View Full Version : Roommate Worries! Do you have them??
NanaLiew93
31-05-2011, 04:16 AM
Hi guys! I am a JPA PIDN scholar bound for Sunway, and probably staying at Casa Subang. And I'm really worried about having a roommate! Heard so many scary stories and some more got thriller T__T
1. Will I get a roommate of the same race? Won't it be inappropriate to be placed with say a Malay? In case you eat non-halal food at home or such?
2. Worried that my roommate will be a whiner and complain I'm messy, etc. I'm messy but I'm not slobby (i.e. i leave my books in a mess but I don't leave plates of food lying around to be swarmed by ants) I wouldn't mind my roommate being messy but not slobby.
3. VERY WORRIED. What if my room has aircon and my roommate is scared of cold and refuses to turn it on? I WILL DIE.
4. I find it very hard to sleep at night, not sure if it's insomnia or what, unless I do something that keeps me busy till I fall asleep. Usually it means reading till I fall asleep, but I understand if it keeps my roommate awake (i sleep with the light on) but I'll be really annoyed if I get a super sensitive roommate who can't stand for the laptop or phone to be on. I once stayed in a hotel with a friend, she was like that. i couldn't even text in bed because my hp screen was too bright wtf.
5. Very scared my roommates will steal stuff and such. Or eat my food or so on. I'm very particular about people eating my food! my senior last time labelled her food, but her roommates still ate her food! and a few had money missing etc.
6. A roommate who doesn't flush T___T
a funny story: i had a relative who all the roommates are very kedekut and refuse to pool money together for anything. So they didn't hang any toilet paper in the bathroom because they wouldn't share to buy a pack... Instead they bought their own rolls and tore some off whenever they needed to go!
hhhcce
31-05-2011, 07:11 AM
I think you are worried about the wrong things.
iKoMetaga
31-05-2011, 07:28 AM
1) You can always eat pork at nearby chinese coffeeshops. And cooking non-halal but non-pork food using shared utensils should be fine, I think.
3) You should settle this on the first day through some compromise. Here's to hoping you get a reasonable roommate. But i doubt you will have air-conditioning units
2) A bit more tact required here. You can't simply set a ground rule here like 3) as people tend to show their true (messy) selves a few months in when living together and forget whatever promises they made months before. Instead, use the nagging approach, but in a light-hearted not accusatory tone, if you accuse she'll start pulling in your own bad habits to justify hers
4) That is truly annoying. But there are ways around that, like repositioning your laptop so the light glare is away from her. For me, I find it acceptable if my roommate wants the room lights turned off at min time 11pm
5) Stealing food/detergent/shampoo and whatever belongs to you. this will be your main source of paranoia and frustration. Sometimes due to genuine mistakes on your roommates part. But in case you do have a persistent thief, make sure to be the popular one among your roommates so they can act as your trusted eyes where you're not at home. Stealing money: common cents don't leave money around lah-why provide temptation?
*alternative: go to Low Yat Plaza and buy hidden camera*
6) Fight fire with fire
Guys need not worry about 1), 2), 3), 4), 5) and for 6) not a good idea
Remember, if you're going to live together for a year or more, don't expect promises to be kept year long, therefore don't make many pacts/promises. Just go with the flow and hopefully you'll have a stress-free course year!
lewis17
31-05-2011, 07:56 AM
Hi guys! I am a JPA PIDN scholar bound for Sunway, and probably staying at Casa Subang. And I'm really worried about having a roommate! Heard so many scary stories and some more got thriller T__T
1. Will I get a roommate of the same race? Won't it be inappropriate to be placed with say a Malay? In case you eat non-halal food at home or such?
2. Worried that my roommate will be a whiner and complain I'm messy, etc. I'm messy but I'm not slobby (i.e. i leave my books in a mess but I don't leave plates of food lying around to be swarmed by ants) I wouldn't mind my roommate being messy but not slobby.
3. VERY WORRIED. What if my room has aircon and my roommate is scared of cold and refuses to turn it on? I WILL DIE.
4. I find it very hard to sleep at night, not sure if it's insomnia or what, unless I do something that keeps me busy till I fall asleep. Usually it means reading till I fall asleep, but I understand if it keeps my roommate awake (i sleep with the light on) but I'll be really annoyed if I get a super sensitive roommate who can't stand for the laptop or phone to be on. I once stayed in a hotel with a friend, she was like that. i couldn't even text in bed because my hp screen was too bright wtf.
