View Full Version : Measurements to Curb Road Accidents
18-11-2004, 02:07 AM
Lately, there has been some debates about how to curb road accidents and our PM has been pretty involved in this.
A few measurements have been done including:-
1. On the spot fine of $300. If unable to pay, go to court the next working day.
2. Building Observation tower every 32km.
3. Requiring all express bus drivers to drive not more than 4 hours straight (I am not 100% sure I quote the right hours, hope that anyone who knows could correct me)
and another more, which I can't remember by heart.
What do you guys think?
Personally, I agree with heavier penalty, but I think that there should be more studies done on such matter. Making those who are unable to pay the fine to go to court would add a lot of strains to our courts. The court is already saddled with so much backlogs.
I hope that fellow ReComers could generate ideas on this issue, as it concerns the life of all Malaysians.
How could we educate and make Malaysians drive courteously on the road?
cquayhl
18-11-2004, 07:36 AM
Do we know what the primary causes of road accidents are? Agree wtih you we need more studies. Ideally should know these things before taking action, otherwise just a waste of money. But...in real life, things can be different.
What are the obervation towers? What are they for?
Any news articles on the issue?
BTW, I'm assuming you mean measures. ;-)
Charis.
18-11-2004, 07:53 AM
for option 1, i think that will just create more corruption problem. now the police can get money in a "right" way without the need to curi-curi. (u know what i mean)
anyhow, those options are only short term solutions. long term solution still depends on education and the change of m'sian mentality. how to do it? good question, i dunno.
18-11-2004, 08:38 AM
A far as this topic is concerned...
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Thursday/Frontpage/20041118080931/Article/indexb_html
So, are we really busting out on corruption? ...or are the big fish sacrificing the small fish as scapegoats?
Ryosuke
16-04-2005, 09:05 AM
Install Camera tats the best way..... My father got caught for running down the red light in Aus lolz and they send the proof to ur house
petertok
16-04-2005, 02:48 PM
Stringent procedures in license application process.
The KEJARA system for road rules offenders seems like a solution , but its not being widely implemented , as i never heard or encounter a case where police officers deduct points... Mostly its summon or ..ahemm.. duit kopi.
And yea , busting corruption is still the major step to take.
gohweihan
16-04-2005, 07:43 PM
Sidetrack a little. It should be "Measures to curb..." and not "Measurements to curb...". At the very least we could start by getting the English right.
17-04-2005, 12:56 AM
Sidetrack a little. It should be "Measures to curb..." and not "Measurements to curb...". At the very least we could start by getting the English right.
run! grammEr police unleashed!
jackfook
17-05-2005, 08:42 PM
There are many reasons why road accident happens.I think the most important factor is the driver themselves.According to the observation of driving tutors,the driver willl become fierce and stress when they drive their vehicles especially in the city.The people in city consider time as precious.They drive according to their emotion.When the car in front is moving slow,they will speed their vehicle.It is easier to involve in road accident.
jbboy88
20-05-2005, 12:35 AM
Show the offenders pictures of accident victims..... "Do You Want To Be A Part of The Statistic?"
There are many reasons why road accident happens.I think the most important factor is the driver themselves.
yup, that's true, first of all, i dont really think most drivers even know how a vehicle works. the law of physics of a vehicle, etc. ppl nowdays would just go on doing things they saw on tvs, or listens to all those unqualified mechanics, salesmen, etc., installing or reconditioning their vehicles, even motorcycles. movies about racing like fast and furious or that initial-d(whatever) make matters worse. look at any youngsters cars on road nowdays. u'll notice this stupid fluorscent lights or spoilers on their vehicles. about motorcycles? u'll be amazed they'd go remove the rear brakes, i dont undserstand what's that for. and everytime when u've reached the junction, 9 out of 10 youngster motorcyclist will try to do a wheelie with their bikes. education and knowledge is important. it's just funny how u see these kids riding bikes when their feet cant even reach the brake and gear pedal, and yet, they're doing all those stunts on the road. attitude and ego plays a big part too. just hope more ppl would be more aware and know about the basics of how a vehicle works. here in malaysia cars from the 50s or 60s were still allowed on the road. and most the time, important signs or boards were obstructed by trees or other drivers parking anywehre they want (this happen at my area). the traffics and roads in malaysia is bizzare. you'll get everything, except considerate or tolerated drivers. bah i dont know. i myself am not an experienced driver, but i've seen enough of malaysian roads and drivers.
lolilo
20-05-2005, 07:37 AM
Install Camera tats the best way..... My father got caught for running down the red light in Aus lolz and they send the proof to ur house
Malaysia did that i think. I know there's a place where they install cameras underground (somewhere here in SP) , but i heard it was vandalised after awhile. Malaysians sungguh ganas.
Australia has camera everywhere. they are rich enough to do so and Aussie's don't go around smashing cameras.
1. On the spot fine of $300. If unable to pay, go to court the next working day.
This was a policy that was NEArly implemented, am i right?
On a sidenote, the police should bring credit card machines with them, for easy payment :)
20-05-2005, 07:54 AM
1. to have first class infrastructure
2. to have first class mentality.
jackfook
20-05-2005, 09:57 PM
First class of facilities,ninth class of mentality-this is more appropriate to the irresponsible drivers.They can drive beautiful and good condition of vehicles but the mentality of person who controls the vehicle is not similar as the best standard of vehicles.They are not qualified to drive although they have licenses if they modify their vehicles to improve the condition of racing and showing off.Vehicles are used to reduce our energy of walking for a long distance but not the tool for us to misuse.You can see some youths show their stupid action when they ride motorcycles by making noise.They can speed their motors in front of police station by thinking the road belongs to them.They do not know what is law or rules although they score high marks in the test as they disobey them.
First class of facilities,ninth class of mentality
i like this, well said.
some bighead businessmen with big cars sometimes're quite arrogant too on the roads.
jbboy88
25-05-2005, 09:03 PM
some bighead businessmen with big cars sometimes're quite arrogant too on the roads.
yupz... especially Singaporeans who were showing off their Lancer Evolutions, Brabus etc. ....... :twisted: