View Full Version : A Cinderella Story

19-09-2004, 11:44 AM
Recently I caught this movie in the megapavallion. Initially I have not much expectation to this movie, as I thought that it might just like another "Princess Diaries II", with not so interesting storyline. To my surprise, this movie turned out great and I'm impressed by the way, the director came out with the 21st century version of Cinderella. Hilary Duff, at this young age (ok, I thought she is in 20's) managed to act well the role "Samantha".
Anyone watches this movie? :wink: Not bad...I would give a 4/5.

wawa
19-09-2004, 01:00 PM
hm....at your recommendation, I might just go and watch it :)

20-09-2004, 11:42 PM
I like it too at a first glance by its title. But after I have read STAR rating and comment on this movie, my interest fades out. Really fun to watch?

21-09-2004, 05:23 AM
Mmm....well, this is a subjective matter, it depends on individual;s preferences...as for me, perhaps, I jus like those fairy tales-like stories, with beautifuk princess, handsome prince charming, and a romantic, perhaps unrealistic story line....anyway, no harm watching it....

qedx
21-09-2004, 05:49 AM
beautifuk princess
i don't think hillary duff is qualified to be described like that

21-09-2004, 06:00 AM
sorry, typo error....beautifuk=beautiful...aiks...
well, I didn't mean that she's a beautiful princess, but just saying it in general that, I would more into those beautiful princess, handsome prince charming type of movies....:)

21-09-2004, 10:46 PM
i have yet to watch this movie, n probably not to do so.
there is only 1 thing la....the actor very en-dau!!!

22-09-2004, 11:54 AM
hehe..i've watched it..and yeah..i kinda like it...it's a very interesting poor gurl get lucky kinda story. Well..she's not really poor *metaphorically laa hehe*
Hmm...PeiWen, maybe can try watching Ella Enchanted *which i watched last night when i was supposed to be doing my ASSgmnts!*
Pretty interesting story..plus the prince, kinda looks like a younger Colin Firth heheh...

23-09-2004, 03:26 AM
Mmm..."Ella Encahnted"...is there such movie? I never heard of it though....can you roughly tell me what is t about?

23-09-2004, 10:57 AM
about this gurl (anne Hathaway of the Princess Diary) who was given the gift of obedience by this a bit wacko fairy. She cant disobey anyone, which caused her to do some really funny things. Her mother passed away and her father remarried, and she got like 2 stepsisters *damn stupid and so shallow too*

anyway, there's a prince in the picture - kinda like a cinderella story..but it's kinda funny - got elves and giants and ogres *my kind of stories*

in short?
it's funny, it's romantic, and got some sad moments in it too..'

I think it's a new movie - it was a pirated version that i saw hahaha...
*not mine, my housemate's*

kucingbiru
23-09-2004, 11:36 AM
average grades from movie critics: C-.
i wont even dload it.

lonewolfhan
23-09-2004, 12:35 PM
it depends on your taste actually.... cant really decide base on Yahoo or whatever rating.... actually most of the movies oso didnt get A or a good grade in Yahoo....

I bet this Cinderella's Story will be nice.. and although she is not the prettiest.. Hilary Duff is still beautiful ! :P

23-09-2004, 12:40 PM
i wont even dload it.

Movie critics needs to get a real job. Just for the record, Shawshank redemption, one of my personal favourites was rated as a Bad movie. Thats why it stunk at the box office. It only became a hit when it got nominated for Oscars and the Video sales of the movie broke almost every record there is for Rentals or purchases in its time.

I watched Ella enchanted, I enjoyed it as much as i enjoyed The Princess Bride (not The Princess diary) the old one from the 80's? with the guy in the Black Mask and Andre the Giant, I was maybe 7-8 when i first saw that one..

But then again everyone has their own opinions, But to make up your own you have to see it.. Movie critics sucks..

23-09-2004, 01:02 PM
Movie critics needs to get a real job.
agreed. i finally saw the light after each and every one of them hailed 'lost in translation' (a god-awful movie btw) as a masterpiece. yes i'm kinda slow.

23-09-2004, 01:22 PM
oh..i shall look out for that movie when i go pasar malam..:P

23-09-2004, 02:09 PM
hey..i love The Shawshank Redemption too! one of my favs actually.

Anyway, remember Mean Girls? one of my friends hated it just bcoz it's a chick flick and coz in Aussie (where he's studying), the movie didnt get much sambutan fr the public.

To me, just watch what you want to watch. Stimes, even the small, seemingly insignificant movies are even better than those w hyped up promo etc.

Anyone watched Whale Rider yet? An indie movie - damn cun storyline :D

kucingbiru
23-09-2004, 06:20 PM
i wont even dload it.

