View Full Version : Discussion: Anyone planning to study in Hong Kong this year?
puiyeel
19-04-2011, 02:18 PM
I know there is already a Study in HK topic presently.
But I open up this new one to discuss this year anyone planning to go to study in Hong Kong?
And applied what courses?
Got your offers yet?
I am planning to study Creative Media in City University Of Hong Kong or Digital Media at Polytechnic University of Hong Kong.
I think that is quite odd, never heard any Malaysian take that before there.
Anyone same as me? Any comments?
Or any other courses, would love to know application statuses. =)
Gemini
20-04-2011, 02:41 PM
I know there is already a Study in HK topic presently.
But I open up this new one to discuss this year anyone planning to go to study in Hong Kong?
And applied what courses?
Got your offers yet?
I am planning to study Creative Media in City University Of Hong Kong or Digital Media at Polytechnic University of Hong Kong.
I think that is quite odd, never heard any Malaysian take that before there.
Anyone same as me? Any comments?
Or any other courses, would love to know application statuses. =)
Hi, I've applied for HKUST undergrad programme. However, my status is still "under consideration".
IAmYourNightmare
20-04-2011, 05:11 PM
Hi everyone. I applied to HKU and HKUST in December '10 too. I have offers for BSc Economics and Finance from both - I turned down HKU's offer though.
I accepted HKUST's offer, but it is very unlikely that I'm going there.
puiyeel
20-04-2011, 05:18 PM
Gemini : I see, mine both side oso under reviews also but I just get phone interview from CityU this morning
IAmYourNightmare : Oh so fast you got offers for both. Your results must be very good! Can you share with us?
How come you will turn down all offers? Is it u get from other unis?
joshuaoch
20-04-2011, 06:59 PM
Hi everyone. I applied to HKU and HKUST in December '10 too. I have offers for BSc Economics and Finance from both - I turned down HKU's offer though.
I accepted HKUST's offer, but it is very unlikely that I'm going there.
Swt... Unlikely? Chances are there that you turn down Y*** for HKUST?^^
BSc Actuarial Science in HKU here... under consideration...
edge_seraph
20-04-2011, 07:53 PM
Hey guys. Nice meeting y'all. I have received an offer from HKU just last week to study Science. Now am torn between NUS (albeit haven't receive an offer from them yet) and Hong Kong. Anyone here facing the same dilemma? XD
joshuaoch
20-04-2011, 08:15 PM
Hey guys. Nice meeting y'all. I have received an offer from HKU just last week to study Science. Now am torn between NUS (albeit haven't receive an offer from them yet) and Hong Kong. Anyone here facing the same dilemma? XD
Wow so you got the offer already? Cool! What major? Does it comes with a scholarship?
Congratz^^ And that should mean that i got waitlisted T.T
Yeah i face the same dilemma... I applied for NUS-ANU program...
IAmYourNightmare
20-04-2011, 08:20 PM
Gemini : I see, mine both side oso under reviews also but I just get phone interview from CityU this morning
IAmYourNightmare : Oh so fast you got offers for both. Your results must be very good! Can you share with us?
How come you will turn down all offers? Is it u get from other unis?
Haha, I think it depends on what department you applied to.
HKU interviewed me in January and the decision came in Mid-march.
HKUST interviewed me in late February and the decision came out 2 weeks later.
If you've had your interview, I'm sure it wont be long before you get a reply.
Yeah, I got an offer from another university, so I'm quite sure I wont go to HK anymore :) All the best in your application!
edge_seraph
20-04-2011, 08:23 PM
Wow so you got the offer already? Cool! What major? Does it comes with a scholarship?
Congratz^^ And that should mean that i got waitlisted T.T
Yeah i face the same dilemma... I applied for NUS-ANU program...
Well, there are 15 majors (I think) to choose from the Science faculty, but I would most probably be going for biochemistry. Yeah, I received the Entrance Scholarship totaling HK$90,000, and it's renewable each year (subject to good academic progress, of course). So, this has made the dilemma even worse. LOL.
