View Full Version : Discussion: JPA 2011 Experience Sharing
charginup
08-04-2011, 10:14 PM
Hi. Would you guys like to share some JPA interview experience here? They do it every year so I think we should too. It'd be useful to future interviewees too. We'll start on the 12th of April, first day of interviews.
Glassy's Edit: All chat posts should go in the Chat Forum (http://www.recom.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=49). Only serious, discussion posts should be posted in this thread.
Examples of chat posts include: "When's your interview? Mine is on Friday."
"I just had my interview! Good luck to everyone else who will be having theirs!"
"My interview's tomorrow -- so nervous!"
Please keep this thread strictly for the sharing of experiences in your interview.
Any chat posts found will be deleted without warning.
08-04-2011, 10:21 PM
Hi. Would you guys like to share some JPA interview experience here? They do it every year so I think we should too. It'd be useful to future interviewees too. We'll start on the 12th of April, first day of interviews.
We don't really do it every year. It started since last year I think, my batch.
charginup
08-04-2011, 10:36 PM
Oh, sorry. I saw it in the 2010 post and they say Recomers of previous years also do it...
08-04-2011, 10:57 PM
Well, in the previous years everything was kinda lumped up together in a single thread...
george1209
08-04-2011, 11:11 PM
i think the interviews , you just pretend it to be like you are talking to a friend about yourself, your future plan, and etc..just don't be freak out or nervous during the conversation..before you go, make sure you have all the documents required,personal identification,certs,and etc.. don't do it at the last minute,you will make yourself more desperate when you find things goes wrong ..so,about attire..just wear a formal attire with close shoes, those leather shoes or whatever that makes you look smart, they feel comfortable with you..i think you know the first impression is very very important..make sure you know how to go to your interview venue .. you don't want to loss this chance by going wrong way during that day..do a little homeworks about the field you are going to step into..some latest issues may should be concern too..before that i had heard about when they ask you questions in BM, you should reply in BM.. i found that no harm on putting in BI ..i personally asked the interviewer that times.. but it really depends on the interviewer you get on that day.. some room may have two interviewer, but mine was three interviewer, one of them was a pharmacist which might more experiences..so, just show your best to the interviewer and be confident with your choice.. DON'T EVER SAY YOU MIGHT/MAY OR TRY ON YOUR CHOSEN FIELD..this will totally makes them have doubt on your choice.. =) so good luck guys.. hope to be your future senior and see you soon..
kiddos_11
08-04-2011, 11:41 PM
about the documents that need to be verified, does it mean that we have to bring photocopies of IC and birth certificates to school to be verified?
vampiric_guy_01
08-04-2011, 11:42 PM
good thread for the next year... but maybe its too early.. XD
anyway all the best for those who going for interview this year
08-04-2011, 11:48 PM
about the documents that need to be verified, does it mean that we have to bring photocopies of IC and birth certificates to school to be verified?
Yes. :grin:
george1209
08-04-2011, 11:59 PM
absolutely the answer is yes!! every single documents that are photocopied need to be verified..i remember my year, those school curiculum n co-curiculum's certs that photocopied must be verified too.. so, to be safe, verified those photocopied documents.. better do more copies on IC,BIRTH CERT,SPM RESULT,PARENTS IC ..at least these copies are required in quite a number in the process of applying scholarship until you got it..:wink
09-04-2011, 12:05 AM
I thought this thread was meant for interview experiences sharing. Any question regarding JPA, please post it here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12386).
Ultraman_batman
09-04-2011, 01:22 AM
Hey hey, :P:P:P then those that they asked us to bring original documents but they never mention to bring the verified photocopies how? Just bring the original certs all without their verified photocopies?
Or the clerk there will photostat for us? Or they dont need a copy of our cocu certs at all? :amazed:amazed:amazed
09-04-2011, 02:11 AM
Hey hey, :P:P:P then those that they asked us to bring original documents but they never mention to bring the verified photocopies how? Just bring the original certs all without their verified photocopies?
Or the clerk there will photostat for us? Or they dont need a copy of our cocu certs at all? :amazed:amazed:amazed
Please post your question here (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12386), thank you.
09-04-2011, 05:39 PM
Just bring your original and your verified photostats there just in case. There will be no time for them to photostat for you
pravin93
10-04-2011, 02:39 PM
I can't verify my documents, how can I explain this to the JPA people??
KenT13
10-04-2011, 03:08 PM
I can't verify my documents, how can I explain this to the JPA people??
Nonono u don't ask questions here. Ask once in proper thread.
starfire9388
11-04-2011, 01:19 PM
do we put them in the clear folder to give them? Or do we hold it with us??
And is it advisable to carry a schoolbag around (with the stuff and a jacket inside) ? Cuz I'm concerned that it will affect... 1st impression....
11-04-2011, 01:28 PM
do we put them in the clear folder to give them? Or do we hold it with us??
And is it advisable to carry a schoolbag around (with the stuff and a jacket inside) ? Cuz I'm concerned that it will affect... 1st impression....
Yes, it's best 2 bring a clear folder.
Well, a school bad is kinda big. jz bring a small bag 2 put ur stuffs. In d end, durin my time, v left all our stuffs outside d interview room n enter for d interview.
Garfield93
11-04-2011, 01:47 PM
hey hey hey~!. for overseas scholarship rite?? do we HAVE TO GET STRAIGHT A+ to be eligible??? once no str8 A+ means local already.. IS THERE SUCH THING???? any seniors?? help clarify??
11-04-2011, 01:51 PM
hey hey hey~!. for overseas scholarship rite?? do we HAVE TO GET STRAIGHT A+ to be eligible??? once no str8 A+ means local already.. IS THERE SUCH THING???? any seniors?? help clarify??
According 2 wat d BN politicians hv promised, most of those who got str8 As r assured to get a scholarship either local or overseas. Bt didn't get str8 A+ doesn't mean u won't get d overseas scholarship, jz tat ur chances r lower bt thr is still a chance. Gud luc. :)
Garfield93
11-04-2011, 01:53 PM
sobs? they claim interview wont affect much of the outcome.. most of them have been pre-decided by our academic results~! how would u reckon 8A+, 2A would stand?
11-04-2011, 01:57 PM
sobs? they claim interview wont affect much of the outcome.. most of them have been pre-decided by our academic results~! how would u reckon 8A+, 2A would stand?
I dun think tat i cn say anything about ur prospect as JPA's selection system is still a mystery. It changes always. Interview n ur personality cn still help u a bit nvrtheless. Jz hope for d best. No use thinking of ur results anymore as it's over.
clarrie93
11-04-2011, 02:44 PM
erm....is this true?? since my result is even worse than yours..:cry
Im applying for PILN Law.
11-04-2011, 02:48 PM
erm....is this true?? since my result is even worse than yours..:cry
Im applying for PILN Law.
Dun think so much of it. Jz continue apply as many as scholarship as possible.
starfire9388
11-04-2011, 03:48 PM
I think willl... I'm worse.. 3A+ 4A 2A- 1B...
clarrie93
11-04-2011, 04:15 PM
I think willl... I'm worse.. 3A+ 4A 2A- 1B...
we are on the same sinking boat..:cry
I got 3A+, 5A, 1A-. 1B+ (I just finish taking the 'Ujian Khas')
you are applying for?
and today is the 1st day right?
Will anyone come here and post their experiences for today interview?:nod
chelsea93
11-04-2011, 04:32 PM
Tomorrow is the first day. The JPA interview is from 12th to 15th April. :)
starfire9388
11-04-2011, 04:41 PM
we are on the same sinking boat..:cry
I got 3A+, 5A, 1A-. 1B+ (I just finish taking the 'Ujian Khas')
you are applying for?
Korea - Engineering...
The worst thing is I know nothing... I find it hard to respond to sudden questions that I am not prepared for....
iAdoreNaz
11-04-2011, 04:51 PM
wah , also in the same boat as u guys..
3A+,5A,1A- =,="..
i can't wait for tomorrow, hoping for someone to post their experience..
clarrie93
11-04-2011, 04:59 PM
wah , also in the same boat as u guys..
3A+,5A,1A- =,="..
i can't wait for tomorrow, hoping for someone to post their experience..
same here..>< i wish someone taking law will post here...:laugh
Korea - Engineering...
The worst thing is I know nothing... I find it hard to respond to sudden questions that I am not prepared for....
maybe they will ask you about k-pop artist~ :P
and again, same here...i think i will have problem with my interview..since i dont really read newspaper....:cry now Im trying to memorise all of the name of the menteri2...and also our Agong....and also the Perak's Sultan...:sweat
...........okay.....im gonna die.....:smack
iAdoreNaz
11-04-2011, 05:08 PM
and again, same here...i think i will have problem with my interview..since i dont really read newspaper....:cry now Im trying to memorise all of the name of the menteri2...and also our Agong....and also the Perak's Sultan...:sweat
You're applying for Law?..
I'm pretty sure they'll tease me ( Want go korea just to see kpop artist ah? ) xD.. LOL.. I'm also having trouble.. I have to cut my hair tomorrow..~,~".. and do further research tomorrow and the day after before thursday :notrust
starfire9388
11-04-2011, 05:20 PM
I know nothing of artist... Unless they ask me a bit about Dream High... not the actors names =.= I know screen names only XD the rest... I know nothing... praying hard they ask non political stuff... I'm lazy to read the newspaper thanks to the political stuff >.<
amara93
11-04-2011, 05:27 PM
I applied for PILN Law! :O
Damn, I 'm scared.
And are you seriously memorizing all the Sultans amd MBs names? :O
... I need to crack open a few books too then *sigh*
clarrie93
11-04-2011, 05:36 PM
I know nothing of artist... Unless they ask me a bit about Dream High... not the actors names =.= I know screen names only XD the rest... I know nothing... praying hard they ask non political stuff... I'm lazy to read the newspaper thanks to the political stuff >.<
You're applying for Law?..
I'm pretty sure they'll tease me ( Want go korea just to see kpop artist ah? ) xD.. LOL.. I'm also having trouble.. I have to cut my hair tomorrow..~,~".. and do further research tomorrow and the day after before thursday :notrust
who know? maybe one of the interviewer is a k-artist fan?:roflmaomaybe you guys should study about that... XP
to iadoreNaz: yours is also on thursday?? where are you having yours? and yup..Im taking PIDN Law(UK)
to amara: me too! >< nah..i think i will just memorise the important one, like the name of the Agong, sultan Perak, the Education minister, and anyone (who are important) who have anything to do with both the legal system and JPA.
11-04-2011, 05:39 PM
I thought this thread is solely for JPA 2011 Interview Experience Sharing, but what has it turned into? Chatting thread.
Hottest
11-04-2011, 05:39 PM
unless they're real avid fans...i dun think they will be that interested lol:amuse
Glassylicious
11-04-2011, 05:48 PM
Could we move all chatting posts to the Chat Forum (http://www.recom.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=49) please? This thread should strictly be reserved for serious discussion only.
Posts like "when's your interview? Mine's on Wednesday" are considered chatting posts. Chat posts from this point on will be deleted without warning.
Feel free to start a "JPA 2011 chat" thread in the Chat Forum. :) Thanks.
11-04-2011, 08:48 PM
Ya know, I have quite a number of JPA law friends who are also ReCommers but they aren't active. Want me to give them a nudge to help you guys?
hanli
11-04-2011, 11:26 PM
I applied for PILN Law! :O
Damn, I 'm scared.
And are you seriously memorizing all the Sultans amd MBs names? :O
... I need to crack open a few books too then *sigh*
im memorising agong, pm, deputy pm, menteri besar, sultan, ( own state of course haha), director-general of jpa, education minister and health minister ( since im taking pham) n its deputy. :amuse
MrHoww
11-04-2011, 11:31 PM
Actually I think international affairs is more important. Especially those related to the country you have chosen.
chernjuin
12-04-2011, 10:40 AM
Course applied : Medicine
Experience : Go in, interviewers brief you on the two sections which will be tested to evaluate ur english and bm proficiency. Then they will ask u to give a short introduction about urself and ur family. (for mine, they limited it to just my family, other panels got free introduce yourself questions). Then why did u choose medicine? juz speak ur mind truthfully. Then they will give u a discussion topic if there is still time. My topic was why is the medical bills so high in malaysia? especially in private sector? anyone with the answer can post a quick reply pls. i think i gave a stupid one. darn. anyways, after that based on ur answers they will, WILL question ur answers as though they are not viable. just speak ur mind, seriously. that's all i can rmbr now, it was juz a short interview. good luck to those going for interview tml and later on!!!!!
Cheers. ^^
Aelpink
12-04-2011, 11:44 AM
Course Applied:Pharmacy
Venue: Uniten (8.50 am)
Experience: The interviews were really nice. We started to introduce ourselves one by one in English. They told us who to start first. The first person started off really good! His intro was really flowery and he set the bar really high for the rest of us. I was really really intimidated and started to panic.The second girl was good as well. So when it was my turn, I was the 3rd one, I think my intro was really messy and jumbled up. The interviewer even asked me whether I was happy today! haha Guess I smiled a lot and my friend told me my tone was really ecstatic. haha
Then they asked us why do you pick the course that you've chosen and why that country. That's all!
Oh, and I think they weren't sure with how many scholarships they are giving out this year. I asked and they said 400+. But 400+ is too little right? I think they meant for medical courses like medicine, pharmacy and dentistry.
And the clerk told us to check for our result 2 weeks later!
Shaheera
12-04-2011, 11:52 AM
No group discussion?!
iAdoreNaz
12-04-2011, 11:54 AM
Experience: The interviews were really nice. We started to introduce ourselves one by one in English. They told us who to start first. The first person started off really good! His intro was really flowery and he set the bar really high for the rest of us. I was really really intimidated and started to panic.The second girl was good as well. So when it was my turn, I was the 3rd one, I think my intro was really messy and jumbled up. The interviewer even asked me whether I was happy today! haha Guess I smiled a lot and my friend told me my tone was really ecstatic. haha
Then they asked us why do you pick the course that you've chosen and why that country. That's all!
Oh, and I think they weren't sure with how many scholarships they are giving out this year. I asked and they said 400+. But 400+ is too little right? I think they meant for medical courses like medicine, pharmacy and dentistry.
If only 400, i sure no got one lah.. :cry:cry
ThamayanthyM
12-04-2011, 12:06 PM
no group discussion?!..i hope i wont hv too..;p
Ultraman_batman
12-04-2011, 12:16 PM
Course applied : Medicine
Experience : Go in, interviewers brief you on the two sections which will be tested to evaluate ur english and bm proficiency. Then they will ask u to give a short introduction about urself and ur family. (for mine, they limited it to just my family, other panels got free introduce yourself questions). Then why did u choose medicine? juz speak ur mind truthfully. Then they will give u a discussion topic if there is still time. My topic was why is the medical bills so high in malaysia? especially in private sector? anyone with the answer can post a quick reply pls. i think i gave a stupid one. darn. anyways, after that based on ur answers they will, WILL question ur answers as though they are not viable. just speak ur mind, seriously. that's all i can rmbr now, it was juz a short interview. good luck to those going for interview tml and later on!!!!!
Cheers. ^^
Which school you from?
12-04-2011, 12:32 PM
Good luck everyone! :) Just be calm, and be yourself! Treat those interviewers as your friends, but talk in a well manner. :)
starfire9388
12-04-2011, 12:44 PM
Tomorrow >.< mayb I should run until I pass out so that I get some sleep >.<!!!!
Did any of the groups get asked about Gadafi?? >.<!!!
donn_m
12-04-2011, 01:49 PM
LOL am applying the Korean engineering too.. hahah am afraid they would raise the Japan tsunami/earthquake issues during the interview.. =_="
Garfield93
12-04-2011, 02:25 PM
thats soo lucky of you~~!!~!~!! i worry mine in ipoh will be like Battle Los Angeles in interview room man!!! :cry:cry
Shaheera
12-04-2011, 02:31 PM
are we allowed to bring in our own notebooks or will they provide us with blank papers?
eleazar
12-04-2011, 02:34 PM
you need to bring your own paper....:)
bubu24
12-04-2011, 02:50 PM
how do you know if a person gets the biasiswa perdana?
eleazar
12-04-2011, 03:11 PM
course applied: pharmacy
venue: sarawak
experience: i arrived there quite early i think....10.45am (my interview start at 11.55am).so, i talked with the other interviewee there. there were all really friendly :) i was in panel 2 and i'm the fifth person. there were 3 boys and 2 girls in my group. all were chinese. 1 boy applied for medic, 2 boys and me apply for pharmacy and another girl applied for dentistry. there were three interviewer. one malay man, one malay woman and another bumi woman. they did not introduce themselves to us (weird...). only one interviewer that sat in the middle asked questions. the other interviewer beside her sometimes add in some info and i noticed that they were scribbling something throughout the interview. first we were asked to self-introduce in english (they asked me to start first....shocked...thought number one first). then, we were asked four questions.
1. nowadays, children attitude towards parents are getting worst. what should parents do?
2. if you do not get the jpa oversea scholarship, what will you do?
3. should children choose the course to study by themselves or their parent?
4. why want go oversea not local?
for my group, they were no group discussion. we were also not asked about the recent issues. but i heard other group were asked about the japan earthquake. we were also not asked to inquire anything... the duration were about 40 minutes i think
advise: pay attention to what is the language used by the interviewer and speak clearly. don't be nervous and just try your best.
good luck to those who have yet to take their interview and may god bless..
starfire9388
12-04-2011, 05:21 PM
stakes are now at MAX. since i just learned that i din get Petronas~~!!!! :(
Lolz... you are not alone XD XD XD XD
Anyway... my friends got the 1Malaysia Klink question.. and opinion on the high income of malaysia (can someone answer this please)
I'm getting double nervous now cuz one of them came out cursing all over facebook >.<
Glassylicious
12-04-2011, 05:26 PM
All chat posts should go in the Chat Forum (http://www.recom.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=49). Only serious, discussion posts should be posted in this thread.
Examples of chat posts include: "When's your interview? Mine is on Friday."
"I just had my interview! Good luck to everyone else who will be having theirs!"
"My interview's tomorrow -- so nervous!"
"Damnit, I didn't get called for Petronas!"
"What course did you apply for?"
"Good luck and all the best everyone!"
Feel free to create a "JPA 2011 Chat" topic in the Chat Forum, where you can freely chat to your heart's content.
Please keep this thread strictly for the sharing of experiences in your JPA interview.
Any chat posts found will be deleted without warning. I hate to have to do this, but this is necessary for keeping the topic clean. Thanks for all your cooperation, guys.
ayekay
12-04-2011, 05:26 PM
Same here. Tmr 850 shah alam. What course u applied?
jin_calvin
12-04-2011, 05:28 PM
Since i read alot of posts about JPA 2010 experience sharing, so im gonna use d format as used in jpa 2010 experience sharing.
Course Applied: Dentistry(my group consists of 5 people, 2 boys 3 girls, 2 chinese boys, 2 chinese girls n 1 malay girl)
Venue:UITM(Shah Alam)
Experience: I am sure anyone would feel nervous on ur interview day. Juz b4 interview, i talked with the other people in my group. This really helps loosen the tense situation and makes you less nervous. Even the kerani in charge told us to mingle with eac other in case there is gonna be a group interview. Juz make new friends b4 heading into d war zone...
