View Full Version : Letter To Prime Minister (PM Visit to NY on 28th Sep)
18-09-2004, 06:49 AM
Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would be visiting New York on the 28th September 2004, and perhaps this could be a great opportunity for ReCom to pass on a letter to PM about what we think about Malaysia, any recommendation etc.
We have about 10 days from now onwards. Anyone wants to work hard together in coming up with this letter?
Could ReComers help brainstorm any issue that you have in your mind? Perhaps we could select a few issues and then present a good letter...
Hope to see thoughts flow in...
18-09-2004, 06:59 AM
How bout increasing the setting up of joint-venture research labs between universities in the US and universities back home to increase R&D back home?
18-09-2004, 07:15 AM
That's a good issue....Anymore, hope that everyone keep their thinking thoughts flowing...
This is the timeline I am suggesting:-
a) Finish deciding on topics that we are going to write about (by 23:59 18th Sep M'sia time). This include time for us to brainstorm and select topics.
b) Choose a few (I would propose 3 or 4 issues) and we elaborate at length on those issues. May be we can have an executive summary, summarize all issues to PM in a page or two. And for each issue, we have a page or even more elaborating on that. (by 23:59 Sep 23rd M'sia time)
c) Edit draft and confirm the letter by 23:59 25th Sep M'sia time.
18-09-2004, 08:59 AM
agenda: Environment - mention about broga and tioman.
and maybe we could publish the letter in remag 5 =)
18-09-2004, 09:23 AM
Any other thoughts? Hope that more ReComers can come ahead and share your opinion. This would be something that all of us could work together...chip in your idea, opinion...
by the way, any other ReComers that are going to be in New York for this meeting?
18-09-2004, 11:46 PM
Fellow ReComers, just wondering, how come there has been no post here?
18-09-2004, 11:55 PM
patient chenchow. give it time.
sanghanuman
19-09-2004, 12:27 AM
What I would personally want is to have him elevate teachers' status in Malaysia. I would like to see this profession to be one of the most respected in our country and also a highly paid position so people strive for it.
For me, having a good teacher is essential not only to educate the children and teenagers of the materials prepared for school but also to teach them to be morally strong.
By making sure sure that we are producing high quality teachers, I hope that we could do good for our future generation.
19-09-2004, 01:14 AM
By making sure sure that we are producing high quality teachers, I hope that we could do good for our future generation
so do local lecturers.
19-09-2004, 02:16 AM
Pertinent Issues:
1. Broga Incinerator
2. ISA
3. Tioman
4. Women's Rights
5. Ammending Rape Laws
6. Crime
7. Islam Hadhari
8. Religious freedom for Malays
9. BN cheating in elections
10. PRESS FREEDOM
The list goes on and on. Knowing Chenchow, the letter is not going to do much other than kiss BN backside.
A lot of ReCom members, especially the self-righteous MODs, are in so much self-denial. It sickens me.
I thought 12 years of brainwashing in gov schools was enough. Now you BTN trained team of MODs try to impose Gov agenda onto us.
BN has infiltrated ReCom ladies and gentlemen!
Mistress_Jane69ers cam (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/Mistress_Jane69ers)
19-09-2004, 02:22 AM
The whole system is wrong. Sending a letter of praise is not enough.
It starts with us, making a conscious effort to retake control of our lives. COME ON MAN!
Read Kant, Habermas, Herbert Schiller, Marx and Engels, Foucoult, Emma Goldman, Marshall McLuhan, Noam Chompsky et al.
Malaysia is for us, not for a small bunch of elitist.
How can we accept that PM can fly to NYC on Perdana One, and stay at hotel penthouse owned by Donald Trump, with OUR MONEY.
What gives him the right to do so? He is NOT my PM. He is NOT my leader. I know what's best for me.
Do you?
Prilosec Help (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/prilosec/)
19-09-2004, 04:01 AM
Misled_youth,
There's many reasons why Badawi and BN are the leaders of Malaysians. Like you, i have many things i would love to ask them about but.. I know they know what i know.
Make sense?
Rest of Recom,
Regardless of that, i think any members of recom who wish to send a congratulation letter or otherwise should do it on their own so the opinions reflected would not be generalize as the opinions of all Malaysian Students assosiated with Recom. I strongly beleive, there is no way any letters could reflect the true opinion of all recom.org members.
I suggest anybody who is planning to write the PM, Please Not in our (recom) name. Recom could be used as a point of reference. Quoting Recomers directly however, could be very misleading in so many ways.
Having said that, I'm in favor of the idea of using Recom to gather issues/information that could (should?) be highlighted to the PM during his stay in NYC.
The most politically correct thing to do is, Lletters to A PM or any political leaders should be with one's individual respective opinion.
Remag also could publish some of them if not all.
19-09-2004, 04:29 AM
The whole system is wrong. Sending a letter of praise is not enough.
It starts with us, making a conscious effort to retake control of our lives. COME ON MAN!
Read Kant, Habermas, Herbert Schiller, Marx and Engels, Foucoult, Emma Goldman, Marshall McLuhan, Noam Chompsky et al.
Malaysia is for us, not for a small bunch of elitist.
How can we accept that PM can fly to NYC on Perdana One, and stay at hotel penthouse owned by Donald Trump, with OUR MONEY.
What gives him the right to do so? He is NOT my PM. He is NOT my leader. I know what's best for me.
Do you?
What's best? Che Guevara?
19-09-2004, 05:05 AM
Stay on topic guys. Read the topic and leave your opinion on topic. Don't let some of the comments left by other get in the way, just ignore it, and let it be.
Life is much more then trolling on the Internet.
Please continue..
19-09-2004, 05:31 AM
Sorry, too emotional. I guess I need to take a break first after hours of doing homework.
anyway, like we said many times, we want some constructive suggestions. things like "don't cheat on election" , "press freedom" need more clarification and inherently complicated.
ReCom, as the online community, won't be able to handle such things easily. And I hope I can say even louder than before, that , look at what we can do first, before even asking people doing . For example, write for ReMag on why do you think the BN election is unfair.
Simply accuse Govt without ample proof would just left things ignored (or worse, get us into trouble).
sanghanuman
19-09-2004, 07:15 AM
Recently PM also said something about increasing the percentage of qualified women leaders (up to 30%) into Malaysia's policy making team.
I think that this is a positive attitude towards women politics in Malaysia and we should support him on that.
What dya guys think?
Steppe
19-09-2004, 07:35 AM
Please read this:
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/9/18/nation/8925818&sec=nation
Any comment or issue to bring up?
19-09-2004, 07:50 AM
Serious issue, but definitely an untouchable one i think....
19-09-2004, 07:59 AM
chenchow wrote:
Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would be visiting New York on the 28th September 2004, and perhaps this could be a great opportunity for ReCom to pass on a letter to PM about what we think about Malaysia, any recommendation etc.
mr misled_youth,read what chenchow wrote vividly just like u r reading a rubric in ur uni exam.becoz mr. chenchow didn't say he gonna write a eulogy right?
well,u can label ppl as kissing BN's backside,this and that..but just turn the table to urself,it fits u too dont u think,except in the other direction.
hmm,i wonder how actually our PM should travel,by bot and stayed at a motel with special service personnel waiting outside?
well,chenchow for the time being,i still dont have any good idea to pass along to our PM.will try to think about it .dont let others ruin ur fair intention.keep the grip.
19-09-2004, 08:03 AM
hehehe, It's amusing when reading a vice chancelor playing the race card. Maybe if we teach our kids to look beyond race then we don't have to worry about politic instability. I think it's not politic it's UMNO stability.
Let's do a street demonstration in NYC! Malaysians for equal rights... What do you say chenchow?
I can pick you up :D Cornell is it?
19-09-2004, 10:17 AM
I would say that it is a suggestion that I came up that we, as ReCom could write something. And I would say that it is up to ReComers to decide.
