View Full Version : Act of Honesty
13-12-2004, 02:17 PM
If you lose something in Malaysia, you're more likely to have someone running after you with it than running away
http://guides.traveling.com/index.jsp?cid=60394&action=viewLocation&formId=68055
Wow... Did Malaysia just change or am I reading this wrong?
SpRInG
13-12-2004, 02:43 PM
was it just an isolated case?
13-12-2004, 02:53 PM
I don't think they would make a big statement out of a specific event, will they? Or am I just happened to be in the place where there's no good Samaritans all the time?
13-12-2004, 03:04 PM
yeah right!
debbie
13-12-2004, 03:05 PM
Well, you happen to be in a place where there's no good Samaritans all the time. ^_^
13-12-2004, 03:08 PM
Well, you happen to be in a place where there's no good Samaritans all the time. ^_^
Weird... have you ever realized that in Malaysia, if you left ur cellphone or wallet somewhere in public, there's a high chance that you have to get a new one.
How many of you have come across an act of honesty by strangers in Malaysia?
SpRInG
13-12-2004, 03:18 PM
not high chance, it's definitely
13-12-2004, 03:36 PM
Weird... have you ever realized that in Malaysia, if you left ur cellphone or wallet somewhere in public, there's a high chance that you have to get a new one.
How many of you have come across an act of honesty by strangers in Malaysia?
It will happen anywhere at anytime, not just in Malaysia. Sometimes, its just luck.
By default, unless there's reputation stating otherwise, we all should expect the other person is untrustworthy. The same thing goes when it concerns the government. :D
or at least, ppl in economics have been taught that.
tuinkle
13-12-2004, 03:40 PM
Don't think that is specific to Malaysia.
In fact *sob* I was in a restricted access (Cal and Stanford students/staff only) library last week. I dozed off, face flat on my textbook :oops: and slept for no more than 20 minutes. My backpack was beside my feet. The NEXT day, I realized that my purse, which I keep in my backpack, had been nicked while I was asleep :cry:
But then again, I've experienced my own share of random acts of kindness.
No matter where, I guess it really depends on luck.
And on our own vigilance...
13-12-2004, 04:04 PM
My friend in left her cellphone in a bus in Singapore. She did not realize it was missing until an unknown woman called her friend and returned it to her.
And in another incident in Singapore as well, another friend of mine left her cellphone in the bus as well (weird, they love to lost their cellphone there) and the bus company (SBS) called one of her friends and returned the cellphone back to her.
In a recent incident here, Waltham, my friend left her purse in Dunkin' Donuts and the waitress ran after us when we left the place...
In an incident in UiTM, Malaysia, my roommate lost his handphone in a CC and he has to get a new handphone since.
In another incident in UiTM, Malaysia, my roommate (the same one) left his handphone (the second one) in the room, and when he got back from campus, his handphone was stolen.
In other incidents in UiTM, Malaysia, more than 15 people have their handphones stolen, robbed, or lost and are never found.
Now, is it just UiTM or Malaysia?
13-12-2004, 04:09 PM
with all due respect, you have so far lived a grand total of, what, 5 months in small-town america and you are trying to make sweeping generalizations about the honesty of americans vis-a-vis malaysians. that's not gonna fly dude.
13-12-2004, 04:12 PM
with all due respect, you have so far lived a grand total of, what, 5 months in small-town america and you are trying to make sweeping generalizations about the honesty of americans vis-a-vis malaysians. that's not gonna fly dude.
I didn't say that all americans are honest... I'm just comparing Malaysia to other places that I have been to... and it strike me that I haven't encountered an honesty deed in Malaysia in my 18 years of living there compared to my 8 months in Singapore and 3 months in the States.
13-12-2004, 04:19 PM
point taken.
and it strike me that I haven't encountered an honesty deed in Malaysia in my 18 years of living there compared to my 8 months in Singapore and 3 months in the States.
well, another way to look at it is you haven't been in the u.s. or s'pore long enough or been to enough places to encounter dishonest deeds among the local populace.
anyway, i'm sure if you think about it, you will remember instances where fellow malaysians helped you out. there are some things about malaysia that's messed up, but a total absence of good samaritans is not one of them.
13-12-2004, 04:20 PM
Common elansar, no honesty deed? where did you live? chow kit? Lorong Garu (gaharu) or Lorong haji taib?
I've had people helping me picking up 4 or 5 RM10 bills that fell on the floor while i was trying to take out money out of my pocket near a busy road in KL. I'm pretty sure there's at least one!
