View Full Version : Survey: Audio engineering? Music?
BlubluTan
11-04-2011, 01:37 PM
Hello all, recently got my SPM results. I want to ask about audio engineering course in Malaysia and the future path of audio engineers. I'm very interested in music, but my dad suggested that by studying only music, it's really hard to have a clear vision of my future later. So he kind of disallowed me to take only music. But i still want to be involved in music industry. I love music.
So, i searched online and found audio engineering. But it seems still a very fresh course in Malaysia. Is it a good course? And what exactly is audio engineering? I know it's about recording and doing behind-the-stage work. What we study under audio engineering course? Is it a convincing field in Malaysia? I read on some forums, those graduated audio engineers cant find a job in Malaysia. Is it too "dangerous" to take this course?
Should i give up on my dream to be involved in music industry? Or are there still other courses in music industry besides audio engineering?
Please kindly throw out ideas. Thanks. :)
ayjiahui
11-04-2011, 01:46 PM
We actually do have a market for audio engineering but it probably is far different from what you are familiar with. Most of the audio engineering related jobs are commercial type jobs where you work with big MNCs such as JVC or advertising companies. I'm not sure if this is what you want to get involved in.
What aspects of music are you interested in? Are you a musician and what do you play?
There are lots of ways you can be involved in the music industry in Malaysia if you are genuinely interested in going into this field.
starfire9388
11-04-2011, 03:58 PM
Means that you mix music together or what?? can we branch out from engineering? Cuz I'm quite good at music... have the talent there (piano grade 8 lolx) but I dun really understand about how and what is audio engineering (from the internet >.<) so how about a brief introduction???
BlubluTan
13-04-2011, 01:46 PM
@<hidden>: I think ya, it's a branch of engineering. My fren said it's sort of like combining music and physics. From my survey online, it's recording work.
@<hidden>: same as starfire! I passed my grade 8 piano~i play guitar, drums too. I was in my school choir team and we made it to the national level! I love singing. Composing is also 1 of my talents~ hahaha. Any suggestions? You r an audio engineer?
Chelsea
14-04-2011, 10:50 PM
i heard of my friend who took his foundation in music in icom. and then i am not sure how he managed to further his studies in audio engineering at singapore. not sure hows the progression but you might want to find out bout this option.
puiyeel
06-05-2011, 10:49 AM
Audio engineering...ICOM would be better for now.
If just pure music, local uni or private college like UCSI, Yamaha Academy, MIA etc.
For work prospects there's quite some audio production studios in Malaysia too.
I have a cousin used to study in ICOM under Berklee Transfer programme but now she's working as Servicing in Advertising field
justinwwh
27-12-2011, 12:13 PM
hi! if you are interested in playing musical instruments, performance,then music performing arts courses is the best.. however if you are looking for practical hands on straight to audio production. i think sae institute is more appropriate.
sae institute in malaysia , www.sae.edu.my
mkavitha
02-04-2012, 12:01 AM
SAE vs Limkokwing sound&music technology? Any recommendations?