View Full Version : ReMag 6

13-12-2004, 03:19 AM
Any idea on what we should focus on?

13-12-2004, 09:58 AM
Reformation of Education System of Malaysia?

13-12-2004, 01:18 PM
what makes you think we're qualified to talk about that?

13-12-2004, 01:37 PM
I am thinking that it would be Students Perspectives on that issue.

Any other thoughts on other topics?

13-12-2004, 11:58 PM
Dry... too dry...

When is ReMag 6's target publishing date? Can it be more cultural? 8)

14-12-2004, 01:05 AM
I'm thinking something less of a heavy subject.

ReMag 5's topic is too heavy and we ended up having 2 articles on the subject and 3 on misc stuff.

14-12-2004, 12:40 PM
how bout and article on how to make science fun and meaningful for primary school students?

14-12-2004, 01:49 PM
Dry... too dry...

When is ReMag 6's target publishing date? Can it be more cultural? 8)

march 31st. And sure it can be more cultural. Do you have any thing in mind in particular?

sanghanuman
17-12-2004, 02:33 AM
I was thinking of something like identity issues for students who study abroad but it is too focused on a specific group. Hmm.

Maybe .. after-secondary-school programs? we can talk about what we have in Malaysia (or abroad), and we want to have (ideas about cool programs or information on other things that we could be interested in doing)..

Language? How learning language influences our life,.. or political issues on language in Malaysia. Tsk.. maybe too political.

Youth and money? How to manage money..or how to be prudent from now to help us in future. What are the things about money that we should know?

I'll think of more.

serenete
29-12-2004, 04:19 PM
If we knew exactly who we were talking to/with, that might make it easier to think of topics, because both groups face slightly different problems.

I like the idea of managing money, which will always be something students will have to consider. Time management, study vs play, exam management, all these things will be pertinent for as long as we are students.

I'd agree that big-picture topics are not very sexy, such as the reformation of the education system one, they do deserve a place in issues, but not all the time. And for that for thoroughness it would be good to get the views of educators and policy-makers (plus parents), not just that of students, too. It would be good for a dialogue kind of story, that stretches across issues, rather than opinion pieces.

Just a thought.

:idea: serenete

25-01-2005, 05:15 PM
Aight people.

Since ReMag 5 is out of the way for the time being, let's move to the next issue.

I believe April should be a good deadline for the next issue.

And we still have the Op-Ed section which ReMag 5 has proven, to be a tough one.

Right now, for Od-Ed. the suggestions are

1. Reformation of Education System of Malaysia (chenchow)
2. something more cultural (hmmm.... needs more hint on it jiinjoo)
3. making science fun (digi)
4. identity issue (sanghanuman)
5. after-secondary-school programs (sanghanuman)
6. languange (sanghanuman again)
7. Youth and money (guess who)

I'm a big fan of language from a political perspective but that might be hard. Identity issue might be of an easier subject.

Let's vote. You can vote more than one but please don't vote all of it. That sort of defeats the purpose of taking votes.

sno
26-01-2005, 05:07 PM
hi
i jus finished form 5. i love to write n would like to help with remag (if possible)

can anyone tell me what does it take to be a remag writer??

27-01-2005, 02:00 PM
can anyone tell me what does it take to be a remag writer??access to a computer (to type and email your contribution).:)

27-01-2005, 03:02 PM
Write about the "malaysian dream"

27-01-2005, 03:07 PM
I think heavy stuff is good. That's why we're here. To produce something that blow people's mind.

I know it's hard. But I think we can try to come up with something that is really hot, so hot that we're restless to read more.

Maybe this time, we can take some other angle. I think the identity crisis and,money, making science fun, and hence reform of education can all be combined to make it more cultural.

Here's how it works.

Let's take this scenario.

A student who didn't get offered scholarship feel discriminted against his/her counterpart. He went on to finance everything on the dad and mom's pocket money,studying something that he really loves, let say Music.

Another , did get scholarship, and don't really feel discriminated. He's hardworking, and he finally got to enter his dream engineering school (whatever it is.)

Another student, got offered scholarship from government to study medicine. But she couldn't rejected the scholarship because of the pressure from family, although it's against his/her will.

