View Full Version : Worlds Debate in Malaysia
25-12-2004, 02:07 AM
The World Debating Championship (Worlds) 2005 is organized by MMU this year and this is the first time Malaysia is given the honor of organizing this grand competition. It is open to public from 27th Dec 2004 to 4th Jan 2005. 900 participants, 200+ teams from 52 countries are participating, including Harvard, Cambridge, Oxford, etc.
357 different universities have competed in Worlds since 1996, and the unofficial ranking, puts IIU at 16th Ranking, behind Sydney(1st), Oxford(2nd), Monash (3rd), Cambridge(5th), NSW(6th), Melbourne(7th), NUS(8th), ANU(9th), Yale(12th). Other selected universities: Princeton (21st), NTU (27th), Stanford (31st), MMU (40th), UTM(51st), MIT(52nd), Columbia(53rd), Harvard(54th), ITM(78th), LSE(101th), UKM(124th), UPM(130th), UUM(150th), UNITEN(224th), UUM(301th), USM(341th).
http://www.debating.net/Flynn/colpoint.htm
Ranking by countries, for total summation from 1996, Malaysia ranks number 9th, behind US, Aus, Eng, Canada, Ireland, Phillipines, South Africa, Scotland.
For 2004 Worlds in Singapore, Malaysia finished 4th behind Aus, US, England.
For 2003 Worlds in Stellenbosch, Malaysia finished 5th behind US, South Africa, Aus, England.
For 2002 Worlds in Toronto, Malaysia finished 10th behind US, Canada, England, Ireland, Australia, Phillipines, Israel, South Africa and Scotland.
It seems that we are improving every year and who knows Malaysia could be World Champion this year in MMU. Hope that fellow ReComers who are in Malaysia could go ahead and support National team there!
http://www.mmuworlds2005.com/
25-12-2004, 02:23 AM
Fellow ReComers, please go and watch. It is a great learning opportunity. Admission is free.
The schedule is as follow: (Check updates at http://www.mmuworlds2005.com/tournament_sched.htm
Preliminary Rounds: 1st - 9th Round (29th to 31st Dec 2004)
(9am to 7pm) Many locations at MMU, Cyberjaya. (Casual)
Octofinals: 2nd Jan 2005
10:30am to noon (National Art Gallery, National Blood Center, National Library, National Heart Institute) (Smart Casual)
Quarter Finals: 2nd Jan 2005
4pm to 6pm (Putra World Trade Center, National Art Gallery, National Library) (Smart Casual)
Semi Finals: 3rd Jan 2005
10:00am to 11:30am (KL Tower & Panggung Bandaraya) (Smart Casual)
Finals: 3rd Jan 2005
5pm to 8pm (KL City Hall) (Formal)
A total of 319 teams are participating, including Cambridge, Oxford, Stanford and many more. Among the Malaysian teams, IIU(6), UiTM(6), UKM(5), UM(3), UPM(3), USM(1), UTM(1), MMU Malacca(3), UNITEN(1), UiTM Sawarak Branch (2), Help (1), UiTM Terengganu (1), Swinburne Sarawak Campus (2), Inti Sarawak(1), Batu Lintang Teachers Training College(1), UMS (2), KUiTTHO (3). So, a total of 42 teams from Malaysia.
25-12-2004, 02:27 AM
Argh...wish I'm in Malaysia~ :cry:
Those in Malaysia, dont miss this chance!
25-12-2004, 11:08 AM
The team from UiTM probably would finish the highest amongst the Malaysian teams participating. I hope they win.
25-12-2004, 11:59 AM
I believe IIU has the strongest team among all the Malaysian teams, with their track record.
StupidCupid
25-12-2004, 12:54 PM
i would like to go!! it sounds interesting to me...
but i know nothing about it.
can you guys tell me more informations about this MMU Worlds 2005??
i shall appreciate them.
thank you! :)
25-12-2004, 10:44 PM
StupidCupid, basically it is an inter-university debate competitions. It is definitely a fantastic chance for you to see all those english-speakers from top universities debating with one another.
The debates will be at a very high level, since it is the world championship, so it will be a great opportunity to go and view it.
May be if there are a number of ReComers who wish to go, you guys can discuss a time to meet here too, so an added advantage, is you can get to meet other ReComers!!!
sighz, didn't get to go and compete. :cry:
kucingbiru
28-12-2004, 10:21 AM
worlds debate? ha ha, our we can't even organize a debate between local political leaders. so in this case, i'd say Malaysia mane boleh.
and, i wonder if Israelis participants are allowed.
SHuLy
28-12-2004, 10:33 AM
i went for the national prelims, and saw many good teams as well as debaters. i think that our debators have a good chance of performing well.
Our teams' performance in the Worlds should not be reflected by organizing a political debate. politics here is...hmm, i would not like to categorise this as it should come under another thread, but i hope you get what i mean.
good luck to the home team!
29-12-2004, 02:03 AM
This debate will be very educational and it will definitely be a good learning ground. This will be extremely useful to those who have just finished SPM/STPM and have nothing to do at home.
StupidCupid
29-12-2004, 11:39 AM
ya... just like me. :wink:
retroque
29-12-2004, 09:21 PM
so?anybody going?
StupidCupid
29-12-2004, 09:43 PM
i wanted to go...
but no transport.... :cry:
30-12-2004, 01:28 AM
StupidCupid, you can take public transport. I believe there should be sufficient public transport.
I really think ReCom members should try your best and attend this. It is a great learning.
30-12-2004, 01:40 AM
take some pics
KobeBryant
01-01-2005, 03:32 PM
there are so many venues ?? which venue should we go ?
the dress code..we just follow ?
markuzzz
10-01-2005, 06:56 PM
so ottawa won. Heck, i had to read a foreign website (http://www.debating.net/flynn/colmmain.html) to find out. It's dissapointing, having to follow the progress of the world debates through some guy overseas when it was happening just in our backyard.
I tried attending the quarter finals, as the schedule was provided on their website (http://www.mmuworlds2005.com/tournament_sched.htm), only to find the tournament venues deserted. Tried searching their website for some contact number, to no avail. (only much later did i discover some phone numbers in the tour-registration page. Hey members of the public wouldn't be going for tours no?) Turned out that the quarter finals was brought forward. And guess when I found that out? Only 5 days after the finals were over.. took them that long to reply my email...
it's as if somebody didn't want us in malaysia to attend the debates. Might as well hold it elsewhere.. even the local press don't seem to care.
very 'no face' esp debating forums even in Africa were talking about the lack of organization of the Worlds by MMU.
gohweihan
16-03-2005, 02:03 PM
Take it from someone who experienced it first hand as an adjudicator...management of the tournament sucks
gohweihan, yeah, i forgot you went there. Maybe you can tell us more about it lah. My seniors in NUS were complaining about it too.
gohweihan
18-03-2005, 05:42 PM
hahaha....you could try asking ur senior Siew Hor who went there....he was indirectly embarassed by the DCA...
But the thing is, there are plenty of times where management of participants is done inefficiently. It is not about satisfying the participants with the level of hospitality, but more of having participants to comply with what the convenor wants us to do.
The other thing is, facilities was lacking. We basically had to use our hands to clap and signal the end of minutes because no bells were provided. There are no downward-up mechanism which allows adjudicators to be promoted, but there is an upward-down feedback mechanism which allows adjudicators to be demoted. I was victim of this system (basically the Bangladesh debaters gave me this problem). To put it short, if you get a bad feedback, you're demoted. But you would never be promoted unless the people on top sees your performance (which rarely happens).
Contrast that to the Worlds 2004 in my university, the recent tournament is a real shame.
hahaha....you could try asking ur senior Siew Hor who went there....he was indirectly embarassed by the DCA...
what happened? i daren't ask him ler...afterwards he cannot stop ranting
gohweihan
19-03-2005, 08:34 PM
what happened? i daren't ask him ler...afterwards he cannot stop ranting
well, it went something like this...
"I know this may be wrong, but is GO SEE WHORE (Goh Siew Hor) here?"
because he was trying to pronounce his name but could not get it right when getting the attendence of the adjudicators.
"I know this may be wrong, but is GO SEE WHORE (Goh Siew Hor) here?"
*fall on floor laughing* No wonder he never mentioned it..n never said much about the MMU Worlds either... :wink: