View Full Version : Official Weight Training Thread
07-12-2004, 12:20 PM
anybody pump iron? i know some here do. care to share some tips on how to improve performance?
07-12-2004, 12:22 PM
i have been lifting weights fairly regularly since Sept 2003. currently here's what i'm doing (without a spotter):
Monday
- Bench: 8 x 135*, 8 x 155, 3 x 185, 8 x 135
- Inclined Bench: 8 x 105, 8 x 125, 5 x 135, 8 x 95
- Shoulder press: Whatever I can manage with dumbbells and/or machine
- Pullups: Sets of 4/5 reps between workouts (usually most I can do is 4 sets).
* 8 x 135 means 8 reps of 135 lbs.
Wednesday
- Bench: (see Monday)
- Declined Bench: 8 x 115, 8 x 135, 6 x 155, 8 x 115
- Squats: 8 x 115, 8 x 135, 8 x 155
- Pullups (see Monday)
Friday
- Bench (see Monday)
- Dips: Sets of 10 reps (usually 4 sets)
- Skull Crusher (using EZ bar): 8 x 55 (i think, not sure how much my EZ bar weighs), 8 x 55, 6 x 65
- Pulley push down: 10 x 50, 10 x 60, 8 x 80
- Pullups: whatever I can manage between workouts.
i managed to improve my bench to 185 just last week...goal is to get to 205 by the end of jan '05 but i seem to have plateaued. any tips on how to improve?
just started doing squats about a month ago. not too comfortable with it yet.
i weigh 155 lbs (that's 70 kg). never played competitive sports. in fact i'm rather unathletic. weight lifting is great coz you don't need skillz. everybody can lift with proper technique and loads of determination, and 135 minutes a week, heh. i don't take supplements either, just lots of milk.
07-12-2004, 03:20 PM
hmm.. i'm into weightless training...
serious ... no joke...
it includes serious stretching... i can almost do a full split when i did intense training for my black belt... but now... i dun think i still can do it....
muscle stamina training... try to lift ur leg 90 degree sideways, try to hold it for 10 seconds... (and rest... and repeat...)X3 or 5...depends on ur ability... after a week, or two... increase the holding time by 5- 10 seconds....
pumping... (push up) & sit ups.......2 sets of 50 each...1 set at the start of the session, and 1 at the end of the session
this is for the abs... lie flat on the ur back... lift both of ur leg about 10-15 degrees above the ground.. dun bend ur knees... try to hold it for 30 seconds, (and rest... and repeat...)X3 or 5...depends on ur ability...after a week or two, increase the holding time by 15 seconds increment...
hand stand...
and other stretching activities...
have fun trying...
07-12-2004, 03:45 PM
heh. i don't take supplements either, just lots of milk.
There's your problem.. try getting more protein in your diet. It's rather hard to get a lot of good and easily digestible protein regularly in relatively large amounts, especially us college kids.
I normally take my protein shake (~2 scoops) post-workout and another in the morning, but you'll have to find out what's best for you. I take creatine too.. and it does help.
I started working out again after lazing my ass off last summer, and also got a 185lbs bench last week! Gonna attempt more this week :)
If you have worked out non-stop for the past few months, try taking a week or two off. Yeah, I'm serious, just stop working out completely for two weeks. Other than that, I think you are doing too many chest exercises?
Edit: BTW squats are a *very* good exercise! I normally do full squats, which means the butt goes all the way down. I've read that it's more effective than half-squats which most people do.
07-12-2004, 03:57 PM
hand stand...
everytime i want to try that i realize that i just ate.:D
Other than that, I think you are doing too many chest exercises?
yeah...should i lessen the frequency?
btw how do you make your forearms larger? i have pathetic forearms.
08-12-2004, 01:59 AM
don't forget to sprint. look for a track and do sprint-jog-sprint-jogs. i normally sprint 100m then jog the turn, then sprint, then jog...
08-12-2004, 05:03 AM
Wow..you guys are so active. I always wanted to do exercise every morning (like DecentMerson said, push ups, sit ups...etc), but I'm always too lazy.. lol :lol:
You guys go to gym very often?
can you guys recommend something indoor for winter workout. I used to go to gym and walk(brisk, jog and spint sometimes) everyday at the park. Now, it's getting colder, and I've been sitting on my couch all the times. I'm even too lazy to go to the gym. Threadmill cost too much. Last time I checked it's more than $2000, so I'm practically a couch potato now.
Has anyone tried pilates? I'm skeptical about it, but I need to get moving.
