View Full Version : Test your typing skills!

05-12-2004, 01:01 PM
Another site to waste time on...

Link: Test your typing skills! (http://typera.tk/)

05-12-2004, 01:42 PM
My first attempt today. Haven't been to that site for a long time. Thanks topdog for your sharing. Hope that ReComers could take time off from studying and try it. Post your outcome here.

That's mine. Not too good.

Your score: 352 keys per minute ~ 70 words per minute
Language/mode: en
Ranking: That was fast - you can still improve, though.
Comparison: 27% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 73% have a lower or equal result.

05-12-2004, 02:03 PM
high score is almost 800 keys/min! crazy bus turd.

my high score so far is 335 keys/minute (67 words/min). fat fingers.:-/

kucingbiru
05-12-2004, 02:20 PM
70wpm. aah. that's my first attempt though. i wanna try again.

05-12-2004, 02:34 PM
hmmm...
i need to chat more...
mine only 60 wpm... i need a new keyboard... my laptop's keyboard is too small...

kucingbiru
05-12-2004, 02:47 PM
get Mavis Beacon Typing Tutor. it's really good.

kucingbiru
05-12-2004, 02:50 PM
72. yeah, i'm going after 75 now.

05-12-2004, 03:21 PM
crap. Only managed 191 kpm. Got 245 kpm on the third try.

Is the mean around 300?

p/s - i wonder how ppl will do on jap and chinese

05-12-2004, 08:17 PM
8) I got 400 over KPM, but I couldn't obtain the statistic for Words Per Minute.. Some sort of server error there.. So what is 400 KPM equivalent to? I guess it's between 70 and 80. Hmm.. I thought mine was 90 before trying this test.

05-12-2004, 10:01 PM
Game over
Your score: 296 keys per minute ~ 59 words per minute
Ranking: You've got potential.
Comparison: 41% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 59% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: I can assure you on the highest authority that data processing is a fad and won't last out the year. Comiingled in an endless Markov chain! Everyone is in the best seat. I consider that cooking. For men use, if they have an evil turn, to write it in marble: and whoso doth us a good turn we write it in dust. Phone call for chucky-pooh He who foresees calamities suffers them twice over. London to Lisbon and thence by dispatch ot our headquaters. This is Betty Frenel. If your life was a horse, you'd like to shoot it. A form of government abroad. Everything you've learned in school as obvious becomes less and less obvious as you begi

Mistakes: Comiingled(Commingled), chucky-pooh(chucky-pooh.), ot(to), headquaters.(headquarters.), like(have)

Well done!

siew
05-12-2004, 10:53 PM
Your score: 333 keys per minute ~ 66 words per minute
Comparison: 31% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 69% have a lower or equal result.

06-12-2004, 02:54 AM
youngyew, 400 is 80wpm, basically they divide by 5. Guess you lead all of us here~!

06-12-2004, 03:01 AM
Game over
Your score: 303 keys per minute ~ 60 words per minute
Comparison: 39% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 61% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: If you are for yourself, then what are you? the profession of book writing makes horce racing seem like a solid, stable business. if a program is useful it will have to be changed I said, Well, what do you need? See. these two penguins walked into a bar, which was really stupid, 'cause the seond one should have seen it. you may apply for more disk space at any time. And that's not the only thing. Get a can of shaving cream, throw it in a freeer for about a week. Forsan et haec olim meminiesse juvabit. Let her maunder and mumble. Lean upon the western wind, And know you are alone.A A studen in hopes of understanding the Lamda-nature, came to Greenblatt Except its ending. Microwave oven? Let me put it this

Mistakes: the(The), horce(horse), if(If), useful(useful,), changed(changed.), See.(See,), seond(second), you(You), freeer(freezer), meminiesse(meminisse), alone.A(alone.), studen(student,), Lamda-nature,(Lambda-nature,), Greenblatt(Greenblatt.)

Well done!

Arrggh! This is addictive! :wink:

Try again~:

Game over
Your score: 362 keys per minute ~ 72 words per minute
Comparison: 25% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 75% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: Linus: I guess it's wrong always to be worrying about tomorrow. Earl has set a new record. Well, this generation dropped it. She liked him; he was a man of many qualities, even if most of them were bad. If you have nothing to do, don't do it here. The trouble with being punctual is that people think you have nothing more important to do. Never trust an operating system. It is better never to be been born. I tell them the truth and thye never believe me. I'll stay out of animals' way if they'll stay out of mine. A German, a Pole and a Czech left camp for a hike through the woods. Steer clear of incorrect forms of verbs that have snuck in the language. Location above or across a specified position. I ask nothing but sincerity. W

Mistakes: be(have), thye(they)

Well done!

06-12-2004, 03:17 AM
Your score: 301 keys per minute ~ 60 words per minute
Comparison: 40% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 60% have a lower or equal result.

