View Full Version : Freeware / Open-Source software
What are your favorite freeware or open-source software?
Share them with us :)
Here's my list:
FireFox
ThunderBird
IrfanView
Picasa
SpyBot Search & Destroy
Apache
PuTTY
VNC
Google Toolbar
7-Zip
Audacity
VideoLAN
Azureus
13-11-2004, 01:02 AM
I have these on my system :
Mozilla Firefox
Aladdin stuffit expander
YemuZip
JEdit
Taco HTML editor (this is great!).
The rest of the software are all come preinstalled with mac.
Quick Review :
Mozilla firefox is pretty cool, although much of it's functionality already in Safari (mac's browser). Tab browsing and speed is a must, relatively faster than Safari (I mean, the Jaguar version) . The way it bookmarks is nothing different from the traditional way (safari is different however). But the 'waiting' icon really come from the Mac.
(the small little icon that revolves). But Indeed, it's much superior from the IE.
Aladdin stuffit expander comes with the Mac, it really fast to expand and I don't even have to 'extract' to open a compressed file. This apps is one of the best. But the downside is that, I cannot compress a file, in which case, I turn to the YemuZip. Unless I buy the stuffit complete
package.
YemuZip is doing the opposite. It could only compressed, but never expand. Drag and drop the folder and you're done. Neat and free.
JEdit is a free, basing its code from Java. Have been using it for quite a while for editing HTML code, or simply my programming assignment.
I just downloaded Taco HTML editor (http://www.tacosw.com/) yesterday and already I already excited with its simplicity and ease of use. Now, i don't have to learn how to author web using Dreamweaver. (especially if we have to go to computer lab to do so).
The 'Taco' icon is pretty neat too.
There are numerous other UNIX related freebies that resides inside my Mac. all the standard tools come along, gcc, emacs, vi, apache, etc.
AvantBrowser
My main browser. Uses IE core but has tons of cool features.
Mozilla Firefox
Secondary browser. I use it only to check if the CSS and Javascript I use on my homepage work for visitors using this browser.
Apache with MySQL
I host my homepage (and several other websites) on my own PC :)
Winamp 5
Just love it. One of the programs running 24/7 on my PC
Azureus
The best bittorrent client ever (IMO)
DC++
I share. Do you?
Media Player Classic
Not the one made by Microsoft. This video player resembles the classic version of Windows Media Player (hence the name) but has tons of features that the original one doesn't have. It also works flawlessly with any video codec out there, including the ones with soft subtitle feature.
PHP Designer 2005
My main PHP editor. You'll love it if you write lots of PHP.
17-11-2004, 03:07 AM
AVG 6 Free
I've been using it for past 2 years, and it has been able to catch all viruses. No complaints.
AVG 7 Free is now out, but I've not tried it yet.
17-11-2004, 04:58 AM
One more freebie from Sun . Ship January.
Solaris 10 .
http://www.linuxinsider.com/story/news/38189.html
18-11-2004, 12:13 PM
PHP Designer 2005
My main PHP editor. You'll love it if you write lots of PHP.
This looks awesome on first impression - will spend sometime on it and see if it does what I think it does.
I like the A9 Toolbar ! :P :P :P
Anyone has recommendations for a good content management system (CMS)?
Or any particular flavor of Wiki that you find useful?
I'm looking for something light but powerful.
22-03-2005, 10:16 PM
here's what i have in my system...
Suse Linux 9.1 Pro - jus started experimenting with it...kinda like the control centre, everything under one roof:)
Mozilla Firefox - much faster and secure compared to IE
Mozilla Thunderbird - no comment, rarely use it:p
AVG Free Edition 7.3 - love it, use the least amount of resources while being able to detect most viruses:)
Nvu(beta) - open source version of Frontpage, i like the simple interface and the css compliance...get it at www.nvu.com
thats about all that i use regularly, i still have others in my com, but i'm still experimenting with them..so thats all:)
open source rules:)
07-08-2005, 09:38 PM
i have been testing antivir antivirus for a while now..
verdict??
its's much faster than norton antivirus as it only uses about 10 mb of ram to run and uses less cpu power, quite unlike norton, which hogs at least 25 mb of my precious ram (192 mb only)...
the interface will be dull for some but as long as it does its job well, that's a little sacrifice la...
so far i haven met any complaints about this program on any forums :)
the url will be www.free-av.com
08-08-2005, 01:06 AM
avg's pretty alright...saved me quite a few times actually...so I'll be loyal & suport them....other open-source software/freeware that I use are:
1. Powertoys Image Resizer
2. Bemused - Bluetooth Winamp/WMP/Powerpoint remote control for my phone.
3. Stick - productivity software
4. Crap Cleaner/CCleaner
5. Filezilla - FTP software
6. 7-zip - zips/unzips almost anything from tarballs to gzips.
7. Flight Gear - free flight simulator
8. ATNotes - post-it notes
9. Wink - to make Flash based tutorials
10. Dosbox to play old DOS games like Unchartered waters
11. ffdshow - video/audio codec
12. Coolstreaming - for getting free AXN/Starsports (haven't switch this on for quite long so not sure if it's still working)
web-based open source software:
1. Mambo CMS
2. Wordpress
3. Lilina patched with dotandloops code - web-based RSS aggregator
yup, think that's about it.
13-08-2005, 03:52 AM
hmm..i tot firezilla's an extention for firefox??
13-08-2005, 05:30 AM
hmm..i tot firezilla's an extention for firefox??
filezilla not firezilla lah...it's an FTP program.
Read here: http://filezilla.sourceforge.net/
14-08-2005, 01:38 AM
sorry..i kinda mix it up with fireftp..that's the ftp extention for firefox... :) ..sorry for the misunderstanding
24-10-2005, 03:09 AM
does anyone have a suggestion for a light but powerful text editor / word processor that doesn't drain resources like word?
it's for quick notes and text that do not necessarily have to be printed or formatted. but it'll help if it can copy&paste to word efficiently for formatting.
da-hype
24-10-2005, 01:47 PM
does anyone have a suggestion for a light but powerful text editor / word processor that doesn't drain resources like word?
it's for quick notes and text that do not necessarily have to be printed or formatted. but it'll help if it can copy&paste to word efficiently for formatting.
i use this. http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/Web_Authoring/HTML_Editors__A-G_/Arisesoft_Winsyntax_Download.html
OR you could try mine. (still has ALOT of room for improvement)
http://www.codedb.org/submit/view.php?id=129
www.codedb.org - malaysian open source community. feel free to share u're codes :D
24-10-2005, 10:22 PM
u cn also try abiword.
get it at http://www.abisource.com/
tan_niao
25-10-2005, 01:12 AM
i used openoffice, hv a try....
i use this. http://www.freedownloadscenter.com/Web_Authoring/HTML_Editors__A-G_/Arisesoft_Winsyntax_Download.html
www.codedb.org - malaysian open source community. feel free to share u're codes :D
dude, you know you write programs too much if you take all editing tasks as code editing job. FYI, word processing is not equal to (i.e !=) code editing. I believe el_empty just wants a software like microsoft words minus all the resource-chomping tidsy bitsy fancy functions that neither essential nor crucial to a simple word processing task such as typing letters or reports or even essays.
and to el_empty, I strongly believe there is a program called "Wordpad" on every PC running Windows 95 and above. It has all the simple text formatting (bold, underline, italic, font type, font size, color, alignments, bullets etc) so i think it should suffice for simple wordprocessing tasks such as the one you described.
25-10-2005, 07:20 AM
dude, you know you write programs too much if you take all editing tasks as code editing job. FYI, word processing is not equal to (i.e !=) code editing. I believe el_empty just wants a software like microsoft words minus all the resource-chomping tidsy bitsy fancy functions that neither essential nor crucial to a simple word processing task such as typing letters or reports or even essays.
and to el_empty, I strongly believe there is a program called "Wordpad" on every PC running Windows 95 and above. It has all the simple text formatting (bold, underline, italic, font type, font size, color, alignments, bullets etc) so i think it should suffice for simple wordprocessing tasks such as the one you described.
ah luke read my mind. yes i was looking for an alternative to word. i actually use crimson editor for the 'code editing.' it's sweet.
but for some reason i can't seem to explain, i don't really like wordpad. probably due to the way it formats. but you're right.. it's probably a good enough alternative. i actually googled up some research. check this out:
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=6492
It's far less annoying than Microsoft's famous Clippit, and you can switch it off. I switched it off. Believe it or not, back in the early 1990s Microsoft was contemplating have people like Bill Gates pop up on your screen when you had a problem and talk you through it. Clippit was the compromise, and given the horrifying alternative, you could just about live with Clippit...
26-10-2005, 09:59 PM
openoffice is the most recommended one for most ppl who don wan to pay for office nor use the pirated version, and i find it to be very capable of doing office work...minus the bloat of office of course...