View Full Version : Discussion: Martial arts anyone?

Raikage
09-07-2011, 07:09 PM
Does anyone here do any form of martial arts, be it, Muay Thai, Kickboxing, MMA, Wushu, Karate, TKD, Judo, Aikido, etc?

Where you guys learning?

09-07-2011, 08:09 PM
Taekwondo back in school! :amuse

jessica9310
09-07-2011, 08:16 PM
Wushu back in primary school!!! :laugh

iKoMetaga
09-07-2011, 09:24 PM
Most people start out with taekwondo, wushu, karate because they are the ones usually available in high school. If you're pretty mobile and live in a city you have access to other less popular forms. Before joining one, always ask yourself, do I want to learn those flashy kicks in taekwondo or do I want to learn something boring yet effective in real-life situations like Brazilian Ju Jitsu. Of course joining any martial arts will increase your endurance, awareness, speed, strength but then you risk overestimating your abilities. Remember Canny Ong? She had a black belt in TKD, yet she got ferried into the car without even so much as slapping her assailants face, could we even hope for a roundhouse to the gut? It's fear and uncertainty *can I really hurt him with my punch? what if he gets really angry that I hit him?* that strips away all your years of martial arts training in the moment that you need it the most. That's why I'm always skeptical whenever a training center advertises in big letters "LEARN SELF-DEFENSE". Face it, not everyone is born brave, not everyone is born strong.
So do your research first before joining a martial arts. Don't walk around with false confidence.

hazelyi
10-07-2011, 12:16 AM
haha... i was previously in taekwondo since primary... started learning wushu when i went to junior college in singapore... hehe...

Raikage
10-07-2011, 06:09 PM
haha... i was previously in taekwondo since primary... started learning wushu when i went to junior college in singapore... hehe...

what kind of wushu with which instructor?

Most people start out with taekwondo, wushu, karate because they are the ones usually available in high school. If you're pretty mobile and live in a city you have access to other less popular forms. Before joining one, always ask yourself, do I want to learn those flashy kicks in taekwondo or do I want to learn something boring yet effective in real-life situations like Brazilian Ju Jitsu. Of course joining any martial arts will increase your endurance, awareness, speed, strength but then you risk overestimating your abilities. Remember Canny Ong? She had a black belt in TKD, yet she got ferried into the car without even so much as slapping her assailants face, could we even hope for a roundhouse to the gut? It's fear and uncertainty *can I really hurt him with my punch? what if he gets really angry that I hit him?* that strips away all your years of martial arts training in the moment that you need it the most. That's why I'm always skeptical whenever a training center advertises in big letters "LEARN SELF-DEFENSE". Face it, not everyone is born brave, not everyone is born strong.
So do your research first before joining a martial arts. Don't walk around with false confidence.

well analyse, do u practice any then?

yea, not only her case, i think got few cases the victim is a black belt in something, whether guy or girl, in the end still died or hurt.

The most recent one i recalled in the jiujitsu instructor in seri kembangan got killed by 3 attackers in his own dojo.

Taekwondo back in school! :amuse

Nicky: TUC oso got TKD wat, u no join?

vampiric_guy_01
11-07-2011, 03:05 PM
TKD at primary then continue at secondary school... 1st dan black belt ;D

11-07-2011, 05:12 PM
Nicky: TUC oso got TKD wat, u no join?

No haha.. lazy to join. :P