View Full Version : 1 year in power - what do you think of Pak Lah's performance

28-10-2004, 02:22 PM
I'm still a bit p*ssed that he doesn't reply my emails. But some stuff like the police commission is kinda cool. Pak Lah is a bit of a softie too. See how he allowed money politics to free flow in UMNO.

If that can happen in UMNO, what more can we expect of our judiciary, police, press, and election commission?

IMHO. Pak lah needs to show more balls. He has shown some... but not enough to win my vote come 5 years time.

I don't like him, but he's my PM. And he has my support.
GLASS PIPES CHEAP (http://glassgallery.tumblr.com)

da-hype
28-10-2004, 06:16 PM
who's pak lah??? lol... jk :p

kucingbiru
11-11-2004, 12:30 PM
I'm still a bit p*ssed that he doesn't reply my emails.

you should listen to Eminem's Stan. :P

11-11-2004, 01:16 PM
I would say that I am in full support for Pak Lah, and I do feel that he has very good intention for our country, but there hasn't been sufficient new measures to solve the problems.

I believe that Pak Lah has taken some initial steps, like the Unity Debates, Police Commissioners, Public Account Committee etc, and I would say that the people certainly are more daring in bringing up issues, but it is still a long way to go.

I would suggest that misled_youth or anyone who have any issue about Malaysia to share, the best avenue would be to write to the press. I am sure PM's advisor would read about it, and hundreds of thousands of Malaysians would have read about it.

Perhaps, we could generate some ideas. I don't mind helping to pass the ideas up to some ministers, who would help bring it up in the cabinet. i would say that those ideas should be constructive.

kucingbiru
11-11-2004, 01:58 PM
i wont say i'm a fan of pak lah, but to me it's a blessing that he replaces mahathir.

11-11-2004, 10:51 PM
I would suggest that misled_youth or anyone who have any issue about Malaysia to share, the best avenue would be to write to the press. I am sure PM's advisor would read about it, and hundreds of thousands of Malaysians would have read about it.

To chenchow the pompous know-it-all:

I WORK FOR THE PRESS.

Are you telling me to stop ranting here? So you and your right-wing BN buttkissing cohorts can distort the facts and stuff propoganda down other people's throat?

You pathetic attempt to run me down is YET another sign of your insecurity and ignorance.
Park Lane Jomtien Resort Condo (http://pattayaluxurycondos.com)

12-11-2004, 12:32 AM
To clarify on that matter, I am only suggesting an additional alternative matter to raise it in the media. I do not mention anything about asking you to stop ranting or anything.

If I would like to ask you to stop ranting, why I am asking ReComers to generate ideas on those issues that you are bringing up?

12-11-2004, 01:04 AM
I think that the key area that can be measured is the growth rate of the economy, and as it is growing at some 6 percent, i think he has done quite well in that respect. Other indicators are crime and im not sure on those statistics but for economic performance you have to give him the thumbs up for the year.

12-11-2004, 01:09 AM
To misled_youth:
I feel that I have had enough of your ranting.
"A string of reproaches against other people leads one to suspect the existence of a string of self-reproaches with the same content. All that need be done is to turn back each single reproach on to the speaker himself. There is something undeniably automatic about this method of defending oneself against a self-reproach by making the same reproach against some one else. A model of it is to be found in the tu quoque arguments of children; if one of them is accused of being a liar, he will reply without an instant's hesitation: 'You're another.' ... In paranoia the projection of a reproach on to another person without any alteration in its content and therefore without any consideration for reality becomes manifest as the process of delusion-formation."
Freud, Sigmund. Dora An Analysis of a Case of Hysteria. New York: Simon & Schuster, Inc. 1997, pg 28.

Interpret it yourself.
Besides, what does your post contribute to your own topic? Give us proof of him allowing money politics and I'm sure your argument would have been much better.

I will say no more and rest my case here.

As for my opinion about Pak Lah, I think it's still not the time to judge yet. One year is too short for him to really implement any big changes in the country. I'll reserve my opinion until the next election.

------------------------------------------------

Keep ReCom free from pathos!!!

infested_ysy
12-11-2004, 09:06 AM
People, it's not "money politics"! The term "money politics" isn't even proper english. It's outright VOTE-BUYING!

Just google up for "money politics" and see that only the Malaysian news came out.

12-11-2004, 11:55 AM
Besides, what does your post contribute to your own topic? Give us proof of him allowing money politics and I'm sure your argument would have been much better.

Here's an idiots guide to UMNO Money Politics. Intepret it yourself.

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/newspic/ge/adnan.jpg
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/news.php?id=99703
Adnan Firm On Principle Not To Report 'Money Politics'
KUANTAN, Oct 21 (Bernama) -- Pahang Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob has again stressed that he would not report any case of "money politics" in Umno, saying it was against his principle to it.