Don't worry. Maybe you'll hear from them within this month.
puiyeel
21-04-2011, 02:56 AM
Well, there are 15 majors (I think) to choose from the Science faculty, but I would most probably be going for biochemistry. Yeah, I received the Entrance Scholarship totaling HK$90,000, and it's renewable each year (subject to good academic progress, of course). So, this has made the dilemma even worse. LOL.
Don't worry. Maybe you'll hear from them within this month.
Wow, nice to see many Malaysians interested to go to HK too, but mostly HKU and HKUST.
I chose CityU bcoz of the course, got to know CityU there now have quite an amount of Malaysian students too.
edge_seraph do u mind to share how's ur results as u get such high amount of scholarship?
Good luck to you all who have yet to get an offer, myself too, worrying~
edge_seraph
21-04-2011, 07:55 PM
Wow, nice to see many Malaysians interested to go to HK too, but mostly HKU and HKUST.
I chose CityU bcoz of the course, got to know CityU there now have quite an amount of Malaysian students too.
edge_seraph do u mind to share how's ur results as u get such high amount of scholarship?
Good luck to you all who have yet to get an offer, myself too, worrying~
Well, I got a 3.92 in STPM, if that helps. :) Oh yeah, they did conduct scholarship interviews during the Star Education Fair in KLCC. So, I think the interview performance is taken into account as well.
puiyeel
22-04-2011, 11:27 AM
Well, I got a 3.92 in STPM, if that helps. :) Oh yeah, they did conduct scholarship interviews during the Star Education Fair in KLCC. So, I think the interview performance is taken into account as well.
Ah, very good results =)
Oh ur interview was at the Star Edu Fair. Yeap actually interview performance and results are very very important to them. CityU didn't come to Malaysia for promo this year if I didn't remember wrongly. I saw HKU, HKUST.
So now still dilemma where to go to?
Do you know is there many Malaysians students there now? I heard CityU have more then 10 Malaysians there now.
When my friends know I want to go to HK and study, all of them feel is so weird.
My major, mostly all go to UK, Aus and sometimes NZ.
hayley
22-04-2011, 12:22 PM
Hey, if I wasnt wrong, I was considering bout applying for hong kong universities as well untill I saw the requirement that said " All academic documents must be translated to ENglish (orginal document) " .. I was shock, I am a form6 graduates, everythin is in Malay, and I live in Sarawak....How do I ask the Kementerian of Pendidikan to do another sets of documents in English?? so in d end, I gave up.... bcuz it say if its not translated, it wont be in consideration, plus there is a registration fee about HK500
zanyzephyr
22-04-2011, 01:41 PM
Oo I was there too! But somehow I think I screwed up my interview a lil because
A. Group interview I suck in them, and I was the first to start some more.
B. I was sitting down. No confidence sial.
I did applied for HKU last December too, but apparently my application is still "under consideration" and the weird thing is they have already received my results, but yet to announce my application status. What's worse, there are already people who went over there for interview and CAME BACK, while I'm still stuck here. WEIRD. Btw, I've applied for Medicine(yes i know chances are slim as the A4 paper sliced into 1000 pieces) but still, I applied before results were out. I've gotten offer from IMU and Newcastle Malaysia for Medicine also, but I'm still giving HKU a shot.
puiyeel
22-04-2011, 03:43 PM
Hey, if I wasnt wrong, I was considering bout applying for hong kong universities as well untill I saw the requirement that said " All academic documents must be translated to ENglish (orginal document) " .. I was shock, I am a form6 graduates, everythin is in Malay, and I live in Sarawak....How do I ask the Kementerian of Pendidikan to do another sets of documents in English?? so in d end, I gave up.... bcuz it say if its not translated, it wont be in consideration, plus there is a registration fee about HK500
Hi Hayley,
For the translation of the documents, actually for me, I submitted my SPM results as it is, untranslated but all my diploma transcripts r already all in english.
But as I know, but do correct me if I am wrong.