To make it democratic, I have set up a poll and everyone can vote whether ReCom should write a letter to PM or not. If more than 2/3 vote for yes and there must be at least 15 ReComers vote for yes, then I will propose that we have a letter from ReComers, perhaps even not in ReCom's name, but among those who are interested to write. But if there is less than 2/3 ReComers vote for yes, then this plan is dropped.
Voting deadline. 19th September 23:59pm (Malaysia Time). That's 13.5 hours from now. Anyone that log in immediately past that time, please tally and post it here the outcome.
So, exercise your choice and vote for it. Everyone has a vote.
And this would not be a letter of praise or bashing. This would be a letter which we share our opinions and propose recommendations to PM on Malaysia. It would be similar in the way like the letter to editors for education that Jiin Joo wrote.
Anyone has better idea, please post it here.
Thank you. Vote now!!!
Since many people in recom are government scholars, one issue that might be pertinent is the scholarship bond.
Personally, I do believe that government scholars should be allow to gain experience overseas before returning home, and even if they do return home, civil service is not where they should start at. Rather talented individuals should be allow to pursue what they like doing.
At the same time, we should attract experienced and bright people into higher positions of government, by giving them an opportunity to serve their nation and make a positive change.
19-09-2004, 11:49 AM
This is my personal suggestion that the topics that we should write (if we are writing), would be on those issues that are pertinent to us, the younger generations.
The point pointed out by prince would be something that we could discuss further upon, so that it would be a win-win situation for the country and the students.
19-09-2004, 03:16 PM
Fellow ReComers, just wondering, how come there has been no post here?
Timezone difference caused the lag? :D
Anyway, I think bringing blanket issues to Pak Lah won't make much difference. And I agree with attaching the names of people who's going to be spearheading this to the letter rather than use the forum's name.
There are many concrete things. Here's an example - we discussed before the benefit of doing an internship, overseas study, summer classes in another school etc. However, as I understand from a few people there are many constraints that JPA put on the scholars such that they end up paying for the units to do internship, reject all overseas studies etc. Why don't a few of you write the letter with reference to ReCom's discussion and ask for more liberty in choosing what you want to do with you education?
Another example - if you're working overseas and you want to do R&D in Malaysia. We've discussed extensively, albeit not very "deep", about the pros and cons of setting up more R&D facilities in M'sia and attracting people back. So the person can write the letter to Pak Lah with reference to ReCom to ask for more opportunities to be set up to facilitate a smooth transition back home.
etc.
Or like bond terms as suggested by prince. Basically it should be the person who's asking for it referring to ReCom rather than ReCom writing the letter. It would be very bad to pin down any official "opinion" of this forum.
Can?
kucingbiru
19-09-2004, 03:55 PM
Do you?
i'm not his fan either. but come on man, dont over-react. what u expect him to fly in a commercial plane? u think that's safe for him? u think that fits his busy schedule well enough. if he's not efficient enough u'll be the first one to blame him too.
da-hype
19-09-2004, 04:09 PM
Sept 28 is my bday :D
19-09-2004, 10:33 PM
How bout increasing the setting up of joint-venture research labs between universities in the US and universities back home to increase R&D back home?
I actually agree with Digi's suggestion that we should do the joint-venture thing.
However, we also know that we already have such joint ventures, with MIT ( e.g :
http://minihelix.mit.edu/malaysia/
)
etc. These things have been going on for a couple of years but we really want to know more about them , what they're doing, how can we get involve.
However, my suggestion is this: increase more R & D budget in the local university and perhaps interaction with existing multinational companies as well as local companies . I seriously think that we still need more of the research at our local U. those who are at local U, what do you guys think? . What obstacles that you have when doing research.?
I seriously think that we do not bother to look at the West, East, or wherever. We should look at ourselves and start from there.
we just need more research. we need to create a 'research based society' . and people who are creative. And we need to merge arts and science.
because I think, Arts is the essence of Science.
20-09-2004, 12:04 AM
Voting is closed. Final outcome . 11 vs 2. This means that it is more than 2/3, but fail to meet the 15 that I set as minimum to write.
