View Full Version : Which STPM BIO BOOK IS better?
Since longman bio is not published yet , i would like to ask the opinion from u all , is Fajar Bakti better or Pelangi?
WantChair
08-01-2005, 02:22 AM
Well, biology is a rather vast subject.. you can get by with only one book, but you are going to need more than that to score well... read biology reference books in the library, ask questions, and do your own research....
well... i'd recommend Longman, it covers almost all the basic concepts and the syllabus..
if you have the budget... you might consider buying books such as Campbell's Biology, Advanced Biology, and the like... they might be a bit tedious and out-of-syllabus, but if you are considering a career in biology, you might be able to refer to these books when you enter a university
i plan to buy longman oso,but it will not be out so early, so is FAjar Bakti better , or pelangi.(i have campbell liao)
seiken
11-01-2005, 02:00 PM
Hm...Im also thiking about that. We are worried because my school uses longman volume 1 and we are coming to the end of the book already. Our teacher told us to look out for any volume 2 of it. Anyone has seen it or know when it'll be out?
If not we'll have to choose between pelangi and fajar bakti. One thing about fajarbakti is it's loaded with text, text, text...made my head woozy when reading it...
i heard it will be out at mid of the year.
seiken
19-01-2005, 02:08 PM
By the way...
Does your biology teachers use the Ministry Of Education Biology CD's to teach? Do you think its contents is good? Because of waiting for the Longman bio book, my teache has resorted to using the CD's to teach until the longman book is out...I personally think that this is a bad idea.... :?
don't worry.if u analysis stpm 2004 biology question.u will founf that most of the questions are low standard!!!
:lol:
stpm biology is different form form5 .u all need read more
By the way...
Does your biology teachers use the Ministry Of Education Biology CD's to teach? Do you think its contents is good? Because of waiting for the Longman bio book, my teache has resorted to using the CD's to teach until the longman book is out...I personally think that this is a bad idea.... :?
occasionally, but , she asked us to do presentation.......bad idea
nxwen
21-02-2005, 11:29 PM
I used Pelangi Vol 1 but Fajar Bakti Vol 2 because Pelangi Vol 2 came out late. The reason for using Pealngi: my lecturer wrote that book.
Just like what seiken said, Fajar Bakti is loaded with text. My classmates prefered Pelangi. There are some sub-topics which is not available in Fajar Bakti Vol 2. I had to rely on my lecturer's note. I used Campbell too, but that is when you have the time. I used to study last minute. So, no time to read that much also.hehe
You do have to read more for STPM. However, if you can understand and remember everything in just one reference book, it will be sufficient to score well. Is there a CD for Biology? i didn't even know that.
Yes, STPM 2004 Biology Paper 1 is quite simple. Besides, there is the leak for Paper 2. Anybody here need to resit? I'm just glad that I don't need to.
nicodemus
08-03-2005, 01:06 PM
I'm a newbie here.....planning to take form 6 this year ( just finish SPM, result in 2 days...ha ha )
So....all of you seniors here, can someone recommend a good revision book for Biology? and Chemistry too? :wink:
baby_ghost
01-06-2005, 10:33 PM
Hi,I am a new user here!nice to meet you all(concern in study)!
I am a lower six student,so still new to form 6!
I have a fews questions to ask you guys:
1)I already got the Campbell but our teacher recommend us to buy Longman volume1.So,should I buy it?or it is enough for STPM by using Campbell?But is the information in Campbell a bit too much?I mean a bit out of syllabus?Or should I have two books?which are Campbell and Longman?(I also have tuition notes)By the way,is there other books which are more suitable for STPM bio students?
2)Is there any effective ways to score bio in STPM?or is there any better ways to study bio?does bio really need a lot of memorizing?Can we just study by understanding it and not memorizing?any skills for it?
3)Bio is a subject which need a lot of study or doing exercises to tackle the question?
Lastly,is there anything else that I should know as a bio student?
Thanks to those who kindly reply!
shrenka
06-06-2005, 01:28 PM
[quote="baby_ghost"]1)I already got the Campbell but our teacher recommend us to buy Longman volume1.So,should I buy it?or it is enough for STPM by using Campbell?But is the information in Campbell a bit too much?I mean a bit out of syllabus?Or should I have two books?which are Campbell and Longman?(I also have tuition notes)By the way,is there other books which are more suitable for STPM bio students?
Longman biology is more to the syllabus. You can have 2 books too but it takes time to read these 2 books in details. :lol: By the way, Pelangi is quite good too as the information is in note form, easier for revision purpose. But, it's not as detailed as the above 2!
baby_ghost
06-06-2005, 09:28 PM
Dear shrenka,
Thanks for the information!I shall consider them!
nxwen
06-06-2005, 09:57 PM
IMO, Campbell is more of like extra reading. It's fun to read because it puts things in a different way. But if you just want to know what is in the syllabus, then go for Longman or Pelangi.
Biology does require lots of memorising, there's no escaping from it. However for certain chapters like genetics (there's a few in upper six), you'll need lots of understanding. So, to score well in biology, you'll need a blend of both.
baby_ghost
08-06-2005, 09:48 AM
Dear nxwen,
Thanks!!!I shall consider about that!
lortl
10-06-2005, 10:42 AM
both my teacher and tuition teacher also recommend the longman biology reference book ( the reason : sufficient information and colourful text, picture)! It's only for RM40!
seiken
11-06-2005, 01:19 PM
Yes...I agree that Longman is a good book. Currently I'm now in Upper 6...is it really too late to buy the Longman volume 2 book? I already have Pelangi and Fajar Bakti. I don't understand why some people likes Fajar Bakti so much. It does not follow the syllabus, long and windy explanations as well as improperly arranged...sigh...self conflict..the Longman book is priced at RM42..very expensive..I did think of photostating though...
23-06-2005, 05:48 PM
From a redundant thread (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2569).
guys an you sugeest me a good stpm bio book
i'm really confused which 1 to buy
Here's the books that are offered in the market.
Local books: (as in published in Malaysia)
1. Pelangi
- Brief, precise and effective explanation of facts
- Additional information for extra knowledge.
- Pictures is not as good as Longman's.
- Cheaper, textbook look
2. Longman
- Brief notes given.
- Follows the STPM syllabus totally, as in you learn what will be asked in the STPM (that's what my teacher says)
- Better pictures
- A tad more expensive, coursebook look.
I myself bought Pelangi's but my school requested that i used Longman's (-_-"), as for the Longman's, you can actually borrow from your friend or exchange it if possible, that's what i'm planning to do now.
Besides that, i also own a foreign book titled "Biological Science" written by Green, G.W. Stout and D.J. Taylor, for extra reference that is.
the longman physic's STPM got lot's of wrong answers for it's question..I am very frustrated by it,especially when i haven't fully understand it...
Ixora
15-09-2005, 10:06 PM
i would prefer the fajar bakti one. i have pelangi book, but i found it lack of information and the explanation is not that precise as in the fajar bakti one.
my friend reccommend Cammpbell. can you guys give some opinion or suggestion? :wink:
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.