View Full Version : Discussion: STPM just as good as A Levels - The Star

twin
24-05-2011, 04:58 PM
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/5/23/focus/8737701&sec=focus

The Star
Monday May 23, 2011
STPM exam just as good as A-levels

STATISTICS have shown that the number of STPM students have been declining over the years (66,047 students in 2008, 48,481 students in 2009 and 46,780 in 2010).

One wonders if the numbers will ever rise.

I would like to suggest that the Public Services Department (PSD) send sponsored students to Form 6 after SPM.

Top SPM scorers who have been offered scholarships to the United Kingdom are mostly sent to private institutions for A-Levels.

I believe that the STPM examinations are just as good as A-Levels as both pre-U programmes are recognised overseas.

In fact, Form 6 has an edge over A-Levels because it is also recognised by local universities.

Sponsored and form six students would enrol in UK universities at the same time (September) as PSD students.

It take two years to complete their A-Levels course while a sixth former takes 1.5 years.

Therefore, there is no point in sending sponsored students for A-levels when we have an equally good Form 6 education in Malaysia.

The rakyat will then gain confidence in our very own Form 6 programme.

I believe that top STPM students should be recognised just like top SPM students.

Many parents were shocked when told that STPM students with perfect scores were not offered scholarships like excellent SPM students.

Having incentives like overseas scholarships for top STPM scorers will encourage students to enrol for Form 6.

Government overseas scholarships should be awarded to the best STPM students as it will inspire future STPM takers to excel in their exams, too.

Form 6 should also be promoted as an education pathway to many opportunities.

Teachers and students should be well informed that STPM is an internationally recognised pre-U programme and students who excelled had even gained admittance into reputable universities like Cambridge and Imperial.

In fact, the difficulty of the STPM is in line with other pre-U programmes, i.e. A-Levels, as quoted by Prof Tan Sri Dzulkifli Abdul Razak.

Although many may say that we have insufficient qualified teachers for Form 6, we can rope in lecturers from universities and private colleges to impart their knowledge.

International pre-U programmes are ?conquering? Malaysia as we see fewer students joining Form 6.

I believe that the STPM can regain its popularity if we start sending PSD-sponsored students to Form 6 instead.

When top STPM students are given recognition like top SPM students, people will become aware of the benefits of the STPM.

CONCERNED,

Kuala Lumpur.

joan2468
24-05-2011, 06:45 PM
Hmm. The bit about A-levels taking up 2 years is inaccurate, though. It depends on where you go, and what subjects you take. Usually it takes the same amount of time as STPM - 1.5 years.

cycycy
24-05-2011, 07:08 PM
Hmm. The bit about A-levels taking up 2 years is inaccurate, though. It depends on where you go, and what subjects you take. Usually it takes the same amount of time as STPM - 1.5 years.

A levels for PSD scholars are for 2 years, if I'm not mistaken.

xJing
24-05-2011, 07:19 PM
A levels for PSD scholars are for 2 years, if I'm not mistaken.

PSD scholars also do their A levels in one year or 1.5 years.

jessxoxo
24-05-2011, 07:55 PM
It's so unfair that stpm top scorers were not awarded ANY scholarships from the government. where can we complain about this other than newspapers? I want to write to someone with authority!! >_< I feel very pissed everytime I read news about spm scorers guaranteed a jpa scholarship..but stpm--NOTHING!!

Arun08
24-05-2011, 08:30 PM
It's so unfair that stpm top scorers were not awarded ANY scholarships from the government. where can we complain about this other than newspapers? I want to write to someone with authority!! >_< I feel very pissed everytime I read news about spm scorers guaranteed a jpa scholarship..but stpm--NOTHING!!