Identity crisis?. Yes. Maybe education system that make us think in one way, not being diversed and well equipped enough?. Don't have trust on public university, that's why we want so badly to get out of the country to learn? Maybe yes. Cultural? maybe doctor sounds like promising occupation, rather than artist.

Money?. Definitely. The SPM leavers most frequent question that leads to scholarship.

Do all science students really interested in science?. maybe we can make it more artistic.
Make it a play. Or something....

I think, if we can find a word to describe this theme, that theme is quite good. Or maybe we can spare some of the for the next ReMag.

27-01-2005, 03:46 PM

I need further explanation on this. I'm not sure what malaysian dream is. Do you mean, what malaysians are trying achieve or something like that?

sno
27-01-2005, 04:16 PM
i've two topics to suggest:

1. how much do students really need handphones?
my sis has been carrying a phone since form 1, whereas my fren studying overseas tol me she doesn have a phone.. with cell phone radiations n all, i think how much do we really depend on handphones can b a potential topic to work on

2. since so many recommers are studying overseas.... mayb u all can write bout how u celebrate festivals away from home.... since chinese new year is around the corner... or even better... jus include some pics to spice up remag............??

27-01-2005, 09:27 PM

I need further explanation on this. I'm not sure what malaysian dream is. Do you mean, what malaysians are trying achieve or something like that?

I think more on the, what is there in Malaysia for malaysian and what Malaysian are making out of it,
or stories of successful Malaysians? Be it in sports, Academia, or Bussiness,
Or write about how malaysians needs one common dream. For an example, better intergration.

28-01-2005, 02:03 AM
I am more of an opinion, of us having a theme, where there would be a number of articles focusing on that issue, and then, there would be other articles on other issues, that would allow those who are not too interested in those issues, to get interested too.

Any of those topic suggested would be a good one to write on.

Perhaps we should get ReComers to commit themselves to write. Everyone is welcome, and as topdog says, you only need access to a computer, with word processing capability and an email...yeah, plus a motivation to write...So, post the topic you wish to write and write it...

Those people waiting for results, this could be a useful pastime.

sno
28-01-2005, 03:11 AM

Perhaps we should get ReComers to commit themselves to write. Everyone is welcome, and as topdog says, you only need access to a computer, with word processing capability and an email...yeah, plus a motivation to write...So, post the topic you wish to write and write it...

um i need some help on this idea......

how much do students really need handphones?

i mean.....should i conduct a survey? coz i have some questions on my mind....jus that i am not really sure who i should direct them to

28-01-2005, 05:39 AM
i mean.....should i conduct a survey? coz i have some questions on my mind....jus that i am not really sure who i should direct them to

Well, if you want to write it, you don't really need a survey. Just use your rationale. But if you could include some stats, that would be could but isn't necessary.

I am more of an opinion, of us having a theme, where there would be a number of articles focusing on that issue, and then, there would be other articles on other issues, that would allow those who are not too interested in those issues, to get interested too.

Actually, we are trying to do just that. Right now, it's a matter of reaching consensus on which topic we should concentrate on.

It's true. We could solicitate them personally. And I've poked a few already.

31-01-2005, 02:42 PM
i know one.

How about the existence of god and religious tolerance? The issue is currently hot in recom and so, I imagine there will be ppl that would want to contribute to it.

12-02-2005, 02:40 PM
this sort of lagging and time is running out. If we fail to decide on a topic by monday's end, I'll choose it autocratically.

19-02-2005, 08:06 AM
heh!

I'm sorry guys but I'm currently busy atm helping some ppl running some campaign on campus and reworking my resume.

I'll promise (for real LOL!) to give this thing a serious thought over the weekend.

08-03-2005, 10:21 AM
So do we have the final theme yet?. Spring Break is coming so I guess
if anyone of us has no plan to go anywhere, working something for ReMag would probably a good idea!.

Anyways, looks like we don't get much members in the ReMag Forum - creating a seperate Forum for remag would reduce Recom's already overloaded section. But we need to know whether the Forum over there is a good idea (or maybe the forum is too skinny?).

Let us know what sort of thing to improve so that we can do better in the next edition. content-wise, as well as the website.