5. Very scared my roommates will steal stuff and such. Or eat my food or so on. I'm very particular about people eating my food! my senior last time labelled her food, but her roommates still ate her food! and a few had money missing etc.
a funny story: i had a relative who all the roommates are very kedekut and refuse to pool money together for anything. So they didn't hang any toilet paper in the bathroom because they wouldn't share to buy a pack... Instead they bought their own rolls and tore some off whenever they needed to go!
first of all, didn't u get the call from sunway UC? i duno PIDN but PILN scholars stay at monash residence, but i think PIDN will stay there as well..
if it turns out u stay at monash residence, 3) there will be no air cond 1)2)4)5)6) u will have a single room for urself, but in an apartment unit there will be 4 or 5 ppl..
hyperair
31-05-2011, 08:39 AM
I think you're overly worried about the whole roommate issue. I've stayed in the halls of residence in NTU for three years and gone through four different roommates, one of whom is a vegetarian.
To provide some context: NTU's halls have twin sharing rooms, with a toilet shared by the corridor. Toilets aren't maintained by students, but by the cleaners.
In this case, I've been eating food with meat in the room all the time (with a vegetarian roommate). I don't think a Malay would be bothered if you eat pork at home, only if you do it using shared utensils.
In this case, just tell your roommate off. Don't use an accusatory tone, but just start a casual conversation one day and bring it up. One of my roommates left his plate/saucepan unwashed for around a week, until my room smelled like a food court. After telling him about it he stopped doing so.
Also, roommates in general are messy (in my experience), me included. So far, we've gone by a least-tolerant system of cleaning the room (whoever can't tolerate the room's current state of dirtiness cleans it). In some cases, it means that I end up cleaning the room all the time, but I don't mind. If you stayed alone you'd have to do it anyway.
Buy him/her some winter clothes and/or more blankets. In my case, my roommate loved to put the air cond at 16 degrees Celcius and I would freeze my ass off at night, so I just wore a jacket and used a blanket when sleeping. Occasionally, when it gets too cold, I'd bring the blanket to the desk while studying as well.
I don't have that issue, sorry to say, but on the other hand, I have.. very abnormal sleeping hours, to say the least. I've seen the sunrise many times in NTU, and not when waking up. I think my experiences should apply for your situation as well, though.
One of my roommates was an extremely light sleeper. He never complained about me being too loud, but I did take some precautions -- I got one of those keyboard skins to muffle my laptop keyboard, I switched to noise-isolating earphones, and avoided using my (relatively noisy) mouse, opting to use the touchpad instead, when he went to bed.
As for the issue of light, I more or less got accustomed to working with just the laptop screen for light, and dim it down a little when my roommate's trying to sleep. If your roommate can't tolerate that, tell him/her to get one of those sleeping eyepads, or pull up the blanket to cover the eyes.
This can be quite troublesome. I've never had the issue, though I probably wouldn't notice if someone stole my food (discreetly).
I don't know if my roommates don't flush, but the people in my corridor definitely didn't flush, and that made for horrible smelling toilets. Would you believe it, one day I went to bathe, and when entering the toilet, I found a dead cockroach at the entrance. Imagine, if the smell was bad enough to kill a cockroach, would you enter the toilet? ;-)
I went upstairs to bathe instead (one toilet every floor).
That's fine, really. Whatever suits your roommate.
Some closing words: consider your position right now, and consider that your potential roommate is also going through the same worries as you are. Chances are that you'll have more in common than you think. Just be willing to compromise (but don't be a pushover) and things will be fine. :-)
Nicholas92
31-05-2011, 10:05 AM
You're being paranoid hahaha. Just like working with other people, living with siblings, and such, having roommates is a give-and-take thing, and you won't die lah.
1. Don't know. But if it's a Malay, then talk and work it out! In fact same if it's any race. It's just another dietary requirement, albeit one that is more strictly adhered too. Unless you share utensils, pork should be OK - but don't go eating right in front of the person of course.
2. Again, personal preference. Everyone has different standards of neatness and tidiness. Inevitably someone will be messier than another. If your roommate thinks you're too messy, what's wrong with learning to be a little more organised? Likewise if your roommate is sloppy, work it out. Remember that whining or getting angry doesn't work and breeds some discontent, so if your roommate whines, just tell the person to not be so like that :P if it's your roomy that's messy/sloppy, just suggest that they clean up now and then, or do it together. Or yourself, if it comes to it.
3. Will DIE without aircon? Hyperbole. You won't die lah. And be considerate, if your roommate cannot stand aircon then the price of you not dying is...your roommate dead. Either way also bad right? Compromise, once again. You like aircon and want your room cool but your roomy probably wouldn't appreciate freezing his/her ass off. So don't sleep with it on the whole way! Just cool down the room with it and time it to switch off after like 2-3 hours. You won't die. He won't either.
4. This one depends on the room. If it's texting, your roomy should just face away from you while sleeping. If it's reading, get a reading lamp of some sort. Unless your roommate is hyper-sensitive to light, a lamp or even working on a computer will be fine, provided it's not glaringly bright. Chances of getting such a person are low. In any case, it IS kinda unfair to keep the room light on when they want to sleep, unless it's only like 7 in the evening.
5. This one I dunno. Normally they should ask. But if you're friends with them it's less likely they'll steal. Or feel guilty about it, haha. So be friendly with them. But if they're the kind that just takes without asking, then sit down and talk to the person about just asking you first. If for some reason the person is addicted to stealing food, then be very firm.
6. If your toilet is in the room, then tell the person to flush loh. It's not very hard, it's common sense, and it's a very valid point (unless the flush is spoiled...too bad then). If it's outside your room, nothing you can do bout it.
LOL if they don't wanna pool money, what you gonna do? Can't force them. Then just remind them, whenever they want to steal your food or something, to go away and get their own :P
But seriously, don't overthink this. Don't worry so much. It's all about compromise. There will be things you both may not like about each other. No choice. In fact I think you'll find that there are more things to consider than the stuff you listed down. If for some reason you honestly, honestly cannot stand your roommate, i.e. your relationship is nothing but hostile, maybe you could request a transfer. But please don't go into this thinking of that as an easy way out - it should be a last resort.
NanaLiew93
31-05-2011, 12:49 PM
thanks guys for the encouraging words! I hope my roommate will be nice and not... Bitchy. I'm a real pushover, i feel really awkward to complain, which is why i'm so worried..
Sunway just called to say that jpa scholars have provided accomodation, so i'm not sure.
I'm really sensitive to heat. I sweat a lot and get rashes in the heat, so hopefully my roomie won't be cold-phobia. I say this because i knw so many friends who hate to sleep even with fan on, they like 'still' air and during sleepovers i sweated all over everything! (i know, gross haha)
bubu24
31-05-2011, 01:21 PM
yea, i have the same worries as yours...hhmm, but i guess i'll just have to adapt to the changes...and i sleep late at night and sleep with the lights on...most probably, i'll buy a nightlight
NanaLiew93
31-05-2011, 02:04 PM
i just called sunway, they said all jpa scholars staying at Monash Residence.. It's nearer and more convenient but.. :cry shared bathrooms, no cooking, no fridge, no washing machine, no air con.. but we get single rooms which is ok I guess!
lewis17
31-05-2011, 02:12 PM
i just called sunway, they said all jpa scholars staying at Monash Residence.. It's nearer and more convenient but.. :cry shared bathrooms, no cooking, no fridge, no washing machine, no air con.. but we get single rooms which is ok I guess!
no cooking? i tot der r kitchen.. n there r mini bar i tot? and they say hv laundry service.. go see monash website regarding accomodation..
bubu24
31-05-2011, 02:20 PM
u r very lucky..at least yours it's near ur uni....i heard mine is quite far n have to use shuttle bus...i was so hoping to use the library til late night..but sadly, i can't now
NanaLiew93
31-05-2011, 02:25 PM
no cooking? i tot der r kitchen.. n there r mini bar i tot? and they say hv laundry service.. go see monash website regarding accomodation..
no, it's individual rooms.. the apartment units are only for guests i think? those are the serviced ones with mini bar :( no tv. and i can't bring ice cream home and store it in fridge and eat at night :cry i guess i will just use water kettle to boil hot dogs if I'm hungry ahaha.
lewis17
31-05-2011, 02:30 PM
no, it's individual rooms.. the apartment units are only for guests i think? those are the serviced ones with mini bar :( no tv. and i can't bring ice cream home and store it in fridge and eat at night :cry i guess i will just use water kettle to boil hot dogs if I'm hungry ahaha.
i found ur fb lol. mind i add u? easier to contact since we'll be sunway bound anyway..
