View Full Version : Usm pharmacy 2011/2012
LiSieng
10-06-2011, 03:25 PM
anyone got usm pharmacy? im searching for coursemate. :)
jessxoxo
10-06-2011, 07:41 PM
Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!! =)
hello there!!! =D
^___^
LiSieng
10-06-2011, 08:33 PM
hallo! :) wher u from?
jessxoxo
10-06-2011, 08:59 PM
Hey!!!! I'm from Ipoh. What about you? I've been looking for future coursemates too! hehe. you from stpm?
LiSieng
10-06-2011, 09:24 PM
from sarawak here.. :) im from matriks.. :) nice to meet u! :)
jessxoxo
10-06-2011, 09:36 PM
wow sarawak! that's really farrr!! I never been there before hehe. where did you attend your matriks? haha cant wait to meet you in person! =)
LiSieng
10-06-2011, 09:46 PM
im from matrikulasi labuan.. u? stpm or matrik? :) hv u accept the offer?
jessxoxo
10-06-2011, 09:56 PM
waaaaaaaaaa then did you come all the way from sarawak to attend the interview the other day? I'm from stpm and yes!! I've accepted the offer! heeeheee. I'm so excited to know someone got it as well! hehe cuz most of friends did not. i wonder why! Did you matriks friend got pharm as well?
LiSieng
10-06-2011, 10:33 PM
no, sarawakian got their interview at kuching.. hehe :) ya.. so far matrik labuan got 4 person including me... u hv any fren got it too??? recommend them here... hv a nice chat before we go usm! hahah :)
jessxoxo
10-06-2011, 10:42 PM
I see! Unfortunately I don't have anyone I know who got pharmacy in USM. Some of my friends got other courses in the Penang campus. You're so lucky to have friends going there with you! after all sarawak to penang is a long journey! I wish I have accompany too! haahaa.
LiSieng
10-06-2011, 11:44 PM
haha... i only knew one senior but not from school of pharmacy... :) so hv u go thru all the online buku panduan?
jessxoxo
11-06-2011, 11:22 PM
I just printed the buku panduan out to read it! hehe cuz I don't feel like reading it using the computer hihi. Gonna read it maybe tomorrow! But I heard my friend said usm will send us a package soon right? I wonder if the same guide book will be inside. haha.
anyway are we required to print all the lampirans? =D
LiSieng
12-06-2011, 09:46 PM
i called them and they say they will send us the real surat tawaran and also the buku panduan... they said we hv to do nothing untill we get the buku panduan that they will post... im not so sure.. hv u started preparing anything? :)
jessxoxo
12-06-2011, 11:23 PM
i see!! =) then we can relax a bit. I think I get kinda excited about my uni life so I try to read all the info needed to have a clearer idea. haha. I haven't really started planning about anything! no idea where to start. hehe. I was just thinking about whether to take ptptn or apply for jpa..=D How does it feel having to leave sarawak and come to Penang? hihi.
LiSieng
14-06-2011, 01:02 PM
haha, since i hv always wanted usm, so i wud be so excited to go there... :) hey, do you hv fb? ^^
jessxoxo
14-06-2011, 08:28 PM
yup, we should add each other! hehe. what's your fb name? I go add you! tell me through private message! hihi.
cyian
19-06-2011, 09:40 PM
welcome juniors :)
jessxoxo
21-06-2011, 08:15 PM
hey senior! =) I wanna ask you about the internet connection in usm penang. are some of the websites blocked? and is it better if we have our own broadband..?
cyian
21-06-2011, 10:42 PM
hey senior! =) I wanna ask you about the internet connection in usm penang. are some of the websites blocked? and is it better if we have our own broadband..?
erm only youtube is blocked so far. and i don think u wil need to get a broadband la. the connection dere is pretty good. ur matrics student? if u r, then u wil be staying in the new hostel (RST block). the connection dere is pretty good :)
LiSieng
21-06-2011, 10:57 PM
hye senior! im from matric... y matric student in new hostel? btw, u r in which year now?
cyian
21-06-2011, 11:06 PM
hi :) erm i wil be in 2nd year when semester starts. cz we can see from past seniors, all those who came from matrics wil get to stay in the new hostel which is located opposite USM while those from STPM wil be stayin in the older hostel inside USM. they will see ur year of birth to decide whether ur matrics or stpm student :)
LiSieng
21-06-2011, 11:11 PM
so thats means our hostel will be very far from the school? and the lecture halls? o.0
cyian
21-06-2011, 11:13 PM
erm... quite.. haha.. pharmacy students have to walk to our skool cuz the bus doesnt enter our skool. roughly 5-10mins walk only.
LiSieng
21-06-2011, 11:30 PM
owh... bha, thanks for your info... :)
jessxoxo
22-06-2011, 07:33 PM
hello senior I'm from stpm! so is the internet in old hostel good? planning to get a broadband cuz I'm worried i can't go online if something important is on hehe. and also, for the notes, we have to print ourselves or lecturer will give us? if we gotta print on our own, does that mean I hav to bring printer? hihi.
cyian
22-06-2011, 07:49 PM
hello senior I'm from stpm! so is the internet in old hostel good? planning to get a broadband cuz I'm worried i can't go online if something important is on hehe. and also, for the notes, we have to print ourselves or lecturer will give us? if we gotta print on our own, does that mean I hav to bring printer? hihi.
old hostel is ok also.. but also depends which hostel u get. cz the main portal is from usm library. notes u don have to. once u enter pharm skool, u wil be given a direct senior n u can get notes from him/her. the notes r past down from senior to junior. haha. then u jus have to photostat it. printer is not reli tat necessary. dere r printing services dere but if u can sumhow bring a printer dere, then no harm done. haha..
lawrenceleong88
23-06-2011, 01:49 PM
erm only youtube is blocked so far. and i don think u wil need to get a broadband la. the connection dere is pretty good. ur matrics student? if u r, then u wil be staying in the new hostel (RST block). the connection dere is pretty good :)
Just bypass it using proxy or DNS...
jessxoxo
23-06-2011, 07:19 PM
i see! hmm there are so many things I don't know >_< hehe. sorry for asking too much! anyway, how they will assign the senior for us..? I wish I can get a good hostel! btw you were from stpm last time too senior?..
cyian
23-06-2011, 07:24 PM
i see! hmm there are so many things I don't know >_< hehe. sorry for asking too much! anyway, how they will assign the senior for us..? I wish I can get a good hostel! btw you were from stpm last time too senior?..
seniors wil be assigned by us. haha.. there is already an Orientation Committees. there will be a person incharge of assignin juniors to each seniors. So er.. its quite random. haha.. as for hostel, if ur from stpm jus don hope for much la :P haha.. the room is ok jus not as good as the RST block. yeap im from stpm but im also a jump class student. so my year of birth is the same as matrics student. tats y i get to stay in RST block :P but the good thing bout stayin inside usm is tat ur nearer to pharm skool or other places :)
btw, feel free to ask. this forum is for us seniors to guide u juniors :)
jessxoxo
23-06-2011, 08:31 PM
Lol. Lucky you!! and does that mean you're in the orientation committees as well? Umm for the first day there, usually parents can stay around for how long..? and we will straight away go to the hostel first? btw i heard that pharmacy students will be offered the jpa scholarship automatically, is it true?..
cyian
23-06-2011, 09:17 PM
Lol. Lucky you!! and does that mean you're in the orientation committees as well? Umm for the first day there, usually parents can stay around for how long..? and we will straight away go to the hostel first? btw i heard that pharmacy students will be offered the jpa scholarship automatically, is it true?..
ya im quite lucky.. haha.. yeap im in the committee as well :D parents can stay as long as u wan. at least for my time, we first gather at the main student hall to register, after registering we wil be given our hostel room key n we can straight go back to hostel to unpack d. we gather back at 8pm for some talk. haha. yeap we wil be offered jpa automatically. jus a matter of accept or decline only.
LiSieng
24-06-2011, 12:33 PM
how about hose who already get jpa since matriks? :) er... the RST hostel u said is outside the usm? r we free to bring any electrical appliances?? ^^
cyian
24-06-2011, 03:31 PM
how about hose who already get jpa since matriks? :) er... the RST hostel u said is outside the usm? r we free to bring any electrical appliances?? ^^
erm same lo. no need to apply. they wil cal all pharmacy student to attend a talk by jpa later. those who already have jpa since matriks wil jus need to renew it. tats all :) yeap outside of USM. Restu, Saujana, Tekun (RST), the name of the hostels. haha.. erm...well the rules say no..but ermm.... :P
LiSieng
24-06-2011, 08:13 PM
ok... i get ur meaning... haha...xD but by any chance... will there be any spot check??? in case.... haha
cyian
25-06-2011, 01:07 AM
ok... i get ur meaning... haha...xD but by any chance... will there be any spot check??? in case.... haha
my year no. previous year also no. haha.. it depends on ur hostel la. if they decide to spot check then they check lo.. if kena is saman RM50 if im not mistaken.
MichelleSoon
27-06-2011, 01:50 PM
Hello everyone, my name's Michelle.
I am very new here. Was trying to dig as much info about USM when I stumbled across this thread. Just got myself registered. So nice to meet all of you!
I was also offered Pharmacy course in USM, and I'm fairly excited! I took Asasi Sains in UPM for 1 1/2 years.