In the Same Boat as you :oh

acgerlok7
24-05-2011, 08:48 PM

I feel that not only scholars should do stpm...in fact all spm leavers should be compulsory to do only one pre-u wich is stpm , jus lyk singapore whereby all o levels leaver have to go jc or polytech regardless of background thus it is fairer than us here where diff ppl do stpm and a levels and oso ppl doing matriks ... Syllabus is not unified... And all scholarships esp jpa should prioritse or given to top scorers of the unified pre uni. Eg stpm or a lvels ...this also assures quality of scholars .... Whereby some would even have gotten a top uni condotional offer by then .:) with tonnes of ppl getting straight as now for spm its hard to gauge the quality of scholars as standard of stpm and a levels is really BIG .... Getting straight a + in ur spm doesnt mean u definitely will score 4 flat or 4 A* in your a levels and stpm thus this shud be the way and im sure it will Surely save up all the troubles of getting thrutge frus and anger every year jpa receives.

Cactus
24-05-2011, 09:43 PM
My own speculation on why the government send PSD scholars to do A-levels (I'm not talking about other pre-U, just A-levels):

1. It's been the practice since time immemorial, so the other civil servants just follow la.

2. The government knows the quality of teaching (of form 6) at some schools can be HORRIBLE (I can attest to that). So why would government want to send the creme de la creme (supposedly) to horrible institutions?

And because government do not have enough funds/determination/manpower to improve the quality of form 6, they can only send at least a portion of students (the scholars) to do pre-U elsewhere.

Yes, this is idle speculation. :p

Thank you twin (whichever that applies) for writing this though :)

I have a few friends (JPA scholars) bound to IMU who's doing Edexel A-level for 2 years at INTEC though.

Perhaps the course duration varies with sponsored degree programmes?

dcwk04
24-05-2011, 10:21 PM
I know that PSD and MARA do have "contracts" with certain colleges to send their scholars to those colleges. Once again, this is a political and $ situation.

acgerlok7
24-05-2011, 11:21 PM
I know that PSD and MARA do have "contracts" with certain colleges to send their scholars to those colleges. Once again, this is a political and $ situation.

I know tht college's name oso...but imma not gonna mention here.. i guess you also know it by name...*hint* its related to one of th glc...anyway alot of scholars are even pre-selected to that college to do their pre-uni in Jan intake...way before the SPM results are out.

markwongsk
25-05-2011, 07:16 AM

I used to think that way too. Not anymore.

Life is unfair. If we have tried our best and still don't get we want, we should just move on with life. There are a thousand more opportunities out there for us.

It's not about giving up, it's about trying harder, doing better, bringing the best out of you. For me, I did not get JPA despite scoring a 13A1 and having good ECAs. After getting 5As in STPM I also had to fight my way for a scholarship - it didn't fall from the sky.

Scholarship is not an obligation the government has to any of us. Getting a scholarship is one of the main motivators for us to get a good result. One can argue that getting a good result is in itself a reward already. The result - and all that you learn through obtaining it - is a far more valuable reward than the scholarship. You can apply to NUS/NTU and easily get MOE funding (from Singapore). If you're one of the best, you can easily obtain ASEAN scholarship.

Cactus
25-05-2011, 07:46 AM
I used to think that way too. Not anymore.

Life is unfair. If we have tried our best and still don't get we want, we should just move on with life. There are a thousand more opportunities out there for us.

It's not about giving up, it's about trying harder, doing better, bringing the best out of you. For me, I did not get JPA despite scoring a 13A1 and having good ECAs. After getting 5As in STPM I also had to fight my way for a scholarship - it didn't fall from the sky.

Scholarship is not an obligation the government has to any of us. Getting a scholarship is one of the main motivators for us to get a good result. One can argue that getting a good result is in itself a reward already. The result - and all that you learn through obtaining it - is a far more valuable reward than the scholarship. You can apply to NUS/NTU and easily get MOE funding (from Singapore). If you're one of the best, you can easily obtain ASEAN scholarship.

But aren't you on JPA (tambahan) as well Mark....

