View Full Version : Tiger Cup - Malaysian's win meleel

05-01-2005, 04:14 PM
4 Indons hurt in football fracas
GHAZ RAMLI
KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 04:
Not only did Malaysia lose 1-4 (3-5 on aggregate) in the Tiger Cup semi-final against Indonesia at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil last night, some Malaysian football fans brought shame to the country by provoking fights with the Indonesians, writes GHAZ RAMLI.

During half-time when the score was still 1-0 in Malaysia?s favour, some unidentified pranksters threw firecrackers into the Indonesian seating area in the stadium and this prompted a small group of Indonesians to nearly create a free-for-all when they went over the fencing into the Malaysian seating area.

Fortunately, the quick intervention by the police and the Federal Reserve Unit prevented a more serious incident.

However, the fracas outside the stadium after the match, apparently provoked by a group of Malaysian hooligans who deliberately wore red jerseys (the colour of the Indonesian team), resulted in four Indonesian fans sustaining serious injuries and having to be rushed to the Hospital Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (HUKM) in Cheras.
http://www.mmail.com.my/Current_News/MM/Tuesday/Frontpage/20050104113957/Article/index_html

http://www.mmail.com.my/Current_News/MM/Tuesday/Frontpage/20050104113957/Article/Current_News/MM/Sunday/National/hoo.jpg
http://www.mmail.com.my/Current_News/MM/Tuesday/Frontpage/20050104113957/Article/Current_News/MM/Sunday/National/hoo1.jpg
COLORADO MEDICAL MARIJUANA DISPENSARY (http://colorado.dispensaries.org/)

05-01-2005, 06:36 PM
I wonder which is more disappointing, our players or our supporters. Anyone read what our coach had to say about the players? Big, big shame on them...

mauntech
05-01-2005, 08:34 PM
luckily i didnt watch the match. if not...i must be completely bengang..

06-01-2005, 12:05 AM
I was at the Smackdown! tour when they performed at Bkt Jalil indoor stadium.

Some nut threw his soft drink on Chris Jericho.

Damn malu lah!

ps. Y2J rolled up The Rock with extra leverage from the top rope, but the referee didn't see it. All in all, RM80 well spent. Best live event I ever been to (rock gigs excluded).
MEDICAL MARIJUANA (http://medicalmarijuanacard.info)

qedx
07-01-2005, 10:49 AM
shouldve went to bukit jalil for the brawls. the game was unimportant :p

08-01-2005, 01:41 AM
I wonder which is more disappointing, our players or our supporters. Anyone read what our coach had to say about the players? Big, big shame on them...

It's a matter of attitude. We should support the national team.
If they didn't win, tough luck. Try again next in the Asian Cup.

Why a big fuss?. I wonder why Malaysians still can't change their attitutude. I heard that the fans themselves throw a lot of criticism.
ALso, I something not good about the coach too.

What we should do is try to support them. Those fans shouldn't be qualified as fans. they didn't pass the test. They should watch something else, like how their laundry machines spin their clothes or how their vacuum cleaners eat dirt.

08-01-2005, 01:55 AM
I'm saying that based on criticisms levelled by the coach himself. If we do not trust the coach whom we ourselves appointed, who do we trust then? Make no mistake, I am a supporter of the national team and I want them to succeed, but when they spectacularly self-destruct, is it wrong to criticize them? Or are we gonna point our fingers at the coach like we always do?

qedx
08-01-2005, 08:38 AM
what more can you rightfully expect from the fans? yeah losing is part of the game but going down by 3 points whan you had the lead for 70% of the match? lets face it, after the equaliser, they gave up - or at least their defense did. or are we contending that the Indonesians are that much better at football than us? It looked like they were playing primary school kids.

They should watch something else, like how their laundry machines spin their clothes or how their vacuum cleaners eat dirt.
i do admit that watching cow dung dry is a bit more interesting. maybe its because of the fumes...

08-01-2005, 08:56 AM
I'm not saying criticism is bad, but it's just something that we want to step back and think before attacking anyone. and criticism is bad if it's destructive criticism.

I didn't watch the game, but I can't handle hearing coach blaming the players playing half-heartedly. It's like hearing Bob Stoops saying
Oklahoma Sooners kids suck for giving up and messing around, not
taking the game 'seriously' against USC. I mean, if they screwed up,
either the coach messed up not doing a good job, or the players just plain reckless. My suggestions :

First, the coach should be fired (he shouldn't blame the players).
Second, punish the players if they were fooling around at that time, or maybe just fire those who're not performing well. Increase preparation.

Nevertheless, we're at the semi-finals!. That's something that can be proud of. The only thing to say to the national team is : "Good job, we hope you can do better next time". The rest are the details - coach replacement, players, and whatever else that we did that can be thought of as a mistake.

What else can we do? back to the future?.

08-01-2005, 03:45 PM
First, the coach should be fired (he shouldn't blame the players).
Second, punish the players if they were fooling around at that time, or maybe just fire those who're not performing well. Increase preparation.

Personally, I don't think the coach is blaming anyone. He's just highlighting one of the biggest problems within the Malaysian team. And the fact that he was willing to point out and speak about that weakness to the national media should be lauded.

14-01-2005, 07:24 PM
Anyone out there who watched this game? I am just curious to hear about how the game was played...

As masterof_none said, while this is not perfect, Malaysia has done decently. A beating over Thailand to get into semi-final, a win over Indonesia in the first-leg. Those are something that we haven't achieved for a long time... The same goes with 70,000 Malaysian fans supporting our national team. That's another thing that has not been happening much lately.

I have to say that what the fans do are very unsporting. We tend to blame Indonesians for the problems that happen in Indonesia Istora Senayan stadium, but what has happened at Bukit Jalil or Singapore National Stadium does not argur well for the sports. Imagine having 3 fights in 4 semi-final games...it is just beyond imagination what kind of people's mentality.

Everyone would hope that their team should win, and we should instill within the players to fight till they drop, but frankly, ask ourselves, can we handle that pressure ourselves? Have we ever give in, even when sometimes we are playing sports ourselves? Have we ever given in the towel before the end of the game? May be those that we have had may be just games played withfriends or some basic sports, so, we should look from their stand point.

I don't think anyone wants to lose. If we look at the school-level, district-level, state-level competitions, be it we ourselves or our friends, have we gone into the game and just want to give up? Do we try our best? Do our friends try our best? And those that get to represent our nation have gone through all these process. While they may not be perfect, may be far from perfect, but I just don't think that they give in. May be it is their physical strength that cannot lasts the pace, the tiring and punishing schedule of the games etc...

that's just my two cents.

qedx
15-01-2005, 02:37 PM
I watched it on TV. Malaysians dominated the first half, with the Indonesians seemingly unable to mount an effective attack. Chances came, one of which was converted for that single Malaysian goal.

Then came the half time break.

When the second half started, the Indonesians started by playing really ugly football for the first 15 minutes or so, and I do mean ugly. There were like 4 yellow cardable offenses in less than 10 minutes, but they weren't booked by the referee. I do remember thinking "What the hell are these Indons doing? Are they throwing the game?" but now I think it was part of a very risky gamble on the part of their coach: to deliberately play rough in order to dampen the spirit of the Malaysians with injuries or at least thoughts of it, so that his next move would be more effective.

And his next move was to bring in Kurniawan, a very fresh striker. And the rest is history. Kurniawan and co. made minced meat out of the Malaysians.