13-12-2004, 04:33 PM
point taken.
and it strike me that I haven't encountered an honesty deed in Malaysia in my 18 years of living there compared to my 8 months in Singapore and 3 months in the States.
well, another way to look at it is you haven't been in the u.s. or s'pore long enough or been to enough places to encounter dishonest deeds among the local populace.
anyway, i'm sure if you think about it, you will remember instances where fellow malaysians helped you out. there are some things about malaysia that's messed up, but a total absence of good samaritans is not one of them.
I've seen many kind deeds, but i haven't encountered any honest deeds... By the way, I'm not generalizing Malaysians... I'm just wondering why I haven't encountered any one of those (as proposed by the travelling guide).
13-12-2004, 09:23 PM
hmm...it's too easy to generalise...I'm sure there are kind & gracious ppl out there in M'sia...it's just the few who can steal steal....
anyway, if i see your wallet/hp I'm sure I'll return it...hehe =)
14-12-2004, 02:18 AM
That's the problem... I think most of the time, you don't lose your thing near some honest people... You lose your thing to those who won't give u back in Malaysia... There are those who are willing to return the lost things, but they are never given the opportunity (looking at weich)... LOL!
kennytang
14-12-2004, 02:29 AM
haha, i suppose when i lost smthg, no one will return it to me. not even to mention that someone stealing it from me, which happens in intec.
i think this is the human nature. deterrent is good, but realizing that one shdnt steal or not returning stuff is better. to have this to be dawned on everyone, a healthy environment is essential. imho, moral subject did not much to create this environment.
14-12-2004, 12:58 PM
haha, i suppose when i lost smthg, no one will return it to me. not even to mention that someone stealing it from me, which happens in intec.
i think this is the human nature. deterrent is good, but realizing that one shdnt steal or not returning stuff is better. to have this to be dawned on everyone, a healthy environment is essential. imho, moral subject did not much to create this environment.
Poor kenny... have u encountered any honest deeds in Malaysia before?
honesty is an overrated virtue.
it helps sometimes to be honest. but from my personal experience, some of my dishonesty get me where I am now. White lie, protect someone else privacy, etc. Or simply being completely bullshit and make your way through.
I know I go off topic, but I still think honesty is an overrated virtue.
14-12-2004, 02:08 PM
without honesty, life is a frustration
14-12-2004, 04:38 PM
honesty is an overrated virtue.
it helps sometimes to be honest. but from my personal experience, some of my dishonesty get me where I am now. White lie, protect someone else privacy, etc. Or simply being completely bullshit and make your way through.
I know I go off topic, but I still think honesty is an overrated virtue.
No offense, but do look at my signature. :)
I guess a certain amount of dishonesty does help a lot in terms of helping someone climbing up the career ladder, achieve one's dream etc. But the ends doesn't justify the means. As an aside, this is an interesting website about the end doesn't justify the means (http://www.huppi.com/kangaroo/L-endmeans.htm). You may achieve what you want, but I do believe in pride gained with improper demeanour will not last long. You may take example of how ravenous a company Microsoft is and yet how successful it has been. I still haven't figured out. Maybe I am still puerile.
windrunner
14-12-2004, 05:02 PM
And why do we complain when we should set an example ourselves if we wish to see a utopian society (maybe half-utopian)?
I have always believe in honesty, it is the very foundation of everything for nothing could be done if no one trusts you. Which is why i say we are quite slow in terms of updating our 'software' (3rd world mentality) Sorry, if i offended anyone.
BTW, i did return one handphone before, no regrets. Swear.
14-12-2004, 06:33 PM
Although it is easier said than done, I can say with 101% confidence that if I ever pick up a hefty amount of cash or a handphone, I will return it to the owner. It is more to conscience. I guess many of us would have the same stand with me.
14-12-2004, 09:52 PM
Hahahahahahaha.... that line is actually very insulting.
Here's the scenerio:
------
Sweedish backpacker along Bingtang Walk is a victim of snatch theft, and some kind hearted vigilante would chase him on his Mitsubishi Pajero, ram him and the thief would fly across the divider on the Federal HIghway.
THEN, some soccer mom in her Honda CRV on the way to Midvalley Megamall to work out in the gym sees the man in a pool of blood, stops to pick up the purse of the sweedish lass and goes around Chow Kit backpacker hotels hunting for the backpacker.
She eventually turns the purse to Dang Wangi police, who then personally delivers it to the Swedish Embassy. The Police, the Soccer Mom and the Pajero-Driving LumberMill owner all pose for photograph at Menara Star.
The snatch thief didn't make it to the magistrate court because police let him bleed to death in lock up.
------
Wahhhhhhhh
Fact or fiction? Scary isn't it?