I understand where you're coming from though...but again, I don't think anybody is going to feel sour or depressed for their whole life just because they didn't get a scholarship from our government (>.<), but that doesn't mean we're satisfied with the way fundings or more specifically scholarships are allocated.

Of course people will move on with their lives.

zanyzephyr
25-05-2011, 08:55 AM
Baah its just how the society's mentality is thinking SPM=everything after that. It was like this before our generation and till someone actually does what acgerlok7 has suggested, nothing will change. It's all politics again. Matrics exist to help, *you know*. Then STPM is set to WAY SO HARD(back then, now its like A level equivalent, maybe a lil more) to pull down *you know*, although it was only elites who were allowed to Form 6 back then, the whole scenario seemed to be 180 degrees over. It's like Tom, Dick and Harry can enter Form 6, whats more form 6 seemed to be like the *dumping zone* for those who can't get matrics or into college. Seriously,ask all the juniors, at least 90% replied the same answer. Paradoxes of generations no?

And well, about A levels most scholars I know spend 2 years because of their *scholar* status. Others I'm not really sure. Honestly speaking, for STPM leavers the only thing we will and had learned over the 1.5 yrs in Form 6 is, we are on our own. Expectations on local universities is only held high provided you get 4.0 and 9.0(co-cu), and even that alone do not guarantee your entrance into the local universities for the courses you desire. That is because of the existence of matrics,diplomas and all sorts to protect *you know*. AS for foreign universities, most of the STPM leavers, I would say almost 50% opt for Singapore, closest and easiest in terms of fees and living due to the grant provided. Plus, ASEAN/Nanyang/CS scholarship which is awarded regardless of any sorta craps other than your academic and ECA qualifications.

Somehow I think I regretted a lil on not applying for ASEAN PRe-U back then. Should have gave it a try, at least no regrets.

Back to sending students to Form 6 as main stream pre-u. Lets face the facts, its gonna be a havoc. IT's too hard for *you know* and matrics is introduced to help them. And even last year there are parties who wanted to abolish STPM and make 1Malaysia 1 PRe-U, because STPM apparently is also too hard for the other *you know*. Only *you know* is left because of the kiasuness we are brought up since the dawn of our culture. And since college is so affordable right now, you think the colleges will allow their beloved clients to go? They will stop at no point to prevent these losses, and that includes saying STPM is this and that bla bla bla, I've been there, heard that. Ain't melodies from Eden, and I would most definitely tell those counsellors in their faces that STPM ain't any worse than A levels.

Owh well, comparision of A levels and STPM? Well, They are as good, and foreign universities do recognize both of them. The only cut line left is just howthe examinations of both programs are orientated. To choose what program after SPM? Well, apparently MCA thinks that SPM students with straight A+s only are capable enough to obtain scholarship even without interviews. Let them see how the scholars scum in the near future. It's just that the whole education is already messed up, and well people are given choices now. Those who can splurge they splurge in colleges and other institutions. But about awarding scholarships to Form 6, definitely something worth pondering about. Hey, if you are THAT smart, you should be able to handle STPM over A levels don't you?

twin
27-05-2011, 01:12 AM
2. The government knows the quality of teaching (of form 6) at some schools can be HORRIBLE (I can attest to that). So why would government want to send the creme de la creme (supposedly) to horrible institutions?

And because government do not have enough funds/determination/manpower to improve the quality of form 6, they can only send at least a portion of students (the scholars) to do pre-U elsewhere.

I doubt the government has insufficient manpower/funds to MAINTAIN form 6. There used to be a time when about 80k students took form 6. Are you telling me the government suddenly lacked teachers? Utterly ridiculous.

It's more likely that the government finds private institutions more profitable. U know like judging from the rates high-end colleges charge per student, they gotta be paying loads of income tax! Fishing all these investments from overseas unis to set up branches here is actually boosting our economy.

