View Full Version : Abbreviations in everyday life
09-12-2004, 08:31 AM
hmm... just came across some very interesting abbreviations recently... at first, i did have some hard time trying to guess what they mean...but after asking around, i finally found out what are they....
hope that you guys will share some abbreviations(which u think that others should know but they don't already know) u know...hahaha... sorry for the tongue twister there...
but sometimes, when i come to think about it... why are we so lazy for having such abbreviations which not everyone can understand...
so, i will start to roll the ball.. and pls keep the ball rolling
SASE - self-addressed-stamped-envelope
09-12-2004, 08:59 AM
asap = as soon as possible
09-12-2004, 10:00 AM
AIEL = abbreviations in everyday life
nxwen
09-12-2004, 10:26 AM
Anybody knows wat SFAIK stands for? I kept bumping into it. Thanx.
09-12-2004, 11:16 AM
SFAIK = So far as I know
AFAIK = As far as I know
09-12-2004, 11:17 AM
Anybody knows wat SFAIK stands for? I kept bumping into it. Thanx.
So Far As I Know.
to be honest, i didn't know this, but just FYI, answers are almost always a google search away.:D
09-12-2004, 02:01 PM
RR - Recom Rocks!
09-12-2004, 02:03 PM
TTYL - talk to ya later
09-12-2004, 05:18 PM
IMHO - in my humble opinion
10-12-2004, 12:45 AM
Main Entry: RSVP
Function: abbreviation
Etymology: French r?pondez s'il vous pla?t
Meaning: please reply
Saw this many times...now I know the meaning~
10-12-2004, 06:41 AM
A famous one I see in most posts here:
YADA YADA
Yet Another Damned Acronym, Yet Another Disclaimer Added
10-12-2004, 07:20 AM
YADA YADA
Are you sure that's what YADA YADA means? Lol...
cquayhl
10-12-2004, 07:23 AM
TLA - Three Letter Acronym.
10-12-2004, 07:27 AM
BYAGFI
Before You Ask, Google For It! Lol :lol:
10-12-2004, 09:54 AM
YADA YADA
Well, i asked around, and that's what i got... I dunno if it's exactly true, but 4 out of 4 ppl that i asked told me that... Do you have other definitions?
15-12-2004, 06:47 AM
YADA YADA
Well, i asked around, and that's what i got... I dunno if it's exactly true, but 4 out of 4 ppl that i asked told me that... Do you have other definitions?
Googled for it and found it:
http://www.freesearch.co.uk/dictionary/yada
yada yada yada - stands for blah blah blah (= a phrase used to represent boring speech)
15-12-2004, 08:44 AM
btw = by the way
15-12-2004, 08:46 AM
fyi = for your information
15-12-2004, 11:31 AM
IMHO = in my humble opinion
15-12-2004, 11:38 AM
IMHO = in my humble opinion
got d lah. pls refer 2 page 1. :lol:
15-12-2004, 11:50 AM
BS = bullshit
what we in recom normally do. :twisted:
kennytang
15-12-2004, 12:01 PM
another version of 'bs'
BS = be specific
15-12-2004, 12:05 PM
another version of 'bs'
BS = be specific
now, thats pure bs.
15-12-2004, 12:15 PM
which reminds me....
BS: Bullshit
MS: More of the Same
PhD: Piled Higher and Deeper
15-12-2004, 12:49 PM
PhD = permanent head disorder
kennytang
15-12-2004, 01:03 PM
another version of 'bs'
BS = be specific
now, thats pure bs.
well, i dont think so, coz i heard someone using it b4
15-12-2004, 02:35 PM
another version of 'bs'
BS = be specific
now, thats pure bs.
well, i dont think so, coz i heard someone using it b4
yeah... i remember one of the english book we used back in INTEC mention that we must BS in our thesis statement... Be specific that is...
and oops sorry...
for the repetition
here's another one... popularised by the book (by Stephen King) and the movie Dreamcatcher...
SSDD = Same Shit, Different Day
15-12-2004, 02:57 PM
oh well, you can bs all you want. :D
15-12-2004, 03:02 PM
PhD = Permanent Head Damage
Now can anyone kindly tell me what ROFLMAO means?