We were given number tags and we were asked questions according to the order, i was second to go. We bid the interviewers good morning and waited for them to permit us to sit down. Btw, there were oni 2 interviewers, a man and a woman. Oddly enough, the third interviewer was not present on the third seat. The man did all the main asking questions, the woman asked us in details about our points, as well as writing down(mostly our performance) on a piece of paper.They were very nice, make jokes once in a while, n they do not shoot people down n criticise us:)
We did not haf to give any self introduction, which was quite different from the experience for jpa interview last year. They juz went on and asked us questions. The girl wo was number was asked 1st, the question was'apakah kualiti yang perlu ada pada seorang dentist?' n as she answered the interviewers further asked 'do u choose oversea or local?' n some other questions which i forgot. 1 specific question was 'wat is d ratio of dentists in malaysia, n is malaysia having a shortage of dentists?' for all ur info, there is currently 1:8000 ratio of dentists to patients in malaysia, n we r suffering from a shortage since the ratio numbers r huge.
Then, they were looking at me.(Oh,the pressure!!!) I had in my mind all the answers for d questions they asked the girl b4 me. Then when i want to blurt it out, they juz change the question n asked me'apakah cara untuk meningkatkan kesihatan gigi rakyat malaysia' i was shock and blank for a moment there, coz tat question was quite sudden. I did answer though. Then they asked 'the impact of globalisation of dentistry'. Honestly speaking, tat was quite hard, i had a tough time thinking of points here, with pausing here n there. The others r lucky not to get this question. Also, the others were asked about why do they choose their course and where do they prefer, which basically means they were asked about themselves, but i wasn't asked a single thing about myself, only general questions...lol much???
For the last part, we were asked on 'wat r the qualities maaysia citizens should have?" This time every1 of us have to answer this question, unlike the first round where we were asked different questions individually.After all tat, we bid our thanks and gudbyes b4 we leave. For me, i was oni asked 3 questions, n im sure others was asked about 5-6 questions. There wasnt any group discussion either.
Rating: :cry:cry:cry/10 Wat do u think my chances are when the interviewer oni asked me 3 questions n he didnt even asked anything about me??
Advice/Additional info: Expect the unexpected. They would throw out anything tat u cant possibly imagine. So, get well informed about ur course, make sure u are cool-headed at the time of interview, and dont think too much on the question asked to the person b4 u(or u will end up like me, blank n stuck!!) Juz do enough preparation( i do not think it will help much coz mine obviously didnt) and make sure during the interview, you can think fast so u can react when the interviewer asked u questions.I highlighted it< coz its very important. Oh..n every interview process is different, like mine, there wasnt any introduction n group discussion, juz be prepared for anything.
I learned a lot from recom here, so this is a little something i can contribute to 2011 jpa interviewees for their interviews on tuesday until friday, n also for future 2012 jpa applicants.
maxho5385
12-04-2011, 05:29 PM
Course: medicine
venue: uitm shah alam
my interview start at 8am and i'm in panel 4...there are 1 indian girl, 2 malay boys, 1 chinese girl and 1 chinese boy(me) in the group...all apply for medicine...First they asked to introduce ourselves and tell about our family background...Then the real challenge start...LOL
1. Apakah yang kamu faham dengan 'klinikal' dan apakah sumbangan anda jika dihantar ke luar negara??
2. Had you visited any general hospital near your house and how you think is the equipment there??
3. Why you choose medicine??
4. Apakah ulasan anda tentang konsep 1 Malaysia ''Rakyat didahulukan , pencapaian diutamakan" ?
When i am answering 3rd question, 1 interviewer asked me '' how you will improve the equipment and help the people if you are sent to service in rural area? "
After the 4th question, they smiled and announced the session is finished...then we shake hand with them and they said you all are young brilliant students...LOL
Karg_028
12-04-2011, 06:04 PM
Course: Medicine
The file was handed over to the person at the counter and I doubt she even glanced through the things in it. The interviewers actually don't look at your file. So I was given a number tag ("I am NUMBER TWO" lol). I got to know the 4 others who were in the same group as mine (11.05am), which calmed me down a bit, so you guys might wanna get to know your group-mates too beforehand, it really helps.
Come 11.05am, we entered the room according to number. No.1 (names omitted for privacy reasons lol) knocked on the door and we entered the room. He attempted to shake hands with the interviewer but was told to just sit down, so we all meekly did so. They gave a brief introduction, congratulating us to be one of the "chosen 8000++" and telling us that only 1000 will be given the scholarship this year. They mentioned their names which I forgot, but one of them was a doctor so no bluffing here.
Self introduction - name, hometown/school, family background (parents' job, income, siblings), course applied, which country you prefer to go to. It was odd that they didn't ask why you wanted this course, maybe they got tired of listening to the same things. But I wouldn't worry much about this part, it seems to differ from panel to panel, and the interviewers would interrupt which simple questions if they want to know more. This was in BM btw.
They proceeded to ask other questions in English. I'm not sure if this was what the others meant by "group discussion" because we did not discuss anything.
1. "There are many social issues now such as drug abuse, pregnancy out of wedlock, abortion etc. What do you think should be done to handle these problems?" I was the last one to answer this, the others had mentioned school education so I didn't talk about that at all. I'm not sure if I should have, though.
2. "They are talking about changing the Malaysian tertiary education system from English to Malay. What is your opinion?" We went halves here, 3 vs 2 on BI vs BM. It was the only question which we had different views. Just after I said BI and gave my reasons, No.3 said she thought BM was no problem and I went, like, "WHYYY???" (Not aloud, of course).
3. "What is your opinion on conventional and alternative medicine?" This question did it. We all went blank for a while and just stared. Oh woe. Eventually we did answer although I think everyone gave the "I-have-no-idea-but-I'm-gonna-give-a-safe-answer" type of response.
4. "If you were given the scholarship to local universities, would you accept?" Everyone said yes but I said "depends" thus began the bombarding of depends on what, what if this what if that etc. :D:
The interview ended then and there, we shook hands with the interviewers and went out to collect our files and impart some "sagely wisdom" on the would-be interviewees with an air of veterans who have "been there, done that" :))
Overall, I think the interview was quite okay. The interviewers were nice and joked around, but they really hold what you mentioned before against you. For those who said they wanted to go to New Zealand, the lady interviewer kept warning them it was an earthquake zone, Christchurch incidents blah blah... Many scholars don't want to go there and you want? Etc.
I think it's quite important to mix with your group mates beforehand to soothe your nerves and also exchange useful information. Also, do listen carefully to what the interviewer asked.
You DO NOT have to answer according to the arrangement of your numbers. The numbers just determine your seating order. There is no need to stand when being asked, just raise your hand and give your answer. And they might single you out from the 5 to ask you one specific question (for example, to No.4 since she was applying for pharmacy).
That's all, and good luck to all to other interviewees!
(Disclaimer: The above information, while deemed to be true at the time of posting, may not be strictly accurate. These are not conclusive statements for drawing conclusions. Things may be different elsewhere in the country)
shuyui
12-04-2011, 06:30 PM
Courses applied : medicine
Places: USM Penang (panel 5/number4)
My group consists of 4 chinese and 1 malay 3 girls 2 boys 1 dentistry, 2 medicine and 2 pharmacy.
Time slot: 11:55a.m.
Experience: Its a great and fun experience.First, I went in to the dewan and checked my names and signed on the board.After knowing which panel we will be in, we went to our respective counter and signed our names again.Then we handed in our files and the photocopied one.And while waiting for them to call, I look for my friends and met quite a number of them.Some were wearing baju kurung and others were just wearing formal attire.Today was supposed to be the day where those applied for medicine, dentistry and pharmacy students got their interview.There are altogether 7 panels today.Finally when its my turn, we all were lead by the clerk there.Mine was a friendly one and he joked around to ease our tension. I started to mingle with them and got to know them better.I really liked my group because they are very outstanding people and they are very nice too. I really hoped to get in touch with them in the future.They are just the one I have been looking for to interview with.Finally the time has arrived.
At first we greet the interviewer and shake hands with them.Mine one was a chinese guy and two malay women. We sat according to our number. They congratulate us first for getting great results. We were not ask to introduce ourselves and not even our names!!I was really shocked! I think it depends on the panel itself so if you are lucky you will got what you want.
The first question they post to us is of course none other than reasons we choose this course.My group speaks fluent english and I felt impressed by the way they answer it. It gives me confidence and I tried my best to answer it.Then we were asked why we choose oversea over local in english.After that they asked us what will we do if we are not given the scholarship in english too.And the last question in malay they asked us about the isu-isu semasa related to our fields of studies. We can answer everything regarding our field.
Time flies so fast and the interviewer just ended our interview after 30 minutes because they are eager to get their lunch.We didn't have our group discussion too.I don't know whether it's a good sign or a bad sign. After that we are allowed to post our own question.We asked how many will be given out this year and as usual 1500 will be given out.I asked how do they select the candidates and he said it is according to the marks we earned.One of my friends asked why they combining the mara and jpa scholarship this year they said it's the government decision and they don't know the reason too. One of us asked that how many have got 9A+ and he answered mostly all of us.THE END
Advise:Just be yourself and There is nothing to be nervous about really. And do your best so you won't regret it. I did my best and I am now happy of it.
That's all I can share for this year.Good luck to all who will be getting their interview soon. Sorry for those grammar mistakes I have made. AND thanks to all the senior that really helped us out a lot!!!really appreciated it.You are welcome to ask me any question.Hope it helps.
Garfield93
12-04-2011, 06:39 PM
any engineering chaps?? share share share??? :)
MrHoww
12-04-2011, 06:45 PM
I think they will relate Japan earthquake with civil engineering. Chernobyl and Japan Nuclear Disaster with chemical engineering. And of course, my interview will be tomorrow, it is getting tense now!
Garfield93
12-04-2011, 07:01 PM
how bout mechanical engineering?? wad would they relate that with??
MrHoww
12-04-2011, 07:12 PM
I don't see any links between mechanical engineering with current affairs... May be something more general like shortage of engineers and ratios?
yugathes
12-04-2011, 07:50 PM
i wish someone taking law will post here.
Hello there.. I'm doing law.. Feel free to ask me questions..=)
ANNANN
12-04-2011, 07:51 PM
so any questions for pharmacy~?
Solenoid
12-04-2011, 07:58 PM
then the competition will be very stiff....haiz...:cry
I read at a chinese news paper that only 403 people got 9A+ and above? correct me if i am wrong
Shaheera
12-04-2011, 08:10 PM
did they mention when will they announce the results of the interview?
Solenoid
12-04-2011, 08:14 PM
I dont think there is a result for interview. But result for the scholarship, they told me to check on the JPA website 2 weeks from now
12-04-2011, 08:21 PM
did they mention when will they announce the results of the interview?
I dont think there is a result for interview. But result for the scholarship, they told me to check on the JPA website 2 weeks from now
JPA will nt announce d results of d interview. They will only announce whether r u selected or nt.
R u sure tat d results will come 2 weeks frm nw? That's 2 soon. 1st batch of France engineerin n Japan engineerin which will b announced earlier thn d other results will also take at least 1 month.
KenT13
12-04-2011, 08:22 PM
I read at a chinese news paper that only 403 people got 9A+ and above? correct me if i am wrong
You're right about the fact. But you posted in the wrong thread.
yugathes
12-04-2011, 08:30 PM
There are many posts here so I don't know whether this post is going to be redundant but I'm just posting it.. For those who are going to go for the interview... Basically, this is how the interview is going to be.. They wont ask u anything about the course you have chosen in depth.. Here how the interview goes. It will be a panel interview and there will be 5 students in a panel and 3 interviewers. First, they would ask u to introduce urself.. Probably some background about u and they will ask u why u chose law. So just say why u chose your course. Then they will give 2 questions. One in malay and one in english. The 5 of u will have to discuss both the questions. The malay question in malay language and then english language of course. If they interviewer feel like, they will ask u questions personally based on the discussion or the topic itself.. so just answer them.. There is no right or wrong answer. All you have to do is make sure u voice out, sound confident and make ur presence felt. And do interact with the other four students.
MrHoww
12-04-2011, 08:44 PM
Oh Gosh! How am I going to sleep tonight with all those 'stiff competition' in mind? I hope I won't regret when I come back from interview tomorrow!
peifen93
12-04-2011, 08:47 PM
Course: Pharmacy
Place: Ipoh
Went to interview this morning! And it was okay. Fingers crossed. ><
The thing is, they didn't ask ANYTHING about us. No intro, no "which course did you choose and why?", no "which country and which uni?", no hobbies, and they didn't even look through the clear holder we brought with us! I wonder what were the clear holders for :huh Went straight to the questions.
Questions asked:
1. Some conventional and traditional medicine stuff. About what do we think about traditional medicine as complementary medicine.
2. Sistem pendidikan negara setanding dengan luar negara. Mengapa kerajaan masih menghantar pelajar ke luar negara?
3. Explain brain drain (and I heard the guy saying BREAD GRAIN ==) and how to overcome. (we were like wth is that? hahahaha)
4. *this was specified to one guy but we helped answer too* Jika saya seorang perokok kuat, bagaimanakan anda akan membantu saya mengatasi ketagihan saya? (answer: find an alternative to his addiction. use nicotine patch)
5. After completing your degree, will you stay back in another country to continue your Masters or work OR will you come back to Malaysia?
6. Factors of obesity and how to overcome.
My session lasted for around 1 hour. I AM SERIOUS! Not joking.
Oh ya, something to the girls out there. Do not offer to shake the interviewer's hand if he is a Malay man. The girls in my group offered a handshake but was rejected xD
All the best to everyone! And please, do stay calm despite the countering and shooting by the interviewers :) It's not really about the content of what you say, it's really how active you are in the interview. Do voice out your opinions and don't just be silent.
hanli
12-04-2011, 09:10 PM
Course : Pharmacy ( alot of pham here :P )
Venue : uniten, selangor
Placement : panel 2, 3.45pm session.
I was placed in a group of 3 girls (2 of them-dentistry) and 2 boys(medic)
I was no1 so I led the way into the room and all of us wished the panel. When they instructed us to take a seat, we did so.
First of all, the lady requested for an introduction. It was in english and we're free to talk about anything regarding ourselves. I started off first since I was no1. It was the basic; name, school, family background, coco activities. Just talk about the posts that you hold and also the competition you took part in/won. Even if it's school level, just say it. Wouldnt't hurt. hehe
I think its important that you try to sell yourself here because you are going to leave a first impression. The girl after me briefly mentioned her name, school and family only. It was very short and the panel said, "thats all?". Not a very good impression, aint it?
After that, came the group discussion part. The panel post a question and we had to spontaneously talk right after that. There was no time given to discuss or jolt down points before starting.
1. Apakah pandangan anda tentang gejala rasuah dan langkah yang boleh diambil?
This was a very tough question because we talked about puspakom, sprm and stuff like that. But the panel said that we're just mentioning very common things and asked us to look at the wider scope. So girls and boys, I suggest you brainstorm on this topic. :)
2. Excellent students should study medicine. Agree or disagree?
It was quite easy. Just state whether you agree or not and explain the reasons why.
3. Perdana Menteri kita sering membangkitkan tentang isu 1malaysia. Apakah pandangan anda?
This wasn't so tough also. :nod
That's pretty much it. They didn't shoot us with questions nor ask us why we choose our course, where we want to do it n why. They did not personally ask anyone a question also.
They just give a statement as above, and we discussed it like in a forum.
We said our thank you's and left.
P/S : You have to like think really fast for points because after someone ends his/her opinion, you can continue! It will look bad when his/her ended and everyone keeps quiet. :P
If you can't think of new points maybe you can say something like, "I agree with our friend here and bla bla". Add some examples et cetera. hahahha
Overall it was a very fun and great experience! :nuts
ayekay
12-04-2011, 09:11 PM
You're right about the fact. But you posted in the wrong thread.
really? only 403 students get 9 A+ and above? That actually means that those who get 9A+ and above will for sure get the scholarship since our prime minister mentioned that he promised to give out scholarships to those candidates with 9A+ and above
peifen93
12-04-2011, 09:41 PM
really? only 403 students get 9 A+ and above? That actually means that those who get 9A+ and above will for sure get the scholarship since our prime minister mentioned that he promised to give out scholarships to those candidates with 9A+ and above
Impossible only 403 students got 9A+ and above. That figure is for STRAIGHT A+. There are thousands of students who got 9A+ and above. And yeah, he did promise. So let's hope that he'll honour his promise :amuse
yiling
12-04-2011, 09:48 PM
Into the Fire
So, since I don't feel like repeating myself anymore and people have requested for this, I shall write a post on my JPA interview =).
(though of course this is MY interview and what occurs to me might not happen to you).
So, I arrived at the venue at about 7.05am. Surprisingly, there were already a number of parents and applicants waiting there. So, at around 7.30am, people started flooding in. And some of the JPA workers arrived to stick the name lists on the board. We are required to locate our names on the board and sign. Applicants are divided into groups of five for different "panels" which I guess refers to your panel of interviewers. Mine was Panel 3 FYI. The interviewers soon arrived as well and headed up first. Oh, speaking of the location. You will be required to wait downstairs in a courtyard. The board with the name list of applicants will be located in the middle of the courtyard. All interviews will be done upstairs.
Once my panel was called, we headed up to the waiting room. There, we are required to hand in our clear folders and photocopied documents. Each panel is assigned a counter. You will be handed a name tag with a number on so pin it on la. The people behind the counter will begin work by sorting out the docs and arranging them. So, this is the time where you can interact with your group mates. Mine were quite friendly and we managed to talked about some trivial stuff. Other groups waiting were all so stiff o.0.
Then, our turn came. We lined up according to number and headed to the interview room. My panel of interviewers consisted of three Malay guys who looked vaguely familiar for some reason. They seemed pretty friendly. First thing the guy in the middle said was to relax as we were the first batch and also to ask whether we had breakfast yet haha.
Ok, we started off with introductions. Since the panel asked this in BM, we had to answer in BM. And by introductions, they actually wanted more than just a simple introduction. We included family info (parents' career, siblings),hobbies and also a bit about our ambitions. And once one of us was done with the intro, they would question us(still in BM) regarding what we said during the introduction. So, I guess you should make sure you say valid things! Well, for mine, hmm.. I mentioned both my parents were working in account-related fields, so they asked why I didn't choose to be an accountant as well, which led me explaining why I wanted to be a doctor. And also a bit about Guiding, as I touched that and the charity work I have done. (thinking back, I think I was asked the least questions o.0). And I guess it's ok to inject some english words if you can't think of their BM counterparts in time, just don't say full english sentences. One guy got told off for doing so.
Next off, was very random. (In BM). The interviewer asked me to name the other 4 applicants, which I could btw. And for another applicant, he asked her to say out the hobbies the rest of us had mentioned during our intros.
After that, the interviewer (this time in English) asked us to each say a strength of ours and how it would help us in our career. So, I think I expressed this answer more fluently =D. And then, surprise...the end to our interview o.0.
We then returned to the waiting room to collect our stuff. Oh, you needn't bring so much stuff la. Because we were told to just leave everything in the waiting room =. =. And if you have Foreign Language Proficiency certs, do make a certified copy. They might come in handy =).
Me and my group mates exchanged contact details and that it's free to go.
source: http://mintheone.blogspot.com/
this is my friend's interview experience.
By the way, i seriously cannot tahan. Can you all go to the Piln/Pidn thread to chat? Leave this thread for the interview experience sharing. thanks ;)
ayekay
12-04-2011, 09:56 PM
Impossible only 403 students got 9A+ and above. That figure is for STRAIGHT A+. There are thousands of students who got 9A+ and above. And yeah, he did promise. So let's hope that he'll honour his promise :amuse
lol yeah. btw election is just arnd the corner. I think he will keep his promise for that reason.
iAdoreNaz
13-04-2011, 01:51 AM
Yes please. Let's make sure this place is only for sharing interview.
Chat at PIDN/PILN thread ;)
nehziy
13-04-2011, 09:20 AM
Is there anyone who applied for sastera ikhtisas (finance or econs)? Can those who applied for sastera ikhtisas share their experience here? Because I saw that most people applied for medicine, engineering, pharmacy and those related to science field. I want to know what they actually ask for those applying for sastera ikhtisas. Do they ask about Malaysian Economy or what?
ureshii_xD
13-04-2011, 11:30 AM
Course: Japan Engineering
Venue: Kelantan
Placement: 9:40 a.m. | Panel 2 | 3 male interviewers | 5 interviewees consist of 3 females, 2 males | about 40 minutes
Extra: Paper is provided but not used, pen is not provided | No group discussion | Yes to shooting
Questions:
Introduction (didn't specific) (Eng)
Why choose the course? (Eng)
Why choose that country? (Eng & Malay)
Name famous architect in Malaysia? How about the world? (Eng)
You choose architectual but you've no subjects that's related to it during High School so, why is it like this? (Malay)
They ask something about the brand of cars made from France (Eng)
Name famous lawyer in Malaysia? In Kelantan too. (Eng)
Recent court issues (Malay)
What can the Japanese engineers do to improve the safety of building (I think) when another earthquake hits? (Malay I think)
Do you want to go overseas by your own accord? Or there's influence (Malay)
Ahaha so this is the link to my LJ for those people who are curious for the full account of it hohoh : Link (http://yahchan.livejournal.com/4523.html)
Note: Those particular questions that ask about particular subject is directed to particular student applying for that particular course | Good luck to the later interview sessions and the future ones!
yiling
13-04-2011, 11:43 AM
Well, since i've actually benefitted from my friend's interview experience, so i think its more fair for me to share mine too. I don't know if it will be useful for you guys, but i think i'll just write all i know about.
So my interview starts at 8 50 at UiTM today, i reached there around 8 and started searching my name on the board where there are name lists which clearly state the name of the interviewees, the time of interview and your panel. I scanned for my name and there it was --- panel 9. I started finding for my panel and went to the waiting room.
There were already two people from my group waiting in the room and so i started chit chatting with them to calm down my nerves. Lie Keat, the prefect from CHS was one of them and the other one was a girl that is from Klang. Then 10 minutes later another guy came. He was too shy to talk (i think) until we asked him his interview section, then only did he joined our conversation. Turns out 4 of us are from the same group and the last one should be a Malay girl, all of us took medicine while the shy guy mentioned was taking dentistry. The officers that are responsible for our panels asked us to hand in our files and then she gave us some number tags... Mine was number 1... =.=
Soon, the people from the previous interview came out and we were sent in. Surprisingly, only 4 of us went in to the interview room as the malay girl haven't arrived yet. Then the interview sesson started. There were 3 interviewers ( 1 guy 2 ladies, all were malays) But it was the lady in the middle that did most of the questioning though
We were asked to introduce ourselves in BM and then they will ask questions about why should the send u overseas although our country have already good universities such as UM and UKM. Halfway, the malay girl that haven't arrive knocked the door and wanted to join us for the interview session but was told to wait for the next session. You should see how the genial faces of the interviewers changed when the girl came in lol.
And then we went into the discussion, which is not really a discussion since we were required to give our own opinions 1 by 1. The questions are:
1) In this modenized era, health is often neglected. How can you, as a doctor or dentist, improve the health of the public?
2) Pada masa kini, seringkali doktor dikatakan mengambil kesempatan terhadap orang lain kerana kos perubatan yang melambung tinggi. Apakah pendapat anda?
3) Nowadays scholars that graduated overseas are not grateful as they stayed overseas to work or continue their postgraduate degree. What efforts can the government do to overcome this problem?
Then the interview session ended.
Well, here are some advices i would like to give :
1) Smile :) but don't try to force one out if you can't seem to do so, it might turn out to be perverted one like the greatest man on the internet. The natural one will do.
2) Do talk to ur group mates become the interview. This can actually make the situation not so tensed and you will not feel awkward when you answer questions in the interview session. Well, that's what i think.
3) Don't speak too fast, cause sometimes the word seemed to jumble up and u'll have a hard time getting back the momentum of speaking as you'll get panic.
4) Bring some papers in case u'll need to make notes, my group were asked to bring papers but we didn't use it anyways.
5) Take the opportunity to be the first one to talk as it might actually show leadership skills.
6) Think before you talk, organize your ideas when others are giving their opinions so that when it comes to your turn, words can come out smoothly.
7) Give a handshake to interviewers of your same sex ( don't get this wrong. Muslims are not allowed to shake hands of their opposite sex.)
8) Do greet your interviewers. 7 and 8 may not influence your chance of getting JPA scholarship, but its just basic manners they expect to find in a potential scholar.
9) Do research on current issues regarding to your course.
I guess that's all and ALL THE BEST to those that will be going for this interview session these few days and GOOD LUCK!! . :DD
" Out of clutter, find simplicity,
Out of discord, find harmony,
In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity"
- Albert Eintstein-
source: http://www.facebook.com/notes/alan-koay-kean-leong/jpa-interview/10150150562255893
My friend's experience.
starfire9388
13-04-2011, 12:58 PM
Course: Korea Engineering
Venue: Terengganu
Placement: 11 a.m. | Panel 1 | 1 male interviewers 2 female interviewers| 5 interviewees consist of 4 females, 1 male | time : not sure...
Extra: Paper is provided (one piece only), pen is not provided | Group discussion | Yes to extreme shooting |No notebooks, bags allowed
Questions:
Introduction (Malay)
Why overseas and not locally (she shot me non stop on this topic and didnt even let me talk)
(They asked something about the nuclear and if the radiation reached korea and something lolz was so unclear =.=!! they asked me if I would migrate from korea to japan?)
What do you know about Electronic engineering?
What kind of Electronic engineering? (lolz I didnt understand her question and pretending to think didnt help)
Discussion : What do you understand about creativity and innovation? How can it help us in our life?
They kept looking at the time and kept giving us a time limit to voice our ideas. I was the only one shot to the extreme. Detailed details at the Korean Engineering 2011 thread .
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=12562&page=4
Goodluck! To those who were forced by parents to take a particular course, please do not show it during the interview. One malay girl in my group was shot for that.
eileen0610
13-04-2011, 01:29 PM
Course: PILN Medicine
Venue: INTEC Shah Alam
Time: 9.40 a.m.
Panel 10, 3 female interviewers, only 3 interviewees were present (1 guy, 2 girls).
No shooting. :)
Questions:
Introduction (English)
Why overseas instead of local (English)
How do you contribute to the country upon completing your course (English)
How do you promote Malaysia while studying overseas (English)
Privatisation of healthcare - agree or disagree (Malay)
Government's measures to aid low-income group (factory workers, etc) living in big cities in getting treatments, should healthcare is privatised fully (Malay)
Dengue - name of carrier mosquitos, health awareness campaign in your school/neighbourhood, how dengue causes deaths (English)
What do you understand by the terms "negara berpendapatan tinggi" and "negara maju" (Malay)
Your favourite book and author (Malay/ English)
P.S. My interviewers were lenient enough to let us proceed in either language if we were not comfortable speaking the other.
P.P.S. Since there were only 3 of us, we were given lots of heavy topics (as you can see above) but we were allowed to discuss amongst ourselves.
Good luck! :D
shinystar
13-04-2011, 02:24 PM
Course: Medicine
Venue: Ipoh
Date: 13 April 2011
Time : 8:50 a.m.
Panel 2, Three interviewers (two doctors), 5 students. No shooting...
Introduction in English (ask in English) but the interviewer said we can choose BM.
Question: ~The main cause of death in Malaysia
~Organ donation is getting lesser in Malaysia... your opinion.
~IT usage in your chosen field
~Doctors refused to come back. Opinion.
Questions can be answered in either BM or BI. My interviewer didn't ask what country we choose.
Be confident and you will do well.
Talk to the other students before the interview starts. It helps you speak fluently during the interview.
AND, don't be selfish. Don't show off. Be humble.
Good luck!
MrHoww
13-04-2011, 02:45 PM
Course Applied: French Engineering
Venue: UIAM Kuantan
Time and Panel: 11.55am, Panel 3
Experiences:-
I arrived at UIAM Kuantan about 11.15am and went to the fourth floor as I visited the campus one day prior to my interview day, just wondering where to go. When I reached the floor, there are a few papers glued to the wall pointing which direction we should go, when I arrived at the main door, I saw lists of names sticked on the wall and I signed it(Thanks to seniors who replied in this forum that we need to sign twice :amuse). Walk in, sign again and sit down. Hand in the files of certs to the clerk and given a number tag '5' :cry. Surprisingly, there was an applicant absent from the interview(and he is my classmate in school :huh) so there were only four of us. We were lead by the clerk to Panel Room 3, knocked the door and sit down as instructed by the panel. All of them are Malay, one female and two males. The male at the centre introduced and greet us. As usual, self-introduction in Malay from 1 to 5. When I was introducing, about to reach the end, the centre guy asked me:-
1.Q: Why France?
A: Because it is the pioneer of the engineering in this world even when the world is not very developed. For instance, the building of Eiffel Tower was started in 1889, when other countries like Germany(The guy applied for German Engineering might stare at me LOL :P) and United Kingdom is not very advanced. But France managed to build a tower of 324m in height and stay as the tallest tower in the world for 41 years using the most advanced technologies at that time.(The guy nodded her head and said something to the guy beside him, is it good or bad? :huh)
2. Q: Apakah pandangan anda terhadap kokurikulum dan sukan dalam menjana pelajar yang cemerlang?
A: Dalam pandangan saya, pelajar perlu melibatkan diri dalam sukan dan kokurikulum untuk menanam semangat kepasukan kerana semangat ini amat penting semasa pelajar keluar untuk bekerja. Kita todak boleh membuat perkara dengan seorang diri tetapi dengan bantuan kawan dan orang lain. Saya juga bersetuju dengan pandangan beliau(another applicant) bahawa bersukan sebenarnya tidak akan memenatkan pelajar tetapi menjadikan mereka lebih cergas. Contohnya, saya selalu pergi 'jogging' pada waktu pagi selepas SPM, dan saya berasa amat segar dan cerdas selepas itu.
3. Q: What is your opinion about the education system in Malaysia?
A: In my opinion, I think the government has provide high standard of theoretical knowledge to all the students. For example, one of my sister's friend who is a British told her that the examination here is much more difficult than what is existing in their country.(The female nodded her head and said 'definitely.') And it all depends on the student whether to just learn the theories or to apply them, the exam-orientated thing is not important.(And I saw other interviewees look at me :notrust).
Q: So why do you think parents want to send their children days and nights to tuition classes?
A: Well, because the parents think that their children are the best and don't want them to lack behind other children. They want their children to be placed at the forefront of others. And they think it is very competitive.
Q: So you think children are the victims of parents?
A: Yes, I do think so. (Nodding heavily :laugh)
Q: So brother(interviewee beside me), what is your opinion?
4 Q: Kita tahu bahawa banyak pelajar yang menuntut pelajaran di luar negara akan menhadapi banyak cabaran seperti home-sick. Dan kita juga mendapati bahawa banyak pelajar yang mendapat 'straight As' dalam SPM gagal dalam peperiksaan luar negara, apakah pandangan anda?
A: Dalam pandangan saya, berbanding dengan luar negara, terdapat banyak perkara yang tidak terdapat di Malaysia seperti Holand, dadah merupakan bahan 'legal' tetapi 'even drug trafficking' dalam Malaysia adalah hukuman gantung sampai mati. Dan terdapat banyak 'night club' dan 'bars' di negara luar seperti UK dan Perancis di merata-rata tempat manakala tempat-tempat tersebut hanya wujud di beberapa tempat dalam sebuah bandar. Oleh itu, saya berpendapat bahawa kekuatan iman dan agama amat penting to 'resist those temptings'. Objektif yang paling penting adalah masih mendapat keputusan baik dan balik ke negara untuk 'serve the people'. Kerana Orang Malaysia yang membayar kepada saya untuk belajar di luar negara.
Q: Jika anda mendapat post yang baik di luar negara, adakah anda akan balik ke Malaysia untuk berkhidmat?
A: Ya, kerana saya telah 'emphasise' bahawa Orang Malaysia yang membayar kepada saya untuk belajar di luar negara. Oleh itu saya harus balik to Malaysia untuk berkhidmat. Jika tidak, perkara ini akan menjadi todak adil kepada Orang Malaysia, JPA dan kerajaan.
P/S: Then another Chinese interviewee said he will stay overseas to gain experience before coming back to serve the people. And the female nodded her head again and said 'very frank', then I think OMG, did I seemed cheating?
5. Q: Any question to ask the panel? (signifies the end)
MyQ: (Quickly rose my hand), How many slots are available altogether this year.(Because I am annoyed by the news that 800++ places will be available this year.)
A: We do not know because we are not the people from JPA, you could ask the JPA people for more information. It varies every year.
Advices:-
Well, I was surprised that there were no group discussion or so on because after our batch then they need to have their lunch already. So it was very quick one, approximately 30 minutes. Before the interview, I read so many posts by seniors about the interview and I think I couldn't answer those questions, but trust me, when you're in the room. Ideas flood your head and bombard anything! :)) Speak confidently and dress properly. :amuse Good luck to subsequent interviewees!!! :wink
chelsea93
13-04-2011, 02:47 PM
Course applied: DENTISTRY
Venue: USM PENANG (8.50 am) (Number 5) (Panel 6)
Experience:
Reached USM at 8.15. By that time, there were LOADS of people, parents interviewees etc. I was peeping through the car window and i was like :huh Why is no one wearing Baju Kurung?? Damn, am i the only one?! but when i came down, i saw some girls wearing. Most of them were wearing formal attire though.
My dad was saying "Ahh, all these students, the cream of the country!"
I was like :fist "The cream of the Penang STATE only lah, Pa"
And he's like "Oh, yeah :P"
:roflmao
Searched my name in the list on the board. Signed my name, went to the Panel 6 counter and signed my name again. Gave my folder to the lady at the counter. She told me to sit and wait with a group of people, my Panel 6 group members.
The first few minutes were like :sweat *awkward *smile smile *awkward :grin
After that we started to talk a little, introduce ourselves, whats your name, what school, what course are you applying for etc etc.
My group consists of 5 people--3 guys 2 girls (including me). All of us are applying for Dentistry except the other girl who is applying for Pharmacy. All are Chinese.
We waited, the lady came, took us upstairs (the Panel 6 room was upstairs), we sat outside the room, waited some more. Talk a little more. Then, the group before us came out of the room, looking all happy and relieved. My heart was like beating so fast, almost vibrating :nerve
At around 9, we went in. Since i was no5, i closed the door after me. We stood in front of our chairs, smile smile, and sat after a man (one of the panel) told us to.
There were 3 interviewers--1 Malay man, 2 Malay ladies. All of them were smiling, but you could tell that these people are pros, highly educated respected and all. No fooling around with these people.
The man (he sat in the middle) introduced himself and the 2 ladies. He was some electronic (or is it electrical?) engineer. One lady was a linguist, the other was a mathematician. He said there were 2 sections in the interview. Introduction (in BM) and discussion (in ENG).
First, introduction. In my opinion, my intro was a bit too short compared to others cause i suddenly forgot what i planned to include in my intro, BUSTED! So i just ended with a silly grin and a "Setakat ini sahaja" :whoo
The second section, discussion. We were just like having a conversation, it was quite relaxed. I stuttered a little though. The question is something like Nowadays, people, especially kids, are afraid of visiting the dentist. How do you promote dental health amongst them as a dentist and make them be more aware of dental hygiene?
Really sorry, i can't remember the sentence exactly but there you go. Actually i think this question puts girl no4 (the one applying Pharmacy) to a disadvantage because the question was mainly about dentistry. So she was kinda quiet throughout the discussion. Then the linguist lady realized this and asked her kindly "And how would you, as a pharmacist, help in promoting this?". I was thinking Gosh how to answer this kind of question?! I kinda pity her, she got stuck with a bunch of aspiring dentists and became a victim secara tidak langsung.
The next question, People's perception is that a student who obtained good grades will normally choose to pursue Medicine. They think that Dentistry is sort of like a second class compared to Medicine. As students with good grades, what do you think of this and why did all of you pick Dentistry and Pharmacy instead of Medicine? This question was okay-ish to me. It did not need much facts, just our opinion.
Then it ended. The ending was so abrupt. No "why you choose dentistry" "why you choose overseas" etc. It only lasted about 35 minutes. I'm not sure if that's good or bad *sigh
Rating: I seriously don't know, didn't think i performed well though. I would say about 6/10? *sigh
Advice/Additional Info:
Most important thing is CONFIDENCE!!! Even if they smile kindly at you when you sound like a nervous wreck, it's not a good sign. So talk like you know it even if you don't! If unsure, Goreng lah something. Just don't simply goreng until hangus :grin (means don't talk crap laa)
And remember to SMILE! Then you will look more handsome/pretty :amuse and more approachable. Good impression, you know.
Elaborate on your points and opinions, they just want to listen to what you have to say, so explain in detail. That way, you won't have to crack your brain for too many points (just focus on 1/2 points) and still have lots of things to say.
Make friends with your group members. It really helps to ease your nerves.
And talk clearly. Don't mumble.
P/S: I hope this helps. I'm just so glad it's over and it will soon be over for you guys, so do your best and make the panel LOVE you! GOOD LUCK!
yiling
13-04-2011, 04:32 PM
Experience of a friend of mine. He wanted to be anonymous
Course applied: Medicine
Venue: INTEC, UiTM
Experience:
My experience in the interview for the scholarship provided by the Public Service Department was exciting and unexpected. I went there at 8.00am and met minor traffic jam along the highway to Shah Alam. Reaching there at 9.00am, I immediately entered the Block W of INTEC in University Teknologi Mara. I saw a crowd staring at 3 boards, searching for the name of shortlisted candidates. I found my name at the Panel 1 at 9.40am column. I went up the staircase together. The staircase was small and can only accommodate two thin persons at most. I entered the waiting room to register and got the Number 3 after handed my documents to the officer in-charge.
I realised I was the only boy for that time being. Basically, there were five persons per panel, but since one was absent, we were comprised three girls and one boy (two of the girls applied for dentistry whereas the other one applied medicine course as I did). At 9.30am, we were called by the officer to enter the interview room. There were three interviewers (two men and one woman). We were greeted and asked two basic questions: “have you had your breakfast?” and “have you had your lunch?”. I knew their intention was to reduce our stress levels. Then, we were asked to introduce ourselves with name, family backgrounds and co-curricular achievements included in our introductions. I could say that I started to stagger as I felt the nervousness building up and the adrenaline making my heart pump harder. However, after a while, I found myself relaxing as I began to enjoy the interview session. Below were the questions they asked to us:
1.) Who is your favourite idol besides your family members?