Why can't the Malaysian government be proud of form 6, or STPM? It's like Singapore. They make S'pore A Levels so attractive such that even overseas students wanna get in so badly. STPM is so the opposite. Who ask them to set the rule such that only Malaysians can enrol into form 6? (i think) Who ask them to not TRY and replace retired form 6 teachers? Who ask them to not invest more money n effort in trying to maintain our very own buatan Malaysian form 6?

Like what u said, the government lacks the determination to popularise form 6.

. It's like Tom, Dick and Harry can enter Form 6, whats more form 6 seemed to be like the *dumping zone* for those who can't get matrics or into college.

Yea, i get that idea too. It's like we were the residue from chem experiments. Hate it when people give me that face when i said 'i'm in form 6'

Back to sending students to Form 6 as main stream pre-u. Lets face the facts, its gonna be a havoc. IT's too hard for *you know* and matrics is introduced to help them. And even last year there are parties who wanted to abolish STPM and make 1Malaysia 1 PRe-U, because STPM apparently is also too hard for the other *you know*.

Oooh i love your sense of humour. HAHA Reading ur posts actually makes me LOL!

Actually, some of the *you know* are actually really really smart. It's just that many of them have been grabbed by JPA or MARA.

I would most definitely tell those counsellors in their faces that STPM ain't any worse than A levels.

After form 5, i went to seek advice from my school counselor. She indicated that STPM was no good and that if I had no financial issues, I should go to college.

I felt embarassed. It felt as if form 6 is for the poor and the unwanted.

What the heck! I still went to form 6 :):):):):):):):)

markwongsk
27-05-2011, 09:21 AM
I doubt the government has insufficient manpower/funds to MAINTAIN form 6. There used to be a time when about 80k students took form 6. Are you telling me the government suddenly lacked teachers? Utterly ridiculous.

It's more likely that the government finds private institutions more profitable. U know like judging from the rates high-end colleges charge per student, they gotta be paying loads of income tax! Fishing all these investments from overseas unis to set up branches here is actually boosting our economy.

Why can't the Malaysian government be proud of form 6, or STPM? It's like Singapore. They make S'pore A Levels so attractive such that even overseas students wanna get in so badly. STPM is so the opposite. Who ask them to set the rule such that only Malaysians can enrol into form 6? (i think) Who ask them to not TRY and replace retired form 6 teachers? Who ask them to not invest more money n effort in trying to maintain our very own buatan Malaysian form 6?

Like what u said, the government lacks the determination to popularise form 6.

Yea, i get that idea too. It's like we were the residue from chem experiments. Hate it when people give me that face when i said 'i'm in form 6'

Oooh i love your sense of humour. HAHA Reading ur posts actually makes me LOL!

Actually, some of the *you know* are actually really really smart. It's just that many of them have been grabbed by JPA or MARA.

After form 5, i went to seek advice from my school counselor. She indicated that STPM was no good and that if I had no financial issues, I should go to college.

I felt embarassed. It felt as if form 6 is for the poor and the unwanted.

What the heck! I still went to form 6 :):):):):):):):)

I totally understand how this feels like.

I actually got offered Petronas Scholarship to do overseas studies (2 year A-levels in KDU first) but I rejected it because I wanted to do form 6.

Guess what? Everyone was horrified at my decision.

I wanted to prove them wrong - that their ill misconceived notions of residues being dumped into form 6 is totally unfounded; that you can still get into a good university by going through form 6; that you can still get a scholarship after form 6. I think I've managed to prove them wrong in these 3 parts :)

leeashroe
27-05-2011, 11:53 AM
I totally understand how this feels like.

I actually got offered Petronas Scholarship to do overseas studies (2 year A-levels in KDU first) but I rejected it because I wanted to do form 6.

Guess what? Everyone was horrified at my decision.

