View Full Version : Malaysian Student Societies Overseas

04-12-2004, 04:49 AM
Ever heard of MSSA? The Malaysian-Singaporean Students Association? Well, I joined this society in my uni, and realised that there arent many Malay students joining this society. In fact, they joined another society (called Malay Cultural Societies). All Malays will join that society. From what I heard from the previous leader of MSSA, they tried to combine the two society but the MCS just dont want to combine (because they think they are strong, and the fact that we have singaporeans in our society as well). But heck, do u think its a good reason?

I cant believe this kind of thinking is still in people's mindset. This society is a Malaysian-Singaporean Society, and the Malays dont want to join it because we have singaporeans in it? I dont know about other unis (but I believe its the same case...cos the president of mssa went for a meeting with all other presidents of mssa and mcs in the uk universities as well). MCS just prefer to be on their own. This is something like racist man. Now only very few malays joined mssa just because we have singaporeans in our society. And remember, most malays here are gov sponsored students...and yet they have this kind of thinking. Oh ya, the MCS even claimed that they will be the future ministers of Malaysia. 8O Cant believe that.

Chyi
04-12-2004, 06:55 AM
if these guys become the minister, I'll feel worry about the relationship between Msia n Spore.

04-12-2004, 09:00 AM
Oh ya, the MCS even claimed that they will be the future ministers of Malaysia. 8O Cant believe that.

They will be?. Hmmm. They probably been back to the future.

Or, invite them to ReCom and maybe we want to hear from them, as ministers of Malaysia, why we need to have love-hate relationship with Singaporeans.

BTW, panda, do you think it's 'racist', or 'xenophobic' ?

(maybe the Malaysia-S'pore rel. is like marah-marah sayang, right?).

theT
04-12-2004, 10:22 AM
I'm in no position to say anything about what's going on at your college. But since you addressed your issue here, I just think about my thought on this issue.

For me, it's a matter of choice. Just because they don't join the club doesn't mean they're sexist. There is 2 clubs there and it's up for you guys to choose either one, or both. Why limit your choice. And you said about combining the club, though I'm not there, I just don't think it's a good idea. I mean we should cherish diversity by respecting other culture. You guys don't have to be 'one' group to show that you cherish other culture/people. Like in my college, we have Asian Student Alliance, and in ASA, there are a few subgroup such as Philliphino Student Assoc, Vietnam Student Assoc, and bunch more. And even if you don't belong to any subgroup, you could just join ASA as a whole .By doing alliance, it helps these subgroup to expose more about their culture, at the same time, works together as 'one'.There's no malaysian assoc in my school since we don't have enough people.

And no, I don't join ASA, but I know some of the members there. Does that make me rascist? I don't think so! It was totally my choice not to join the group. I just see these ethnic and culture groups more as a place to socialize. I'm looking forward for something more than that.

05-12-2004, 03:24 AM
I think that structure of MSSA works in UK, and in US, most of the Malaysia Students Associations, typically named as MASA, involves all Malaysians, irrespective of races.

Perhaps because of those MSSA in UK have been formed before the separation of Malaysia and Singapore and hence this group seems to be continuing on.

However, I do not think there is a need of merging the associations around. Over here, say in Cornell, there are more than 1000 active associations on campus, and there are so many which are almost similar but provide slightly different perspectives.

For instance, there are about 250 international students organizations here. We have our Cornell Malaysian Assoc, for the Singaporeans, they have Singapore Students Assoc and Fellowship of Christian Singaporean. On the sideline, there are still many religious organization, from Muslim Educational & Cultural Association, Cornell Society of Islamic Spirituality, Buddhist Assoc, many Christian associations (from Korean Christian Assoc, to the one organized by Singaporeans) etc.

Within the South East Asia, there would be an umbrella body, called Organization of South East Asian Nations (OSEAN) which consists of associations from those member nations. Then there is one CAPSU for some Asia Pasific Student Union, and this is extended upon global space with International Students Programming Board.

While this all may seem fragmented, I don't think it is the main concern. Most of those groups would still organize joint event, where like the Muslim Educational & Cultural Association (MECA) and Jewish Student Union here always organize events together.

06-12-2004, 03:47 AM
masterof_none,
I dont know those who joined the MCS so I cant invite them to join RECOM, but that's what I heard from the comittee member and ex-president.. I just observed that there are very few Malays in MSSA....and they held separate events rather than to do it together with MSSA. I think it'll be great if both societies co-operate in organising events, rather than doing it separately. The situation now is....MCS doesnt want to co-operate with MSSA ( they think they are strong enough to do their own). So do you think they are racists? I dont know.. :roll:

theT, that's the situation in your college, but i dont think it's the same here. chenchow, like I said above, they rather do things on their own although MSSA offer their hand to do it together..... Why do they have to do the same event by their own (anyone heard of Nottingham Games? We have two of these event...on separate days..Soon, we are going to have two separate Malaysian Nights too...)

:?

09-12-2004, 08:18 AM
well, i think it is really is up to them if they dont want to join the MSSA. but still, it is kinda stupid, if they dont want to join the MSSA coz there are singaporeans in it. I mean, if not, it'll only be called the MSA right?

hmm..i guess, some ppl forgot to think when they should. or maybe they are just thinking short term. As for me, now is the time for us to make as many friends as possible, it is the time when all of us are creating our pathways through life. We nvr know where we mght end up, and knowing as many ppl as possible is never a bad thing. Networking should start fr young :D

ah well..my first rambling after so long a hiatus :p

09-12-2004, 11:20 AM
pandaboy, may be you can initiate to extend the olive leaf to them to get both groups to communicate. Perhaps a solution would be a formation of Malaysian Students Assoc.

09-12-2004, 02:01 PM
pandaboy, may be you can initiate to extend the olive leaf to them to get both groups to communicate. Perhaps a solution would be a formation of Malaysian Students Assoc.

Then what would happen to Singapore in this picture?

Maybe u can try to get them to understanding the objectives of both clubs and set some goals for the club... And even though they do not want to merge clubs, i guess it is alright... Just collaborate with them whenever u guys have big projects coming up. That would work as well, i guess...

09-12-2004, 02:07 PM
What I mean is that if the collaboration method does not work, then it would mean formation of 2 clubs, one Malaysian Students Assoc and one Singapore Students Assoc.

Yeah, another way would be like Elansar said, collaboration in major activities.

09-12-2004, 05:36 PM
i think why they hv the MSSA is coz they want this to be the start of a better relationship btw msia n singapore..but i guess some just dont see it dat way. My 2 cents

09-12-2004, 08:26 PM
i think it's due to differences in opinions...if they think one does not satisfy one's needs they might wanna start a new organisation?

and also probably MSSA's first setup since a long time ago, there were less M'sians & S'poreans, so it's a good idea to form 1 single club with more members which means you can get more sponsorship money/union allowance....

perhaps later on, when there were more M'sians & S'poreans, it gets too big to handle...so there was naturally a split

raizz
09-12-2004, 09:43 PM
I pretty much agree with the T and chen chow's opinion. I mean the whole idea of setting up an association in an academic environment is to flourish diversity and cooperation among members within the club and also externally. But, those two are totally different, in the sense that cooperation within the club is a must but external cooperation is a choice. It's not a matter of whether they are able to do it on their own or not, but its a matter of whether they need or they want external help.

There are so many Malaysian students in the UK right now, as a Malay myself I would definitely want to portray my culture to other people. Some people feel that MSSA isn't enough and thats why they have MCS. GOing back to what chen chow said, in Cornell itself there are separate groups which fall within the same category. For example, the Cornell Society for ISlamic Spirituality and the Muslim Educational and Cultural Association. Although they are both an Islamic association, a lot of their events are different thats because each club has its own objective and reason. So I would say its totally fine if they choose to have MCS and be separated from MSSA as long as they have a cear cut objectives.

But I would also like to comment on the fact that they are holding the same event which I think it's totally ridiculuos. I mean if you're gonna have the same event, why not join together and have a massive celebration. See this is the kind of problem that Malaysians in general have today. The fact that, its not only Malay but anyone who lives within the environment. They dont sense the idea of cooperating with one another, rather they would like to see the other person fall. I mean look at our own political party in Malaysia....dont want to be pointing fingers here'. But yeah, its a great idea to diversify and have separate organization if u thing u have the man power and objectives are clear. But it's a clear mistake when u try to do the same stuff that the other organization is doing, because it clearly shows that ur trying to separate people from the same background.

10-12-2004, 02:16 AM
pandaboy:

From what I heard from the previous leader of MSSA, they tried to combine the two society but the MCS just dont want to combine (because they think they are strong, and the fact that we have singaporeans in our society as well). But heck, do u think its a good reason?

I cant believe this kind of thinking is still in people's mindset. This society is a Malaysian-Singaporean Society, and the Malays dont want to join it because we have singaporeans in it?

owh,so u r studying at uni of bristol urgh,adjacent to bath uni rite?one of my best fren is studying there.

from him,i have heard about malaysian society there.

u know what,just becoz u r a malaysian,it doesnt mean u have to join malaysian society at ur uni.it's ur personal choice.any club that is.

i dont find the justification of joining any club be there Malaysian/muslim/christian/hindu/malay/indian/chinese/asians societies just becoz u belong to that group. if u choose not to join,it's ur choice. no one deserve targetting u for that.

WILL U JOIN ANYTHING THAT DONT MAKE U HAPPY,MAKE U GROW OR AT LEAST MAKE UR DAY?

this is the crux here.if the malays in ur uni choose not to join the malaysian-singaporeans society,it should be their personal choices. society is built to unite ppl ,when ppl dont find any fun in that and opt not to join,it's their opinions and choices.lamenting them on that sound weird.

perhaps,there's bazillion societies in ur uni that the malays join,perhaps rescue childhood society,men stopping rape society and blah blah blah.and in usa for an example,there's tonnes of volunteer jobs that one can have fun with rather than just makan-makan and kept bitching about other m'sians.

if u ask me,i wont join both societies in ur uni,not becoz i am an anti-social recluse .i'll keep in touch with m'sians except IMHO, i'll grow faster when i work hard saving some kids life in other societies... and that's a greater way of promoting ur nation and race.

"owh so u r from where?malaysia?izit near phillipines,coz u know,u guys loke like filipinos. do kids there have enough education and food".

"of cos yes,kids in my country have great life."

see,that's another way of being proud to be a malaysian.

10-12-2004, 06:12 AM
Wow..thanks for all the replies.

Okie..first of all....I joined the Malaysian Society..have to make myself feel like home..lol. Also joined the Chinese Society not because I'm Chinese, just because if I join Chinese Soc, I can join Lion Dance Soc for free... :lol: I didnt go for the events by Chinese Soc though..mainly they go pubbing and clubbing and stuffs.. I joined MSSA because they will have events like Malaysian dinner, Nott Games..no clubbing or pubbing.. :wink: I'll try to join more soc next year I guess, but what I hate is most of other socs concentrate on clubbing and pubbing and drinking.....that's all. Hmmm....

Okie...actually combining both MCS and MSSA is one option, they dont have to combine, because like you guys said...they exist for many reasons (maybe cos there were little Mas and Spore students last time...so MSSA created, then MSC or bla bla bla). I agree that one can choose either one and not both. But the thing is, why they dont want to co-organised an event with MSSA. That's one bad thing. From what I can see, in the MSSA organised Nott Games, mostly the players are Chinese, and I believe MCS organised Nott Games (I didnt go anyway) were mostly Malays.

I dont really know what happens, you guys have good points as well. Just that I couldnt accept what the MCS people said..

"we are the future ministers"...

Duh..

And not willing to co-operate with MSSA just because there are Singaporeans in MSSA... I cant believe students studying here (sponsored students! ) think in such a way.

Kinda sleepy..sorry if my post doesnt make sense... Did my lab report up to 2am this morning...lol Pardon me!

10-12-2004, 06:32 AM
if u ask me,i wont join both societies in ur uni,not becoz i am an anti-social recluse .i'll keep in touch with m'sians except IMHO, i'll grow faster when i work hard saving some kids life in other societies... and that's a greater way of promoting ur nation and race.

