View Full Version : Asasi Sains Hayat Unimas

iamfee
06-05-2011, 03:50 PM
I regret for not making my research earlier before applying, and this is what I've found on Unimas' website:

8 Pemilihan ke Program Ijazah Pertama UNIMAS

Pelajar yang lulus Program Pengajian Pra-Universiti UNIMAS akan berpeluang mengikuti kursus peringkat ijazah di salah satu Fakulti di UNIMAS

Program Asasi Sains Hayat

i) Fakulti Perubatan dan Sains Kesihatan
? WM00 Doktor Perubatan
? WM12 Kejururawatan

ii) Fakulti Sains dan Teknologi Sumber
? WS47 Bioteknologi Sumber
? WS48 Kimia Sumber
? WS49 Sains dan Pengurusan Sumber Akuatik
? WS50 Sains dan Pengurusan Sumber Tumbuhan
? WS51 Sains dan Pengurusan Sumber Haiwan

iii) Fakulti Sains Kognitif dan Pembangunan Manusia
? WP02 Pembangunan Sumber Manusia
? WS24 Sains Kognitif

Does this mean that I'll have ZERO chance to continue my degree in Dentistry/Pharmacy in case I fail to take Medicine in the future? And can I apply to other universities (UM/USM) after my asasi?

..and I found this on UKM's website (admission requirements)
KPM Matriculation Certificate / UM Foundation / Uitm Foundation.

..so does this mean that Unimas Foundation is not recognized? :cry
help pls :(

apambalik
07-05-2011, 11:09 AM
iamfree i have the question also cuz i got unimas sains hayat but plan to take medicine sumwhere else. UM? UKM? been wonderin is it possible to switch after asasi @<hidden> unimas?

i guess ur sarawakian also huh?

auntieagony
07-05-2011, 01:19 PM
iamfree i have the question also cuz i got unimas sains hayat but plan to take medicine sumwhere else. UM? UKM? been wonderin is it possible to switch after asasi @<hidden> unimas?

Hi y'all!

Since u get Unimas asasi sains Hayat, I suggest that u just enroll, focus on your studies and get 4 flat results. Once u get the desired results, then only you wld be eligible to apply for medic course in UM, UKM & etc. Even if u r in UM or UKM, if u didn't get 4 flat, your chances of getting medic course is very slim.

From what I've gathered, it is possible to switch to medic course in UM, but your asasi results must be equally gd if not better (if there's any better results than 4 flat!!):laugh

But if u r very keen to go to asasi sains hayat in UM, just try your luck and appeal. No harm's done.

apambalik
07-05-2011, 02:31 PM
Hi y'all!

Since u get Unimas asasi sains Hayat, I suggest that u just enroll, focus on your studies and get 4 flat results. Once u get the desired results, then only you wld be eligible to apply for medic course in UM, UKM & etc. Even if u r in UM or UKM, if u didn't get 4 flat, your chances of getting medic course is very slim.

From what I've gathered, it is possible to switch to medic course in UM, but your asasi results must be equally gd if not better (if there's any better results than 4 flat!!):laugh

But if u r very keen to go to asasi sains hayat in UM, just try your luck and appeal. No harm's done.

thx for answering. almost scared me. guess ur takin medicine also. juz gotta work freakin hard 2 get that 4 flat..:oh

iamfee
07-05-2011, 05:54 PM

Phew!~ it makes me feel better to know that someone else is also in the same boat as me. Yes, I am a Sarawakian - I also got offered to Matriks, and that's why I'm in dilemma.

apambalik
07-05-2011, 06:01 PM
Phew!~ it makes me feel better to know that someone else is also in the same boat as me. Yes, I am a Sarawakian - I also got offered to Matriks, and that's why I'm in dilemma.

yea same here! but i didnt apply matriks n so only unimas. i probably jz go there. haha:P

iamfee
07-05-2011, 06:05 PM
Hi y'all!

Thank you very much! :) you made me feel a lot better. I have some things in my mind right now..what if I didn't manage to get 4 flat in asasi - can I continue doing my degree in other courses outside Unimas, because the degree programs within Unimas are quite limited.

