View Full Version : Malaysian Examinations Syndicate (MES)
15-09-2004, 08:25 AM
hahaha... wat a big joke... pls read the following report and give ur comments...
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/9/15/nation/8897310&sec=nation
at least this is new, instead of the previous records of faulty questions, typos, and leak of questions, now, they play with identical pictures... what a creative idea....
15-09-2004, 01:11 PM
Too small - can't even read - can anyone?
http://www.recom.org/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/10155/upsrpix.jpg
(source: thestar)
Anyway, let's wait for the investigations. Someone probably think this will be a joke, and can go home early and have more time with his family rather than write some actual question. Other "quality assurance" folks probably didn't go compare this with every single possible reference book out on the market.
15-09-2004, 10:06 PM
nope,not becoz of that.
the person who wrote the kertas model might has been the question's creator himself..i might be wrong though.
things worked this way:
the chosen teachers created questions and sent them to MES.they wont know which of their question will be chosen.other ppl actually determined which questions will come out in our national examination.that is why sometimes,paper like SPM chemistry became ridiculous becoz the same type of topics were repeated twice on the structured questions.
so basically,the author must has sent the essay to the MES and somehow reused them when he wrote the kertas model.
anyway,the question shows how low is our english standard.at 12,you are writting an essay equal to a grade one essay here in usa.
opaqa
15-09-2004, 11:11 PM
anyway,the question shows how low is our english standard.at 12,you are writting an essay equal to a grade one essay here in usa.
English is our 2nd language (for most people anyway). You can't expect everyone to be fluent in English by the time they turn 12. and since the exam is centralized, a few factors have to be taken into consideration when constructing the exam papers.
For a student exposed to English language his/her whole life, English paper is mickey mouse. But for a typical budak kampung who lives in an environment where everyone speaks only malay (or whatever their first language is), it's hard for them to even construct a simple phrase such as "you're a fat chicken." not to mention the lack of educational resource.
Anyway, I agree with what Phantom said about the author of the kertas model being the same person that submitted the (same) question to MES.
With regards to the decentralization of the public exams, I don't think that it is the right solution to the problem. It will only lower the standard of our education as some schools may tend to set easier questions to help their students ace the exams.
minishorts
16-09-2004, 12:55 AM
Actually, if you pull out any UPSR topical practice book, you'll see that same picture recurring in every other year.
haven't you already done that essay on going back to your kampung, visiting a grandpa, and plucking fruit from a tree?
When I get back to work tomorrow I'll check out the real exam paper to see if the illustrations are the same. AS far as I'm concerned, the notes in the Pearson book are almost the same as any other notes given by other publishers.
17-09-2004, 06:46 PM
The Education Director general said:
?We do this on purpose to encourage students to refer to various reference materials. Everything is according to procedure,? he added.
In an interview yesterday, Abdul Rafie said there was nothing wrong with Question 22 in the UPSR (Primary School Achievement Test) English paper, which was almost identical to one in the Kertas Model Pentaksiran UPSR English workbook published by Pearson Malaysia.
After looking at the workbook and the UPSR English paper, Abdul Rafie did not hesitate to say that the Malaysian Examinations Syndicate (MES) was allowed to reproduce the question.
?This book is authorised, so it is all right,? he said, noting that such duplication of material was acceptable as long as the questions were based on the syllabus.
He added that examination writers sourced for information from a range of materials including school textbooks, workbooks, newspapers and magazines
source: the star.
well,lol.in purpose?so next time students must buy all the latih tubi books in the market lah.
it's 15 marks.that is a lot.if A is 70% and above,this is totally unfair for those who never tried the question b4.
minishort wrote:
[haven't you already done that essay on going back to your kampung, visiting a grandpa, and plucking fruit from a tree?
yeas,but with the same diagrams?
i know in upsr level,we learnt the same things.the same dull things.and i realized 110 students can attain straight A's in certain school.
but come to think about it,UPSR is an important exam,it will determine which students will head to boarding schools,premiers schools and which one who will be stucked somewhere else.it will determine,which students will be at aminuddin baki and which students will be in the ordinary school.This will to some extend affect their PMR and SPM results.read: to some extend.
I believe all 500 000 students must resit for their english paper.if they dont,MES credibility is worth questioning.usually they only repeat the same questions from the MRSM/SBP papers,but now from some latih tubi book?
17-09-2004, 10:29 PM
I believe all 500 000 students must resit for their english paper.if they dont,MES credibility is worth questioning.usually they only repeat the same questions from the MRSM/SBP papers,but now from some latih tubi book?
interesting..... hehehe
27-09-2004, 10:45 AM
hehe...
the *EVIL* question
Question 22 of the UPSR English paper 2
Quoting an English teacher *from the same school* whom i interviewed during my practicum:
"Question 22 is one of the toughest part of the English paper. Most of our students can't even construct a simple sentence, what more think critically on how to create a correct sentence from the words given. It's a good thing the instructions are in both Malay n English, so the students at least know what they're supposed to do. But still, if they hv to depend on the Malay instruction to know what they are supposed to do, do you honestly think they can think of correct simple sentences to be constructed as answers?"
End of quote.
I observed a Yr 4 English lesson, in which the teacher used the evil Question 22 *taken from a workbook*.
I find it hard to believe that the some of the students *it was a mixed-ability class* had trouble understanding and giving correct answers, it being a school in KL. Like..this is KL, where everyone speaks English *let's not talk about the quality heheh* What about the students in the rural areas?
About the exam paper thing, well..what to do..EVIL things come when you least notice it :P
ryoma-kun
27-10-2004, 09:52 PM
Oh man, just wonder when such thing will cease!