View Full Version : Singaporeans think we hate them....

09-01-2005, 08:32 AM
The other thread gives me the idea to start this thread...

Maybe hate is a strong word.... but still, many Malaysians don't feel easy when sit around with Singaporeans, or when hear them, or meet them....

Well, not to say that they are bad, but some of them are not good companies... What are ur first impressions against Singaporeans??? Mine sharing?

Why do we have some uneasy feeling against them (maybe some of u don't)?

Well, to tell u the truth, I don't know why, but i just don't like many of them... Maybe they talk too much and talk too loud... and becoz they are Singaporeans...

I believe many of u out there dun like them too...

And to talk abt Malaysia and Singapore Bilateral issues... i found it comical to read the Singapore newspapers... and how childish the opinions and comments on their papers can be...

09-01-2005, 09:10 AM
Memes..
Lies..
Misinfo..
Subjective judgement..

This hatred stuff can go on and on...
be it

Japanese think chinese hate them
Jews think Muslims hate them
English think French hate them etc.

We are lead all the time to hate certain people but we have the conscious choice to hate or not to hate. The best choice is love of course.

tree007
09-01-2005, 01:52 PM
to me, s'poreans r the next best ppl to malaysians.... it's like, they're no different from us, minus the fact they can't speak malay...

so.. s'poreans rock!

but i got a s'pore fren who blame malaysia for the NS though.. haha~

"u c lah, becos of malaysia we have to go NS"...

maybe s'poreans takut malaysia attack them... haha!

wawa
09-01-2005, 05:44 PM
I believe ignorance on both sides (and the media too!) has a lot to do with such perceptions.

Studying in Singapore, I have found some assumptions made by some Singaporeans to be both shockingly ignorant and sometimes insulting; but I have also found that some assumptions many Malaysians make( including me!) when it comes to Singaporeans is very wrong.

For the moderate Singaporeans, their views may be very different from us Malaysians due to varying upbringing and cultures, but its just part of making this world so interesting, aka diversity!

09-01-2005, 07:46 PM
i've met nothing but nice singaporeans. so in my book. Singaporeans are cool.

10-01-2005, 01:52 AM
singaporeans are generally very nice people...very easygoing and great to talk with... but sometimes i meet singaporeans whose personality are soooo 'fake' and it definitely is one of my pet peeves. Maybe malaysians dislike this 'fakeness' and direct the negative feeling to singaporeans as a whole?

10-01-2005, 02:35 AM
hmmm... am i so unlucky or u guys are so lucky....

can't believe what i'm reading...

i do meet many nice singaporeans... but, i think if i were to count, i think i can list more not-so-nice singaporeans...

10-01-2005, 02:43 AM
i think i've met more unpleasant malaysians then i've met unpleasant singaporeans.

The ratio of pleasant to unpleasant in malaysia is maybe 1:4 and singapore is 1:20

10-01-2005, 03:00 AM
I believe there?s a way to avoid nasty people.
My friends and I tried this method and people around us become very friendly....

http://www.forum.com.my/viewtopic.php?p=376#376

10-01-2005, 05:59 AM
Hate them....mmm...not at all, perhaps quite lamenting on what they've brought to our country, especiay J.B....haha..the never dropping prices for food and necessities? Well, other than that, maybe we might want to feel disgruntled a bit on the traffic jam on the causeway during weekends? On the other side, there are of course some facets that we may earn from them, such as their reinforcement in their laws and regulations? Their "kiasu" spirit, in a way does them good, as they always are on the verge of never wanted to be left behind and keep on improving themselves so they won't drop out...

kennytang
10-01-2005, 10:15 AM
some sporeans r arrogant, the way they speak.
but then i do meet lotsa nice sporeans. it actually depends on him/herself.

10-01-2005, 01:13 PM
The ratio of pleasant to unpleasant in malaysia is maybe 1:4 and singapore is 1:20
Mine is more like 1:5 and 1:10 - maybe I have enough background about where these people come from and where they are going when they sound what commonly described as "arrogant", but in many cases, just "insensitive". Being able to just say what you think and what is right is a virtue in their society, but being sensitive to other people's thoughts is more highly valued in M'sia in so many ways.

Another guess is that most S'poreans you guys meet (especially those studying overseas) are what's known as the "elite" people, naturally there are more arrogant people in this social strata. It's the same for people in all countries. I've met the nicest S'poreans myself in S'pore's heartland, definitely not in the US ;)

wawa
11-01-2005, 10:06 AM
agreed. Some of those 'overseas' Singaporeans view us with their nose pointing to the sky. Personally met one myself.

