to sit for the SAT and TOEFL exam. :P

Hoi-Ya-Ee-Ya
11-05-2011, 01:04 AM
To those with STPM cert and are going to UTP as private candidates, mind telling me your STPM results? :)

I'm kinda doing a survey... thanks!

chernjuin
11-05-2011, 01:47 PM
congratulation to those of you who managed to secure a petronas scholarship. I think,most probably you guys will be doing A-Level or IB. If you come to Kolej Tuanku Jaafar you will be meeting me. I heard maybe 12 of u guys will be doing A level here. All I can say about getting petronas schlrship is, it is very prestigous. Best of luck.. see u guys soon,junior~

Senior!!!! meet u there in august.... hahahaha.

Anyways... any petronas scholars in overseas already here??? can u tell me the allowance in UK???

RyuBaka
28-05-2011, 01:05 PM
petronas don't send their students to ADP anymore, my guess would be because they want us to have 2 year foundation.

haha IB is quite difficult, but its worth it. A-Levels is still an option if you're going to the US, and you'll get a lot of credit transferred (a lot of my friends got into sophomore year for doing A-Levels)

Petronas do still send students to do ADP. I got ADP for geology at Taylor's Lakeside. Hoping to meet others!