View Full Version : HD-DVD vs Blu-Ray = War?
09-12-2004, 05:30 AM
http://slate.msn.com/id/2110495/
http://business.scotsman.com/technology.cfm?id=1401112004
Any techie who wants to comment on this? Any economist / consumer activist thoughts? Should Microsoft monopolize the DVD format? :)
09-12-2004, 05:29 PM
You guys realised how often Sony has failed to come out with a industry-standard storage medium?
- Minidisc
- Memory Stik
And now looks like Blu-Ray is the next victim.
I will vote for whichever is cheaper and more durable. Until it's products roll out, I'm keeping mum.
If PS3 uses Blu-Ray, and that Blu-Ray is not the industry-standard, I will jump ship to XboX2, or whatever that uses industry-standard media. Reasons being, easier to obtain pirated copies.
ps. Sony invented the 3.5" floppies
PERVERTSEXXX CAM (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/pervertsexxx)
10-12-2004, 04:23 AM
If PS3 uses Blu-Ray, and that Blu-Ray is not the industry-standard, I will jump ship to XboX2, or whatever that uses industry-standard media. Reasons being, easier to obtain pirated copies.
So very true. A main reason Gamecube doesn't see a good following in Malaysia.
Somehow the ability of a console to be able to be modded and the availability of its medium to be copied affects the sales and popularity of a console. (esp. true in countries rampant with piracy because prices of games are out of reach of the young crowd)
e.g. when xBox first came out, it can't be modded but ps2 has this swapping trick or whatever. Although it was troublesome, the sales overshadow that of xbox thousand fold. (ask your friendly sg wang electronic store).
After both consoles could be modded, it was a battle of mainly which has the better games.
Also the pricing of the games in comparison the cost of living plays a big role.
e.g. in Germany games can be bought for new=50 euros, old(1 yr old)=10 euros. youth 18-26 (gaming crowd IMO) gets about 300 euros per month (students get paid Baf?g, something like scholarship from the government. depends on the income of parents, varies from low of 180 euros to high of 530 euros per month and tertiery edu is free.)
so a new game a month= ratio 1:6
Malaysia, say the same crowd but in ringgit. New games=RM 100, PS2 games=RM200, old games=RM50.
ratio 1:3 or 2:3 almost all the money is gone.
so where do we turn to in malaysia? where else...
ikanayam
31-01-2005, 12:03 PM
Blu-ray is technically more advanced, but the problem is backward compatibility. It can support up to 8 layers and an amazing 200GB per disk.
Right now, i couldn't care less really. Just got myself a DVD burner and 100 empty DVDs. 4.7GB per disk is still a huge upgrade from 700MB CDs. :D
wild_card_my
22-04-2005, 02:54 PM
Hellow Ikan_ayam..!! i can see that you have just joined this forumm..
btw, ghuys, you have to know the selling of consoles does not give sony nor microsoft any profits.. why? because they are subsidying the cost of the hardware...
they lose money becuase of you....
the only way they can get their money back is from the software/games license fees that has to be paid by the game developers to make games for the respective companies' conoles and by selling their own games..
so technically, since you guys dont buy ori games AT ALL, you pirates are liabilities to the companies...
22-04-2005, 06:34 PM
Hellow Ikan_ayam..!! i can see that you have just joined this forumm..
btw, ghuys, you have to know the selling of consoles does not give sony nor microsoft any profits.. why? because they are subsidying the cost of the hardware...
they lose money becuase of you....
the only way they can get their money back is from the software/games license fees that has to be paid by the game developers to make games for the respective companies' conoles and by selling their own games..
so technically, since you guys dont buy ori games AT ALL, you pirates are liabilities to the companies...
As a matter of fact, I do BUY ori. Only when I came to Germany because it is more accessible, very good return policy, and relatively cheap, refer to my earlier post.