06-12-2004, 03:47 AM
Your score: 312 keys per minute ~ 62 words per minute
Comparison: 37% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 63% have a lower or equal result.

I'm going to kill the person who got me started with this!

06-12-2004, 05:34 AM
I'm going to kill the person who got me started with this!
wait let me put on my armor first.:D

06-12-2004, 05:46 AM
Here is it, my first and only try today. (getting quite sleepy)

Your score: 407 keys per minute ~ 81 words per minute
Comparison: 16% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 84% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: Besides, people care much more about hte signature anyway. Belongs more to the problem set than the solution set. Trty a single person for a change. That is, did not God promote environments, then intimidate these Natures by provoking the existenced of flesh, toy men and women, such as we we all? The trick is to make one with none, The radiation falling on Heaven will heat it to the point where the heat lost by radiation is just equal to the heat received by radiation, I. To err is human;p to forgive is simply not our policy. There is a fly on you nose. Biochemists think they're chemists. We call it a two-by-four. Cleaning your house whil eyour kids are still growing is like shoveling the walk before it stops snowing. Each of these techniques of language extension should be used in its proper place. That does not compute. Drinking is not a spectator sport.

Mistakes: hte(the), Trty(Try), existenced(existence), we(are), none,(none.), I.(i.), human;p(human;), you(your), whil(while), eyour(your)

Made a lot of mistakes though... Hope can improve on it next time. *Yawning*

06-12-2004, 06:01 AM
Current Standing:-

1. youngyew : 407 (keys per minute)
2. pandaboy: 362
3. kucingbiru: 360
4. chenchow: 352
5. topdog : 335
6. siew: 333
7. gal_flower : 312
8. decentmerson: 300
9. _earth: 245

Please update this standing, as you beat any of your personal score, or it is your first try.

06-12-2004, 06:29 AM
new personal best: 362 kpm

06-12-2004, 07:58 AM
new personal best : 325 kpm

06-12-2004, 08:18 AM
join the list Recom at that site!!! :D

06-12-2004, 04:53 PM
Today's :

Game over

Your score: 367 keys per minute ~ 73 words per minute
Comparison: 24% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 76% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: A computer owner who can read the manual. All syllogisms have three parts, therfore this is not a syllogism. No one can feel as helpless as the owner of a sick goldfish. Here lies a man with sundry flaws. Weil es uns dunkt er sei verreckt. I do believe that is a record. And so i goes that one Indian couple made love on a buffalo hide. Is this a machine? After huis legs had been broken in an accidnt, Mr. Your own mileage may vary. H Just thought of something funny. This will. Of course, entail teaching Yiddish to all your friends, business associates the people at the supermarket, and so on, but that't jst the point. To love is good, love being difficult. Teach me to fish and I will eat forever. A computer owner who can reaed the manual. I'm still waiting for the advent of the computer science groupie.

Mistakes: therfore(therefore), flaws.(flaws), i(it), huis(his), accidnt,(accident,), H(I), Just(just), will.(will,), Of(of), associates(associates,), that't(that's), jst(just), reaed(read)

06-12-2004, 07:17 PM
Your score: 416 keys per minute ~ 83 words per minute
Comparison: 15% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 85% have a lower or equal result.

Slight improve. A tip here: soak your hand in warm water to help your muscles move faster. :lol:

Your score: 426 keys per minute ~ 85 words per minute
Comparison: 13% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 87% have a lower or equal result.

And with little luck (from the help of "easier" words), and also less mistakes, I beat 90 wpm! Yippie...

Your score: 464 keys per minute ~ 92 words per minute
Ranking: Very fast.
Comparison: 9% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 91% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: Another such victory over the Romans, and we are undone. A program, no matter how complex, should act as a single unit. My face is new, my license is expired, and I'm under a doctor's care! If it ain't broke, fix it. Tact is the ability to tell a ma he has an open mind when he has a hole in his head. I used to get high on life but lately I've built up a resistance. I am changing my name to Chrysler, I am heading for that great receiving line. If you are given a take-home exam, you will forget where you live. Celestial navigation is based on the premise that the EArth is the center of the universe. It could be worse, but it'll take time. In the long run, every program becomes rococo, and then rubble. Tallulah Bankhead barged down the Nile last night as Cleopatra and sank. Never draw what you can copy. It's hard to keep your shirt on when you're getting something off your chest. I always have fun because I'm out of my mind! I hi

Mistakes: ma(man), EArth(Earth)

06-12-2004, 07:54 PM
Anyway, let's have some constructive comment about "typing". I started learning touch typing about 3 years ago, and has been practising since. A good touch typing program (which doesn't prompt you to type gibberish words) is a must to pick up our basics, IMHO, and once you master the whole keyboard without looking at it, the best practise would be online-chatting and in-school assignments.

BTW, I am still using qwerty keyboard, which, according to many sources, were designed back in 19th century to make it as hard as possible to type fast. Hmm.. there is in fact a better layout called DVORAK keyboard, named after its designer, and it actually improves typing speed a lot, saves a lot of "finger travelling distance" and also reduces Repetitive Strain Injury. Personally I have never had the expeirence of RSI, possibly that's because my body still can bear my daily torment on it. Anyone here faces RSI or "Nintendo Thumb"?

Hmm. Back to DVORAK keyboard. Now I just started learning it. (My tests were still done with qwerty.) Certainly it's hard after having grown accustomed to the qwerty for such a long time. But it's my wishful thinking that if it works out, possibly we can all beat 100 wpm.

Barbara Blackburn, the World's Fastest Typist

Typing, Fastest. Mrs. Barbara Blackburn of Salem, Oregon can maintain 150 wpm for 50 min (37,500 key strokes) and attains a speed of 170 wpm using the Dvorak Simplified Keyboard (DSK) system. Her top speed was recorded at 212 wpm.

07-12-2004, 12:13 AM
I got 377 already.

Your score: 377 keys per minute ~ 75 words per minute
Comparison: 22% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 78% have a lower or equal result.

Current standing (Incorporate both the high scores of list "Recom" in typera, as well as here. Please join the Recom list, and we can all just look at the list there.
1. youngyew : 464 (keys per minute)
2. chenchow: 377
3. pandaboy: 367
4. kucingbiru: 362
4. topdog : 362
7. decentmerson: 325
8. gal_flower : 312
9. _earth: 269
10. cedrix: 260

07-12-2004, 12:20 AM
err how do i join the recom list in typera? anyway here's an updated rankings...
1. youngyew : 464 (keys per minute)
2. chenchow: 377
3. topdog 370
4. pandaboy: 367
5. kucingbiru: 362
7. decentmerson: 325
8. gal_flower : 312
9. _earth: 269
10. cedrix: 260

i'm "botak" in typera.

07-12-2004, 12:27 AM
To join, go to MyTyperA, and then scroll down, go to Join List, and for both the Keyword and something else, both type "Recom" and "Recom". Apparently there is another "recom" list there, but "Recom" now has 7 people there, whereas the other one only has 1 - kucingbiru and kucingbiru is in "Recom" as well. It is case sensitive.

leng_cyl
07-12-2004, 12:32 AM
Game over
Your score: 240 keys per minute ~ 48 words per minute
Ranking: Not bad!
Comparison: 58% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 42% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: Ain't nothin' an old man can do for me but bring me a message from a young man. Expect to see Yip elude all pursuers and make it into the endzone fize or six times, his average for a game. A: The car salesman can prbably drive! The center fielder was all set to catch the ball, but at the last minute his eyes were blound by the sun and he dropped it. I started to speak, but she raise an arm and spoke with a quite and peace I will never forget. Quickly turn off the computer and be sure to tell your mom! I thj

Mistakes: fize(five), prbably(probably), raise(raised), quite(quiet), I(If), thj(thi)

this is my score...haiz..until today, i just know that i am as that fast on typing as i thought i was, looks like i have to practise more
and this result i post not the first attempt of mine...lolz ... T_T

07-12-2004, 12:41 AM
Your score: 322 keys per minute ~ 64 words per minute
Comparison: 34% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 66% have a lower or equal result.

07-12-2004, 12:58 AM
Game over
Your score: 372 keys per minute ~ 74 words per minute
Comparison: 23% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 77% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: Where would he eat? Things ewual to nothing else are equal to each other. Once your reputation's done You can live a life of fun. Y'know, if I were you, I wouldn't have done that! A reader reports tthat the Army calles them vertically deplyed anti- personnel devices. The phenomena which occurs as brain cells become weak and sick, and impair the brain's performance. I recommend pleasant. I recommend pleasant. If Jesus FChrist came back today, He and I would get into our bown corduroys and go to the nearest jean store and overturn the racks of blue denim. If you call a wee thing with chubby cheeks and pink hair ribbons a woman, you will probably not get into trouble, and if you do, you will be able to ahndile it ebcause she will be under thress feet tall. The movers came to crate the frame; It wei

Mistakes: ewual(equal), tthat(that), calles(calls), deplyed(deployed), FChrist(Christ), bown(brown), ahndile(handle), ebcause(because), thress(three)

Just came back from uni and tried again..lol :lol:

Try again!!!!!

Game over
Your score: 395 keys per minute ~ 79 words per minute
Comparison: 18% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 82% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: And you were present when the picture was taken, right? These virtues awakened Confidence and enabled you to handle Bigger Propositions. Being against torture ought to be sort of a bipartisan thing. The superfluous is very necessary. Only if every single citizen feels duty bound to do his share in this degfence are the constitutional rights secure. I get my exercise acting as pallbearer to my friends who exercise. TOO BAD YOU CAN"T BUY a voodoo globe so that you could make the earth spin real fast and freak everybody out. When I was crossing the broder into Canada, they asked if I had any firearms with me. You just think they think. I'll call you, we;'ll talk and I'll ask you out to dinner where I'll probably spend more than I can afford in a feeble attempt to impress you. Don't string too many prepositional

Mistakes: degfence(defense), CAN"T(CAN'T), broder(border), we;'ll(we'll)

I want to get over 400!!!! :twisted:

07-12-2004, 05:44 AM
crap! i'm way down there!

maybe I've been typing with the wrong fingers on the wrong keys after all!

here is a site about typing. http://typingsoft.com/typing.htm

after all this year, positioned my fingers wrongly!

08-12-2004, 05:10 AM
I never learn typing at all. I chat a lot in internet and that's how I learn to type fast! Lol...I dont even have positioning on keyboard...Somehow my fingers will go the that particular alphabets that I wante to type! How weird...

08-12-2004, 11:18 AM
338 -> 334 -> 332 (panic! Please, dun let it go down again) -> 355 :D

Then I quit. Satisfied =)

08-12-2004, 02:06 PM
I managed to hit 388. A personal best, although still 7 behind pandaboy, and far behind YoungYew.

YoungYew, do you know that you are ranked 45 this month among all the users of typera, basically for the past 8 days from Dec 1st. That's awesome.

08-12-2004, 10:12 PM
YoungYew, do you know that you are ranked 45 this month among all the users of typera, basically for the past 8 days from Dec 1st. That's awesome.

Thank you for your compliment... Just knew that from you. But nothing much really, because I think that's already the best I can hit. Can't do any better, and keep imagining how those people getting 600 or 700 move their fingers so lightening-fast.. :roll:

I guess one of the tips that I got form online typing lessons and also minesweeper websites is very applicable: the more you try to type faster, the worse your fingers move. So try to relax, and try not to type "consciously";just sit back, try not to focus too much, and let the "muscle memory" does its best. The minesweeper website even advised us to talk to others while playing. 8)

09-12-2004, 05:33 AM
I like this sentence:

If red tapes can be made nutritional, there would be enough food to feed the world.

Or something of that sort.

SpRInG
09-12-2004, 06:13 AM
argh, i can't get my results, for some reason, after i type, the site doesn't bring me to a page where i can view my results. Solutions anybody?

09-12-2004, 06:26 AM
Your score: 340 keys per minute ~ 68 words per minute
Comparison: 30% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 70% have a lower or equal result.

My progress is so slow.........

09-12-2004, 12:17 PM
Your score: 356 keys per minute ~ 71 words per minute
Comparison: 26% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 74% have a lower or equal result.

09-12-2004, 01:18 PM
Reached 396...still 4 more from the elusive 400..

09-12-2004, 02:39 PM
2nd ReComer to break 400 keys per minute. I had 5 words typo...sigh.

Your score: 401 keys per minute ~ 80 words per minute
Comparison: 17% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 83% have a lower or equal result.

SpRInG
09-12-2004, 02:53 PM
actually i already reach there.... just that i couldn't prove it... can i paste the screenshot ??? hehehe

09-12-2004, 03:14 PM
great line: the only person who got his work done by friday was robinson crusoe.

10-12-2004, 06:48 AM
great line: the only person who got his work done by friday was robinson crusoe.

Erm...what's the meaning?

10-12-2004, 06:49 AM

Yeah... garu-garu kepala... That's so figurative...

10-12-2004, 09:42 AM

Go read Robinson Crusoe. Or google the line, I'm pretty sure you'll get the meaning.

10-12-2004, 12:12 PM
Uhmm... this may sound silly... How do we check our best personal score?

10-12-2004, 12:35 PM
There are two ways at least:-

1. Go to Highscores and look for ReCom category. Your score is there.

2. Go to MyTyperA, and then click that your score be visible and then go to ReCom list in typerA and click at your name.

10-12-2004, 12:48 PM
or log in, search for yourself and click on your name, if you haven't joined the recom list.

10-12-2004, 01:07 PM
Wah lao... Youngyew, you're chang yang issit? Long time no see, buddy! Haha! :D

11-12-2004, 05:07 AM
Thanks topdog for getting me addicted... while I am having finals... But guess it is really a good practice. I have made a mission to try to achieve a personal best once a day.

Today had a good one. my highest is 443 keys per minute. 88 words per minute. Pretty happy with it and currently can do around 400-420 consistently. it is really as the saying goes, "Practice makes perfect". I was doing an average of 350 last week and I manage to pull that up quite a bit.

Your score: 443 keys per minute ~ 88 words per minute
Comparison: 11% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 89% have a lower or equal result.

I can see that many other ReComers have gotten their personal best almost once per day too~!

SpRInG
11-12-2004, 08:35 AM
Your score: 447 keys per minute ~ 89 words per minute
Comparison: 11% of registered TyperA users using this
language have typed a better result; 89% have a lower or
equal result.

11-12-2004, 08:56 AM
booyah! i've finally joined the 400 club. 404 kpm.
still a long ways from some of you crazy typists though.

kucingbiru
11-12-2004, 02:45 PM
wow u guys are really addicted. u know what, sometimes i hate the text that they make us type. it's too, hmmm, feministic sometimes.

11-12-2004, 02:57 PM
funny coz i feel exactly the opposite as you. i get the impression that the authors tried to be as politically incorrect as possible, including inserting a number of typical sexist jokes (e.g. women make bad programmers).

wawa
11-12-2004, 04:26 PM
Pardon me,but I don't understand the addiction to speed up typing. :) Isn't a reasonable speed enough?

Plus, it reminds me of the programmes I had to use to learn typing and ain't too eager to relive the memories. :)

mauntech
12-12-2004, 01:30 AM
try this game..The Typing Of The Dead from Sega

12-12-2004, 03:11 AM
try this game..The Typing Of The Dead from Sega

i've played that game quite some time ago...

just like The House of the Dead.... but instead... there are two agents with a keyboad hanging in front of them.... and there are words, or phrases printed in front of every monster which appear.... they will start to walk towards you... and u are suppose to type the words on them before they hurt you.. quite a lame game... but those words are really funny and sarcastic...

12-12-2004, 08:38 AM
Wah lao... Youngyew, you're chang yang issit? Long time no see, buddy! Haha!

Yeah, Chang Yang here... Feel so good that you are active in ReCom too! :D Feel free to contact me, all my profiles (ICQ, MSN etc) are in ReCom.

12-12-2004, 09:45 AM
another gem: "it may seem funny now, that this country was founded as a protest against taxation." or something like that.

12-12-2004, 02:52 PM
one more: "i went on a diet for two weeks, and all i lost were two weeks."

SpRInG
12-12-2004, 03:40 PM
dat's a good one, topdog

13-12-2004, 06:13 AM
Deja Moo: The feeling that you've heard this bull before. :wink:

13-12-2004, 01:24 PM

Friday is the guys Robinson Crusoe saved, right? and he later on became his sorta helper. it's been a while since i last read Robinson Crusoe.

Hmm..this typing thing, is really addictive hohoho :lol:

13-12-2004, 01:39 PM
Friday is the guys Robinson Crusoe saved, right? and he later on became his sorta helper. it's been a while since i last read Robinson Crusoe.

Hmm..this typing thing, is really addictive hohoho :lol:

:idea:

Thanks!

13-12-2004, 01:44 PM
the sentence i got just now
"if onlt Ctrl + Z works in real life"

haha..i wish

Man, i got like 40 words per minute, and that's like bad. coz all these while i thought i've been typing fast enough. typerA just crushed my small bubble of perasannes heheh

13-12-2004, 01:48 PM
LOL! practice makes perfect. How i wish i can get into the 400 kpm group... 9 more keys to go!

Actually, the part about warming ur fingers work. I came back from hot shower and started playing a few rounds and voila! There's a huge improvement (and not by 5 - 10 kpm, but by 20 - 30 kpm). Try it!

13-12-2004, 01:51 PM
i find that if i play often enough (like MANY times a day lol), every once in a while i will get an easy piece. an easy piece for me is one without any numbers. i just got an easy piece and managed to improve on my personal best which now stands at 413 kpm. that's still 30 kpm off the next best recommer though. haha i sound like a freak.

13-12-2004, 01:53 PM
i find that if i play often enough (like MANY times a day lol), every once in a while i will get an easy piece. an easy piece for me is one without any numbers. i just got an easy piece and managed to improve on my personal best which now stands at 413 kpm. that's still 30 kpm off the next best recommer though. haha i sound like a freak.

have we become typing nerds?

13-12-2004, 01:56 PM
i think so,
and thanks to topdog
LOL

hey topdog, where's your sis studying now? she done w tesl?

13-12-2004, 01:56 PM
i still haven't made myself going and type once today..... but i guess the practice helps in a way, although getting a relatively easier ones would help increase the speed. I can see that my average score going high up compared to before.

Just wondering whether any of you guys are facing consistency problem like me? I often are able to start well, usually first 30 seconds around 480-500, and then next 30 seconds would drop to 450-480, and then it would gradually drop to 400-420 by the two minutes are up, which is currently my average. So, I am just wondering whether if i type for 5 minutes straight, what's my average? 300? 350?

13-12-2004, 02:00 PM
hey topdog, where's your sis studying now? she done w tesl?
she's still in utm. not done yet.

13-12-2004, 02:06 PM
i still haven't made myself going and type once today..... but i guess the practice helps in a way, although getting a relatively easier ones would help increase the speed. I can see that my average score going high up compared to before.

Just wondering whether any of you guys are facing consistency problem like me? I often are able to start well, usually first 30 seconds around 480-500, and then next 30 seconds would drop to 450-480, and then it would gradually drop to 400-420 by the two minutes are up, which is currently my average. So, I am just wondering whether if i type for 5 minutes straight, what's my average? 300? 350?

i have the same problem.. my first 30 seconds will be at the speed of 400 and above... then, after the 30 seconds mark, my speed tends to go down to about 350... then, the next 30 seconds, will be around 300... and right before the end.... it tends to shoot up to 350 and that's about it...

i've tried to type long passages... for fun... i just type one page of a certain book.... and found out that my speed is just slightly above 300kpm(60wpm)...
(use the word count at the microsoft word to count lar... of coz)

13-12-2004, 02:08 PM

THat happens to me as well... After the first minute, more and more typos are made... and urgh! got to think where to place my fingers after that... and especially when u encounter figures, capital letters and weird symbols, HMMF!

13-12-2004, 05:44 PM
hmm..do i detect some typisteria here? are we becoming frutstrated due to our incapability to type faster?
hmm..

13-12-2004, 10:26 PM
hmm..do i detect some typisteria here? are we becoming frutstrated due to our incapability to type faster?
hmm..

better not... the more frustrated u become, the more typo u will commit....

try to relax.. and just let ur "muscle memory" do the work... all u need to do is just sit back (and close ur eyes... just joking), and look at the screen and just type.... dun be tense... relax... u'll be amazed that by relaxing, u can actually type better....

kevinkhoo1986
14-12-2004, 04:24 AM
Gosh... my hand is so tired......... Here is the final result:
Your score: 316 keys per minute ~ 63 words per minute
Comparison: 36% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 64% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: They shrink from powders and from paints. May your RAMS be fruitful and multiply. Norm: Yeah, yeah, yeah. Nothing increases your golf score like withnesses. Repaper the bedroom wall. So we decided to try and breed a three-legged chicken tso each of us could have a drumstick. Economists are still trying to figure out why the girls with the least principle draw the most interest. As he waited for the pitch, he heard the voice calling, Hey Dave! First rule of public speaking. Most people want either less corruption or more of a chance to participate in it. A woman's veat protection is a little money of her own. She sprang to her feet with a wild revel y

Mistakes: withnesses.(witnesses.), tso(so), veat(best), revel(rebel)

06-03-2005, 11:32 AM
Anyone still constantly do this typing game?

sno
06-03-2005, 02:10 PM
*gulp

Your score: 159 keys per minute ~ 31 words per minute
Your score: 173 keys per minute ~ 34 words per minute
Your score: 225 keys per minute ~ 45 words per minute
Your score: 270 keys per minute ~ 54 words per minute
Your score: 226 keys per minute ~ 45 words per minute
Your score: 227 keys per minute ~ 45 words per minute
Your score: 243 keys per minute ~ 48 words per minute
Your score: 224 keys per minute ~ 44 words per minute
:oops: :oops:

sno
06-03-2005, 02:21 PM
After looking at some techniques on touch typing

Your score: 195 keys per minute ~ 39 words per minute

gosh, i really suck.... :lol:

06-03-2005, 02:49 PM
Actually you can join the group ReCom. Go to MyTyperA, and then click Join the List and select ReCom.

sno
06-03-2005, 02:53 PM
:P i think i did.....dunno ar

06-03-2005, 02:55 PM
Yeah, I saw sno name there in the list.

flibbertigibbet
06-03-2005, 03:39 PM
Your score: 372 keys per minute ~ 74 words per minute
Language/mode: classic-en
Comparison: 13% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 87% have a lower or equal result.

That's my 3rd attempt...

Too bad.

SpRInG
09-04-2005, 02:46 AM
yay, at last, broke the Recom record

Your score: 488 keys per minute ~ 97 words per minute
Comparison: 5% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 95% have a lower or equal result.

09-04-2005, 10:57 AM
yay, at last, broke the Recom record

Your score: 488 keys per minute ~ 97 words per minute
Comparison: 5% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 95% have a lower or equal result.
Cool! Congratulations... Have you been training constantly?

09-04-2005, 02:33 PM
Wow!!
The first time the Java application being intoduced to Recom is Nov 11, 2003. Have you been training since then?? 97 wpm.....It's just soo coo0oool !!

SpRInG
09-04-2005, 04:08 PM
haha... nolar... not dat i go train constantly o wad... just dat, felt that time, i felt nth to do.... so i thought of this typera.tk, and then tried to break it again... so i guess, at last i did... haha :D

PiK
10-04-2005, 02:00 AM
Your score: 501 keys per minute ~ 99 words per minute

i guess i still got it since middle school's PAW practice your typing skills program in Apple 8O :o

anyone here own a MAC?

10-04-2005, 05:59 AM
Congrats pik and spring~!

Anyone going to cross the 100 word/minute mark?

02-06-2007, 12:08 AM
Congrats pik and spring~!

Anyone going to cross the 100 word/minute mark?
The last few week I tried http://typera.tk, I achieved 100 wpm rather consistently... The secret to that is to not tense up and keep your mind focused on the words instead of your fingers. The highest I have ever achieved was 108.

I think typing is a good skill to acquire in this era. Something I observed in Melbourne is that quite a lot of people are good at touch typing (typing with all fingers without looking at the keyboard, that is). And when you go to the university and do lots of stuff involving assignments and write-ups, touch typing will become increasingly indispensable. Do train up your speed if you have free time. For those who are free now and have nothing better to do at home, this is one of the things I would recommend to you. :)

alvinangbs
10-06-2007, 03:02 PM
Well, this was my first attempt. I guess there's still room for improvement..

Your score: 336 keys per minute ~ 67 words per minute
Comparison: 25% of registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 75% have a lower or equal result.

Gd luck guys..

06-06-2009, 10:50 AM
^ BUMP

Anyway to quote my previous post above:
I think typing is a good skill to acquire in this era. Something I observed in Melbourne is that quite a lot of people are good at touch typing (typing with all fingers without looking at the keyboard, that is). And when you go to the university and do lots of stuff involving assignments and write-ups, touch typing will become increasingly indispensable. Do train up your speed if you have free time. For those who are free now and have nothing better to do at home, this is one of the things I would recommend to you. :)
Do try to improve your typing speed if you really think you have nothing to do while waiting for pre-university. :)

08-06-2009, 12:46 PM
^ BUMP again

(sorry for doing this but people SHOULD try this, it's quite fun and it's actually beneficial to you too :D)

To people who have no idea what this is about, just go to http://typera.tk to try out the typing test we are talking about.

Okay let me do it myself (it's weird doing soliloquy here :P)

Your score: 570 keys per minute ~ 114 words per minute
Ranking: Excellent.
Comparison: 1% of 33297 registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 99% have a lower or equal result.
You typed: GEtting into trouble is easy. I thought you were trying to get into shape. Intel CPUs are not defective, they just act that way. captain called out. I've been watching Channel 4 on the thing fo rtwo weeks. Rather, he is acting from a deep sense of respect for the whole truth. If you do think, don't speak. Wish not to seem, but to be the best. I'm frankly sick and tired of the political preachers across this country telling me as a citizen that if I want to be a moral person, I must believe in A, B, C, and D. You cannot see the wood for the trees. In India, cold weather is merely a conventional phrase and has come into use through the necessity of having some way to distinguish between weather which will et a brass door-knob and weather which
Mistakes: GEtting(Getting), captain(Captain), fo(for), rtwo(two), be(be,), et(melt)

cuppycake
09-06-2009, 01:49 AM
Your score: 245 keys per minute ~ 49 words per minute
Comparison: 49% of 33301 registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 51% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: The suddent sight of me causes panic in the streets Humanity has advanced, when it has advanced, not because it has been sober, responsible, and cautious, but because it has been playful, rebellious, and immature./f Why is it no one ever sent me yet One perfect limousine, do you suppose? All warranty and guarantee clauses become null and void upon payment of invoice. The most dangerous food is wedding cake. We sing from the diaphragm a lot. The front end of the machine, or input, contains the cutting and grindin

Mistakes: suddent(sudden), streets(streets.), immature./f(immature.)

Not as good as you :( but..but..I found out that I could touch type but not as good though. :(

09-06-2009, 07:57 AM
Your score: 251 keys per minute ~ 50 words per minute
Comparison: 47% of 33304 registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 53% have a lower or equal result.
You typed: I don't know, it keeps changing. I like that in a person. Horse sense is the thing a hirse has which keeps it from bettring on people. Microsoft spel chekar vor said, worgs grats ! The army needs leaders the way a foot needs a big toe. The best way to get to level 3 is egg-nog. Cause this one know the bottom line, couldn't get a date. Doctors and lawyers muist go to school for years and years, often with little sleep and with great sacrifice to their first wives. Do you think that illiterate people get the fill effect of alphabet soup? the raidroad company w
Mistakes: hirse(horse), bettring(betting), said,(sail,), grats(grate), army(Army), know(knows), muist(must), fill(full), the(The), raidroad(railroad)
Well done!
Blame it on my tendency to type errors :P