I agree with those who suggest that those who want to write would write this in their personal capacity.
Hence, I would like those who are interested to work with me to come up with a letter to PM to email me personally. We can send a combined letter among few of us.
Even though this letter would not be from ReCom, I would hope that ReComers can help generate idea for me and others who would write and this could be a good discussion too!
Thanks in advance.
20-09-2004, 12:51 AM
Here's one that irritated me through the skin - from the scholarship thread. dolt, I hope you can help find actual proof that this happened, e.g. witness or documents or even just newspaper articles.
i was informed that last year, lotsa malays were posted to ktt..but due to the complaints by our seniors, they sent 2004 intake jpa scholars...malays mostly, to uitm, and non-bumis, to ktt..so its so odd that the non-bumis outnumber the bumis in ktt...and guess what, mara started sending their scholars to ktt to
etc. I'm moving the issue over here so that more facts can be garnered and seperated from the speculations and emotions.
(Original thread: http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=17)
Anyway, this is yet another "perfect" issue to bring up to Pak Lah. It might require dolt to do some ground work of getting more signatures and a formal (preferably physical) signature or some form of authentication from the students in KTT. People here in the forum can help make the case. But we need more facts. Not everything on newspapers are facts. In other words, how are we gonna proof to Pak Lah that KTT is practising racial mistreatment in one letter?
Other information posted so far.
http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/30105
Abstract:
Kolej Teknologi Timur (KTT) mendakwa ada pihak-pihak tertentu yang sengaja mengedarkan e-mel melalui Internet dan menyebarkan surat layang yang memburuk-burukkan imej kolej tersebut di mata umum.
Pada masa ini, kolej tersebut yang pernah terpilih sebagai kolej terbaik antara 18 Institusi Pengajian Tinggi Swasta (IPTS) pada 2001, mendapat kepercayaan Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) dan Mara untuk menempatkan pelajar tajaan mereka mengikut A-Level di situ.
<snip>
Menurut Norayini, selepas selesai mengikuti kursus A-Level di KTT, JPA dan Mara akan menghantar pelajar tajaan masing-masing mengikuti bidang perubatan di Indonesia dan India.
?Kandungan e-mel dan surat layang tersebut hanya menyentuh mengenai kursus A-Level di mana penulis mendakwa KTT tidak menyediakan kemudahan secukupnya serta pensyarah berkelayakan untuk mengejar pelajar-pelajar terbabit,? tambahnya.
Good luck.
kucingbiru
20-09-2004, 06:34 AM
wait. why should we write because he's coming. why can't we just write to him at our own pace?
kucingbiru
20-09-2004, 06:36 AM
eer, i heard that the tax for tobacco was increased. is it true? i heard a box of 20 cigs cost about RM8. perhaps this can be an issue to bring up to him. heh heh.
20-09-2004, 08:59 AM
so, who is going to write this?
20-09-2004, 12:19 PM
eer, i heard that the tax for tobacco was increased. is it true? i heard a box of 20 cigs cost about RM8. perhaps this can be an issue to bring up to him. heh heh.
its RM6.80. Thats according to my friend in Kuala lumpur.
20-09-2004, 02:31 PM
Go ahead and ignore me. I'll be the one laughing in the end and saying 'I told you so'.
I don't troll the internet!
quote:
BTW, how did you know where the PM is staying?
It doesn't matter where he stays. It's going to be lavish while people die of hunger on the streets of KL.
Have you been to an old folks home? orphanage? Have you been to a gov hospital (e.g. Ipoh, Penang)? Do you know how much a police constable is paid?
I'm saying, we aren't getting our priorities right. This ****er gets to stay in posh hotel, and neglecting welfare of the people that elected him.
How ****ed up is that?
quote:
Also, I wonder are you currently paying taxes in Malaysia, because most of us, being students are not.