I would like to ask, what is the exact date that we need to "lapor diri" in USM. The buku panduan said 6 Sept but when I checked the academic calender 2011/2012, it said 3/4 Sept, that got me worried because I am from KL and I need to book hotel rooms for my parents.
For cyian, hi senior! Which hostel do they normally place the new Pharmacy students? I prolly will go to the old one, cuz my year is equivalent to STPM students. Can give me the name of the Desasiswa? I am just curious and would like to take a peep at the hostel website. Thanks!
I can't wait for semester to start!
cyian
27-06-2011, 03:10 PM
Hello everyone, my name's Michelle.
I am very new here. Was trying to dig as much info about USM when I stumbled across this thread. Just got myself registered. So nice to meet all of you!
I was also offered Pharmacy course in USM, and I'm fairly excited! I took Asasi Sains in UPM for 1 1/2 years.
I would like to ask, what is the exact date that we need to "lapor diri" in USM. The buku panduan said 6 Sept but when I checked the academic calender 2011/2012, it said 3/4 Sept, that got me worried because I am from KL and I need to book hotel rooms for my parents.
For cyian, hi senior! Which hostel do they normally place the new Pharmacy students? I prolly will go to the old one, cuz my year is equivalent to STPM students. Can give me the name of the Desasiswa? I am just curious and would like to take a peep at the hostel website. Thanks!
I can't wait for semester to start!
hi michelle! nice to meet you :) erm so far the gals were placed in Aman Damai n Fajar Harapan :)
as for the registration, i think is better for u to follow the offer letter. cuz the academic calendar is mostly for the 2nd year onwards. new students usually come in earlier for the orientation. but do check wit the rest as it might change this year :)
MichelleSoon
27-06-2011, 04:22 PM
hi michelle! nice to meet you :) erm so far the gals were placed in Aman Damai n Fajar Harapan :)
as for the registration, i think is better for u to follow the offer letter. cuz the academic calendar is mostly for the 2nd year onwards. new students usually come in earlier for the orientation. but do check wit the rest as it might change this year :)
Oh thank you. How's the hostels? Ok? Satisfactory? Definitely not as good as RST right? I saw from the pictures in the websites that the facilities are so much better, but the rate higher.
Another thing, are you by any chance a JPA scholar?
cyian
27-06-2011, 04:31 PM
Oh thank you. How's the hostels? Ok? Satisfactory? Definitely not as good as RST right? I saw from the pictures in the websites that the facilities are so much better, but the rate higher.
Another thing, are you by any chance a JPA scholar?
ya definitely not as good as rst. ya im a jpa scholar.
MichelleSoon
27-06-2011, 04:55 PM
ya definitely not as good as rst. ya im a jpa scholar.
Not as good but still satisfactory? The last time I stayed in UPM's hostels the bathrooms gave me nightmares lol...
Oh really? I am a JPA scholar too! Just want to ask, when you signed your contract, did they mention whether the 6 years bond include the housemanship and the 3 years compulsory government service? Cuz if not, that means we'll have to work under the government for almost 10 years, which is outrageous.
Thanks so much in advance for your info!
cyian
27-06-2011, 05:48 PM
Not as good but still satisfactory? The last time I stayed in UPM's hostels the bathrooms gave me nightmares lol...
Oh really? I am a JPA scholar too! Just want to ask, when you signed your contract, did they mention whether the 6 years bond include the housemanship and the 3 years compulsory government service? Cuz if not, that means we'll have to work under the government for almost 10 years, which is outrageous.
Thanks so much in advance for your info!
it is satisfactory.. cuz there r plans of renovating the place.. not sure if they make use of this 4 months break to renovate it anot. my frens who r stayin dere r quite happy wit it :)
all pharmacy students will be automatically offered jpa scholarship btw. erm total 6 years only which means it includes the compulsory 4 years :)
MichelleSoon
27-06-2011, 06:32 PM
it is satisfactory.. cuz there r plans of renovating the place.. not sure if they make use of this 4 months break to renovate it anot. my frens who r stayin dere r quite happy wit it :)
all pharmacy students will be automatically offered jpa scholarship btw. erm total 6 years only which means it includes the compulsory 4 years :)
Really? That's great news! That means I can accept the scholarship =) I was so worried it will total up to 10 years. Thank you so much for the info.
jessxoxo
27-06-2011, 07:33 PM
Hello there Michelle!! =) I think the date for us to report at usm will be 6th sept. heehee. thats what i think tho. I really can't wait to get the package from usm as I wanna know all the details! the time, the program etc. all this waiting is driving me crazy! Do you have any friends from UPM which are going to study pharmacy in usm as well?..
and senior, what is the bed like in the hostel. Is it a double decker? I hope not! what are the other furniture (e.g cupboards tables) that will be provided in the room?..
cyian
27-06-2011, 08:18 PM
Hello there Michelle!! =) I think the date for us to report at usm will be 6th sept. heehee. thats what i think tho. I really can't wait to get the package from usm as I wanna know all the details! the time, the program etc. all this waiting is driving me crazy! Do you have any friends from UPM which are going to study pharmacy in usm as well?..
and senior, what is the bed like in the hostel. Is it a double decker? I hope not! what are the other furniture (e.g cupboards tables) that will be provided in the room?..
the package u wil get is basically the same as the one available on9. haha.. dere is jus a manual book wit it n the offer letter.
the room..hmm.. nope is single bed.. 2 per room.. ur stpm rite? im not reli sure bout the hostel inside.. but in rst dere r a long mirror, L-shaped table, top shelf, a quite big cupboard n drawers under the bed. u can check at usm website for pictures of the hostel dere :)
jessxoxo
27-06-2011, 09:17 PM
I see..I just went to take a look at the hostels. too bad there isnt much pix on the old hostels =( hehe but i saw the rst block is really nice! but 10 storeys...O_O hehe. will there be lots of group assignments for the first year?..and must we join the clubs and societies..?
cyian
27-06-2011, 09:41 PM
I see..I just went to take a look at the hostels. too bad there isnt much pix on the old hostels =( hehe but i saw the rst block is really nice! but 10 storeys...O_O hehe. will there be lots of group assignments for the first year?..and must we join the clubs and societies..?
we have elevators at rst :P haha.. erm ya dere wil be like 2 assignments for each sem in ur first year n eash assignment wil take u bout 1-2 months to complete. clubs n societies no.. pharmacy students don reli need to. 95% ph pharm student din join anything cuz pharm skool organised more than enough activities for us d.
MichelleSoon
27-06-2011, 11:14 PM
Me too! When I called they said soon, apparently their definition on "soon" is not that soon after all. =P No, I'm always doing one-man-show hehe...one of my friends got Dentistry in Kelantan campus though...
we have elevators at rst :P haha.. erm ya dere wil be like 2 assignments for each sem in ur first year n eash assignment wil take u bout 1-2 months to complete. clubs n societies no.. pharmacy students don reli need to. 95% ph pharm student din join anything cuz pharm skool organised more than enough activities for us d.
Haha I hope the room facilities in the old blocks are well equipped as well....I tot it's compulsory for us to join clubs and societies. In UPM the degree students have to attend co-cu on Saturdays to obtain credits for their course and to secure a place in hostels. Is USM the same too? Yea I heard the Pharm School is quite active, in fact during the interview the interviewers stressed a lot on being contributive in activities. :)
LiSieng
27-06-2011, 11:23 PM
maybe i shud be grateful coz i might be placed in RST. :) the sad thing is that why water heater and iron are barang terlarang... last time at matrik... all that were not barang terlarang... haha...
cyian
27-06-2011, 11:32 PM
ya we do have to join activities to secure a place for hostel but jus by joining most of the activities organised by pharm skool shud be enough d.. so far no pharm student gt kicked out from hostel b4.. haha..
however we do have to join ko-k for 3 sem only.. we jus need 3 units of ko-k for the entire study..
erm dere is iron on every floor at rst.. haha..
MichelleSoon
27-06-2011, 11:34 PM
maybe i shud be grateful coz i might be placed in RST. :) the sad thing is that why water heater and iron are barang terlarang... last time at matrik... all that were not barang terlarang... haha...
Most of the time it's lip service only la.....in UPM, it's the same rule, but they brought in and used them like nobody's business. But once one of the heaters overheated and the whole block's electricity went off for about few hours. We almost died from heat wave :P
LiSieng
27-06-2011, 11:51 PM
Most of the time it's lip service only la.....
i hope it is like dat... haha
jessxoxo
28-06-2011, 07:44 PM
Me too! When I called they said soon, apparently their definition on "soon" is not that soon after all. =P No, I'm always doing one-man-show hehe...one of my friends got Dentistry in Kelantan campus though...
High five! Most of my friends got medic in Kelantan. I'm the only one who got pharmacy in Penang. >_< and yeah the interviewers emphasized in my session too that we musn't be only book worms but have to be active in all those activities! hehe. I guess I won't listen to the rules and bring all the electrical appliances I need! haha. I prefer ironing in the comfort of my room. Lol.
LiSieng
28-06-2011, 09:24 PM
I guess I won't listen to the rules and bring all the electrical appliances I need! haha. I prefer ironing in the comfort of my room. Lol.
haha.. yeah.... dont really like to share because sometime hv to wait for ur turn to use it.. huuhu
MichelleSoon
28-06-2011, 10:53 PM
High five! Most of my friends got medic in Kelantan. I'm the only one who got pharmacy in Penang. >_< and yeah the interviewers emphasized in my session too that we musn't be only book worms but have to be active in all those activities! hehe. I guess I won't listen to the rules and bring all the electrical appliances I need! haha. I prefer ironing in the comfort of my room. Lol.
