View Full Version : Q&A On Private Colleges in Malaysia
I'm planning to start a-levels this coming january but not sure which college to go .Some of my friends are telling me taylors college is better because its more recognised and its a-levels which is cambridge board is better. On the other hand, I'm also told that Help is as good as Taylors and if that is so, i would rather go to Help because its nearer. I've also heard that universities prefer students from Taylors rather than Help. Is that true?
20-12-2004, 02:25 AM
I studied in Taylors because:
1. Housing easier
2. Transport
3. Shopping centres
4. COunter strike
5. Food
6. Hotter girls
7. Protected by Gang 18 (don't mess with em' PLEASE!)
*ahem...
That aside: Taylors is more prestigious. Hands down. Used to be part of Taylors College Australia. HELP college is like, "Help... I need somebody... Heeeeeelp... when I was young so much younger than today... I never need... somebody's help in anyway... Now.... these days are gone..."
DON'T SMOKE WEED.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA (http://medicalmarijuanacard.info)
20-12-2004, 02:44 AM
If Sunway College ever crossed your mind. Let me know.
Go Sunway!.
20-12-2004, 02:51 AM
If Sunway College ever crossed your mind. Let me know.
Go Sunway!.
Sunway girls... drool*... especially the ones from Korea... drool*
HOW TO ROLL A BLUNT (http://howtorollablunt.net/)
20-12-2004, 03:12 AM
there are koreans in sunway??
Steppe
20-12-2004, 01:57 PM
If any one is talking about transport convenience, Methodist College is the most convenient with the Monorail just at its gate and the KL Sentral just nearby at Brickfields.
A levels, London Board based is being offered. There are about 100 scholarships being offered now to Methodist Church members' children or any student from Methodist School on a first come first serve basis. My sister is going there next year to do A levels.
StupidCupid
20-12-2004, 09:56 PM
i'm also considering out of that 2 college which college to choose to continue my studies...
but i think it's easier to get scholarship in Taylor's college as they'll "give out" scholarships according to our SPM result.
in Help, i don't see things like that...
20-12-2004, 10:27 PM
but i think it's easier to get scholarship in Taylor's college as they'll "give out" scholarships according to our SPM result.
Only if you get 10 A1's
Philippine girl Webcam (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/asian-girls/)
i'm also considering out of that 2 college which college to choose to continue my studies...
in Help, i don't see things like that...
it does in help as well... and it seems its easier to apply from help as it offers schorlarships for 8A1s and above as well but again, everyone is saying taylors is better than help so its kind of hard for me to choose between the two
20-12-2004, 11:21 PM
The best way to select would be to go to both the colleges or any other colleges, and try to spend a few hours, talking to random students there, or to random lecturer there. Check out the facilities there, about the hostels, cafeteria, internet access, classrooms etc. Try to sit in the classes there too. That would give you the best option.
markuzzz
21-12-2004, 10:02 AM
A few differences to consider:
1. taylors: cambridge board, help: london board [anyone wanna outline the differences between the two? I didn't take a levels..]
2. Taylors have a much bigger A levels community. Almost a thousand students, if I'm not mistaken. HELP has about 200-300. Many top students I know have enjoyed the company of (and competition with) other top students in Taylors. But the bigger student community can also work against your best interests. There will be a tendency to compromise on the quality of education when trying to teach a larger group of students (as is the case with govt primary/secondary schools). You may end up with really lousy lecturers... Then again, this would be great training for education overseas =P
3. Student life... HELP wins hands down. From what I gather, student extra curricular activity is almost non-existent in Taylors. On the other hand, the A levels student council in HELP is really active. They recently staged a play entitled "much ado about nothing". There's also the adventure club, dance club, young entrepreneurs society, and even a red ribbon society (college equivalent of the msian aids council) to join, to name a few. If you're into sports, HELP has won the MAPCU(msian association of private colleges and unis) sports title for the past two years already. And if you're a budding writer, you could try writing for the newsletters of the different departments, or the college bulletin... Enrol in January, and you can still take part in the HELP Idol competition. Finals are in February... Interesting eh?
4. I'm not sure of the facilities in taylors, but HELP's library leaves much to be desired. Number one, the system is not computerised. You still have to use your little pink cardboard library cards to borrow books. Most books can only be borrowed for 3 days only. On top of that, you can only borrow a maximum of 3 books at a go. Titles are also limited. But I guess you won't need much for A levels.
5. Other points to note: Eating outlets are aplenty in HELP. Go visit. Internet facilities are not available to students, except in the library, which runs on dial-up. Different story altogether if you're taking a module requiring computer lab use. Internet hotspots are free, however.
There you go... some input from a HELP student.
Steppe
21-12-2004, 01:59 PM
I know I am digressing here but since we are all talking about A levels here, perhaps I can put my thoughts across. I feel that we can also look beyond just Help or Taylors.
I am studying my A levels in Methodist College in Brickfields. My elder sister has finished her A levels and my younger sister is going there next year to start her A levels.
I have my tuition fees all waived (10 A1s in my last SPM) but the college offers full tuition scholarship for any student who got 8 As (not restricted to 8 A1s) in their SPM results.
For next year 2005/2006 session as part of the Jubilee celebration, the college offers 100 scholarships for Methodist members' ?hildren or any Methodist school children. Besides these, the college still offers scholarship to those who score 8 As (i.e non-Methodist students who wish to get the scholarship based on SPM results).
For those who are in need of scholarship for A levels or SAM, it is worth checking out and is a good option. This scholarship helps a lot as my parents only need to pay for my monthly living and room expenses.
As a matter of fact, good students will do well in any where. We have seniors who get into Cambridge (4 As), Manchester U (the student turned it down later and joined IMU instead) and Birmingham U doing medical course this year. Of course, no other colleges can compare with Taylors as Taylors get a major part of the cream of the SPM good students.
Any one interested, please pm me.
Europa
21-12-2004, 09:51 PM
Um, as far as I know the difference between the London Board (heard that the S'pore students sit for this Board) and the Cambridge Board is the difficulty level. The latter is the easier one and is the one offered in Taylors and Sunway but I'm not sure about HELP. But if you want to, you can always choose to sit for London Board's papers.And as for scholarships in Taylors, the percentage of financial incentive relative to your education costs is based on the number of A's you get for SPM. If I'm not mistaken its 100% with >10As. It only applies for Jan intake students.
Funny thing is people around me typically compare Sunway and Taylors for A-levels and not with Help. Guess people have their own opinions.
22-12-2004, 05:32 AM
Singapore A Level is under Cambridge Board. I personally do not take A Level, so I can't really do a real comparison. Perhaps those who know better could help commenting on them.
It would be good if ReComers in private colleges in Malaysia could help commenting on each of those the real situations on private colleges in Malaysia.
I am editing the title into Q&A on Private Colleges in Malaysia.
profmich
16-01-2005, 12:35 PM
I studied in Taylor's last year not taking A-levels, but South Australian Matriculation (Yr 12).
1. As markuzz said:
Taylors have a much bigger A levels community. Almost a thousand students, if I'm not mistaken. HELP has about 200-300. Many top students I know have enjoyed the company of (and competition with) other top students in Taylors. But the bigger student community can also work against your best interests. There will be a tendency to compromise on the quality of education when trying to teach a larger group of students (as is the case with govt primary/secondary schools). You may end up with really lousy lecturers
However, I'd like to point out that in SAM, there are also about 1000 students. But as far as I know, there were no complains about the quality of lecturers, in fact they were generally better than the ones I used to have back in goverment school. Not that I'm promoting taylors, the lecturers are all dedicated and commited to bring the best out of students. I salute them.
2. Taylor's facilities are generally good. The library is computerised, where students need to sign in using their student card upon entry. Students can also browse the library's collection online, renew books and communicate with the librarians via email. Books are also well stocked with an up-to-date array of reference books for all levels, as well as newspapers and magazines.
3. Internet hotspots are available on campus. Internet can also be accessed from some of the computer labs and the library. But the net speed crawls, sometimes.
Conclusion: Taylor's does well.
16-01-2005, 01:56 PM
just some advice... if u want to look at the result of the college as the indication of the lecturer in that college... think again...
most of the time, many excellent students continue to excel in their studies as they move from secondary school to tertiary education... so, sometimes, it is unjust to say that the result of the college is good, hence, the lecturers in that college are good.
this is more true when the college has 'screening' system, and free tuition scholarships which attract the good students to enroll in the particular college. Can't believe that one of my fren who is not really good academically, was told by Taylor that the program is full while another friend of mine who got straight As, went to Taylor and got admitted the very next day. (both of them wanted to do A-level, offering the same subjects.)
Furthermore, i don't think comparing college lecturer and secondary school teacher is a good indication of how dedicated the lecturers are... becoz they should be. Normally, college lecturers are more available to students, thru email or personal appointments.
However, I do think that Taylor, Sunway and Metropolitan are good colleges. If u want to consider which is the best, try to consider all the other factors too: like campus life, dorms, environment, faculties....
if u want a hint of University life, i think Sunway college offers the closest 'simulation'....
in terms of library... i think Sunway has a better library...
no matter wat ur choice is, all the best...
and
universities prefer students from Taylors rather than Help
i dun think this is true... universities just prefer students who have good results and good CCA and do wel in the interviews...l
WHOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA.....TAYLOR's is better than HELP?!!!!! Ahem. *chokes* HOW DARE YOU????
Haha...kidding! I'm a former HELP A-levels student - was on the HELP A-levels Editorial newsletter board-it's called A-Voice and had friends in the student council, and was on full scholarship as well..so forgive my great pro-HELP mindset :P
Anyways, besides all the nitty gritty differences like hotter people or food or hugeness of the student body..the MAIN difference is the London board - HELP vs the Cambridge board - Taylor;s A-levels that the unis do.
At HELP, we do the London board run by Edexel. What happens is that the system is modular. Which means this - each subject say erm...Econs..has 6 units for a student to undergo and be tested on. These 6 units/chapters are tested two at a time. There are three exams in june, jan and the following June where u do your Alevel papers. U accumulate the marks and total them up...average and then u get your A-level grade for the subject. What's great about london board is this = if say for your first june exam u get 75 marks for your Econs unit 1. And u think it will jeopardize your average, u can RETAKE the paper at the following jan sitting. Most likely your mark will improve and u get to use that mark to add to ur total and throw out the lousier mark. However if u do worse, u can still use your old 75% mark. And if u have been hardworking enough to have done well in your first 4 units, u can relax for your last 2 units in june cos u know u're probably gonna get an A anyways.
However this does not happen for the Cambridge board. U do one exma in dec called the AS and one more the following june called the A2. U add together your marks and get your total for your grade. If u do badly for your AS or A2..sucks for you...
Back to HELP...it rocks, seriously.
1. The student council is excellent - from last jan to this jan alone there was - a treasure hunt (orientation), set up of the newsletter, a prom, a play (much ado about nothing), a battle of the bands..and the student council has more stuff up their sleeves.
2. The lecturers are excellent too. I would be perfectly honest and say there were one or two rubbish ones when i was there but the majority are GREAT. if u dun like ur current lecturer, u can switch class.
3. Classes aren't too huge. Easier to study, Plus, u get to move around...from one class to the next - american high school style. Unlike taylor's and most other colleges where u are stuck in the same class of 40 people the whole year.
4. FOOD everywhere. HELP is located in the center of damansara office blocks so u have an amazing choice of food - mamak, fast food, chinese, malay , indian, vegetarian, roti boy, pastries, jap... Plus midvalley is less than ten mins away and bangsar shopping center is 5mins away. I used to catch movies during my breaks. And no i'm not a slacker student :P
5. Contrary to popular belief the girls are reasonably hot. :P
6. Labs are great. Marie curie labs are finest in msia.
7. We have lifts. Taylors doesnt. LOL :P
8. And hello.........u get scholarships if u do well in sPM, just like any other college. Who told u otherwise?
9. The unis don't care what coolege u did ur alevels at..whatever it is you're at a disadvantage cos u're not studying in england. HELP gets people into cambridge oxford LSE and UCL too. Not sure of this year's stats but i heard at least 4 cambridge/oxford positive replies already. coming from a student body intake of 400 (as compared to taylor's 1200 - they got 8 or 9 cambridge last yr) that's pretty good ya know.
Only one con - ok so the library really isn't that great. But u're in alevels - u don't NEED a library for books. If youre doing law or econs and need refernces the library has a decent collection. If u wanna study - the common areas are good and quiet.
And finally...the people rock...seriously. There isn't one unhappy HELP Alevels student. Not one.
dlearn
17-01-2005, 09:31 AM
Also look at the alternatives available at the college, alternatives to A levels. If you are going for business or IT degree, sometimes going for a diploma programme in the area with one of those colleges that have multiple linkages overseas (where you can get into the final year on campus or even locally) may be the cheapest and fastest routes.
For a pre-U programme, you will not need to have much library facilities as long as you have access to broadband at college or at home. Don't just go to a college because your friends are going there or there are a lot of beautiful people there if you are serious about your studies. Choose one that gives you the most convenince: if you live in Cheras or Seremban...a college in Subang Jaya may not be so attractive, but think about how you can build you own self-reliance and semi-independence by not staying with mum & dad. It helps to build characters.
I am working in the private higher education industry and it is not ethical for me to comment on individual colleges and I will not say that my company's colleges (yeah we have a lot of them) are good for everything or even good at all in some cases!
lyzzy
17-01-2005, 11:04 AM
3. Classes aren't too huge. Easier to study, Plus, u get to move around...from one class to the next - american high school style. Unlike taylor's and most other colleges where u are stuck in the same class of 40 people the whole year.
4. FOOD everywhere. HELP is located in the center of damansara office blocks so u have an amazing choice of food - mamak, fast food, chinese, malay , indian, vegetarian, roti boy, pastries, jap... Plus midvalley is less than ten mins away and bangsar shopping center is 5mins away. I used to catch movies during my breaks. And no i'm not a slacker student :P
9. The unis don't care what coolege u did ur alevels at..whatever it is you're at a disadvantage cos u're not studying in england. HELP gets people into cambridge oxford LSE and UCL too. Not sure of this year's stats but i heard at least 4 cambridge/oxford positive replies already. coming from a student body intake of 400 (as compared to taylor's 1200 - they got 8 or 9 cambridge last yr) that's pretty good ya know.
OK, you are super-exaggerating things. There were 700 students in A Levels in Taylors last year, and 9 people got into Cambridge, out of which only 7 people went, because one guy got accepted to MIT. Not 1200 students! And tons of students go to LSE as well!
And there are only, at maximum, 30 people per class. Usually there are much less, like 25 people.
Taylor's has hawker centers all around it, so food is SOOOO much cheaper than in HELP.
The best advantage Taylor's has over HELP is there is so much more competition there, which really fuels good results and hard work. Taylor's streams the students according to their SPM trial results, and places them accordingly. So, you have several whole classes (with different combinations of A Level's subjects) who are solely made out of some of the most brightest students. There is a real pressure to work hard... but there's fun as well. In one class, 7 students got accepted to Cambridge (just as a benchmark!) ... to give you an indication of the crowd of students that you are going to be hanging out with.
Other than this, I would say that Taylor's and Help are about equal.
Toyota Manufacturing UK history (http://www.toyota-wiki.com/wiki/Toyota_Manufacturing_UK)
OK, you are super-exaggerating things. There were 700 students in A Levels in Taylors last year, and 9 people got into Cambridge, out of which only 7 people went, because one guy got accepted to MIT. Not 1200 students! And tons of students go to LSE as well!
And there are only, at maximum, 30 people per class. Usually there are much less, like 25 people.
Taylor's has hawker centers all around it, so food is SOOOO much cheaper than in HELP.
The best advantage Taylor's has over HELP is there is so much more competition there, which really fuels good results and hard work. Taylor's streams the students according to their SPM trial results, and places them accordingly. So, you have several whole classes (with different combinations of A Level's subjects) who are solely made out of some of the most brightest students. There is a real pressure to work hard... but there's fun as well. In one class, 7 students got accepted to Cambridge (just as a benchmark!) ... to give you an indication of the crowd of students that you are going to be hanging out with.
Other than this, I would say that Taylor's and Help are about equal.
Ok i concede. taylors and help are about equal in standard..but what's different is the size. but the 1200 was mentioned by someone else earlier not me. frankly i suppose if i had gone to taylor's i would've enjoyed my six months there too. i was defending help from whoever who said help was inferior. LOL.
what it really boils down to is you yourself. put yourself in any college/sixth form/matriculation/singapore or any other pre-u and u can have fun and learn like crazy - if u're willing. college is a whole new ballgame from school - and it's a great place if your purpose is to gain, to learn (from peers as well as lecturers) and to just have a fun life. welcome to tertiary education! as one of the college's taglines goes (i forgot which one), "You future begins HERE." Have fun!!!! :)
windrunner
22-01-2005, 08:15 PM
I know this is out of topic, but would i stand a better chance to go into good universities if i study in Singapore's Junior Colleges instead of local ones, or is it only about results?
About help and taylor's, they are the same i guess.....
22-01-2005, 09:31 PM
On the chances of getting into a good university, if you are talking about top uni in UK, then basically your A-Level is what matters. So, as long as you do well, it doesn't matter. If you are talking about top unis in US, then, they look a lot at your involvements, application essays and recommendation letters. Either way has provided quite a lot of success. Taylor has produced a number of top students going to top unis, as well as the Raffles Junior College and Hua Chong Junior College. I haven't heard much about students from HELP entering top unis in US...there could be some, but I am not aware of it.
windrunner
23-01-2005, 05:10 PM
Help is rather new you know, so i guess they still do not quite have that sort of reputation yet.
Chenchow, how do i actually get a recommendation letter if the lecturers barely know me?? Certainly, no one can write a good letter if they do not know me in the first place. (i am a little bit on the quiet side :( )
Got any tips for those who dream of going to top uni's?
16-02-2005, 12:39 AM
This is from khor_albert, who opened a new thread and please continue the discussion here.
Is private colleges as good as they claimed they are? I have a friend in a private college under Petronas Scholarship. He said that the life there is really bad and not conducive at all. Many students are showing bad examples and doing unhealthy things such as smoking. This shouldn't be the way for a good education center, rite? Give me more advice, please!!
16-02-2005, 12:45 AM
windrunner, sorry that I didn't see your post here.
On how to get recommendation letters from lecturers, the first step would be for you to participate in class discussion. When your lecturers ask students to answer questions in class, please make sure you do so. If you have a choice on where to sit, try to sit in the first row. That would bring more visibility to you. Don't chit chat in class, pay attention, as well as don't doze off.
Try to attend office hour of the lecturers, if the lecturers provide some office hour. Try to ask the lecturers on clarification on anything that you don't understand. I do understand that sometimes the class could get quite large, so you would need to perform well to get noticed.
So, try to get a bit more active in class and starts early. It would be too late to start looking for recommendors like in few days before you need them to write and they do not know you at all.
Good Luck~!
On the condusiveness of an environment, I would say that the best approach would be to try and get yourself uninfluenced in that environment. While the condition may be bad, and it could be so, even in some top universities in the world, it is more on your adaptation.
SHuLy
16-02-2005, 08:00 AM
if you are the outgoing type and loves sports, you might wanna check for colleges which have those facilities...unless of course, you are local and already a member of some club.
i'm not a local student, studying in SJaya. so, going to sports venues which are affliated with my college is a hassle..
Dr_Tay
16-02-2005, 02:11 PM
I am quite surprised that no one has mentioned the issue of fees. Be careful of operators that charge fees for every single item including results. Some even keep your assignments late so that you have to pay late submission charges and later ask you to pay more for extension periods towards your program and trust me it came from a reputable foreign institution.