I wanted to prove them wrong - that their ill misconceived notions of residues being dumped into form 6 is totally unfounded; that you can still get into a good university by going through form 6; that you can still get a scholarship after form 6. I think I've managed to prove them wrong in these 3 parts :)

I seriously respect you for making such decision! You go and prove them wrong!! :))

Penelope
27-05-2011, 12:15 PM
Baah its just how the society's mentality is thinking SPM=everything after that. It was like this before our generation and till someone actually does what acgerlok7 has suggested, nothing will change. It's all politics again. Matrics exist to help, *you know*. Then STPM is set to WAY SO HARD(back then, now its like A level equivalent, maybe a lil more) to pull down *you know*, although it was only elites who were allowed to Form 6 back then, the whole scenario seemed to be 180 degrees over. It's like Tom, Dick and Harry can enter Form 6, whats more form 6 seemed to be like the *dumping zone* for those who can't get matrics or into college. Seriously,ask all the juniors, at least 90% replied the same answer. Paradoxes of generations no?

And well, about A levels most scholars I know spend 2 years because of their *scholar* status. Others I'm not really sure. Honestly speaking, for STPM leavers the only thing we will and had learned over the 1.5 yrs in Form 6 is, we are on our own. Expectations on local universities is only held high provided you get 4.0 and 9.0(co-cu), and even that alone do not guarantee your entrance into the local universities for the courses you desire. That is because of the existence of matrics,diplomas and all sorts to protect *you know*. AS for foreign universities, most of the STPM leavers, I would say almost 50% opt for Singapore, closest and easiest in terms of fees and living due to the grant provided. Plus, ASEAN/Nanyang/CS scholarship which is awarded regardless of any sorta craps other than your academic and ECA qualifications.

Somehow I think I regretted a lil on not applying for ASEAN PRe-U back then. Should have gave it a try, at least no regrets.

Back to sending students to Form 6 as main stream pre-u. Lets face the facts, its gonna be a havoc. IT's too hard for *you know* and matrics is introduced to help them. And even last year there are parties who wanted to abolish STPM and make 1Malaysia 1 PRe-U, because STPM apparently is also too hard for the other *you know*. Only *you know* is left because of the kiasuness we are brought up since the dawn of our culture. And since college is so affordable right now, you think the colleges will allow their beloved clients to go? They will stop at no point to prevent these losses, and that includes saying STPM is this and that bla bla bla, I've been there, heard that. Ain't melodies from Eden, and I would most definitely tell those counsellors in their faces that STPM ain't any worse than A levels.

Owh well, comparision of A levels and STPM? Well, They are as good, and foreign universities do recognize both of them. The only cut line left is just howthe examinations of both programs are orientated. To choose what program after SPM? Well, apparently MCA thinks that SPM students with straight A+s only are capable enough to obtain scholarship even without interviews. Let them see how the scholars scum in the near future. It's just that the whole education is already messed up, and well people are given choices now. Those who can splurge they splurge in colleges and other institutions. But about awarding scholarships to Form 6, definitely something worth pondering about. Hey, if you are THAT smart, you should be able to handle STPM over A levels don't you?

Malays are that stupid huh? Cannot even go through STPM. Ever heard of Sekolah Sains Seremban now known as Sek Tuanku Munawir.

Cactus
27-05-2011, 05:21 PM
Malays are that stupid huh? Cannot even go through STPM. Ever heard of Sekolah Sains Seremban now known as Sek Tuanku Munawir.

No, never heard of.

But I dislike the stereotyping nevertheless.

joan2468
27-05-2011, 05:56 PM
No, never heard of.

But I dislike the stereotyping nevertheless.

They're supposed to be some of the highest-ranking schools in Malaysia, I think.

Being a Malay myself, I don't see the general population as stupid per se, rather they are too used to being spoonfed, too used to having crutches and unwilling to attempt to walk without them. It makes them lazy to the point that they simply can't see a reason to put more effort into the things they do. We are not all like this, but it does seem that many of them are, and I say all of this merely judging by the fact that there are only 4 Malays in 5 Alpha at SBU - the top form 5 class.

Cactus
27-05-2011, 06:04 PM
They're supposed to be some of the highest-ranking schools in Malaysia, I think.