08-03-2005, 10:51 AM
Can we get a show of volunteering hands of any ReComer to write for ReMag. For those newcomers in ReCom, ReMag (http://remag.recom.org) is the ReCom magazine, and we welcome writer of any skill sets, and it is part of the learning process. We have fellow ReComers who are interested to write, who are interested to edit, who are interested to design the website etc... Purely voluntary, and anyone is welcome~!

08-03-2005, 01:45 PM
Maybe somebody else needs to take over. My hands are kinda tied behind my back. or rather, i'm being lazy. Regardless, we are terribly late.

Anyway, I say let's do education. Time for debate to do something else has passed.

A few topic could be,

1. should education be free?
2. should we stick with brit or american system or make something more malaysian, whatever that is supposed to mean
3. is tuition necessary?
4. discipline in school
5. comparison between schooling at home and abroad
6. social science vs core science

Any more suggestion?

08-03-2005, 01:46 PM
I have a suggestion, perhaps we could get some writers to write based on the topic of discussion in the Malaysian Education Summit this year. It is in another thread.

08-03-2005, 03:21 PM
Maybe somebody else needs to take over. My hands are kinda tied behind my back. or rather, i'm being lazy. Regardless, we are terribly late.on a related note, perhaps the crew should come up with a succession plan (cheh wah) since most of us are graduating very soon.

debbie
08-03-2005, 04:09 PM
Hey, I'm here. Just no inspiration .. or in honest terms .. I dont know wht I should write about. So, if you need to get something written, just give me the topic and I'd get it done in a couple of days.

13-03-2005, 11:42 AM
hye debbie

how about you writing about your opinion on the relevence of cocurricular activities to academic life? or the importance of being well-rounded?

Anyway, we are lagging, again :twisted: .

How about each of us try to find a writer for a topic on education? I myself will solicitate a few.

On the other hand, I have received one contribution though it is unrelated to the topic at hand.

debbie
13-03-2005, 03:40 PM
Perfect. I'll take it on since tht's something I believe in .. versatility. When's my dead line?

astrosurge
14-03-2005, 06:18 AM
Perfect. I'll take it on since tht's something I believe in .. versatility. When's my dead line?

offtopic: debbie, u rawk! like reading ur posts :)

15-03-2005, 01:50 PM
to DEBBIE:
yikes, sorry, i forgot i'm a moderator for this SIG and edited your post by accident. couldn't retrieve the original....so i deleted it. sorry.

debbie
15-03-2005, 01:52 PM
to DEBBIE:
yikes, sorry, i forgot i'm a moderator for this SIG and edited your post by accident. couldn't retrieve the original....so i deleted it. sorry.

Huh? Wei .. you get tht back!!! ~sobs~

debbie
15-03-2005, 01:54 PM
Nah .. dont worry.

Well, it's ok. No dead line. So I'll continue eatin, sleeping and lying in the sun. *shrugs*

15-03-2005, 01:57 PM
sorry...i closed the window so it was too late to get it back. anyway here's what u said:

1) u need a deadline for your article
2) remag is too serious and this makes it boring. needs more art & lit.
3) ur class has been reading remag ever since you showed it to your teacher who found it dynamic and was impressed with young msian writers. <-- to which i intended to reply: wow!

debbie
15-03-2005, 02:02 PM
sorry...i closed the window so it was too late to get it back. anyway here's what u said:

1) u need a deadline for your article
2) remag is too serious and this makes it boring. needs more art & lit.
3) ur class has been reading remag ever since you showed it to your teacher who found it dynamic and was impressed with young msian writers. <-- to which i intended to reply: wow!

Yeah, I saw tht "wow" thingie before you messed up.
Newayz, it's not my class, since I'm not in the arts .. I meant literature classes frm tht place. And .. too lazy to clarify about other things, so .. dont worry. < case closed > I'm fine with it since it's not like my masterpiece or something tht you deleted. It's ok.

15-03-2005, 06:24 PM
Deadline. Hmmm.

Say, April 30th?

debbie
16-03-2005, 12:00 PM
Ok. April 30th. And no literature/fiction articles in the next Remag?

16-03-2005, 02:21 PM
if you want to do that instead, its alright. We are not trying to make all the articles in this issue education-related.