Some say that the program can be done in four and that you will have to pay up one time, but after enrolling you keep on paying for every semester and every month till you go broke. So be careful there are some pretty unscrupulous operators out there willing to empty your bank account for you.
So have it all spelt out and if the operator is sincere work out the fee plan including all the miscellaneous charges. Try not to be taken for a ride.
i know that many bright and hardworking taylor's students take tuition from Help's lecturers.
So its kind of weird for someone to go to taylor's and in the end being taught by a lecturer from another college
20-02-2005, 06:28 AM
This is from khor_albert, who opened a new thread and please continue the discussion here.
Is private colleges as good as they claimed they are? I have a friend in a private college under Petronas Scholarship. He said that the life there is really bad and not conducive at all. Many students are showing bad examples and doing unhealthy things such as smoking. This shouldn't be the way for a good education center, rite? Give me more advice, please!!
Bad examples doesnt mean you have to follow them....In fact, it's true...that we are exposed to more bad stuffs in private colleges, so you have to learn how to control yourself and not get into those bad attitudes. I get to know friends who smoke only when I was in college, but I didnt follow their footsteps. You have to be strong enough to control yourself. Erm...now in UK, everyone drinks alcohol, clubbing and so on...so I'm controlling myself too, just like how I used to control myself in college.
Dr_Tay
20-02-2005, 09:46 AM
Be aware that many lecturers are pressured to give you a rosy picture of the state of affairs of their program after all it is their rice bowl. The marketing execs of the institutions will tell you all the wonderful things about the college say famous celebrities have been given scholarships to study there, or that there are beautiful boys and girls. All the things to entice you.
Make sure the management is known to be honest and ethical. This will affect the way the lecturer's teach. Check on the management by finding out what car they drive, if it is a luxury model you may be contributing to his car maintenance and high expense living, if it is an old banger the college may be abit poor but good. Check how much the lectures are paid and the teaching hours they have this would give you an indication of whether they have sufficient energy to teach.
For a reasonable education you should not be paying more than RMM25k for your degree, if so you are overpaying. At the end of the day there may be no job for you too, not a guarantee of employment after paying that much. Check their past year exam papers, check their libraries and terms, check the terms of payment and if there is a discount (Colleges like to use scholarship or bursary instead). Don't be shy to ask current students what they think of it.
Ask your parents, employers and business people who are your friends what they think of employing the chosen college's graduates. If they have an adverse reaction then you know you must avoid it at all cost.
A small, medium sized college with an adequate cashflow and concentration on standards is much better. Check who their banker is and ask for a reference on whether they are creditable. Check book suppliers to find out if they pay on time for their books. Do a market audit on their strenghts and weaknesses and then visit their campus to get a feel of the place. Do not be impressed with the building only. It is the heart not the frontage that you are looking for.
Finally, check the toilets (to see if they have toilet paper and is clean), air conditioning, carpets, ample carparks, eateries to see if it is maintained well. It is one sure way to guage the management of the college. I know it sounds funny but I am talking from experience. Ask those staying at campus accomodation if it is noisy, cramped and if the transportation is good to the facilities. Check the town in which is located, is there a post office, cafes and is a thriving hub. Analyse the cost of living there by comparing the price of teh tarik - RM0.90 should be the average. If any cheaper it would give you an indication that the cost of running the college should be low and the fees should therefore be just as low.
Check the security especially if you are a female student. How do the guards look like, are they friendly, helpful and trustworthy? Is there adequate security, lighting at night and no dark spaces and corners. Check to see that the students are from good families not broken ones which alot of them are as this would affect the way you perceive life in general. Working students are much better than fresh from a half past six school and layabout that you become lazy too.
Make sure that the condos used for student facilities do not have a sleezy reputation say for keeping mistresses, otherwise you will be approached if you are a female student. Make sure that the access is open, transparent and safe.
windrunner
20-02-2005, 02:04 PM
Thanks Chen Chow for the post.
By the way, Taylor's is a little bit too small for the amount of students. My class (A level pre- eng) has 30 students. So you might want to think twice if you do not like big classes.