1. You can always hire some professional translation service to do for you.
2. Translate it yourself and get your school's Pengawai like the Principal to verify for you
That's what I saw some other plp doing.
adele123
22-04-2011, 05:17 PM
Nothing comes free, registration fee for Aussie uni's range from $50 to $100
Singapore uni also cost like $20? Or something like that.
I was a STPM student (I did apply but now studying in Aussie) and so were my friends (2 of them) currently studying in HKUST. Get the important documents translated to english by your school and go for it.
edge_seraph
22-04-2011, 11:31 PM
You could have just translated them yourself and get them certified by your principal or the senior assistants, you know. Trust me, HKU's application process is nowhere as tedious as the US university's. Well, the registration fee is another bummer, since most universities I applied to doesn't require that much amount of money. =\
Oo I was there too! But somehow I think I screwed up my interview a lil because
A. Group interview I suck in them, and I was the first to start some more.
B. I was sitting down. No confidence sial.
I did applied for HKU last December too, but apparently my application is still "under consideration" and the weird thing is they have already received my results, but yet to announce my application status. What's worse, there are already people who went over there for interview and CAME BACK, while I'm still stuck here. WEIRD. Btw, I've applied for Medicine(yes i know chances are slim as the A4 paper sliced into 1000 pieces) but still, I applied before results were out. I've gotten offer from IMU and Newcastle Malaysia for Medicine also, but I'm still giving HKU a shot.
Oh, don't bother with the application status in the HKU portal. Mine is still stating "Under Consideration" even though I have received the offer from them. With regards to the group interview, I thought I wasn't performing that well either. During the discussion, all I did was raising questions, prompting other members to further the discussion and giving some points here and there. Then again, the interviewers told us that our group managed to give something more, content-wise, compared to the others, so that's a relief.
All in all, I was lucky 'cause the other members were great and there was chemistry between us. We took turns, helped each other out, no awkward silences, and just kept the discussion going on. You know, those things that your MUET teacher will never fail to mention when doing your Speaking test, LOL.
puiyeel
27-04-2011, 11:10 AM
You could have just translated them yourself and get them certified by your principal or the senior assistants, you know. Trust me, HKU's application process is nowhere as tedious as the US university's. Well, the registration fee is another bummer, since most universities I applied to doesn't require that much amount of money. =\
Ya I agree, is true applying to HK unis are not tedious, quite straightforward also. The application system is good enough.
zanyzephyr
27-04-2011, 11:45 AM
Oh, don't bother with the application status in the HKU portal. Mine is still stating "Under Consideration" even though I have received the offer from them. With regards to the group interview, I thought I wasn't performing that well either. During the discussion, all I did was raising questions, prompting other members to further the discussion and giving some points here and there. Then again, the interviewers told us that our group managed to give something more, content-wise, compared to the others, so that's a relief.
All in all, I was lucky 'cause the other members were great and there was chemistry between us. We took turns, helped each other out, no awkward silences, and just kept the discussion going on. You know, those things that your MUET teacher will never fail to mention when doing your Speaking test, LOL.
Great, that means I most probably doesn't have any chances left. T.T Oh well, too competitive course I guess. Even pharmacy wasn't offered. Say, the professor said the exact same thing! What's your full name again? Were you one of my batch which have had our interview at 1.00 pm? 3 guys 3 girls group.
edge_seraph
27-04-2011, 07:19 PM
Great, that means I most probably doesn't have any chances left. T.T Oh well, too competitive course I guess. Even pharmacy wasn't offered. Say, the professor said the exact same thing! What's your full name again? Were you one of my batch which have had our interview at 1.00 pm? 3 guys 3 girls group.
Hey, my interview session was around 4.30pm, and our group consists of 3 guys and 1 girl. Your interview sure is early.
Well, not to be pessimistic here, but if the professor said the same thing to you, maybe he said the same thing to all the groups? XD. I think he wanted us to feel that we didn't do bad in the interviews, even though we somehow did, LOL. Anyway, I think I made a mistake in my previous post about the scholarship amount. It seems that I would not be getting HK$90,000 per year, but HK$30,000 only. Guess I may not be pursuing my studies there, unless I get a scholarship or some financial aids.