This is because if I choose Matriks, and if I fail to get 4 flat, I'll still have the chance to choose for a wide choice of courses from various IPTAs, am I right?

by the way apambalik, have you made your decision? :amuse

apambalik
07-05-2011, 06:08 PM
hey iamfree dont u think upu send us 2 unimas simply bcuz we're from sarawak? not bcuz of our results.
i heard sumone i know with b+ bio can enter UM sains hayat but tat person lives in the peninsular. weird huh.

iamfree i gonna go for unimas

iamfee
07-05-2011, 06:15 PM
hey iamfree dont u think upu send us 2 unimas simply bcuz we're from sarawak? not bcuz of our results.
i heard sumone i know with b+ bio can enter UM sains hayat but tat person lives in the peninsular. weird huh.

iamfree i gonna go for unimas

Did you make Unimas your first choice when you applied? I did - well I should have chosen UITM or UM (I wasn't aware about this situation). Did you get straight As? A lot of my friends (who didn't get straight As) did make Unimas their 1st choice but failed to get it. So for some reason, I feel thankful that at least I got what I applied for :)

p/s: I got to go. Will go online back tonight.

apambalik
07-05-2011, 06:50 PM
Did you make Unimas your first choice when you applied? I did - well I should have chosen UITM or UM (I wasn't aware about this situation). Did you get straight As? A lot of my friends (who didn't get straight As) did make Unimas their 1st choice but failed to get it. So for some reason, I feel thankful that at least I got what I applied for :)

p/s: I got to go. Will go online back tonight.

thank u for enlightening. um was 1st choice for me bt unimas was 3rd. i did get straight As (no bragging rights here:amuse) so a bit dissapointed but i bersyukur lah..haha

jazman
07-05-2011, 08:56 PM
I regret for not making my research earlier before applying, and this is what I've found on Unimas' website:

8 Pemilihan ke Program Ijazah Pertama UNIMAS

Pelajar yang lulus Program Pengajian Pra-Universiti UNIMAS akan berpeluang mengikuti kursus peringkat ijazah di salah satu Fakulti di UNIMAS

Program Asasi Sains Hayat

i) Fakulti Perubatan dan Sains Kesihatan
? WM00 Doktor Perubatan
? WM12 Kejururawatan

ii) Fakulti Sains dan Teknologi Sumber
? WS47 Bioteknologi Sumber
? WS48 Kimia Sumber
? WS49 Sains dan Pengurusan Sumber Akuatik
? WS50 Sains dan Pengurusan Sumber Tumbuhan
? WS51 Sains dan Pengurusan Sumber Haiwan

iii) Fakulti Sains Kognitif dan Pembangunan Manusia
? WP02 Pembangunan Sumber Manusia
? WS24 Sains Kognitif

Does this mean that I'll have ZERO chance to continue my degree in Dentistry/Pharmacy in case I fail to take Medicine in the future? And can I apply to other universities (UM/USM) after my asasi?

..and I found this on UKM's website (admission requirements)
KPM Matriculation Certificate / UM Foundation / Uitm Foundation.

..so does this mean that Unimas Foundation is not recognized? :cry
help pls :(

If I am not mistaken, apart form Kem Pendidikan Matriculation, only Asasi Uitm and Asasi UM students can go to other universities. Others, must proceed to the same university where they do their matrics/asasi. Correct me if I'm wrong:(

apambalik
07-05-2011, 09:36 PM
If I am not mistaken, apart form Kem Pendidikan Matriculation, only Asasi Uitm and Asasi UM students can go to other universities. Others, must proceed to the same university where they do their matrics/asasi. Correct me if I'm wrong:(

yeah thats what i heard. depressing.
but if u really get gud 4 flat result? they must be a way, a backdoor. haha

iamfee
08-05-2011, 12:34 AM
thank u for enlightening. um was 1st choice for me bt unimas was 3rd. i did get straight As (no bragging rights here:amuse) so a bit dissapointed but i bersyukur lah..haha

You're welcome. I really need to talk to somebody who's in the same situation as me :laugh

I see..:) yeah I got straight As too :P but still wondering what our fate will be like if we can't get 4 flat..because the courses within Unimas itself (for ex-Asasi Hayat students) are quite limited. This is so annoying. Maybe I should stop worrying and just try my best after this..hmm..(Tired of thinking too much) :notrust

apambalik
08-05-2011, 04:50 PM
You're welcome. I really need to talk to somebody who's in the same situation as me :laugh