Library is not really good but the lecturers are good (the experienced ones that is). I have 2 new lecturers out of 4. At least i like the way they teach, except for furmath...... ( of course , cannot expect much from mathematicians, friendly though) The experienced ones are gone for furmath, so it is a little of a problem here.
The decision is yours to make.
can anyone give comments on any institution in penang offering A levels? thanks
SHuLy
21-02-2005, 10:24 AM
i am doing my A levels in Taylors...
but not all of my teachers are good. some are experienced, but still, not good.
Make sure the management is known to be honest and ethical. This will affect the way the lecturer's teach. Check how much the lectures are paid and the teaching hours they have this would give you an indication of whether they have sufficient energy to teach.
i have a teacher complaining about the management of the A Levels Office.
and personally, i think that to a certain extent, my friends are very unhappy with them too.
and...there is a teacher who is in quite a high position who did things pretty unethical to me. i know that my comments here are vague, but i would not like to specify. so since this is just on the surface, it's up to you to evaluate/judge.
i cannot compare the college with other colleges as i have not gone to any of them. however, i heard that activities outside the classroom in other colleges are much much better..
i am doing my A levels in Taylors...
but not all of my teachers are good. some are experienced, but still, not good.
Make sure the management is known to be honest and ethical. This will affect the way the lecturer's teach. Check how much the lectures are paid and the teaching hours they have this would give you an indication of whether they have sufficient energy to teach.
i have a teacher complaining about the management of the A Levels Office.
and personally, i think that to a certain extent, my friends are very unhappy with them too.
and...there is a teacher who is in quite a high position who did things pretty unethical to me. i know that my comments here are vague, but i would not like to specify. so since this is just on the surface, it's up to you to evaluate/judge.
i cannot compare the college with other colleges as i have not gone to any of them. however, i heard that activities outside the classroom in other colleges are much much better..
because most experienced and good lecturers have left taylor's, i know a handful and i am happy to say that they r teaching me now.
Dr_Tay
23-02-2005, 02:11 PM
There was one lecturer I use to know who would ask for gifts and favors and demanded good evaluation so she could give good marks. On the evaluation form there would be a question if the lecturer would have brought the students on field trips, well she did by taking them to KLCC for shopping trips. Of course, the students were also asked to organise a trip to Genting.
She also showed her colleagues how wonderful she was as a lecturer by exhibiting the students' gifts as a measure of her popularity.
This was because she was so disgruntled with the miserly bonus she got from management that she resorted to this type of practice. Eventually, she did leave the institution out of frustration of not getting the increment and bonus she thought she deserved.
There was another lecturer that used the student pool as a recruiting ground for cheap labour as she was herself a part time guest relations executive. Eventually, she too left because it was more lucrative elsewhere.
SHuLy
23-02-2005, 02:16 PM
haha..which college are you from bush?
well, i did not choose taylors. rather, i was "posted" here. given a choice, i would not choose taylors...despite it's so-called "establishment". they need centuries more to go...!
haha..which college are you from bush?
well, i did not choose taylors. rather, i was "posted" here. given a choice, i would not choose taylors...despite it's so-called "establishment". they need centuries more to go...!
Help..........university college
25-02-2005, 08:24 PM
i've been thinking...
what exactly is a university college?
25-02-2005, 08:55 PM
i've been thinking...
what exactly is a university college?
An intermediate between college and university?
I think it's private colleges which used to offer twinning degrees with other unis (degrees in the end will be under the associate universities' names), but now are able to offer their own full degrees?
Correct me if I'm wrong..
SHuLy
25-02-2005, 10:56 PM
i think it has something to do with the population of the institution too.
26-02-2005, 01:59 AM
university college, as pandaboy mentioned is somewhere between university and college. It is in the middle of transition process. I can't recall exactly, but those university college would be promoted to full university in 5-10 years' time, if the university college is doing well.
Being a university college, it can grants its own degree, while at the same time, maintaining its twinning program. It has the requirement of having to build a full-fledged campus, where it is a prerequisite to get upgraded to be a university. There is also a requirement of % of master and PhD holders among the lecturers for university college.