Movie critics needs to get a real job. Just for the record, Shawshank redemption, one of my personal favourites was rated as a Bad movie. Thats why it stunk at the box office. It only became a hit when it got nominated for Oscars and the Video sales of the movie broke almost every record there is for Rentals or purchases in its time.

I watched Ella enchanted, I enjoyed it as much as i enjoyed The Princess Bride (not The Princess diary) the old one from the 80's? with the guy in the Black Mask and Andre the Giant, I was maybe 7-8 when i first saw that one..

But then again everyone has their own opinions, But to make up your own you have to see it.. Movie critics sucks..

hmm, i donno which critic(s) you're referring to, but so far i see that that movie has received great grades from the critics. perhaps u can share the link to a review (by a real critic) that was published when the movie first came out.

well, a lot of people think that critics should get a real job, just because they(the critics) dont like what many ordinary people like,
or when they like what we dont like.

What is wrong with these so-called hot shot movie critics.
This movie is the among one of the best marvel movies yet. With a cast that any movies dreams of and a story that would make any director and/or producer jealous. I loved the movie, it was what any marvel fan ever wanted. Don't get me wrong Spider-man, X-men, and the Hulk..they were all great movies..but I have to give the Punisher it's due. I followed the comic book series thoughout my childhood..and the plot that followed with the movie went almost with the book..acourse you expect a bit of a directors touch up..something new..The cast..man unbelieveable,you have Thomas Jane, a soon to be Oscar winner and a incredible actor and John Travolta, a legend among actors in his field and god among bad guys..The man can do it all..So with that said, I recommend this movie to anyone who has got a imagination, a taste in movies, and a
action movie lover and marvel fan.. Go see it,enjoy it, and then go see it again..
As for the big critics who degrated this movie..quit your job..go home and lock yourself in your basement..your better off there anyways.

i quote that from a user review of the movie the punisher. (movies.yahoo.com).

yeah, there's a lot of action and cool moves in that movie. maybe it accurately depicts the original The Punisher. but those things wont make it a good movie. that movie is weak, at least in logical sense, which is important to me, which should be humiliating to the director too. i was so dissatisfied that i swore never to pay for a movie anymore. allrite thats enough.

come on guys, i like adam sandler's movies and i'm aware that the critics rarely like his movies. i like em because to me, they are entertaining though I rarely consider them as good movies, and the flaws in his movies rarely bother me. and i wont say that the critics should get other jobs just because they dont think that such movies are good. come on, they know what they're talking about. dont hate them just because they have different (or better) taste.

p/s: Roger Ebert rocks. :P

kucingbiru
23-09-2004, 06:31 PM
it depends on your taste actually.... cant really decide base on Yahoo or whatever rating.... actually most of the movies oso didnt get A or a good grade in Yahoo....

u know what, before this, after watching a movie, i decide whether i like it or not, give it a grade (A-F), and when i check the critics reviews, our grades were usually close (even for different reasons). so i often consult the reviews before watching a movie.

but that dont mean i like whatever the critics like. i dont like SciFi stuff and i dont think i'll watch any though the critics like it.

Yes, it's hard for a movie to get an A from the critics, (from my roomate and I too). usually B- is ok enough. seriously, i'll consider watching a B- movie, and if i think a movie is good, i'll give it a B- or better.

p/s: I avoid some actors too.

kucingbiru
23-09-2004, 06:33 PM
well, for the record, i was talking about western critics, not malaysian critics.

i didn't rely on any reviews when i decided to go see Embun. :P

27-09-2004, 06:59 AM
hehe...i just watched the movie 2nd time again.....:P

27-09-2004, 08:33 AM
I guess it's a feel good kinda movie..the acting is not so bad either, as in it's the kind of movie that makes you dont care much bout the actress being so ridiculously dumb or too over-acting whatever...
you're watching it coz you dont want to think much about stuff, and you want to enjoy it..

The above theory however, is applicable only to English/other language movies. Malay movies are not to be included. Coz i dunno why, but i memang dont like watching Malay movies except for some.

Will only watch Malay movies when:
good actors/actresses
a good storyline
directed by a good director

iWell...the whole point of watching movies: to relax, and not think much bout anything else. Which is why Malay movies are so popular *esp those w Erra n Yusry in them...borrringggg :roll: * - most of them are basically just movies with no plot...going around and around and around...

but me, i dont care much bout such movies; makes me feel stupid watching them heheh...

my 2.5 cents :D

20-12-2004, 09:51 PM
yea, budakkerek, the "Ella Enchanted" is going to shown in cinema, I think early next year? I'm not sure....or this year end? Hopefully I can catch that movie and tell you guys about my comments on that... :wink: