View Full Version : Globalization of STPM
20-09-2004, 07:17 AM
There has been proposal that STPM being expanded and promoted as an international exam for entrance into universities worldwide, in particular in science and mathematics subjects. With the exam in these subjects are done in English, there has been discussions that these examinations could be made global, for any student to take this exam.
http://www.bharian.com.my/m/BHarian/Monday/Nasional/20040920000058/Article/
Any thoughts on this issue? Would this move help Malaysians in the long run?
20-09-2004, 08:59 AM
It's better to do AP IMO.
Sorry if I sound sacarstic...but STPM????? I dont' think so la...
1. the quality if sometimes questionable in cerrtain subjects.
2. its supposed to be a 2 year course, but they cram it in 1 and half years...
3. if advocated as equal to AL, why not take AL? What's the merit of taking STPM?
23-09-2004, 12:24 AM
and the lembaga peperiksaan malaysia has little or no credibility left in them.
Skeith
23-09-2004, 12:40 AM
STPM > recognized as the 2nd toughest exam in the Board of Examinations of UK
So if this move is a success i see a bright future in malaysia education
yea dun look down on stpm its far harder than our average A-lvls
23-09-2004, 05:21 AM
what about A-level?sorry to say,but isn't e'body is getting straight A's in them?i asked my friends who took a-level with this question:
" so dude,straight A's kan?"
come to think about it,almost e'body got A for their math,chem and bio.the only think i heard some ppl screwed up was their physics paper.
U know what,STPM taught u many thing that A-level wont.
it taught u about kenegaraan.it taught you to read paper e'day and keep up with the current issues.it taught u to do endless practises.
i did well all the way in my chem,math and physics classes here in usa but when someone taking STPM posted his questions here at recom,i went blank.i know how to start but never know how to end.
in this sense,i was taken aback of my knowledge.and praised the high quality of questions set on STPM.
ps: i studied a-level for 6 months or so and i still think STPM is much greater in e'sense.
lagipun,it is made in malaysia what!!sure bangga if someone in Russia is taking that.
ps: STPM is under Majlis peperiksaan malaysia not lembaga peperiksaan malaysia.so the credibility is still under checked.