Well, if u are an anti-social hermit, then it's ok if u dun want to join any clubs. But we are talking about ppl who do have problems in collaborating with other nations... If your case is true (u dun want to join any societies because u are anti-social), then those who do not want to collaborate in events with MSSA are anti-'Malaysia-Singapore peaceful relationship'?

10-12-2004, 08:15 AM
pandaboy, may be you can try and attend events organized by MCS, and encourage some of your friends to attend as well. It would need to start small somewhere, and gradually build up.

I would say that we need to step behind and not always think from the view point of MSSA that MCS does not want to join, because there are Singaporeans. Are you sure this is the response? Do you hear this response from MCS members or committee members? Do you talk to MCS President about this issue? Do MSSA President and committee take steps to initiate discussion with MCS?

A lot of these issues are there because people do not engage one another. Someone needs to start the interaction somewhere. May be you can lead it~!

15-12-2004, 07:44 AM
pandaboy, may be you can try and attend events organized by MCS, and encourage some of your friends to attend as well. It would need to start small somewhere, and gradually build up.

I would say that we need to step behind and not always think from the view point of MSSA that MCS does not want to join, because there are Singaporeans. Are you sure this is the response? Do you hear this response from MCS members or committee members? Do you talk to MCS President about this issue? Do MSSA President and committee take steps to initiate discussion with MCS?

A lot of these issues are there because people do not engage one another. Someone needs to start the interaction somewhere. May be you can lead it~!

Well, this is what I heard directly from the MSSA expresident... They did attend some sort of "presidents" meeting...and that's what the MCS presidents said (as I wrote in posts before). They cant do anything if MCS doesnt want to collaborate... I didnt attend MCS activities because it's basically almost the same with MSSA I guess(and I didnt join the soc cos I thought its the same thing as MSSA as well). I dont really bother by whether the clubs exists as separate entities, just that I'm bothered by what I heard about MCS. Well, I dont know how true it is either...Just dont like to see racial segregrations here.. :(

sanghanuman
15-12-2004, 10:20 AM
Regarding the "We are the future ministers" thingy, I think that this is an issue that most of us (educated, young individuals) do not realize is happening to us, which is the consumption of the idea of "elitism".

Elitism is a "consciousness of being or belonging to an elite" group (M-W Dictionary). It does not have a particularly negative or positive connotations to it. It can be portrayed by having some sort of acknowledgement about [being educated, or rich, or of a higher social class than others] that is announced either publicly, or among the members of the elite group. In your case, it is more of the latter situation. If elitism is exposed to other people that do not belong to the group, it can be seen as an arrogance. However, if it is discussed among the members of the group, it can be seen as a motivation.

It is uneasy to hear somebody talk about themselves in such way, especially when these individuals brag exagerrately about their eliteness (Obviously, being educated does not give them the assurance to become ministers). In dealing with elitism, we have to understand it, and see beyond what is on the surface (snobbish braggers). Everything has to be taken into account: Who's the audience? In what context did the phrase was uttered? What might be the intention of the person saying it? How would it look if you look at it in another way?

About their unwillingness to join MSSA, I could not agree more with those of you who respect the rights of these people to express themselves in any way they deemed agreable.

In the Malaysian Students Association of my university, we do have this problem as well. At first, it was mostly the Chinese that did not seem to have interests in our activities. Do we take this as racism against the Malays? No. It was simply that they did not find our activities fun enough to join. They could not relate to our activities, or maybe because they didn't know enough about the activities in the first place. What can we do about it? Well, the next time we do our activities, we make sure we reach everybody. We were crazy advertising our events and most importantly, talk to them. After that, the turn out started to improve.

There are so much we can do to solve conflicts rather than just let it go by being simplistic in analyzing the situation such as "yeah, that's totally racist, man.." or "they hate singaporeans"... Even if we want to make assumptions, challenge them by reasoning ourselves. Why do say that about these people? If it is true that they dont fancy the Singaporeans, why? Observe your community and look at how they interact with each other. Maybe there lies answers to your questions.