View Full Version : Buy Nothing Day Nov 28th
25-11-2003, 10:51 AM
Let's support it. it's a way to curb excessive consumerism! help save the Earth, and yourself too!
p/s - i am no anarchist.
silverblue
25-11-2003, 10:56 AM
err.. not even food??
25-11-2003, 10:58 AM
errr... no of course not. don't starve yourself.
But you could boycott the golden arch
25-11-2003, 12:26 PM
__earth ... is this a day for emphasising the Green Consumerism philosophy...
according to it we should :
Reduce
Reuse
Recycle
Economic
Ergonomic
another one I forgot... sorry...
come to Germany... germans are obssess with environment...
Umwelt, Verschmutzungfrei!!!!
25-11-2003, 12:27 PM
hehe, even the green party was first established in germany. =)
if you realized, my signature is the four pillars of green party - originated from germany.
anyway, i dont think the green spearheads this event nor did they were the first one to celebrate it.
It was the anti-globalization movement or sort. The greens simply jumped into the bandwagon coz it suits their philosophy.
25-11-2003, 01:14 PM
I think I have a Green money Idea..
why don't we cooperate and be the first environtmental friendly car distributors in Malaysia..
maybe we can sell solar or electrical cars etc... (we monopolise the market)
mini cars are popular in germany as they save fuel..
what do u think? $$$$
25-11-2003, 01:25 PM
magnificient but i need to do my degree fir$t!
al$o, im currently a member of the michigan $olar car team. however, my team didn't qualify for the la$t american $olar challenge becau$e the organizer of the event me$$ed u$ up.
25-11-2003, 01:35 PM
That's of couese __earth
I think it's a nice thing to see young people esp students have the enthusiasm to create his own business ...
I hope I can become an enterpreneur one day... hopefully not long after my graduation...
save $$$ my allowance.... keep modal....
hehehe...
I think by practising green consumerism we can save more allowance (and resources) so that we can have more modal for our business...
hehe... $$$ again
25-11-2003, 01:51 PM
Just for a day?!
Actually i was wondering when will Malaysia start to seperated the rubbish and recycle.Maybe this should be put under anohter topic so i will stop it here.
By the way,starting a recycle company will bring you a good fortune but then again, the modal is a problem. :(
25-11-2003, 01:55 PM
Just Recently our Pak Lah has announced that every terrotary will have its own recycling bins...
I hope the number of bins will increase...
why don't we install a windmill on our roof to generate electricity... at the same time we store the energy in hydrogen form..
I have been to a local exhibition and found out that such technology is available... just that it's not widely used...
hmm... another business opportunity : building windmill? hehe.. I hope I shall be able to learn how to build a windmill when I'm studying in germany... hahaha
$$$$$$
silverblue
25-11-2003, 02:10 PM
I think some of our biggest environmental sins nowadays are
1) Leaving your PC on for weeks (or even months) without shutting them down even when it isn't being used...
2) Paper wastage... how we use only one side of the papar and how we do not reuse paper for scribbling but use new ones instead... how we print like crazy... how we throw away note books that still have empty pages... how some people have huge big writing and take up more space than needed when writing on paper....
25-11-2003, 02:12 PM
I think solar energy will be better than windmill in this case. Windmill need to be built on a vast terrain where the wind is strong enough such as desert or near the beach while we have sunshine nearly all year long.
Although solar energy still can?t produce 100% of energy that we need, but many has started to use it for heater or water boiler here. I think maybe our country should put more efforts in developing solar energy devices, as it will be really useful assets to us if we can make use of it.
25-11-2003, 02:14 PM
Vehicle is the biggest source of Air polution
let's just use bicycle
25-11-2003, 02:25 PM
Vehicle is the biggest source of Air polution
let's just use bicycle
funny that you mentioned that. I cycle to work. Even in snow.
25-11-2003, 02:28 PM
try to go to gyn to build your leg muscle....
after doing that I can cycle at highest gear going uphill... easily...
25-11-2003, 02:44 PM
Just for a day?!
well, you need to realize that this is a campaign and trying to promote awareness. it's like a publicity stunt.
the more the ppl know about this stuff the more ppl will join the greens and say "everyday is an Earth day". =)
and about windmill, there's a debate among greens and politician alike.
it's more like the preservationist (subset of greens) vs. advocates of wind mills (the industry or the grey, as usual sigh).
you might want to read more about it. the cases are spread in the vermont and its neighborhood and also in scotland/ireland.
for malaysians, i think we can't ask them to embrace "green concept" (i.e. green energy, green econ) just yet. their attitude is simply not there yet. we just need to educate them slowly but surely.
25-11-2003, 02:46 PM
I think we should buy products with the logo "recycle"
it's a symbol of green cyclon made up of arrows...
25-11-2003, 04:28 PM
My school openday just over 3 weeks ago.
We set up a stall and to my surprise,
we was asked to wash those plastic plates and cup before throwing them away :roll: eve nwe have seperated them with those burnable rubbish.
I wonder when will Malaysian become like this.
Tons of rubbish under the sign
"Jangan membuang sampah di sini , DENDA RM500"
:sigh:
Just hope that time will do its job to change us 8)
Liney
26-11-2003, 02:45 AM
Hi there Earth,
I just found a published journal about mangrove's status and future yesterday by Alongi. Quite an interesting reading. I work with mangrove for my master 3 years ago and see how our mangrove (Malaysia) is dimishing year after year........ :(
26-11-2003, 03:43 AM
Hi Liney,
Submit that article to Recom and everyone could have a read on that.
Liney
26-11-2003, 03:55 AM
how to do that chen chow? where to upload? Please advice....sorry i'm still new with all this recom tech.....
26-11-2003, 04:43 AM
hye liney, if you could share us the info i.e. the article, it would be wonderful.
Liney
26-11-2003, 05:24 AM
sure....give me ur email and I can send the paper to u. Since I couldn't find anywhere to upload it in the recom :oops: ....so i think the best way is to send to u via email.
Liney
26-11-2003, 08:01 AM
Hi there,
I just want to apologize to you guys for not able to upload the article in this recom site. Chen Chow have been so nice helping and guiding me thru this, well,?.I guess I?m just not that smart in figuring this thing out. That is what happened when a wildlife and fisheries student tried to keep up with all computer and engineers? geniuses. I tried to upload the article in the download services as Chen Chow helped me in adding the folder but apparently, that place does not have any browse button except for link file. Master of none told me to upload in the creative corner?mmmm?..i did upload it but it seems like it does not want to appear in that creative corner. I thought the upload was a success. Clearly, it was not. So, my bad. It has been a rough time dealing with this site for me. I guess it is not a liney-friendly site?ha..haa. So, if anyone still want to read the article?which is in pdf file, I will upload it in the MASIUS Yahoogroups and Chen Chow please help me upload the article in the recom site for others to read. Thanks??
-Liney-
[color=indigo]