NanaLiew93
31-05-2011, 02:30 PM
u r very lucky..at least yours it's near ur uni....i heard mine is quite far n have to use shuttle bus...i was so hoping to use the library til late night..but sadly, i can't now
yes it's convenient.. but i still wish i lived in casa subang.. can have that taste of living in apartment and got tv :p and i can hang out in living room, etc.. now I only can hang out in my room.. plus the sharing bathrooms thing.. I'm wondering how many people share it.. the whole corridor one bathroom?!
joan2468
31-05-2011, 02:31 PM
Well I guess the pork thing depends on how religious the Muslim is, but usually as long as you don't use shared utensils or mix it with the food both of you eat (I think if you share your cutlery, wash it properly and it should be fine for use?) they shouldn't mind you eating pork in your room even (well I wouldn't mind anyway.)
lewis17
31-05-2011, 02:33 PM
did they tell u that? im nt too sure cos i din ask too much..
bubu24
yes it's convenient.. but i still wish i lived in casa subang.. can have that taste of living in apartment and got tv :p and i can hang out in living room, etc.. now I only can hang out in my room.. plus the sharing bathrooms thing.. I'm wondering how many people share it.. the whole corridor one bathroom?!
hahahs, let's switch then.:P..i heard that i have to share with another 4 people?
NanaLiew93
i found ur fb lol. mind i add u? easier to contact since we'll be sunway bound anyway..
add away! I'm from Kuching :)
lewis17
31-05-2011, 02:37 PM
add away! I'm from Kuching :)
im half sarawakian:)) n my bro is studying at kuching too..
NanaLiew93
31-05-2011, 02:47 PM
hahahs, let's switch then.:P..i heard that i have to share with another 4 people?
where are u staying?
lewis17
31-05-2011, 02:49 PM
not 4, 6 if im nt wrong..
bubu24
31-05-2011, 02:51 PM
sswwttt... :cry
lewis17
31-05-2011, 02:53 PM
sswwttt... :cry
i asked seniors bout casa subang cos i tot i staying there initially.. but there might be changes.. who knows right? well u'll noe when u register or u can call up taylors see if they noe..
bubu24
31-05-2011, 02:55 PM
i asked seniors bout casa subang cos i tot i staying there initially.. but there might be changes.. who knows right? well u'll noe when u register or u can call up taylors see if they noe..
hahahas, it's alright...since i have enjoyed enough studying in australia under full scholarship...maybe i should live the hard life now
lewis17
31-05-2011, 02:56 PM
hahahas, it's alright...since i have enjoyed enough studying in australia under full scholarship...maybe i should live the hard life now
when was that? under wat scholarship?
bubu24
31-05-2011, 03:00 PM
when was that? under wat scholarship?
it was tuart college australia scholarship...i dun have to pay anything except for my accommodation and food only..which is quite cheap...it was right after my spm...i rejected the scholarship in the end because i was waiting for jpa results for such a long time since they keep delaying it...but i will still end up rejecting it anyway...it's a very very good experience..u'll meet lots of people around the world...i miss my frens :cry
lewis17
31-05-2011, 03:02 PM
it was tuart college australia scholarship...i dun have to pay anything except for my accommodation and food only..which is quite cheap...it was right after my spm...i rejected the scholarship in the end because i was waiting for jpa results for such a long time since they keep delaying it...but i will still end up rejecting it anyway...it's a very very good experience..u'll meet lots of people around the world...i miss my frens :cry
nv heard of that college.. which part of australia?? wow nvm if have jodoh u'll go back der someday:)
bubu24
31-05-2011, 03:05 PM
nv heard of that college.. which part of australia?? wow nvm if have jodoh u'll go back der someday:)
hahahas, it's in Perth :D but the life there is quite boring though...when i was there, i was so hoping to study in kl...shops in australia normally close at 5 pm...but some big supermarkets like coles and woolworths open til 9 pm...only on friday, most of the shops open til 9 pm..but the nature there is great~~ i've visited UWA n it was great n huge :))
lewis17
31-05-2011, 03:09 PM
hahahas, it's in Perth :D but the life there is quite boring though...when i was there, i was so hoping to study in kl...shops in australia normally close at 5 pm...but some big supermarkets like coles and woolworths open til 9 pm...only on friday, most of the shops open til 9 pm..but the nature there is great~~ i've visited UWA n it was great n huge :))
nice.. i heard that Perth life is boring.. My uni is nt stated, depends my pre-u results.. aiming for one of G8.. but no idea which is has the best business school..