He said he would hold firm to his stand even if he was accused of having no principles or being a coward.

"I don't want to hurt the political career of my friends. If any Umno leader is caught for practising money politics, I don't want to get involved. Let the explanation come from other people, and not me," he told reporters at a hurriedly called press conference at his official residence here Thursday.

---
http://www.atimes.com/atimes/Southeast_Asia/FJ02Ae04.html
A veteran UMNO party official raised eyebrows on Tuesday by claiming that money politics was the worst he had seen during his more than three decades in various high positions. The term "money politics" in the context of UMNO party election is often a euphemism for vote-buying or the promise of doling out patronage in return for votes.

The official, Abdul Kadir Shiekh Fadzir, who is also Malaysia's information minister, lost his Supreme Council seat in the recent UMNO election and revealed later that it was the first time he had been approached by certain people to pay for votes. When asked if money politics really took place in the election, a peeved Kadir told reporters, "It happened as everybody knows."

---

MUAR, Oct 22 (Bernama) -- Umno Vice President, Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, has pledged to continue speaking out on money politics even if others were uneasy as the issue had smeared the party elections last August.
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v3/printable.php?id=99907

---

chuilin... open your eyes lah... stop being so ignorant. People will laugh at you wan you know?[/b]
Live Sex (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

12-11-2004, 12:35 PM
chuilin... open your eyes lah... stop being so ignorant. People will laugh at you wan you know?
Haha, did I ever deny the existence of vote-buying in UMNO? All I'm saying is that your argument will have much more support if you include some evidences and not just random statements. Do it in every of your posts and I'm sure more people will take your views seriously. People laugh at me for being ignorant? :lol: try laugh at me and see...

Anyway, I google up money politics as suggested by infested_ysy and I found that there's such a proper term as "money politics". And it is not just Malaysia who has it.

http://www.economist.com/surveys/displayStory.cfm?Story_id=280647&tranMode=none

infested_ysy
12-11-2004, 01:05 PM
Yes, now that I've googled it up... there's other non-Malaysian sites which contained the term "money politics"... weird O_o

That's weird. The last time I've googled for it, it only shown 3 pages worth of results, mainly from Malaysiakini, some umno website, Jeffooi, The star and Bernama newsgroup.

12-11-2004, 07:39 PM
Your pathetic attempt to rebuke my claims is laughable. Don't change the topic. Pak Lah's government is corrupt. He has done NOTHING to deal with it. It has been one year.

He first asked for a strong mandate. He got it in march. He then asked for a strong mandate in the Umno elections. He got it last month. Now what are we waiting for? Xmas?

Remember the 18 'big sharks' that were suppose to be set on fire? Where are they now?

Malaysia as dropped a few notches on the TI corruption index. Malaysia's FDI has been slashed by a third between 2002 - 2003, while Singapore doubled its FDI.

Pak Lah wanted us to go back into agriculture, when we have heaps of engineers and computer scientist waiting to enter the workforce (many ReCommer's fall in this category).

Pak Lah and chuilin! WAKE UP and smell the hibiscus!
Tasty_squirt (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/cam/Tasty_squirt/)

12-11-2004, 07:44 PM
Haha, did I ever deny the existence of vote-buying in UMNO?

Give us proof of him allowing money politics and I'm sure your argument would have been much better.

How else can I interpret this except that you are plain lazy to look up the facts?

Do it in every of your posts and I'm sure more people will take your views seriously

Pffffft.
BUY BUBBLERS (http://bubblers.net/)

12-11-2004, 10:33 PM
Haha, did I ever deny the existence of vote-buying in UMNO?

Give us proof of him allowing money politics and I'm sure your argument would have been much better.

How else can I interpret this except that you are plain lazy to look up the facts?

Misled_youth, you're making me laugh !! :lol: Damn, who's making a claim here? You're!! I begin to wonder how your English teachers have been teaching you about making arguments. Perhaps they don't tell you to support your claims or perhaps they tell you that it's alright to just shoot out random facts. For the last time, let me tell you this: what is your aim in raising these issues? To create awareness right? To enlighten the ignorant, isn't it? And tell me, by simply stating some random facts, will you ever achieve your aims?
Never assume that everyone knows what you know.

And finally,

See how he allowed money politics to free flow in UMNO.

See how you word it? You say "allowed"!! That means you're saying that he consented to allowing money politics to happen in UMNO!! Tell me that's true, tell me that he wants money politics to happen!! Give me the facts!! Give me the evidence!!
If you have said it like: See how his inaction has caused money politics to free flow in UMNO, I would have accepted it.

Besides, righteous is spelt with an e, ok?

13-11-2004, 12:36 AM
On second thought, I feel that I'm involving in a senseless argument. I'll refrain from speaking about this anymore. Misled_youth, you can take that you win the argument. Anyway, I have achieved my aim, albeit to a lesser degree than I hope for.