Washington Medical Marijuana Dispensaries (http://washington.dispensaries.org/)
14-12-2004, 10:10 PM
Hahahahahahaha.... that line is actually very insulting.
Which line do you mean? Elansar's, windrunner's, thet's or mine?
14-12-2004, 10:12 PM
I would say that at each place, there is a fair share of people who are honest and who are dishonest, and it would depend on where you are.
I would say that hostels are a good easy target for theft. I have heard of so many thefts, be it in Raffles Institutions Boarding School or at Cemara (UiTM), although I haven't faced one in either place. There is always temptation by people to steal and sometimes the stealing is done by their own roommates.
On America being safe from theft, it is not true. I would say that if you go to a rural area, or an area with more educated people, may be that is more true, but it is a generalized statement. There have been so many theft at the sports complex here in Cornell, although residence halls are very safe, where we don't even locked our room doors, when we went away for a week of holiday.
15-12-2004, 04:06 AM
Wait... no one says America is safe from theft.
15-12-2004, 07:16 AM
Everywhere is the same I guess. There are a lot of small thefts (like handphones in libraries here in England as well)...I thought this only happens in Malaysia but it's not true. It happens everywhere..
By the way, misled_youth, I havent been reading TheStar but is there any way you can provide the link to the news? Cheers~
kennytang
15-12-2004, 09:17 AM
there is a common saying that sometimes theft r done for the excitement. thats y ppl from rich family background steal too
does anyone agree w/ me?
16-12-2004, 12:36 AM
there is a common saying that sometimes theft r done for the excitement. thats y ppl from rich family background steal too
does anyone agree w/ me?
Theoretically speaking it's true, but personally I don't know of anyone like that.
16-12-2004, 12:45 AM
so cham. ppl stole your stuff while you were asleep.
16-12-2004, 12:47 AM
Well, who ask him to ponteng class arr?
Haha... Maybe the professor stole the wallet from him to teach him a lesson?
kennytang
16-12-2004, 12:52 AM
mmmm........ i just remember tze chang n some other guys say that the ghost stole it from me. hehe
well, what i know is that he/she is really bold. stealing my wallet which is by my side while i was sleeping. sighhhhhhhhh
anyway i got 2 new wallets after that.......
oh ya, anyone rmb winona rider's case? for a rich celebrity like her, i suppose she stole just for the excitement.
16-12-2004, 12:58 AM
mmmm........ i just remember tze chang n some other guys say that the ghost stole it from me. hehe
well, what i know is that he/she is really bold. stealing my wallet which is by my side while i was sleeping. sighhhhhhhhh
anyway i got 2 new wallets after that.......
oh ya, anyone rmb winona rider's case? for a rich celebrity like her, i suppose she stole just for the excitement.
LOL! blame no one but yourself for being unalert. Winona? Just another kleptomaniac.
does anyone agree w/ me?
Theoretically speaking it's true, but personally I don't know of anyone like that.
i know a lot. i was one. back in high school, me and my friends used to go to the mall and get some stuff without paying them. sinma and all those small accessories store were our favourite. do we want all those stuff? hell no. we usually gave it to some people we don't really close with or just wear it for a day and get rid of it by the end of the day. those stuff aren't worth it. but I like the feeling of thrill and excitement after 'the adventure.' i don't do it anymore because I think those stuff are childish. those days are gone but i never regret any of it
kennytang
16-12-2004, 02:49 AM
its so frank of u
lol
16-12-2004, 02:53 AM
so cham. ppl stole your stuff while you were asleep.
I was struck with the same case. I lost Rm 600's worth of Handphone and 200 ringgit cash when I was aslept, between 4 am and 7 am!! How more terrible can it get. Sigh...
Back the the act of honesty. Sometimes I think theft being rampant in the campus or hostel should be partly attributed to the apathy of the authorities. When I reported to the office, they were so "sambil lewa", while continue with their non-chalant chit-chats, they asked me, "Ada tanya kawan ada ambil tak? SUdah cari semua tempat tak?". Hell, can't they make it out from the face of someone who has obviously searched high and low? Then the actions taken were minimal. At most putting up on the electronic scrolling bar, "sila berdisiplin. jaga keselamatan harta benda anda. ibu bapa hantar anda ke sini untuk belajar bukan untuk melakukan jenayah... yada yada yada" (i forgot the words, but i am just describing the tenet of these electronic "preaching")
So the thieves live on happily ever after. At large till today.
kennytang
16-12-2004, 03:49 AM
I was struck with the same case. I lost Rm 600's worth of Handphone and 200 ringgit cash when I was aslept, between 4 am and 7 am!! How more terrible can it get. Sigh...
haha.......... i know. coz eric sent u to the police station a few weeks later after my case. lol
yeah, the authority was really doing a bad job.
i even heard a rumour that the authority once caught a thief, who always steat stuffs during friday prayer when everyone was gone. after they busted him, they decided to let him go, coz they dont wanna ruin their future n yadda yadda yadda..............
well, the authority practise moral value pretty well, but to me, they r just some lazy bums who dont want any trouble. thats y they let him go. anyway, its a rumor n not proven coz they close this case from us.
