View Full Version : Can add RSS Feature?
12-12-2004, 08:45 AM
Hello amazing ReCom developers...
Is it possible to add RSS Feed in this ReCom? I miss ReCom so much so that I would like to know the latest threads and replies at the real time. :-D
12-12-2004, 08:52 AM
Hello amazing ReCom developers...
Is it possible to add RSS Feed in this ReCom? I miss ReCom so much so that I would like to know the latest threads and replies at the real time. :-D
Thanks Youngyew for the suggestion. We'll see what we can do this winter break. RecomRSS sounds good.
side note:
the kid who co-authored RSS 1.0 specs lives in my dorm :P
http://www.aaronsw.com/
20-02-2005, 10:45 PM
side note:
the kid who co-authored RSS 1.0 specs lives in my dorm :P
http://www.aaronsw.com/
At the age of 14???? 8O
kucingbiru
20-02-2005, 11:01 PM
eer, what is RSS?
20-02-2005, 11:33 PM
eer, what is RSS?
http://computer.howstuffworks.com/rss-feeds.htm
Is it possible to add RSS for a forum?? :roll:
youngyew, if we are to implement RSS to ReCom, what would you like us to put in there? I don't think we at ReCom produce any weekly articles or documents except for ReMag. For forum? How? For every post? for latest post in the threads? for new threads only?. Mmmm .. I wonder how are we going to fill ReCom RSS, should it become reality. Any idea? Anyone?
To implement RSS is not really a tough quest. I'm willing to do it but first, we need to do some planning. Hope to hear some feedbacks :)
21-02-2005, 02:10 AM
youngyew, if we are to implement RSS to ReCom, what would you like us to put in there? I don't think we at ReCom produce any weekly articles or documents except for ReMag. For forum? How? For every post? for latest post in the threads? for new threads only?. Mmmm .. I wonder how are we going to fill ReCom RSS, should it become reality. Any idea? Anyone?
To implement RSS is not really a tough quest. I'm willing to do it but first, we need to do some planning. Hope to hear some feedbacks :)
I think forum is the only thing here that is suitable for RSS. Is it possible to create RSS feed for each section of the forum? Like Malaysia Today, Windows to the world....etc...SIGs...etc....and readers can subcribe to any one they like.
21-02-2005, 07:00 AM
I think it would be good to take the way RSS is implemented a bit from slashdot.org and another from blogosphere...
1. Title and full message of the First post of new threads in the forum.
2. Ditto for individual section (education, computers etc)
3. Notification of new replies in a thead. (Number of replies would suffice, but everyone would be very happy for full texts if it's feasible. But I am afraid that if the use of the aggregator is widespread, then it would cause overload to the server.)
4. Announcement from ReCom anchors (if there's any)
5. Announcement for other sections like creative corner etc. (but i'm afraid that these are dormant so there's no point)
That's all I can think of right now. Anyone with any other suggestions?
21-02-2005, 07:05 AM
Oh ya, a bit off tangent, but would it be possible to implement a "reply notification" specific to someone? For example, when luke were posting that message that points to me, all I got is just a notification of "the thread that you are watching (RSS blah blah) has got new replies". But I have no idea that the new posts are related to me, and in the case of extinguished interest about the thread, I would be ignorant to that question from luke.
So is it possible for something like, when luke is asking a question to ME, luke can choose to "ping" me and I will receive an email like "luke has asked you a question in ReCom 'RSS blah blah thread', please visit the forum to reply"?
That would be very useful to keep the forum livelier.
Oh ya, a bit off tangent, but would it be possible to implement a "reply notification" specific to someone? For example, when luke were posting that message that points to me, all I got is just a notification of "the thread that you are watching (RSS blah blah) has got new replies". But I have no idea that the new posts are related to me, and in the case of extinguished interest about the thread, I would be ignorant to that question from luke.
Mmmm ... there's no such feature as far as I know but there is this "watch this topic for reply" link near the bottom of the discussion page (under the "Page X of Y" bolded text). To tell the truth, I have never used it in ReCom but let's try it out now, shall we? I just clicked that link and it said that I am watching this topic. I'm not sure what it will do if someone posts a reply but we are about to discover it very soon :)
So is it possible for something like, when luke is asking a question to ME, luke can choose to "ping" me and I will receive an email like "luke has asked you a question in ReCom 'RSS blah blah thread', please visit the forum to reply"?
That would be very useful to keep the forum livelier.
