View Full Version : Are there people who regret taking matrix?

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 06:25 PM
is there anyone who regret taking matrix over form 6? because u suffer more in uni? or any other comments.. im having this dilemma to choose between form 6 or matrix.. im afraid i will make wrong decisions.. any other comments.. please help.. thanks..

adrian0105
28-04-2011, 06:27 PM
is there anyone who regret taking matrix over form 6? because u suffer more in uni? or any other comments.. im having this dilemma to choose between form 6 or matrix.. im afraid i will make wrong decisions.. any other comments.. please help.. thanks..
i nid help too.. any senior willing to share?

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 06:30 PM
i nid help too.. any senior willing to share?

u got matrix also? wer? im in a big dilemma.. but my mom wants me to pick matrix.. haiz.. i dunno is this the rite path.. TT

kun_JK92
28-04-2011, 06:30 PM
never regret
but first of all,do you really want to take up degree programme overseas?

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 06:33 PM
never regret
but first of all,do you really want to take up degree programme overseas?

i hope to if i am given a chance..

Musicsky
28-04-2011, 06:35 PM
no regrets~ it's not as bad as what others think. in fact, you still have the chance to go overseas if you get scholarship by using matriculation result.

kun_JK92
28-04-2011, 06:39 PM
yeah..although it might be tougher for you to get scholarships afterward,but if you are really good,why not!=)

adrian0105
28-04-2011, 06:41 PM
u got matrix also? wer? im in a big dilemma.. but my mom wants me to pick matrix.. haiz.. i dunno is this the rite path.. TT
i gt kedah. hmmm i now studying a lvl, but now i gt matriks.. so i now considering going for it. i also in big dilemma. a lvl?matriks? if i din get any scholarship i muz choose either a lvl or matriks.

Destiny_Child
28-04-2011, 06:43 PM
*faints* why should u reject the offer? i couldnt find any reason to that.
ok...form 6 and matrix are all pre-u studies. but form 6 is a pathway with lotsa obstacles, but matrix is like a smooth road ahead...if u r aiming to do degree in any local uni eg: um , ukm, usm, etc, u shud go for matrix if u get it. if not, jus go form 6. those who are well to do, of course, u can go to private colleges/uni.
basically, matrix syllabus is a lot easier than stpm's. so why would u wanna travel a rocky road when u ady have a smooth road in front of u?....
i didnt get into matrix many yrs back, so i went 4 stpm.
and another thing i wanna clarify is that in uni, no one would judge u whether u r from matrix/form 6. everyone is at the same par. mayb form 6 students might do a little better but still, matrix students are not all losers.
ok, jus my 2 cents.
peace =)

Musicsky
28-04-2011, 06:45 PM
i gt kedah. hmmm i now studying a lvl, but now i gt matriks.. so i now considering going for it. i also in big dilemma. a lvl?matriks? if i din get any scholarship i muz choose either a lvl or matriks.

there were actually many of my friends studying a level, but then chose matrics. so think carefully what you really want, like your family financial and other factors before you decide.:)

kun_JK92
28-04-2011, 06:46 PM
and once u entered matric,you will find out that all your friends are strong and clever!i mean,for non-bumis,if you can get into matrik,you are somehow someone...XD

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 06:52 PM
and once u entered matric,you will find out that all your friends are strong and clever!i mean,for non-bumis,if you can get into matrik,you are somehow someone...XD

thx forr so high expectation.. lol..

no regrets~ it's not as bad as what others think. in fact, you still have the chance to go overseas if you get scholarship by using matriculation result.

wer can i go for overseas.. im planning to do forensics..

kun_JK92
28-04-2011, 06:53 PM
there were actually many of my friends studying a level, but then chose matrics. so think carefully what you really want, like your family financial and other factors before you decide.:)

i one of those who studied a-lvl and switched to matric too!:P

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 06:53 PM
*faints* why should u reject the offer? i couldnt find any reason to that.
ok...form 6 and matrix are all pre-u studies. but form 6 is a pathway with lotsa obstacles, but matrix is like a smooth road ahead...if u r aiming to do degree in any local uni eg: um , ukm, usm, etc, u shud go for matrix if u get it. if not, jus go form 6. those who are well to do, of course, u can go to private colleges/uni.
basically, matrix syllabus is a lot easier than stpm's. so why would u wanna travel a rocky road when u ady have a smooth road in front of u?....
i didnt get into matrix many yrs back, so i went 4 stpm.
and another thing i wanna clarify is that in uni, no one would judge u whether u r from matrix/form 6. everyone is at the same par. mayb form 6 students might do a little better but still, matrix students are not all losers.
ok, jus my 2 cents.
peace =)

does this states tat matrix student have to work harder in unis?

Musicsky
28-04-2011, 06:55 PM
thx forr so high expectation.. lol..

wer can i go for overseas.. im planning to do forensics..

it's true that most non-bumis are very high profile~
well, that depends on whether you can get scholarship or not. i have a friend just got scholarship to japan. you have to take notes on the scholarships provided out there. many of them did offer scholarship for matriculation students.

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 06:59 PM
it's true that most non-bumis are very high profile~
well, that depends on whether you can get scholarship or not. i have a friend just got scholarship to japan. you have to take notes on the scholarships provided out there. many of them did offer scholarship for matriculation students.

can u provide me a link or are there specific pathways in my future ahead?

one more.. is it necessary for me to buy reference books for matrix? or what are the important things i need to prepare.. please give me some briefing.. thx seniors..

adrian0105
28-04-2011, 07:00 PM
i one of those who studied a-lvl and switched to matric too!:P
oh really? thats really add my confident into going to matriks

Destiny_Child
28-04-2011, 07:00 PM

erm. nope. in uni, we dont categorize our frens into matrix/form 6. and we just mix together and study together. so there's no issue of who is working harder, etc etc
but from what i see, f6 students do a little better than matrix students. but not all.
and some matrix students even score better than f6 students.
so we cant actually say matrix students arent as good as f6 ones because there are exceptions.
and in uni, all the things u gonna learn are new.
so all of us will start from square 1.

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 07:02 PM
oh really? thats really add my confident into going to matriks

adrian.. wer u frm? im frm kedah and they send me to johor.. haiz.. sad case..

adrian0105
28-04-2011, 07:02 PM
my frends all frm clhs.. most gt kedah.. wow cool.. include me

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 07:03 PM
erm. nope. in uni, we dont categorize our frens into matrix/form 6. and we just mix together and study together. so there's no issue of who is working harder, etc etc
but from what i see, f6 students do a little better than matrix students. but not all.
and some matrix students even score better than f6 students.
so we cant actually say matrix students arent as good as f6 ones because there are exceptions.
and in uni, all the things u gonna learn are new.
so all of us will start from square 1.

thx.. this boost my confidence a little.. starting to have feel for matrix le..

adrian0105
28-04-2011, 07:07 PM
thx.. this boost my confidence a little.. starting to have feel for matrix le..
frm wat i heard from my senior in my school, f6 students who are better than matriks student are those top scorer in f6, so even if u study f6 and u cannot cope it, matriks student will still stand a chance win u.

Destiny_Child
28-04-2011, 07:09 PM
yup. just go for it. good luck!

Kira134
28-04-2011, 07:13 PM

not necessary. there are even matric students who are even better than stpm students! in terms of medic course, the amount of knowledge you learnt in stpm and matric are more or less the same. when all of you are enroled into university, everyone is on the same boat. and it doesnt matter whether you are from matric or stpm as everything starts all over..=) some may say form 6 students are better because most of the top scorers are selected into local university

kun_JK92
28-04-2011, 07:16 PM
yeap...when you start your degree programme,everything will be deeper and more focus on what you should learn..
everyone has to work hard in unis though...=)

Musicsky
28-04-2011, 07:38 PM

one more.. is it necessary for me to buy reference books for matrix? or what are the important things i need to prepare.. please give me some briefing.. thx seniors..

you can check online or go to malaysian scholarship network to see got what scholarships.:)

don't worry, as long as you can adapt to it, you will enjoy it.

clarrie93
28-04-2011, 07:50 PM
erm..i dont know where to ask or this is the right thread, but i really need to ask any of the seniors studying in matric....currently i just got an offer for Matrik Mara Kulim, under science.. I was thinking of pursue-ing Law after i finished matrik, so should i change and study account instead? I was a science student who take account as an extra subject (just thought that i have to say that)

kun_JK92
28-04-2011, 07:51 PM

i am from johor and last year they sent me to kedah!=)dont worry...all is wellllll...XD

iKoMetaga
28-04-2011, 07:55 PM
some of my friends are now studying overseas under Shell sponsorship, and they scored 4.0s during matrics

Musicsky
28-04-2011, 08:11 PM
erm..i dont know where to ask or this is the right thread, but i really need to ask any of the seniors studying in matric....currently i just got an offer for Matrik Mara Kulim, under science.. I was thinking of pursue-ing Law after i finished matrik, so should i change and study account instead? I was a science student who take account as an extra subject (just thought that i have to say that)

you can pursue Law even though you take science.:)

chelsea93
28-04-2011, 08:28 PM
Hey, i want to know, if i enter Matrikulasi, do i have like 0% chance of going overseas? Just asking :P

Musicsky
28-04-2011, 08:30 PM
Hey, i want to know, if i enter Matrikulasi, do i have like 0% chance of going overseas? Just asking :P

Apply for scholarships that allow you to go overseas, you might have the chance.:amuse

Kira134
28-04-2011, 09:27 PM
i wouldn't say 0% at all but its kinda rare. the main aim people usually go for matric so that they have a smoother path towards local university. another thing is not many countries that recognizes malaysia's matriculation level.