15-12-2004, 03:13 PM
rolling on the floor, laughing my ass out.
on the side note, google my man.
16-12-2004, 07:11 AM
Let's not forget MCP.
16-12-2004, 07:14 AM
Let's not forget MCP.
male chauvinist pig
malayan communist party
16-12-2004, 07:17 AM
haha....i was thinking of male chauvinist pig.
16-12-2004, 01:31 PM
Id est (i.e.)
many of the professors like to use this i.e..... and many of us do know what it means.... in this case.... or to say
it is a latin phrase
it is not the same as e.g..... which means... for example..
Exempli gratia (e.g.)
masdie
06-01-2006, 08:40 PM
TTFN = Ta Ta For Now
WYSIWYG = What You See Is What You Get
07-01-2006, 04:21 AM
IIRC = If I Remember Correctly
LOL = Laughing Out Loud (Haha, my English lecturer used to think it was some sort of rude language, and cringed in frustration whenever she saw it)
noob = newbie
ROTFLMAOBBQ = one of the funny variations of ROTFL (I think I saw it once in either kennysia's or minishort's page)
07-01-2006, 12:25 PM
OMGWTFBBQ
PMS
MothBall
18-01-2006, 09:59 PM
yc - yam char
wc - go to toilet for big business
or
welcome
he? - hehehe
astc - all, sine, tangent, cosine
or
all science teachers are crazy
or
a smelly turkey cheese
cu - see you
asl - age sex location
gtg - got to go
Let's not forget MCP.
male chauvinist pig
malayan communist party
I think it is Communist Party of Malaya.....CPM or PKM in malay
PhD
Also known as Phoney Doctor and Permanent Hair Loss :wink:
19-01-2006, 02:31 AM
PhD
Or.. pretty huge Dong
19-01-2006, 03:40 AM
PhD
Or.. pretty huge Dong
Damnit...I wish that is true.
19-01-2006, 12:46 PM
PhD
Or.. pretty huge Dong
Damnit...I wish that is true.
How you came to that conclusion is something i don't want to know. :?
wpyeoh
20-01-2006, 04:33 AM
(just went through all the old posts)
I always thought that imho was "in my honest opinion" (and not "humble", as was mentioned above. Well, whatever. :roll:
20-01-2006, 11:37 AM
BLT
heh.
Bacon lettuce tomato.
thank you Subway ;p
OperaGhost
20-01-2006, 06:28 PM
SAM
These are just some of the common SAMs I already know/ just found so far. Enjoy!
South Australian Matriculation
Self-service Automated Machine
Surface to Air Missile
Sigma Alpha Mu
Seattle Art Museum
Significance Analysis of Microarrays
Society for Advancement of Management
The Society of Adolescent Medicine
The Society of American Magicians
Simply Aiming Method
And finally,
Shoot And Miss
20-01-2006, 11:04 PM
For anything regarding acronyms and abbreviations, I think http://www.acronymfinder.com is a great resource.
21-01-2006, 06:34 PM
T3h sourc3 4 T3h 13375 !
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Internet_slang
Moderators Action: Edited.
The link to the other site is sufficient. Don't paste entire website in the future.
21-01-2006, 06:51 PM
Updatr :
I have just added some abb to the wikipedia list :
<10>
Captain Hitsugaya Toushiro, a cool pimp from Bleach
((( name )))
Hugging someone (name)
here's my invention :
m@<hidden> = mad mod, a mod who mods madly.
kakumei
23-01-2006, 11:33 PM
Hei, how bout
e21 = Eyeshield21! :D
dbz = dragonball Z
kgne = kimi ga nozomu eien...
sounds stupid... :roll:
MothBall
24-01-2006, 10:46 PM
Any quippy abb:
SAM for self-abuse matriculation
my former school, SABS for Sultan Abu Bakar School
this is what my physics teacher told me Saya Akan Belajar Sendiri
02-02-2006, 12:39 AM
STFU: Shut the f|_|ck up!
Panda
02-02-2006, 01:30 AM
88 = bye bye