I don't earn enough to pay taxes. So what? It's still MY MONEY. Why? Because I'm a voting Malaysian citizen. The government and their assets belong to ME AS WELL. Why? that's democracy!
quote:
I'm paying lots of taxes to Uncle Sam, and yet I cannot vote on the future direction of the US. :(
Idiot! Who ask you to stay in your adopted home?
Malaysia is MY HOME. Getit? MY HOME. I have a say! I will say it! I will do it! I will make myself heard! I will achieve what I think is best for me!
I will not let some ****ed up leader tell me what to think. I will think for myself.
All you BTN ****heads can go **** yourselves!
EXOTICAclarissa143 live (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/EXOTICAclarissa143)
kucingbiru
20-09-2004, 04:15 PM
wow. at www.yesmoke.ch, a carton of 20s cost about U$D16. so a pack is around $1.60. convert to RM, it's about RM6.80. heh heh, the govt is smart. well, if they increase some more, people will start buying online. whatever it is, i believe that smugellers profit from this. heh heh, underwater cigarettes.
20-09-2004, 05:03 PM
Third, it's RM6.50 in K. Bts
I checked out 7 E at home in Penang :D
Perilly's 25, is like RM5.50, when it was like RM4.30 last time.
Damn..and ppl are still smoking like mad.
Sorry, digressing.
chenchow, can you include sthing on, what about teachers? can the gov do sthing for the teachers/lecturers? Like, these are the ones who are responsible in shaping our future generation *haha, talking bout myself in 3 years time..blergh*
If they want to create a better Msia, they gotta create better teachers. And to do so, they gotta change the system, give better salary...more space for the teaching profession to grow.
Keeping the educators happy is a way of ensuring they give better service - you gotta fulfill the basic needs before you can achieve anything *Maslow's theory*
Well..my 2 cents..
not really making sense here, but hope you get what i mean. Just came back fr kls..so kinda doozy..hihihih :D
20-09-2004, 05:52 PM
hey misled_youth,nice seeing u here. :)
about the rokok stuff,my dad smokes like 2 packets per day for almost 30 years of his life.he would even stop the car on the highway or the rehat centre ( what they called urgh?) just to smoke.my mum has asked him to stop for ages,but he still smokes.
being an anti-smoker,i guess the decision made by the gov was a wise one.but trust me,it wont work with my dad.and it wont work with most malaysian.we are too tenacious,i guess.but it will eventually reduce the number of cigarettes smoked per day per person in m'sia.i believe the only way to impale smokers is to ban cigarettes from the market step by step.i know we are living in a free country,but hey these smokers are silent killers who killed their wives,kids and increased the number of cancer patients in our country.in the long term,the extra amount of tax money we garner from cigarattes sale will be useless as this money will eventually pour into the cancer treatment.
budakkerek wrote:
If they want to create a better Msia, they gotta create better teachers. And to do so, they gotta change the system, give better salary...more space for the teaching profession to grow.
imagine this:if teachers r asking for higher salaries,do you think the gov doctors/engineers wont? I realized the teachers' salaries are too low compared to what ur engineer/doctor friends will earn.but u have to look for other perks.becoz if u start working for money alone,then u r not living.life will be one day too dull to bear.
read this:
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/9/19/education/8865819&sec=education
sanghanuman
20-09-2004, 08:50 PM
imagine this:if teachers r asking for higher salaries,do you think the gov doctors/engineers wont? I realized the teachers' salaries are too low compared to what ur engineer/doctor friends will earn.but u have to look for other perks.becoz if u start working for money alone,then u r not living.life will be one day too dull to bear.
See, why is teaching seen as of "lower standard" than that of engineering or being a doctor? I think that that should change. What I would want to see is for people to say "Dude, the doctors are demanding higher salary nowadays, imagine how much the teachers would ask.."
I know that teachers are perceived as people who work out of the goodness of their heart, dont really care about money, pekerjaan mulia and all that ... that's just not right... People work better if they are paid better and if they are trained better, and if it is hard to get the position because a lot of people want it..These teachers, or educators are the ones that "produce" the doctors and the engineers, so what makes the creators lower that what they created?
