View Full Version : Dreams: coloured or not?
30-12-2004, 11:40 PM
Sometimes i wonder whether my dreams come in full VGA colours or just greyscale..For me, sometimes it seems as if its negatively coloured.. haha!
How about u?
31-12-2004, 12:50 AM
Sometimes I read stuffs in my dream..
do an internet search search on lucid dreaming and learn to control your dreams while asleep.
Try to stimulate your 3rd eye chakra and you might have a very vivid dream... coloured dream of course.
If you can stay awake in you dream, you can actually feel that your dream can be more REAL than the world we experience now...
It?s similar to THETA or DELTA meditation.
31-12-2004, 01:13 AM
There is a wiki book on lucid dreaming, which is replete with the introduction, instructions and FAQ. Very comprehensive, and it's free.
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Lucid_Dreaming
31-12-2004, 01:26 AM
I find lucid dreaming kinda difficult to achieve.
Instead I go for Delta meditation, with the help of brainwave entrainment.
http://www.reiki-questions.com/delta.htm
After doing a few sessions of Delta meditation and anchoring to it in every session, I can drop into delta state anytime and induce an artificial lucid dreaming.
Perhaps my next goal is to achive Epsilon meditation. It?s deeper than DELTA, around 0.5 Hz.
I hope this helps.
31-12-2004, 01:32 PM
i don't really understand... can someone explain about delta meditation? what's it about?
31-12-2004, 04:12 PM
i don't really understand... can someone explain about delta meditation? what's it about?
have a read on this page
http://www.bwgen.com/theory.htm
Generally there are 4 states of brainwave, BETA, ALPHA, THETA, DELTA.
When you are awake, your brainwave is in BETA state.
When you are relax, it?s in ALPHA.
When you are having REM dreams, it?s in THETA.
When you are in Deel Sleep, it?s in DELTA.
DELTA meditation is a meditation where your brainwave sink from higher frequency into DELTA brainwave frequency, which is lower than 4 Hz.
I hope this helps.
dreamer1210
15-05-2009, 11:55 PM
Sometimes I read stuffs in my dream..
do an internet search search on lucid dreaming and learn to control your dreams while asleep.
Try to stimulate your 3rd eye chakra and you might have a very vivid dream... coloured dream of course.
If you can stay awake in you dream, you can actually feel that your dream can be more REAL than the world we experience now...
It?s similar to THETA or DELTA meditation.
Yea, quite true. I sometimes feel that my dream world is so real like the real world. I can feel the touch when my hand was grabbed in the dream, i can feel the pain when i felt down in my dream and i can really cry seriously in dream and ended up teary when i woke up. :laugh And in dream, anything can happen, including your wishes. When you woke up, you were like "oh, perfect dream! i wanna get back into the dream again!":P
So i always know that Dream is amazing. :wink
Cadence_hope
16-05-2009, 12:09 AM
Yea, quite true. I sometimes feel that my dream world is so real like the real world. I can feel the touch when my hand was grabbed in the dream, i can feel the pain when i felt down in my dream and i can really cry seriously in dream and ended up teary when i woke up. :laugh And in dream, anything can happen, including your wishes. When you woke up, you were like "oh, perfect dream! i wanna get back into the dream again!":P
So i always know that Dream is amazing. :wink
Wow this is such an old thread already..
Your dreams are so vivid and lifelike! I had never experience those. Is it differ from individual? It has been quite a long time since my sleep is dreamless. I knew that we will dream everytime we are sleeping but, I just can't remember that I had dream after I wake up.
P/S: You put your nick as dreamer because of that thought of 'dream is amazing'?
