View Full Version : Monash University Sunway Campus - Chat thread

jessica9310
25-05-2011, 08:54 PM
Hi guys, I am one of the JPA scholars who is going to study MUFY in Sunway campus for one year and will continue studying Medicine in Monash University(Malaysia) for five years. It seems like there are less recommers here who will be going to Monash University Sunway Campus compared to INTEC, KTT and so on. Any recommers or guests who are/will be going to Sunway campus, please feel free to chat here.:) By the way, according to Monash University official website, it is compulsory for final year students to go to Australia for three months for clinical rotation, is that true?:huh

callmeH
22-11-2011, 06:54 PM
hello,true it seems that there are less monash recommers here.me too a jpa scholar,will be doing bioscience in coming feb.is there any new student or senior who can help with enquiries?

23-11-2011, 05:41 PM
I am here! And I have bunch of friends who are JPA Scholars doing BioMed/Engineering/Medicine/Commerce!

LOL

Hi guys, I am one of the JPA scholars who is going to study MUFY in Sunway campus for one year and will continue studying Medicine in Monash University(Malaysia) for five years. It seems like there are less recommers here who will be going to Monash University Sunway Campus compared to INTEC, KTT and so on. Any recommers or guests who are/will be going to Sunway campus, please feel free to chat here.:) By the way, according to Monash University official website, it is compulsory for final year students to go to Australia for three months for clinical rotation, is that true?:huh

Yes, it's compulsory. JPA officers said that they will fully sponsored all JPA Scholars for the entire 3 months.

jessica9310
28-11-2011, 04:00 PM
hello,true it seems that there are less monash recommers here.me too a jpa scholar,will be doing bioscience in coming feb.is there any new student or senior who can help with enquiries?

Oh hi, are you MUFY student? hmm..I'm kinda confused now as all of us, I mean the July intake one, will only enter Monash in either July 2012 or Feb 2013! :amazed

I am here! And I have bunch of friends who are JPA Scholars doing BioMed/Engineering/Medicine/Commerce!

LOL

Yes, it's compulsory. JPA officers said that they will fully sponsored all JPA Scholars for the entire 3 months.

LOL! Yea, the Monash people did tell us about it during the Monash Information Week!:)

callmeH
01-12-2011, 07:18 PM
no i'm not a MUFY student.I did alevel before and now waiting for feb 2012 intake.

jessica9310
07-12-2011, 10:41 AM
no i'm not a MUFY student.I did alevel before and now waiting for feb 2012 intake.

Oh i see:) Hmm..actually I have a senior doing Bachelor of Science(July 2011 intake one) but I don't think she's a recom member. Maybe I can give you her email address if you want or you can pm me your email address. :)

zstan90
28-12-2011, 10:12 PM

LOL

don't think it's enough to cover living cost though..

jessica9310
29-12-2011, 09:27 PM
don't think it's enough to cover living cost though..

Yea true!:( Food is damn expensive in Australia, gonna spend money on transportation, books some more... Hmm..As far as I know, JPA will give about RM 960 per month allowance(if I'm not mistaken) for medic students but that does not include accommodation. Not sure whether they will increase our allowance during the three months clinical rotation in Australia.. JPA people are smart, arent they?:notrust But at least something is better than nothing :P

zstan90
30-12-2011, 12:24 AM
Yea true!:( Food is damn expensive in Australia, gonna spend money on transportation, books some more... Hmm..As far as I know, JPA will give about RM 960 per month allowance(if I'm not mistaken) for medic students but that does not include accommodation. Not sure whether they will increase our allowance during the three months clinical rotation in Australia.. JPA people are smart, arent they?:notrust But at least something is better than nothing :P

rm960 can even pay your one week's rent i guess! D: not very sure how they allocate the money. it's that your parents save up some money too.

Vaan
03-01-2012, 04:04 PM
Hi, I am a JPA scholar and doin medicine in Monash university sunway campus.

Yea, during your last year ie 5th year, you will go for one semester to Australia for clinical rotation. When you going depends on what group you are segregated to. But Dun forget during your 3rd year onwards you will have to migrate to Johor Bahru first.

However,in addition to your one semester spent in Australia during 5th year, you can also apply to study for one year in Australia (like campus exchange programme) at any year during your medicine course. JPA allow coz the fees will be still in malaysian ringgit but allowance will be still the same (which will not be enuf once converted to aussie dollar - so you have to use your parents money for rent, food and etc.)

For the one sem compulsory thingy during 5th year in Australia. NO - JPA will not fully sponsor you, the allowance money is still same BUT luckily Monash Australia medical faculty will give Monash university Sunway campus students some money when they come to aussie which is enuf to last for one sem in aussie.

Anymore questions feel free to ask or pm me. Yea, I agree there are few JPA recommers goin to Monash. I know some in recom but not active coz bein a monash students apart from business course students, I could say life is pretty packed with assignments and exams.

zanyzephyr
03-01-2012, 04:20 PM
I was a STPMer 2011 and have already received full offer for MBBS Monash Sunway for February 2012 on parents. The problem for me now is I'm already doing vet in UPM for rm20k 5 yrs, I'm not sure if I want to continue with the rm450k 5 yrs MBBS in Monash.

Is the accreditation of Monash Sunway still looking good in the Sultan Aminah Hospital in JB? According to Dr Pagavalan the hospital is being warned and if the standard is not up to par, the AMC will revoke their recognition. That is when we are going to have problem getting jobs in 5 yrs time.

With the saturation around, I'm not sure if I'm keen to take up the exhausting degree.

day_dreamer
03-01-2012, 06:11 PM
I was a STPMer 2011 and have already received full offer for MBBS Monash Sunway for February 2012 on parents. The problem for me now is I'm already doing vet in UPM for rm20k 5 yrs, I'm not sure if I want to continue with the rm450k 5 yrs MBBS in Monash.

Is the accreditation of Monash Sunway still looking good in the Sultan Aminah Hospital in JB? According to Dr Pagavalan the hospital is being warned and if the standard is not up to par, the AMC will revoke their recognition. That is when we are going to have problem getting jobs in 5 yrs time.

With the saturation around, I'm not sure if I'm keen to take up the exhausting degree.

Wow.. Is this source of yours reliable ? Cause it sounds really serious ..

zanyzephyr
27-01-2012, 10:03 PM
Wow.. Is this source of yours reliable ? Cause it sounds really serious ..

Quite. He was with monash for 4 years, and he is the HOD of Rheumatology in Columbia Hospital JB. Dr. Pagavalan Letchumanan. He's quite the famous critic in the medicine field on various problems.