Being a Malay myself, I don't see the general population as stupid per se, rather they are too used to being spoonfed, too used to having crutches and unwilling to attempt to walk without them. It makes them lazy to the point that they simply can't see a reason to put more effort into the things they do. We are not all like this, but it does seem that many of them are, and I say all of this merely judging by the fact that there are only 4 Malays in 5 Alpha at SBU - the top form 5 class.

Thank you for telling me about the school.

Anyway, for the record, I never said Malays as a race or community are stupid.

joan2468
27-05-2011, 06:16 PM
Thank you for telling me about the school.

Anyway, for the record, I never said Malays as a race or community are stupid.

Yes, I know you didn't :) I just wanted to add my 10 cents.

zanyzephyr
27-05-2011, 08:25 PM

I wouldn't use "stupid" to describe our friend. As a matter of fact in my year the best all rounder student from my school was a Malay, though he was half chinese and half indian, but Muslim so he became a Malay XD.

Like Joan has said, spoonfeeding has made most of the population to depend too much on the government in supporting them. As minorities of course we surely understood that its their constitutional right, and our predecessors like Tan Cheng Lock has already agreed to that since the dawn of the constitution. But that doesn't mean that they can abuse the right, like how most politicians are doing right now.

The thing is, there are a small percentage of new gen Malay friends of mine are aware of this problem, and heck they are creams also. The thing is most of the colony are also aware of the problem, yet refuse to step out of their comfort zone bubble. They sure work hard, but albeit the fact that they are just average students, they were still given scholarships, and when they are competing with top notch elites, they lose out and return to Malaysia. I remember one senior who was in UNSW stated that, but I forgotten who *im so sorry!!!* And we still have people like Ibrahim Ali who still lives in the 1960s thinking that 67% of the Malay majorities should be given 67% of the scholarships.

Look, it has been at least 40 years since the DEB has been launched. There are plenty of Malays who are capable enough to fund themselves without the extra privileges given by the government. Why can't they shift the focus to the rural ones, and start developing them. Of course its easier to be said than done, but its a suggestion, the least the government can do is try and plan something.

My friend from Singapore prompted me lil. He said, it has been like that since forever right? And what pushed you Chinese to work even harder? The exact phenomenon. And do you think the race who are being stripped partially of the constitutional right they have enjoyed just like that after 40 years will leave it there and then? We know very well.

Okay off topic.

Anyway, been through STPM. I'm sure there are Malay 4.0 out there, but the percentage is just way too small compared to Chinese or Indian because what we have to go through as the minorities and failure to enter matrics. It's okay, STPM is not only as good, its better. All my friends, even those who got A*s in A levels were uber and better, saluting me for having the courage to take on STPM, a course none of them ever flashed into before.

STPM still have a certain respectable perks, even more when you have aced it well. People do look up to you, even foreigners. So yea, STPM to go.

sugan
27-05-2011, 10:57 PM
on paper , stpm is as good as a levels, however, there is some miscellaneous problems.

a) growing number of schools open class for stpm ( so, teachers are 'promoted" to teach stpm)
b) decreasing number of student
c) decreasing number of teacher especially experienced ones (
d) lack of advertising (just compare with 'private' a level colleges)
e) lack of exposure to opportunities apart of IPTA
f) stereotype ( dump ground , no money, )
g) seriously, the syllabus is not for everyone ( u get my point)
h) there are many courses but not offered in schools, have to take by ourself.( many are not willing to take the risk ,even though it maybe their passion)
i)lack of pulling factor ( uniform, no oversea scholarships, lack of diversity in cocu activites)

sometimes , I just wish that our PM and education minister reads this forum.

JUst wish at least someone important reads it.

by the way, i m a stpm-er
GLASS WATER PIPES (http://glassgallery.tumblr.com/bubblers/)

twin
27-05-2011, 11:59 PM

As far as i rmb, thoughout my schooling years in SBU there is supposed to be a quota for each class right? How is it possible that the school admin allow 5 Alpha to be dominantly non-malays? I know that the quota system puts many of us at a disadvantage, but that system only made me work harder to stay in the 1st class.