*High five* Well, you should be happy you got Penang. It's an awesome place with awesome campus! I love the main campus.....yup, most of the time during the interview we were talking about extra-curricular activities. Haha neither will I, am bringing my fan and water heater, I want my CLEAN HOT water :P
jessxoxo
29-06-2011, 07:28 PM
yeah penang campus is waay better than kelantan. hehe. at least there are some shopping complexes around and penang is a more active state than kelantan, thats for sure. hehe. yay we shall bring all the things we need!! haha. btw Michelle, do you have fb? if yes pm me your fb name so i can add you ok! :))
ya we do have to join activities to secure a place for hostel but jus by joining most of the activities organised by pharm skool shud be enough d.. so far no pharm student gt kicked out from hostel b4.. haha..
however we do have to join ko-k for 3 sem only.. we jus need 3 units of ko-k for the entire study..
erm dere is iron on every floor at rst.. haha..
senior, what do you mean by 3 units of ko-k?
and also, for pharmacy students, must we submit a medical report about AIDS, hepatitis and etc? cuz I saw on one of the lampirans about medical check up, there is no column for all those diseases, does that mean we have to submit on our own and go have blood test elsewhere?
cyian
29-06-2011, 08:35 PM
yeah penang campus is waay better than kelantan. hehe. at least there are some shopping complexes around and penang is a more active state than kelantan, thats for sure. hehe. yay we shall bring all the things we need!! haha. btw Michelle, do you have fb? if yes pm me your fb name so i can add you ok! :))
senior, what do you mean by 3 units of ko-k?
and also, for pharmacy students, must we submit a medical report about AIDS, hepatitis and etc? cuz I saw on one of the lampirans about medical check up, there is no column for all those diseases, does that mean we have to submit on our own and go have blood test elsewhere?
erms means we have to join ko-k activity for a minimum of 3 semesters to fulfill the required credits to graduate. means 3 diff ko-k activities. eg for me, my 1st sem i joined scuba diving (guarantee A :P ), 2nd sem i joined catan (also guarantee A) and tis coming sem i joinin wayang kulit (heard from seniors tat its guarantee A also :P ).
as for medical checkup u don have to do it now. u wil perform the checkup at usm's medical centre (Pusat Sejahtera) after the orientation week :) its located inside usm itself.
jessxoxo
29-06-2011, 08:59 PM
erms means we have to join ko-k activity for a minimum of 3 semesters to fulfill the required credits to graduate. means 3 diff ko-k activities. eg for me, my 1st sem i joined scuba diving (guarantee A :P ), 2nd sem i joined catan (also guarantee A) and tis coming sem i joinin wayang kulit (heard from seniors tat its guarantee A also :P ).
as for medical checkup u don have to do it now. u wil perform the checkup at usm's medical centre (Pusat Sejahtera) after the orientation week :) its located inside usm itself.
hehe what is catan? and how come all guarantee A?
you mean we will do blood test there too? getting poked by needle in front of everyone? >_<!! but the lampiran didnt say anything about blood test de? only xray, eyesight etc wor..
cyian
29-06-2011, 09:08 PM
you mean we will do blood test there too? getting poked by needle in front of everyone? >_<!! but the lampiran didnt say anything about blood test de? only xray, eyesight etc wor..
catan is some oil based painting. cuz some of this ko-k lecturers are quite good lo.. as long u do all the stuff they ask then they wil giv u an A :D
it wil like a station game sort of arrangement in Pusat Sejahtera. u wil first register at the counter and then go thru station by station to be examined. im not sure bout blood test, but all ur medical checkup must be done in usm.
jessxoxo
29-06-2011, 09:11 PM
catan is some oil based painting. cuz some of this ko-k lecturers are quite good lo.. as long u do all the stuff they ask then they wil giv u an A :D
it wil like a station game sort of arrangement in Pusat Sejahtera. u wil first register at the counter and then go thru station by station to be examined. im not sure bout blood test, but all ur medical checkup must be done in usm.
I see..ko-k have lecturers too? the clubs you joined sound really fun! I've never tried catan and wayang kulit before!! can't wait to see what other interesting ones wich I can join. what time do u usually go for coco activities? how many days per week?
did you do the blood test last time then? I have needle phobia huhuhuh.
cyian
29-06-2011, 09:21 PM
I see..ko-k have lecturers too? the clubs you joined sound really fun! I've never tried catan and wayang kulit before!! can't wait to see what other interesting ones wich I can join. what time do u usually go for coco activities? how many days per week?
did you do the blood test last time then? I have needle phobia huhuhuh.
there r reli varieties of clubs that u can join in usm :) but try not to join those clubs which requires u to attend lots of meetings ya like uniform body. erm ko-k is every monday n thurs 5pm to 7pm. it depends on the ko-k lecturer to decide whether to have it both days or jus one day.
i cant reli remember if i did blood test anot.. haha.. if im not mistaken...............i think no :P
jessxoxo
29-06-2011, 09:45 PM
can't wait =D umm, for you, you joined one club for one sem right..? can we just join one club for all 3 sems..? heehee. gosh i have so many questions to ask but can't think of all of them right now. heehee.
cyian
29-06-2011, 10:12 PM
can't wait =D umm, for you, you joined one club for one sem right..? can we just join one club for all 3 sems..? heehee. gosh i have so many questions to ask but can't think of all of them right now. heehee.
erm.. its possible i suppose.. but y not join smtg diff every sem? haha..
MichelleSoon
30-06-2011, 02:12 PM
Nope, no blood test no worries.....it's supposed to be the same as UPM's one, so it's just blood pressure, weight (the basics), then you have to go individually to a gp to do a health consultation. Finally there will be a chest x-ray.
I would like to join swimming club, is it a guarantee A too? =)
cyian
30-06-2011, 03:08 PM
Nope, no blood test no worries.....it's supposed to be the same as UPM's one, so it's just blood pressure, weight (the basics), then you have to go individually to a gp to do a health consultation. Finally there will be a chest x-ray.
I would like to join swimming club, is it a guarantee A too? =)
swimming.. im not sure.. but my fren join in last sem.. there wil be meetin every mon n thurs except rainy days. then they wil learn one style every week. the final exam consist of few test n u wil be graded from tat.. wil try find out if my frens gt A anot.. haha.. cz he cant swim one :P
LiSieng
30-06-2011, 03:14 PM
wher can we get info about the list of clubs at usm? hehe
cyian
30-06-2011, 03:33 PM
wher can we get info about the list of clubs at usm? hehe
erm u can get it from the pharmacy manual book.. haha.. other than tat im not sure where u can get the full list..
LiSieng
30-06-2011, 04:47 PM
i see... thanx... erm, for pharmacy student, we all go lectures using formal clothes right? usually what kind of formal clothes does people wear? :) lol, it seems that only u the senior that are helping us here... haha..... xD
cyian
30-06-2011, 04:56 PM
i see... thanx... erm, for pharmacy student, we all go lectures using formal clothes right? usually what kind of formal clothes does people wear? :) lol, it seems that only u the senior that are helping us here... haha..... xD
gals r quite easy.. jus not t-shirt can d.. any shirt will do.. then skirt or long pants lo.. then no slippers or sandals.. shoes tat covers ur feet can d :)
LiSieng
30-06-2011, 04:59 PM
how bout baju kurung? coz during my matric time, we all hv to wear baju kurung. erm, what kind of classes that we will hv to attend? lecture is a must right.. how bout tutorials? labs?
cyian
30-06-2011, 05:09 PM
how bout baju kurung? coz during my matric time, we all hv to wear baju kurung. erm, what kind of classes that we will hv to attend? lecture is a must right.. how bout tutorials? labs?
ya baju kurung is ok.. erm as for classes.. i thought i have answered u in fb? :P
MichelleSoon
30-06-2011, 05:20 PM
swimming.. im not sure.. but my fren join in last sem.. there wil be meetin every mon n thurs except rainy days. then they wil learn one style every week. the final exam consist of few test n u wil be graded from tat.. wil try find out if my frens gt A anot.. haha.. cz he cant swim one :P
Haha I am probably asking too far but to swim in USM Swimming Pool, do we have to wear the long sleeved swimming suit, or just the normal one piece(sleeveless)?
cyian
30-06-2011, 05:50 PM
Haha I am probably asking too far but to swim in USM Swimming Pool, do we have to wear the long sleeved swimming suit, or just the normal one piece(sleeveless)?
haha.. erm it must be 1 piece + swimming cap :)
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-sFjR4Oo48eI/Texnu6DwWuI/AAAAAAAAAME/sKEH10ntDnc/s1600/Sem+1.jpg
anyway tis is the timetable for the coming sem :) look for the FAR 1XX which is the first line on every day.. tats for the 1st year.. as for tues the very long one is ur lab day.. :)
LiSieng
30-06-2011, 05:59 PM
LOLs... u r chun yian? sorry i dont know.. hahaha....
cyian
30-06-2011, 06:02 PM
nvm is ok.. haha.. but do continue postin stuff here ya.. its a better platform to share stuff wit everyone :)
LiSieng
30-06-2011, 06:11 PM
owrightss.. haha... thanx a lot! :)
MichelleSoon
01-07-2011, 09:22 AM
haha.. erm it must be 1 piece + swimming cap :)
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-sFjR4Oo48eI/Texnu6DwWuI/AAAAAAAAAME/sKEH10ntDnc/s1600/Sem+1.jpg
anyway tis is the timetable for the coming sem :) look for the FAR 1XX which is the first line on every day.. tats for the 1st year.. as for tues the very long one is ur lab day.. :)
Haha by 1 piece means the normal one that the swimmers wear ryte?
Anyways, thanks for the timetable, haha I think only few of us juniors are so privilledge to take a peek on our timetable before hand. Wow, syoknye....most of our classes start at 9am. And look at our Monday and Friday timetable! haha.....
cyian
01-07-2011, 10:43 PM
Haha by 1 piece means the normal one that the swimmers wear ryte?
Anyways, thanks for the timetable, haha I think only few of us juniors are so privilledge to take a peek on our timetable before hand. Wow, syoknye....most of our classes start at 9am. And look at our Monday and Friday timetable! haha.....
ya shud be the normal one..
yalo see u all sooo lucky ar get to see the timetable first.. haha.. ur 1st sem shud be quite free la.. but 2nd sem wil be abit busy..
MichelleSoon
05-07-2011, 10:36 AM
Senior, I have a question.
For Pharmacy course, are all courses conducted in English? Or there are BM orientated courses? When I checked USM's website, I found that some courses are only available in BM. Please advise. Thanks.
cyian
05-07-2011, 01:18 PM
Senior, I have a question.
For Pharmacy course, are all courses conducted in English? Or there are BM orientated courses? When I checked USM's website, I found that some courses are only available in BM. Please advise. Thanks.
erm so far all are in English :) most of our lecturers r all well versed in English.. except one or two lecturers only.. haha.
LiSieng
05-07-2011, 03:00 PM
hye michelle! maybe u can also join us at fb! :)
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_170856219617247
MichelleSoon
05-07-2011, 05:19 PM
hye michelle! maybe u can also join us at fb! :)
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_170856219617247
Thank you! I requested to join the group already. Awesome! Didn't know that we have a discussion group going on in facebook....
LiSieng
05-07-2011, 08:03 PM
haha.. u re welcome! :)
LiSieng
06-07-2011, 07:46 PM
hye, senior... can talk a bit about this minor major thing??? like, we can take some minor course and our major is pharm????
cyian
06-07-2011, 08:09 PM
hye, senior... can talk a bit about this minor major thing??? like, we can take some minor course and our major is pharm????
nope we cant.. haha.. we only have major.. but we r able to choose for our elective courses during our 2nd year.. like for me, my next sem i can choose either biotechnology or marketing.
for pharm students we already have a fixed subjects to take.. u can find the schedule inside the pharm manual book tat u wil be given later.
MichelleSoon
06-07-2011, 11:32 PM
nope we cant.. haha.. we only have major.. but we r able to choose for our elective courses during our 2nd year.. like for me, my next sem i can choose either biotechnology or marketing.
for pharm students we already have a fixed subjects to take.. u can find the schedule inside the pharm manual book tat u wil be given later.
Oh wow, definitely not marketing for me :P
Btw, I noticed from the schedule that expect the laboratory periods, all of our class won't exceed one hour. That's really good as it won't bore is down :)
cyian
07-07-2011, 12:18 AM
Oh wow, definitely not marketing for me :P
Btw, I noticed from the schedule that expect the laboratory periods, all of our class won't exceed one hour. That's really good as it won't bore is down :)
erm.. u might choose marketing.. haha.. cz biotech is NOT easy.. u wil see once u enter.. haha..
ya all classes only 40mins :D the labs r not reli the whole day.. u wil be divided into 2 grps.. means ur either in the mornin or in the afternoon n not both :)
MichelleSoon
07-07-2011, 08:58 AM
erm.. u might choose marketing.. haha.. cz biotech is NOT easy.. u wil see once u enter.. haha..
ya all classes only 40mins :D the labs r not reli the whole day.. u wil be divided into 2 grps.. means ur either in the mornin or in the afternoon n not both :)
Everyone goes to the same class? Means 100 over students go for the same class everyday?
cyian
07-07-2011, 01:35 PM
Everyone goes to the same class? Means 100 over students go for the same class everyday?
yeap~ our lecture hall is quite big.. everyone wil enter at the same time lo..
LiSieng
09-07-2011, 04:11 PM
1 more question. do we need to bring lab coat? can we use our own lab coat? or we have to buy a new one at usm? coz i got this one lab coat from matric. :)
cyian
09-07-2011, 04:45 PM
1 more question. do we need to bring lab coat? can we use our own lab coat? or we have to buy a new one at usm? coz i got this one lab coat from matric. :)
erm... if ur lab coat is long sleeved, then is ok.. u don have to buy a new one.. cz the new one is jus a plain white lab coat without anything on it :( as long its long-sleeved can d..
but u wil need to buy those big transparent eye protectors. haha.. some of the labs requires u to put it on.. but all that can be bought at pharm skool during ur 1st few weeks of class :) its RM50 for both lab coat+specs. if specs alone im not sure how much izit..
jus a reminder, get a size smaller for the lab coat.. if ur wearing L, order for M. cz the labcoat is reli big.. my batch we r all wearing pyjamas.. haha...
so hows the preparation for all of u? cant wait to meet u all :D
LiSieng
10-07-2011, 08:24 AM
haha, my lab coat is long sleeves, plain white... so i think no nid to buy a new one.. :D but mine also make me seems like wearing pyjamas... haha... maybe can send it to resize..
hmm... nothing much that hv been prepared... still waiting for the big envelope frm usm.. hihi :)
hm... not much people visit this thread.. everyone go to fb huhuhu... only 4 people here, me, cyian, jessxoxo, and michelle soon.. :(
cyian
10-07-2011, 03:50 PM
haha, my lab coat is long sleeves, plain white... so i think no nid to buy a new one.. :D but mine also make me seems like wearing pyjamas... haha... maybe can send it to resize..
hmm... nothing much that hv been prepared... still waiting for the big envelope frm usm.. hihi :)
hm... not much people visit this thread.. everyone go to fb huhuhu... only 4 people here, me, cyian, jessxoxo, and michelle soon.. :(
haha.. fb is fast but not reli a good platform la in my opinion.. is more for one to one discussion.. if group..damn hard to catch up n read.. haha.. u can go apply for bank islam account first.. then if ur plannin to apply for ptptn instead of jpa, u can also settle tat first lo.. if not dere is ntg much to prepare d.. haha..
LiSieng
10-07-2011, 09:24 PM
i oredi got jpa scholarship since matric... i still need apply bank islam account? if im not mistaken, they will continue our scholarship rite?:)
did u apply any scholarship or u r using ptptn?
ya, im agree, when there r too much comment for one post, its hard to read them all...
cyian
10-07-2011, 09:45 PM
i oredi got jpa scholarship since matric... i still need apply bank islam account? if im not mistaken, they will continue our scholarship rite?:)
did u apply any scholarship or u r using ptptn?
ya, im agree, when there r too much comment for one post, its hard to read them all...
im under jpa.. haha..
MichelleSoon
10-07-2011, 09:51 PM
im under jpa.. haha..
Haha JPA scholarship is continuous...so when you got the big envelope just log on to eSila and submit your surat tawaran and other documents.
Senior, other than fund, any thing else to prepare? Maybe academically?
And nvm la, if thr's just 4 of us, we syok sendiri here la lol....
jessxoxo
10-07-2011, 10:06 PM
Hey senior, I received a call last week from JPA saying that I'm offered the scholarship. I think jpa offers it early to some stpm students. I've already accepted it online. Umm does that mean I can wait for JPA to transfer the money to me then only I pay for the fees? Or I have to pay it first?..=D
cyian
10-07-2011, 11:06 PM
Hey senior, I received a call last week from JPA saying that I'm offered the scholarship. I think jpa offers it early to some stpm students. I've already accepted it online. Umm does that mean I can wait for JPA to transfer the money to me then only I pay for the fees? Or I have to pay it first?..=D
u can wait lo.. cz the deadline for the fee payment is b4 ur final exam.. haha.. cz sometimes if u already paid, jpa wil stil pay for u. so u wil have extra money in the usm acc.. very mafan one.. so wait first lo..
erm.. academically.. ntg much to prepare i suppose.. haha.. u can bring some of ur matriks/stpm reference books along lo.. they wil help cz we r practically revising back only wat we have learned during the 1st sem..
MichelleSoon
11-07-2011, 11:20 AM
u can wait lo.. cz the deadline for the fee payment is b4 ur final exam.. haha.. cz sometimes if u already paid, jpa wil stil pay for u. so u wil have extra money in the usm acc.. very mafan one.. so wait first lo..
erm.. academically.. ntg much to prepare i suppose.. haha.. u can bring some of ur matriks/stpm reference books along lo.. they wil help cz we r practically revising back only wat we have learned during the 1st sem..
Oh, but what about the registration fee (yuran tak berulang). Should we pay that first? Cuz JPA assured me that they won't cover that.
I see, so first sem is more relaxed la....alright thanks. Anyhow, will the syllabus be more similar to STPM syllabus or Matrics syllabus for first sem?
cyian
11-07-2011, 12:10 PM
Oh, but what about the registration fee (yuran tak berulang). Should we pay that first? Cuz JPA assured me that they won't cover that.
I see, so first sem is more relaxed la....alright thanks. Anyhow, will the syllabus be more similar to STPM syllabus or Matrics syllabus for first sem?
My advise is to pay both first i suppose.. cz jpa wil credit the money in quite late.. but tats jus my opinion la.. but i think 1st sem is ok if u all pay it first.. sorry for the contradicting opinion wit the earlier one. but i do think is ok if u all jus pay it first since jpa will only giv u the money around the end of ur 1st sem..
the syllabus is a mix of both.. but more of stpm :)
MichelleSoon
11-07-2011, 01:20 PM
My advise is to pay both first i suppose.. cz jpa wil credit the money in quite late.. but tats jus my opinion la.. but i think 1st sem is ok if u all pay it first.. sorry for the contradicting opinion wit the earlier one. but i do think is ok if u all jus pay it first since jpa will only giv u the money around the end of ur 1st sem..
the syllabus is a mix of both.. but more of stpm :)
So late? What about the allowance and all? That means we need to sponsor ourselves for the first sem?
Oh dear, means I have to buckle up....cuz I think Matrics' syllabus is so much easier than STPM's one. Will it be hard for Matrics Student to catch up?
cyian
11-07-2011, 01:39 PM
So late? What about the allowance and all? That means we need to sponsor ourselves for the first sem?
Oh dear, means I have to buckle up....cuz I think Matrics' syllabus is so much easier than STPM's one. Will it be hard for Matrics Student to catch up?
ya the first sem u wil have to sponsor urself first.. the first payment wil be around 6k.. for ur next sem they wil stil pay u 6k as ur allowance alone.. ur tuition fees wil be paid by them directly to usm..
haha.. it wont be hard for matric students.. its all bout hardwork.. cz the lecturers wil be teachin back the same thing to u all.. but u all have to prepare urself as we were told tat they r goin to take out Chemistry from the syllabus for ur semester wit the assumptions tat u all "already learned it in ur matrics/stpm".
MichelleSoon
11-07-2011, 01:58 PM
ya the first sem u wil have to sponsor urself first.. the first payment wil be around 6k.. for ur next sem they wil stil pay u 6k as ur allowance alone.. ur tuition fees wil be paid by them directly to usm..
haha.. it wont be hard for matric students.. its all bout hardwork.. cz the lecturers wil be teachin back the same thing to u all.. but u all have to prepare urself as we were told tat they r goin to take out Chemistry from the syllabus for ur semester wit the assumptions tat u all "already learned it in ur matrics/stpm".
6k for a sem? Including all the book allowance and stuff ryte? :) For second sem, they will bank in the money very slow too? Will they pay the hostel fee for us?
Oh my, please don't take out Chemistry...I think Matrics and STPM Chemistry big difference :(
cyian
11-07-2011, 02:11 PM
6k for a sem? Including all the book allowance and stuff ryte? :) For second sem, they will bank in the money very slow too? Will they pay the hostel fee for us?
Oh my, please don't take out Chemistry...I think Matrics and STPM Chemistry big difference :(
yeap they wil pay everythin for u.. for the followin sem, the payment wil be much earlier.. around 1month after sem commence..
ya we were telling the lecturers tat the chemistry is totally diff.. cz i attended a student-lecturer meeting n they told us tat they r doing that for ur batch.. n ur batch will also be learnin on both industrial n clinical pharmacy whereas previous batch only concentrates on clinical.. its a good thing for u all as the market now is packed wit clinical pharmacist n lacked industrial ones :)
MichelleSoon
11-07-2011, 02:33 PM
yeap they wil pay everythin for u.. for the followin sem, the payment wil be much earlier.. around 1month after sem commence..
ya we were telling the lecturers tat the chemistry is totally diff.. cz i attended a student-lecturer meeting n they told us tat they r doing that for ur batch.. n ur batch will also be learnin on both industrial n clinical pharmacy whereas previous batch only concentrates on clinical.. its a good thing for u all as the market now is packed wit clinical pharmacist n lacked industrial ones :)
Haha well if I do head-calculation, our allowance will be quite a lot wor....more than enough, can save somemore :)
Oh well, I guess it's time for self-assessment and self-improvement. It's good, because I think industrial pharmacy is interesting and the application is wide :) Thanks senior for all the info!
cyian
11-07-2011, 02:46 PM
Haha well if I do head-calculation, our allowance will be quite a lot wor....more than enough, can save somemore :)
Oh well, I guess it's time for self-assessment and self-improvement. It's good, because I think industrial pharmacy is interesting and the application is wide :) Thanks senior for all the info!
yeap is more than enuf.. at the end of every sem u guys can plan to go for vacation together also.. we did tat for both sems d.. haha.. ur welcome :)
jessxoxo
11-07-2011, 09:50 PM
ooooh..you mentioned that "if u already paid, jpa wil stil pay for u. so u wil have extra money in the usm acc.. very mafan one.." hehe that means I paid usm twice? will they refund the extra money for me then? hehehe. sorry I get a little bit confused by the contradicting suggestions. heehee.
ummm I saw from the jpa instruction paper that they will open a bank islam account FOR us. so if I'm going to pay the fees by myself for the 1st sem, I have to get a bank islam account too right? do i have to inform jpa about that..?
and also..we will be studying all three types of chemistry (physical, organic, inorganic) during our first sem? what about stpm Biology? hehe. is it included too? actually are we going to study maths for pharmacy? heehee. sorry too many questions one shot >_<
cyian
11-07-2011, 10:47 PM
ooooh..you mentioned that "if u already paid, jpa wil stil pay for u. so u wil have extra money in the usm acc.. very mafan one.." hehe that means I paid usm twice? will they refund the extra money for me then? hehehe. sorry I get a little bit confused by the contradicting suggestions. heehee.
ummm I saw from the jpa instruction paper that they will open a bank islam account FOR us. so if I'm going to pay the fees by myself for the 1st sem, I have to get a bank islam account too right? do i have to inform jpa about that..?
and also..we will be studying all three types of chemistry (physical, organic, inorganic) during our first sem? what about stpm Biology? hehe. is it included too? actually are we going to study maths for pharmacy? heehee. sorry too many questions one shot >_<
yeap they wil refund for u.. one of my fren got into this situation n she gt back her money..
as for the payment, u don have to have a bank islam acc to pay.. u can go straight to the counter, fill up a form n directly pay to usm.. jus let the person at the counter know tat u wan to pay fees for usm.
first sem u will be studying physical chemistry, 2nd sem is organic chemistry. but like i said to michelle, there is a high chance tat the skool wil take chemistry out of the syllabus for ur batch.. biology..ya we wil be studyin but its entirely on the human body n also microorganisms.. no more plants.. haha.. n it wil be much tougher than stpm.. lots n lots to memorize especially the names of microorganisms n human cell types @<hidden>@<hidden>
NOPE no maths :D haha..
LiSieng
11-07-2011, 11:14 PM
wa... very informative.... something i dont know and donno how to ask.. haha...
btw, got any tips to memorize better? haha...
ermmm we dont hv math?? really??? :D but sounds quite impossible le?? how about calculating dose etc? haha, not sure what im talking about..
cyian
11-07-2011, 11:32 PM
wa... very informative.... something i dont know and donno how to ask.. haha...
btw, got any tips to memorize better? haha...
ermmm we dont hv math?? really??? :D but sounds quite impossible le?? how about calculating dose etc? haha, not sure what im talking about..
tips? start memorizin it early.. haha.. don wait til exam ny memorize.. cz trust me..dere r reli alot alot to memorize.. especially microbiology.. all the microorganism's name n classification n the disease they cause n how to diagnose them @<hidden>@<hidden>
bout dose, u wil learn in ur 2nd sem but its reli simple maths.. jus a matter of ratio only.. tats all.. n don worry, u can use calculator.. haha..
MichelleSoon
11-07-2011, 11:47 PM
yeap they wil refund for u.. one of my fren got into this situation n she gt back her money..
as for the payment, u don have to have a bank islam acc to pay.. u can go straight to the counter, fill up a form n directly pay to usm.. jus let the person at the counter know tat u wan to pay fees for usm.
first sem u will be studying physical chemistry, 2nd sem is organic chemistry. but like i said to michelle, there is a high chance tat the skool wil take chemistry out of the syllabus for ur batch.. biology..ya we wil be studyin but its entirely on the human body n also microorganisms.. no more plants.. haha.. n it wil be much tougher than stpm.. lots n lots to memorize especially the names of microorganisms n human cell types @<hidden>@<hidden>
No plants? Oh yay! haha.....
Erm supposedly they will pull out Chemistry from our syllabus, but you all seniors have Chemistry notes right? So will be passed down to us as well right? So we can study from there?
And Jess, yes, JPA will open an account for you, you just need to go to Bank Islam to activate your account when the time comes. They will only give you an ATM card so you won't have any details about the account. Just go and tekan then withdraw money :P
LiSieng
12-07-2011, 10:29 AM
tips? start memorizin it early.. haha.. don wait til exam ny memorize.. cz trust me..dere r reli alot alot to memorize.. especially microbiology.. all the microorganism's name n classification n the disease they cause n how to diagnose them @<hidden>@<hidden>
bout dose, u wil learn in ur 2nd sem but its reli simple maths.. jus a matter of ratio only.. tats all.. n don worry, u can use calculator.. haha..
simple math?? hehe... then it's gud.. hahah... so no more integration differentiation etc rite? yeay... thinking about those thing make my head pening2.. haha
hmmm.... so many thing to memorize.... my memory not so gud le... tend to forget when exam is over. hope can cope wif it... thanx for the tips! :D
cyian
12-07-2011, 10:31 AM
No plants? Oh yay! haha.....
Erm supposedly they will pull out Chemistry from our syllabus, but you all seniors have Chemistry notes right? So will be passed down to us as well right? So we can study from there?
And Jess, yes, JPA will open an account for you, you just need to go to Bank Islam to activate your account when the time comes. They will only give you an ATM card so you won't have any details about the account. Just go and tekan then withdraw money :P
yeap we have the notes.. so u all can read from dere if u wan.. haha..
MichelleSoon
12-07-2011, 04:35 PM
Senior, during sports, can we wear shorts (appropriate length) or must we wear long tracks? During pimpim siswa, can wear shorts? For RST, if around hostel, can wear shorts?
cyian
12-07-2011, 05:22 PM
Senior, during sports, can we wear shorts (appropriate length) or must we wear long tracks? During pimpim siswa, can wear shorts? For RST, if around hostel, can wear shorts?
yeap can wear shorts.. penang is quite ok.. no prob wearing shorts anywhere u wan.. haha.. as for pimpin siswa, its better if u wear long tracks cz it wil be full of activities n also mosquitoes. haha.. but do bring along shorts then jus ask them whether izit ok if u wear shorts for some of the activities (eg cooking competition).
jessxoxo
12-07-2011, 08:39 PM
oooh thanks! btw If the school decides to take out chemistry from the syllabus, do we still have to sit for a chemistry exam? hehe. if yes, then they really expect all of us to study by ourselves lo! haha. so by revising stpm bio we can at least prepare ourselves a little bit? heehee.
and senior, I know most of the people brought their own electrical appliances to uni, I heard from a friend that usm might minus our hard-earned co-curricular points if they catch us >_< is it true? thats is worse than paying rm50 as a fine..huhu.
cyian
12-07-2011, 09:23 PM
oooh thanks! btw If the school decides to take out chemistry from the syllabus, do we still have to sit for a chemistry exam? hehe. if yes, then they really expect all of us to study by ourselves lo! haha. so by revising stpm bio we can at least prepare ourselves a little bit? heehee.
and senior, I know most of the people brought their own electrical appliances to uni, I heard from a friend that usm might minus our hard-earned co-curricular points if they catch us >_< is it true? thats is worse than paying rm50 as a fine..huhu.
nope u wont have to sit for chemistry exam but dere r stuff in drugs that has got to do wit the chemical properties which allows it to have diff effect on the human body. so other subjects like Pharmacology may need u to have some basics in chemistry to be able to understand it.
about biology, erm u wil learn much more than stpm.. like the blood vessels has 5 diff types of cell layers to it n u need to know the properties of each layer n their functions. Physiology.. worse subject in 1st sem ><
i brought my own elec appliances too :P im not sure bout the points, but during orientation they told us they wil jus make us pay rm50 only. but so far my entire 1st year, dere is no spotcheck.
jessxoxo
12-07-2011, 10:19 PM
nope u wont have to sit for chemistry exam but dere r stuff in drugs that has got to do wit the chemical properties which allows it to have diff effect on the human body. so other subjects like Pharmacology may need u to have some basics in chemistry to be able to understand it.
about biology, erm u wil learn much more than stpm.. like the blood vessels has 5 diff types of cell layers to it n u need to know the properties of each layer n their functions. Physiology.. worse subject in 1st sem ><
i brought my own elec appliances too :P im not sure bout the points, but during orientation they told us they wil jus make us pay rm50 only. but so far my entire 1st year, dere is no spotcheck.
ooooh waaa I'm nervous! hehe. sounds like we need a strong basics on both chem and bio before entering. really have to refresh our memory after months of holidays. do you all use more reference books compared to notes? and the books we can buy them from school together with the rest of the class? or we have to find it ourselves? hehe.
I really wish to bring my own electrical appliances too! I hope it will be the same for the this year, hehe no spotcheck. and I hope they will not deduct koko points. huhu..did u bring your own kettle and iron? heehee.
are the lecturers good? :))
cyian
12-07-2011, 10:25 PM
ooooh waaa I'm nervous! hehe. sounds like we need a strong basics on both chem and bio before entering. really have to refresh our memory after months of holidays. do you all use more reference books compared to notes? and the books we can buy them from school together with the rest of the class? or we have to find it ourselves? hehe.
I really wish to bring my own electrical appliances too! I hope it will be the same for the this year, hehe no spotcheck. and I hope they will not deduct koko points. huhu..did u bring your own kettle and iron? heehee.
are the lecturers good? :))
enjoy urself for now.. u wil study when ur in the uni.. haha.. erm i don have any reference book for my 1st sem.. haha.. entirely rely on the notes.. reference book we wil need only 1 book for physiology only for 1st n 2nd year.. ya we wil buy together.. the class representative wil buy for everyone..
ya i brought my own kettle n hair dryer.. hahaha...
the lecturers r good.. very frenly.. but dere r also one or two which r a pain in the ass.. haha :P
jessxoxo
12-07-2011, 10:43 PM
hehe yup you're right..don't burden myself too much for now, hehe. you need hair dryer too? hehehe. what do you mean by 'pain in the ass'? Lol. Luckily only one or two of those type! haha.
cyian
12-07-2011, 11:24 PM
hehe yup you're right..don't burden myself too much for now, hehe. you need hair dryer too? hehehe. what do you mean by 'pain in the ass'? Lol. Luckily only one or two of those type! haha.
hmmm.. dere is one lecturer who is very full of herself.. she doesnt giv notes, doesnt allow u to have notes on the table, u can only copy down from the slides n if ever ur phone ring durin her lecture, she wil consider the lesson has been taught n she wil leave the hall immediately.. tats how pain it is.. haha.. don worry.. u wil meet her in 2nd year.. i heard all tis from senior also..
MichelleSoon
13-07-2011, 09:59 AM
Wow sounds tough, and fun also at the same time hehehe....Cuz I love Physiology and Pharmacology. So senior, when they teach about chemical properties in Pharmacology, we just need to refer back to our foundation Chemistry, is it?
As for Biology, I think it's not really a matter of basics, it's just a matter of memorizing all the way. :P
Haha I am thinking of bringing a fan!
Well, a lecturer giving you a hard time is much better than a lecturer that makes no point at all. Do we have such lecturers in USM? The one that doesn't know how to teach...:P
I don't mind enjoying before entering Uni, but I am just concerned whether I can catch up with the STPM students after class commences because I think the syllabus I have studied is so much more shallow and superficial. So, it's only right for us to refresh our memory, right?
cyian
15-07-2011, 08:04 PM
Wow sounds tough, and fun also at the same time hehehe....Cuz I love Physiology and Pharmacology. So senior, when they teach about chemical properties in Pharmacology, we just need to refer back to our foundation Chemistry, is it?
As for Biology, I think it's not really a matter of basics, it's just a matter of memorizing all the way. :P
Haha I am thinking of bringing a fan!
Well, a lecturer giving you a hard time is much better than a lecturer that makes no point at all. Do we have such lecturers in USM? The one that doesn't know how to teach...:P
I don't mind enjoying before entering Uni, but I am just concerned whether I can catch up with the STPM students after class commences because I think the syllabus I have studied is so much more shallow and superficial. So, it's only right for us to refresh our memory, right?
sorry for the late reply.. jus gt back from genting.. haha.. yeap referring to the notes wil be ok.. but hopefully they haven change the syllabus yet.. ya is all about memorizing in ur first year.. pure memorizin @<hidden>@<hidden>
ya we do have 1 lecturer so far for 1st year tat makes no point at all.. so we practically attended his lecture but we r doing smtg else during that period :P
yeap refreshing ur memory now wil giv u a good head start for ur coming sem.. cz most of it is stpm/matriks stuff n they will assume u have the knowledge already.
LiSieng
18-07-2011, 12:53 PM
michelle and jess: anyone of u hv paid the yuran?
cyian senior: i reread all the post and i realize that i didnt understand one thing... jpa will pay for our tuition fees? what does that mean? isit that we will hv tuition at usm?
cyian
18-07-2011, 01:22 PM
cyian senior: i reread all the post and i realize that i didnt understand one thing... jpa will pay for our tuition fees? what does that mean? isit that we will hv tuition at usm?
tuition fee is the term used in university for ur study fees/yuran that u all have to pay now :) for ur following semesters, JPA wil pay it directly to usm for u all..
LiSieng
18-07-2011, 01:44 PM
oh... ok...thanx! now i understand... so now, what i hv to do is just pay the total fee.. :)
erm, 1 more thing... can u enlighten us about
Core, Elective, Option courses?
now i know, core is like main course, and we all hv to learn it.. no choice...
elective course is something related to the course but we can choose..
how about option courses? is it something we must take or what?
i found this at the school website...
MichelleSoon
18-07-2011, 03:15 PM
Li Sieng, not yet...wanna wait for the parcel to confirm the amount :)
cyian
18-07-2011, 04:03 PM
oh... ok...thanx! now i understand... so now, what i hv to do is just pay the total fee.. :)
erm, 1 more thing... can u enlighten us about
Core, Elective, Option courses?
now i know, core is like main course, and we all hv to learn it.. no choice...
elective course is something related to the course but we can choose..
how about option courses? is it something we must take or what?
i found this at the school website...
Core is the main course in ur degree.
Elective are options to subjects that r related to ur degree but they r on a different field. for example dere r management n biotech (choose 1), cosmetics n marketing, research n geriatrics.
Option courses are co-curriculum.
One more is called University courses. this r courses that everyone must take during their study in the university. eg r Keusahawanan, Hubungan Etnik, Tamadun Islam, etc.
the last one is language courses which are BM, English n foreign languages :)
MichelleSoon
18-07-2011, 04:18 PM
Core is the main course in ur degree.
Elective are options to subjects that r related to ur degree but they r on a different field. for example dere r management n biotech (choose 1), cosmetics n marketing, research n geriatrics.
Option courses are co-curriculum.
One more is called University courses. this r courses that everyone must take during their study in the university. eg r Keusahawanan, Hubungan Etnik, Tamadun Islam, etc.
the last one is language courses which are BM, English n foreign languages :)
When do we usually have our University course classes? Weekdays or weekends?
For language courses (which we're only eligible to take during our second year), we can take foreign languages?
cyian
18-07-2011, 05:19 PM
When do we usually have our University course classes? Weekdays or weekends?
For language courses (which we're only eligible to take during our second year), we can take foreign languages?
university courses r during weekdays.. it is either early in the mornin (8am) or late at nite (8pm) bcz it wil be attended by other students from other courses as well.
ok i jus gone thru the manual n foreign languages r categorized under Option courses. meaning to say that u can choose to either take up co-cu or foreign languages :)
LiSieng
18-07-2011, 06:02 PM
michelle: i see... i hvnt pay it too.. :)
cyian: so, if one want to take foreign language courses, hv to wait until 2nd year then can take it? since foreign languages courses and co-cu are under option courses, if we already take for example japanese language, thats means we only have to take two more clubs or society for our co-cu?since we need 3 units of co-cu while foreign languages and co-cu are under option course? and for university course, when do we start taking it? is it something we can choose too?
cyian
18-07-2011, 06:10 PM
michelle: i see... i hvnt pay it too.. :)
cyian: so, if one want to take foreign language courses, hv to wait until 2nd year then can take it? since foreign languages courses and co-cu are under option courses, if we already take for example japanese language, thats means we only have to take two more clubs or society for our co-cu?since we need 3 units of co-cu while foreign languages and co-cu are under option course? and for university course, when do we start taking it? is it something we can choose too?
im not tat sure bout tis, but IF foreign language is under option courses, then first yr can take already. cz so far none of us took foreign language as we wan courses tat doesnt require much of our attention like ko-ku. cz the grades u get wil be calculated into ur cgpa also n i heard the exam for foreign languages r not easy :(
we wil start taking uni courses on the first sem itself. we cant choose. it is all listed in the manual book for Pharmacy for which uni course we must take for each sem :)
LiSieng
18-07-2011, 06:34 PM
oh no! i forgot about the test...fuh, i guess i hv to reconsider taking foreign language.. btw, do we hv exams for co-cu? :D
manual book for pharmacy? hmm... it looks like a big-book-of-everything-for-pharmacy.. haha... i wish i have it here now... seems like a lot of info inside there..when will we get the book? during orientation week or it will be send to us with the parcel??
oh ya, thanx for the above info.. :D
cyian
18-07-2011, 06:37 PM
oh no! i forgot about the test...fuh, i guess i hv to reconsider taking foreign language.. btw, do we hv exams for co-cu? :D
manual book for pharmacy? hmm... it looks like a big-book-of-everything-for-pharmacy.. haha... i wish i have it here now... seems like a lot of info inside there..when will we get the book? during orientation week or it will be send to us with the parcel??
oh ya, thanx for the above info.. :D
ya tats y its advisable to take up ko-ku instead.. exams for ko-ku depends on the ko-ku ur taking. some have some don have. some super easy some quite hard. for eg like scuba divin u jus have to go scuba divin in the swimmin pool n u consider pass d :D
it wil be given during the orientation week when u visit Pharmacy skool :) u wil need to refer to it for the courses u need to register for every sem.. haha.. dere r also short description on each courses in pharmacy.
LiSieng
18-07-2011, 07:00 PM
scuba diving.... hhmmmm.... actually not so interested...haha... how bout catan that u joined last sem? it's about painting right? any exam since u got an A too? :)
cyian
18-07-2011, 07:19 PM
scuba diving.... hhmmmm.... actually not so interested...haha... how bout catan that u joined last sem? it's about painting right? any exam since u got an A too? :)
no exam.. haha.. but we r given an ongoing projec to draw n paint smtg in a group of 4.. so we wil attend the ko-ku every monday n thurs to work on our drawing only.. frankly speakin..our drawing kinda sucks but we stil gt an A :D
LiSieng
18-07-2011, 07:42 PM
wa... seems very interesting... i might consider that club... i love painting... :D erm, the whole sem only do one painting???
cyian
18-07-2011, 07:57 PM
wa... seems very interesting... i might consider that club... i love painting... :D erm, the whole sem only do one painting???
ya only one. haha.. easy rite? lol..
MichelleSoon
18-07-2011, 08:00 PM
What about choir and jazz band....sound cool...and aerobics?:P
LiSieng
18-07-2011, 08:20 PM
wah.. nice... if theres more also nevermind.. painting is fun... hahah:))
yea... how bout aerobics??
jessxoxo
18-07-2011, 08:30 PM
Lisieng: I haven't pay the fees also...hehehe. high five! I like to paint too!! I once tried batik making in my secondary school and it was sooo fun!!! =D
Michell: I WANT TO JOIN CHOIR TOOOOOOOOOoOO! I wonder if USM has their own choir team..hmm, but so far never really heard of it..hopefully they won't just sing malay patriotic songs..hehe.
senior: what does the bathroom look like? it has a shower head or we have to bring our own pipe to fix it to the tap? haha it sounds silly but Im just wondering what I have to bring. and I heard it doesnt have the hook for us to hang our clothes right?..
cyian
18-07-2011, 09:00 PM
What about choir and jazz band....sound cool...and aerobics?:P
dere is choir also for ko-ku.. actually i plan to join tat but i din get so i appealed for catan instead.. aerobics..im not sure how hard izit to get an A, but its quite fun.. cz catan n aerobics r held at the same place. so can see them dancin every week. n if im not mistaken, their final test wil be in groups where u wil have to come up wit ur own aerobic moves wit the song given :)
Lisieng: I haven't pay the fees also...hehehe. high five! I like to paint too!! I once tried batik making in my secondary school and it was sooo fun!!! =D
Michell: I WANT TO JOIN CHOIR TOOOOOOOOOoOO! I wonder if USM has their own choir team..hmm, but so far never really heard of it..hopefully they won't just sing malay patriotic songs..hehe.
senior: what does the bathroom look like? it has a shower head or we have to bring our own pipe to fix it to the tap? haha it sounds silly but Im just wondering what I have to bring. and I heard it doesnt have the hook for us to hang our clothes right?..
dere is shower head.. haha.. don worry.. erm dere is one hook only.. u can put ur clothes across the top of the bathroom door :)
jessxoxo
18-07-2011, 09:07 PM
dere is choir also for ko-ku.. actually i plan to join tat but i din get so i appealed for catan instead.. aerobics..im not sure how hard izit to get an A, but its quite fun.. cz catan n aerobics r held at the same place. so can see them dancin every week. n if im not mistaken, their final test wil be in groups where u wil have to come up wit ur own aerobic moves wit the song given :)
dere is shower head.. haha.. don worry.. erm dere is one hook only.. u can put ur clothes across the top of the bathroom door :)
what do you mean didn't get? the audition very hard?? is the usm choir very active? what kind of songs they perform? hehe.
ooooo there will be toilets and shower rooms on the same floor right? umm..is the corridor leading to the bathroom dark?...or all will be very bright and have lights?..hehe
cyian
18-07-2011, 09:23 PM
what do you mean didn't get? the audition very hard?? is the usm choir very active? what kind of songs they perform? hehe.
ooooo there will be toilets and shower rooms on the same floor right? umm..is the corridor leading to the bathroom dark?...or all will be very bright and have lights?..hehe
no audition.. haha.. its jus random.. u apply at the end of the sem, then u jus wait n see if u get it anot.. haha.. its up to the Jabatan Ko-kurikulum to sort out which student get n which do not. not sure wat song they perform though..
if ur stayin in RST, the bathroom is jus 3-5steps outside of ur room :P imagine a U-shape, 4 rooms lies along the U shape (2rooms side by side while another 2 face each other) the bathroom is in the middle of U :)
jessxoxo
18-07-2011, 09:40 PM
no audition.. haha.. its jus random.. u apply at the end of the sem, then u jus wait n see if u get it anot.. haha.. its up to the Jabatan Ko-kurikulum to sort out which student get n which do not. not sure wat song they perform though..
if ur stayin in RST, the bathroom is jus 3-5steps outside of ur room :P imagine a U-shape, 4 rooms lies along the U shape (2rooms side by side while another 2 face each other) the bathroom is in the middle of U :)
Yup yup Im trying to imagine it..hehehe. but I think I won't get RST ler. I heard a friend saying there was once a snake who slithered inside his room. not sure which hostel though Lol..do you have lots of insects visiting at night if you leave the window open? =D
will there be lots of presentations..?
cyian
18-07-2011, 10:15 PM
Yup yup Im trying to imagine it..hehehe. but I think I won't get RST ler. I heard a friend saying there was once a snake who slithered inside his room. not sure which hostel though Lol..do you have lots of insects visiting at night if you leave the window open? =D
will there be lots of presentations..?
erm so far my room.. no insects.. no mosquitoes also :P but the gals hostel dere gt alot mosquitoes.. so bring repellant dere.. haha..
presentations....ya not alot.. mayb like 3 or 4 only..