In any case, I've already recieved one fiction.

03-04-2005, 12:58 PM
hey... if i have the time, i'll write about "Voluntary Work... and some thoughts and lessons i learnt from it..."

deadline is April 30th rite???

03-04-2005, 11:17 PM
oh yeah
shall i write about how aussies are bloody ignorant bout other cultures despite living in a multi racial country?
oh shall i write one singing praise to the good land of the koalas?
i dunno
no idea

03-04-2005, 11:32 PM
I thought the aussies were a bit open minded and tolerant people? BK. How are you finding it downunder?

04-04-2005, 12:20 AM
depends on what kinda ppl you meet
some are just plain ignorant n try to force their aussieness down ur throat, which i despise, and some are juz so nice, you feel bad coz you cant eat all the nice things they cook for you LOL

aussie is ok
but i miss my Petaling St...
~sigh~

04-04-2005, 12:23 AM
depends on what kinda ppl you meet
some are just plain ignorant n try to force their aussieness down ur throat, which i despise, and some are juz so nice, you feel bad coz you cant eat all the nice things they cook for you LOL

aussie is ok
but i miss my Petaling St...
~sigh~

04-04-2005, 12:28 AM
i think i couldnt stand all the deadly creepy crawlees in aus. Red back spiders et al.

08-04-2005, 08:47 AM
hey hey hey

I've sent 2 articles to the editors.

Anyway, do you guys have any idea on how to pick up more contributors?

I think we should give this op-ed a cold shoulder for the time being and do it the ways we did it before. Since the introduction of op-ed, I find that Remag hasn't gone as smooth as it had before - not many people are willing to write for us anymore.

debbie
28-04-2005, 08:22 PM
Hey, like I'm REALLY sorry .. not been on recom for ages since I've been hyperbusy.Plus my compie had to be serviced. And am I to hand something in? Deadline's 2 days away. April 30th rite?Editor? Am i to be hanged or wht?

21-05-2005, 09:27 PM
wow, hvnt been here for quite a while.
what's happening?

06-06-2005, 04:42 AM
What is the focus of the next remag?

07-06-2005, 02:35 PM
Not sure anymore. I feel like it's losing steam. It has been almost six months since the last remag.

I have a couple of contributions on my file but most of it are poems and stuff. There is one actual essay but its more like free-style writing. In short, no article with serious tone.

However, while at malaysia forum 2 the other day, I approached Bakri Musa, asking him to write something for us. He said he'll help us but I'm not sure when actually he will though. Don't want to sound too pushy since I'm not quite close to him.

At the same time, I really think somebody else should take over this project since I have just graduated. I doubt that I have time to do this anymore soon.

07-06-2005, 10:03 PM
_earth, may be you can start train some people. I really hope that remag does not lose steam. We need to get this continue.

08-06-2005, 06:29 AM
_earth, may be you can start train some people. I really hope that remag does not lose steam. We need to get this continue.
it's already lost all steam.:D what we need is a resuscitation.

08-09-2005, 09:56 PM
weiii...let's do sthing!!!!!!!!!!! 8O 8O 8O

Maxforce
24-11-2005, 10:19 PM
so.. is the mag dead?

25-11-2005, 09:01 AM
Can we work together to revamp ReMag 6?

Anyone who is willing to work together to revamp, please post it here.

I haven't discussed with anyone, but I would look at publishing ReMag 6 in February 06.

So, anyone interested to volunteer, please post it here, be it to write an article/poem/etc, edit, publish it on Remag website etc.

26-11-2005, 05:46 PM
I've got several articles I wrote for a fashion blog. Lightstuff but I did pour a great deal of effort in writing them =)

Whom do I send them to again?

26-11-2005, 06:38 PM
I've got several articles I wrote for a fashion blog. Lightstuff but I did pour a great deal of effort in writing them =)

Whom do I send them to again?

i'll keep it for the time being. send it to mnoorsha at umich dot edu

04-06-2007, 10:26 AM
so is this thing dead, or what?

Fourthshifter
04-06-2007, 02:34 PM
can write about PLM ?

04-06-2007, 09:32 PM
can write about PLM ?

Cool! You should write an article about it.