16-12-2004, 05:10 AM
haha.......... i know. coz eric sent u to the police station a few weeks later after my case. lol
i even heard a rumour that the authority once caught a thief, who always steat stuffs during friday prayer when everyone was gone. after they busted him, they decided to let him go, coz they dont wanna ruin their future n yadda yadda yadda..............
well, the authority practise moral value pretty well, but to me, they r just some lazy bums who dont want any trouble. thats y they let him go. anyway, its a rumor n not proven coz they close this case from us.
prevention is better than cure. did u all lock your doors before u go 2 sleep?
16-12-2004, 05:12 AM
Wait . . . Am i too blur or what? how come i didn't know anything about ur RM600? Wah lao!
and how the thief "coincidentally" knew that u have lots of cash in ur wallet? Must have info dalaman before they act.
16-12-2004, 07:03 AM
These things are too common in INTEC. I don't know whether you guys heard abt this but at the girls' blocks, there was this one case where they were all sleeping, doors locked. Only the balcony door was not locked I think. One of them woke up in the middle of the night to see something that resembles a guy. She froze (who wouldn't...) and when the guy realize that she's awake, he ran away. This was on the 3rd/4th floor. He went out through the front door though with one of their keys. It so happened that they had just bought a new handphone that day as a present for a friend. What a coincidence. I don't remember whether the guy made away with the hp but the troubling thing is that a guy climbed up to their room?! All those curfew for guys are just nonsense because they can still hide somewhere till night falls. All those workers always around...oogling at girls....it was so insecure!
I have a friend in Singapore who lost her wallet and hp goodness knows how many times. But she always gets them back.
I dropped my wallet once here in Chicago. Someone yelled to me to return it.
Of course, I'm not saying it's safe in Singapore and Chicago (but it is relatively much much safer in Singapore). Lots of people get mugged in broad daylight here. Lots of people. But I want to walk the streets of Malaysia feeling as safe as I felt in Singapore. Will that ever happen?
16-12-2004, 09:12 AM
I would say that a lot of these would depend on the people. In fact, when I was staying at Raffles Institutions Boarding School, there is on average one stealing in each block, which houses like 80 people. Mostly done by those Secondary 1 and 2 kids. But these things are happening everywhere.
16-12-2004, 11:46 AM
And the people's attitude reflects on the society...
windrunner
16-12-2004, 06:04 PM
As long as greed exist , or stupidity, there would be people stealing, unless we are no longer human.
Is Singapore that safe? I guess i should have applied for ASEAN and take a look myself.
17-12-2004, 02:34 AM
As long as greed exist , or stupidity, there would be people stealing, unless we are no longer human.
Is Singapore that safe? I guess i should have applied for ASEAN and take a look myself.
not too late for ASEAN, there's always a second intake... but u sure u want to go there...?? hahaha becoz second intake does not have a trial period... unlike first intake, the first 3 months are free.... even if u break the bond, u dun have to pay a cent
true... theft is an opportunity crime... but doesn't mean that it is our fault if we lost our stuffs to those rats... but, just take it as a lesson and try to be more careful next time.... prevention is better than cure... as someone (i think is Zaitsev) says above....
however, i dun think it is that safe in Singapore... becoz while i was there.... staying at Oldham Hall, ACS Barker Road, there are so many stealing cases... one of my frens laptop is stolen after 1 week she possesses it... poor her... They reported the crime to the police and sure did two policemen came right after they reported it... and another week later... it is another laptop....
and several handphones... and several sleepless nights...
(we were all escorted to the dining hall, while they had to spot check our room, one by one...) and it lasted til 3 am....
and the worst thing is, there's one incident, it was just a prank... (or izzit that he just misplaced his handphone)... or something.... i was so angry with that spoiled brat that i really felt like slapping him... or punching him in the face...
17-12-2004, 03:19 AM
wah... Oldham so many rich ppl also got so many thefts...
In Dunman Hostel, the refridgerator always eat our food... and it is very selective. If you put any nice food in there, it will disappear in a week's time. Even some expired chocolate (the expiry date's in Chinese)...
yeah lar... prevention is always the best medicine. If u know some place got a lot of thefts, dun have to bring expensive things there. and even if u have, dun flash it around (hmm... reminds me of someone... zaitsev might have guessed who's he)... that will only attract the thieves...
