View Full Version : eBay Malaysia launched

30-11-2004, 02:56 AM
eBay has localised its famous auction site in Malaysia.

http://www.ebay.com.my

Since this thread is in the Malaysia today forum, let's discuss about how this would/would not impact how we Malaysians deal online.

Will credit card frauds be the topic of the day again? Will Malaysians trust each other in electronic money transfer? (in eBay Germany money is almost always paid to the seller before goods are sent)

Will Maybank2U make a fortune? (since they are charging RM12 per year on online banking)

Will eBay Malaysia just go bust? How good will eBay's fraud prevention policy be upheld?

Will eBay Malaysia be another Petaling Street? (fake wares and knock offs)

03-12-2004, 11:03 PM
Just wanna bump this up :D

Anyway, Maybank2U is charging RM12 per year. I don't know how to cancel it since there's no online way to do it. And I've still got my account with Maybank in Malaysia with Maybank2u (source: www.jeffooi.com)

And since I'm overseas, Maybank will be rich and laughing all the way to the....errr bank... :wink:

03-12-2004, 11:34 PM
Just wanna bump this up :D

Anyway, Maybank2U is charging RM12 per year. I don't know how to cancel it since there's no online way to do it. And I've still got my account with Maybank in Malaysia with Maybank2u (source: www.jeffooi.com)

And since I'm overseas, Maybank will be rich and laughing all the way to the....errr bank... :wink:

it doesnt affect you much. The ringgit is very weak against the euro. If I'm not mistaken, it will cost you merely EUR 2

14-12-2004, 09:09 PM
Read this:

http://star-techcentral.com/tech/story.asp?file=/2004/12/14/technology/9635384&sec=technology

very funny =)

14-12-2004, 11:11 PM
heh, i registered on ebay.com.my
just for fun,
nvr know what i mght wanna sell or buy in the future hehe :D

15-12-2004, 07:36 AM
Read this:

http://star-techcentral.com/tech/story.asp?file=/2004/12/14/technology/9635384&sec=technology

very funny =)

lol... ^_^
Do you guys trust online trading sites? I'm still very skeptical about buying things online.... :roll:

kennytang
15-12-2004, 08:52 AM
i did buy items on ebay.
but my 1st experience was a bad one. after i have paid, the seller suddenly becomes 'non-registered seller'.... i am like...... what the heck
its not cheap after all. i wanna buy digicam which cost USD 300+. but then luckily, the seller did send the item to me. hehe.
but that was a bad experience though

saser_sp
15-12-2004, 10:15 AM
what must i do to get the service
register with ebay ?? have a maybank account ??
heh ..really interested with online trading but currently have no credit card ...
btw what's the min spec to get cc :?:
and what's paypal ?

kennytang
15-12-2004, 10:19 AM
paypal is basically like a online paying system.
u need a bank account for that. i dunno bout msia system though.
fyi, those sellers in ebay prefer paypal.

15-12-2004, 10:44 AM
LOL
my paypal got suspended coz i forgot my password
they want me to send some sorta bukti that it's my acc
bank statements etc
ah, mls ah..so i guess, let it be dulu ler. mls nak deal w dat kinda stuff
LOL

saser_sp
15-12-2004, 11:59 PM
kerek ...please guide me how to make a paypal acc
you make it in m'sia rite ??

16-12-2004, 12:58 AM
Read this:

very funny =)

lol... ^_^
Do you guys trust online trading sites? I'm still very skeptical about buying things online.... :roll:

Never tried before while I was in Malaysia.

But in Germany, no mishaps so far. Very trustworthy people here. Of course you must be cautious. But then again... I'm amazed with the amount of trust here.

I can get almost everything online. And it is almost always cheaper because the sellers save on rent and other overheads. I even bought a stack of Post-it notes on eBay!!

16-12-2004, 05:20 AM
The best part is the bidding... Got a book that originally costs USD 70 for USD 28, plus shipping USD 4 = USD 32... That's cheap. And it's brand new...

16-12-2004, 06:30 AM
text book is cheaper in malaysia
that's good if they have text book on ebay.com.my
do they have international shipping?
which seller is that?

new semester is coming
text book is definitely on my priority list

16-12-2004, 06:31 AM
Personally, I do not like ebay that much. I'm an Amazon person. And believe me, they have really great deals too. I bought my chem textbook for less then USD40 plus tax n shipping. Guess how much was the book in the bookstores. USD130+. I bought my econs book for also less than USD40. Original price? More than USD100. Oh yeah. They are all brand new books. Untouched. Still in plastic seals. Perfect Condition. And the best part is, I don't need to log in often to check on the bids and make sure I win the bid. :D

16-12-2004, 04:40 PM
well, just get to paypal.com and register. That's all i did. Easy as pie. :D

i;'m trying to get a new digicam, been looking for one. and getting it on ebay is a good idea, coz i can get it like, cheap by amost 300 bucks. beat that :P

17-12-2004, 02:31 AM
is it a hassle to get a credit card in malaysia?

budakkerek, if you're thinking of buying a digicam from a u.s.-based seller, remember to take into account shipping cost coz it may be high.

general tip for ebay newbies: you can gauge a seller's reputation by looking at his/her feedback. if you see lots of negative feedback, stay away!

check out my ebay id: ernie630. hehe. been a while since i last sold sometihng though.

17-12-2004, 12:40 PM
it IS a hassle to get a credit card in Msia. I used to work part time for Citibank, and they told me, that you hv to make at least RM1500 a month before you can qualify for one. This doesnt include supp cards. And then, what kind of cards you hv, depends on what kinda jobs you are doing. Like if you are a lawyer, then you instantly qualify for their silver card prog, or sthing like dat *sudah lupa, sgt sori hehe* And if you dont, or you've just started working, you hv to, like, show your 3 months bank statements or shting like dat. And you gotta be working for 6 months before you can quaify or you hv to show a letter fr your employers saying you're in for the long run *that you'll be working for the company for quite a while and that you can pay your credit card*

So, as you can see, it IS quite a hassle to get a credit card. :lol:

hey, topdog
yep, i always look at the price, the i ocnvert them to RM and ask the fella selling bout the shipment, how much it costs etc.

Hmm, you guys remember Luke? he's kinda turned into this active one eBay heheh

saser_sp
17-12-2004, 05:54 PM
well, just get to paypal.com and register. That's all i did. Easy as pie

just registered ..but it said to verify ur acc u must have cc :?:
how do u verify ur paypal acc ??

17-12-2004, 11:18 PM
just registered ..but it said to verify ur acc u must have cc :?:
how do u verify ur paypal acc ??
you need a credit card/bank account with direct transfer for that, iirc.

18-12-2004, 02:02 AM
i tot they would send you an email n you hv to verify it thru there. isnt it so?

18-12-2004, 03:18 AM
to "confirm" your email address you would do what budakkerek said.
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_help-ext&eloc=201&loc=200&unique_id=119&source_page=_home&flow=

to "verify" your account you will need a bank account.
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_help-ext&eloc=0&loc=327&source_page=_home&flow=

my suggestion: check out paypal's help pages directly if you have any doubts....definitely better to get your info straight from the horse's mouth.

18-12-2004, 03:31 AM
yeay,
topdog to the rescue again! :D

21-12-2004, 11:56 AM
lol people are actually selling gmail invites...
http://www.jeffooi.com/archives/2004/12/gmail_auctioned.php

21-12-2004, 10:04 PM
ceh
i hv like a few thou of those invites. itu pun nak jual ke....
hmm...ppl these days *shake head*