I see..:) yeah I got straight As too :P but still wondering what our fate will be like if we can't get 4 flat..because the courses within Unimas itself (for ex-Asasi Hayat students) are quite limited. This is so annoying. Maybe I should stop worrying and just try my best after this..hmm..(Tired of thinking too much) :notrust

Yes it's comforting to me to know we're in the same boat.
Perhaps there are other recomers out there got asasi sains UNIMAS?
feel free to barge in:))

Aireen
08-05-2011, 06:16 PM
Hi everyone :)

I got UNIMAS too, and currently having same problem. I heard that ex-asasians of UNIMAS cannot switch the university after the asasi there, is that true ?
Urghh.. this is so worrying ;(

apambalik
09-05-2011, 01:14 AM

I got UNIMAS too, and currently having same problem. I heard that ex-asasians of UNIMAS cannot switch the university after the asasi there, is that true ?

seems so but maybe 4 flat cgpa cn gt us somewhere else. cn u confirm this?

iamfee
09-05-2011, 01:18 AM

Yep, that's true (I've asked a friend who helped to ask a friend of him - someone from the first batch, and she confirmed about this matter).

Well we can't run away from making decisions.....so I've finally decided to just go and do my best :)

What about you, Aireen? Have you made your decision? :)

by the way I found a group of the first batch on facebook, so maybe you guys want to randomly add anyone there and ask some questions to them :laugh

@<hidden>, I hope more people will barge in! :nuts

seems so but maybe 4 flat cgpa cn gt us somewhere else. cn u confirm this?

Not sure about this though. Let's add some seniors on fb :nuts

apambalik
09-05-2011, 01:52 AM
just posted a ques @<hidden> unimas fb page. hope sumone answers!

apambalik
09-05-2011, 03:33 PM
@<hidden> according to fb unimas grup page where there are other would be Asasians (lol) u cant swith to other ipta after asasi. sigh.
yet still i think i shud juz go there.

iamfee
09-05-2011, 04:16 PM
@<hidden> according to fb unimas grup page where there are other would be Asasians (lol) u cant switch to other ipta after asasi. sigh.
yet still i think i shud juz go there.

Haha :laugh thanks dude.
Maybe it's a good sign after all :amuse
My heart is at Unimas now :))

apambalik
09-05-2011, 04:21 PM
Haha :laugh thanks dude.
Maybe it's a good sign after all :amuse
My heart is at Unimas now :))

yup see u there:amuse

iamfee
09-05-2011, 04:25 PM
yup see u there:amuse

Hoho. I know who you are now. (thanks to your comment on fb) :))

nurlisdyana
09-05-2011, 07:56 PM
is it true that we cant apply to other uni after completing asasi?:huh then u'll b 5-6 years in unimas..:cry

iamfee
09-05-2011, 08:28 PM
is it true that we cant apply to other uni after completing asasi?:huh then u'll b 5-6 years in unimas..:cry

yup :)
did you get offered for asasi too? hayat or fizikal? :P

@<hidden>, have you clicked on the "menerima tawaran" button? May I know the registration date? (I haven't clicked yet, so I can't view the surat tawaran yet...still waiting for JPA results..)

Aireen
10-05-2011, 12:04 AM
Hi , again. :)

It's great to hear that some of youu are making your way to asasi UNIMAS. I wishh gud luck ! :D As 4 me, I think im not going :(. I perhaps go for matrik at peninsular. I dont know whether it is worth to go for matrik instead of asasi but somehow I hope everything will do fine.

syazie93
10-05-2011, 12:47 AM
yup :)
did you get offered for asasi too? hayat or fizikal? :P

@<hidden>, have you clicked on the "menerima tawaran" button? May I know the registration date? (I haven't clicked yet, so I can't view the surat tawaran yet...still waiting for JPA results..)