Chelsea
28-04-2011, 09:55 PM
hey australian universities accept malaysian matrics. Better go and check it out.

clarrie93
28-04-2011, 10:55 PM
you can pursue Law even though you take science.:)

aw..thanks for answering! :laugh

lishing
28-04-2011, 11:17 PM
kudos to the thread starter! :))

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 11:34 PM
kudos to the thread starter! :))

huh? what does this mean?

thx for all your help.. but now im having dilemma again.. form 6 or matrix.. haiz.. i just cant make up my mind..

azmionorac
28-04-2011, 11:41 PM

thx for all your help.. but now im having dilemma again.. form 6 or matrix.. haiz.. i just cant make up my mind..

Well for me,

Matriks = SHort well-paved road towards public local universities.

Form 6 = Long bumpy road towards the same destination.

Anyway, thats what i think :))

Hottest
28-04-2011, 11:43 PM

kudos is like good job?

well i will let u know that theres lots of ppl who wan to take ur place in matrix
i mean non-bumi..:)

azmionorac
28-04-2011, 11:47 PM
kudos is like good job?

well i will let u know that theres lots of ppl who wan to take ur place in matrix

Yea i bet. I heard that the quota for non-bumis are only 10%, is this true??

jonlim93
28-04-2011, 11:47 PM
kudos is like good job?

thx then.. hehe..
i know.. but i dunno i really want it or nt.. haiz..

SapphireDragon
28-04-2011, 11:53 PM
There's always this news that people who graduated from matrik are able to secure places overseas. While it does help to look a little optimistic, I would like to differ from this kind of mentality. Most, if not, ALL students after matrik will choose to enter public universities. Not a single one of my matrik friends went overseas (if you don't count Indonesia)

Why? Because critical courses such as medicine, dentistry and pharmacy is cheaper here. Plus, no overseas university is likely going to offer you courses such as this with your matrik results. That's why to those who dream of becoming doctors, dentists or lawyers, it's always the best path currently to follow matrik. It saves costs in tuition fees in the future, the time needed to complete and most importantly, you're already a foot in to secure a place for your dream course.

As for those who said they have friends studying in Japan or getting a Shell Scholarship overseas, I'm not saying I distrust you but it would be helpful if you disclosed what courses they actually took and which university offered them. That would best do justice to those who want to keep their overseas dream buring alive.

iKoMetaga
29-04-2011, 02:33 AM
Well I didn't want to bring up this issue but I see your point.
My guess is that they received the Shell scholarship because of their excellent results and racial background. They are now studying petroleum engineering in Texas A@<hidden>

Could also be that they are Sarawakians, where Shell is based. They went to Labuan Matrics

iamfee
01-05-2011, 12:30 AM
This is a very good question! Thanks TS for asking this :amuse
Thanks to all who shared their thoughts too. It seems that matriks isn't that bad after all :))

marczeman
01-05-2011, 12:48 AM
are the science subjects in english? sorry i'm such a noob lol

Kira134
01-05-2011, 12:58 AM
yup, both the biology and physics are taught in science..

bookm
01-05-2011, 10:07 AM
First of all, to those who think that matrics is very easy. You are so WRONG! haha...
Frankly speaking, matrics is easier than STPM or A level. This is because the programme only last for a year. You will learn the same things as STPM, but not as detailed as STPM. However, u r gonna learn it more in Uni. That's why STPM students find it easier in Uni coz they hav already covered the syllabus in STPM. But, matrics students are given priority for Uni intake. And it's easier to get into University bcoz it's very easy to score high marks for ur co-curriculum, which is 10% of the merit. Any activities that u take part in the college will be considered state level, which is 14 marks, compared to STPM which is only 6 marks for school level activities. so, if u wanna enter public university, u shud consider taking up matrics. But if u wanna go overseas, STPM would be better, given that u muz score well in ur STPM.

adrian0105
01-05-2011, 11:19 AM
First of all, to those who think that matrics is very easy. You are so WRONG! haha...
Frankly speaking, matrics is easier than STPM or A level. This is because the programme only last for a year. You will learn the same things as STPM, but not as detailed as STPM. However, u r gonna learn it more in Uni. That's why STPM students find it easier in Uni coz they hav already covered the syllabus in STPM. But, matrics students are given priority for Uni intake. And it's easier to get into University bcoz it's very easy to score high marks for ur co-curriculum, which is 10% of the merit. Any activities that u take part in the college will be considered state level, which is 14 marks, compared to STPM which is only 6 marks for school level activities. so, if u wanna enter public university, u shud consider taking up matrics. But if u wanna go overseas, STPM would be better, given that u muz score well in ur STPM.
so that means matriks is a lot more easier than stpm? some say matriks is harder than we think, matriks student score well because they spend most of their time in study or assignment, so mostly they score CGPA 4.0. Compared to stpm students who have a lot more freedom in their leisure, they usually use their leisure by outing, playing games, thats why they could not score well in stpm. so is it true that matriks and stpm have same hardness level but because of matriks students more hardworking so they could easily score well in their exam?