2.) Mengapakah pendermaan organ tidak popular di Malaysia? (Why is the organ donation not popular in Malaysia?)
3.) What quality should a doctor have?
Last but not least, they asked us to ask them a question or thank them if you want. I chose to thank them as appreciation (hope I did not regret). I shook the male interviewers’ hands and bowed to the female interviewer (warning: do not simply shake the opposite sex’s hands, especially when you are a boy candidate and that interviewer is a Malay woman! I know that there are some who are open-minded but it is better to take note of this).
I could say that research is a must before entering the interview room and enjoy the whole session as it would be your last moment in that room. Passionate and natural smile would be a bonus point during the interview session and bringing a notebook would not harm you from jotting down some points before you speak. Greet to the interviewers is a good plus point to give them a great impression. The most important thing everyone must do for the entire interview session is to be CALM.
vampiric_guy_01
13-04-2011, 05:44 PM
for those who haven't gone to the interview (female) be sure about ur attire for those who going to wear skirt (the formal type) .... make sure its at appropriate length .... you are interviewed for scholarship not for secretary post :notrust from what i observed today and yesterday at my college as there's interview held
kumiko_teah
13-04-2011, 06:29 PM
Wow,other people seems had a killing interview though. mine was like okey..
Course: Korea Engineering
Venue: USM,Penang
Placement: 2.05 p.m. | Panel 3 | 2 male interviewers 2 female interviewers| 4 interviewees consist of 2 females, 2 male | time : 1 hour and 5 minutes i think
Extra: Paper and pen are not provided | Group discussion | No shooting |No notebooks, bags allowed
Questions:
Introduction (Malay because he asked us in Malay but girl asked permission 2 answer in english and got the permission.)
They asked us to tell more in details about our applied course.
Kenapa awak pilih korea ek? terinigin juga nak tahu.
What sparks you in chemical engineering?
Discussion: 1.How will you promote malaysia in other country
Dicsuccion: 2. what is ur opinion about day without plastic bags?
more details u can go to http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=356162&postcount=45
Advice: smile and don't be nervous. Make sure u don't slouch on ur chairs. sit upright. and be honest. Honesty is the best policy..^^
hwaiting~!
leeashroe
13-04-2011, 08:18 PM
Course : Economics (Sastera Ikhtisas)
Venue : UTM, Skudai, Johore
Placement :
- 3 interviewers : an engineer/lecturer, a gynaecologist/lecturer, an administration member of UiTM (or maybe a Lecturer too, I am not so sure)
- 5 students interviewed : 2 applying for Law, 1 German Engineering, 1 Sastera Ikhtisas Timur Tengah, 1 Sastera Ikhtisas (me)
Questions
1. Introduce yourself, your family background, the course you're applying for and the country you're hoping to go.
Law
- terangkan sistem perundangan di Malaysia
- Di bahagian Mahkamah yang manakah anda lihat diri anda bekerja?
- Will you work for the government or the private sector?
Engineering
- Do you know the consequences of doing engineering in Germany?
(# You will have to do 30 months of preparation here in Malaysia first before going to Germany)
- The boy applied for ChemE, and Germany is well-known for MechE, so the interviewer asked for his reasons
- Apakah kelebihan German yang menarik minat anda untuk belajar di sana?
Sastera Ikhtisas
- For the Timur Tengah : sekiranya anda ditawarkan untuk membuat Masters di Jordan, adakah anda akan buat? Bila anda mahu pulang ke Malaysia? Adakah anda akan berkahwin di sana?
- for both of us : Sebagai ahli ekonomi, pada pendapat anda apakah lagi yang perlu dilakukan untuk meningkatkan ekonomi negara?
Rate : 6/10 I think I could do better :/
Advice : Since I slouch, the whole hour was too painful for me. So if you slouch, please practice sitting straightly at home first. You don't need papers and pens by the way. And I believe "Saya akan pulang ke Malaysia kerana impian saya adalah untuk berbakti kepada negara" is a cliched, overly-used statement that we still have to use. Is there any other way to rephrase this statement? I honestly have no idea how to.
Good luck guys! :)
Cathie
13-04-2011, 08:35 PM
Course: Japan Engineering
Venue: Kelantan
Placement: 9:40 a.m. | Panel 2 | 3 male interviewers | 5 interviewees consist of 3 females, 2 males | about 40 minutes
Extra: Paper is provided but not used, pen is not provided | No group discussion | Yes to shooting
Questions:
Introduction (didn't specific) (Eng)
Why choose the course? (Eng)
Why choose that country? (Eng & Malay)
Name famous architect in Malaysia? How about the world? (Eng)
You choose architectual but you've no subjects that's related to it during High School so, why is it like this? (Malay)
They ask something about the brand of cars made from France (Eng)
Name famous lawyer in Malaysia? In Kelantan too. (Eng)
Recent court issues (Malay)
What can the Japanese engineers do to improve the safety of building (I think) when another earthquake hits? (Malay I think)
Do you want to go overseas by your own accord? Or there's influence (Malay)
This is just the summary of my session since I'm sure there's people here who's going for the noon sessions and is waiting for people to post. I will edit this with a link to my LJ after I write a proper full account of it.
Note: Those particular questions that ask about particular subject is directed to particular student applying for that particular course | Good luck to the later interview sessions and the future ones!
A tough one... I think!
weiliang
13-04-2011, 10:10 PM
Experience of a friend of mine. He wanted to be anonymous
Course applied: Medicine
Experience:
My experience in the interview for the scholarship provided by the Public Service Department was exciting and unexpected. I went there at 8.00am and met minor traffic jam along the highway to Shah Alam. Reaching there at 9.00am, I immediately entered the Block W of INTEC in University Teknologi Mara. I saw a crowd staring at 3 boards, searching for the name of shortlisted candidates. I found my name at the Panel 1 at 9.40am column. I went up the staircase together. The staircase was small and can only accommodate two thin persons at most. I entered the waiting room to register and got the Number 3 after handed my documents to the officer in-charge.
I realised I was the only boy for that time being. Basically, there were five persons per panel, but since one was absent, we were comprised three girls and one boy (two of the girls applied for dentistry whereas the other one applied medicine course as I did). At 9.30am, we were called by the officer to enter the interview room. There were three interviewers (two men and one woman). We were greeted and asked two basic questions: ?have you had your breakfast?? and ?have you had your lunch??. I knew their intention was to reduce our stress levels. Then, we were asked to introduce ourselves with name, family backgrounds and co-curricular achievements included in our introductions. I could say that I started to stagger as I felt the nervousness building up and the adrenaline making my heart pump harder. However, after a while, I found myself relaxing as I began to enjoy the interview session. Below were the questions they asked to us:
1.) Who is your favourite idol besides your family members?
2.) Mengapakah pendermaan organ tidak popular di Malaysia? (Why is the organ donation not popular in Malaysia?)
3.) What quality should a doctor have?
Last but not least, they asked us to ask them a question or thank them if you want. I chose to thank them as appreciation (hope I did not regret). I shook the male interviewers? hands and bowed to the female interviewer (warning: do not simply shake the opposite sex?s hands, especially when you are a boy candidate and that interviewer is a Malay woman! I know that there are some who are open-minded but it is better to take note of this).
I could say that research is a must before entering the interview room and enjoy the whole session as it would be your last moment in that room. Passionate and natural smile would be a bonus point during the interview session and bringing a notebook would not harm you from jotting down some points before you speak. Greet to the interviewers is a good plus point to give them a great impression. The most important thing everyone must do for the entire interview session is to be CALM.
yiling, that "anonymous" called me to come here to see what you posted here. lol
mraazlan
13-04-2011, 10:19 PM
Ini hanyalah temuduga dan pengalaman saya. Each interviews are differ from others depends on the interviewers itself.
Course Applied: Diploma Kejuruteraan Jepun
Venue: INTEC, Shah Alam
Date / Time: 13 April 2011 / 2.55 pm.
I think the most important things to get a scholarship is to be what they want us to be. For me, I only get 9A's and a B, mostly who gets straight A's will applied engineering in Europe. So I chose Japan.
Preparation Before.
Make sure u did prepare all the documents a day earlier. Kalau tidak jadi kelam kabut lah macam saya. -__-
I did make some research on my course and a bit of current issues. I didn't arrive too early yet too late. I had been inform to come thirty minute early so I came around 2.
I think I was lucky because most of the interviewee from the same panel with me were already there (I was in panel 2). So I approached one of them, and the others starting to approach me back.
They were Loga (German Engineering), Nicole (Economics), Joy (Seni Bina) and Hasif (ASIS-German Engineering) in my group.
The Interview
We did the introduction in BI and I was asked to do it in Japan. So I did it and one of the interviewers was like "Oh, I only know Sayonara" haha. Oh there were 3 beautiful woman as the interviewers. One is a Chemical Engineer and others are both Professors. Secara keseluruhan introduction saya agak laju dan kelakar. Pastikan anda mendengar soalan dengan betul dan fokus, senyum sikit2. Alolo.
So after the introduction, we were ask about what courses are we taking and why. Most of us spend about 20 minutes on this -____- HAHA and I'm glad we did. I didnt expect that they would ask me specifically on Japan but they did. They asked me about the tea ceremony, highest mountain in Japan and technology on bullet in Japan. Apa yang saya tahu saya jawab dengan yakin dan elaborate, apa yang saya kurang pasti saya cakap saya kurang pasti dan tidak tahu. Atau jawapan cliche "I've heard about it but I didnt study about it further yet, sorry" HAHA
We didn't have group discussion and I was really glad. We took so much time talking about our courses and what will we contribute to the nation if we get to graduate. And I was surprised that our interview took up about 1 hour +++ and akak yang dekat ruang menunggu tu pun tanya "eh kenapa lama sangat td?". So, the key is talk talk and keep talking kalau nak elakkan group discussion HAHA jk jk.
Overall I think it was a great experience. Just be yourself and relax. Show them respect and smile. Oh I think it was 80% in Bi and 20% in Malay.
If Loga, Nicole, Joy or Hasif happens to read this, do say hi to me and exchange our Facebook link (mine is Amira Ilyani Azlan) . I'm looking forward for your updates :)
After The Interview
People were approaching me and asked how was it. Feel free to share your experiences. So I did exchange our Facebook link and wishes them good luck.
So these are some questions given to me and others in the group and some are from my friends who did the interview today.
1) Do you know about green building? Green Technology?
2) Nowadays, children attitude towards parents are getting worst. what should parents do?
3) Should children choose the course to study by themselves or their parent?
4) Why want to go oversea not local?
5) What are the ratio of engineers in Malaysia, and is Malaysia having a shortage of engineers?
The answer is yes, but I didnt know the ratio. Malaysia has 60000 engineers but we need 200000. Even Singapore has 100000. -___-
6) What are the qualities Malaysia citizens should have?
7) They are talking about changing the Malaysian tertiary education system from English to Malay. What is your opinion? Something on PPSMI I think.
8) The technology in that country.>>>> For me, bullets in Japan. Gonna do some research. HEHE
9) How will u contribute to the nation.
Good Luck :) and sorry for the grammar mistakes. :p
Feel free to ask me anything. mirailyn@<hidden>
*such a long entry, haha sorry, cant help it. -.-''
iAdoreNaz
13-04-2011, 10:27 PM
Ini hanyalah temuduga dan pengalaman saya. Each interviews are differ from others depends on the interviewers itself.
Course Applied: Diploma Kejuruteraan Jepun
Venue: INTEC, Shah Alam
Date / Time: 13 April 2011 / 2.55 pm.
I think the most important things to get a scholarship is to be what they want us to be. For me, I only get 9A's and a B, mostly who gets straight A's will applied engineering in Europe. So I chose Japan.
Preparation Before.
Make sure u did prepare all the documents a day earlier. Kalau tidak jadi kelam kabut lah macam saya. -__-
I did make some research on my course and a bit of current issues. I didn't arrive too early yet too late. I had been inform to come thirty minute early so I came around 2.
I think I was lucky because most of the interviewee from the same panel with me were already there (I was in panel 2). So I approached one of them, and the others starting to approach me back.
They were Loga (German Engineering), Nicole (Economics), Joy (Seni Bina) and Hasif (ASIS-German Engineering) in my group.
The Interview
We did the introduction in BI and I was asked to do it in Japan. So I did it and one of the interviewers was like "Oh, I only know Sayonara" haha. Oh there were 3 beautiful woman as the interviewers. One is a Chemical Engineer and others are both Professors. Secara keseluruhan introduction saya agak laju dan kelakar. Pastikan anda mendengar soalan dengan betul dan fokus, senyum sikit2. Alolo.
So after the introduction, we were ask about why we took the courses and why. Most of us spend about 20 minutes on this -____- HAHA and I'm glad we did. I didnt expect that they would ask me specifically on Japan but they did. They asked me about the tea ceremony, highest mountain in Japan and technology on bullet in Japan. Apa yang saya tahu saya jawab dengan yakin dan elaborate, apa yang saya kurang pasti saya cakap saya kurang pasti dan tidak tahu. Atau jawapan cliche "I've heard about it but I didnt study about it further yet, sorry" HAHA
We didn't have group discussion and I was really glad. We took so much time talking about our courses and what will we contribute to the nation if we get to graduate. And I was surprised that our interview took up about 1 hour +++ and akak yang dekat ruang menunggu tu pun tanya "eh kenapa lama sangat td?". So, the key is talk talk and keep talking kalau nak elakkan group discussion HAHA jk jk.
Overall I think it was a great experience. Just be yourself and relax. Show them respect and smile. Oh I think it was 80% in Bi and 20% in Malay.
If Loga, Nicole, Joy or Hasif happens to read this, do say hi to me and exchange our Facebook link (mine is Amira Ilyani Azlan) . I'm looking forward for your updates :)
After The Interview
People were approaching me and asked how was it. Feel free to share your experiences. So I did exchange our Facebook link and wishes them good luck.
So these are some questions given to me and others in the group and some are from my friends who did the interview today.
1) Do you know about green building? Green Technology?
2) Nowadays, children attitude towards parents are getting worst. what should parents do?
3) Should children choose the course to study by themselves or their parent?
4) Why want to go oversea not local?
5) What are the ratio of engineers in Malaysia, and is Malaysia having a shortage of engineers?
The answer is yes, but I didnt know the ratio. Malaysia has 60000 engineers but we need 200000. Even Singapore has 100000. -___-
6) What are the qualities Malaysia citizens should have?
7) They are talking about changing the Malaysian tertiary education system from English to Malay. What is your opinion? Something on PPSMI I think.
8) The technology in that country.>>>> For me, bullets in Japan. Gonna do some research. HEHE
9) How will u contribute to the nation.
Good Luck :) and sorry for the grammar mistakes. :p
Feel free to ask me anything. mirailyn@<hidden>
*such a long entry, haha sorry, cant help it. -.-''
This one is indeed very useful. I've read a little bit about Green Technology and it turns out it's indeed might be one of the topic of discussion during the interview. Have to make a thorough research on it. And also, did you took any Japanese Class before because seems like in the first place you're introducing urself in Japanese? and also, the technology that I know about Korea is not much only ---- hehe.. XD
mraazlan
13-04-2011, 10:59 PM
This one is indeed very useful. I've read a little bit about Green Technology and it turns out it's indeed might be one of the topic of discussion during the interview. Have to make a thorough research on it. And also, did you took any Japanese Class before because seems like in the first place you're introducing urself in Japanese? and also, the technology that I know about Korea is not much only ---- hehe.. XD
oh thank u, i didnt take any classes, most of my friends are chinese and they like to watch Japanese movies. So they ask me to prepare on japan introduction and luckily i get the chance to use it. I had also learn a bit from bbc website to learn a bit about japanese.
I also got shock when they asked specifically about japan technology and german technology (to my friend). So u're taking korea? when is ur interview? :))
miza_kakcik
13-04-2011, 11:16 PM
Course: Sastera Ikhtisas
Venue: Kompleks Sukan, Ipoh
Time: 4.20pm (1hour 20min) PANEL 1
(3boys 3girls / 2malays (I'm one of them) 4chinese)
Interviewers: 2ladies 1man
1st Question (Malay):
Introduce yourselves, family background and some about your careers. (Start from no1 to 6-I'm the last) In this section, some of us are asked in deeply about our courses, some are not.
Mine: I've introduced myself just like the others. Then, they ask me, "Are you eligible to study in oversea with your condition ? (I'm physically disabled)
Haha .. What to answer ? Seems like they test me how to handle a situation when someone looks down at me. I guess.
Group discussion (English): As we know, many Malaysian students in oversea refuse to come back to Malaysia and devote their service to nation and country. How to overcome this problem ? (We are allowed to discuss among us, but we choose just to suggest by our own opinions)
Advise: Be careful on what you have said in your introduction. They might ask you questions based on that. What ever it is, enjoy your interview. It's really exciting.
p/s: Thanks to Recomers. You guys help me a lot to attend my interview.
iAdoreNaz
13-04-2011, 11:55 PM
oh thank u, i didnt take any classes, most of my friends are chinese and they like to watch Japanese movies. So they ask me to prepare on japan introduction and luckily i get the chance to use it. I had also learn a bit from bbc website to learn a bit about japanese.
I also got shock when they asked specifically about japan technology and german technology (to my friend). So u're taking korea? when is ur interview? :))
I don't think we can discuss here.
But, let's make it like we're sharing stuff.Well we're indeed sharing right now right?. Wow.. you're very lucky to get the opportunity to introduce urself in Japanese. Did u told them that you know a lil bit of Japanese?.. I also know a lil bit of Korean , like.. Cho Neun --- Im Ni Da ( My name is ---- ) .. etc etc.. I already can read a lil bit of hangeul, but didn't really understand it's meaning yet. So, I hope I can tell them that I've learn some from the Net during my holiday and so my chances to get scholarship is brighter ( in some way ). About the technology. I'm very happy that you mentioned it because I just know this one company that's very well known in Korea without knowing any other detailed on it. So, after that , I made a thorough research and found it, it's not just cellphone company but also hydrocarbon plant, etc etc :) :):).. I feel like I've some grammatical mistake there and my english word is not in it's proper place ( how to explain this? ) LOL..