So, to rest of you who are still keen/yearn on studying in Hong Kong, good luck and all the best. :)
Cherylkyu
02-05-2011, 10:59 AM
Hi Hayley,
For the translation of the documents, actually for me, I submitted my SPM results as it is
I did the same thing hehe but added my translations on the side of the subjects like Sejarah, Bahasa Malaysia and Pendidikan Moral just in case they don't know what it is :amuse There are many other Malaysians applying so I guess they can just refer lol
So anyone got offers yet?
Mine has been under consideration since forever :(
Gemini
02-05-2011, 01:27 PM
I did the same thing hehe but added my translations on the side of the subjects like Sejarah, Bahasa Malaysia and Pendidikan Moral just in case they don't know what it is :amuse There are many other Malaysians applying so I guess they can just refer lol
So anyone got offers yet?
Mine has been under consideration since forever :(
Mine's still under consideration.Btw, I applied for HKUST as regular applicant. Hw abt u?
Cherylkyu
02-05-2011, 01:31 PM
I'm applying for the BDS course in HKU.
Gemini
02-05-2011, 01:35 PM
I'm applying for the BDS course in HKU.
Wow...I really salute you.I guess u got 4A's in STPM, rite?btw..i've no idea y HKUST seems to be slow in processing
Cherylkyu
02-05-2011, 01:39 PM
Nope I'm still halfway through A Levels hehe... going to take A2 exams in a week =) Oh ya I just remembered I also applied to HKUST for fun haha... got thrown into the waiting list lol
Gemini
02-05-2011, 01:42 PM
Nope I'm still halfway through A Levels hehe... going to take A2 exams in a week =) Oh ya I just remembered I also applied to HKUST for fun haha... got thrown into the waiting list lol
Well, HKUST didn't send me any info. Just my application status shows 'under consideration'. Wow...great..if u manage to get admission, then you'll probably b younger than others.
Cherylkyu
02-05-2011, 01:46 PM
Well I hope I get it! ^_^... Did you go for interview at HKUST yet?
puiyeel
03-05-2011, 11:55 PM
Seems that all the direct application are still under process, even I applied 2 unis...one had interviewed me 2 weeks ago and still under review status and another uni oso still under consideration status since last year end.
oh i hav jz receive my offer notification today, but no entrance scholarship, don't know how now, very $$
joshuaoch
16-05-2011, 11:30 PM
Just got my reply from HKU... BSc. (AC)... HK$90k scholarship...
puiyeel
18-05-2011, 02:14 PM
Just got my reply from HKU... BSc. (AC)... HK$90k scholarship...
congrates josh! so when r u flying over?
joshuaoch
18-05-2011, 05:11 PM
congrates josh! so when r u flying over?
Thanks... In dilemma actually... Struggling to decide between Melb and HKU...
Any seniors or 'have done his/her homework' who could give me a broad picture on career opportunities and cost of living in HK upon graduation?
puiyeel
29-06-2011, 03:13 PM
Oh, so how many of you guys are going to HK in this coming new Semester?
allylalcohol
30-06-2011, 03:51 PM
HKU for science (got the HKD90k entrance scholarship too). NUS has rejected me and the UK unis are way beyond my budget, so there's no dilemma in my case!
puiyeel
01-07-2011, 11:18 AM
HKU for science (got the HKD90k entrance scholarship too). NUS has rejected me and the UK unis are way beyond my budget, so there's no dilemma in my case!
Oh i see. So means you're going to HKU this coming September?
Good luck k!
allylalcohol
02-07-2011, 04:22 PM
Oh i see. So means you're going to HKU this coming September?
Good luck k!
Yes, I'll be there this September and thanks for the wish :)
puiyeel
04-07-2011, 02:28 AM
Yes, I'll be there this September and thanks for the wish :)
Ic~ I'm waiting for my visa to approve, if ok I'll be there in HK by Aug too suppose
puiyeel
05-07-2011, 11:34 AM
may i know which uni you going to?
I'm going to CityU, as my course not many other Unis have.