Kira134
01-05-2011, 01:26 PM
so that means matriks is a lot more easier than stpm? some say matriks is harder than we think, matriks student score well because they spend most of their time in study or assignment, so mostly they score CGPA 4.0. Compared to stpm students who have a lot more freedom in their leisure, they usually use their leisure by outing, playing games, thats why they could not score well in stpm. so is it true that matriks and stpm have same hardness level but because of matriks students more hardworking so they could easily score well in their exam?

matriculation is definitely easier than form 6. what you have stated might only apply to some of them. Being easier doesn't mean you don have to study at all, you still have to work hard for it. Subjects in matric are also lesser than stpm which allows you to focus more on your studies. if 2 student from form 6 and matrics works equally hard, the one in matric has higher chances of obtaining 4.0

adrian0105
01-05-2011, 01:50 PM
matriculation is definitely easier than form 6. what you have stated might only apply to some of them. Being easier doesn't mean you don have to study at all, you still have to work hard for it. Subjects in matric are also lesser than stpm which allows you to focus more on your studies. if 2 student from form 6 and matrics works equally hard, the one in matric has higher chances of obtaining 4.0
in ur opinion which is better? i now currently pursuing a lvl but got matriks offer. shud i change?

bookm
01-05-2011, 02:09 PM

I have to agree on a point that matrics students spent more time on studies. For matrics, students are required to stay in hostels, which means no going out except for weekends. Then, the school hours are longer (8 am to 4 pm). On free time, matrics students usually will spend their time in the library or consulting lecturers. Plus, there are a lot of quizzes (averagely once a month for each subject), tat means u have to revise constantly.

Another thing is tat matrics is using the modular system. There are 2 semesters in matrics. After the first semester, u dun hav to study the things from the first sem in second semester anymore. So u study less compared to STPM which have to study all for the STPM exam.

And, not forgetting the final score for matric exam is not based solely on written exam. At least 20% of the total score are based on quizzes, assignments, attendance, laboratory practical and mid-term test. So, the weightage of the final exam is ranged from 50% to 80% only, depending ob the subjects.

AllenChew
02-05-2011, 12:10 PM
aw..thanks for answering! :laugh

Just to remind, theoretically local university accept science students in law, however there's a custom actually. They normally take more account students than science. Therefore, account students actually have privilege in admission into local universities' law faculties. So, i recommend you to change stream to account, if you really wan and determined to do law in local university, to stand for a better chance. The advantage of staying in science stream is that you may have wider options of fields to be studied after preU in case you change your decision, don't want law:)

khaiyen92
02-05-2011, 12:30 PM

hey are you from smsksa? :)

I saw an article in newspaper,the government sent matric top students to overseas! :wink so,study hard in matric:))

in ur opinion which is better? i now currently pursuing a lvl but got matriks offer. shud i change?

most of my friends in a lvl went to matric after getting matric offer. You should go if you think you wanna save money :))

MrHoww
02-05-2011, 04:36 PM
I'm in a SERIOUS DILEMMA!!! I am being offered Matriculation but I really want to get into F6 if I can't make it through the JPA scholarship. Because of the offer of Matriculation, I am not being offered with F6 anymore! What should I do to apply F6??? Any seniors?

Garfield93
02-05-2011, 04:39 PM

there should be, coz, u take matrix, cant go in form 6! :P

Kira134
02-05-2011, 05:16 PM

well, in my opinion it depends on what would you like to do in the future. have you considered what course will you take after a levels? if your wish is to become doctor, dentist, pharmacist, i would suggest you to take matriculation as its a better path towards local uni and higher chances of you having the course you want. the main factor people choose matriculation because they would like to go to local uni. i think local unis are not all so bad if compared with overseas. how well you do in the future does not depend on how prestigious the university you go but how good are you in your career. however, if you wish to pursue other courses which you think might benefit you more rather than matric in the future, go ahead.:)

I'm in a SERIOUS DILEMMA!!! I am being offered Matriculation but I really want to get into F6 if I can't make it through the JPA scholarship. Because of the offer of Matriculation, I am not being offered with F6 anymore! What should I do to apply F6??? Any seniors?

why would you prefer form 6 over matric? if you didn't want matriculation in the beginning, why apply it? many others would have wanted it BADLY. :notrust

chelsea93
02-05-2011, 06:05 PM
Is it true that when you are offered Matrikulasi, you won't be offered a place in Form 6? Sorry i'm being blur :P

leeashroe
02-05-2011, 08:11 PM
Is it true that when you are offered Matrikulasi, you won't be offered a place in Form 6? Sorry i'm being blur :P

Yup, if you wanna go to Form 6, have to make rayuan to your PPD.

day_dreamer
02-05-2011, 08:22 PM
Matrix = zero chance of going overseas, not even Singapore.
A-level/STPM = can go anywhere you want.

jonlim93
02-05-2011, 11:54 PM
hey are you from smsksa? :)

most of my friends in a lvl went to matric after getting matric offer. You should go if you think you wanna save money :))

nope.. im from smjk keat hwa..

