View Full Version : Rhodes Scholarship Winners?

minishorts
16-09-2004, 12:48 AM
Hi... am just trying my luck here.... I've applied for the above scholarhip (third year of application) and I really need to know what makes a good personal statement...

The first year I applied, I got called for the interview, but I didn't make it (not sure what went wrong, but we'll cross the hurdle when we come to it).

The second year I applied I wasn't even selected for the interview, so the techniques I used in the personal statement were obviously wrong.

This will be the third year.... I"m just trying my luck to seek out previous winners, and see if you're willing to share you experiences.

THANKS!!! *special thanks to JJ for pointing me here*

16-09-2004, 12:53 AM
minishorts, there is one Malaysian that I know got Rhodes scholarship last year. She is currently working with Petronas. I have sent a private message to you on her email address. May be you can seek a bit of her help~!

Welcome to ReCom~! Hope that you can get active here~! Am sure you have a lot to share with us. Go to the Introduce Yourself thread and do an intro~! Welcome on board~!

Good Luck~! May be you can also share with other ReComers about Rhodes Scholarships~!

aquila
16-09-2004, 08:50 AM
Malaysia selects only one person for Rhodes each year, isn't it? ChenChow, can you IM me the email address of the Rhodes scholar you know? I'm interested to know which criteria they place as important when examining candidates. In the US, it seems to be academic excellence, involvement in service and research.

17-09-2004, 11:57 PM
what is rhodes scholarship, may i know ? 10x

18-09-2004, 12:46 AM
Perhaps you can look into this website:-

http://www.rhodesscholar.org/

It is one of the most prestigious scholarships in the world.

20-09-2004, 12:56 AM
Yes it is very hard to get. I think minishorts was down to the final 2 the last round but the other person was selected coz she was just an undergrad that time, while the other is a grad student with some "stuff" already.

minishorts, do you mind writing an article on your ups and downs of applying to rhodes on remag? :wink: please...

minishorts
25-09-2004, 01:54 AM
aiyoh... cannot lah. if i get the scholarship this year i'll do that.

last year i applied again anyway and i wasn't even selected for the interview, despite added confidence with the what i thought was the 'right' stuff.

am already very nervy when it comes to all these...anyway i'm submitting the forms tomorrow. wish me great luck!

25-09-2004, 08:31 AM
Good Luck, mini ;) and all the best! Its nice to have another person with great talent here ...

aquila
25-09-2004, 09:58 AM
Is there a maximum number of times a person can apply for the scholarship?

Good luck!

25-09-2004, 01:41 PM
Good Luck, minishorts~! I really like your preseverance~! Kudos~!

minishorts
26-09-2004, 02:15 PM
thanks... arigato!!! :D