I feel that EVERYONE of us are used to being spoonfed (products of our education system). And this is the main reason we are all expecting a scholarship from JPA IF we perform above average whether in SPM or STPM. We are so used to see ppl getting scholarships n somehow it becomes a norm to expect one for yourself too.

Look, it has been at least 40 years since the DEB has been launched. There are plenty of Malays who are capable enough to fund themselves without the extra privileges given by the government. Why can't they shift the focus to the rural ones, and start developing them. Of course its easier to be said than done, but its a suggestion, the least the government can do is try and plan something.

We can hope for change, but i dont see it feasible in the near future considering the top guns in our country are the ones that have been privileged. What other country states that the prime minister must be of a certain race and religion in the federal constitution? Unless we become a mature society like US n have a candidate like obama in the future.

STPM still have a certain respectable perks, even more when you have aced it well. People do look up to you, even foreigners. So yea, STPM to go.

Yeap, i must say that STPM makes ppl go WOW.

But i have seen MANNNNY people going like "huh? what is STPM" in KL n PJ. It's really sad to see ppl completely unaware of form 6 in msia. Some just jump into the conclusion that "she meant SPM n she only said it with a T in it". So unless u hv kids or relatives that r soon approaching 18, many ppl dont even know the existance of f6 (considering f6 has almost no publicity).

joan2468
28-05-2011, 12:05 AM
As far as i rmb, thoughout my schooling years in SBU there is supposed to be a quota for each class right? How is it possible that the school admin allow 5 Alpha to be dominantly non-malays? I know that the quota system puts many of us at a disadvantage, but that system only made me work harder to stay in the 1st class.

Yes, there USED to be a racial quota - but that changed when a new principal, Pn. Che Hasnah joined our school. She scrapped the racial quota so that students who actually deserved to be in 1st class could make it into the 1st class. And the result...out of 35 students in 5 Alpha, 4 are Malays and the rest are Chinese and Indian. We love to make fun of this statistic.

twin
28-05-2011, 12:36 AM
Yes, there USED to be a racial quota - but that changed when a new principal, Pn. Che Hasnah joined our school. She scrapped the racial quota so that students who actually deserved to be in 1st class could make it into the 1st class. And the result...out of 35 students in 5 Alpha, 4 are Malays and the rest are Chinese and Indian. We love to make fun of this statistic.

Oh my god! I never thought this day would come! :) This new principal is really open eh? I'm starting to love her already!

Anyways, back then, when the racial quota was important, top 15-20 of the class were all chinese. The remaining, u know la.

However, I don't think Che Hasnah's move is right. Abolishing racial quota will not help the Malays, more so, what bout UNITY? U can't let a whole bunch of chinese dominate the class. Everybody will be clique-ish.

sometimes , I just wish that our PM and education minister reads this forum.

Hey I'm hoping the PM or DPM will read the Star. And all the letters to editor. (I mean, this was in the Star! But unfortunately when Najib was in Washington)

PM has twitter and fb. Writing to him does no good. At least Wee Ka Siong responds to tweets.

joan2468
28-05-2011, 12:42 AM
Oh my god! I never thought this day would come! :) This new principal is really open eh? I'm starting to love her already!

Anyways, back then, when the racial quota was important, top 15-20 of the class were all chinese. The remaining, u know la.

However, I don't think Che Hasnah's move is right. Abolishing racial quota will not help the Malays, more so, what bout UNITY? U can't let a whole bunch of chinese dominate the class. Everybody will be clique-ish.