kaiyi
04-05-2011, 09:39 AM

That's why i chose not to apply for it(which made people thought im mad).:P

alicecanfly
04-05-2011, 09:44 AM

I thought this year matrics students are given the chance to go overseas?? u guys can check from the website. But i don't know how the system goes, or is it just for bumis.. :(

AllenChew
04-05-2011, 12:38 PM

Lolx....not zero chance....there's still special cases happening,just very rare, or i have to say less than 1% chance:))
And A-lvl and stpm doesn't gurantee overseas studies, providing you get a very good result over the very hard syllabus:))

donn_m
04-05-2011, 01:29 PM

Oh is it? But a cousin of mine went to matrik and then applied Shell scholarship then she went to UK.. And now she is working with Shell.

Kira134
04-05-2011, 02:03 PM
yup, matrics doesn't necessary mean zero chance of going overseas. A-level and STPM can go anywhere, but under government scholarship or using your own money? there are also very few STPM students who managed to get JPA. usually government will just send them to local uni. thats also provided you have very good results.

alicecanfly
04-05-2011, 02:14 PM
ah, so if i sit for SAT when i'm doing matriks.. possible to get an offer from US unis?

day_dreamer
04-05-2011, 02:25 PM
Ok correction ..

it should be "very rare"..

Maybe out of the whole year's batch only 10 ? ... and that you are Bumiputera.

Lolx....not zero chance....there's still special cases happening,just very rare, or i have to say less than 1% chance:))
And A-lvl and stpm doesn't gurantee overseas studies, providing you get a very good result over the very hard syllabus:))

yup... as long as you got 3.5 and above and MUET Band 6.. usually you'll be accepted by Singapore unis (that was 2 years ago though, now maybe 3.80 ?)

ah, so if i sit for SAT when i'm doing matriks.. possible to get an offer from US unis?

Yes. US Unis only look at SAT.

alicecanfly
04-05-2011, 02:30 PM
Yes. US Unis only look at SAT.

but JPA don't send students to USA, isn't it? besides the Ivy league programme which doesn't even exist this year ..

day_dreamer
04-05-2011, 02:35 PM
but JPA don't send students to USA, isn't it? besides the Ivy league programme which doesn't even exist this year ..

ONE WORD OF ADVISE : look outside of JPA, JPA isn't everything =)

Do a bit of research here and there. Ample opportunities out there.

leeashroe
04-05-2011, 03:55 PM

One good thing about USA is there's financial aid and grants for international students.

04-05-2011, 03:55 PM
Admin Note: Made a slight grammatical modification to thread title.

AllenChew
04-05-2011, 08:56 PM

Ehh...I have a friend who doing foundation in HELP, and will be sent to USA soon after finishing his foundation, under sponsorship of JPA PILN, in course of pure science:))

Kokoro
06-05-2011, 09:00 AM
never regret...both my frenz and i interested in studying medic and she took A level while i choose matric instead...end up, i secure a place in medic faculty in local uni while she, cant get any place in private or oversea uni, end up studying opto in a private uni...hope tat those get offer from matric will think properly...it is true tat u will meet a lot of obstacles being far from family, independent in matric...bt tis is for ur future...suffer one year and you will get a better chance to achieve ur dream...^^

Rickytee9394
06-05-2011, 10:12 AM
People said matrix syllabus is like form 5.... Does this only apply for the 1st semester?

Kokoro
06-05-2011, 10:39 AM
People said matrix syllabus is like form 5.... Does this only apply for the 1st semester?

nt really...matric syllabus is basically a simpler form of form 6 syllabus...everything in form 6 syllabus will touch abit bt nt tat deep looo...:P

shiaoting
06-05-2011, 10:51 AM
nt really...matric syllabus is basically a simpler form of form 6 syllabus...everything in form 6 syllabus will touch abit bt nt tat deep looo...:P

so, can we really catch up when we are in Uni? :)

Kokoro
06-05-2011, 11:33 AM
so, can we really catch up when we are in Uni? :)

yup...basically, in uni, u will learn new things different from wat u had learn in matric looo...for my course, will really focus in biology...and mayb touch abit wat we had studied in matric...basically, juz 1st sem will touch some of the topic u had learn in matric and oso in secondary...nt much touch though...basically most are new knowledge...no need worry too much...

jonlim93
07-05-2011, 09:14 AM
yup...basically, in uni, u will learn new things different from wat u had learn in matric looo...for my course, will really focus in biology...and mayb touch abit wat we had studied in matric...basically, juz 1st sem will touch some of the topic u had learn in matric and oso in secondary...nt much touch though...basically most are new knowledge...no need worry too much...

which course are u studying now?

Kokoro
07-05-2011, 01:10 PM
which course are u studying now?

medic...:amuse

khaiyen92
07-05-2011, 02:23 PM

lol..not really..form 5 is very very basic only..:)

jonlim93
07-05-2011, 03:16 PM
and should i get the reference books for matrix?