If you want to ask a question to a specific person, there's no need to create a new discussion for it. phpBB forum (the forum system ReCom uses) came with private messaging system. To access it, simply click at the link "No new messages" just below the small heading "ReCom.org - Worldwide Malaysian Student Network: Forums" near the top of the page.
If you plan to ask a question to a specific person but you want to get some feedbacks from others as well, just post the question in the forum (create a new discussion, or continue an existing one) and PM that person you have in mind to inform him/her about your post (e.g provide link to the question)
21-02-2005, 10:26 AM
Mmmm ... there's no such feature as far as I know but there is this "watch this topic for reply" link near the bottom of the discussion page (under the "Page X of Y" bolded text). To tell the truth, I have never used it in ReCom but let's try it out now, shall we? I just clicked that link and it said that I am watching this topic. I'm not sure what it will do if someone posts a reply but we are about to discover it very soon :)
The "watch topic" feature is what I meant above, i.e. an email notification for new replies in a thread after your last visit.
Anyway, thanks for your prompt reply. What do you think of the 6 possible RSS implementations I suggested? Do you think that they are impracticle?
What do you think of the 6 possible RSS implementations I suggested? Do you think that they are impracticle?
No, I think they are quite reasonable. But to tell the truth, if I were to code the implementation from scratch, it would be time-consuming and probably full of bugs :P so I'm thinking of using already-made mods that other people have made. If you already set an eye on a mod you found other forums are using, please let us know. We could install it on ReCom.
21-02-2005, 11:56 AM
What do you think of the 6 possible RSS implementations I suggested? Do you think that they are impracticle?
No, I think they are quite reasonable. But to tell the truth, if I were to code the implementation from scratch, it would be time-consuming and probably full of bugs :P so I'm thinking of using already-made mods that other people have made. If you already set an eye on a mod you found other forums are using, please let us know. We could install it on ReCom.
I am sorry that I can't help on this, because I don't use forums other than ReCom. :(
04-03-2005, 04:10 AM
InternshipAsia forum has RSS feature...maybe you can have a look at it?
flibbertigibbet
03-04-2005, 12:07 PM
Just found another forum with RSS feature which can be used as reference.
http://forums.feedburner.com/
Are ReCom developers still working on this?
By the way, I tried to access the InternshipAsia forum but it just linked me back to the ReCom forum, which is without the RSS feature.
03-04-2005, 05:54 PM
we have a lack of community involvement over in IA...so I thought why not redirect the visitors to ReCom instead?
anyway, you can access it here:
http://www.internshipasia.com/forum/
it's just a mod, search it on google & you can find it pretty easily
On the subjects of feeds, it'd be great if there're feeds for each users so that I can stalk a person's posts if I want to.
Even better if there is some sort of "search feed" where i can plug in some keywords and the site will generate a link to a feed with the keywords
27-06-2006, 09:41 AM
On the subjects of feeds, it'd be great if there're feeds for each users so that I can stalk a person's posts if I want to.
Even better if there is some sort of "search feed" where i can plug in some keywords and the site will generate a link to a feed with the keywords
hmm... i think this will make the server work to it's limits if implemented...
lol i know. but still it would be fun wouldn't it? :twisted:
27-06-2006, 04:27 PM
haha...it might... but i don't think waiting 5 mins for a page to load over a high speed connection is fun,,, :P :twisted:
27-06-2006, 09:38 PM
you can actually create your own using ponyfish.com
e.g. i have here vseehua's posts as an rss feed:
http://www.ponyfish.com/feeds/4613YiHfEdmy
and this is how you do it, click on the button under the signature that says 'profile' for the user that you wanna 'stalk'.
then, search for the link that says "Find all posts by {username}" and click it, you'll arrive in a page which lists down all the posts by the user from the latest to the oldest.
1. Copy the address, then proceed to ponyfish.com
2. Click on 'Create a feed now'
3. Enter the URL address you copied just now in the field provided.
4. A new page will load within a frame, and all you have to do now is click on all the topic titles for the page (> 3) so that the webapp can learn the pattern.
5. Now, you'll reach a page that shows a code like this (example, might differ for yours):
modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=*1*&highlight=
What you'll need to do is click on the number between viewtopic&t and &highlight so it becomes like this:
modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=***&highlight=
6. When you've done that, a feed will be generated and you can just copy the address to your feed reader.
27-06-2006, 11:44 PM
walao...use my posts as referene pulak... wonder who is so interested in stalking the ghost...
28-06-2006, 04:42 AM
lol, you can test the tutorial by creating mine