08-12-2004, 05:20 AM
if your ceiling is high enough, rope skipping is great for your heart and reflexes
08-12-2004, 05:29 AM
if your ceiling is high enough, rope skipping is great for your heart and reflexes
Oh ya, talking about rope skipping, does it makes any difference if one just jumping up and down on a spot without the rope? :wink:
08-12-2004, 06:58 AM
This is my workout schedule (for newbies who's just started sports training):
1 minute of Jumpies
1 minute of sideways sit ups
1 minute of lunging
1 minute of leg lifting
1 minute of push ups
1 minute of strolling sit ups
1 minute of running in place
1 minute of burpees (killer)
1 minute of leg cycle
3 minutes rest (stretch and stretch and stretch)
and repeat the workout for 3 sets
Maybe i will lift some weights, but i am always intimidated with those bulky guys in the gym (i can't even lift a 100 lb) :oops:
08-12-2004, 09:10 AM
Oh ya, talking about rope skipping, does it makes any difference if one just jumping up and down on a spot without the rope? :wink:
er... there are many types of rope skipping though.... i mean... u can use the rope as to measure how high u are jumping... becoz if u are jumping fast enough, u can like swing the rope 2 or even 3 times with just one jump...
but if u can really mimic the jumping motion just exactly like u are jumping with a rope... then , i think it should be the same....
it is vital for the existence of the rope so that...
1)it enhances the coordination of our brain and different parts of our body.
2)it is a whole body exercise...(u swing ur arms...)
08-12-2004, 09:29 AM
this is how i exercise...
lunch time
chew chew chew
dinnner time
chew chew chew
08-12-2004, 11:27 AM
this is how i exercise...
lunch time
chew chew chew
dinnner time
chew chew chew
I like that! Time for smoothie :wink:
08-12-2004, 11:29 AM
This is how i exercise...
walk to car...drive to school...walk to office...
sit around and do work...
walk to car...drive from school...walk to home...
*grin*
10-12-2004, 07:08 AM
:lol: You guys are funny!
It's so hilly here..have to climb hills on the way to uni and on the way back. Is that considered exercise? :wink:
10-12-2004, 01:31 PM
:lol: You guys are funny!
It's so hilly here..have to climb hills on the way to uni and on the way back. Is that considered exercise? :wink:
Well, I'm typing this message now. Aren't I exercising my fingers? And when I sleep, I'm focusing on the contraction of my diaphragm and lung muscles... That counts as an exercise as well, i guess...
10-12-2004, 01:39 PM
what's so funny about working out?
10-12-2004, 07:09 PM
It seems that many are missing the point of resistance training :(
MarquisX
10-12-2004, 07:24 PM
topdog, to have better muscle definition/tones and improve strength, you need to do more dead lift/dumbbell exercises.
i would recommend some shoulder , back and arms exercises to go with your crazy chest routine. that way you can push your bench press limit even further.
http://www.hardcorebodybuilding.com/exercises.htm
no, i m not a hardcore...i can't coz my asian/polynesian 5' 6" frame won't let me do that.
one of the more underrated combo is 'dips+chin-ups'. man, it's a killer.
you need eggs+tuna+protein shake for those xtra effort.
10-12-2004, 09:46 PM
just came back from gym. i go to gym not just to build the defination but to release the tension too. owh yeah, i go to gym e'single day.so here is my 2 cents which i garnered from reading an article:
1) before u work with the bars, at least warm up 1st by running for 10 minutes ( using treadmill ) or burning fats by using elliptical or at least cycling.by doing so,u'll realize u can lift heavier bars than usual.
2) eat at least 2,3 hours before exercising. dont lift weights with empty stomach.
3) DONT TAKE ANY SUPPLEMENTS unless u wanna be a bodybuilder becoz when u take the proteins supplements and are lazy to go to gym,those excess protein will turn itself from acid amino into lipids
(fat)...so u r exploding instead of having the definations.
4) if u pump iron now and say have bigger muscles, in 10-15 years time,those muscles without careful care will turn into fat and make u body look sloppy and hideous.
i'm fine with ppl working out. either to gain confidence or to be attractive to the opposite gender but don't over do it. bodybuilders are too bulky and too big.not many women like that kind of man.
just have six-packs,well-defined biceps and triceps, firm thighs and butts.dont over do it.
owh yeah,not just ur body shape matters.how u carry it does too.improve ur gait if u can.
10-12-2004, 10:27 PM
just came back from gym. i go to gym not just to build the defination but to release the tension too. owh yeah, i go to gym e'single day.so here is my 2 cents which i garnered from reading an article:
are u sure u are not over doing it urself??? AFAIK (if u dunno wat this means, go to the "Abbreviations in everyday life" thread), u shld have a rest day after a day of work out... coz ur muscle is kinda tore after a workout... u need to give ur muscles sometime to heal and recover...
topdog, to have better muscle definition/tones and improve strength, you need to do more dead lift/dumbbell exercises.
i would recommend some shoulder , back and arms exercises to go with your crazy chest routine. that way you can push your bench press limit even further.
no, i m not a hardcore...i can't coz my asian/polynesian 5' 6" frame won't let me do that.
this is off-topic, but i've been having egg+tuna diet lately due to insufficent financial balance in my bank account. maybe i should do those workout. but eggs+tuna really worth it when you're broke. Eggs cost you $2 for 1 and half dozen, while tuna around $.69 or less. I spend less than $5 for the whole week.
11-12-2004, 03:26 AM
<off-topic>
1-do you know that your body only can absorb an average of 25g of protein per hour?
2-1 packet of tuna has 23g of protein in it.
Morale of the story: take tuna after u go to the gym...
<\off-topic>
11-12-2004, 05:51 AM
err....let me clarify that that my aim is more to increase strength than to look good. i used to be really weak. plus i think my body type is well suited for resistance training.
and i really don't give a shiat what body type women prefer, coz i work out for self-satisfaction more than anything else. it's cool if others work out to attract the ladies though:-/
thanks for the advice, kucingbiru and screwed.
11-12-2004, 09:21 AM
You shouldn't work out everyday. Your body won't have enough rest. Mind linking to or reproducing that article?
1) before u work with the bars, at least warm up 1st by running for 10 minutes ( using treadmill ) or burning fats by using elliptical or at least cycling.by doing so,u'll realize u can lift heavier bars than usual.
This I agree. Warmup + stretching is pretty important.
2) eat at least 2,3 hours before exercising. dont lift weights with empty stomach.
This I agree too, but I normally eat like 1-2 hours beforehand.
3) DONT TAKE ANY SUPPLEMENTS unless u wanna be a bodybuilder becoz when u take the proteins supplements and are lazy to go to gym,those excess protein will turn itself from acid amino into lipids (fat)...so u r exploding instead of having the definations.
This is bullshit. Where the hell did you get this info from?
You don't need supplements IF your diet already provides you with enough protein. However, most of time it is not possible or simply inconvenient to consistently take enough protein if you are working out (as in weightlifting). DO take supplements if you think you need it, just don't go overboard.
FYI it's not that easy to "explode", even with consistent working out and adequate diet ;) Definition has everything to do with your body fat percentage. Normally people first bulk up, then "cut", you cannot do both at the same time.
4) if u pump iron now and say have bigger muscles, in 10-15 years time,those muscles without careful care will turn into fat and make u body look sloppy and hideous.
(This also addresses your previous point) Muscles don't turn into fat. Food turn into fat. Muscles will atrophy from lack of use, but please, not magically transform into blubber. And it won't even take 10-15 years to do that. Just don't eat as much after you quit working out, not rocket science.
i'm fine with ppl working out. either to gain confidence or to be attractive to the opposite gender but don't over do it. bodybuilders are too bulky and too big.not many women like that kind of man.
just have six-packs,well-defined biceps and triceps, firm thighs and butts.dont over do it.
owh yeah,not just ur body shape matters.how u carry it does too.improve ur gait if u can.
It is not that easy to get the kind of form that bodybuilders have. I'm sorry if I sound like an asshat, but there's simply too much FUD against weight training. :X
11-12-2004, 09:24 AM
True. Compound exercises like squats, deadlifts, benchpresses etc should be part of your core workout.
13-12-2004, 06:17 AM
You shouldn't work out everyday. Your body won't have enough rest. Mind linking to or reproducing that article?
Oh, please tell that to my coach! PLEASE!
20-02-2005, 11:56 AM
hey protein shake really helps. muscles seem to recover faster. but i suspect it's also partly psychological... paging screw3d: what brand & type protein do you take?
i finally managed to increase my bench... to 195. but only 2 reps.
is there any benefit in maxing out?
also began wearing a 45 lb weight in my dips. 20 reps of those spread over 3 sets....killa yo.
Anthony
06-05-2005, 11:38 AM
erm well i did workout...hehehhhe
and i did it for luck.....
i took 11 subjects and i count 1119 as a nother subect so i think that i take 12 subjects.....
so i put a mindset to do it.....
i wanted to do it forever.....but this is what happened...
/
for 12 days......
12x20 pumping...and 12x100 situps.....after that???
hahhahahahaha
i still swim once in a blue moon.....and go shopping.......duz that count?
08-05-2005, 10:16 AM
Oh, please tell that to my coach! PLEASE!
I think your coach wants to you to exercise more frequently. I learned that if you do less, but with heavier weights, you'll become bulky, but if you do it more frequently with less weights, you'll become strong without looking bulky.
Felt bad that I needed a doctor to tell me to go exercise before I started working out myself. I actually enjoy that brainless moment every other day 8)
Calvin-metta
07-01-2008, 12:55 PM
hey topdog..
I'm quite skinny but seriously considerin liftin som weights to bulk up and look good mong' d chicks.. hehe....
any ideas how to kick of? like a plan for starters...
thnx dude..
13-01-2008, 02:27 AM
This is a good thread, especially to help fellow ReComers to exercise!
insertusername
18-03-2008, 06:27 PM
bump anyone still into this?
I am. :nuts
This was what happened in my college. Apparently physical education is a requirement to graduate. One of the component in the PE Test to determine our fitness (if we fail, we are required to take PE classes) is bench press. It is similar to push-ups except that you sit on a chair and you push the weight forward. That's easier than push-ups. The staff will ask for your weight. For guys, most probably, they will ask you to push a weight that is about 60-80% of your body weight. So some guys end up pushing 160 pounds or something like that.
For girls, you are required to push 50% of your body weight. While you think it is a lot easier for the girls, it is not. I know of a few cases where the girl tries to push as hard as she could but the whole thing wouldn't move. The instructor was going, "You may begin."
"I am already starting. This whole thing just won't move!" :laugh
That moment was nostlagic.
After a while, I found out the truth that girls have really weak upper body compare to guys. I'm not saying that firls are not strong; it's just that they have weaker upper body structure. For a girl, 40 pounds can be very heavy to lift even with two arms but guys can easily lift that up with one arm.
Speaking of weight lifting, I've been trying to lift some weights myself but I get tired really easily. Is breathing really important in weight lifting? I find myself panting for breath after a while because I hold my breath too much. >.< It is so hard to breathe in first, then lift as I hold, and release the breath when I take the thing down. =/ Why is it so hard to control the breathing?
Caprio
28-03-2008, 11:11 AM
I am not sure what the 'thing' you refer to. But this is the standard way of breathing in exercise, which includes weight lifting. Inhale when you lift the thing up and exhale when you lift the thing down. As you mentioned that it is hard to control your breathing, this is most probably that the 'thing' you lift is too heavy. So, what you can do to improve your breathing is to increase the weight of the 'thing' gradually. Start with a lighter one so that you are pratising the correct way of breathing. Once you are accustomed to it, move to the heavier one.
Hope that helps.
By the way, Leen, which college are you studying? It is rare to have physical education as a requirement to graduate. Just to satisfy my curiousity.:P
28-03-2008, 11:12 AM
I work out while working and carrying stuff in the dining hall. Does that count? :lol:
I am not sure what the 'thing' you refer to. But this is the standard way of breathing in exercise, which includes weight lifting. Inhale when you lift the thing up and exhale when you lift the thing down. As you mentioned that it is hard to control your breathing, this is most probably that the 'thing' you lift is too heavy. So, what you can do to improve your breathing is to increase the weight of the 'thing' gradually. Start with a lighter one so that you are pratising the correct way of breathing. Once you are accustomed to it, move to the heavier one.
Hope that helps.
By the way, Leen, which college are you studying? It is rare to have physical education as a requirement to graduate. Just to satisfy my curiousity.:P
That's the thing. That's the brench press machine. Press that handles. >.< That thing.
http://www.mikesportsworld.co.uk/shop/images/products/gy003.jpg
insertusername
30-03-2008, 12:00 AM
That's the thing. That's the brench press machine. Press that handles. >.< That thing.
http://www.mikesportsworld.co.uk/shop/images/products/gy003.jpg
The best way to increase strength is to use heavy weights and low repititions. BTW for the breathing part you exhale when you exert and inhale on the negative portion of the rep.
blasturanus
01-04-2008, 06:29 PM
hmmpp some great stuff here.. i've been hitting the gym inconsistently for the past few months.. i just couldnt find the discipline in doing so on a daily basis..
i didn't know to increase strength,one has to do heavy weights n low reps cause i've been doing the other way round n im basically stuck at a particular weight.. silly me huh..:)
insertusername
04-04-2008, 05:56 PM
hmmpp some great stuff here.. i've been hitting the gym inconsistently for the past few months.. i just couldnt find the discipline in doing so on a daily basis..
i didn't know to increase strength,one has to do heavy weights n low reps cause i've been doing the other way round n im basically stuck at a particular weight.. silly me huh..:)
excuse me but what exactly does your username mean? Doesnt sound too pleasant LOL