I wen ther 2 hrs earlier, sat ther take some fresh air alltough its nt fresh enuf. i gt PANEL 7 wic have 3 guys , 2 malays looks like dato (one of them la he is so nice n polite to me n he respect ma ambition) n the man tat shooooot me is the Doctor i guess so wic is the chinese guy. im the fist for ma grup of 5. im indian(medic), chinese guy (medic), 2 chinese gils( pharmacy n dentist).
start wt me in bi " OK TELL ME ABUT UR SELF". I ans bla bla bla n told that i have a strong leadership skills as i hold few ktua post is ma skoll n in ns i was ktua kompeni. tis is the time the doc started "tell me abut ur leadership"
"wats the main charecter of a leader" "hw u will make ppl folow u?" "wats the connestion of ur learder ship skill to ur ambition as doctr?". then later after ask the others at the last gil he asked her "wat do u tink abut condom usage in preventng pregnancy then cn condom avoid hiv" i was relaks coz i tout its 4 her bt i was really focus. he suddenly asked 4 ma oppinion abut condom in pregnancy prevention. i dn nw wat i tink i told him "condom shud nt exist n shudnt be used in tis wold, coz fist pregnancy is a natural fenomena tat happens gift by god, bcoz of condom alot of students having sex b4 mariage, loose their verginity n bla bla bla, lastly i belif that human shud nt use condom" then he replied
" THEN I BELIF THAT U CANT BECOME A DOCTOR"
I TURN PUCAT I WANNA KISK HIM THER BT I KNW MAYBE HE JUST TESTING ME siko. im keep on smiling n ans all questn
they asked me "other than medic gt any other career that u wan to do?" my ans" i never tink abut the other carrer coz i have the intrest sice 11 years old due to ma dad death. i feel its ma responsibity to explain to public hw to avoid deseases, n have a healthy life style" he asked me " then u cn become a normal officer in jabatan kesihatan rather than bcom doc, coz they also cn explain" i ansd " ya i cn abut if as a doc i'll be having a great expreinces abut disseases n cases of deseas that cause death, so i cn explain to public tell them the true cases n make them realise as a lesson".
the jpa officer ask me abut one disease that i dn knw i tell him " sorry sir i never have a tout on tis, cn u explain to me ?"
he sooo nice he explain n he said"that patient suffering n he wants u to take his life will u do that MERCY KILLING" i cnfidenty ans "not at all sir, as a doct ma job is to save ppl life n not take ppl life" then wat u will do "i'll gve him advice, treat him gt help 4m senior doc bla bla bla"
the grup discussion in bm(luckily im relaks tat time) DOKTOR MASA SKRANG TAK NAK BERKHIDMAT DEKAT KAWS PEDALAMAN APA PATUT KRJN BUAT SPY MRK AKAN KEJA KAT SANA" HAHAHAHHAHAHHA
all are silent as usual i start it with a point kerj n kena naik gaji n bagi elaun tambahan n he shoot me back says krjn dah buat smua tu tapi doc kata kawsn tu tak de life. k then they second n tird student talked. suddenly the tird bcome silent
then i asked permision to talk he allow me " krjn harus gbal undang2, wajib kan doc tu keja kat sana. then again the oter turns afta the last one finissh they panel still waiting, and all silent, i came again " blh ssaya tambah lagi, kita blh hantar doc keja kat kampung masing2 nanti tak kan timbul istilah tak de life krn itu tmpt lahir mrk." he asked me " klau mcm tu bdak bdak kat pedalam yg dpt 3 atau 4 A dlm spm patut diber pluang buat medic" i say" ya mrk patut jika mrk mempunyai minat n beri pluang buat assai n then tengok markah klau lepas had kita patut bg mrk juga" he asked me again"so lpas mrk blaja kita kena halau n paksa mrk balik la" "i said "bukan paksa, sblm mrk pegi belaja sain kontrak lpas blaja mrk keja lah kat sana , lagi pun tuk mrk tak bosan buat kitaran satu dok tu tugas kat pedalam tuk 2 blm pastu tukar tukar n tukar dr bandar ke pedalaman"
omg im confident that i done my level best n i had never talked in english tis long oni ma grup discussion was in bm. hahah actually afta gone tru tis i fell its normal. hahah just waiting 4 a good news tis end of april haha. . i wanna tell the doc tat "no matter wat happen (end of the wold also) i will find a way to achieve ma dream to become a doctor " i tink so that doc has to cumto hospital at one time so i'll meet him ther. thanks actually they just testing me . huhu anyway nice experince. JPA SCHOLARSHIP INTERVIEW "if got spelling mistakes sorry k" just wanna share with u guys
This is the link.. Took it from someone without his permission LOLz..
http://www.facebook.com/notes/thilip-kumar-ragavan/jpa-interview-pengajian-ijazah-luar-negara-bagi-program-perubatan-1342011-at-int/10150169708367958
charginup
14-04-2011, 11:27 AM
Venue: Kompleks Kuliah STUVW USM
Time: 3.45pm, Panel 2
Course: Dentistry
Experience:
In the morning I rushed to school because I still have a few I/Cs to certify, which turned out to be useless afterwards.
Dad came back during lunch hour, hopped on and rushed to USM at 12pm.
Arrived at 12.35pm. 3 hours left until my interview.
Tried to register but the clerk told me to makan dulu. I asked makan kat mana and she said I DON'T KNOW. So I ate my sandwich and my Milo right there in the waiting area while waiting for schoolmates.
Finally get to sign my name, clerk asked where have you been I've been yelling your name for so many times. I gave a weak smile. Then she asked me why so many copies of I/C and I shrugged. Chatted for a few moments with a BM High School girl called Agnes. XD
There are 6 people in our panel, the sixth because her name wasn't in the list and she mistakenly chose Pergigian Timur Tengah and had to call the JPA the previous day to change her course so she can go to interview.
Anyway.
Girl no.1 = Chung Ling Butterworth, forgot her name so I'll call her CLB. Applying for Medicine, 9A+.
No.2 = That's me.
Boy no.3 = Malay. Forgot his name so I'll call him Malay. Medicine.
Boy no.4 = Chung Ling Penang, the SMJK. Forgot his name too (I suck at remembering names.) so he'll be CLP. Medicine.
Girl no.5 = Agnes, Dentistry. 8A+.
Girl no.6 = St. George, Dentistry, 9A+, Dentistry. Forgot her name too, so she'll be George.
Oh yeah, everyone's fluent in both BM and BI. So that sucks. A lot.
We were usherred to the room and asked to sat outside for a while. Malay was shaking a bit so I asked him are you nervous. He ignored me and I asked him again then he shook his head. Before we went into the room I asked everyone to NOT KILL EACH OTHER.
Went inside, greeted the interviewers. All Malay female doctors. Yikes. everyone sat in their chairs except for me and CLB, then they saw us standing they quickly jumped up. Asked to sit down, told we will have to introduce ourselves, our maklumat peribadi, keluarga dan kursus pilihan and they will be watching out responses and body movements and tone and maturity etc etc. She asked in Malay.
CLB went first. I was a bit worried for her since she sounded like she memorized everything. She even talked about her school being very famous and she play badminton with her adik-adik. Then my turn. I jotted down the words peribadi, keluarga, akademik, ko-k, kursus and negara on my paper during CLB's turn and I talked about everything impromptu. I was a bit awed by myself for speaking Malay so fluently XD. I greeted them selamat pagi slaam sejahtera salam 1 malaysia kpd puan-puan dan saudara saudari yang saya baru kenali kat luar and the interviewers grinned. Hmm, good sign I guess. So I continued harap-harap puan-puan semua sihat kenyang dan tidak bosan. More grins.
The interviewers kept smiling and nodding at me during my intro and I talked jovially, like they're my neighbours. I even use some body movements, hope that doesn't make me immature. I was talking for quite a long time and they thought I was finished after I said my kursus pilihan but I raised my hand and said saya belum habis lagi and kept talking about why I love ireland.
Malay was crossing his arms during his intro and talked with full arrogance. He said he was inspired by the word Humanity and thought of doctors and teachers and since he's bad at teaching so he wanted to be a doctor. I said before that my dad's gonna retire next year and we have to bergantung kpd pencennya so Malay said my dad already has pencen in his intro. Good thing he said ko-k saya tidak banyak hanya taekwondo sahaja.
Then CLP, who's also in NS, said he wanted to be a pathologist for forensics or something because lots of cases unsolved in Malaysia needs the help from more forensic doctors or something. I raised my eyebrows. He said he wanted to go to India because LOTS OF MAYAT there and everyone laughed :lmao, except Malay.
Agnes was quite good too, president of a few clubs. Then the last one, George. She talked talked talked for a very long time about her mission to put a smile in everyone. She talks about her volunteering work and how good she is and she teaches little kids English.
Question time. No group discussion whatsoever.
First one doktor muda perlu berkhidmat di kawasan pedalaman lebih lama apa pendapat kamu?
We all agreed of course, but I only managed to raise 1 point, that is doktor muda can learn a new thing in pedalaman and doctor's kewajipan is to heal not to live in big cities like KL or London. Damn, Malay said Hippocrate's Oath. George refined the previous points by others and talked for a long time.
Second would you continue your masters overseas to gain more experience or would you come back to Malaysia to do housemanship. I'm the first, and I think I talked too freely, as if I'm talking to my buddies. I raised only a point or two while others a lot, especially George. Malay shoot our points and we all, except George, thought WTF are you doing?!:mad
Third, BM or BI, let's say you became a doctor/dentist what would you do to decrease number of smokers among teenagers? I'm the first to answer, so I said teens are very self-concious and they are very concerned about their images so if they know smoking can turn your eyes and teeth yellow and causes bad breath they wouldn't smoke so as a dentist I would use education to decrease number of smokers...
I raised only 1 point, again, and the others A LOT. Malay talked about agama and his dad not being a smoker anymore because he's concerned wth his children and I wondered whether that has ANYTHING to do with being a doctor. George talked even more, like through education for prevention, and invent something that looks like a cigarette but it's filled with healthy stuff so you inhale healthy stuff instead of smoke. Agnes and CLB talked about kempen.
The interviewers then said as a doctor/dentist we should prevent, educate, cure and something else and they praised almost everyone except me although most of their points has nothing to do with being a doctor/dentist. Damn it.
Then the interview's over and I thought !!!!!!! where is the why you deserve the scholarship question? but I can't just raised my hand and tell them that so I suck it up, shaked hands with the interviewers and left.:cry
Rating: Rate me instead?
Advices:
Don't be nervous. No one in my panel were.
Make sure to do research about your course and country. I did, but I wasn't asked about it.
Brush up Malay and English. If you think you can't communicate well in either one, you're in deep trouble.
Be sure to tell them why you deserve, why you choose this course and country etc etc. They can't read your mind, so tell them everything, make them understand you.
Good results and co-curriculum are IMPORTANT.
Never cross your legs or shake your legs or look elsewhere.
SMILE!!!:)
Oh yeah by the way there's 8000 interviewees and 1000 spots instead of 300. The interviewer told me that while I was waiting for my dad to pick me up while she's waiting for someone, probably her husband, to drive her home.
weiliang
14-04-2011, 12:32 PM
Something I feel that I need to give back to recommers since recom gives me so much already!
Course applied: Kejuruteraan Perancis (Engineering in France)
Time : 9.40am - 14th April 2011
Experience:
Uhm, it's not that nervous actually. I'm going to type it out in case I have Alzheimer 's disease. I reach UiTM at about 8.15 am and there are already many parents out there. I saw many of my high school friends name on the list there. I'm in Panel 11. Luckily I'm not in the same panel as Wansiang and Manie (they are both 9.40am one!). After waiting for some time I went to the second floor for registration. I handed over my clear holder with my important documents inside, and the two pegawais seems to doubt my testimonial. Oh! At that time there are only two of us out of five of the panel 11 there. So we kinda hope that there are only two of us there so they have more questions for us. The two pegawais glance through my certificates and asked me some questions. They even ask me how can you survive when both your parents retired? I said why not? LOL then they ask about how do I get my income? I said my brother and sister are the twos who are giving me money.
Here comes the most exciting part, the interview! There are five people in panel 11, two malay girls, one Chinese girl and two Chinese guy. 3 panels, who is a malay guy and two malay woman. I got number 5 btw. Firstly, they asked us to introduce ourselves in BM.
- The first malay girl was xxx farah xxx (sorry I'm not good at remembering malay names) ..5 siblings... mother is a teacher..father I?m not sure?wants to study accounting
- The second malay girl was siti something I think. (sorry again!). She wants to study Engineering in Germany. Her brother got offered by jpa but he reject. President of this, Vice president for that, Bendahari for this, blablabla....
- The third Chinese girl was Lim Wen xxxx (I don?t think I want to mention the full name here). She studied in SMK Kota Kemuning!! Wow! I know so many primary school friends from there! She wants to be an accountant. Parents are penjaja..blablabla, don't remember much
- The fourth Chinese guy is someone worth mentioning here. His name was So xxx xxxx. To quote him "I came from Sekinchan and I lost my way here. Luckily I met a malay guy who knows where is UiTM and he brought me here" then he mentioned about 1 Malaysia spirit "I'm really grateful to be in Malaysia which...blablabla....1 Malaysia...blablabla". Walao eh, such dramatic pls. Then he tell about his CCAs...president of kelab Bola Petang (sounds like bola petang / Petak). The interviewer said they don't know what is bola petang, so he explained and caught their attention. Then mssd, taekwondo black belt. Another quote from him "actually I'm very regret that I don't have A+ in SPM accounts as I got 94 for my trials, I am really confident...i appealed..." . In my heart: "I got 26 for my SPM accounts trials and I scored A for SPM! LOL, from F to A". The interviewers are really impressed by him! (Note: I know after some time, eventually you will read this..so I said sorry first!)
- The fifth guy is me. So I said I want to do chemical engineering. And they ask me did you apply UPU (some scholarship for local u I think)?? I said I never heard of it. None of us ever heard of it. Wow, is that a bad thing??
First question: What have you prepared for this interview?? Asked by one of the malay woman. I think she just want to shoot the 4th guy who didn't make survey, how to come to UiTM?. Again, quote the 4th guy "actually I didn't prepare much, as I want the interviewer to see the true me". So Cliche! The other 4 of us just answering the usual thing, do survey, check out internet about the course we chose?blablabla
Second question: Technology is very important nowadays. Do you agree? Tell us about your personal experience. I said we can use to chat with people which sometimes we don't like/don't dare to talk to face-to-face, and other stuff like stay connected with people? Others said the usual boring stuff (I think mine is in that category too) like can facebook, GPS, surf internet, youtube, skype?blablabla
Third question: How can we make Malaysian a first class mentality people (sounds like that)? The 3rd girl mentioned "first class infrastructure, third class mentality" must apply what we learnt in daily life. The first two girls mentioned the government should ....blablabla. I mentioned things like we must be initiative, everything starts from ourselves, what gov do is still the minority, we are the most important part to make Malaysian a first class mentality people?.blablabla
Before we left the room, they asked us whether got any questions for them? I asked "how do you think of 5 of us?" LOL. They just ignored me. The 4th guy asked "what are my weaknesses in this interview?" then comes words like "actually all of you are potential student...if the scholarship is from me I wanted to give to all of you, but the decision is up to the JPA, not us..blabla... After that we said thanks and good bye! Luckily they didn?t ask anything about engineering for me.
Advice: No need to be so nervous actually. And there is nothing you can prepare for the group discussion, the scope is too wide! When you are in the room ideas will flood your head. A voluntary action! Have LOTS of certs for jpa interview is quite important, I think.
So, I feel that 我输在嘴巴不够甜!not sure whether sweet mouth is a good thing or not la?
Bon courage!
kumiko_teah
14-04-2011, 12:40 PM
Venue: Kompleks Kuliah STUVW USM
Time: 3.45pm, Panel 2
Course: Dentistry
Experience:
In the morning I rushed to school because I still have a few I/Cs to certify, which turned out to be useless afterwards.
Dad came back during lunch hour, hopped on and rushed to USM at 12pm.
Arrived at 12.35pm. 3 hours left until my interview.
Tried to register but the clerk told me to makan dulu. I asked makan kat mana and she said I DON'T KNOW. So I ate my sandwich and my Milo right there in the waiting area while waiting for schoolmates.
Finally get to sign my name, clerk asked where have you been I've been yelling your name for so many times. I gave a weak smile. Then she asked me why so many copies of I/C and I shrugged. Chatted for a few moments with a BM High School girl called Agnes. XD
There are 6 people in our panel, the sixth because her name wasn't in the list and she mistakenly chose Pergigian Timur Tengah and had to call the JPA the previous day to change her course so she can go to interview.
Anyway.
Girl no.1 = Chung Ling Butterworth, forgot her name so I'll call her CLB. Applying for Medicine, 9A+.
No.2 = That's me.
Boy no.3 = Malay. Forgot his name so I'll call him Malay. Medicine.
Boy no.4 = Chung Ling Penang, the SMJK. Forgot his name too (I suck at remembering names.) so he'll be CLP. Medicine.
Girl no.5 = Agnes, Dentistry. 8A+.
Girl no.6 = St. George, Dentistry, 9A+, Dentistry. Forgot her name too, so she'll be George.
Oh yeah, everyone's fluent in both BM and BI. So that sucks. A lot.
We were usherred to the room and asked to sat outside for a while. Malay was shaking a bit so I asked him are you nervous. He ignored me and I asked him again then he shook his head. Before we went into the room I asked everyone to NOT KILL EACH OTHER.
Went inside, greeted the interviewers. All Malay female doctors. Yikes. everyone sat in their chairs except for me and CLB, then they saw us standing they quickly jumped up. Asked to sit down, told we will have to introduce ourselves, our maklumat peribadi, keluarga dan kursus pilihan and they will be watching out responses and body movements and tone and maturity etc etc. She asked in Malay.
CLB went first. I was a bit worried for her since she sounded like she memorized everything. She even talked about her school being very famous and she play badminton with her adik-adik. Then my turn. I jotted down the words peribadi, keluarga, akademik, ko-k, kursus and negara on my paper during CLB's turn and I talked about everything impromptu. I was a bit awed by myself for speaking Malay so fluently XD. I greeted them selamat pagi slaam sejahtera salam 1 malaysia kpd puan-puan dan saudara saudari yang saya baru kenali kat luar and the interviewers grinned. Hmm, good sign I guess. So I continued harap-harap puan-puan semua sihat kenyang dan tidak bosan. More grins.
The interviewers kept smiling and nodding at me during my intro and I talked jovially, like they're my neighbours. I even use some body movements, hope that doesn't make me immature. I was talking for quite a long time and they thought I was finished after I said my kursus pilihan but I raised my hand and said saya belum habis lagi and kept talking about why I love ireland.
Malay was crossing his arms during his intro and talked with full arrogance. He said he was inspired by the word Humanity and thought of doctors and teachers and since he's bad at teaching so he wanted to be a doctor. I said before that my dad's gonna retire next year and we have to bergantung kpd pencennya so Malay said my dad already has pencen in his intro. Good thing he said ko-k saya tidak banyak hanya taekwondo sahaja.
Then CLP, who's also in NS, said he wanted to be a pathologist for forensics or something because lots of cases unsolved in Malaysia needs the help from more forensic doctors or something. I raised my eyebrows. He said he wanted to go to India because LOTS OF MAYAT there and everyone laughed :lmao, except Malay.
Agnes was quite good too, president of a few clubs. Then the last one, George. She talked talked talked for a very long time about her mission to put a smile in everyone. She talks about her volunteering work and how good she is and she teaches little kids English.
Question time. No group discussion whatsoever.
First one doktor muda perlu berkhidmat di kawasan pedalaman lebih lama apa pendapat kamu?
We all agreed of course, but I only managed to raise 1 point, that is doktor muda can learn a new thing in pedalaman and doctor's kewajipan is to heal not to live in big cities like KL or London. Damn, Malay said Hippocrate's Oath. George refined the previous points by others and talked for a long time.
Second would you continue your masters overseas to gain more experience or would you come back to Malaysia to do housemanship. I'm the first, and I think I talked too freely, as if I'm talking to my buddies. I raised only a point or two while others a lot, especially George. Malay shoot our points and we all, except George, thought WTF are you doing?!:mad
Third, BM or BI, let's say you became a doctor/dentist what would you do to decrease number of smokers among teenagers? I'm the first to answer, so I said teens are very self-concious and they are very concerned about their images so if they know smoking can turn your eyes and teeth yellow and causes bad breath they wouldn't smoke so as a dentist I would use education to decrease number of smokers...