Everybody was clique-ish even before she scrapped the quota, so it really doesn't make much of a difference, just that it now makes first classes almost 10x more competitive than they were back when the quota was still used. In fact I think it's doing something good to our unity, everyone talks to each other in class and mixes around a lot regardless of race.

twin
28-05-2011, 10:44 PM
STPM holders deserve scholarships

EVERY year almost 500,000 students sit for SPM exams, but only about 10% of these continue to do their STPM.

The other 90% either go for Matriculation/Foundation/A-level, locally or overseas, enter vocational schools or join the workforce.

As a matter of fact, our STPM standard is very high and we should be proud that the certificate is globally recognised.

Therefore, those students who have scored 5As and 4As deserve to be given due consideration for automatic scholarships to pursue further studies in our local universities or abroad.

STPM high scorers are usually not many because whether we want to admit it or not, STPM exams are, indeed, very tough.

Perhaps, this is one of the reasons why a lot of SPM graduates shy away from taking it as it is extremely difficult to score a string of As at this level.

At the moment, some of these STPM high achievers are anxiously waiting to get into local universities. Hopefully, come this July their wish will be happily fulfilled.

IN PRAISE OF STPM,
Petaling Jaya.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/5/27/focus/8766023&sec=focus

Some good samaritan wrote this! :D

joan2468
28-05-2011, 10:48 PM
All this talk of how tough STPM is makes me want to take it myself, I like the idea of the challenge :D I'm thinking about becoming a Dietitian. I hope my parents don't make me take Matriculation instead though - no offense, but I dislike that Matriculation Centers are in more out-of-the-way areas and its distinct lack of glamour to the qualification :P

Cactus
07-06-2011, 02:20 PM
All this talk of how tough STPM is makes me want to take it myself, I like the idea of the challenge :D I'm thinking about becoming a Dietitian. I hope my parents don't make me take Matriculation instead though - no offense, but I dislike that Matriculation Centers are in more out-of-the-way areas and its distinct lack of glamour to the qualification :P

I despise the fact that you don't get to combine the subjects more freely as you could if you take STPM.

e.g. No Science subjects + Economics/languages etc for Matriks.

I think the subject combinations we have (regardless of STPM or matriks) is so career-oriented (e.g. want medicine take bio, want engineering ah, take physics la) that I personally find it a bit disgusting to have myself "in the system" sometimes.

markwongsk
07-06-2011, 02:43 PM
I despise the fact that you don't get to combine the subjects more freely as you could if you take STPM.

e.g. No Science subjects + Economics/languages etc for Matriks.

I think the subject combinations we have (regardless of STPM or matriks) is so career-oriented (e.g. want medicine take bio, want engineering ah, take physics la) that I personally find it a bit disgusting to have myself "in the system" sometimes.

-.- I despised the fact that you couldn't take six subjects... I wanted to do triple science double math but of course cannot because you need to do PA -.-

AngelColdplay
07-06-2011, 03:10 PM

Saser is famous in Seremban and is the top school for SPM for many consecutive years. It's an all-boys school and 99% malay. Every race is capable of soaring to great heights with the right attitude.
Logic: It's just that the population of malays are more compared to the other races, hence there are more mediocre students(protrayed to not be able to survive STPM).

07-06-2011, 03:46 PM
Saser is famous in Seremban and is the top school for SPM for many consecutive years. It's an all-boys school and 99% malay. Every race is capable of soaring to great heights with the right attitude.
Logic: It's just that the population of malays are more compared to the other races, hence there are more mediocre students(protrayed to not be able to survive STPM).

SASER has been topping the list as the best SBP school in Malaysia for more than 3 years consequtively now! Even my school (ASiS) also failed to beat SASER until now, although still considered as one of the Top 5 best SBP schools. There are quite a number of smart Malays during my year, and it's not really surprising.

And to add on the bold statement, most of the smart Malays would have been grabbed by the scholarships institutions after SPM, so probably would not even choose STPM in the first place, judging from the fact that STPM deemed to be the last alternative for them.

In the end of the day, only mediocre and poor Malays will opt for STPM and hence the mediocre result.