LiSieng
18-07-2011, 10:38 PM
u mean girls' hostel at RST? a lot mosquitoes? lols... y not at the guys hostel? the mosquitoes like girls more isit?
aerobics got exam? ==... huhu... another exam.. reconsider reconsider..:P
haha, i dont want to be so stressed out because of extra exam...
jess: u do batik painting? nice! we did it last time too... but we did it on the paper... use the molten candles that we melted ourselves... haha... :D
MichelleSoon
19-07-2011, 10:35 AM
u mean girls' hostel at RST? a lot mosquitoes? lols... y not at the guys hostel? the mosquitoes like girls more isit?
aerobics got exam? ==... huhu... another exam.. reconsider reconsider..:P
haha, i dont want to be so stressed out because of extra exam...
jess: u do batik painting? nice! we did it last time too... but we did it on the paper... use the molten candles that we melted ourselves... haha... :D
Hey I did batik painting as well *high five*.....
Hmmm....on second thought, maybe I should join aerobics instead....have been doing it for some time and have tons of aerobics CDs. Should be fun....hehe now I am so excited, I don't know which to choose :P
Wow.....U shape....it's gonna be really cool when all course mates stay at the same floor.....we're gonna go crazy~hehehe:)
LiSieng
21-07-2011, 12:20 PM
Hey I did batik painting as well *high five*.....
Hmmm....on second thought, maybe I should join aerobics instead....have been doing it for some time and have tons of aerobics CDs. Should be fun....hehe now I am so excited, I don't know which to choose :P
Wow.....U shape....it's gonna be really cool when all course mates stay at the same floor.....we're gonna go crazy~hehehe:)
high five michelle! hehe
aerobic is fun, but didnt do it for many years oredi, and i do mean MANY years... hahaha... maybe u can lead us to exercise at university later... haha :D
MichelleSoon
21-07-2011, 04:25 PM
high five michelle! hehe
aerobic is fun, but didnt do it for many years oredi, and i do mean MANY years... hahaha... maybe u can lead us to exercise at university later... haha :D
My exercise strategy is swimming...would love to...cuz Penang's a food heaven and it's hard not to gain weight there. So must exercise....we see how...maybe we can gather or something....I've been working out, have some dancing CD's as well :P
jessxoxo
21-07-2011, 09:29 PM
high five! hahaha (very late response Lol).
yaya michelle!! you must teach us how to do aerobics!!! I tried it once at school and felt really good after that! I intend to exercise but couldn't find the time! hahaha. can't wait to burn all the fats accumulated all these months! hahahaha.
MichelleSoon
22-07-2011, 12:09 AM
high five! hahaha (very late response Lol).
yaya michelle!! you must teach us how to do aerobics!!! I tried it once at school and felt really good after that! I intend to exercise but couldn't find the time! hahaha. can't wait to burn all the fats accumulated all these months! hahahaha.
*shy* hehehe.....actually I was being lazy also...so I bought all these DVD's so I could do it at home...
waaa...senior cyian really gave a thorough explanation of our pharmacy course XD kagum kagum...=P hey,juniors...welcome to pharmacy school =)
cyian
27-07-2011, 12:13 AM
who is gto btw? haha.. izit gaik gaik? hahaha..
cyian
28-07-2011, 11:29 PM
so where is everyone stayin?
LiSieng
01-08-2011, 02:04 PM
lol, now this thread r so quiet. hvnt receive letter o...
MichelleSoon
01-08-2011, 03:04 PM
so where is everyone stayin?
Me Tekun wooohoo!!! hehe....oh same desa as senior Chun Yian ryte?
Senior, does Pharmacy students need to apply for JPA as per the announcement? Anyways who paid for their fees already?
cyian
01-08-2011, 07:00 PM
Me Tekun wooohoo!!! hehe....oh same desa as senior Chun Yian ryte?
Senior, does Pharmacy students need to apply for JPA as per the announcement? Anyways who paid for their fees already?
my batch 90% of us is in Restu. haha.. but u wil see all ur 3rd yr seniors in Tekun.
erm..i don think u have to apply la.. as u wil get it automatically.. but if u have the time, then mayb jus apply for precaution purpose :)
jessxoxo
01-08-2011, 07:41 PM
hehe hey all! kinda miss the time when we had soo many things to discuss here!! hehe anyway Im staying in Indah kembara! hehe but i guess all of you already know that. =D
cyian
01-08-2011, 09:29 PM
btw i saw someone mentioned in usm sharing corner that she has called up JPA n they say pharmacy students don have to apply online. they wil be coming to usm n deliver the talk :)
u gals r so happy to start ur uni life but i don wan go back yet.. haha.. lazy wan to study........
LiSieng
01-08-2011, 10:25 PM
hehe hey all! kinda miss the time when we had soo many things to discuss here!! hehe anyway Im staying in Indah kembara! hehe but i guess all of you already know that. =D
ya! i miss the time too!:))
btw, two of my fren has called, and they said no nid to apply again. i guess we just hv to sit and wait the jpa people cum to us ba..
jessxoxo
04-08-2011, 08:25 PM
hehe senior, I am excited but sad at the same time. hard to leave my home cuz I will be worried about my parents and missing home. =(
one more question senior, about the fees, there are yuran tidak berulang and yuran berulang rite..both can be paid before the final exam or only for the yuran berulang we can do so? =D
Btw, li sieng and michelle, you going to pay the fees before entering usm? =)
MichelleSoon
04-08-2011, 08:33 PM
hehe senior, I am excited but sad at the same time. hard to leave my home cuz I will be worried about my parents and missing home. =(
one more question senior, about the fees, there are yuran tidak berulang and yuran berulang rite..both can be paid before the final exam or only for the yuran berulang we can do so? =D
Hey Jess,
Don't worry, the awesomeness of Penang will get rid of your homesickness hehe....
I am planning to pay next week, cuz senior said JPA's gonna bank in my fees and allowance quite late....
cyian
04-08-2011, 09:07 PM
all can be paid b4 the exam.. cuz one of my fren did tat.. haha..
LiSieng
05-08-2011, 02:14 PM
i think i will pay it before enter usm. but still dont know when la. still waiting for my letter. after receive my letter, then i will go and pay it. :)
MichelleSoon
12-08-2011, 12:39 AM
i think i will pay it before enter usm. but still dont know when la. still waiting for my letter. after receive my letter, then i will go and pay it. :)
Hey Li Sieng, I have paid my fees :)
LiSieng
15-08-2011, 03:33 PM
Hey Li Sieng, I have paid my fees :)
nice!... i havent... hehehe :P
It seems like Cyian is guiding you all very well. Welcome juniors! :D
aliciaraikkonen
19-08-2011, 02:26 PM
hello there!
i went for some sight-seeing around usm penang, i happened to see there's a new building near rst blocks! i was aware that the building was named "fakulti sains farmakeutikal" (if i don remembered it wrong). i am wondering if we are going to use that new building soon?:P
cyian
19-08-2011, 11:31 PM
hello there!
i went for some sight-seeing around usm penang, i happened to see there's a new building near rst blocks! i was aware that the building was named "fakulti sains farmakeutikal" (if i don remembered it wrong). i am wondering if we are going to use that new building soon?:P
nope.. tat does not belong to usm.. its owned by a private company for research purposes.. if only we can use it :(
aliciaraikkonen
20-08-2011, 08:43 PM
too bad.... i was anticipating it!
may i ask if the time table which was shared previously, including the time for tutorials?
cyian
21-08-2011, 12:26 PM
too bad.... i was anticipating it!
may i ask if the time table which was shared previously, including the time for tutorials?
erm.. we don reli have tutorials.. most to most only 1 tutorial per sem.. haha.. but nope its not included.. the lecturer may or may not have it durin their lecture time..
MichelleSoon
26-08-2011, 10:12 AM
I need advise whether to accept JPA scholarship or not. According to senior, the bonding period will be 4(compulsory)+2/ 3+3.....but I heard from news that they are going to reduce the compulsory service period, that makes it 2+4 or something. So now, I am in a dilemma.
cyian
26-08-2011, 01:23 PM
haha... yeap but tats MAYBE only.. they r submitting the proposal to the cabinet.. its not confirmed yet..
LiSieng
26-08-2011, 11:01 PM
i heard frm the news that day it was 1+1 compulsory service.. >< in order to reduce the shortage of pharmacist at private hosp.
JessicaLPS
28-08-2011, 02:27 AM
i heard frm the news that day it was 1+1 compulsory service.. >< in order to reduce the shortage of pharmacist at private hosp.
Hiies All! Just spent half an hour plus to read from page 1 to here! Im gonna be a Newbie in USM soon. =p
Thanks Li Sieng for showing me this <3
Thanks seniors for sharing so much infos...
Can't wait to see you all <3
LiSieng
29-08-2011, 10:31 AM
haha... jessica... welcum2.. :P <3
MichelleSoon
03-09-2011, 11:43 AM
Three days left!!! I can't wait to meet yall!