Kokoro
07-05-2011, 04:52 PM
ur lecturer will recommend the reference books to u...basically no textbook for matric...only lecture notes...and reference books...wait for ur lecturers' recommendation since every year the publisher for good reference books are different...sometimes is longman sometimes is oxford fajar...

jonlim93
08-05-2011, 12:45 AM
ur lecturer will recommend the reference books to u...basically no textbook for matric...only lecture notes...and reference books...wait for ur lecturers' recommendation since every year the publisher for good reference books are different...sometimes is longman sometimes is oxford fajar...

but it wil be kinda difficult for me to get cos im from kedah.. i hope to get them before i go..

dennisssj
08-05-2011, 02:05 AM
buy from seniors who entered matriks last batch, can get cheaper books and ask them which books are good.

Book publisher will have book fair during semester opening (in KMPk) and in some kolej, they have Koperasi who sells those reference books throughout the years

EDITTED: As someone mentioned syllabus changes a lot. but i think it's still ok to buy from seniors a year older than you. Making me feel old+i had sold mine fast... LOL

Kokoro
08-05-2011, 09:06 AM
but it wil be kinda difficult for me to get cos im from kedah.. i hope to get them before i go..

u can always buy the books from the koperasi in ur matric...:)

jonlim93
08-05-2011, 11:52 AM
u can always buy the books from the koperasi in ur matric...:)

oh.. ok.. and stationeries can also be bought at the same place? will there be enough supply of books.. since there are about 2k students in a kolej.. XD

Kokoro
08-05-2011, 12:13 PM
oh.. ok.. and stationeries can also be bought at the same place? will there be enough supply of books.. since there are about 2k students in a kolej.. XD

yup...stationary and snacks all can obtain from there...usually there will be a book fair held by ur koperasi...try to grab the books within tat period...will be cheaper...bt if u still nt sure wat book to buy, then u need not tat rush...the book supply will be always available...bt sometimes mayb need to wait for one week if book is out of stock...:P

weixiang
08-05-2011, 12:16 PM

Haha. Of course. The book suppliers definitely know the quantity of books required. They have been doing this for years. Plus, the students do not have much option either except to buy from them. :)

jonlim93
08-05-2011, 12:20 PM
Haha. Of course. The book suppliers definitely know the quantity of books required. They have been doing this for years. Plus, the students do not have much option either except to buy from them. :)

do they have different choice of brands or just only one brand which recommended by the lecturers..

Kokoro
08-05-2011, 12:38 PM
do they have different choice of brands or just only one brand which recommended by the lecturers..

different choice of brands....

AllenChew
08-05-2011, 01:27 PM
buy from seniors who entered matriks last batch, can get cheaper books and ask them which books are good.

Book publisher will have book fair during semester opening (in KMPk) and in some kolej, they have Koperasi who sells those reference books throughout the years

just to remind, beware when buying books from seniors, cause the syllabus changes alot for this year,it's much different with last year's. so check carefully before you buy:))

jonlim93
08-05-2011, 01:36 PM
just to remind, beware when buying books from seniors, cause the syllabus changes alot for this year,it's much different with last year's. so check carefully before you buy:))

im going to buy the new one.. the matrix gt modul 1,2,3 right.. does this means we study one module at a time or how.. but we only have two sems.. how does it work?

RicktheStarfish
08-05-2011, 01:51 PM
jon, you pick one module and throughout the one year matriculation process, you'll be studying only ONE module.

IamSaphiraQueen
08-05-2011, 02:01 PM
matriks now changing a lot

jonlim93
08-05-2011, 04:13 PM
jon, you pick one module and throughout the one year matriculation process, you'll be studying only ONE module.

oh.. thx.. and do we get to choose? or the randomly place us in any of the modules..

dennisssj
09-05-2011, 01:01 AM
Officially signing off from this forum... Infos are not updated! Sorry and tq

RicktheStarfish
09-05-2011, 01:23 AM
Very wrong denniss. Jon, it's a new curriculum. You get 3 modules. Out of the 3 modules, you get to pick which one you prefer.

jonlim93
09-05-2011, 01:34 AM
Very wrong denniss. Jon, it's a new curriculum. You get 3 modules. Out of the 3 modules, you get to pick which one you prefer.

oh.. do you know when do we get to pick our choice?

Cactus
09-05-2011, 01:41 AM
Wah, can even pick????

Mind giving example? Is it like: say Chemistry:

Module1: Atoms and Periodic Table (compulsory)
Module2: Reaction Kinetics and Equilibria (compulsory)
Module3: Organic Chemistry (compulsory)
Module4: Inorganic Chemistry (elective)
Module5: Introduction to Biochemistry (elective)

Choose 1 elective.

--------
something like that?

khaiyen92
09-05-2011, 09:44 AM
Wah, can even pick????

Choose 1 elective.

--------
something like that?

nope..there are only 3 modules for science.