Hi everyone! New here. I also got offered to unimas for asasi sains hayat. The registration date is 4 June at unimas. But we have to click the surat tawaran thingy latest by 15 may. So can still wait for jpa. iamfee, good luck with jpa! :)

apambalik
10-05-2011, 07:48 AM
Hoho. I know who you are now. (thanks to your comment on fb) :))

uh-oh. haha:laugh

lollipop23
10-05-2011, 12:03 PM
Now i just realized that after go the asasi sains hayat for 1 year at unimas, cannot go to other uni anymore.,haiz. does it mean that i have to get 4 flat to get the medic course in unimas ?? if not bye bye?
ohya, what is sains kesihatan? not like going to study to become a doctor right?
thanks if u r willing to reply.

iamfee
10-05-2011, 01:03 PM
Hi , again. :)

It's great to hear that some of youu are making your way to asasi UNIMAS. I wishh gud luck ! :D As 4 me, I think im not going :(. I perhaps go for matrik at peninsular. I dont know whether it is worth to go for matrik instead of asasi but somehow I hope everything will do fine.

I see...wish you all the best in matriks :)

Hi everyone! New here. I also got offered to unimas for asasi sains hayat. The registration date is 4 June at unimas. But we have to click the surat tawaran thingy latest by 15 may. So can still wait for jpa. iamfee, good luck with jpa! :)

Hi! Welcome to ReCom :laugh
Have you accepted the offer? May I know where are you from?
Thanks for the info yaaaa :laugh and thanks for the wish too :amuse

Now i just realized that after go the asasi sains hayat for 1 year at unimas, cannot go to other uni anymore.,haiz. does it mean that i have to get 4 flat to get the medic course in unimas ?? if not bye bye?
ohya, what is sains kesihatan? not like going to study to become a doctor right?
thanks if u r willing to reply.

Yea, I also didn't realise about that before applying, but it doesn't really matter anymore. Maybe it's a good sign anyway - yea we don't have to worry about which uni we should enter after this :laugh

I'm not sure about Sains Kesihatan..it covers a wide range of health-related courses, I assume.

..and yeah lollipop, have you accepted the offer? :)

lollipop23
10-05-2011, 01:45 PM
ya..i have accepted the offer..lol..i'm so rush to accept it,because im waiting for jpa too..but i think my heart will be at unimas ..

apambalik
10-05-2011, 03:30 PM
is it really a must for us to register on the 4th of may instead 5? cuz i want 2 go sightseeing in kuching 1st n then register on the 5th. :(

lollipop23
10-05-2011, 04:06 PM
no..u can go register either on 4th or 5th june.=)

syazie93
10-05-2011, 05:31 PM
Hi! Welcome to ReCom :laugh
Have you accepted the offer? May I know where are you from?
Thanks for the info yaaaa :laugh and thanks for the wish too :amuse

Not yet. :( Still waiting for news on mara. I'm from kuching. :P ur welcome! :)

iamfee
11-05-2011, 03:53 PM
hey y'all :)
I've accepted my surat tawaran already, on the syarat-syarat they clearly stated that we cannot apply to other universities after completing asasi :nod
and yeah, registration date is 4-5 June.

lollipop23
11-05-2011, 04:00 PM
haha..iamfee u got waiting from jpa??

iamfee
11-05-2011, 04:26 PM
haha..iamfee u got waiting from jpa??

:laugh yep. that's why I'm a little bit afraid that I'll forget to click menerima tawaran before the deadline.

apambalik
14-05-2011, 01:58 AM
@<hidden> check ur jpa results yet? jpa offered me pidn @<hidden> unimas even though UPU offered me the same thing. coincidence? haha.
unimas here i come...

iamfee
14-05-2011, 05:19 AM
@<hidden> check ur jpa results yet? jpa offered me pidn @<hidden> unimas even though UPU offered me the same thing. coincidence? haha.
unimas here i come...

Congrats!! :laugh that's cool, you don't even have to think to make your decision :)) I managed to get it too - piln (twinning program). I have to say goodbye to Unimas. It's tough, especially after I mentioned that my heart now is at Unimas! :cry

All the best to all of us, no matter where we're heading to.
Aww it's sad...

apambalik
14-05-2011, 09:30 AM
yeah it was nice knowing u here iamfree.
gud luck n all the best to u too! :)

iamfee
15-05-2011, 11:33 PM
yeah it was nice knowing u here iamfree.
gud luck n all the best to u too! :)

yaa. hope to see you (as a colleague) at SGH in years to come :))