16-05-2009, 12:26 AM
hahaha...i usually dun remember my dreams...even nightmare...i wake up in the morning knowing it was disturbing but cant recall waht it was. If i do remember its usually vague
p/s : my dreams are in hi-def colour...LOL
16-05-2009, 12:28 AM
I dream in colour, and most of the time my dreams are out of this world if not unusual... I've dreamt that I went to places I've never been before, did things which is deemed almost impossible in real life (like running in an endurance race without breaking a sweat) and also got into all sorts of misadventures (like being chased by an assassin or the whole town was on fire :shock:)
Cadence_hope
16-05-2009, 12:36 AM
I dream in colour, and most of the time my dreams are out of this world if not unusual... I've dreamt that I went to places I've never been before, did things which is deemed almost impossible in real life (like running in an endurance race without breaking a sweat) and also got into all sorts of misadventures (like being chased by an assassin or the whole town was on fire :shock:)
Mostly at night I will sleep like a dead pig so I have less dreams that I can remember them. Me too onetime dreamt of being chased by a dinosaur on Penang's bridge and then the police and fire brigade came to fight the dinosaur. LOL.
16-05-2009, 12:39 AM
Actually I've forgotten what I dreamt, unless it's memorable. Not really know is it coloured or not, just know that the dreams are weird. Something like we never seen or gone. Sometimes, in real life, I'll have an odd feeling or intution that I have been here before or done this action before. I think those weird things just came from my past dreams, most probably. I told that weird intution to my friend, and she said she had the same feeling as well. I don't know is this related to the dream, or perhaps about the last generation? Anyone ever thought of who were you in last generation? Were you rich or poor, good or bad, in last generation? I'm curious about this, does last generation or next generation really happen?
16-05-2009, 12:42 AM
last generation as in last life/next life...??
16-05-2009, 12:45 AM
Last generation=last life
Next generation=next life
16-05-2009, 12:46 AM
Mostly at night I will sleep like a dead pig so I have less dreams that I can remember them. Me too onetime dreamt of being chased by a dinosaur on Penang's bridge and then the police and fire brigade came to fight the dinosaur. LOL.
Lol, very patriotic even in your dreams...
Actually I've forgotten what I dreamt, unless it's memorable. Not really know is it coloured or not, just know that the dreams are weird. Something like we never seen or gone. Sometimes, in real life, I'll have an odd feeling or intution that I have been here before or done this action before. I think those weird things just came from my past dreams, most probably. I told that weird intution to my friend, and she said she had the same feeling as well. I don't know is this related to the dream, or perhaps about the last generation? Anyone ever thought of who were you in last generation? Were you rich or poor, good or bad, in last generation? I'm curious about this, does last generation or next generation really happen?
Like I mentioned in the previous post, I've also dreamt of places I've never been before. Maybe it's just my brain trying to flex its imaginative side, but it is also possible that I've actually been to those places in my past lives...
16-05-2009, 12:47 AM
ah..i see...well, it's up to your belief...Do u believe?
p/s :like yanno i often have misadventures...lol (quite hilarious)
Cadence_hope
16-05-2009, 12:49 AM
Lol, very patriotic even in your dreams...
Huh patriotic? You mean I dreamt about the penang bridge ar?
I guess nobody could answer your question. The topic of 'previous life/existence' is an old belif of Chinese if I'm not mistaken. And it is a popular subject for a lot of novels and movies. Sometime I have the same feeling as yours. When I go to a place my intuition tells me that I actually go there before. Everything looks familiar.
Some says that there's a karma, in which what you did in previous life will bring effect to your fate in this life currently. In chinese it is 因果循环。Something like that.
16-05-2009, 12:53 AM
Huh patriotic? You mean I dreamt about the penang bridge ar?
Yeah, you live in KL but your dream went all the way to Penang, haha. Ada lagi polis dan bomba... Very muhibbah...
Before we digress even further, just to say something related to the topic I've read somewhere before that people who watch tv in black and white have the higher tendency to have non-coloured dreams...
16-05-2009, 12:54 AM
Hahaha. Actually I also don't know. That's why ask you all. May be I'll believe a little bit. I've ever tried psychological test about what role did you play in last generation? Guess what? I was soldier... T.T... What la...
dreamer1210
16-05-2009, 01:22 AM
Wow this is such an old thread already..
Your dreams are so vivid and lifelike! I had never experience those. Is it differ from individual? It has been quite a long time since my sleep is dreamless. I knew that we will dream everytime we are sleeping but, I just can't remember that I had dream after I wake up.
P/S: You put your nick as dreamer because of that thought of 'dream is amazing'?
During the time when i'm quite free like after spm, i always remember my dreams but like before spm when i was so busy with studies and co-curriculum activities, i seldom remember what i had dreamed. haha
Yea, dream is quite special and becoming a dreamer is not a bad thing though :P
Hahaha. Actually I also don't know. That's why ask you all. May be I'll believe a little bit. I've ever tried psychological test about what role did you play in last generation? Guess what? I was soldier... T.T... What la...
Wow! maybe you should volunteer yourself to get into NS. =D
I always saw from many taiwan tv shows, those "teachers" interpret the last few generations of some artists and sometimes it was quite ridiculous. :laugh
breakmx
28-05-2009, 01:03 AM
Actually it differs from people to people.
Some dream in HD true color while some in the old age with black and white and also some both.
I myself love the hd dreams...haha
in certain dreams will be able to make choice.Its like half awake while dreaming.Kinda cool.Either that or i dreamt of dreaming that...haha
28-05-2009, 01:06 AM
Well, mine are also coloured ones. So far I've never dreamt in black and white.
But dreams are hard to comprehend, and studies into dreams are still very very shallow. As we can't see into people's dreams, it is very hard for us to actually know how people dream. And what triggers the dreams.
We don't even really know why we dream in the first place.
breakmx
28-05-2009, 01:10 AM
Well, mine are also coloured ones. So far I've never dreamt in black and white.
But dreams are hard to comprehend, and studies into dreams are still very very shallow. As we can't see into people's dreams, it is very hard for us to actually know how people dream. And what triggers the dreams.
We don't even really know why we dream in the first place.
true true.We know very little about dreams.
Well some say its just the brain's way of keeping active or entertained while the body rest or recuperates.For all i care...as long as its enjoyable...i'm down with it...haha
28-05-2009, 01:10 AM
How do we actually tell whether it's coloured or not? I don't know whether my dreams are in B&W or in colour.
breakmx
28-05-2009, 01:13 AM
How do we actually tell whether it's coloured or not? I don't know whether my dreams are in B&W or in colour.
Just exactly why we know ever so little about em'.
haha. Different people interpret dreams differently.No efficient way to study it...YET.lol
28-05-2009, 01:13 AM
I don't know. While I dream, it's as if I'm watching a television, only that I'm part of the show. And from my perspective, I see colours.
Perhaps it's what the brain thinks. It's possible that you can't see colour in there, but the brain tells you that it's coloured.
breakmx
28-05-2009, 01:16 AM
I don't know. While I dream, it's as if I'm watching a television, only that I'm part of the show. And from my perspective, I see colours.
Perhaps it's what the brain thinks. It's possible that you can't see colour in there, but the brain tells you that it's coloured.
Exactly.Because your brain is the one directing the show.It tells you what you 'see' because you're not seeing at all what.haha.my bad for stating out the obvious.lol
28-05-2009, 01:27 AM
To me what we see in a dream is quite similar to what we "think" or "day-dream".
28-05-2009, 01:29 AM
Say, how could you all know what's the colour of dream?
I can't even remember what I've dreamt, don't say about colour...
cuppycake
28-05-2009, 01:33 AM
I tend to forget what I dreamt about when I woke up. I'd remember that I have a dream but can't really recall what it was about. As for colours, I can't say. Not really coloured and not totally B&W but more like those blurry, old TV.
breakmx
28-05-2009, 01:34 AM
Like i said.Varies with people.Some don't remember at all.Like me i remember dreams till i wake up.After a while...*poof* erased...unused data..haha.But i do remember certain dreams long after...even after years...let it be sweet or even nightmares.haha.
28-05-2009, 01:34 AM
hurmm.....
based on some of dreams that i remembered....
got some B&W,and some coloured!!!
lol
i dreamt of topless guy wearing blue jeans!!!
28-05-2009, 01:37 AM
Well, likewise, I also forget my dreams, but there's this lasting impression that what I see in my dream was coloured, thus the "colourful impression" that is in me.
28-05-2009, 01:52 AM
I tend to forget what I dreamt about when I woke up. I'd remember that I have a dream but can't really recall what it was about.
Exactly same with me! :laugh
Usually I will dream my family, friends, celebrities or any people that I know.
Sometimes, I weep in the dreams and when I awake, noticing there is always tears around my eyes.
28-05-2009, 03:15 PM
Just curious. When you guys dream do you dream in first-person or third-person view?
cuppycake
28-05-2009, 07:51 PM
Just curious. When you guys dream do you dream in first-person or third-person view?
sometimes in first-person. sometimes in third-person. i don't know why but my nightmares always happen in first-person point of view. i could feel my heart beating fast because i was so scared.
28-05-2009, 08:35 PM
sometimes in first-person. sometimes in third-person. i don't know why but my nightmares always happen in first-person point of view. i could feel my heart beating fast because i was so scared.
mine also always in first-person point of view
but luckily the latest nightmare is in third person
or is it first person??
well,a rapist stab a girl and cut out her skin just to see her ovary....
and he forced me to see he did it
28-05-2009, 08:39 PM
or is it first person??
Wow, that's pretty... Gruesome. You can actually use your nightmare story to create a horror movie...
cuppycake
28-05-2009, 08:54 PM
or is it first person??
that's creepy. did you watch any horror movies before you sleep that day?
well I once watch a programme on discovery channel about dreams. i can't remember the title but they say that when you're asleep your logic center is shut down. which is why sometimes people dream of something totally out-of this-world.
28-05-2009, 08:58 PM
that's creepy. did you watch any horror movies before you sleep that day?
well I once watch a programme on discovery channel about dreams. i can't remember the title but they say that when you're asleep your logic center is shut down. which is why sometimes people dream of something totally out-of this-world.
grrr.....
how can i watch tv or any shows in hostel??
hahahahaha
i'm damn scared and that dream is so vivid that i still remember until now
i got it during form4
Zwitterion
25-06-2009, 06:13 PM
To me what we see in a dream is quite similar to what we "think" or "day-dream".
I absolutely agree with you. Personally, I believe what we dream is closely related to our subconscious. No matter how out-of-the-world your dream may seem, I think it has got to do with our subsciousness.
25-06-2009, 06:41 PM
I just had a coloured dream the other day, so I can safely say that the generalisation that "all dreams are in black-and-white" is wrong. :)
25-06-2009, 07:56 PM
I just had a coloured dream the other day, so I can safely say that the generalisation that "all dreams are in black-and-white" is wrong. :)Since a dream is usually an extension of our reality, and we usually see our world as coloured, I think our dreams will usually be coloured
Zwitterion
26-06-2009, 03:44 PM
I just had a coloured dream the other day, so I can safely say that the generalisation that "all dreams are in black-and-white" is wrong. :)
I have had both coloured and black and white dreams too. I remember reading from a website regarding dream interpretation that the colour of our dreams tell our personality. I'm not sure how far it's true though.
04-09-2009, 09:43 PM
I think most of my dreams are in black and white since I can't remember colours in my dream, like I can remember much about my dream. I just forget it within 15 minutes. :lol
I barely dream. I only dream when I don't sleep well or stressed out. However, I forget about them the minute I wake up so I don't think I actually remember if they are colored.
Another thing that is interesting about dream is your position in the dream. Some people can see themselves moving around (being in a 3rd person position), while others are in the first person position. I can never figure out which one is me, or if I have experienced both.
I think it is very difficult to come to a conclusion as to whether or not the dreams are black and white. >.< Some people might experience black/white dreams but "feel" that there are colors in the dream and vice versa. Probably there's a machine to sense the color of a dream. XD