1.Science stream
Life Sciences and Physical Sciences are no longer offered but replaced by Modul I, Modul II and Modul III.

Module I - Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics.
Module II - Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science and Mathematics.
Module III - Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science and Mathematics.
Both the Science streams in PST and PDT offer all three modules.

2.Accounting stream
The Accounting stream is only offered in PST. The core subjects offered are Mathematics, Accounting, Economics and Management.

3.Technical stream
Technical stream is reserved for students from technical schools or students from day schools, but has a background of engineering technology subjects. This is only offered in PST. The core subjects offered are Mathematics, Chemical Engineering, Engineering Physics and School of Civil Engineering / Mechanical / Electrical & Electronics.

RicktheStarfish
09-05-2011, 10:20 AM
oh.. do you know when do we get to pick our choice?

Maybe during orientation week. Just, maybe...

Wah, can even pick????

Choose 1 elective.

--------
something like that?
Just like khaiyen posted, those are the modules you can pick. It's not the topic but the subjects you can pick. Besides, I thought biochemistry will be taught in biology considering most of it involves chemical reactions in living organisms.

alicecanfly
09-05-2011, 10:41 AM
hello peoplee! just one question, i have a problem in choosing the modules.. btwn pure science and the bio+chem+komputer sains. i would like to go for medic/ dentistry , so which module is better? and what's this komputer sains thingy?? thx in advance ! =)

melindaL
09-05-2011, 02:53 PM
hello peoplee! just one question, i have a problem in choosing the modules.. btwn pure science and the bio+chem+komputer sains. i would like to go for medic/ dentistry , so which module is better? and what's this komputer sains thingy?? thx in advance ! =)

You have to take bio+phy+maths+chem.The other combination is phy+comp science+maths+chem.Actually phy is essential for doing med too.

jonlim93
10-05-2011, 12:21 AM
You have to take bio+phy+maths+chem.The other combination is phy+comp science+maths+chem.Actually phy is essential for doing med too.

i wanted to tyr out computer science.. cos i do have interest.. but im not going to further my studies on that.. i wanted to do my degree on forensics science.. so shud i still take phy as my core?

Cactus
10-05-2011, 05:54 AM
Wow....now you all study more than 3 subjects...good.

melindaL
10-05-2011, 10:17 AM
i wanted to tyr out computer science.. cos i do have interest.. but im not going to further my studies on that.. i wanted to do my degree on forensics science.. so shud i still take phy as my core?

Phy is more useful if u want to do forensi science.If u r very interested in comp science,why not indulge in some IT related courses during hols?

Kira134
10-05-2011, 10:36 AM

about your second option, why do you opt to take physics rather than bio? isn't a base for bio better than physics in choosing medic/dentistry? pls enlighten me. as far as i know, local unis don require physics.

fain_zee
10-05-2011, 12:36 PM
i got foundation and matrics offer,,both simultaneously!!!indeed im choosing matrics....im hoping that i made the right decision...

merryland
10-05-2011, 12:44 PM
I got an offer to do matrix in Kedah after I appealed in 2009.
That time I was as confused as u guys,but then in the end I chose to do STPM instead.
In my opinion, if you are sure that you wanna go to local U, please go for matrix as it will be a safer choice.
Go for STPM only if you are sure that you wan to go to Singapore/overseas besides not shunning the doors to local U.
Indeed STPM is tough but don't get intimidated.Just pay extra effort then everything will be fine.
Good luck!

melindaL
10-05-2011, 06:46 PM
about your second option, why do you opt to take physics rather than bio? isn't a base for bio better than physics in choosing medic/dentistry? pls enlighten me. as far as i know, local unis don require physics.

Since she has to choose btwn phy or comp sn,its better to take the phy+bio+math+chem combinations becoz comp sn is totally redundant but med still involves abit of phy.

Kira134
10-05-2011, 07:37 PM
Since she has to choose btwn phy or comp sn,its better to take the phy+bio+math+chem combinations becoz comp sn is totally redundant but med still involves abit of phy.

pls read carefully. i meant the second choice you made. phy+comp science+maths+chem..=.=!!

alicecanfly
10-05-2011, 09:58 PM
pls read carefully. i meant the second choice you made. phy+comp science+maths+chem..=.=!!

erm, sorry, do u guys meant me?
if yes,
what i meant was i am not sure whether to choose bio+phy+chem (pure science) or bio+chem+computer science if i want to go for dentistry/medic.
since bio n chem are the core subjects to go for dentistry/medic, and i am afraid that choosing pure science will be difficult... so is it okay if i choose bio+chem+computer science??

Thank you so much ! =)

Zameera
10-05-2011, 11:49 PM
erm, sorry, do u guys meant me?
if yes,
what i meant was i am not sure whether to choose bio+phy+chem (pure science) or bio+chem+computer science if i want to go for dentistry/medic.
since bio n chem are the core subjects to go for dentistry/medic, and i am afraid that choosing pure science will be difficult... so is it okay if i choose bio+chem+computer science??