R u going to study in HK too this year? Where and what course?
puiyeel
05-07-2011, 01:40 PM
yup..i m going polyu for surveying..i got offer for cityu too. however surveying seems better at polyu..haha..nyway, good to see that there are other malaysians pursuing theirs studies at hk =)
actually i got offer from polyu too =P but my case vice versa, cityu is better for my course, so i go cityu, haha~ Have u got ur visa yet?
nice to meet you ya ^^
puiyeel
06-07-2011, 11:03 AM
haha..i see..what course u taking? yup..i got my visa last week..normally it will take 1.5 months from the date u applied d visa..so what date will u arrive hk?
T_T i havent got my visa yet, abit worried, July already.
I'll be arriving to HK either aug 23 or 24... how bout you?
I'll be taking Creative Media.
Mind if i add u in msn? pm me =)
shenhoong
06-07-2011, 11:33 AM
T_T i havent got my visa yet, abit worried, July already.
I'll be arriving to HK either aug 23 or 24... how bout you?
I'll be taking Creative Media.
Mind if i add u in msn? pm me =)
oo..when did u apply your visa? i think i will be arriving on 19th coz orientation is on 20th..ya sure..u may add me at msn or fb =)
puiyeel
06-07-2011, 12:00 PM
oo..when did u apply your visa? i think i will be arriving on 19th coz orientation is on 20th..ya sure..u may add me at msn or fb =)
I think I sent back my application end of May/early June back to uni. So suppose need to wait somemore.
Oh I see, polyu orientation is earlier then cityu.
Any other frens goin to hk with u? Do u know polyu have any other Malaysian students?
mechwilson
14-07-2011, 02:11 PM
Me too going to HK, Anyone going to HKUST? I have applied HKU but no reply, probably because of late application( i apply in March using STPM result)
shenhoong
15-07-2011, 01:12 PM
Me too going to HK, Anyone going to HKUST? I have applied HKU but no reply, probably because of late application( i apply in March using STPM result)
oo..i remember hku application due date is around december..u going hkust?
Anybody knows which hall is the best?
I'm sure some halls are better in sports than others. and some are also stronger culturally. Any ideas?
puiyeel
15-07-2011, 01:31 PM
Anybody knows which hall is the best?
I'm sure some halls are better in sports than others. and some are also stronger culturally. Any ideas?
Halls in which uni u meant?
Oh sorry, i meant HKU.
mechwilson
16-07-2011, 10:07 PM
oo..i remember hku application due date is around december..u going hkust?
yup, going on 23/08 majoring in mech eng
May i know what is the exact date for the coming intake of hkust?
Orlando
13-08-2011, 04:59 PM
for international students i think should b all the same.. as mechwilson mentioned orientation should start 23rd?
So if i apply now, i have to wait till next year?
mechwilson
16-08-2011, 05:56 PM
So if i apply now, i have to wait till next year?
Yup, if you apply now, you ll have to wait till next year fall semester(September intake). It's advisable to apply early, if you have not got your real result, you can use forecast result, (school transcript is also very important, so make sure you score high mark in your school). If you apply late, you ll have to pay higher application fee and the chances of getting into HKUST isn't high, unless your result is really excellent.
for international students i think should b all the same.. as mechwilson mentioned orientation should start 23rd?
I think it varies among universities, the official check-in date of HKUST for this year is on the 24th of August. However in the early month of August there are already some workshops available.
yAn_Ne
13-09-2011, 05:29 PM
Anyone studying pharmacy in University of Hong Kong?
Xing_92
07-03-2012, 09:09 AM
Anyone received offers to study at HKU for Sept.2012 intake.
dolpin122
08-03-2012, 06:43 PM
Anyone studying pharmacy in University of Hong Kong?
I applied for pharmacy in chinese uni of HK tho....did you apply there too?
puiyeel
16-05-2012, 10:48 PM
Anyone applied to City University Of Hong Kong this year?
Winddd
18-05-2012, 12:04 AM
Anyone received offers to study at HKU for Sept.2012 intake.
ME!! Bachelor of economics and finance with 150000hkd entrance scholarship :)