11-01-2005, 10:59 AM
agreed. Some of those 'overseas' Singaporeans view us with their nose pointing to the sky. Personally met one myself.

most of the singaporeans I've met are cool, except one or two.
But I like Indonesians better!

MarquisX
12-01-2005, 03:57 PM
you don't have water for morning shower?? pay up, biotch....

hahahaha...ridiculous.

me and singaporean buddy play soccer/basketball together. ain't no harm done. but we do shoot each other using paintball. man they learn a lot of war strategies from that NS shiat. i'd say it will be a good long war if we are thinking of invading their real estate.

since this post is under the Senseless Debates banner, i am staying true to the banner and write my senseless banter as well.

how do you like 'em Longhorns...
hook'em Horns!!

12-01-2005, 04:54 PM
how do you like 'em Longhorns...
hook'em Horns!!

get over it redneck. :twisted:

Randomphantom
01-02-2005, 03:44 AM
What I don't understand is, why do many Malaysians have this weird inexplicable hatred towards anything Singaporean? They are actually the closest neighbours we can find. Sometimes it is tough to distinguish between a Singaporean and a Malaysian. Is it because of jealousy, or pure xenophobia?

Also, I don't understand the thorny issue between Malaysia and Singapore. It could be the country leaders that has lead to the friction between both countries. Why do they have to have NS and practice moving around in banana-tree enclosed land aka Malaysian natural environment? To me this sounds like paranoia - Malaysia attacking Singapore would be the last thing on my mind.

01-02-2005, 03:57 AM
Why do they have to have NS and practice moving around in banana-tree enclosed land aka Malaysian natural environment? To me this sounds like paranoia - Malaysia attacking Singapore would be the last thing on my mind.well i think singapore fancies itself the "israel of southeast asia". most of singapore's policies can also be traced back to one man - lee kuan yew.

bah politics.

01-02-2005, 06:51 AM
Why do they have to have NS and practice moving around in banana-tree enclosed land aka Malaysian natural environment? To me this sounds like paranoia - Malaysia attacking Singapore would be the last thing on my mind.well i think singapore fancies itself the "israel of southeast asia". most of singapore's policies can also be traced back to one man - lee kuan yew.

bah politics.

well the indo former president bj habibie not long ago asked singapore to watch their a$$ when he likened singapore as the red dot in a green sea. i don't see why singapore shouldn't take some extra precaution.

01-02-2005, 08:07 AM
i dun hate s'poreans but i dun have good first impression of them too. maybe i met too many mean and arrogant s'poreans here and too little nice and cool one. well, undeniably some s'poreans are good, like my ex-roomate.

of course i know, a few mean and arrogant s'poreans doesn't represent the whole population of s'poreans. i know few nice s'poreans too. just that most of the s'poreans here are like that, so i dun expect them to be nice at the first hand and won't be surprised if they turn out to be mean and arrogant and kiasu.

well maybe they hate themselves too. my ex-roomate can't wait to migrate to other countries if he has the chance. just an instance.

01-02-2005, 08:09 AM
well maybe they hate themselves too. my ex-roomate can't wait to migrate to other countries if he has the chance. just an instance.

well, I would love to migrate to the US. But then, some of the Americans want to migrate to Canada. But then, Canadians want to migrate to, er, er, em Europe?

just trolling :P

02-02-2005, 12:29 AM
canadians want to migrate to quebec. oh wait that's in the same country?

What I don't understand is, why do many Malaysians have this weird inexplicable hatred towards anything Singaporean? They are actually the closest neighbours we can find. Sometimes it is tough to distinguish between a Singaporean and a Malaysian. Is it because of jealousy, or pure xenophobia?

perhaps because the government and the media incites? singapore did leave malaysia (or kena booted out) and then perform better than us today.

22-03-2005, 02:20 AM
Did any of you watch "Sepet"? There was a scene where the nyonya mother said to her daughter-in-law:" Apa lu orang Singapura tau?". I was trying my best to contain my laughter. I had to. I was in a cinema in Orchard Road surrounded by Singaporeans...

gohweihan
22-03-2005, 03:55 PM
Singaporeans are a nice bunch of people (or those I know, at least), considering that I am the only Malaysian in my whole group (the rest are Singaporeans) here. We basically don't distinct each other based on nationality.

But there are some (not those in my group) who seems to have this mentality of compliance. I was told by one of them that in order to succeed here, I need to comply to the norms. That's why they seem odd in the eyes of Malaysians - too compliant to the systems in place most of the time.