MASTER
13-11-2004, 01:12 AM

13-11-2004, 06:36 AM
Hey, come on! Go on with the arguments. I like to read the arguments....well I have to admit that I'm very ignorant.....

13-11-2004, 08:09 PM
crap... she conceeded defeat. Sigh...
KID ZOLOFT (http://www.classactionsettlements.org/lawsuit/zoloft/)

16-11-2004, 11:28 AM
she's a he misled_youth.

and maybe it wasn't so muc defeat as admitting to the fact that he was talking to a wall.

anyways...you say that pak lah hasn't been doing enough to get rid of money politics. but apparently, he's done enough to make some UMNO leaders react. look at the last UMNO elections. it looks like people don't like what he's doing. and by people, i mean the scums who have been benefiting from the current system.

my point is that pak lah is a man who needs support to do what he wants to do. unfortunately, some of the support does come from corrupted leaders. if he truly wants to get rid of them. then i think that it would also mean the end of his career. who knows how many people are involved. who knows how powerful these people are.

also, i don't take it too lightly to your reply to chen chow. yes he may be a BN buttkissing cohort but he's heart is in the right place. and i think it's you who's insecure when you just lash out like that. true, you may be exasperated that so many people are ignorant. but the more you explain the more people know.

16-11-2004, 09:07 PM
I agree I have been a bit nasty.

I'm going to take a more John Lennon approach now. Diplomatic, yet revolutionary.

"Love, love me do... you know.... I love you..."
Live sex webshows (http://livesexwebshows.com/)

18-11-2004, 02:04 AM
Back to the topic.

Hope to hear more people on opinion about Pak Lah's administration in the last 12 months.

While 12 months may be a short judging period, it would be worthwhile for us to reflect upon.

18-11-2004, 05:53 AM
:(
i don't think 12 months is a short period. thing is, he could *have* done many things but did he? so far what are his major achievements (as in the significant ones) ? - "money politics" has been a wonderful pet peeve of the reactionary public. has he done anything about that? what about the promises he made? is he showing any signs of progress? or is he showing signs of being a lame duck?

lastly, leaders gain their support and respect when they *earn* it. we can't just say Hey he's our dear leader let's give him our fullest support. if so, let's just move to n.korea ya.

as for chenchow's statement earlier on writing to the press, i disagree. what PM badawi needs is opposition. this is a prerogative in a basic government. otherwise there will be no checks and balance and ultimately, corruption, which is so evident in malaysia today. however, instead, the government chooses to actively persecute the opposition.

latest news:
http://www2.malaysiakini.com/news/31447

USM student to face disciplinary proceedings
Beh Lih Yi
Nov 17, 04 4:53pm

A final-year student of Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) is to face disciplinary proceedings for allegedly being involved in campaigning for an opposition candidate during the general election concluded in March.

24-12-2004, 07:12 PM
http://thestar.com.my/archives/2004/12/24/nation/p2manofindia.jpg

http://thestar.com.my/news/nastory.asp?file=/2004/12/24/nation/9741601&sec=nation

what say you?

windrunner
25-12-2004, 02:01 PM
Well , you guys are quite right about the lack of progress, but one thing for sure at least the issues that were buried for such a long time are dug up ( think corruption ).

Certainly, you cannot expect Pak Lah to clap with one hand, it is impossible to make changes when there are no support from behind. This is where the problem begins, the public expect to see him shine without helping him to change the mindset of not only the government itself, but the 20 mil Malaysian who are usually ignorant (like me). This is after all a 'democratic country'.

The opposition needs some upgrading, maybe they need some pentium 4 instead of relying solely on IBM's. Do you ever see young bloods in the opposition? No wonder they are getting weaker by the day, no new people, no new ideas, nada...

Oh by the way, i am politically ignorant , so if i got anything wrong , be sure to fire my words , not me. :oops:

This reminds me of something.Does anyone know what's the full title of some sort of social report by some NGO in Malaysia, the one that shows the number of ISA cases and stuff? Thanks .

25-12-2004, 11:07 PM
I agree with windrunner on the aspect of Malaysians who hope wonders to happen, but do not cooperate or contribute towards nation-building.

It is easy for us to point our fingers out and say why Malaysia does not change for the better, but do we ask ourselves, do we change for the better first? do we encourage our friends and family members to change for the better? If we ourselves do not change, then why you point your fingers at others to change and improve?

So, lets take a good concrete step ahead!

On opposition, there are a number of up-and-coming politicians, like Teresa Kok too~!.

16-01-2005, 06:10 AM
http://thestar.com.my/archives/2004/12/24/nation/p2manofindia.jpg

what say you?

I say "Holy Sh*t!!!"

8O 8O 8O 8O 8O
Live sex webshows (http://livesexwebshows.com/)