Now back to my books, exams in 12 hours

edit: second try:

Your score: 288 keys per minute ~ 57 words per minute
Comparison: 36% of 33304 registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 64% have a lower or equal result.
You typed: The argument that the literal story of Genesis can qualify as science collapses on three major grounds: the creationists' need to invoke miracles in order to compress the events of the earth's history into the biblical span of a few thousand years; their unwillingness to abendon claims clearly dis He invented the giraffe, the elephant and the cat. What the deuce is it to me? SHe sells cshs by the cshore. What are the chances of a cat starting a nuclear war? We cannot fathom their thoughts, so all we do is to their appearance. Everybody knows that it's me or you. OVer the shoulder supervision is
Mistakes: abendon(abandon), SHe(She), to(describe), OVer(Over)
Well done!Guess I can't go much higher than that:

Your score: 285 keys per minute ~ 57 words per minute
Comparison: 37% of 33304 registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 63% have a lower or equal result.
You typed: YOur wife says, Good morning, Bill and your name it George. When I hear a man applauded by the mob I always feel a pang of pity for him. ness there, and permit freedom of speech and of the press. He who hates vices hates mankind. They're demanding beer. Eddie Cantor's goyish. Why are Lucas electronics more likely to leak than say Borsch? I'm guided by a signal? in the heavens. Anyone stupid enough to be caught by the polica is probably guilty. Never tell a lie unless it is absolutely convenient. Which will be Her Mate. You have nothing to lose but Mr. Well, I met a girl, West Hollywood, Well, I ain
Mistakes: YOur(Your), it(is), Borsch?(Bosch?), signal?(signal), polica(police)
Well done!
Your score: 288 keys per minute ~ 57 words per minute
Comparison: 36% of 33304 registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 64% have a lower or equal result.
You typed: To ask a politician to lead us is to as kthe tail of a dog to lead the dog. Nothing is easier than to denounce the evildoer; nothing is more difficule than to understand him I asked for an invitation for Heinrich too, as often as it seemed possible, when Paulus and I were invited to a social gathering. But if it brought some passing fancy to some lowly humans, as they haphazardly pranced their way through life's mournful jungle, then so be it., The law of gravity holds that any object attempting to maintain a position i the atmosphere without something to support it must drop. Real Users never use the Help key
Mistakes: as(ask), kthe(the), difficule(difficult), him(him.), humans,(humans), it.,(it.), i(in)
Well done!

Facebook version of the app is also available at http://apps.facebook.com/typeratk/

09-06-2009, 09:08 AM
You can find a good touch typing tutor to help you improve the typing speed. There are lots of good ones online. Once you have mastered the basic keys, the rest are up to daily practice with basically anything - typera.tk, chatting, recom etc. :D

09-06-2009, 09:26 AM
Well, I have the tendency to write what I have interpreted instead of typing what I've read on the screen. That plus the confusion of key positions led to my low scores.

(Stupid me for buying a computer with International English Layout while using a German keyboard at home)

chongkeat
09-06-2009, 09:46 AM
Game over

Your score: 231 keys per minute ~ 46 words per minute
Comparison: 53% of 33305 registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 47% have a lower or equal result.
You typed: After he had made his selection the stonecutter asked him what insctiption he would like on it. You will visit the Dung Pits of Glive soon. Your heart is pure and your mind clear, and your soul devout. They eat Twinkies and Szechwan food. The smallest worm will turn being trodden on. Never ask two questions in a business letter. The two things that can get you into trouble quicker than anything else are fast women and slow horses. Always store beer in a dark place. Dump him on the front
Mistakes: selection(selection,), insctiption(inscription), pure(pure,)

Well then, I guess I now know my fatal weakness in the commas. Those darned commas!

celestial_sacred
09-06-2009, 10:21 AM
Your score: 356 keys per minute ~ 71 words per minute
Comparison: 20% of 33305 registered TyperA users using this language have typed a better result; 80% have a lower or equal result.

You typed: When people are least sure, they are often most dogmatic. She told me she didn't think she had ever seen a Jew before. And this is a table ma'am. Baker, and why is he saying those terrible things about me? Never ask two questions ina a business letter. Just relax, enjoy the ride. Your wife says, Good morning, Bill and your name is George. There was a look of terrible sadness in her eyes. Well, what's happening? some think it is the voice of God. You have to get a bit jungle-wise. They finally got King Midas, I hear. Wisdom was not at the top of the graduate school mountain but there in the sandbox at nursery schoo. Stayed in bed all morning just to pass the time, There's something wrong here, there can be no more deny

Mistakes: ina(in), some(Some), schoo.(school.)

Any recommendation on fun and interactive typing programmes? xD