I raised only 1 point, again, and the others A LOT. Malay talked about agama and his dad not being a smoker anymore because he's concerned wth his children and I wondered whether that has ANYTHING to do with being a doctor. George talked even more, like through education for prevention, and invent something that looks like a cigarette but it's filled with healthy stuff so you inhale healthy stuff instead of smoke. Agnes and CLB talked about kempen.
The interviewers then said as a doctor/dentist we should prevent, educate, cure and something else and they praised almost everyone except me although most of their points has nothing to do with being a doctor/dentist. Damn it.
Then the interview's over and I thought !!!!!!! where is the why you deserve the scholarship question? but I can't just raised my hand and tell them that so I suck it up, shaked hands with the interviewers and left.:cry
Rating: Rate me instead?
Advices:
Don't be nervous. No one in my panel were.
Make sure to do research about your course and country. I did, but I wasn't asked about it.
Brush up Malay and English. If you think you can't communicate well in either one, you're in deep trouble.
Be sure to tell them why you deserve, why you choose this course and country etc etc. They can't read your mind, so tell them everything, make them understand you.
Good results and co-curriculum are IMPORTANT.
Never cross your legs or shake your legs or look elsewhere.
SMILE!!!:)
Oh yeah by the way there's 8000 interviewees and 1000 spots instead of 300. The interviewer told me that while I was waiting for my dad to pick me up while she's waiting for someone, probably her husband, to drive her home.
the malay boy are really suck. how could he do that. >.<
weiliang
14-04-2011, 01:06 PM
George talked even more, like through education for prevention, and invent something that looks like a cigarette but it's filled with healthy stuff so you inhale healthy stuff instead of smoke
awesome idea!
venue:UTM,Johor
time:12-4-2011,8am
course apply:Pharmacy
experience:
I woke up at 6.30am but I just can't helped to keep lying on the bed.lol
I wore a short sleeve shirt and a black skirt,then hopped into car and headed to UTM around 7.00am.I arrived there around 7.28am and there is really HUGEEE!omg!Although I had called UTM one day before I went for interview,but the stuff there are not-very-polite and they didn't told me that where is the place to interview(because i know UTM isn't like as small as my house>.<)at last.
Luckily,there has a signboard to show us the direction of interview.=)
So I went there and there was a lot of people were arrived.I saw the board which showed us the panel and the time of interview(but I didn't sign my name because nobody do so.)
Okay,the most exciting thing happened.I was first group to go in interview!oh my gosh...although I knew that first group has its advantages,but I couldn't helped myself to stop being so nervous!
After we checked all the documents inside the file were arranged accordingly,we were waiting and took a number tag to pin it in our shirt.
I made some new friends at there(come on!there is no harm to make some new friends!they can help you to relieve your nervous!).Unfortunately,I didn't remembered their names now(because the names are so long.lol.And I was quite vexed at that time.:notrust)
Okay,2 indian,2 malay and 1 chinese.
1 dentistry,2 medicine,2 pharmacy.
I told the indian girl who was applied the dentistry course do some mentally prepare,because she was the only one who applied dentistry and my instinct told me that she will shoot by the interviewer.lol
So,we went upstairs and waited about 3 minutes.Then,we went in!(the first person knocked the door,while we didn't needed to do so.lol)
First,said good morning to them and asked for permission to sit down(but I was too nervous and I sat down directly.damn!)
After that,the interviewer greeting to us(assalamualaikum and 1Malaysia).
Then the interviewer who sat in the middle of the other two told us needed no worry and nervous because the questions that he will ask we definitely can answer it!(Lie!lol.)
Then he told us to introduce ourselves first.We all kept quite for about 10 seconds because nobody wanna to start first.lol.Then an indian girl who applied for medicine start first.
we all intro our names,schools,the cocurriculum we had participated,family background and so on.
(Beware!the interviewers really do heard your intro carefully!So,don't cheat them :)))
then,the interviewer asked,why we wanted to study in overseas.
lol.standard and classic question.
here are the questions the interviewers asked:
1)if the JPA stop sending to send us to overseas,do we agree?why?
2)there has been a complaint that the qualities of medicine students who studied in overseas have slumped.do you think what are the reasons ?(in BM)
3)would you serve in rural area or urban after you went back to malaysia?(for interviewees who applied for medicine)
4)please tell us what are the job of pharmacy.(for interviewees who applied for pharmacy)
5)why you want to become a pharmacy?(and a interviewee said,because it is my mother's dream.lol.)
6)what are the uses of fluoride in toothpaste?(for that indian girl who applied for dentistry.lol)
7)why the children's toothpaste do not contain fluoride?
(we were all watching the indian girl pathetically.lol )
then the girl was unsure how to answer that question,then the interviewer said,'you must be forgot to ask your father about this.'then they all laugh like mad.:))
you know what,I am quite surprised that the interviewers remembered so clearly what the indian girl said when she was introducing herself!
(she said her dad is a dentist)
I still remembered that when we were interviewing,one of the interviewers whispered to the interviewer who sat in the middle,'time is up',and I saw that interviewer answered him'tak kisah!'and shook his head.lol.
Lastly,one of the interviewer wanted us to speak out what we wanted to say and spit it out all we wanted to say inside our bottom of hearts.
lol.
Then the interview was ended!:cry
shook their hands if you want,maybe it can help the interviewers impressed on you,who knows.:)
rating:4/10(my english is suck...= =)
tips:RELAX!Come on!it is just an interview!and proficient in english is so important.haiz.I screwed it up because my english is lousy.= =
so,forgive me for the grammar error in this post.=P
feel free to ask me the questions about interview.
of course,if you want to correct my grammar err,pm me.lol
MrHoww
14-04-2011, 01:56 PM
Something I feel that I need to give back to recommers since recom gives me so much already!
Course applied: Kejuruteraan Perancis (Engineering in France)
Time : 9.40am - 14th April 2011
Experience:
Uhm, it's not that nervous actually. I'm going to type it out in case I have Alzheimer 's disease. I reach UiTM at about 8.15 am and there are already many parents out there. I saw many of my high school friends name on the list there. I'm in Panel 11. Luckily I'm not in the same panel as Wansiang and Manie (they are both 9.40am one!). After waiting for some time I went to the second floor for registration. I handed over my clear holder with my important documents inside, and the two pegawais seems to doubt my testimonial. Oh! At that time there are only two of us out of five of the panel 11 there. So we kinda hope that there are only two of us there so they have more questions for us. The two pegawais glance through my certificates and asked me some questions. They even ask me how can you survive when both your parents retired? I said why not? LOL then they ask about how do I get my income? I said my brother and sister are the twos who are giving me money.
Here comes the most exciting part, the interview! There are five people in panel 11, two malay girls, one Chinese girl and two Chinese guy. 3 panels, who is a malay guy and two malay woman. I got number 5 btw. Firstly, they asked us to introduce ourselves in BM.
- The first malay girl was xxx farah xxx (sorry I'm not good at remembering malay names) ..5 siblings... mother is a teacher..father I?m not sure?wants to study accounting
- The second malay girl was siti something I think. (sorry again!). She wants to study Engineering in Germany. Her brother got offered by jpa but he reject. President of this, Vice president for that, Bendahari for this, blablabla....
- The third Chinese girl was Lim Wen xxxx (I don?t think I want to mention the full name here). She studied in SMK Kota Kemuning!! Wow! I know so many primary school friends from there! She wants to be an accountant. Parents are penjaja..blablabla, don't remember much
- The fourth Chinese guy is someone worth mentioning here. His name was So xxx xxxx. To quote him "I came from Sekinchan and I lost my way here. Luckily I met a malay guy who knows where is UiTM and he brought me here" then he mentioned about 1 Malaysia spirit "I'm really grateful to be in Malaysia which...blablabla....1 Malaysia...blablabla". Walao eh, such dramatic pls. Then he tell about his CCAs...president of kelab Bola Petang (sounds like bola petang / Petak). The interviewer said they don't know what is bola petang, so he explained and caught their attention. Then mssd, taekwondo black belt. Another quote from him "actually I'm very regret that I don't have A+ in SPM accounts as I got 94 for my trials, I am really confident...i appealed..." . In my heart: "I got 26 for my SPM accounts trials and I scored A for SPM! LOL, from F to A". The interviewers are really impressed by him! (Note: I know after some time, eventually you will read this..so I said sorry first!)
- The fifth guy is me. So I said I want to do chemical engineering. And they ask me did you apply UPU (some scholarship for local u I think)?? I said I never heard of it. None of us ever heard of it. Wow, is that a bad thing??
First question: What have you prepared for this interview?? Asked by one of the malay woman. I think she just want to shoot the 4th guy who didn't make survey, how to come to UiTM?. Again, quote the 4th guy "actually I didn't prepare much, as I want the interviewer to see the true me". So Cliche! The other 4 of us just answering the usual thing, do survey, check out internet about the course we chose?blablabla
Second question: Technology is very important nowadays. Do you agree? Tell us about your personal experience. I said we can use to chat with people which sometimes we don't like/don't dare to talk to face-to-face, and other stuff like stay connected with people? Others said the usual boring stuff (I think mine is in that category too) like can facebook, GPS, surf internet, youtube, skype?blablabla
Third question: How can we make Malaysian a first class mentality people (sounds like that)? The 3rd girl mentioned "first class infrastructure, third class mentality" must apply what we learnt in daily life. The first two girls mentioned the government should ....blablabla. I mentioned things like we must be initiative, everything starts from ourselves, what gov do is still the minority, we are the most important part to make Malaysian a first class mentality people?.blablabla
Before we left the room, they asked us whether got any questions for them? I asked "how do you think of 5 of us?" LOL. They just ignored me. The 4th guy asked "what are my weaknesses in this interview?" then comes words like "actually all of you are potential student...if the scholarship is from me I wanted to give to all of you, but the decision is up to the JPA, not us..blabla... After that we said thanks and good bye! Luckily they didn?t ask anything about engineering for me.
Advice: No need to be so nervous actually. And there is nothing you can prepare for the group discussion, the scope is too wide! When you are in the room ideas will flood your head. A voluntary action! Have LOTS of certs for jpa interview is quite important, I think.
So, I feel that 我输在嘴巴不够甜!not sure whether sweet mouth is a good thing or not la?
Bon courage!
Wow... Bon apr?s-midi, tr?s int?ressant. Heuresement, je suis pas dans votre panel! Hahaha
weiliang
14-04-2011, 02:23 PM
mr how, what do you mean by "i'm not in your range"??
MrHoww
14-04-2011, 02:32 PM
mr how, what do you mean by "i'm not in your range"??
Sorry because Idk what is panel is French, so I straight away use panel as English. :nuts
weiliang
14-04-2011, 02:40 PM
lololol mr how. why?? am i so geng?? (i know i'm perasan XP). i also dont want to be in the same panel as you. saw what you posted up there. really...speechless! thumbs up!
clarrie93
14-04-2011, 04:49 PM
OMG!!! FINALLY FINISH!!!:dance :party
course: PILN LAW, Panel 3
venue: Kompleks Sukan Ipoh.
time: 11.55-12.40 (but we start at 12)
experience:
My panel consist of 2 girls (1 Malay (me) and 1 Indian), 2 boys (both Chinese). one absent. I was the only one taking law while the other 3 taking science. 2 person taking oversea (including me) and 2 taking local.
The interviewer consist of 3 person, 1 man and 2 woman. I guess the guy is the leader since he does all the talking. They didnt even introduce themself and just say that we are lucky to get the interview since theres alot of applicants.
Do you know when people say you should be early? Well..i did just that..i was 1 hour early, which mean, for complete 1 hour I was seriously taken over with nervousness!! So, waiting for 11.25, i just sit like a 'tunggul kayu', walking abit when i got bored. :offtopic :offtopic okay....just skip to the interview at 12. It was okay for me, considering we done it 80% in BM (only the intro in BI). 1 chinese and 1 Indian has a hard time converting the word to Malay. Minimum shooting. And no group discussion or recent topic or anything.. I think the interviewers is already hungry, so they got no spirit anymore..:P
1st question: Introduction. I was lucky number 1 so I answered it first. (Thanks to all the recom-ers, I already did my answer for this.) I make the interviewer laughed. Is that good? :P He laughed when he asked me does my school has a lot of jambu? (my school name is SMK KG Jambu)
2nd question: What course are you taking and why? (again, thanks to the senior recom-er, i did an answer for this too. :whoo he asked me what if my client was guilty. (since i said that it would give me the chance to help innocent people)
3rd question: How you see yourself in 15 years time?
4th question: What criteria an officer should have?
5th question: What the meaning of keterampilan diri?
6th question: Opinion question. Theres three bekas air in front of him. Left one is empty, middle one is full and standing upright, right one is upside down. He asked us to said anything about it. We can relate it to anything, life, studies, etc. I should say I did excellent with this question, since all of the interviewers said that, "Memang patut jadi peguam pun" after I finish.. :P
after that they asked us if we want to ask anything to them. then I ask, what the significant of the bekas air, in his point of view. He just answer that there is no right or wrong answer..erm....maybe he never thought about it himself?
~~~~~~~~thanks to all the seniors!!!!!
erm....for future interviewee, most important thing is to brush up your English and Malay (especially all the non-malay, since the non-malays in my panel really struggling to find their idea in Malay and one stand up the most since his Malay is really fluent.) Keep your cool and make eye-contact with the interviewer.
MrHoww
14-04-2011, 05:55 PM
lololol mr how. why?? am i so geng?? (i know i'm perasan XP). i also dont want to be in the same panel as you. saw what you posted up there. really...speechless! thumbs up!
Because all the members in your group are president in that, treasurer in that and committee in that. I'm just ahli biasa wor... only participated in a few competitions. And then all people are first class in flattering... Your panel is really :thumbs. Am I really that good? :lol :bow
weiliang
14-04-2011, 06:29 PM
YEAH LA. Their 吹水 skills, mou dak deng! my coco are not that outstanding also, participated in some competitoins, went to volunteer, and thats all... Yes, your answers are mature-like! all my answers are just like something found in SPM essay books T.T
Shaheera
14-04-2011, 06:41 PM
did the interviewers checked any of your KOKO certs? Because I dont think they did. Will this affect our chances of getting the scholarships?
Adriana
14-04-2011, 07:32 PM
Anyone attend the pure science interview ??
How is it like ? :))
MrHoww
14-04-2011, 07:50 PM
YEAH LA. Their 吹水 skills, mou dak deng! my coco are not that outstanding also, participated in some competitoins, went to volunteer, and thats all... Yes, your answers are mature-like! all my answers are just like something found in SPM essay books T.T
But their 'cui sui' skill so geng, the interviewers might know their conspiration :lol. You're the first one to say this to me :nuts, I don't know how to thank you but to 'thank' your post... hehehe :rofl
did the interviewers checked any of your KOKO certs? Because I dont think they did. Will this affect our chances of getting the scholarships?
The clerks will bring your files of certs to the front of computer, but I don't know what they did for that... :D:
BlubluTan
14-04-2011, 08:01 PM
Quite a interesting interview i would like to share with all recom-ers! ^^
Course: Pure Science
Venue: Komplek Sukan Ipoh
Time: 2.05pm
I took a deep breath as the first candidate of my group knocked the door and walked in, followed by the rest. I was the last person to walk in. The group consists of 5 people. 4 chinese and 1 malay. The weird thing is,the malay girl applied for PLDN but she was called for interview with us. The first chinese girl chose sastera ikhtisas, 1 of the boy and me chose sains tulen and the other chose engineering. We greeted the interviewers. The interviewing room was really as I imagined it to be! Dark, air-cond, with 3 interviewers and 5 empty sits.(It's really dark in there ==) We sat on the empty sits according to our numbers. The first interviewer was a chinese female,followed by a malay male and a malay female. They asked us to start by introducing ourselves. First candidate of the group started the introduction. After introducing her name, she talked about her achievements in coco. I took a quick look at the interviewer and noticed the 1st interviewer making a "boring" face. Personally, i think it's kind of boring too,to introduced like that, talking all about coco achievements. Until my turn, i introduced my name and started to talk more about myself( my personality and my opinion on life) just as i planned. I bet the interviewers already heard a lot about coco achievements. They wont be interested to hear more. It's not a competition of who have higher coco achievements. I don't know what they think about my introduction, but I'm satisfied with my way of introduction.
The panel asked quite a lot of questions.I don't really remember the sequence, but it's something like this. ( typed in malay = discussed in malay & vice versa)
First question : Pertanian di Malaysia
Second question : Internet VS surat khabar
Third Question : Mengapa kadar kemalangan di Malaysia tinggi, dan cara mengatasi
Fourth Question : Organ donation, agree or not?
Fifth Question(science question) : Mengapa air mengalir dari hulu ke hilir (which is a very weird question, we were all like WTH, of course water flows from hulu to hilir la~)
6th question ( science question too) : Mengapakah walaupun semasa kemarau, air di sungai masih mengalir dan tidak kering (quite a challanging question too, didn't see this coming)
So, we all have quite a discussion for all the topics. I remember about internet VS surat khabar, the boys candidates chose internet while the girls chose surat khabar, it's sort of like a girl VS boy fight in there. We all said all our points, i think all of us were satisfied with our interviews, at least i am. ^^ (certainly hope others too). Our interview took around 45 minutes.
Now, I'll like to talk a little bit about my opinion on all the topics asked. 1st, the pertanian, i told the interviewers that pertanian amat berpotensi dari segi geography. then i told them all about the wide land Malaysia got, unlike Singapore, they don't have enough land like Msia for pertanian.(elaborated on this point). 2nd, internet VS surat khabar. I chosen surat khabar, sebab utama: komputer boleh membahayakan kesihatan. Maklumat internet tidak semestinya betul, on the other hand, MOSTLY, all the info in surat khabar is correct! Another point is that when we're walking on the street, if we're holding a notepad/ipad/ whatever thing people have that provide internet connection, surely they'll kena rompak! If really so, that person will really rugi beribu-ribu. Compared to surat khabar, nobody will rompak surat khabar! 3rd,kemalangan. I told them the main reason for high rate of kemalangan is because of the sistem belajar dan ujian kereta yang tidak efektif. I told them that in most driving institutes, they only teaches students to pass the car test, instead of teaching them to drive! (elaborated on that point) The interviewers seem to like my point. ^^ 4th,organ donation. I think everyone knows what to say about this. Personally, of course i agree with it. The science questions are really kind of weird. 4th ques of course we told the interviewers it's because of gravity. Hope i got better ideas. == 5th ques, i said it's cause the water in sungai/kolam is in big quantity, harder to evaporate. N also because there're still water in the soil that will flow into the river. (I'm not really sure what's the real answer! >.<) That's basically what i said during the interview.
There are times i made the interviewers and other group members to laugh. I think it's really important for all to just relax, either the candidates or the interviewers. I try to add in a little bit jokes and humour to make the interview more interesting and fun. Told my firned bout it and my friend call me the clown. Actually, just like everyone said, just relax and you'll be fine. The interviewers just want to see your ability to speak and draw out ideas. I think most interviewers are all friendly. ^^
Such great experience going to JPA interview! I enjoyed it and certainly happy with it! Hope the interviewers like me. Haha~ ^^
Some said they bring the certs to a room to count marks? O.o i don't know~ Or maybe they just want to make sure you're capable of preparing documents on time?
alice93
14-04-2011, 08:06 PM
same experience with blublu:)
though i am the first candidate:)
BlubluTan
14-04-2011, 08:08 PM
@<hidden>: Lol! They asked science questions to u also?
alice93
14-04-2011, 08:12 PM
@<hidden>: Lol! They asked science questions to u also?
i am the first chinese girl:)
taking sastera ikhtisas:)
boring intro, hahaha
ANNANN
14-04-2011, 08:24 PM
eh~gt anybody cal 4 second interview 2molo?my frien gt~:cry
clarrie93
14-04-2011, 08:30 PM
eh~gt anybody cal 4 second interview 2molo?my frien gt~:cry
2nd interview?????? :huh
But the interview-ing week/period still havent finish. Tomorrow is the last day.
AnnieChan
14-04-2011, 08:57 PM
note : please do not digress from the topic as it makes it difficult for others who have yet to be interviewed to find information. =)
from one of the posts, i must agree that proper attire is important during the interview. its best if you do not wear tight skirts or above knee-length if you're heading to INTEC. after all, its still under UiTM ruling.
though its late, i hope you enjoyed your interviews. will be looking forward to seeing the new juniors this july. :) and good luck !
iAdoreNaz
14-04-2011, 09:28 PM
Course Applied: Chemical Engineering ( Korea Diploma Programme )
Venue: INTAN, Kampus Sabah
INTERVIEWERs :
|Young Malay Woman - Doctor| | A Malay Man |
| An Indian Man - From Minister Of Science & Technology |
INTERVIEWEEs
| 3 Chinese - 1 Guy, 2 Girls | | 1 Malay Girl | | Me - Bumiputra Sabah |
Experience:
Before the interview - This is THE MERAPU part
- Woke up at 8:05, then prepared myself. Arrived at Kampus Intan around 9:40am. I was stranded there alone. I don't know where to go but then I asked some parents where's the interview place. So they pointed the way. Arrived at the waiting room, saw LIST OF NAMEs and I have to sign on it but I don't have pen that time. So, I called my brother to turn back. LOLx. After I signed it, I entered the waiting room. There was a girl sitting there alone. Here name R++, but I didn't talk to her. After awhile, a chinese boy came in. He sat at the back, then I offered him a handshake. I asked his name and he told me that his was name Jeremeah ( If I'm not mistaken ), then the girl was like looking at us, then I offered her to sit beside me. Then we talked a bit, they're so quiet, so I have to start a conversation with them. After a moment, a girl came in. She looks like a lawyer, then I asked her, what is she taking. Law she said. :P.. Then, the group before us finished their interview, and they look so happy.. LOL.. They entered the waiting room as they were waiting for their clear folder. So, I asked one of the girl, what are the questions they asked? She said , it's about current issues. So, I was like ok :).
Then, next to her, there was one very COMEL girl. Haha, i thought she was a Chinese, asked her .. IF she's a chinese, she said "no, i'm kadazan".. And everyone including me , R+, the law girl and jeremeah laugh. XD.
An Indian girl came in, she's not in my panel though. We talk a little, then I asked her, what is her result "all A+?" i said. and she nodded " yeah ".. Then I was like, WOAH... WOAH... Woaaahh~.. WOAHHH~~ again.. hahaha.. i even asked her permission to let me take a look on her slip. Then I woaaaahhh!! again and asked if she cried. and she said YES.. hahahaha..
The fifth panel, ( Sakinah - Malay girl ) was a little bit late. I started to confront her and talked a little bit before we went into the interview room.
During the interview
- Before entering the interview room, we're asked to Que. I got tag no.2. Jeremeah ( No.1 ) knock the door, and we follow. There were 5 sits, and all of us stand before the sit. We only take our sit just after the interviewer told us to do so.
- First, the Malay man congratulated us for getting such a good result in SPM.
- Then, he asked us to introduce ourself. It can be done in English or BM, he asked in BM, but I answered him in English instead. I believe that I caught the young malay woman attention when I was introducing myself as she was clearly watching me. I talk about my name,where I from, my former school, my parents occupation, my siblings , and my co-cu. I only introduced half of my co-cu because the young malay woman keep staring at me and I ngup~.. xD..
- After No.5 finished introducing herself, then. The Malay Man start asking.
" Dasar Kerajaan Malaysia menggalakkan para graduan untuk berkerja secara sendirian. Apakah pandangan anda? Dan bagaimanakah untuk menjayakan dasar ini?" ( Something like this )
-- I offered to answer, but then the Malay man said, maybe my question wasn't clear enough so he repeated the question and said we can discuss for 2 minutes and we don't have to answered it on the spot :(:(
(bad bad)
- Then, after 2 minutes, I asked him again the question " Is this bla bla bla?" Then he said, "a`ah, macam tu lah". So , I requested to answer it again, I said .. bekerja secara sendirian adalah baik, kerana pekerja yang bekerja secara sendirian adalah sangat baik kerana mereka dapat meluangkan banyak masa contohnya seperti ayah saya yang bekerja secara sendirian dan dia mampu meluangkan masa bersama dengan keluarga pada bila2x masa. ( There was a word that makes me look bad. The REAKSI word, lol.. I repeat it like 2-3 times , then the young malay woman grinned a bit ) hahaha.. Then so on so on ( other panel )
- Then, the Indian Man gives us another topic of discussion . "You guys read newspaper right? ( I saw someone beside me said yes, and i said yes too ) ..So, he asked . What are the current issues in Malaysia right now? ( Please make sure you guys didn't repeat the same issues ) . So, at first I was thinking to talk about the landslide that happens in my hometown. But, before talking about that I said. The current issues in malaysia
"General Election In Sarawak , and " .. Then he said, ok let's focus on general election, what is the isu there? .. I stucked.. xD.. I knew that Najib was visiting the church etc etc, but I didn't know that it's because of Isu Bible >_<" ( die ).. so i didn't talk about najib. I said sorry twice.. Haha.. Then he said, who's the current Chief Minister Of Sarawak?.. again I said, Sorry I don't know. The Chief Minister of Sabah? I replied, Datuk Seri Haji Musa Aman. Then he replied "YOU'RE SAFE" with a proud face. I give a sigh of relief there. Haha..
- Then, Jeremeah talk about stg ( ain remember ), R+ talk about UEC and private school, the law girl talk about something SOMEONE DIE ( politics member if im not wrong ) , and the malay girl talk about nuclear power plant. I at first want to help them to answer but just before I did that, they moved to another person and start a new discussion. Haha..
- The Malay Man turns, he asked. "During your school period, have you ever feel STRESSED when you're studying? Did you enjoy studying?" .. Here again, I raised my hand. So I bla bla bla, I don't feel stressed when studying but It instead makes me feel so cool and relax. I like to spend more time on studying compared to watching tv and sleeping ( the panels and the young malay woman grin because before that the law got said, her hobby was watching tv -- she said, she know it's kinda weird to bla bla bla but i got a lots when watching tv ) .. Haha, then before continuing, I look at her and said I'm sorry.. then I continue, "when i'm not studying, i feel so weird and uncomfortale so study really does help me to feel relax".. jeremeah continue and I keep nodding ( sign of agreeing ) .. He said, school should do this and that.. then the law girl start, yeah especially the experiment it's really fun for example the belah katak." .. then the indian man said, haha everyone like to have fun.. we all laugh.. then they said why katak.. then we bla bla bla, and the malay girl said, because if you use cicak it's too small ma.. LOL.. then i raised my hand, i think we use katak because we can see their organs more clearly. Then the doctor ( young woman said ) , other than katak, tikus is the another alternative. Why didn't you guys use tikus instead? .. the law girl replied, because our school is clean, no tikus there.. everyone laughed. The indian man said, then we can tangkap the tikus at your home loh. LOL.. hahahaha.
- Then, the Malay man said, before we end our discussion, do you have any questions?
---> I asked about
1) how many % for interview?
-- they said they don't know, but the JPA have the system to calculate.
2) how many seats offered?
- I said, last year was 1,500. This year how many? They said, it's around that.. we're not sure, and they said they didn't even know it was 1,500 lat year haha..
3) which do you think is better, civil or chemical?
- I told them about my dilemma, the indian man said. "I know what is your daddy is planning, he wants to make a family who works as 1 company " just before he said that, they asked what is my dad job. I told them it's about tender then they quickly said my dad is a contractor, and I nodded :).
The End Of The Interview
- I was thinking , if Jeremeah is going to shake their hands. But I realised that he didn't. So, I move forward and offered a handshake to all the interviewers.
- I was the first one to reach the door, so I opened the door for everyone to walk out. Then, I closed the door while saying thank you and giving them a nice smile.
Rating: Less THAN 6 / 10 (I guess) - What do you think?
Advice
- Makes friend with your panel, try to be friendly ( as I did ) and It's so fun to talk with everyone. Like we've known each other for a long time.
- Try to be in the discussion. Ex : Nodding when other panel is pointing out their opinion .
Additional info: ANOTHER MERAPU PART
- I met my old friend here... haha, and I had a great experiences knowing everyone. I even speak ENGLISH here more than I usually do. Haha. Really fun fun fun.. I don't have high hope to be offered after the interview because I feel like I can do much better, but still I still have some hope. Finger crossed.
- They did checked your CERTIFICATE (the clerk)
- I didn't talked about my courses and which country I applied, I'm in regret because I did lots of research on that. Haha..
- Seems like, lots of ppl is applying for France/German Engineering :nod. I hope this would be an advantage to me.
- I didn't expect the BEKERJA SENDIRI, and POLITICS stuff >_<".. bad bad..
Don't you think I keep answering the question first even though I have tag no.2?
xD. But, that time, no one is trying to answer, so I raised my hand first. And , I just give one-two point per answer. So that my mate still have more answer to come.
My english is no good, so please correct me if there's any ERROR ( i know there's alot )
KenT13
14-04-2011, 09:54 PM
Here's my JPA interview experience( not a good one)
Date: 14th April 2011
Panel: 4 (2 malay men and 1 malay women)
Group : 5 person
-1 malay girl, 1 malay boy, 2 chinese boys , 1 chinese girl
-4 applied German Engineering, 1 applied French Engineering
Questions Asked:
1. Please introduce yourself in Bahasa Melayu. Please state your family background, strengths and weaknesses.( I got Holy-Shitted because i was ready for English introduction only)
2. Engineering do more harm than good.Do you agree? ( I jumbled up my points and don't really know what i'm talking about)
3. What do you understand about the word "integrity"? Please explain it in Bahasa Melayu. (pwned again, i don't even know the meaning of the word in english still ask me to answer in bm)
4. What can engineers do to help reverse the current environment state?
5. If you are an Engineer in XXX state which is prone to flood, what would you do when you're given a chance to become a policy maker?
6. Do you think you deserve the scholarship?
Advices:
1. Please please please please take the initiative to mix up with your groupmate. (My groupmates were like robots, i greeted all of them and asked them some questions, but after that all went silent-.-''' What a group Lol)
2. Boys, you're adviced to wear dark black shoes, shirt, and long black pants.
3. Girls, wear skirts with appropriate length ... because it's an interview, baju kurung will do the trick. Or you can go to the extreme-like i saw one girl wearing Singapore Airline(SIA) hostess' outfit.lolz
4. Do not slouch while sitting. Sit straight up all the time. If you're feeling uncomfortable during the interview, take the chance to move your body will it's your turn-like moving your hands in accordance to the topic you're talking about.
5. LOOK at the panels while talking. The floor and the wall aren't panels at all.
6. Seize the chance to talk first. You'll win attraction from that.
7. Watch the interviewers face expression, if they look bored or angry, try to change way of talking to grab attention.
8. Smile always. Don't shake your legs or put your hands in the pocket.
9. Don't be nervous, you'll go blank in the room and this will significantly decreases your performance.
10. Talk slowly, the interviewers aren't actually listening to points, they're listening to your pronounciation, grammar and so on.
11. Make it like a debate.If you don't agree with groupmates' idea. Voice it out, but only when they finishes theirs.
12. Try not to hesitate. for example when you're talking - "my name is err...Robert...errr.. I'm 50 years old...errr....I like ...errr...cookies" no Err-errs !!!!
13. Use simple Words, you dun wanna use complicated words like in a sentence-"i can overcome all vicissitudes". The interviewers will ask you to repeat the word(note that not all interviewers are really pros, some have broken english also)
14. when your groupmates are speaking, listen carefully, you can steal some points or ideas to eleborate.
15. Switch off your phone. ( you don't need to show the panels that you have iPhone 4)
16. Be coulourful in expressing. Show some variation in emotions.
17. Don't say "I think" , "..maybe" , "probably" ,"i'm not sure"
Tips:
WHen they ask why do you think you deserve the scholarship, say that~
1. You come from a poor family, i need the gov to provide me fund to further my studies. say it with a sad tone.
2. "i'll definately come back to serve my country". say it with a patriotic tone even you know you might not do that or are not loyal to the country-.-'''
3. State your positive traits,such as leadership, strong, hardworking, etc..
4. It's the governments duty to provide deserving students with scholarships so that we can feel that our effort is being appreciated.
Rating: hmm... probably 1/10
Chelsea
14-04-2011, 11:15 PM
its funny that you can give others tips yet you rate yourself only 1 out of 10. you are to judgemental on yourself.
Garfield93
14-04-2011, 11:46 PM
Date: 14th April 2011
Panel: 4 (2 malay men and 1 malay women)
Group : 5 person
-1 malay girl, 1 malay boy, 2 chinese boys , 1 chinese girl
-4 applied German Engineering, 1 applied French Engineering
Questions Asked:
1. Please introduce yourself in Bahasa Melayu. Please state your family background, strengths and weaknesses.( I got Holy-Shitted because i was ready for English introduction only)
2. Engineering do more harm than good.Do you agree? ( I jumbled up my points and don't really know what i'm talking about)
3. What do you understand about the word "integrity"? Please explain it in Bahasa Melayu. (pwned again, i don't even know the meaning of the word in english still ask me to answer in bm)
4. What can engineers do to help reverse the current environment state?
5. If you are an Engineer in XXX state which is prone to flood, what would you do when you're given a chance to become a policy maker?
6. Do you think you deserve the scholarship?
Advices:
1. Please please please please take the initiative to mix up with your groupmate. (My groupmates were like robots, i greeted all of them and asked them some questions, but after that all went silent-.-''' What a group Lol)
2. Boys, you're adviced to wear dark black shoes, shirt, and long black pants.
3. Girls, wear skirts with appropriate length ... because it's an interview, baju kurung will do the trick. Or you can go to the extreme-like i saw one girl wearing Singapore Airline(SIA) hostess' outfit.lolz
4. Do not slouch while sitting. Sit straight up all the time. If you're feeling uncomfortable during the interview, take the chance to move your body will it's your turn-like moving your hands in accordance to the topic you're talking about.
5. LOOK at the panels while talking. The floor and the wall aren't panels at all.
6. Seize the chance to talk first. You'll win attraction from that.
7. Watch the interviewers face expression, if they look bored or angry, try to change way of talking to grab attention.
8. Smile always. Don't shake your legs or put your hands in the pocket.
9. Don't be nervous, you'll go blank in the room and this will significantly decreases your performance.
10. Talk slowly, the interviewers aren't actually listening to points, they're listening to your pronounciation, grammar and so on.
11. Make it like a debate.If you don't agree with groupmates' idea. Voice it out, but only when they finishes theirs.
12. Try not to hesitate. for example when you're talking - "my name is err...Robert...errr.. I'm 50 years old...errr....I like ...errr...cookies" no Err-errs !!!!
13. Use simple Words, you dun wanna use complicated words like in a sentence-"i can overcome all vicissitudes". The interviewers will ask you to repeat the word(note that not all interviewers are really pros, some have broken english also)
14. when your groupmates are speaking, listen carefully, you can steal some points or ideas to eleborate.
15. Switch off your phone. ( you don't need to show the panels that you have iPhone 4)
16. Be coulourful in expressing. Show some variation in emotions.
17. Don't say "I think" , "..maybe" , "probably" ,"i'm not sure"
Tips:
1. You come from a poor family, i need the gov to provide me fund to further my studies. say it with a sad tone.
2. "i'll definately come back to serve my country". say it with a patriotic tone even you know you might not do that or are not loyal to the country-.-'''
3. State your positive traits,such as leadership, strong, hardworking, etc..
4. It's the governments duty to provide deserving students with scholarships so that we can feel that our effort is being appreciated.
Rating: hmm... probably 1/10
you at least the panel told u what scope to introduce~!! mine never tell me anything!!! summore intro in BM.. i got stuck halfway intro on koko after coming to my mind that i didnt mention family background :cry
yiling
15-04-2011, 12:32 AM
Finally my turn to write down my experience!!
Course applied: Law
Time: 3.45pm
Panel: 1 (one Malay guy and 2 Malay women)
Interviewees: 5 girls 1guy (this guy missed his interview yesterday. so joined our group today) 1 german engineering, 1 architecture, 2 law, 1 medicine (the guy), 4 Chinese, 2 Malay.
Experience:
I went there 2 hours earlier and was the first one among my panel to arrive. I've waited in the waiting room for parents. And kinda shook my head after seeing there are more parents compared to the candidate. Zzzz. Parents too pampered lah.
Around 3.15pm, i went to the waiting room for interviewees. Handed in my clear folder and photocopied documents to the clerk. the clerk then gave me a tag, No. 4. Not good, i wanted 1 or 2. Then, i met other interviewees there! Had a great time chatting with them and it really helped me ease the tension. We had fun memorizing each other's name! LOL
3.45pm, we were called to line up and prepare to go for interview. At first, everyone prepared pen and paper, but was told to put it back coz not necessary. We went in and was told to sit. Before he started the interview session, he congratulated us for getting good results and qualified for this scholarship. He also asked us not to be too nervous, just try to be normal.
First of all, they asked us to introduce ourselves. The first girl who applied for engineering was really good. I was impressed by her self promoting skills. Second girl applied law, just like me. Third girl, wao! impressed by her co-curricular activities (something good about studying in a small school. You can be president for several clubs and bendahari or secretary for other clubs) Me, no.4. The the Malay girl. I was impressed by her results and co-curricular activities. She's really good and she definitely deserves the scholarship. Lastly, the medicine guy who joined us last minute. His sports is good! He joined MSSM hockey!
After those introduction crap, we started on our first discussion.
1. Should students bring handphone to school? Some said yes some said no. The medicine guy studied at a boarding school last time, so he said it's necessary. While others said no coz play games, interrupt class bla bla bla . I said no for secondary school but yes for university because they need it to record and take picture for slide show. And i got shoot for stating this answer. One of the interviewer asked, would it be better if they jot down the notes? Then i said, in university, some lecturers have very good command of english, or some students are poor in english. So they could not understand completely wat their lecturer is saying, so recording is another good way. LOL! =.= cant think of other answers.