20-09-2004, 09:32 PM
It doesn't matter where he stays. It's going to be lavish while people die of hunger on the streets of KL.
I Don't think anybody in Malaysia had died from starvation in 20 years. With the exception of those who got lost in the jungle, trapped under the Highland towers, etc.
Have you been to an old folks home? orphanage? Have you been to a gov hospital (e.g. Ipoh, Penang)? Do you know how much a police constable is paid?
I have been to all three places and i know how much a constable is being paid. [/quote]
1. Folks home in Malaysia are not bad considering some of its residents are staying there for free and never paid a penny in Income taxes. Some of them never worked their entire life. The accomodation is nothing near to a 5 star hotel but it comfortable, a lot comfortable then few of my Grandparents neighbour who refuse to get a job and live in a shack.
2. Orphanage, I had only been to one. In Penang near Air Itam. The Muslim Boys Ophanage. The living condition was good. They get fed 3 times a day and most of them get some sort of sponsorship from local mosques and Muslims. Some donates clothes some money. The goverment built the place and provides transportation for them. School, outdoor activities, A trip is all paid for by the goverment. It is not bad, not the best in the world and have a lot of rooms for improvements but they are not that bad.
3. Hospital. Penang General Hospital. Have you been there? They had expanded to hospital to it's fullest capacity. I think Parking is gpoing to be a big problem in the future. The hospital which is fully funded and employed by the goverment is one of the best in the nation. Probably in the region too. Free for you. Well nowdays they go by your income and then you pay whatever the adjusted bill will is. Mostly Medical Bills that exceed RM 5000. I think this is to encourage people to stay healthy :D
Constables, Starting at RM780 and A daily RM 15 if they use their own vehicle to work and for work. They get goverment housing which is free. thats about RM200 a month. They get overtime paid.
It comes out about 1200 on average. This is not bad considering most of them are trained for 3 months. Fresh MD doctors from any school who's going to be working for the goverment gets paid almost the same starting salary. RM1200 ~ RM1500.
I'm saying, we aren't getting our priorities right. This ****er gets to stay in posh hotel, and neglecting welfare of the people that elected him.
Maybe he is, maybe he's not. I don't think he is neglecting anybody on purpose. Maybe he is neglecting people on purpose. Regardless of that, i don't think it has anything to do with it either. Most Politicians except Nik Aziz are in it for the money.
I don't earn enough to pay taxes. So what? It's still MY MONEY. Why? Because I'm a voting Malaysian citizen. The government and their assets belong to ME AS WELL. Why? that's democracy!
If you never baught anything in Malaysia then yes, you don't pay taxes. But if you had you did. Everthing sold in Malaysia are taxed. Right now the computers are in the non-taxable items. They're taking that away too. In 2007 sales tax is going to be intoduced. More taxes. If you ever worked at any company, you and your employer will be paying for kwsp. Your money for the goverment. list goes on. Road tax? house Tax? there's more then just income tax.
Malaysia is MY HOME. Getit? MY HOME. I have a say! I will say it! I will do it! I will make myself heard! I will achieve what I think is best for me!
I will not let some ****ed up leader tell me what to think. I will think for myself.
All you BTN ****heads can go **** yourselves!
I think we all understand that the current goverment is pissing you off. Well, i can relate. :D But DUDE!!!! this is a f***G letter to the PM thread. It has nothing to do with where the hell he is staying or what he is travelling on.
Why don't you share some of your opinion about current issues, you think should be higlighted to the PM? then Start a thread about UMNO :lol:
20-09-2004, 09:50 PM
misled_youth,
you seem very angry. this is going to be a digression but i think that if you were to write your posts such that it were filled with less angst then you would get more listeners. Maybe if you were to simply tell people facts of the injustice being done instead of hyping them up with your flowery language.
Right now, honestly, you sound like a frustrated young man. someone who's not getting the audience he wants. so you try shouting louder, but noone's really paying attention and this gets you even more frustrated. take a step back and see whether you're really achieving what you want or whether you're making a fool out of yourself.
this is coming from someone who enjoys your posts.
20-09-2004, 10:04 PM
I know that teachers are perceived as people who work out of the goodness of their heart, dont really care about money, pekerjaan mulia and all that ... that's just not right... People work better if they are paid better and if they are trained better, and if it is hard to get the position because a lot of people want it..
well,i didnt put the teachers' profession down.
asked any economist,do rising the teacher salaries will make their standard of living higher per se?imagine this,if every branch of goverment worker starts to demand higher salaries...well,we are not going to have more money to spend u see.the goods prices will go higher too.this one i leave for economist wanna-be out there to elaborate.
when i was in standard 4,someone asked the teacher,why the gov didn't print more money and give all of the money to the rakyat so that all the rakyat will be millionaire and nobody will be poor?
but then again,giving more salary to excellent teacher is something worth doing.these gems among the pebbles deserve an accolade.others dont.(including those who called themselves as teachers but never stop complaining about this and that and never enjoy what they are doing.)
20-09-2004, 11:52 PM
Guys,
Since the voting was closed before we get to the 15 people, the letter is going to be individually written. If you want to raise any issue, please talk/email/PM Chen Chow (chenchow@<hidden>). Or, if you want to write one, you can consult Chen Chow. (or if you live in around NY area, you can write and meet him too. ) Thanks.
21-09-2004, 02:18 PM
dude, dont get me wrong.
i'm not saying that teaching is not worth it etc..I love being a teacher...it's fun..plus the kids keep you young..
Teaching is and still is, a noble profession. But honestly, tell me, how many of our students in school these days, want to be a teacher?
Heck..
one of the Std 3 boys *one of the boys in the skool i went for practicum* told me that,"Cikgu, kenapa jadi cikgu? dah laa kerja banyak, gaji sikit pulak tu..Saya xnak jadi cikgu...penat je lebih.."
try comparing the salary of an engineer, a doctor and also a teacher. Wow...what a surprise...a teacher gets paid the lowest..haha..
I'm not saying that the gov should just raise the salary and benefits for teachers only. But i think, teachers, hv been neglected for so long. In the olden days, it was one of the respected jobs around, apart fr being a soldier, an ustaz *still a teacher* etc.
But now..teaching is seen as a last resort. If not, why...oh why..the KPLI course is SO popular...all these ppl, graduates of various fields (acct, engine, etc) would want to get into this course? Coz they got no job. After graduating in their respective fields, they cant get a job. Plus, the allowance for a KPLI student is RM12++ per month. Man...that's good huh?
man..i'm rambling...
Anyway, even my teachers in school advised me NOT to become a teacher - you get a low salary...a lot of work...
I guess the gov should just do sthing to bring back the interest n respect the teaching profession deserves. Our Min of Edu is doing good..kinda like what he's trying to do...
Well...just my 2.5 cents..
I'm sick of ppl looking down at the teaching profession, at us teachers getting a low salary, at us teachers having the "easy job" *believe me, one of the ignoramus i've met, actually said that - "alah, keja cikgu senang je, pergi sekolah, mengajar, tgh hari dah boleh balik. Bl cuti sekolah, cuti. apa yg nak komplen lg?"
Honestly i felt like kicking this person.
I'm outta here
*sorry, grumpy today blerghh... :x
21-09-2004, 11:15 PM
However, my suggestion is this: increase more R & D budget in the local university and perhaps interaction with existing multinational companies as well as local companies . I seriously think that we still need more of the research at our local U. those who are at local U, what do you guys think? . What obstacles that you have when doing research.?
I seriously think that we do not bother to look at the West, East, or wherever. We should look at ourselves and start from there.
master of none, i always tought that the problems here r too obvious n ....it is like once upon a time already.
lack of 'good' local lecturers...probably none who can handle R&D . n then insufficient facilities , the labs in my U here r like antique already.... in a nutshell what u have in western we dun have in malaysia , at least in my U.
its just a matter of wheter the gorv determine to developing only...