bubu24
31-05-2011, 03:12 PM
nice.. i heard that Perth life is boring.. My uni is nt stated, depends my pre-u results.. aiming for one of G8.. but no idea which is has the best business school..
hahas, not only in perth..other places too...my frens are all over australia n they complain the same thing..lol..dun worry, u'll understand when u r there..:) uummm, uni of melbourne? hahas
lewis17
31-05-2011, 03:18 PM
hahas, not only in perth..other places too...my frens are all over australia n they complain the same thing..lol..dun worry, u'll understand when u r there..:) uummm, uni of melbourne? hahas
reli is melbourne? my initial thoughts r melbourne too.. but im nt reli sure anyway.. NSW has the highest ATAR requirements.. does it mean its better?
bubu24
31-05-2011, 03:20 PM
reli is melbourne? my initial thoughts r melbourne too.. but im nt reli sure anyway.. NSW has the highest ATAR requirements.. does it mean its better?
hhhmmm, not too sure bout tht...maybe should ask some seniors here..but if u can get into uni of melbourne, it's already very good :)
lewis17
31-05-2011, 03:24 PM
hhhmmm, not too sure bout tht...maybe should ask some seniors here..but if u can get into uni of melbourne, it's already very good :)
im crossing my fingers on that:)) thx!!
bubu24
31-05-2011, 03:28 PM
im crossing my fingers on that:)) thx!!
hehe, you're welcome :))
lewis17
31-05-2011, 03:29 PM
hehe, you're welcome :))
if i need any info regard aus next time can i pm u?:))
NanaLiew93
31-05-2011, 03:32 PM
i just wanna do medicine, whether locally or whatever also can :(
lewis, got electric kettle our room? got curtains?
bubu24
31-05-2011, 03:34 PM
if i need any info regard aus next time can i pm u?:))
hahas, yes, u can :)) i can help you to ask my friends too :)
hopefully, your appeal will be successful :))
i know that one person has rejected medicine offer..so hopefully, u can fill in the empty spot..hahas
lewis17
31-05-2011, 03:36 PM
but scholar database show u biotech? wat course u got actually? n regard ur ques.. i have no idea i din ask them that.. i'll let u noe if i noe anything... honestly i dun think there r though..
[QUOTE=bubu24;377122]hahas, yes, u can :)) i can help you to ask my friends too :)/QUOTE]
Thanks..:laugh
31-05-2011, 03:58 PM
Hey, I'm in UNSW now. Yes, its BCommerce and BEconomics courses do have the highest ATAR cut-off scores and on top of that its business school has quite a good reputation. BUT the reason that its cut-off marks are high is due to the high demand of students. If you think higher demand=better then UNSW can be assumed to be the better uni.
hahas, not only in perth..other places too...my frens are all over australia n they complain the same thing..lol..dun worry, u'll understand when u r there..:)
YES... Even in Sydney almost everything closes early...
lewis17
31-05-2011, 04:00 PM
Hey, I'm in UNSW now. Yes, its BCommerce and BEconomics courses do have the highest ATAR cut-off scores and on top of that its business school has quite a good reputation. BUT the reason that its cut-off marks are high is due to the high demand of students. If you think higher demand=better then UNSW can be assumed to be the better uni.
wat about the quality of the business schools itself? for example quality of teaching... which uni has the best business school? among NSW, melbourne and ANU, from what u heard/ur friends say..
31-05-2011, 04:00 PM
4 if your unit is next to the lifts, 6 for everywhere else.
bubu24
31-05-2011, 04:07 PM
YES... Even in Sydney almost everything closes early...
hahas, yup, that's what my friend told me too :)
4 if your unit is next to the lifts, 6 for everywhere else.
hhmm, hopefully mine is 4 then :)
31-05-2011, 04:09 PM
wat about the quality of the business schools itself? for example quality of teaching... which uni has the best business school? among NSW, melbourne and ANU, from what u heard/ur friends say..
Hmmm... None of my friends seem to be complaining about the quality so I can't really help you on that. For my uni (which is UNSW) the lecturers and tutors so far are really knowledgeable and are very helpful too. Based on this (http://www.australian-universities.com/ratings/business-school-rankings/) website, UniMelb apparently has the best business school. ANU is more famous for research actually rather than undergrad studies.
LOL, even though this is a chat thread I'm still digressing here.