2. As a lawyer, how do you solve this problem as in student bring phones to school? This was a tough one, especially for medicine guy. Coz totally unrelated. I salute the malay girl who answered well. She said it's good to have a phone in the office, watched by the workers, with coins provided, and every class contribute some money for the coins. I totally screwed this part. Coz i was like the last few ones to answer, and totally blank in my mind. So the only thing i can do is to agree with another lawyer girl, her point is to enforce law to schools to at least have 10 public phones in school and make sure it's not vandalized. I copy cat :cry
3. Is facebook good? Wao!! As a 24/7 social network user XD i raised my hand immediately! I said it's really useful! Like there's afterschool.my on facebook. They give education guidance and also consultation for free and most important, u can ask anytime you want and you'll immediately get a reply. So, for SPM leavers like us, who're still not sure which route to pick, there's a virtual counselor there. XD Afterschool.my should pay me for the advertisement. LOL. Some answered no because it's a distraction and also place to spread rumours bla bla bla bla
4. In 10 years time, children will spend more time on computer and reluctant to carry out outdoor activities. How do you see this and wat is the consequences? And i said, this is a really bad phenomena. In 10 years time, family members would communicate via facebook. like the kid is going home late, and they just post it on facebook, said 'Dad, i'm going home at 9pm'. Less phone calls and heart to heart talk. and i said people by that time will hold a phone wherever and whenever they go. And when they reach a certain place, they check-in or post it on facebook about their location. Everyone will know where are them now. BTW, this answer is in BM. Almost forgotten.
Forgotten what others said.
5. In 10 years time, how will facebook dominate ur life as a lawyer? (not sure whether the question sounds like this, but something like this lah) I said all formal discussion are done via facebook. No more meeting up and bla bla bla bla. save time. Silly answer.
Advice:
Mine lasted about 45mins. Seriously, do take initiative to know the other interviewees before the interview. Can really ease the tension. We also exchanged our facebook to promised to stay in contact. There's no1 there to accompany you that time in the waiting room. The interviewees will become ur companion. We all wished each other good luck and motivate each other. It's really good to meet these bunch of people with enthusiasm towards future. They really boost my confidence during the interview session.
and girls, please have a decent costume. No very tight skirt or skirt above ur knee level. Plus my interview location is UiTM. So respect their culture as well to secure ur 500k jackpot.
that's all. and i feel guilty for stealing the other girl's point. :(
Rating: 6/10
ying0493
15-04-2011, 09:50 AM
I screwed up my interview!!!:cry I was doing well in both bm in bi but i did an extremely stupid mistake!!:cry While i was explaining abt the Bi topic, i said NAJIB instead of DATO SERI NAJIB...this so gonna kill my chance...the interviewers din correct me while i was talking but one of them would hv written it in the paper she was writing..bye bye JPA!:cry...i screwed up my only hope..:cry :cry :cry
iAdoreNaz
15-04-2011, 11:03 AM
I screwed up my interview!!!:cry I was doing well in both bm in bi but i did an extremely stupid mistake!!:cry While i was explaining abt the Bi topic, i said NAJIB instead of DATO SERI NAJIB...this so gonna kill my chance...the interviewers din correct me while i was talking but one of them would hv written it in the paper she was writing..bye bye JPA!:cry...i screwed up my only hope..:cry :cry :cry
same here, I also screwed up.. keep our finger crossed.
i don't even know the chief minister of Sarawak, but since it's the general election after I rethink, I bet there's no chief minister at the moment right? LOL.. I just know the chief minister of my own state xD
FigoFaixHui
15-04-2011, 11:28 AM
Date: 15/04/2011
Time: 8.00 a.m
Venue: INTEC, UiTM (Panel 11..)
Course Applied: German Engineering
Interviewers: | 2 Malay man -- one fit one fat | | 1 Malay lady |
Interviewees: | 5 boys --- 4 Chinese 1 Malay | | 3 Chinese & Malay took German Engineering while 1 took Architecture |
Aaa.. last day of PILN interview..I'll go straight to the interview part...
-Malay fit : Sila perkenalkan diri anda, dan sila jawab dalam BM. Starts off Malay (no.1) who introduce himself, n followed on... Last was me (no.5).. mentioned my name, school, family, jurusan i want to pursue..
-Just after finishing explaining my reason for the jurusan i chosen, a Malay guy asked can i manage the language difference when studying in german.. I said of coz i can with the help of internet, i can search for terms of BM, English n German. He continued to ask how long can i learn German. I replied half a year, of coz i can if i berusaha!
-Next, Malay fit asked, " Di sini ada 4 orang yg applied German Engineering. Apakah yang sangat special di German, yg tak da di M'sia? My answer, " Di German ada suatu sistem pendidikan tertiary yg sangat berbeza, iaitu adanya university of applied sains yg menekankan latihan praktikal berbanding penyelidikan & teori. Dengan ini, pelajar tentunya akan lebih mahir & menjadi jurutera yg cemerlang dari segi kemahiran.
-Then, the Malay lady asked, " What do you all think of the technology in Malaysia? Isit self-advanced or isit adopted from other countries?" My answer, " I think our country adopts some technology from other countries. For example, our country's national car, Proton, uses some of Japan Mitsubishi's car engine technology to improve their own car engines. We also adopt Green Technology from California to generate alternatives energy w/o polluting the environment." She continued to ask " what abt the technology made from M'sia? " Stunned awhile but try to answer, " Our country has created a development in telemedicine, that is the bionic ears for hearing aid.
-After comes the Malay fat, " Di sini nampaknya ada banyak faces of engineer. Namun saya juga nampak faces of bakal ahli politician. Jika diberi peluang, apakah kementerian yang ingin diambil alih?" My answer, " saya akan ambil alih Jabatan Kerja Raya kerana dapat kerja bina bangunan. Malay lady shoots, " does JKR bina bangunan?" My answer, "ya, selain tu juga bina jalan raya, lampu jalan dll. Saya akan dapat gunakan ilmu kejuruteraan yg dipelajari di German untuk diaplikasikan dalam kemahiran pembangunan..." Well, dunno whether was correct or not/???
-Lastly a group discussion.. Malay fit, "sila formkan satu U-shape discussion. nowadays, most malaysian students in overseas cannot speak BM well and cannot represent the country, cannot become the ambassador in overseas. So, shud the country still continue to send or not to send them overseas?"
>>> this is the pawning question for all of us becoz we got off-topic in the beginning <<<
We discussed that the students will not forget BM becoz sometimes they will come bak from overseas; i said that there is Malaysian Student Association and will have Malaysian Night in the universities so definitely will not forget abt BM..
Later the interviewers said we gt off-topic n refresh us by asking whether shud or shud not the country send these students. Luckily all of us sebulat suara n all said we shud send them.
That's all abt my experience.. Quite tense sumtimes funny.. maybe it's the morning and the interviewers wants to kill us with random questions not in orders...
15-04-2011, 11:38 AM
same here, I also screwed up.. keep our finger crossed.
i don't even know the chief minister of Sarawak, but since it's the general election after I rethink, I bet there's no chief minister at the moment right? LOL.. I just know the chief minister of my own state xD
come on, relax. This is jz a small mistake. It's understandable for u all since u all still young. One mistake doesn't mean of JPA scholarship. Still a lot of other stuffs 2 think about.
Course applied : PIDN(Science-Biotechnology)
Place : INTEC
I arrived there at 7.20am.After signing on the board downstairs,i went into the waiting room on third floor and signed my name again.Then i arranged my documents and passed my file to the people in charge there.I was put into a group of three girls and two boys.After getting the number we were brought into the panel room.
There are two interviewers inside the panel room.One of them greeted us and tried to 'break the ice' before starting to interview us.Then,he asked us to give introduction in BM(Name,family members,secondary school and hobby).He asked something not related to our introduction too.
The questions asked(Couldn't really remember all questions he asked)
1)What is science for you?Which are the subjects you like from Chemistry,Biology and Physics?(BI)
2)From pure Biology,applied Biology and organic Biology,which one you prefer to study?Which course you like and why?(BI)
3)What is your second and third choice?(BI)
4)Local or overseas.Why?(BI)
5)Cadangan anda tentang cara-cara untuk menambah baik sistem pengangkutan am di negara kita?(BM)
6)What do you think about the banning of plastics bags?(BI)
The interview ended after 45 minutes.
Cathie
15-04-2011, 08:57 PM
Course Applied: Science
Venue: Wisma Sanyang, Sibu
Interviewers : 2 Women and 1 Man(Chinese)
Interviewees: 5 and all are Chinese(4 girls and 1 boy)
Experience: My listed interview time was 2:45pm, so I went there earlier. I met and made friends with two girls(they are sisters!). Therefore, I had friends to accompany with. Then, we separated because we belonged to two different panels. Around3:00pm( I guess because I was a bit nervous and had no time to keep watching at my watch!), we went into the panel roomand greeted to the interviewers politely(for the first impression!). We sat down on the office chairs and listened to their instructions.First, a female interviewer asked in Malay and wanted us to introduce ourselves. But since my Malay isn't that fluent if compared to my English, so I asked whether I could speak in English or not, shegave me permissionluckily!( I heard there were some who didn't allow the interviewees to answer in other language for the question asked in certain language). I introduced myself with my name, age, family background, cocurricular activities I've attended and etc.)Next, they asked:
1. Comparisons on learning online VS learning at school
2. How unique is Sarawak? ( One of the interviewees said she's from Peninsular Malaysia, what can she introduce Sarawak to her friends who are from there?)
Rating: 7 out of 10
:) Finally I finished my first interview, I think I've gained more confidence now!
Advices:
Lol, may be they already wanted to keep their answers from you!
AnnieChan
15-04-2011, 09:50 PM
Tips:
erm.. i actually DISAGREE with your tips. note that the panel has seen everything every single year. there has been many candidates who used that. IT DOESN'T WORK. why ?!
very simple actually. human nature doesn't work that way. esp those with the words ----> JPA panel.
they know you're talking a whole load of gibberish if you start to go on like that. they wanna see your personality, not what you think they want to see in you.
:amuse
KenT13
15-04-2011, 09:57 PM
erm.. i actually DISAGREE with your tips. note that the panel has seen everything every single year. there has been many candidates who used that. IT DOESN'T WORK. why ?!
very simple actually. human nature doesn't work that way. esp those with the words ----> JPA panel.
they know you're talking a whole load of gibberish if you start to go on like that. they wanna see your personality, not what you think they want to see in you.
:amuse
So, you got better points? Type it out.
AnnieChan
15-04-2011, 10:05 PM
well, looks like i struck a little sensitive note there huh.. didnt mean any harm. =)
i'm speaking from experience here. as well with information gathered from many other JPA scholars in the previous years.
1. the first thing to be is to be yourself.
2. instead of trying to get their empathy, PROVE to them that you deserve it and should be awarded the scholarship.
3. patriotism is important. yes, its true. and it does play a role. BUT EVERYONE will say that. so what makes you different? the panel's looking for that uniqueness, you see.
hope y'all had a great time during your interviews.
note : INTEC is not UiTM.. it has affiliations with UiTM, but is a college by its own.
and to the dear parents who thought that INTEC was a polytechnic, its actually not. its where JPA is sending you to study your pre-u.
cheers~ annie :D
jellywjyj
16-04-2011, 03:23 PM
hi everyone...i m here:)
1st of al....thank lotz to all the recomers (esp all the seniors)who had share their precious jpa interview experience here...endless thx 2 u al...as i hav learnt lotz fr u al....
i m here 2 share som of my interview experience 2 ....hope tat future applicants would find it helpful too...
these are some of the question tat had been ask during my n my friendz interview :
1)as a small ambassador of malaysia ,how would u promote malaysia?
2)how 2 encourage scholars come back 2 malaysia?
3)apakah pendapat anda terhadap pendermaan organ?
4)bincangkan inovasi dan kreativiti .
5)profit n environment ,which one is more important 4 u?
6)bincangkan remaja kini .
7)are u willing to work in rural area after u graduate ?
8)y u are interest in ....(the course u have choosen) n which country u intend 2 further ur study n give the reason.
9)n ofcz sef introduction.
10)ur opinion abt nuclear energy.
o ya...remember 2 brush out ur communicating skills 2...:wink
iAdoreNaz
16-04-2011, 04:03 PM
hi everyone...i m here:)
1st of al....thank lotz to all the recomers (esp all the seniors)who had share their precious jpa interview experience here...endless thx 2 u al...as i hav learnt lotz fr u al....
i m here 2 share som of my interview experience 2 ....hope tat future applicants would find it helpful too...
these are some of the question tat had been ask during my n my friendz interview :
1)as a small ambassador of malaysia ,how would u promote malaysia?
2)how 2 encourage scholars come back 2 malaysia?
3)apakah pendapat anda terhadap pendermaan organ?
4)bincangkan inovasi dan kreativiti .
5)profit n environment ,which one is more important 4 u?
6)bincangkan remaja kini .
7)are u willing to work in rural area after u graduate ?
8)y u are interest in ....(the course u have choosen) n which country u intend 2 further ur study n give the reason.
9)n ofcz sef introduction.
10)ur opinion abt nuclear energy.
o ya...remember 2 brush out ur communicating skills 2...:wink
how i wish i have an easy interview like you did :cry:cry~
sutheng11
16-04-2011, 05:01 PM
Hi there.
Interview place: INTEC
There is 2 parts in the interview, the first part is in malay and you're supposed to introduce yourself, and share what you have done during the holidays.
2nd english part is supposed to be sort of like a discussion on certain topics, but the interviewer ended up asking us one by one. The topics we discussed are:
1. Accidents. What causes accidents?
2. What will you do when you are in a accident? Not sure they meant you saw an accident or you are involved in a accident, but all of us answered both.
3. What do you foresee as the biggest challenge abroad?
And the interviewer proceed to give us advice about studying abroad..
This is all i remember. XD I think our interview was a bit too easy? Almost like they are not really interested in us?
But good luck anyway to all of you out there!
AnnieChan
16-04-2011, 08:54 PM
Hi there.
Interview place: INTEC
There is 2 parts in the interview, the first part is in malay and you're supposed to introduce yourself, and share what you have done during the holidays.
2nd english part is supposed to be sort of like a discussion on certain topics, but the interviewer ended up asking us one by one. The topics we discussed are:
1. Accidents. What causes accidents?
2. What will you do when you are in a accident? Not sure they meant you saw an accident or you are involved in a accident, but all of us answered both.
3. What do you foresee as the biggest challenge abroad?
And the interviewer proceed to give us advice about studying abroad..
This is all i remember. XD I think our interview was a bit too easy? Almost like they are not really interested in us?
But good luck anyway to all of you out there!
your interview was today? didn't know there were still interviews going on today.
KenT13
16-04-2011, 10:13 PM
It seems that this thread had became a chatting place
course applied : dentistry
interview location : wisma negeri, alor setar
date : 12 April 2011
time : 11.05am
Interviewee : 4 girls, 1 boy
i reached there quite early in the morning.. so i just skip the waiting part...
i would describe what happened after entering the room.
first, the interviewers introduced themselves. (2 malays n 1 indian, 1 female n 2 male). they said they are from kementerian kesihatan blahblahblah.. nt really concentrate on what they are saying.. LOL..
then, they asked us to answer in bm if we are asked in bm or vice versa..
1. self-intro.. starting from the guy no 5, then no 4, no 3 n so on...
2. do u think that academic excellence means that u have a better future?
3. apakah pendapat anda tentang pelajar yang mendapat tajaan JPA tidak pulang ke Malaysia untuk berkhidmat? adakah anda akan melakukan perkara yang sama?
4. anda sebagai rakan sebaya, bagaimanakah anda dapat membantu kawan anda yang terlibat dalam gejala social?
5. apakah yang anda dapat sumbangkan dalam profesion yang anda pilihkan untuk membangunkan negara?
6. do u think that sex education will help to curb the problem of pregnancy before marriage?
then, they asked us any questions? we answered no.. then we came out.. n i forgt to shake hand with them..
o, ya.. the interview lasted for only 30 minutes..
n they din't even asked me anything about my course, which i hav prepared so hard.. haiz..
Ultraman_batman
20-04-2011, 04:41 PM
course applied : dentistry
interview location : wisma negeri, alor setar
date : 12 April 2011
time : 11.05am
Interviewee : 4 girls, 1 boy
i reached there quite early in the morning.. so i just skip the waiting part...
i would describe what happened after entering the room.
first, the interviewers introduced themselves. (2 malays n 1 indian, 1 female n 2 male). they said they are from kementerian kesihatan blahblahblah.. nt really concentrate on what they are saying.. LOL..
then, they asked us to answer in bm if we are asked in bm or vice versa..
1. self-intro.. starting from the guy no 5, then no 4, no 3 n so on...
2. do u think that academic excellence means that u have a better future?
3. apakah pendapat anda tentang pelajar yang mendapat tajaan JPA tidak pulang ke Malaysia untuk berkhidmat? adakah anda akan melakukan perkara yang sama?
4. anda sebagai rakan sebaya, bagaimanakah anda dapat membantu kawan anda yang terlibat dalam gejala social?
5. apakah yang anda dapat sumbangkan dalam profesion yang anda pilihkan untuk membangunkan negara?
6. do u think that sex education will help to curb the problem of pregnancy before marriage?
then, they asked us any questions? we answered no.. then we came out.. n i forgt to shake hand with them..
o, ya.. the interview lasted for only 30 minutes..
n they din't even asked me anything about my course, which i hav prepared so hard.. haiz..
Uhhh! For me, they didnt ask any general questions which I've prepared so hard! They asked all about engineering ='((
it would be nice if we exchange our interviewer.. haha:))
informer101
22-04-2011, 12:08 PM
course applied: SASTERA IKHTISAS :)
venue: UNITEN
the interview was fairly brief though. 40 minutes to interview 5 candidates? haha. roughly 8 minutes for each person.
1. intro (name, prev school, family background, course applied, country n etc)
2. general discussion: a) how to attract professionals back to malaysia
b) how coco help u to ace ur spm
3. quite an active discussion n debate between us. the interviewer just watched.
*im not even sure how they'll evaluate us with that kind of brief interview.. haha.
ZcrBz93
16-05-2011, 11:58 PM
Here is my share of experience :))
Course: Pure Science
Venue: Institut Perguruan Sarawak Miri
Date: 13 April 2011
Time: 4.35 p.m (we were the last group of the day!)
Details on interviewees:
There were altogether students in my group - 1 Chinese girl, 2 Chinese boys and 1 Sarawakian aborigine (me!). But hey, all of us speak Chinese. One Science applicant, one German Mechanical Engineering applicant and two Pure Science applicants.
Details on interviewers:
All of them were Malay. One man and two women. The man and one of the women asked questions in English while the other female interviewer asked in Malay.
During the interview:
Perhaps because we were the last group of the day, the interviewers didn't ask us introduce ourselves. They simply verify our names and ask for our course choice.
A few questions that they asked were:
1. What would be your contribution to the country in the field of science?
I talked about water as an alternative source of energy.
2. What is innovation?
I answered, innovation is about creating something new, whether it is inventing new ideas or fusing different ideas together. Somehow, the example using corn flour in cake-baking popped up in my head, hehe...
3. How do you inculcate innovation?
I said, by reading and gaining knowledge through various methods.
4. (Malay) What is your opinion about environmental pollution and measure taken by the government?
This time my answer became really lousy. I talked about increased height of factory chinmneys... something like that.
5. (Malay) What will you promote about Malaysia?
More lousy answers from me, unfortunately, because well, I talk about Malaysian food - and the knowledge I can get from living in a multiracial society. I was worried because the male interviewer was showing the "I'm-excessively-bored" facial expression!!
6. Are you studying right now? What are you doing currently?
No, I stayed at home. Doing house chores.
To be honest, I was not very confident about my performance (especially regarding the chimney and Malaysian food answers!). Nonetheless, it was quite an experience! :))
So, those were the questions (mostly, as some questions were only forwarded to one student). I hope that these would help future students. I know how agitated and worried a student can be before the interview :)