17-12-2004, 03:24 AM
it happens...
I remember when i was living in the dorm, we had a shared fridge as well. Someone always took my milk(i had the gallon bottle). Mixing a whole bottle of milk with 2 bottles of extra powerful choco-lax solved the problem :lol:
17-12-2004, 03:31 AM
it happens...
I remember when i was living in the dorm, we had a shared fridge as well. Someone always took my milk(i had the gallon bottle). Mixing a whole bottle of milk with 2 bottles of extra powerful choco-lax solved the problem :lol:
we did that. and it seems that the refridge is immuned to choco-lax as well
17-12-2004, 03:41 AM
it happens...
Wow..I'm currently sharing a fridge with my neighbours as well. No theft so far...but I'll follow your tips...btw, what is choco-lax? :oops:
17-12-2004, 03:47 AM
choco-lax = chocolate flavored laxatives
*grin*
Yep...a guy down the hall actually checked into the hospital because he thought that had food poisoning...
*walks away, whistling*
17-12-2004, 05:32 AM
choco-lax = chocolate flavored laxatives
*grin*
Yep...a guy down the hall actually checked into the hospital because he thought that had food poisoning...
*walks away, whistling*
hahaha... nice one...
yeah... fridge eating all our food...
not that it doesn't happen... just that it happens too often that i got so fed up with the fridge...
end up walking all the way to the Cold Storage (a supermarket... luckily it is like 5 minutes walk away) whenever I have the urge for chocolate and ice cream and milk....
shld have add something potent to my stuff to teach the fridge from eating my stuff... but can't think of anything which is potent enough to teach them a lesson, and dun need to have them end up in the hospital.... (bleach... too powerful, shampoo... changes the color of the milk... dirty water, changes the taste...).... :twisted:
choco-lax.... i will remember it next time.... muahahaha....
17-12-2004, 05:48 AM
The fridge is not stupid lar... it can smell detergent...
17-12-2004, 06:20 AM
In Dunman Hostel, the refridgerator always eat our food... and it is very selective. If you put any nice food in there, it will disappear in a week's time. Even some expired chocolate (the expiry date's in Chinese)...
yeah lar... prevention is always the best medicine. If u know some place got a lot of thefts, dun have to bring expensive things there. and even if u have, dun flash it around (hmm... reminds me of someone... zaitsev might have guessed who's he)... that will only attract the thieves...
putt?
17-12-2004, 08:17 AM
putt?
who else.... a PDA and a nokia N-GAGE.... ouch..
17-12-2004, 08:20 AM
putt?
who else.... a PDA and a nokia N-GAGE.... ouch..
:lol:
aquila
17-12-2004, 10:31 AM
Well, have your own fridge in your room if you can.
If not, write in BIG, BOLD, RED letters, " Eat and die! Property of x " Works every time... Plus, I don't think people are that uncivilized to still eat your food if you write your name on it.
17-12-2004, 01:58 PM
Oh, we all wrote our names on the food we have. Some piggy just cant keep his fingers off from it. Was thinking of arsenic, but decided that laxatives gives the best bang for the buck ;)
17-12-2004, 02:34 PM
hey
used that once
and it worked
though i felt a bit kesian when the kid had to berulang alik beberapa ribu kali to the loo akibat sakit perut yg keterlaluan :P
but hey
she messed up w the wrong person
Tu la
sapa suruh ambik my food lagi :lol:
Hmm..know what?
if it happens again, i wont think twice bout doing the same thing. Lax works, plus, you will always know who has been eating your porridge LOL
18-12-2004, 12:19 AM
you all really put lax to punish those thieves! Oh gosh, that's too cruel! :evil:
18-12-2004, 01:02 AM
why? U've experienced that before?
18-12-2004, 01:05 AM
you all really put lax to punish those thieves! Oh gosh, that's too cruel! :evil:
Yeah la...a bit too cruel, but stealing is not right as well...
Where do you guys get the laxatives? Just curious...not going to try though...might backfire...lol..since I'm so forgetful... :lol:
18-12-2004, 01:23 AM
Oh, I can't take another heartache
Though you say oh my friend, I'm at my wit's end
You say your love is bonafide, but that don't coincide
With the things that you do and when I ask you to be nice
You say you've got to be
Chorus :
Cruel to be kind in the right measure
Cruel to be kind it's a very good sign
Cruel to be kind means that I love you
Baby, got to be cruel, you got to be cruel to be kind
Letter to Cleo