Thank you so much ! =)
I'm in THE SAME EXACT situation! I want to go for dentistry but I don't know which module should I take. 1 or 3? I scored B for Physics in SPM (thought I should mention that). I'm also afraid that module 1 would be too difficult. Is Physics really necessary if i want to go for dentistry? :\

chelsea93
11-05-2011, 02:03 AM
I'm interested in Dentistry too, so which module should i pick? Anyone knows?
Thanks in advanced :laugh

dennisssj
11-05-2011, 10:23 PM
It's better to take module 3 if you feel you don't like physics... i'm not sure about this new subject package and UPU application later... physics and bio are 2 heavy subjects if i'm not mistaken... but in overseas, they will consider physics for medical sciences

For special requirement in UKM Dentistry:
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Gred B (NGMP 3.00) pada peringkat Matrikulasi / Asasi dalam mata pelajaran berikut:
Biology
Chemistry
Mathematics / Physics
dan
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Tahap 3 (Band 3) dalam Malaysian University English Test (MUET)---quote from UPU website

UM Dentistry:
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Gred B (3.00) pada peringkat Matrikulasi/Asasi dalam mata pelajaran berikut:
Biology; dan
mana-mana dua (2) mata pelajaran berikut:
Physics
Chemistry
Mathematics
dan
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya kepujian dengan Gred C pada peringkat SPM dalam empat (4) mata pelajaran termasuk Bahasa Melayu/Bahasa Malaysia.
dan
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Tahap 3 (Band 3) dalam MUET.

USM Dentistry
i.Lulus Matrikulasi KPM / Asasi Sains UM / Asasi UiTM dengan mendapat sekurang-kurangnya PNGK 3.00.
Dan
ii.Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Gred B (3.00) pada peringkat Matrikulasi / Asasi dalam mana-mana dua (2) mata pelajaran berikut:
Chemistry
Biology
Physics
Mathematics
Dan
iii.Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya kepujian pada peringkat SPM dalam mata pelajaran Bahasa Inggeris.
Dan
iv.Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Tahap 4 (Band 4) dalam MUET.
Dan
v.Lulus temuduga

UiTM Dentistry

Mendapat PNGK sekurang-kurangnya 3.50
dan
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya Gred B (3.00) pada peringkat Asasi UiTM/PASUM/Matrikulasi dalam mata pelajaran berikut:
Mathematics
Chemistry
Biology/Physics
dan
Mendapat sekurang-kurangnya kepujian dalam pada peringkat SPM dalam mata pelajaran berikut:
Bahasa Inggeris
Matematik / Matematik Tambahan
dan
Mendapat sekurang-sekurangnya Tahap 3 (Band 3) dalam MUET.

It might change in the future...

lovetheLord
12-05-2011, 10:15 PM
i am interested in dentistry, and i am thinking of taking module 1 for matriks this year. can i know if there is any senior who took physics for matirks whether its hard or not? because i m personally not interested in this subject and wonder if i could cope in it. thanks

azmionorac
12-05-2011, 10:32 PM
Do we need to take MUET in Matriks?

alicecanfly
12-05-2011, 11:35 PM
wow.. so many interested in dentistry nia~ *high five*
yeah we have to take MUET, as it is a pre-requisite to enter public universities, but it would be towards the end of semester... correct me if i am wrong =)

dennisssj
12-05-2011, 11:46 PM
Do we need to take MUET in Matriks?

Yea, you will settle MUET within 1st semester if i'm not mistaken. To retake if you result is not so good, you will need to "tumpang" with your other friends from form 6 at your hometown or schools nearby your kolej. Check the exam schedule whether it clashes with any major exams in matriks.

Kira134
13-05-2011, 01:07 AM
however, i don think you will be able to retake as you have to submit your MUET result when you apply for local uni which is during the midst of second semester. so even you get good MUET after that, you might not be able to change it in your application. try to do your best in the first one.

dennisssj
14-05-2011, 12:06 AM
if your MUET is of a lower band
1. you need to take extra english course, can't be exempted.
2. All are require to take english, but yours is easier class compared to those band 5/6

Anyway Band 3 is sufficient if you are not ambitious to aim for band 5/6

lovetheLord
14-05-2011, 12:25 AM
Yea, you will settle MUET within 1st semester if i'm not mistaken. To retake if you result is not so good, you will need to "tumpang" with your other friends from form 6 at your hometown or schools nearby your kolej. Check the exam schedule whether it clashes with any major exams in matriks.

can i know if i want to take MUET, the matriks side will take care of it, and we take MUET under our college, or do we have to arrange everything on our own? if we hv to do it by ourself, what are we suppose to do?

pplr
14-05-2011, 07:07 AM
can i know if i want to take MUET, the matriks side will take care of it, and we take MUET under our college, or do we have to arrange everything on our own? if we hv to do it by ourself, what are we suppose to do?

The matriks side will handle everything and you will take the MUET exam in the college itself. Dont worry. :)